BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states that for more than 80 years, Standard Process, has provided health care professionals with high-quality nutritional whole food supplements. Standard Process offers more than 300 products through three product lines: Standard Process whole food supplements, Standard Process Veterinary Formulas, and MediHerb herbal supplements.   Standard Process is involved in every step of production. The company grows crops on company-owned, organically certified farmland, utilizes state-of-the-art manufacturing processes, and employs the highest quality control standards. Standard Process strictly adheres to the Food and Drug Administration's good manufacturing practice requirements.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Standard Process Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Standard Process Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Complaint Information

Standard Process Laboratories, Inc. also does business as Vitamin Products Co. at the same address.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Standard Process Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1954 Business started: 01/01/1929 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1929 Business incorporated: 12/11/1946 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charles C. DuBois, President Ms. Karren Jeske, Corporate Communications Manager Mr. William Logothetis, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles C. DuBois, President
Business Category

Health & Diet Food Products - Wholesale & Manufacturing Animal Health Products Manufacturers & Producers Herbs Vitamins & Food Supplements


Additional Locations

  • 1200 W Royal Lee Dr

    Palmyra, WI 53156 (262) 495-2122 (800) 848-5061

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 848-5061(Phone)
  • (800) 438-3799 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Standard Process states on their website that their products are safe and follow standard manufacturing processes required by the FDA. The FDA website confirms that cows used in processing supplements are only audited and not all cows are tested before they are used for manufacturing of supplements. It is the responsibility of the business to conduct practices that make their supplements safe. in a personal conversation with Standard Process, both **** and ***** told me that there is no way to test for BSE (mad cow disease) on a cow until it is dead and that they do not test every cow they use in their manufacturing nor can they confirm that cows they purchase were tested before making their supplemental products. No one on the supplement container or in the literature on their website do they inform consumers about the risk of taking these supplements. Their website information is misleading, and from the perspective of this consumer, fraudulent.

Desired Settlement: I need a letter stating details about the cows used to develop the supplements I was given by my health care provider. The products were Spleen PMG 7550, Lot #*** expiration 06-2014 and Thymus PMG 7975 Lot #*** expiration 07-2014. I need to know where the cows were purchased, where the cows were originally housed, how old the cows were upon slaughter, when and where they were slaughtered, when the slaughtered organs were then manufactured into supplements, and whether an audit done by the FDA on cows used for these supplements? I have tried to get this information from the company, but after I asked for the FDA reporting document, they have failed to return any messages I have left. I also left a message for a manager to return my call, but received no return response. I am hoping to get this concern resolved through the BBB before I need to take this concern to the courts.

Business Response:

August 21, 2013

BBB

10019 W. Greenfield Ave.

Milwaukee, WI 53214

RE:  ID *******

Dear ******* **********,

Our products are dietary supplements that are sold exclusively through health care professionals.  As such, we did not sell Thymus PMG and Spleen PMG to Liala *********.  Ms. ********* purchased these products through her doctor.  When she complained about taking these products for three days and developing headaches, she contacted us directly.  As per our procedures, we told Ms. ********* that she needed to go back to her doctor to discuss her symptoms and we filled out a customer complaint form.  We then contacted her doctor to make him aware of the situation.  It is our understanding that her doctor did contact Ms. ********* after our telephone call.  As required, we also sent Med-Watch forms to the doctor for his completion with the patient.

Ms. ********* did fill out the Med-Watch form in the doctor’s office on July 10, 2013, but failed to keep an appointment with the doctor scheduled for that same day.  It is our understanding that her doctor did find out that she is also seeing another physician within the same building and this other physician had been treating her for headaches before she saw him and received the Thymus PMG and the Spleen PMG.

Due to the nature of this complaint being a medical situation, we believe that only she and her doctor can evaluate the use of the products for her specific health needs.  It would also be up to her and her doctor to determine if these products were appropriate for her use.

