BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

Van Vreede TV & Appliance, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (920) 730-4477 Fax: (920) 730-4478 2450 W College Ave, Appleton, WI 54914 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.vanvreedes.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the retail sale of furniture, mattresses, appliances and electronics.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Van Vreede TV & Appliance, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Van Vreede TV & Appliance, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Van Vreede TV & Appliance, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 16, 1993 Business started: 06/30/1951 in WI Business started locally: 06/30/1951 Business incorporated: 07/24/1973 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions
345 W. Washington Ave. 4th Floor, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 266-1064
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary L. Brynjulfson, Owner Mr. Greg L. Ernst, President / Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary L. Brynjulfson, Owner
Principal: Mr. Greg L. Ernst, President / Owner
Related Businesses
Howie Voigt's Appliance Service Center, div. of VanVreede TV & Appliance, Inc.
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Mattresses Television & Radio - Dealers Electronic Equipment & Suppliers - Service & Repair Home Electronics - Designers Appliances - Major - Dealers Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies Appliances - Small - Dealers Furniture Stores (NAICS: 442110)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Service Area
Northeastern Wisconsin
Industry Tips
Before You Buy

Additional Locations

  • 2180 W Mason St

    Green Bay, WI 54303 (920) 498-6200

  • 2450 W College Ave

    Appleton, WI 54914 (920) 730-4477

  • 285 S Washburn St

    Oshkosh, WI 54904 (920) 426-8787

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I went to Van Vreedes 2/17/2013.We found living room furniture that we really liked. Sofa, 2 end tables, 2 swivel recliners. 3023.95 We really liked the recliners on how you would sit straight up in them. Each chair was 689.99. March 23 2013 it was delivered our house. After several weeks I noticed several flaws in material on cushion. My husband said his chair was not like the one he sat in at store. We sat in each others chair and could not believe the difference. They were not the same.I called ***,scheduled appointment for the service man to come out and look. Service man said he would order new material for my chair and a clip for my husbands chair. The clip he said would make the chair come up higher. That was sometime in 7/2013. I called *** several times and she told me someone ordered the wrong material, someone was on vacation it was a excuse.9/20/13 service man came to put new material on my chair and clip on my husbands. Several days later flaw is back, clip did not work. Dec 9th I called talk to Manger *****l, told her I was very up set. She scheduled service man for Dec 13th.He said there is nothing else he can do for my husbands chair.Looked at mine seen the flaw said it was coming from the mechanism. Said *** would call me, she never did, I called her days later, she said she ordered new mechanism for my chair and a new chair for my husband.Jan 13 2014 husband gets new chair.He still says it is not right.Jan 31 service man comes puts new cushion and mechanism on my chair.Now my chair is worse, it does not sit right.Service man takes pictures and says *** will call me. *** never calls.I call later, she says they know of a man that can fix it, they have to come pick it up. I said why can't you order me a new chair, she said **** does not make that pattern anymore. Feb 10 they come to pick up my chair. Week later drop off the chair,it is the same.Called *** she said they would order me new chair.5/3/14 wrong chair delivered,said **** put wrong chair in box.

Desired Settlement: This has been going on for over 1 year. 689.99 for one chair and we paid for 2 of them. We still do not have the right chairs.Not once was I every offered anything for the inconvenience of this situation.They always have a excuse. Always covering up for each other. Want them to tell the truth.Told them several times to come and take there furniture back.I would like some compensation and the right kind of chairs.

Business Response:

**** brand furniture was successfully delivered to Mrs. ******* on March 23, 2013. After several months of use, July 2013 by Mrs. *******'s account, service was requested. The manufacturer provides a 1 year repair warranty on the product. After some time, it is not uncommon for chairs to sit differently depending on the conditions under each chair was used. Satisfying Mrs. ******* has been especially challenging because **** (brand manufacturer) shut down, changed ownership and caused unnecessary delays. Now **** is operating normally. Also, Mrs. ******* frustration has caused some of our employees to feel uncomfortable in communicating with her. Now, a new chair has been received to replace the chair in question. It is the right chair with the wrong base attached. **** has indicated they will send the correct base within two weeks. We plan to install the base and exchange the chair at that time. Finally, a modest compensation will be offered to Mrs. ******* as promised. Van Vreedes takes great pride in servicing our customers and consistently achieves more than a 99% customer satisfaction rating and enjoys an A+ BBB rating.

