BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers game farm and sport hunting for large and small groups, offering several hunting fields for hunting pheasants, and chuckers, mutant/black and white mutant pheasants, as well as 5 stand leagues, pistol range, sporting clays, lodge, lodging, 13 motor home hook-ups and restaurant and summer banquet hall and outdoor wedding facility.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Whispering Emerald Ridge Game & Sporting Clays meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Whispering Emerald Ridge Game & Sporting Clays include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Whispering Emerald Ridge Game & Sporting Clays
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 02, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1988 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1988 Business incorporated: 05/01/2000 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bruce A. Olson, President Co-Owner Mr. Mike J Kettner, Owner Ms. Teresa M. Olson, Secretary Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bruce A. Olson, President Co-Owner
Business Category

Game Farms Hunting & Fishing Services & Supplies Restaurants Rifle & Pistol Ranges Wedding Chapels & Ceremonies Hunting and Trapping (NAICS: 114210)


Additional Locations

  • E5541 510th Ave

    Menomonie, WI 54751

  • N3954 640th St

    Menomonie, WI 54751 (715) 233-1281 (715) 235-2588

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (715) 235-2588(Phone)
  • (715) 235-2588 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I got married on *** ***** **** at Emerald Ridge in Menomonie, Wi. ****** ***** was the coordinator and owner of this business. We paid her $3718.38, of which $2214.23(including tax and gratuity) was to cover dinner. We paid for dinner for 140 adults plus 15 children, which was to include chicken and lasagna,with garlic bread, fruit, vegetable medley, and mashed potatoes. Our actual number of guests for dinner was 119. We were assured beforehand, that they would have dinner in a buffet-style for the number we provided plus 10% more to make sure there would be enough. After approx. 35-40 family and guests went through the line, things started to run out. We were never notified of the situation by the owner or any of her staff. The situation was brought up and questioned by our family after they had noticed that there was a problem. Our family was told that more food would be coming in 5 to 10 minutes, which was repeated many times by ******'s husband,who was helping out. More food was not brought in until over an hour, and many guests recieved nothing but chicken. There was no fruit included in the dinner, and potatoes and vegetables and lasagna and garlic bread ran out after a third of our guests went through the line. We received approxiately one third of the food we had paid for and we did not receive any warning or explanation from our wedding coordinator other than the fact that she blamed the issue on guests taking too many side dishes. Our family members made food later which they brought out to feed our hungry guests. We have statements from family and guests confirming the fact that they did not receive dinner per what was suppose to be provided by Emerald Ridge Weddings and statements about what was witnessed as to how many pans of food were provided, compared to how many there should have been. It was an embarassment to see our guests waiting for dinner that never arrived. Many guests left early to go eat. There are several other issues that we don't have room for here.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting a full refund of everything we have paid to Emerald Ridge Weddings.

Business Response: Dear BBB

Attached is pursuant to what I have responded to her already per her 10 page letter to us on June 7th.
If you need me to email the 10 page letter please let me know.

Thank You

Sincerely
***** & ****** ***** 

Emerald Ridge Weddings
***** ***** ******
********** ** *****
June 15, 2013
**** & **** *******
**** **** ****** ****
**** **
********** ** *****
Dear **** & ****:
We were very surprised when we received your letter. Because, that evening when speaking with **** and many of your guests, they acknowledged everything was all right.
***** and I have been in business a very long time and we truly value our guest. But, sometimes things happen and most of the time it’s a communications or lack of issue a misunderstanding.
For instance in your letter you accuse me of bailing. But, in fact I was heading to the kitchen to help prepare additional food.
I will try to answer all your issues;
1. Best to my knowledge, the wheels were not there earlier when we were there.
2. What additional Guests
3. Best to my knowledge this was not a formal affair. We were not invited as guests and we were working.
4. Yes we take photos of the wedding for a couple of reasons. Sometimes photographers will miss some special scenes, which we would be happy to offer our guest. Yes, we also do it for advertising but would not use it without your written consent.
5. I do not know how to respond to a child needing to go to the bathroom and playing with other children.
6. This is a game farm, dogs and birds live here. You knew that the first day you came here.
7. To my knowledge the slide show was consistently playing throughout the night, even after dinner service.
8. I’m sorry that you feel the guest book wasn’t located in the correct spot.
9. I recall you telling us that the lights lasted for days after you tried them out at home and we could put them in on Friday so we didn’t have a large ladder in the way of your guests when they came to the reception area. When doing the garbage on Sunday night they were still glowing.
10. The chef made your cake and also a third cake for your special guests. It is in the context of this mutual understanding that I express my sincere regrets that you didn’t get to cut your cake.
11. In every buffet we only acknowledge the head table and all tables to follow. If you wanted it another way, you should have let us know.
12. As I said earlier I went to the kitchen for more food. You indicated earlier about additional guests, would that explain the need for extra food?
13. Were the linens clean? I do not think the laundry cares about the shipping bags.
14. As far as the six paragraphs email plus menu, that was leading your guests to what you wanted them to say. It’s like the judge told the lawyer you’re leading the witness.
I would like to point out a couple of facts;
1. We did prepare enough food for the event
2. We did not charge you for additional food
3. We did not charge you for the additional beverages
4. We would be willing to sit down and discuss more about the event with you. Please call to set up an appointment.
Conclusion;
In all due respect, I think you are unhappy because you purchased a Red Neck Wedding Reception and wanted a black tie affair.
Sincerely
***** & ****** ***** & Staff

