Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Van Vreede TV & Appliance, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (920) 730-4477 Fax: (920) 730-4478 2450 W College Ave, Appleton, WI 54914 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.vanvreedes.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the retail sale of furniture, mattresses, appliances and electronics.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Van Vreede TV & Appliance, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Van Vreede TV & Appliance, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Van Vreede TV & Appliance, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 16, 1993 Business started: 06/30/1951 in WI Business started locally: 06/30/1951 Business incorporated 07/24/1973 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions
345 W. Washington Ave. 4th Floor, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 266-1064
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary L. Brynjulfson, Owner Mr. Greg L. Ernst, President / Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary L. Brynjulfson, Owner
Principal: Mr. Greg L. Ernst, President / Owner
Related Businesses
Howie Voigt's Appliance Service Center, div. of VanVreede TV & Appliance, Inc.
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Mattresses Television & Radio - Dealers Electronic Equipment & Suppliers - Service & Repair Home Electronics - Designers Appliances - Major - Dealers Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies Appliances - Small - Dealers Furniture Stores (NAICS: 442110)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Service Area
Northeastern Wisconsin
Industry Tips
Before You Buy

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Van Vreede TV & Appliance, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2180 W Mason St

    Green Bay, WI 54303 (920) 498-6200

  • 2450 W College Ave

    Appleton, WI 54914 (920) 730-4477

  • 285 S Washburn St

    Oshkosh, WI 54904 (920) 426-8787

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We remodeled our house in April of 2013 which was when we went to Van Vreedes Appliance Center in Green Bay, WI. to purchase a brand new Stove, microwave, refrigerator, and dishwasher. We purchased the products in April received them early May 2013 by June of 2013 we started having LOTS of problems with the refrigerator. They told us we had to call a plumber to make sure things with the water hook up were right. We did and had to pay the plumber out of pocket, and the problem was the fridge nothing to do with the plumbing. We would wake up every morning with the floor flooded, and I even put a cup under the water at night to try and catch some of it but it would overflow. There service department came so many times to fix it that one of the last times they came the service man said they could not fix it anymore the clips on the top were now not holding because they have been opened and shut so many times. After getting the run around from the store ******* ******* ******* as he dodged my phone calls and took two weeks to deal with him. I called the better business bureau for help. They called him before I filed a complaint and then he finally got back in contact with me. However he was not of much help at all. Instead of backing the product he sells and helping me fix the situation he told me I needed to do this do that do this. Did not help at all told me what to do. Finally I got in touch with KitchenAid and got a new refrigerator in September 2013. I thought finally we are don with this and can move on. Nope by Spring of 2014 I had to start calling the service men again to come back for the refrigerator because of the same problems the we had the first time around. On top of that the dishwasher stopped working. When the nice service man came he informed me that the dishwasher motor was junk and needed to be replaced for the dishwasher to work, and of course the dishwasher was out of warranty by a month. I thought with all the problems I had already had with me refrigerator Van Vreedes would help maybe split the $300 bill or do anything. When I called to talk to them about the issue they were rude totally blew me off and said to bad. Horrible customer service.. We had to pay out of pocket for the dishwasher to be repaired. Now it is May 2015 my refrigerator is not working at all. It flooded the floor under the refrigerator, a lot of the food in the freezer and refrigerator are junk, freezer is not working at all. Just bought groceries on 5/12/15 bill was $231.07 most of the food junk. The brand new floors we put in, in April 2013 are starting to warp because we have had so many water problems with the original fridge and second fridge. I called ******* at Van Vreedes of Green Bay to ask for help and ask what they were going to do for us. He was no help at all, raised his voice to me. I told him I was contacting the better business bureau and a lawyer. Then he says first let service come see what they have to say then you do this and that. I kept telling him no I wanted him to help me solve this problem. He sold me the junk why should I have to make all the phone calls, and contact all the people. I feel like he sold me junk took my money, and good luck your on your own. They have done nothing for us. I would like to know who is going to replace my warped floors, all the groceries we have lost since Spring 2013, all my time off work to be there for the service calls.

Desired Settlement: I want things taken care of and made right. I would like my floors replaced I am hoping the sub floor under the fridge is not rotting. I would like some portion of my groceries reimbursed. I will suck up the time lost from my job to be here for the double digit service calls. I would like a full refund for the refrigerator, so I can go else where and purchase a product from a company that fully backs their consumers.

Business Response:

******** *****'s frustration is demonstrated in the tone of this complaint. This frustration and extreme profane language has made assisting her very challenging. Some details in ********'s complaint are not accurate. Manufacturers provide service warranties on their product and will not allow the dealer to exchange the product without their approval. ******** received a problematic refrigerator which we assisted in seeing that it was exchanged by providing the manufacturer with details of the service history. We asked ******** to help us communicate with the manufacturer because we have found some manufacturers to be more responsive when working with both the retailer and the end user. The first refrigerator was exchanged and now, about 20 months later, the exchanged refrigerator is requiring service for a third time. ******** insists the refrigerator be exchanged but there is a process to follow with the manufacturer that must be followed. ******** disagrees. Since ******** had written this complaint, we have diagnosed the refrigerator as needing a part which we have ordered and will install as soon as it arrives. Also, we have provided her with information she can use to file her possible food loss claim. We are contacting the manufacturer with the service history on ********'s behalf. We will contact ******** directly regarding any floor damage which must be handled through an insurance process.

There is no record of a phone contact from the BBB to our company regarding any customer complaint including ******** *****. Phone calls addressing complaints does not follow protocol of the BBB. Please correct me if I am wrong.

******** had her dishwasher delivered on April 3, 2013. The dishwasher comes with a 1 year warranty from the manufacturer. On November 3, 2014, service was requested and a pump/motor needed to be replaced. Since the product was 7 months out of warranty, the manufacturer did not cover the repair.