Sincerely,

**** *****

*********

Business Response:

The manufacturer has shipped the correct base for Mrs. *******'s chair. The correct base will be received, inspected and installed on to the chair, then, Mrs. ******* will be contacted to schedule delivery.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *******

 

 My chair was delivered on May 27th. It is totally different then the one i had and the other one i have that my husband sits in. I do sit up straight in it but my feet now do not touch the ground. I will keep the chair and hope it works out. Don't understand how 2 chairs can be so different. My husbands chair, the back is so far back compared to this new chair. I guess we learned a lesson, we will never buy anything from Van Vreede's again and we will make sure we tell everyone we know how we were treated and I will make sure I do all the reviews I can.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: .My husband I had purchased a bedbase from Van Vreede's on September 9, 2013. We decided on one that was on the floor as a model, but needed a King size, and the floor model was a queen. We were told it would be 6 weeks for delivery. we agreed and ordered. , Our salesperson, ******* told us we needed a $100 depost, which we, now regretably put $500 down, since we saved this money for months, and I was using cash. This left us with a remaining $314 at delivery. when the bed frame was brought to us on October 26, 2013, it would not fit up the stairs the standard way, but we have a flat roof and wanted to attempt it that way, which would most likely work. As I looked at the product, I noticed it was nothing like I ordered. We ordered on that had detailed carvings in the wood and very nice handles on the each of the six drawers of the base bed. the bed that they were delivering was a complete flat surace from the side of the frame to the drawers, with no handles at all. I immediately contacted *******, our sales person and told her of this issue. I put it back on the truck and returned it. I cannot get my deposit back. they are insisting I pay a $200 restock fee. I dont feel I should have to since the bedframe was nothing like I ordered, and the manufacturer would not take it back from them, since they said the mistake was not on their end. This is what the Manager ****** told me during one of heated arguments. The salesperson at Van Vreed's place the wrong order. The only options given to my by Van Vreede's are costing me more money..the restock fee is involved in all options given to me. This is so wrong. I just want to walk away with my Deposit and never return to this store again. Who charges a customer for a mistake they made? Very dissapointed from a so called family business.I am hoping you can help me resolve this issue, since I can get nowhere. I went to the store to look at other beds, and the salesman said he could not answer for me until ****** returned????why??

Desired Settlement: I would like my %500 deposit back, and walk away from this nightmare. Thank you for your time.

Consumer Response: floor model 1.JPG

floor model 2.JPG

wrong delivery.jpg

I filled out a complaint online early this morning, and would like to add pictures to this case.

This is in reference to a basebed that I ordered by looking at one on the floor at Van Vreede’s.  this was ordered.

I have pictures of the exact bed on the floor that we ordered from (from my cell phone right at the store), and I have a picture of the one that was

Delivered to us. The picture of the one delivered to us is from the Manufacturer’s website, since I did not take a photo at my house, since I returned it right back to the delivery truck.

(Van Vreede’s still has this in their warehouse).  I have them labeled as “floor model” and “wrong delivery”.

I really am hoping you can help me get my full deposit back from them.

I appreciate your service and your time.

Thank you.

 
*** ********* ******** ****** ******** **** ****** ***** * ******** ** ***** ****** ************ * *** ************ **************************

Business Response:

Good Morning,

      Greg Ernst and myself met with ********** and worked out a favorable solution. We are ordering her a new platform, custom made so it will fit into her home. She is pleased with the result.