Regarding the alleged issues with BSE, we follow all USDA/FDA regulations relating the use of animal tissues including the use of tissues under 30 months of age.  We are not able to test for BSE per USDA rules.  As far as where each animal comes from, that would be impossible for us to ascertain, since the tissues are received in 50 pound boxes of frozen tissues.  What I can tell you is that Thymus PMG has been on the market since 1952 and Spleen PMG has been on the market since 1955.  There have been no issues such as this regarding these products previously.

We do not believe that there is any relevance to this complaint since our website does refer a person to the FDA information.  What Ms. ********* is requesting simply cannot be provided.

Sincerely,

*** ** ******

**** ********* * ******* *******

Standard Process Inc.

Business Response:

October 17, 2013

BBB

10019 W. Greenfield Ave.

Milwaukee, WI 53214

RE:  ID *******

Dear ******* **********,

This letter is sent in response to the letter dated 09/30/13.

We certainly appreciate Ms. *********’s situation and will try to address her additional concerns as possible.

The slaughterhouses referenced in the prior response are located in Wisconsin and Pennsylvania.  Animals are brought to these facilities via trucks, which means that they certainly could be coming from surrounding states.  We do not have access to more specific information regarding the source of each animal. 

As I mentioned in my previous response, the vendors pack each specific tissue in separate boxes during the collection process.  Standard Process conducts visual identity tests on each batch of raw tissues to make sure that the correct tissues are used to produce the correct corresponding product.  This is how cross contamination is controlled. 

Standard Process meets FDA/USDA requirements for the use of these animal tissues in products.  We do not have more specific answers to the concerns expressed by Ms. *********.

Best regards,

*** ** ******

**** ********* * ******* *******

Standard Process Inc.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

It appears that this complaint can not be resolved. It appears that Standard Process misleads and misrepresents their products, their "careful" tracking of the animals they use, and hides this misrepresentation behind a vague FDA reference. The transcript of my initial conversations with both **** and ***** at Standard Process would confirm I was told that Standard Process can identify where each animal used in their processing originates and these animals are carefully tracked as an expectation of FDA guidelines. This same "careful" tracking information was told to me by the health care provider who sold these Standard Process products. 

 

When no one at Standard Process would return my call with more questions, I filed my complaint about Standard Process's misrepresentation of the safety of their products and the information they share with consumers. After several replies back and forth, Standard Process now states in this response, "We certainly appreciate Ms. *********’s situation and will try to address her 'additional' concerns as possible" and "The slaughterhouses referenced in the prior response are located in Wisconsin and Pennsylvania.  Animals are brought to these facilities via trucks, which means that they certainly could be coming from surrounding states.  We do not have access to more specific information regarding the source of each animal."  

 

My initial and continued concern, and the rationale behind this complaint, was the identification of the location of the animals purchased and used in the manufacturing of the products I was given. Standard Process misrepresented their ability to identify the location where they get their animals, which means they also misrepresented whether these animal tissues derived from a safe animal farm free from disease, or even whether these animals were from the United States as they now state they have no ability to provide "more specific information regarding the source of each animal."  Based on these facts, any "additional concerns" I now have are based on other fraudulent claims Standard Process makes to consumers just to make a profit at a consumer's health expense. My initial concern of whether these products were safe can not be confirmed by Standard Process's own admission of not knowing "more specific information regarding the source of each animal."

 

I do not know how the Better Business Bureau manages companies that provide misleading and fraudulent information to consumers simply to make a profit. My hope is that the BBB helps to inform consumers of the fraudulent and misleading practices of these companies. 

 

This matter is certainly not, and will not be, closed for me. Standard Process's employees and website mislead consumers with fraudulent statements of product safety. This is completely and totally unacceptable for the safety of consumers' health and well being - completely and totally unacceptable!     