Finally, we are disappointed that we have received this complaint. Our company goal is to achieve and maintain a level of 100% customer satisfaction. We are proud of our A+ rating from the BBB and are committed to serving our customers as best we can.

Sincerely,

**********

 

 

4/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I purchased a Whirlpool stove/oven. We were told that it has convection built into it. When we try to use this feature the food will not cook properly. After their repair service (***** ******) came to look at it we were told that it not a convection oven only a regular oven with a convection style fan. We contacted Van Vreedes and explained that we were not happy with the oven and we asked for a refund or a different stove. We were told that they do not offer refunds or exchanges. With the fact that we paid a significantly higher amount in order to get the convection feature we feel that the oven was misrepresented and that we should be allowed to select a different stove/oven. In addition to this the burners do not work properly, not cooking evenly. On the same date (September 5th 2014) we also purchased an LG Dryer. After a week of use the dryer stopped drying properly. The repair company has come out 3 separate times to replace parts. Each time they leave the drying is working again then after a week or less then it goes back to the same problem of not drying the clothes (turning its self off after only one 9-10 minutes) The last time ***** ****** came out to replace another part and said that LG told them that if this doesn't solve the problem the dryer will have to be replaced. The dryer is still not drying the clothes. A repair man was out today for the 4th time and told us this time that we will just have to stop using the dryer settings and go to using the "Time Dry" option. We chose this dryer because of its ability to sense the dampness and turn itself off when the clothes are dry thus helping to conserve energy.

Desired Settlement: I would a refund on both items. We have lost all trust with Van Vreedes and would them to refund us the money and come pick up these appliances so I can repurchases them somewhere ells.

Business Response:

I contacted Mr. and Mrs. ******* and understand the frustration with how their products are performing. Both manufacturers provide a repair warranty and will support their product. First, the range. The *******'s paid $731.50 for the range which is being advertised today as a Whirlpool convection range for $809 at Lowes. They paid a fair price for the product they received. Mr. ******* recognizes that convection ranges with an extra heating element cost $300-$600 more. Mrs. ******* described in detail how the burners were working and agreed to have them looked at by the service department. This problem should be solvable. If not, Whirlpool will be contacted. Second, the dryer. The LG dryer has been serviced 3 separate times. On Mr. *******'s behalf, we contacted LG and supplied them with the service history on the dryer. LG asked for one more attempt to repair, Mr. ******* agreed, so it will  be serviced one more time. If it is not repaired, I believe LG will then authorize us to exchange the dryer. The *******'s are understanding of this. VanVreedes will work with the manufacturer's as they do not allow VanVreedes to exchange a new product and resell it as such without their approval.

Sincerely,

**** ***** *********

12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My parents purchased a dishwasher in December of 2013. They purchased the extended warranty in addition to the manufacturer's warranty. They used the dishwasher for a couple months and then they started having problems with it. A repair person (**** from ***** *****) was sent out to fix the problem. He said there was something in it. He took out a little red piece from the dishwasher. My parents used the dishwasher for two days, and noticed that it would just run and then the lights would keep blinking and the cycle would shut down. **** the repair man called the company and the company said the seam was leaking. **** came out a week later and took pictures with the computer after my dad removed the dishwasher and set it in the corner of the hallway (end of September). My father stopped at Van Vreede's on September 17 to check on the status of the replacement. I stopped at Van Vreede's on November 1 and talked with **** to follow up with the dishwasher issue again. My parents also called in October a couple times and were told they were doing the paperwork and they would get back to them. No one ever called back. I was told that the pictures were sent to Samsung and they would get back to us. I stopped back again the middle of November to ask about the dishwasher. I was told a lady from Samsung had the pictures and she would notify my parents in three to five business days. I stopped back one week later and was told my parents would be getting a new dishwasher in three to five business day, but we have not heard anything else and that was about two weeks ago and still no response. It seems like my parents have been getting the run around. They have had the dishwasher sitting in their hall since September. They are very frustrated and would just like to resolve the issue. The old dishwasher is also an inconvenience since it is just sitting in their hall. I asked if it could be removed by Thanksgiving, but I keep getting the answer of three to five business days. We missed its use for one holiday already-hopefully we can have this solved before Christmas.

Desired Settlement: I was told they would be getting a new dishwasher since the other one was deemed not repairable, but nothing has happened so far,

Business Response:

This customer has been patient. I agree with their frustration. They purchased the SamSung dishwasher about 11 months ago and it is covered under the manufacturers warranty. It was serviced and we were able to convince the manufacturer to exchange the unit. Only the manufacturer can make this call and execute the process. Each time we checked with SamSung we were told the exchange paperwork was being sent out. After this happened several times, we were able to determine the exchange paperwork had been sent to the wrong destination. We have worked with SamSung in making the correction and expect the exchange paperwork very soon. Then, the customer will be contacted and the product exchanged. We are closely monitoring the situation.

Sincerely,

**** *****

*********

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** *******

 

 

 

10/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been having issues with our refrigerator/freezer. The freezer will no freeze all items. We have had a service person out here 4 times and they have said there is nothing more they can do. We contacted Van Vreede's and also *********. Van Vreede's continues to do nothing even after ********* instructed us to return the item to Van Vreede's. ********* has all our info listed in their notes but has stated to us that nobody has ever called from Van Vreede's to have this taken care of.

Desired Settlement: Full refund on refrigerator and also the extended warranty.

Business Response:

**** ******* is not the original purchaser of this product. The refrigerator was serviced several times at no cost to **** and is still under the manufacturers warranty. Each time, the refrigerator was found to be working properly. We have contacted the manufacturer regarding the customers feeling that the refrigerator is not working properly. The manufacturer will arrange for a second opinion. We are working with ********* on the customers behalf to help **** ******* get taken care of. At this point, ********* has not authorized any exchange but the review process is not yet complete. 

Sincerely,

**** *****

*********

Business Response:

VanVreedes works very hard to achieve a customer satisfaction rate well above our competition. We are voted best appliance store and enjoy an A+ rating with the BBB. As stated from the beginning , the manufacturer must approve the exchange of its product. We worked with the manufacturer on the customer's behalf and were able to convince them to do this exchange. The exchange is complete and a full refund has been made to the customer. Through the process, the customer was not accurate with the details and was disrespectful. The copy of the invoice that was supplied to the BBB is not a valid copy. The actual (paid in full) sale is to **** *** ****** on 9/6/2013. Furthermore, when the product was delivered to **** *** ******, **** ******* signed for the delivery. Now he is indicating the same sale is not valid? If the customer needs service in the future, they simply need to provide the name under which the product was purchased. Finally, I would encourage the customer to request a refund on the remaining extended warranties so they can obtain service from another company. We have no interest in conducting future business with this customer.

Sincerely,

**** *****

*********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We have been 100% accurate with our details. In our contact with the manufacturer we were informed to contact Van Vreedes and return the appliance.(Fact as recorder in the contact notes at the manufacturer). The copy of the invoice supplied was the actual and original invoice that started the sale and was supplied along with the paid receipt(down payment), the purchase was made by ****** ******(Fact). **** *** ****** was only to pay off the balance not have the sale put in his name(Fact). When the appliances where delivered this invoice was questioned and the driver said it did not matter(another fact). We also went in to the store and asked how the name was changed and were told they did not know and could nothing about it(another fact)So how did we get an invoice from Van Vreedes if not valid? How did **** *** ****** have the name changed in the first place? How can Van Vreedes say we have been not accurate, while we have provided paperwork to back up our facts? How have we been disrespectful, when it has been just about everyone thru the process with Van Vreedes that has called us liars and were unwilling to do their jobs. Now the so called ********* of the company comes back and is the one being disrespectful. I would not worry about future business from us or just about anyone we know. The warranties will stay in place and if Van Vreedes refuses to abide by them I guess it will be more complaints for the "best appliance store" in fantasy land.  

Regards,

**** *******

 

 

9/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a Toshiba 46L5200U TV on 4/21/2012 for $850 dollars along with a 3-yr warranty for $140. The TV quit working on 8-7-2014, and I notified Van Vreede on that same day. They told me I would have to contact their sub contracted service company, which I did. After numerous phone calls to the service company, the warranty company, and Van Vreede's, I finally received a call on 8-27-2014 from Txx at Van Vreede's that they would replace the TV with a LG 47LN5400 instead of repairing it (On line reviews of this tv are not very good). I went to Van Vreede's that same day to look at the TV, which they were selling for $550, which is $300 less than the one we bought, and guess what, they didn't even have it on display. Txx said it would be next week before they have it on display. So another week is wasted. We looked at a Samsung which Van Vreede's was selling for $749 but was told it would cost an additional $180. A lot of good a $140 warranty did on the original $850 TV. The salesmen love to sell warranty contracts, but if and when you need it, the customer has to do all the leg work to get it enforced, and then you find out it doesn't really cover the cost of the TV. As of this date, nothing is resolved. I am stuck with a TV that doesn't work, a warranty that means nothing, and a business that doesn't care.

Desired Settlement: Fix my old Toshiba or replace it something that is good as or better than our old TV. I do not want a obsolete replacement.

Business Response:

Mr. ****** purchased a flat screen tv along with a 3 year extended warranty for $140 on 4/21/2012. **********, the insurance company provides coverage for repair or replacement of the tv if it were to fail. Extended warranties in the electronic industry will replace a failed tv with a new model that is featured the same or greater. The insurance company is not expecting Mr. ****** to settle for less. The retail price of the product does not matter. This coverage is clearly printed in the coverage documents. Mr. ****** is being treated fair by the insurance company. We will contact Mr. ****** and allow him to change brands if he wishes to, but any upgrade difference may have to be paid for. Mr. ******'s decision to purchase an extended will provide him with an equivalent tv at no cost. Thank you.

**** *****

*********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


I did agree with Van Vreede's on a warranty replacement plus a additional  $125 from me for a new tv on 9-1-14, but they don't have the tv in stock, So I 'am still waiting for my replacement. When I receive the replacement and everything on the set appears OK, I will then sign off on my complaint.

Regards,

****** ******

 

 

Business Response:

I spoke with this customer personally to explain the coverage his warranty company provides. The warranty provides replacement with a tv of the same or greater value similar to all extended warranties in the industry. He understood but was still somewhat frustrated. I offered an additional discount to further help. The customer came in and reselected a new tv which has been ordered for him.

**** *****

*********

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received three Lane Furniture living room tables as a gift, delivered on Dec.24, 2013. Within one to two weeks of delivery, the veneer started peeling off of the coffee table. A Van Vreede's rep came to my home to inspect them, and promised that the replacement piece would be ordered and delivered within 7 to 14 business days. In early February, 2014, after not hearing from Van Vreede's, my boyfriend, who purchased the tables for me) visited the ******** location and was told by ******* that the piece had been re-ordered three times, and each time was damaged upon arrival. ******* agreed to exchange the tables for another kind at no cost to us, and offered a discount on the replacement tables. Around Feb. 22, my boyfriend and I visited the store and I picked out two replacement end tables, a coffee table and we added a console table to the order to take advantage of the supposed discounted price. The tables were delivered to my house around the third week of March. The gentlemen delivering them noted that their warehouse noticed that there was a chunk taken out of the back of one of the end tables and it had been reordered. There was a hand-written note taped to it saying "back chipped, ok to use until new one arrives". As they brought in the console table, they also noted that the corners were banged in and there was a knick in the top front piece. This was noted on the delivery receipt. When they brought in the coffee table, I immediately noticed a big black scuff mark near the center of the top. While the delivery guys were at my house, one of them made two phone calls to the store to report the damage to three of the four tables. At this time, my boyfriend was charged an additional $756 for the difference in cost between the first set of three tables and the three replacement, as well as the addition of the console table. As the delivery guys were leaving, he assured me that Van Vreede's would call within 2 days to advise when the replacements would arrive. After they left, we examined the delivery receipt and noticed that we were only credited $210 for each of the three original tables, for a total of $630, which is $110 less than the original purchase price of $740. In April, after no call from Van Vreede's, my boyfriend went to Van Vreede's to inquire on the status and was told that they were not aware of the damage and requested that he e-mail them pictures of the damage. We e-mailed pictures within a few days. In mid- to late May, after no response or confirmation from Van Vreede's, my boyfriend visited the store again and *** Jackson from Van Vreede's read the e-mails for the first time while he was there. She and ******* agreed to replace the console and end table, but said that the black scuff mark on the coffee table was not damage, it was part of the "distressed" finish. My boyfriend disagreed and explained that aside from the black scuff mark right next to the chip in the back of the damaged end table, there are no similar marks on any of the other tables. The Van Vreede's ladies agreed to order a replacement console and end table, but they would have to take some time to examine the photos and determine if the scuff mark on the coffee table was indeed damage. At this point, he was understandably frustrated with Van Vreede's unacceptable customer service, so he told them he wanted Van Vreede's to pick up the tables and refund his money. He was told that he would be charged a fee to pick them up, as well as a restocking fee of approximately $450. He left the store. On July 7, after no word from Van Vreede's, I visited the store and spoke with *******. She told me that our order had just been closed because they had not heard from us. I asked her why we had not been contacted by Van Vreede's to confirm the tables were ordered. She told me that the console and end table had been ordered in May, the console table was in stock, but the end table was sold because we had not called back to schedule delivery. I told her that we never received a phone call from Van Vreede's to arrange delivery, and she objected, insisting that she had called "a bunch of times" and left messages for my boyfriend. When I asked her for a list if the dates she had called, she gave me three dates, two in March and one in May, a day or two after my boyfriend's last visit to the store. I pointed out that the two calls in March would have been to arrange delivery of the first set of replacement tables, and there was no message left in May. She continued to insist that she had left numerous messages, yet she could not provide any documentation of those calls. She then asked me if my boyfriend and I were still together, and went on to imply that he must be lying to me because she knows she called a bunch of times. I then told her that the facts are that I was assured upon delivery three months prior that the damage had been noted and the three tables would be replaced, yet I still have three damaged tables in my living room and asked her what they were going to do to fix it. She then told me that a Van Vreede's rep came to my house to inspect the coffee table and determined that the scuff mark was part of the distressed finish and they would not replace it. I told her that was not true, no rep had been to my house to inspect this set of tables, and she insisted that someone had been there. I finally said that I would know if a Van Vreede's rep had been to my house because it's my house and I would have had to let him in. After about an hour of ******* giving me excuses, changing her story and asking me why it had taken me so long to contact them, she finally agreed to send a rep to my house to inspect the tables. I gave ******* my phone number and asked her to remove my boyfriend's number. She told me that *** would call me the next day to arrange a time. After no word from *** the next day, I had to call the store and set up a time. ***** from Van Vreede's inspected the tables that following Friday, July 11. He agreed that the scuff mark on the coffee table was damage and not due to distressing, and also noted the damage to the console and end tables. He said replacements would be ordered and should be in within one to two weeks. Today, August 11, I went to Van Vreede's again because it has now been over four weeks and I had not heard from them. I spoke to *******, she said that the pictures had been sent to the manufacturer, but they sent the wrong parts, they were a gloss finish. She said that *** had just reordered replacements today and it would be another four weeks before they are delivered. She said I would receive a phone call when they arrive.

Desired Settlement: A) Van Vreede's to pick up the tables and give us a full refund including the $110 not credited on the first set of tables, or B) The damaged tables replaced (full table, not parts) no later than August 21, 2014 and a substantial credit (refund, not store credit) for the frustration and inconvenience this has caused, as well as the $110 not credited upon return of the original three tables.

Business Response:

This complaint is not from the individual who purchased the product. The purchaser gave us specific instructions to communicate with him exclusively. The communication has been strained due to circumstances beyond our control. The credit in question has been applied as agreed. Since this product has been specially ordered for the customer, service must be handled in the following fashion. There is a sofa table that is waiting to be exchanged and a coffee table top which should be here soon that will need to be changed. We will contact ****** to do so now that we have the contact information. After these items are addressed we would be happy to offer some type of compensation to the purchaser of the product. Thank you.

Sincerely,

****** ********

*******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The purchaser asked Van Vreede's to contact him exclusively regarding the original purchase in December as the tables were a Christmas gift, meant to be a suprise.  The Van Vreede's rep who inspected the peeling veneer in January was given my contact information as the tables were at my house, not the purchaser's.  Ms. ********'s statement regarding contact information is not valid, as aside from three phone calls from Van Vreede's to arrange delivery (one in December and two in March), the business failed to initiate any communication with either the purchaser or myself.  We initiated all contact with Van Vreede's.


Van Vreede's delivery contract states, "In order for our insurance company to accept liability for any damage, such damage must be noted before our delivery people leave the premises."  Damage was noted and documented before they left the premises as follows: A) damage to the console table was noted on the delivery receipt, B) a label produced by Van Vreede's indicating damage was attached to the coffee table, and C) the delivery people made two separate phone calls to a Van Vreede's ******* to document the damage to all three tables while at my house.  Therefore, a minimum of three Van Vreede's employees (two delivery people and at least one employee at the store) were made aware of the damage at the time of delivery.  The delivery people were very apologetic and assured us that all three replacements would be ordered immediately and promised that we would be contacted by Van Vreede's that following Monday, March 24, with an ETA on the replacements, as well as to arrange delivery once the tables arrived.  We were not contacted by Van Vreede's and the tables were not ordered as promised.  It was at this point that Van Vreede's failed to adhere to the terms of their own delivery contract.


We again contacted Van Vreede's in April, and we were told that Van Vreede's had no knowledge if the damage and we were told to e-mail photos.  We immediately sent photos, despite having no legal obligation to do so as the damage was clearly documented by a minimum of three employees at the time of delivery.  Van Vreede's then attempted to dispute the damage, continuing to violate the terms of their own delivery contract.


We have given Van Vreede's numerous opportunities to rectify the situation.  We have not received a single apology from Van Vreede's for their role in continually dropping the ball after the damaged tables were delivered and they had our money.  This has gone on long enough and "soon" is no longer sufficient.  If Van Vreede's cannot provide us with a written guarantee that the three tables (console, coffee, and end table, which Ms. ********'s reply failed to address) will be replaced no later than August 21, then we are demanding a full refund to the purchaser, including delivery charges.

Regards,

****** *******

 

 

Business Response:

Ms. ******* is not the purchaser of this product. After the product was delivered, the purchaser had requested that we only communicate to him, and not his ex. The communication has been strained partially due to this circumstance. This product was specially ordered for the purchaser who understands the manufacturer will not accept a return. We have contacted the manufacturer who has agreed to replace the tables rather than wait for parts. They should arrive about the first week in September. Then we will contact Ms. ******* to arrange for delivery. Finally, some type of compensation will be provided.

 

Sincerely,

****** ********

 

*******

  

8/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an LG dehumidifier from **** ***** in West Allis, WI on July 8, 2009. The unit came with a full 5 year parts and labor warranty. Earlier this year I noticed the unit would run, but no moisture was collected. I searched the LG website and determined the closest authorized repair facility was Van Vreede's. On July 1, 2014 my wife dropped the unit off at Van Vreede's in Oshkosh, WI. The person there stated they would take it to their Appleton location and provided us with a form indicating the date the unit was brought in. My wife also provided them with copies of the original sales receipt and warranty information. When nothing was heard after 4 weeks I contacted them. They have a separate division for appliance repair titled ***** *****. The service manager is **** and his telephone number is ###-###-####. **** checked with his service technicians and determined there was a problem with the sealed system. He checked for authorization with LG and was declined because the unit was now out of warranty. He phoned me with this information and stated I would have to contact LG directly and provided the telephone number. Because the unit was now a month out of warranty, through no fault of mine, LG declined to authorize repairs. Had ***** ***** started the repair within the remaining 1 week warranty coverage this unit could have been repaired under warranty at no cost. Now the unit can only be repaired at my expense. The people there were nice to work with but dropped the ball on opening the repair file within the appropriate time period. I fully understand I did not purchase the dehumidifier there, but as an authorized service facility it shouldn't matter.

Desired Settlement: In all fairness, failure to get the unit repaired under warranty was a result of errors made by Van Vreede's and ***** *****. I would like the unit repaired and the associated expenses written off as the cost of higher education. Thank you very much for the time taken to explore and hopefully resolve this matter.

Business Response:

The manufacturer (LG) has failed to communicate the correct information to Mr. ******. I have verified the following information and called Mr. ****** personally. Mr. ****** requested service on his dehumidifier when it was under warranty. The dehumidifier has a sealed system problem and is not worth repairing. We are sending information to Mr. ****** he will need to forward to LG who will then provide a refund for the dehumidifier. This is what Mr. ****** expects and I agree.

 

Sincerely,

**** *****

*********

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I faxed a copy of a letter drafted in response to Mr. *****'s personal telephone call to me on August 6, 2014 at approximately 10:30 a.m. to your office.  In it I stated that had the correct information been provided at the outset I would not have filed the complaint.  I also asked that the complaint be dismissed and not made a part of VanVreede's BBB record.  Thank you

Regards,

 

******* ******

 

 

 

5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I went to Van Vreedes 2/17/2013.We found living room furniture that we really liked. Sofa, 2 end tables, 2 swivel recliners. 3023.95 We really liked the recliners on how you would sit straight up in them. Each chair was 689.99. March 23 2013 it was delivered our house. After several weeks I noticed several flaws in material on cushion. My husband said his chair was not like the one he sat in at store. We sat in each others chair and could not believe the difference. They were not the same.I called ***,scheduled appointment for the service man to come out and look. Service man said he would order new material for my chair and a clip for my husbands chair. The clip he said would make the chair come up higher. That was sometime in 7/2013. I called *** several times and she told me someone ordered the wrong material, someone was on vacation it was a excuse.9/20/13 service man came to put new material on my chair and clip on my husbands. Several days later flaw is back, clip did not work. Dec 9th I called talk to Manger *****l, told her I was very up set. She scheduled service man for Dec 13th.He said there is nothing else he can do for my husbands chair.Looked at mine seen the flaw said it was coming from the mechanism. Said *** would call me, she never did, I called her days later, she said she ordered new mechanism for my chair and a new chair for my husband.Jan 13 2014 husband gets new chair.He still says it is not right.Jan 31 service man comes puts new cushion and mechanism on my chair.Now my chair is worse, it does not sit right.Service man takes pictures and says *** will call me. *** never calls.I call later, she says they know of a man that can fix it, they have to come pick it up. I said why can't you order me a new chair, she said **** does not make that pattern anymore. Feb 10 they come to pick up my chair. Week later drop off the chair,it is the same.Called *** she said they would order me new chair.5/3/14 wrong chair delivered,said **** put wrong chair in box.

Desired Settlement: This has been going on for over 1 year. 689.99 for one chair and we paid for 2 of them. We still do not have the right chairs.Not once was I every offered anything for the inconvenience of this situation.They always have a excuse. Always covering up for each other. Want them to tell the truth.Told them several times to come and take there furniture back.I would like some compensation and the right kind of chairs.

Business Response:

**** brand furniture was successfully delivered to Mrs. ******* on March 23, 2013. After several months of use, July 2013 by Mrs. *******'s account, service was requested. The manufacturer provides a 1 year repair warranty on the product. After some time, it is not uncommon for chairs to sit differently depending on the conditions under each chair was used. Satisfying Mrs. ******* has been especially challenging because **** (brand manufacturer) shut down, changed ownership and caused unnecessary delays. Now **** is operating normally. Also, Mrs. ******* frustration has caused some of our employees to feel uncomfortable in communicating with her. Now, a new chair has been received to replace the chair in question. It is the right chair with the wrong base attached. **** has indicated they will send the correct base within two weeks. We plan to install the base and exchange the chair at that time. Finally, a modest compensation will be offered to Mrs. ******* as promised. Van Vreedes takes great pride in servicing our customers and consistently achieves more than a 99% customer satisfaction rating and enjoys an A+ BBB rating.

Sincerely,

**** *****

*********

Business Response:

The manufacturer has shipped the correct base for Mrs. *******'s chair. The correct base will be received, inspected and installed on to the chair, then, Mrs. ******* will be contacted to schedule delivery.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *******

 

 My chair was delivered on May 27th. It is totally different then the one i had and the other one i have that my husband sits in. I do sit up straight in it but my feet now do not touch the ground. I will keep the chair and hope it works out. Don't understand how 2 chairs can be so different. My husbands chair, the back is so far back compared to this new chair. I guess we learned a lesson, we will never buy anything from Van Vreede's again and we will make sure we tell everyone we know how we were treated and I will make sure I do all the reviews I can.

11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: .My husband I had purchased a bedbase from Van Vreede's on September 9, 2013. We decided on one that was on the floor as a model, but needed a King size, and the floor model was a queen. We were told it would be 6 weeks for delivery. we agreed and ordered. , Our salesperson, ******* told us we needed a $100 depost, which we, now regretably put $500 down, since we saved this money for months, and I was using cash. This left us with a remaining $314 at delivery. when the bed frame was brought to us on October 26, 2013, it would not fit up the stairs the standard way, but we have a flat roof and wanted to attempt it that way, which would most likely work. As I looked at the product, I noticed it was nothing like I ordered. We ordered on that had detailed carvings in the wood and very nice handles on the each of the six drawers of the base bed. the bed that they were delivering was a complete flat surace from the side of the frame to the drawers, with no handles at all. I immediately contacted *******, our sales person and told her of this issue. I put it back on the truck and returned it. I cannot get my deposit back. they are insisting I pay a $200 restock fee. I dont feel I should have to since the bedframe was nothing like I ordered, and the manufacturer would not take it back from them, since they said the mistake was not on their end. This is what the Manager ****** told me during one of heated arguments. The salesperson at Van Vreed's place the wrong order. The only options given to my by Van Vreede's are costing me more money..the restock fee is involved in all options given to me. This is so wrong. I just want to walk away with my Deposit and never return to this store again. Who charges a customer for a mistake they made? Very dissapointed from a so called family business.I am hoping you can help me resolve this issue, since I can get nowhere. I went to the store to look at other beds, and the salesman said he could not answer for me until ****** returned????why??

Desired Settlement: I would like my %500 deposit back, and walk away from this nightmare. Thank you for your time.

Consumer Response: floor model 1.JPG

floor model 2.JPG

wrong delivery.jpg

I filled out a complaint online early this morning, and would like to add pictures to this case.

This is in reference to a basebed that I ordered by looking at one on the floor at Van Vreede’s.  this was ordered.

I have pictures of the exact bed on the floor that we ordered from (from my cell phone right at the store), and I have a picture of the one that was

Delivered to us. The picture of the one delivered to us is from the Manufacturer’s website, since I did not take a photo at my house, since I returned it right back to the delivery truck.

(Van Vreede’s still has this in their warehouse).  I have them labeled as “floor model” and “wrong delivery”.

I really am hoping you can help me get my full deposit back from them.

I appreciate your service and your time.

Thank you.

 
*** ********* ******** ****** ******** **** ****** ***** * ******** ** ***** ****** ************ * *** ************ **************************

Business Response:

Good Morning,

      Greg Ernst and myself met with ********** and worked out a favorable solution. We are ordering her a new platform, custom made so it will fit into her home. She is pleased with the result.

                                ****** ********   Furniture Mgr.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

*** ********

 

 

 

9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a table and 4 chairs from Van Vreede's at the end of December 2012. Our table was supposed to be delivered on or about Jan 27th 2013 (according to the paperwork we got from them), but was not delivered until March. Upon delivery we found one chair to have broken back and the table to have a broken trim piece. We informed the delivery guys of this and they wrote it down and said that someone would call and that the chair would REPLACED and the table would be fixed. After many many calls by my husband to Van Vreede's they came out with the parts on June 10th 2013, but they did not bring a replacement chair as the paperwork stated and the piece that was supposed to be put on the table was the wrong size. It has been almost 6 months since the table was supposed to have been delivered and we still can't use one of our chairs and the table STILL isn't fixed. We asked to return the table since we are frankly sick of waiting for a fully functional dining room set 6 months after it was supposed to be delivered and we paid almost $1800 for and at this point would rather have ALL our money back so that we can actually all eat at a table as a family. We were offered $100 off today, which frankly is a joke since we have had to call almost every week to make sure that the parts were ordered and when they do get ordered they are wrong. At this point we will apparently have to wait another 12 weeks (the furniture was custom) for the HOPEFULLY correct part and COMPLETE chair to arrive putting us at almost 9 months since the table was supposed to be in our home and fully functional. We have been shuffled through many people at the store and no one has been very helpful and we have to constantly call them and wait on return calls (that often never come) just to get some bogus explanation of what is causing the delays. We paid top dollar for a dining set that was supposed to be perfect upon delivery, but in fact we got a table with a broken trim piece and a chair that has a broken back and is therefor not suitable for use safely.

Desired Settlement: We either want a complete refund of the purchase price and take back of our table and chairs or we want a SIGNIFICANT refund IN ADDITION to the repair of the table and replacement of the chair since the time we have waited and are still waiting for them to be repaired is absurd in our opinion.

Business Response:

This product was purchased on 12/30/2012. The John Thomas dining set is of very good quality and was "custom special ordered" specifically for this customer. Custom ordered furniture normally takes from 6-12 weeks so the March delivery is normal ( but not necessarily appreciated) in the furniture industry. Custom furniture is not returnable to any manufacturer that I am aware of. When delivered, the chair was unacceptable and a small part was missing on the table. The table is fully functional and can be used. I understand the customers frustration at this point, especially after waiting so long for their table. Our updates to the customer have been honest and truthful even though the content is not always appreciated. Custom furniture is a very slow process within the furniture industry but is well worth the wait in the long term. We are replacing the bad parts on the chair, purchasing another chair and providing it at no charge to the customer, we will install the clip part on the table when it arrives and have credited them $100. Additionally, we will provide them with a discount on their next purchase. In closing, we will do everything we can to work with the manufacturer to resolve these concerns and expedite any remaining issues to the best of our ability.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I cannot at this time accept that response.  We said that we would not accept store credit or discount on a future purchase because frankly we have no intention of shopping there again.  In addition there was discussion of additional discounts, but none of them have actually been delivered yet.  As far as the chair, yes the new back was put on, but now it is not level (the broken one and the 3 others are) so it wobbles.  I will not say that I am satisfied or that this complaint is resolved until the table is fixed and the new chair is in out possession.  

Regards,

***** ********

 

 

Business Response:

Van Vreedes takes great pride in satisfying our customers as our history demonstrates. Our customer satisfaction rate is among the highest in the markets we serve. For the delay this customer has experienced (even though the timing is normal for some special ordered custom furniture) we have credited $100 to their credit card. When the table part arrives, we will install it as is planned and the chair can easily be made to level. Next, we have purchased a chair and are going to provide the customer with a new chair at no cost to them. Finally, a discount towards a future purchase will be provided only if the customer chooses to make use of the offer, if not, no discount will be offered. I think it is important to reiterate that the timing of when parts/product is received is at the discretion of the manufacturer. We have been in contact with them to expedite the process.

Sincerely,

**** *****

President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We do not accept store credit as we think it is unreasonable to expect us to shop there again to get a resolution to our issues.  We ordered this table in December of 2012.  It is now July 2013 and we still don't have a fully repaired functional dining set.  We were told that a NEW chair would be ordered to replace the broken one, we did not agree to a repair being made to the chair as a resolution to our problem.  We allowed the repair to be made so that we could use the chair in the interum.  Also the table is STILL broken and the part that was ordered was incorrect the first time so we are ONCE again waiting on a part that should have been ordered correctly in the first place.  If you consider a reasonable waiting time more than 7 months for a table to be fully functional and repaired to a condition that it should have been delivered in the first place then we have no desire to shop at your store again.  We were happy with Van Vreede's before this whole issue, but the shuffling of us around to different people and not ordering a new chair like was stated on the invoice and not repairing the table the first time are absolutely unforgivable issues that still make a refund of $100 an absolute joke and frankly an insult.

 We have no wish to shop at the store again and do not accept store credit.  We wish to have a reasonable amount of money refunded to us (NOT STORE CREDIT) for the CRAZY amount of time that we have been waiting for Van Vreedes to get this repair/replacement correct.  Its not out fault that the chair was delivered broken and its not our fault that the table was delivered broken, nor is it our fault that we agreed to a new chair and it was written down that we were to get a new chair.  Is also not our fault that the repair piece for the table was ordered incorrectly the first time and that we are still waiting for the table to be repaired.  All of the things I just mentioned are the fault of Van Vreede's.  We want to be compensated for the time that we have wasted trying to get the table that we purchased in the condition that it was supposed to be delivered in in the first place more than 4 months ago if you go by their timeline or more than 5 months ago if you go by the delivery date that was written on our invoice.  Getting this item repaired in our home means that we have to take off work to wait for the repair person to arrive, and you offer $100 and that's it...

Regards,

***** ********

 

 

8/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the very end of 2012, we went into VanVreedes as returning customers to purchase a new new mattress, not knowing exactly what we were going to purchase. First sales man steers us away from any other mattress we look at, and talks us into a $2500. mattress because it is guaranteed to never break down on us. It is a latex mattress, top of the line. It was a lot of money, but sounded like just what we needed...a good night sleep. We had to call the store and have them come out to the house two times to take pictures and see that the mattress was completely broken down all in less than six months time. They scheduled pick up and exchange for a new one, not a problem. After the second mattress broke down, we went back into the store to see what our other options were. We went in thinking we would exchange it with a less expensive mattress and replace it more often if we needed to, rather than have an expensive mattress that we have yet to sleep well on, and need to replace every 3 months. We then would be happy with in store credit for the price difference. Sales woman completely talks us out of that, and out of buying any mattress we are looking at. She states that she has no idea why the first sales man told us to go with the latex mattress, but he is no longer employed there. She wants us to do an even exchange on an XL mattress they have for the same price. The XL is a coil bed. This is something very different than what we were looking at. Our bed prior to this was a memory foam bed, and we had it for 10 years. Still trying to convince us of exchanging latex for the XL, she says, I really want you to at least give this one a try, I think it will be a good bed for you. We were convinced. While we are in the store, she offers to give us a deal on other furniture if we had anything in mind, for the inconvenience. We looked at a sectional couch, which she was taking $1000. off of the price for us. We decided against it, because we had other financial obligations at the time. Bed was delivered after a couple of weeks, and it was very uncomfortable, she warned us it may be more firm when we get it, but to give it a little time. After a month and a half of tossing and turning and knowing we do not like the bed, I call the same woman who sold us the mattress. She advises me that there is nothing they can do about it, unless the bed is defective, and that we are stuck with the bed. After making us believe we could try it out and see if it worked for us, like many places do. I pleaded for her to help us out. I asked her about the trial period and her asking us to just try it. She stated that we may had been told while bed shopping in their store, that we had a trial period, because one company does offer that, and we probably just weren't told it was a certain company only, not their store, and not on the specific mattress we exchanged ours for. She suggested we put a piece of foam on the bed, and offered to sell the foam to us at cost. She wouldn't change her answer, we hung up, and I immediately called her back, stating that I was very dissatisfied with all of this. She then explained that she was the manager and did not work on commission, and that she would give us the best price on any other furniture, because she feels bad that we aren't happy, and were mislead, but there is nothing else to do. I explained that a new kitchen table would not help us sleep better at night. She was rude now, but still sorry she couldn't help us. Needless to say, we have not been back there, and are still in search of a good night sleep.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund of the mattress, so that we are able to shop for a mattress that we are happy with. We can not ask for an exchange, because we would be stuck with the next mattress also, whether it was good for us or not. We are aware of many other stores now, that makes sure you are satisfied with your mattress. We deserve to be satisfied.