                                ****** ********   Furniture Mgr.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

*** ********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a table and 4 chairs from Van Vreede's at the end of December 2012. Our table was supposed to be delivered on or about Jan 27th 2013 (according to the paperwork we got from them), but was not delivered until March. Upon delivery we found one chair to have broken back and the table to have a broken trim piece. We informed the delivery guys of this and they wrote it down and said that someone would call and that the chair would REPLACED and the table would be fixed. After many many calls by my husband to Van Vreede's they came out with the parts on June 10th 2013, but they did not bring a replacement chair as the paperwork stated and the piece that was supposed to be put on the table was the wrong size. It has been almost 6 months since the table was supposed to have been delivered and we still can't use one of our chairs and the table STILL isn't fixed. We asked to return the table since we are frankly sick of waiting for a fully functional dining room set 6 months after it was supposed to be delivered and we paid almost $1800 for and at this point would rather have ALL our money back so that we can actually all eat at a table as a family. We were offered $100 off today, which frankly is a joke since we have had to call almost every week to make sure that the parts were ordered and when they do get ordered they are wrong. At this point we will apparently have to wait another 12 weeks (the furniture was custom) for the HOPEFULLY correct part and COMPLETE chair to arrive putting us at almost 9 months since the table was supposed to be in our home and fully functional. We have been shuffled through many people at the store and no one has been very helpful and we have to constantly call them and wait on return calls (that often never come) just to get some bogus explanation of what is causing the delays. We paid top dollar for a dining set that was supposed to be perfect upon delivery, but in fact we got a table with a broken trim piece and a chair that has a broken back and is therefor not suitable for use safely.

Desired Settlement: We either want a complete refund of the purchase price and take back of our table and chairs or we want a SIGNIFICANT refund IN ADDITION to the repair of the table and replacement of the chair since the time we have waited and are still waiting for them to be repaired is absurd in our opinion.

Business Response:

This product was purchased on 12/30/2012. The John Thomas dining set is of very good quality and was "custom special ordered" specifically for this customer. Custom ordered furniture normally takes from 6-12 weeks so the March delivery is normal ( but not necessarily appreciated) in the furniture industry. Custom furniture is not returnable to any manufacturer that I am aware of. When delivered, the chair was unacceptable and a small part was missing on the table. The table is fully functional and can be used. I understand the customers frustration at this point, especially after waiting so long for their table. Our updates to the customer have been honest and truthful even though the content is not always appreciated. Custom furniture is a very slow process within the furniture industry but is well worth the wait in the long term. We are replacing the bad parts on the chair, purchasing another chair and providing it at no charge to the customer, we will install the clip part on the table when it arrives and have credited them $100. Additionally, we will provide them with a discount on their next purchase. In closing, we will do everything we can to work with the manufacturer to resolve these concerns and expedite any remaining issues to the best of our ability.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I cannot at this time accept that response.  We said that we would not accept store credit or discount on a future purchase because frankly we have no intention of shopping there again.  In addition there was discussion of additional discounts, but none of them have actually been delivered yet.  As far as the chair, yes the new back was put on, but now it is not level (the broken one and the 3 others are) so it wobbles.  I will not say that I am satisfied or that this complaint is resolved until the table is fixed and the new chair is in out possession.  

Regards,

***** ********

 

 

Business Response:

Van Vreedes takes great pride in satisfying our customers as our history demonstrates. Our customer satisfaction rate is among the highest in the markets we serve. For the delay this customer has experienced (even though the timing is normal for some special ordered custom furniture) we have credited $100 to their credit card. When the table part arrives, we will install it as is planned and the chair can easily be made to level. Next, we have purchased a chair and are going to provide the customer with a new chair at no cost to them. Finally, a discount towards a future purchase will be provided only if the customer chooses to make use of the offer, if not, no discount will be offered. I think it is important to reiterate that the timing of when parts/product is received is at the discretion of the manufacturer. We have been in contact with them to expedite the process.

Sincerely,

**** *****

President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We do not accept store credit as we think it is unreasonable to expect us to shop there again to get a resolution to our issues.  We ordered this table in December of 2012.  It is now July 2013 and we still don't have a fully repaired functional dining set.  We were told that a NEW chair would be ordered to replace the broken one, we did not agree to a repair being made to the chair as a resolution to our problem.  We allowed the repair to be made so that we could use the chair in the interum.  Also the table is STILL broken and the part that was ordered was incorrect the first time so we are ONCE again waiting on a part that should have been ordered correctly in the first place.  If you consider a reasonable waiting time more than 7 months for a table to be fully functional and repaired to a condition that it should have been delivered in the first place then we have no desire to shop at your store again.  We were happy with Van Vreede's before this whole issue, but the shuffling of us around to different people and not ordering a new chair like was stated on the invoice and not repairing the table the first time are absolutely unforgivable issues that still make a refund of $100 an absolute joke and frankly an insult.

 We have no wish to shop at the store again and do not accept store credit.  We wish to have a reasonable amount of money refunded to us (NOT STORE CREDIT) for the CRAZY amount of time that we have been waiting for Van Vreedes to get this repair/replacement correct.  Its not out fault that the chair was delivered broken and its not our fault that the table was delivered broken, nor is it our fault that we agreed to a new chair and it was written down that we were to get a new chair.  Is also not our fault that the repair piece for the table was ordered incorrectly the first time and that we are still waiting for the table to be repaired.  All of the things I just mentioned are the fault of Van Vreede's.  We want to be compensated for the time that we have wasted trying to get the table that we purchased in the condition that it was supposed to be delivered in in the first place more than 4 months ago if you go by their timeline or more than 5 months ago if you go by the delivery date that was written on our invoice.  Getting this item repaired in our home means that we have to take off work to wait for the repair person to arrive, and you offer $100 and that's it...

Regards,

***** ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the very end of 2012, we went into VanVreedes as returning customers to purchase a new new mattress, not knowing exactly what we were going to purchase. First sales man steers us away from any other mattress we look at, and talks us into a $2500. mattress because it is guaranteed to never break down on us. It is a latex mattress, top of the line. It was a lot of money, but sounded like just what we needed...a good night sleep. We had to call the store and have them come out to the house two times to take pictures and see that the mattress was completely broken down all in less than six months time. They scheduled pick up and exchange for a new one, not a problem. After the second mattress broke down, we went back into the store to see what our other options were. We went in thinking we would exchange it with a less expensive mattress and replace it more often if we needed to, rather than have an expensive mattress that we have yet to sleep well on, and need to replace every 3 months. We then would be happy with in store credit for the price difference. Sales woman completely talks us out of that, and out of buying any mattress we are looking at. She states that she has no idea why the first sales man told us to go with the latex mattress, but he is no longer employed there. She wants us to do an even exchange on an XL mattress they have for the same price. The XL is a coil bed. This is something very different than what we were looking at. Our bed prior to this was a memory foam bed, and we had it for 10 years. Still trying to convince us of exchanging latex for the XL, she says, I really want you to at least give this one a try, I think it will be a good bed for you. We were convinced. While we are in the store, she offers to give us a deal on other furniture if we had anything in mind, for the inconvenience. We looked at a sectional couch, which she was taking $1000. off of the price for us. We decided against it, because we had other financial obligations at the time. Bed was delivered after a couple of weeks, and it was very uncomfortable, she warned us it may be more firm when we get it, but to give it a little time. After a month and a half of tossing and turning and knowing we do not like the bed, I call the same woman who sold us the mattress. She advises me that there is nothing they can do about it, unless the bed is defective, and that we are stuck with the bed. After making us believe we could try it out and see if it worked for us, like many places do. I pleaded for her to help us out. I asked her about the trial period and her asking us to just try it. She stated that we may had been told while bed shopping in their store, that we had a trial period, because one company does offer that, and we probably just weren't told it was a certain company only, not their store, and not on the specific mattress we exchanged ours for. She suggested we put a piece of foam on the bed, and offered to sell the foam to us at cost. She wouldn't change her answer, we hung up, and I immediately called her back, stating that I was very dissatisfied with all of this. She then explained that she was the manager and did not work on commission, and that she would give us the best price on any other furniture, because she feels bad that we aren't happy, and were mislead, but there is nothing else to do. I explained that a new kitchen table would not help us sleep better at night. She was rude now, but still sorry she couldn't help us. Needless to say, we have not been back there, and are still in search of a good night sleep.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund of the mattress, so that we are able to shop for a mattress that we are happy with. We can not ask for an exchange, because we would be stuck with the next mattress also, whether it was good for us or not. We are aware of many other stores now, that makes sure you are satisfied with your mattress. We deserve to be satisfied.

Business Response:

Some details of ******'s bedding concern are not entirely accurate. I have tried to contact ****** thru email and by phone to speak with her in an effort to resolve her concern. As of today, I have not received a response. We want to make sure ****** is happy with her purchase but also must work within the manufacturers rules and guidelines. When a mattress fails, our manufacturers will replace it, not refund the purchase price. I suggest a new, quality mattress is selected rather than a basic mattress that may need to be exchanged frequently. No manaufacturer that I am aware of will exchange mattresses indefinitely. I am confident we can resolve this matter within the manufacturer's allowable guidelines and satisfy ****** as she deserves. I am sorry she has been dissatisfied to this point. I would be more than happy to oversee the resolution of this matter.

Sincerely,

**** *****

President     

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3 weeks before our warranty ran out, the picture on our 52in Sony Bravia stopped working. We called Van Vreede's, in Grren Bay, WI, and they sent us to their service department, which is Howie Voight of Appleton, WI. We have our TV back for 3 months, and now it is doing the exact same thing!! We called the service department, and they REFUSE to stand behind their work!!! We talked to Mike, and he kept saying thAt his Tech fixed it, and there is nothing more they will do, but he told us, that they could fix it, but now they are going to make us pay for something they did not fix properly the first time!! We have talked to other TV repair men, and each one of them told us, we have a high end TV, if fixed properly, it would not have happened again 3 months later. We feel that they fixed it improperly, so we could not get our TV replaced while the warranty was still valid. They should've stood behind their work regardless, and did not want nothing to do with us.

Desired Settlement: We are asking that they either replace the TV, or pay our bill for the repair, at another repair place.

Business Response: ***** ******** purchased her Sony tv on 3/30/2008 along with a 5 year extended warranty. The tv failed and was repaired correctly on 1/31/2013 by a technician with over 20 years experience.. Repairs are gaurenteed for 30 days labor and 90 days parts. A little over 3 months after the repair, the tv is failing again. This repair may or may not be the same this time. Then, it was about 36 days past the 5 year warranty. The warranty company had rightfully ended the coverage. We have offered to look at ******* tv at no charge to diagnose the new problem but she has not accepted the offer. Her tv is now 5 years and 6 weeks old so a no cost repair would not be appropriate.    

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ********

 

 The electrical board, if fixed properly, would not go out in that short amount of time. It IS the same issue.   We've talked to several TV repair people, and they all agree, if fixed properly, It shouldn't have broke again.  This work was done before our warranty ran out, something should've been resolved.  Not Cobb the panel, then after the warranty runs out, oh well for the customer.  Why would we bring our TV back to someone, who is dishonest, to diagnose the problem??  We already know what the problem is.  Same problem as last time.  I think this is terrible, that the consumer is treated like this.  There should be accountability.

Business Response: This tv was repaired correctly by one of Northeastern Wisconsins most experienced technicians with over 25 years of training and experience. The repair warranty is longer than some but similar to others in our industry. Each electronic board in a tv has hundreds of connections that can fail and cause a tv to fail. When one connection is repaired on a board, there is no gaurentee that any one of the other hundred will not fail on a 5 year old tv or even a new one. Not even an experienced technician can guess at the cause of a failed tv without looking at it and troubleshooting the exact cause of a problem. I am not sure how this consumer knows for sure what the exact diagnosis is. It is not as simple as this consumer has been led to believe through conversation with repairmen that have never even seen this tv. I think it is best for this tv to be taken to another tv service company.   

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ********

 

 This business should not have repaired the board in the first place.  They should have replaced the whole electrical board. All they were doing, is repairing an already bad electrical board.  Of course it is going to fail again.  There has to be some accountability on their part.  The electrical board should've been replaced in the first place.

Business Response: The tv was repaired correctly and clearly failed out of warranty. A "new" board was not the solution and does not mean "new". Manufacturers repair boards and send them back as rebuilt. This practice is clearly stated in the manufacturers warranty coverage and has been in practice for many years. Manufacturers find it necessary to use rebuilt boards on tvs as new as 6 months so it is certain a board in a tv over 5 years old would have been rebuilt as well. I understand the customers frustration and the fact that the tv failed again after the 5 year warranty expired.   

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ********

 

 The fact is, they DID NOT use a "rebuilt board", all they did is solder the one currently in the TV.  

Business Response:

In closing, it seems that the customer understands that manufacturers accept repaired connections on boards as the preferred method of repair which is exactly how this repair was performed, thereby acknowledging this repair was done correctly according to manufacturers specifications. It is unfortunate that this is experiencing another failure, however, it is more than 5 years old and it can happen. I understand the customers frustration.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is an email which I sent to Van Vreede's on 7/9/12. I have still not had a reply nor have I had a call back regarding the chair they through out and my other 2 recliners; Good afternoon ******, I spoke with **** last week regarding my recliner but I do not have his email address. Please pass this on to **** and anyone else you wish. After speaking with **** I attempted to find the receipt for the recliner, but after looking I could not. So I don’t know if there was any different offer on your stores part to resolve this issue than what ****** had offered at our meeting at your store in Appleton. Which , if memory serves was to fix my other 2 recliners at no cost which I do not agree with. If you do have anything additional your company is willing to add, please let me know with a response of this email. I did some phone calls since **** and I spoke on 7/3/12 to see if I had any options on how to bring this to a resolution. I contacted another furniture store, in which I personally know the ************, explained what happened and asked if my request for the recliner to be replaced was an outrages request because of the condition and age of the chair. They’re response was that because the chair was in their care, it wouldn’t matter how old the chair was they would have replaced it and called it the cost of doing business and moved on. I also called Liberty Mutual Insurance who I have my home owners insurance with, not to put in a claim, but how they would depreciate a piece of furniture that was thrown out and needed to be replaced. They told me I could make the claim through them and they would replace it for what the replacement cost is today, because that is the type of insurance I have. They also said in order to do this I would have to file a police report for either vandalism or theft of property. I also spoke with a friend who is a lawyer and he thinks I have a very good case for small claims court whether with a judge or jury he thinks this would go in my favor either way, he also feels if we cannot resolve this I should file a police report. So, to recap where we are. I dropped off a La-z-boy, similar to a Buchanan with cloth material of Forest design at your Appleton warehouse. The chair had minimal wear but did have a small mechanical problem that I was asking your repair person to look at. Your warehouse staff inadvertently threw it away somewhere between the day I dropped it off with my other 2 recliners and 6/26/12, when *** called with the estimates for the repair. At this point *** informed me that your company did not work on La-z-boy and would have the repair person look for me to see if the fix would be easy or not. *** calls 2 days later on 6/28 to inform me that the chair was thrown out but wasn’t sure when it happened. 7/2/12, I come to your store with a pillow that matched the chair and information on the chair for replacing. I briefly met with ****** ********, furniture ******* and *** regarding a resolution. ****** offers a free repair on the 2 other recliners which reflects $160. I am looking for reimbursement/replacement of a $600-$700 chair, when we purchased it, which today would cost $1000. I sent an email to all the Van Vreedes stores with a request to deal with someone else. 7/5/12, I received a phone call from **** who said he would be working with me to resolve this issue. After conveying each of our sides **** asks for me to search for the receipt of the original purchase price of the chair, but makes no other offer at that time. I still feel we can come to some accord. I don’t want to pursue small claims court because I feel I’ve wasted enough time already, but would if that became my only option. I will wait for a response from **** to see if he has any proposal for me. Going forward, I would prefer an email response so future communication can be saved and recorded. If I don’t have a reply by the end of business tomorrow I will pursue one of the above options. Regards, **** ****** ********* **********/******* ******* **** *********** ***** ********, ** ***** **** ***-***-**** cell ***-***-**** fax ***-***-****

Desired Settlement: I would prefer the replacement value for the recliner they threw out, ($900-$1000). I do not feel comfortable getting any type of store credit from these people. I am not asking for their offer to fix the other 2 chairs for free, but it would go along way in ever getting my business again

Business Response:

Mr. ****** dropped off two chairs for an expected repair and one chair for an evaluation. The two chairs were repaired and the"evaluation" chair was evaluated and thrown out with our daily sweep of the warehouse. The chair should not have been thrown out but rather returned to Mr.****** ******* or not it was worth repairing. Mr.****** suggested compensation via email and we responded on time as requested, however, Mr. ****** missed our response which prompted his concern to the BBB. Mr. ****** has apoligized for prematurely contacting the BBB and I take him at his word he missed our response. Our manager distinctly remembers the chair and its value and Mr. ****** will be compensated very well for the chair since it was our mistake in throwing it out. VanVreedes takes great pride in serving our customers and enjoys award winning customer satisfaction accomplishments in northeastern Wisconsin.

Best Regards,

**** ***** *********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

From:******, **** [mailto:***********************]
Sent: Friday, July 27, 2012 9:16 AM
To: Info
Subject: Case ID 
******* 
In regards to the response from VanVreede’s to my complaint, after filing this complaint the president of the store contacted me saying they had sent an email on 7/9/12 which was hidden in my spam folder. I talked with him about the complaint and told him that no one from the store had tried to call or had told me if my other recliners were repaired. After finding their email and discussing a compromise we agreed that I would accept $500 for the loss of my chair. I picked up my other 2 recliners from the store yesterday and one of the ***** ********,(****) will be sending me a check in the mail. As soon as I receive my check I would say my dispute with VanVreede’s closed. Thank you and your office for all your help in this matter. Best regards **** ******

********* **********/******* *******
**** *********** *************, ** *****
 desk  ************
cell   ************
fax   ************

 

 

 

Regards,

 

**** ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** and I have bought a new refrigerator, a ********** double door with ice maker and water on door. since we brought it home, it has moaned and grown.and on sun the 10Th of June it quit, which made me have to cook around fifty dollars of meats or throw them out. since then I had called Van vreede's and talk to several people, which send you to and manager, which really doesn't help. we have a warranty which has to be used. so now I get the run around. I have talk to there Manager named *****, now they sent me to someone else. I believe this company needs investigated, or someone to shake them up and let them know that customers can not aford to buy 1,000 dollar items to have them break in nine months after purchase. there has to be a return policy or something that can be done. I really need your help. Please.

Desired Settlement: Or refund.

Business Response:

The Gorbe's purchased an ********** refrigerator on 11/23/11. On Sunday, June 10, 2012 we received a call for service from ****** who indicated her refrigerator did not work. Since appliance service companies are closed on Sunday, ***** recorded the information and infomed ****** that we would call her back on Monday to schedule a service call to look at her refrigerator. On Monday, ****** was contacted as promised and said her refrigerator was working good now but still wanted a serviceperson to look at it anyway. We agreed. Then, initially, ****** did not want the servicer recommended by the manufacturer but reconsidered and is having her refrigerator looked at today. The industry standard is to be closed for service on the weekend, however, I understand ******* frustration when a refrigerator breaks down on a Sunday and service people are off.