 

Regards,

***** *********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This issue has been ongoing for several years I have made numerous attempt to contact the company and clear this with no success. I had been doing a large volume of business with standard process for over 10 years and had always enjoyed a good professional relationship with them. In approximately 2007 I placed a large order. Due to deaths in my family at the time, payments were late. I received a phone call late in the evening at my office from a Mr ****** who stated he was a collections agency and demanded money from my past due balance. It was over $1000.00, which I had no problem paying as it was an oversight due to personal issues. I mispronounced his name and he became extremely irate and belligerent and then refused to accept my payment via credit card! I then called standard process and told them about it. I was very upset and I paid my bill in full with them that evening. The next day and for a week following, my office was harassed by "wrong numbers" from a specific collection agency . I have caller ID. They called Every 15 minutes looking for someone who owed money! I felt this came from Mr ****** who was hired by Standard Process. It was very upsetting to my office and my business and I called SP and told them about it and they put me in touch with their attorney and he denied the collections. Anyway, my a count was paid in full and in the heat of the argument I said I didn't want to do business with them as that is the way they treat their good long standing customers. Time went on and SP is HUGE in chiropractic. MAJOR donations to state associations ect. They are present at all state.conventions. Well I was at my state convention at their nutrition continuing education seminar and I wanted to buy product. They sold it to me and I paid for it by credit card. Then when I wanted to purchase additional product later, I was informed that I had a $300 outstanding balance from the credit agency when they sent me to collections! This was about 5 years later! Iris not ever receive any bill or notification of this charge. In fact when Mr ****** called me at my office. He did not ever say I owed him that money nor did I ever get a written bill. I find this practice to be in error and I want it removed. SP says I cannot have an open account to order until I pay the Additional $300.00! What is this for? Is this usual and customary? I paid my bill in full. Mr ****** refused to take my payment and was belligerent and nasty and upset my office with his crank calls for a week! I have not ever heard of a $300 charge late fee. Do they do that to ALL their customers? I would like clarification of this practice, as I have not ever heard of it.

Desired Settlement: I would like a billing adjustment whereby this ridiculous $300.00 charge is removed and lower to buy their product as a professional which I am.

Business Response:

September 12, 2013

BBB

***** ** ********** ****

********** ** *****

RE:  ID *******

Dear ******* **********,

The quick synopsis is the customer was called three times with no response to the past dues. The customer was sent two letters on the balance due and changes to the account for terms and moving to collections with no response. This all happened during a two month span. The customer called us after the account went to collections to pay and paid the amount owed to Standard Process, but did not pay for the collection agency fees. This was still owed. The customer was not happy with going to collections and wanted to close her account. The customer then tried to open up account later, but could not because of the past due still owed from the collection agency fees. Once the fees are paid we will be happy to reopen her account with agreed upon payment terms of credit card only, which is also the preferred method of payment with most of our customers.

Here are some details on the account (******* **** ** ******) notes:

7/10/07 – Credit called customer about past dues – no response

7/18/07 – Credit called customer about past dues – no response

7/25/07 – Credit called customer about past dues – no response

8/02/07 – Credit mailed monthly statement and alerted customer on this statement if payment is not received in full by 8/16 payment terms would be changed to COD.

8/16/07 – No response was received from customer yet on past dues or monthly statement notice. Letter was sent to customer stating terms of their account are being changed to COD. Also noted if account is not paid in full by 8/30 the account would be turned over to a collections agency to collect the balance due.

9/4/07 – Customer notified account was officially turned over to collections to collect the past due amount. Customer had until 9/14/07 or collections process would start.

9/18/07 – Customer called Standard Process to complain about receiving a call from a collection agency. Customer was not happy with the collections call. Customer faxed a letter to Standard Process to call her in the morning for payment. Credit called the customer and left a voice mail. Customer called back later and made a payment by credit card for the balance due to Standard Process, but did not pay for the collection agency costs.

9/21/07 – Customer was not happy with what happened and wanted to close the account. Customer was made aware her account was closed.

9/11/09 – Customer called and wanted to reopen her account. She was transferred to legal department for past dues.

8/29/11 – Customer opened an account through a convention and placed an order. It was discovered the customer had a past due and the account was closed for past due owed from previous account.

10/14/11 – Customer called back and was told she still owed the collection agency for their fees. Customer said she did not feel this is the way things worked because she was told she owed the collection agency fees and hung up on the call.

We certainly appreciate the customer wishing to continue to purchase our products.  Unfortunately, because we had to turn her account over to a collection agency, after many attempts to avoid it, she is obligated to pay those additional fees.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved