5/18/2016 Poor customer service while $2,500 Portable Generac Generator is under warranty! Model XP8000E 0059311. Problem getting a simple ground fault switch to the repair facility. Repair facility has had this generator 8 days and says it will be another 10 days to 2 weeks to get switch!
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by G. H. on 5/18/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We understand that having to have your portable generator serviced can be frustrating. Please know that while an independent authorized service provider can provide any warranty coverage that applies to your personal unit, additional time may be required to diagnose your unit's issues, order required parts, and provide services to your purchased product. If you would like to explore alternative servicing options in your area in hopes of expediting the services that your personal unit currently requires, or if you would like to discuss your experience in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) so that we can provide further assistance. We do apologize for any inconvenience these servicing requirements may have caused. by on 5/18/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
2/19/2016 my company bought a gp15000e electric generator form generac and it had problems 3 weeks later and we got in touch with there customer service and they sent us to one of there service places the service place got with them and generac was going to send them the part to fix it it has been 3 months and they still have not sent the part to fix this new generator .
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by southern foam and coating on 2/19/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We are sorry to learn of the issues that you are currently experiencing with your portable generator. Please know that we have checked our systems and do not see any warranty claims filed for your personal unit. If your chosen service provider does not file the necessary paperwork for your required parts and/or services, we will be unable to process a claim for the parts coverage that your unit may require. However, if the parts that you need have been ordered outside of your warranty coverage, we would recommend contacting the service provider through which they were ordered to inquire about their current shipping status. Should you require further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) so that we can identify the company that you are working with and obtain additional details regarding your current parts requirements. Doing so will also allow us to address your concerns in an expedited fashion and extend correspondence regarding a pending shipment to the independent authorized service provider that you have chosen to work with. We understand that your experience must be frustrating and apologize for any inconvenience that this unfortunate scenario may have caused. by on 2/19/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
11/13/2015 worst decision i have ever made is to get a Generac generator - TOTAL- rip-off from the electrician/plumber to the generator not turning over and a "mechanic" trying to figure out what went wrong to PSEG saying i needed another gas meter because of gas flow - from the start the only concern with generac was MONEY - and - now the annual oil change is in the range of $400 dollars per year - RIP-OFF - i have had - and been very successful - in not recommending a generac generator - don't do it - stay in the dark or go to a hotel !!! - my town permit ($100) should have been of more help !!
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by d p. on 11/13/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We are sorry to learn of your frustrating experience. If your generator is having issues operating properly, and your chosen installer believes that all steps necessary for installation have been completed, we would recommend contacting an independent authorized service provider in your local area for any diagnostic and/or servicing work that your unit may currently require. Please know that Generac works with these trained professionals to ensure that all warranty coverage that applies to your personal unit is provided. Moreover, please note that we are unable to control the gas flow of the meter featured in your personal configuration. Fuel flow issues would need to be addressed by a licensed plumber in your local area and are not indicative of the performance of our products or support teams. Lastly, please know that purchasing a maintenance plan for oil changes and other maintenance-related tasks is not required. If you feel comfortable performing maintenance on your own, you have every right to do so. As the product’s manufacturer, we do not charge a rate for maintenance plans; any cost associated with these services would be imposed by an independent authorized dealer that you have chosen to work with in your local area. At your earliest convenience, please contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) with the serial number of your personal unit so that we can document your unit’s issues and help ensure that your product receives the service it currently requires. We look forward to discussing your experience and assisting you further in the near future. by on 11/13/2015

Report Abuse just want to keep up with this review - i continue to be successful with telling my story about the poor quality of Generac / Wisconsin - and - poor customer relations - difficult company to work with - like a car dealer - once you buy the product they dump you - WORD OF MOUTH IS POWERFUL AND IT TRAVELS - by d p. on 12/29/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
5 people found this review helpful .
6/8/2015 Worst purchase I ever made in my life. Spent over three grand for a piece of junk..an 8000Kw Generac standby generator. It failed continually and cost asignificant amount for repairs. The service company; Sparky Electric of Portland, Maine only added to the problem with their poor attitude and incompetence!
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Mike M. on 6/8/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We would like to apologize for the issues that you have experienced with your automatic standby generator. Please note that any applicable warranty coverage can be provided by an independent authorized service provider in your local area. However, if an independent authorized service provider is able to confirm that the root of a unit's issues stems from an unwarrantable cause, or if you are working with a party that has not been authorized to provide warrantable services, the product's warranty coverage will not apply. To ensure that you are able to receive the appropriate diagnostic and service work from an independent authorized service provider, we would recommend contacting us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) with your local postal code. Doing so will allow us to provide you with applicable options in your local area. We do apologize for any inconvenience that your experience may have caused, and would like to encourage you to contact us directly if you have any other comments, questions, or concerns regarding your personal experience; we would be happy to discuss this matter with you in further detail. by on 6/8/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
6 people found this review helpful .
2/28/2015 caution when you purchase replacement parts for a generac generator they void the warranty if you install the part yourself . I purchased a voltage regulator which failed after about half hour of use . was told it has no warranty because they didn't install part . I was an engineer in power plants for about 10 years and taught electrical engineering at collage for about the years . showed the man who now has one of the franchise in my area how to install generac generators and hay installed 5 generac units on houses I built in the past few years . I think I know what I am doing. will not use generac products in future
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by george w. on 2/28/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3 people found this review helpful .
1 2 3