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.] We are not satisfied with their response to this issue and we would like a full refund of what we have paid them for their services. I will be sending attachments in a seperate email.

Regards,

**** *******

 *** ** ********* ***** ** ********** *** ********** ** *****

 

 

Dear BBB of Wisconsin,

 

 

I am writing in regards to complaint *******.  We were instructed to let you know if we had
any further communication after my husband **** ******* submitted his
complaint.  We received  a certified letter from Emerald Ridge
Weddings on 06/17/13 which was in response to the letter we had sent to them on
06/07/13 and they received on 06/08/13. 
I am including copies of both of these letters and this is related to
additional information that may be helpful, as well as the bill/receipt for
what we paid for.  Unfortunately, the
majority of our interactions with ****** ***** were face to face, and we do not
have documentation of what was discussed. 
The letter we had sent directly to her requesting a response by 06/14/13
was in the hope that she would agree to resolve this without us having to take
further action.  For this reason, I am
adding some additional information to clarify some of the wording in our
complaint letter to her and how we disagree with her responses to each.

The most important issue we were addressing was the shortage
of food for our guest count compaired to what we paid for.  If this would have worked out, as we were
assured of several times, we would have been less annoyed with the other
issues.  This was in bold in the letter
we sent to her under the heading, 
"Other problems we saw that were not as big of a disaster as the
food, but still not what you promised us:" 

As this was the majority of what she addressed in her two
page response to our complaint I will begin with that and our response to each:

1.  The large spools
(tables) have always been outside on the cement area outside the reception
location.  We had a conversation about
this on 05/22/13 and they were there. 
She offered us the use of white linnens to put over, but we would be
charged for those if they got burned. She said we could use plastic tablecloths
to cover, but they tend to blow away, or we could leave them there and just
make sure that they didn't have the blue paint side facing up.  *** ******* ***** responded that no one would
care about the blue painted side up. I said I would prefer the plain wood side,
and ****** responded to ***** that it would take a few minutes and to take care
of it.  This was not taken care of
and  is suprising that she is claiming
that they were never even there. They were even there during the winter when we
were out to check out the facility.

 

2.  The additional
guests I was referring to was my great uncle ****, who is elderly and frail,
and his daughter. I emailed his daughter after hearing from ****** on 05/01/13
that the walls would be complete by our wedding (see email from her) and her
verbally informing us that they had heaters to keep the reception location warm
despite the temperature.  These 2
individuals were the additional guests I was referring too, and were included
in our headcount provided for food of 140 adults.  Again, verbally on Friday night as we were
decorating and already knew the walls were not up as we were told,  I asked them to have the 4 heaters going as
we already knew the weather was going to be chilly.  The heaters were not brought in until ****
and I arrived at approximately 5:00 pm on Saturday and had to again request it
be done. 

3.  I do not dispute
this, I personally did not find the clothing appropriate, but this was an
opinion, not a fact.

4.  I found it
disturbing that we were never told they would have their own photographer and
were never asked if it would be okay. It was surprising to **** that during our
ceremony, there was a lady in the woods, close to the ceremony site, that was
taking pictures. Not a main complaint, just that we were not aware of who this
was, and the reasoning for the photography.

5.   This child was her
grandson and not a guest at our wedding. 
There were two of her grandchildren there, and though I do not know the
exact ages, they were between 6 and 10. 
They were not working (obviously as they were playing with the children
of our guests and family) and had no reason to be at our wedding or in the
house that we were assured was for our use only from Wed 05/22/13 to Sun
05/26/13. It was disturbing to hear statements from guests and family that
these children were in the house we were renting and telling our family that
they were hungry, and also trying to get into family pictures being taken,
according to a member of our family.

6.  We are aware that
it is a game farm.  We love to camp and
are outdoor people, that is the reason we were attracted to the venue.  Everytime we visited her dogs were in the
clubhouse (also the place they prepare the food) and we were not concerned
about this.  We had told ****** that Elle
(our 15 year old dog that has had recent health problems and almost blind) was
going to be part of the wedding and doesn't always get along with other dogs
and wanted her to be the only dog there. We brought this up because we are very
concerned about our dog having confrontations with other dogs and didn't want
problems.  We were assured that there
would be no problem, and that her dogs would be kept inside on our wedding
day.  The problem was when **** arrived
at the ceremony site and one of their dogs was running loose alongside ******'s
vehicle, and we didn't know when our dog would be showing up. **** had to ask
****** for the dog to be kept inside.

7.  We had other family
(and the groom) assisting with making sure the DVD's were changed to keep the
slideshow going later.   The staff may
have also assisted with this later in the evening, but the most important time
we had discussed was the 1.5 hours that we would not be at the social/cocktail
hour as we were having our pictures taken and prior to the DJ arriving as the
DVD's had music on them as well, which was not turned up. **** asked the staff
to start, and keep the DVD going. This did not happen and eventually ****
started one of the DVDs himself.

 

8.  I do not have a big
disagreement on this, I would have preferred the guestbook outside as discussed,
but at least it was somewhere inside, though not at the location talked about,
until I personally asked someone to move it and had the DJ announce where it
was.


9.  I did tell them the
lights shine for several days, but are brightest on the first.  I was told by ****** it would be no problem
for the staff to put them in on Saturday late morning/early afternoon.  Not a major issue, just once again, was not
what we were told would happen.

 

10.  The chef made
cakes, though they were not the two white cakes with buttercream frosting that
we ordered and paid for, and would fit on the stands we showed both ****** and
***** (the chef) prior to the wedding. 
It is true that we were told they were not cake decorators.  We were not looking for a fancy cake.  We had discussed two simple 8" and
12" plain cakes that we could decorate with flowers.  This is visible on the receipt, one 8"
and one 12" white cake.  *****
decided to make lemon cake with lavendar frosting and place them on top of each
other rather than use our stand.   He
told us that prior to the dinner that he did lemon and at that moment we had
not seen it yet and were not too concerned, until everthing else fell apart. We
weren't too picky about those details, however when we saw a 12 inch and 8 inch
lemon cake stacked on top of each other incorrectly inside the cake ring, it
was embarassing. In our opinion the cake was messy, tilted heavily to one side,
and was a horrible sight.  Again, just
one more thing we discussed that did not occur. 
In addition to this, the 3rd cake she is referring to is a recipe we
provided sent by my aunt ****** who has two children who are autistic and they
are on a very specific diet.  We paid for
this separate cake (shown on the receipt as the flourless choc cup cakes per
recipe, though they made it as a small cake) so it appears in her response as
if it was something special they did.  We
paid for the third cake.  ****** emailed
after that it was not the recipe she provied and has made several times for her
children.  I can easily forward that
response.

 

11.  We were told
****** would release all following tables to direct when to go to the
buffet.  We were fine with that
plan.  The only problem, and again the
biggest problem, is that they ran out of food and people stopped being directed
when to go. 

 

12.  The additional
guests I was referring to, were my great uncle **** and his daughter Linda who
drove him.  They were included in the 155
guest count that I provided on 05/16/13 (140 adults and 15 children).  The only reason I referred to them as
additional guests is that we only asked them to come after we were assured the
walls would be up and it would be warm. 
Sadly, they did not get anything other than a chicken breast for
dinner.  They were included in the count
we gave them and certainly not the reason Emerald Ridge ran out of food.

 

13.  Linens were not
cleaned, which is fine, they weren't obviously dirty, other than the container
they were taken out of.  It was just one
more issue that was not up to the standard we were verbally told, and as
presented on the website.

 

14.             
All of the guests were asked for an honest
answer to what they experienced. We were in no way trying to sway people into
saying anything other than what they honestly noticed.  We have many people willing to vouch for what
they witnessed (and people who left to get dinner after it was not provided)
that will be willing to speak to what they saw. 
What kind of bride wants to send an email like that indicating the
awareness that thing did not go as planned 
and paid for.  That was
embarrising to do, but we felt the need to apologize to our guests since
Emerald Ridge didn't. 

As far as the facts they believe to point out:

1. They did not prepare enough food for the event.  We have almost 100 adult witnesses to that
(not the complete 119 that were there, since several guests were under the age
of 20 and we won't ask to testify, but still were paid for as adult meals)

 

2. They would have no reason to charge us for additional
food. The only reason they had to make more is because they did not prepare
enough for dinner.  They still did not
prepare the dinner we paid for (140 adults and 15 children to have chicken
breast, lasagna with garlic bread, fruit, veggie medley, and garlic mashed potato)
for the 119 guests (includinbg adults and children) we had there.

 

3. We never saw a bill for any additional beverages or a
count of what was used.  We would have
paid for any additional soda if given a bill and the event would have gone as
planned.  It is difficult to believe that
the beverages we pre-paid for from the soda bar (100 cans of soda) was not
accurate as we also had punch, brandy slush, and sangria that many of our
guests were drinking.  As a further note
to this, it was upsetting to realize after half of our guests did not get
dinner, that Emerald Ridge put out TWO tip jars for the soda bar tender.  We had not been informed or asked if they
could do that. The soda was pre-paid for, including 5.5% tax and 17% gratuity
which was paid for by us.

4.  We will not sit
down and discuss anything further with Emerald Ridge Weddings without a
mediator.  The verbal correspondence we
have had with them has been detrimental to us since we have no proof of our
conversations.

 

Conclusion:

We did not realize we were purchasing a Red Neck Wedding
Reception.  If the website of the wedding
venue http://www.emeraldridgeweddings.com/ and everything we were told was
true, that would not have been the case. 
Our wedding, our way.. would have been to have enough food to feed our
guests, plus an addtional 36 people we paid for who weren't even there.  Their was no excuse to run out before half
our guests were fed.  We were aware we
were having our reception at a pole barn type set up, we were aware part of it
was an outdoor environment with a fire pit outside and a silo in the background
and that is what we liked about it.  The
problem was that our guests were not provide the dinner we paid for.  I do not feel that is looking for a black tie
affair.  Our  rehearsal dinner the night before our wedding
was successful because we planned it ourselves and had enough food. It is
frustrating for us to see someone who does this professionally, make such a
mistake on our wedding night. That is the main issue we have with Emerald Ridge
Outdoor Weddings, they did not provide the services we paid for.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** *******

 

 

 

 

We paid for 155 meals for a buffet style dinner for our wedding.  This is a fact.  It is also a fact that we were not provided enough food to feed 155 guests.  This is evidenced by the fact that we had less guests than we paid for (119 in attendance at the reception) and the buffet style dinner started to run out after approximately 40 people went through the line.  There were still chicken breasts left, but not the full 2 entrée and 3 side dinner that we had paid for our 155 guests to be served.    Emerald Ridge ran out of food when we still had 115 meals we paid for that were not provided.  This is a fact. They made more carrots and potatoes over an hour later.  If there had been enough food, it would not have been necessary to make more, and if it had been, why didn't they attempt to charge us?  They claimed to be surprised we were unhappy in the first response they provided on June 15, 2013.  The potatoes and carrots that were brought down after dark were still not the complete dinner we paid for, and this food was provided after several guests had left to go eat elsewhere.  We also were never told that there was more soda consumed than what we pre- paid for.  We first were told this in Emerald Ridge's response to the BBB.  Why would Emerald Ridge not have provided a bill after the wedding if this was true? The fact that Emerald Ridge purposely did not charge for extra soda or "extra" food shows, in my opinion, that they knew they had made a mistake and shorted us.  Emerald Ridge Outdoor Weddings advertise the understanding that a wedding is one of the most important days in a persons life, and the blatant disrespect shown to us after the debacle they caused on our wedding day does not reflect that to be true.  Simply stating they provided enough food for our wedding event does not make it true.  Again, we have 100 witnesses to attest to the fact that they did not provide the dinner we paid for.  We had 119 guests, about 19 of them were under the age of 18.  Everyone we spoke to, who attended our wedding witnessed the food shortage. Our first guests who went through the buffet line, including ourselves, would have had to take almost four times the standard portions of food for Emerald Ridge's claim of providing enough food to be truthful. These are the facts.  We disagree with Emerald Ridge's response and continue to believe we are owed a refund for the fact that they did not provide the dinner we paid for.

Business Response:

Dear **** & ****:

Again we are very surprised when we received your rebuttal.

Again, that evening when speaking with **** and many of your guests, they acknowledged everything was great. 


I would like to point out a couple of facts;

1.       Again, we did prepare enough food for the event.

2.      Again, we did not charge you for additional food.

3.  Again, we did not charge you for the additional beverages.  

 

Sincerely

 

Emerald Ridge

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** *******

 

 -**** never acknowledged that things were "great" on the day of the wedding and reception. We weren't aware of any major problem, especially the food shortage, until later in the night when ****** and ***** were gone. Again, there was a major food shortage and we have several witnesses to that.