Business Response:

Some details of ******'s bedding concern are not entirely accurate. I have tried to contact ****** thru email and by phone to speak with her in an effort to resolve her concern. As of today, I have not received a response. We want to make sure ****** is happy with her purchase but also must work within the manufacturers rules and guidelines. When a mattress fails, our manufacturers will replace it, not refund the purchase price. I suggest a new, quality mattress is selected rather than a basic mattress that may need to be exchanged frequently. No manaufacturer that I am aware of will exchange mattresses indefinitely. I am confident we can resolve this matter within the manufacturer's allowable guidelines and satisfy ****** as she deserves. I am sorry she has been dissatisfied to this point. I would be more than happy to oversee the resolution of this matter.

Sincerely,

**** *****

President     

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3 weeks before our warranty ran out, the picture on our 52in Sony Bravia stopped working. We called Van Vreede's, in Grren Bay, WI, and they sent us to their service department, which is Howie Voight of Appleton, WI. We have our TV back for 3 months, and now it is doing the exact same thing!! We called the service department, and they REFUSE to stand behind their work!!! We talked to Mike, and he kept saying thAt his Tech fixed it, and there is nothing more they will do, but he told us, that they could fix it, but now they are going to make us pay for something they did not fix properly the first time!! We have talked to other TV repair men, and each one of them told us, we have a high end TV, if fixed properly, it would not have happened again 3 months later. We feel that they fixed it improperly, so we could not get our TV replaced while the warranty was still valid. They should've stood behind their work regardless, and did not want nothing to do with us.

Desired Settlement: We are asking that they either replace the TV, or pay our bill for the repair, at another repair place.

Business Response: ***** ******** purchased her Sony tv on 3/30/2008 along with a 5 year extended warranty. The tv failed and was repaired correctly on 1/31/2013 by a technician with over 20 years experience.. Repairs are gaurenteed for 30 days labor and 90 days parts. A little over 3 months after the repair, the tv is failing again. This repair may or may not be the same this time. Then, it was about 36 days past the 5 year warranty. The warranty company had rightfully ended the coverage. We have offered to look at ******* tv at no charge to diagnose the new problem but she has not accepted the offer. Her tv is now 5 years and 6 weeks old so a no cost repair would not be appropriate.    

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ********

 

 The electrical board, if fixed properly, would not go out in that short amount of time. It IS the same issue.   We've talked to several TV repair people, and they all agree, if fixed properly, It shouldn't have broke again.  This work was done before our warranty ran out, something should've been resolved.  Not Cobb the panel, then after the warranty runs out, oh well for the customer.  Why would we bring our TV back to someone, who is dishonest, to diagnose the problem??  We already know what the problem is.  Same problem as last time.  I think this is terrible, that the consumer is treated like this.  There should be accountability.

Business Response: This tv was repaired correctly by one of Northeastern Wisconsins most experienced technicians with over 25 years of training and experience. The repair warranty is longer than some but similar to others in our industry. Each electronic board in a tv has hundreds of connections that can fail and cause a tv to fail. When one connection is repaired on a board, there is no gaurentee that any one of the other hundred will not fail on a 5 year old tv or even a new one. Not even an experienced technician can guess at the cause of a failed tv without looking at it and troubleshooting the exact cause of a problem. I am not sure how this consumer knows for sure what the exact diagnosis is. It is not as simple as this consumer has been led to believe through conversation with repairmen that have never even seen this tv. I think it is best for this tv to be taken to another tv service company.   

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ********

 

 This business should not have repaired the board in the first place.  They should have replaced the whole electrical board. All they were doing, is repairing an already bad electrical board.  Of course it is going to fail again.  There has to be some accountability on their part.  The electrical board should've been replaced in the first place.

Business Response: The tv was repaired correctly and clearly failed out of warranty. A "new" board was not the solution and does not mean "new". Manufacturers repair boards and send them back as rebuilt. This practice is clearly stated in the manufacturers warranty coverage and has been in practice for many years. Manufacturers find it necessary to use rebuilt boards on tvs as new as 6 months so it is certain a board in a tv over 5 years old would have been rebuilt as well. I understand the customers frustration and the fact that the tv failed again after the 5 year warranty expired.   

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ********

 

 The fact is, they DID NOT use a "rebuilt board", all they did is solder the one currently in the TV.  

Business Response:

In closing, it seems that the customer understands that manufacturers accept repaired connections on boards as the preferred method of repair which is exactly how this repair was performed, thereby acknowledging this repair was done correctly according to manufacturers specifications. It is unfortunate that this is experiencing another failure, however, it is more than 5 years old and it can happen. I understand the customers frustration.