Sincerely,

**** *****

President

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Van vreede's sent a tec out to service the frig. and instead of talking to me they called my Husband **** at work, and talk to him and let him know they started a file on the frig. I find this disturibing that they need a file, when they can fix the problem, by replacing the frig. My husband **** unpluged the frig and it is now working. But what happens when I have more meat and such and it go's out again. They still haven't replaced the cost of the first meat and items lost. From a new frig.

Regards,

*** *****

 

 

Business Response:

The factory authorized appliance technician from ****** found the refrigerator to be working properly at the time of the call. Appliance warranty coverage provides for repair but not replacement of failed product. The manufacturer will not replace the refigerator for this reason as well as the fact that the refrigerator has not been repaired and was found to be working as it should. A service file has been started so that any problems can be recorded in the event the service history is ever needed. The refrigerator remains under warranty and in the unlikely event it fails, it will be covered accordingly. Finally, we will work on the customers behalf with the manufacturer to try and recover the $50 food loss.

Sincerely,

**** *****

President

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,

 

*** *****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a flex steel leather recliner from Van Vreedes in Green Bay WI in Jan. of 2011 and made my first compalint to flex steel customer service dept in Oct 2011 about the color coming out of leather on my chair as 9 months old, and they referred me to Van Vreedes they came over and checked and said that was not normal, and then came 2 months later with a piece of leather that knew wasnt going tro match because it wasnt the same lot no of dyed leather, that was back in Jan. have not heard a word from them since than, I think that I have been more than patient!!!! I also think that flex steel should also be included in this because they are just as quilty in my mind!!!

Desired Settlement: I want a new recliner

Business Response:

In response to this letter, the ********** did purchase a leather Flexsteel recliner on Jan. 22,2011. Flexsteel contacted us in October after receiving their email and asked us to go to Mishicot and take a look at it. We went out on Nov 4th, took pictures and sent them to Flexsteel. They reported back to us that parts were available for this, even though it is an imported frame and thus parts would also come from China. I called them to let them know it would be about 12 weeks for the part to come in.

We went out with the part on Jan. 20th, and it was reported that the part was to" red" in color, and that we would have to reorder it. At that time I reordered the part, knowing it would take another 12 weeks for the part to come in. They are expecting the ship to hit dock in California in the next 2-3 weeks, then it will be shipped to Flexsteel and then us. Flexsteel's warranty is a repair warranty, as is every manufacturer. When the frame is an import, the parts are imported also as its made overseas and then shipped over. Once the part arrives, I will call them and schedule a time to go back out.

Sincerely,

*** *******

VanVreedes Customer Service

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** *********

The last time they were here they told me the part would be in 2 weeks, I think that it has been a little longer than that!! It is not problem the chair was made in China they did not tell me that when I purchased this chair otherwise I would noy Have bought it !!!!!!! First of all I do not understand how they think that this leather piece is going to match any better than the last one because their is no way it is going to be the same dye lot. I think I have been more than patient with this it has been going since last Oct.

 

Business Response:

***:

Flexsteel is honoring the warranty they have provided to the **********. Like all furniture manufacturers, Flexsteel's warranty is a repair warranty and not a replacement warranty. I agree with the ********** in that Flexsteel is taking too long to provide the part needed. Flexsteel will not consider exchanging the product. Since the problem started after approximately 9 months of use, and the part is en route, I think it makes sense to replace the part as planned. If we do not feel the replacement part is acceptable, VanVreedes will do what the manufacturer refuses to do and take the reciner back and refund the purchase price in full for the recliner. VanVreedes takes great pride in serving our customers and maintains a customer satisfaction rate of more than 99% which is among the highest in our industry.

Best Regards,

**** ***** *********

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I accept this offer under diress, because I don't think when you pay that kind money for a chair that nine months later the color should be coming out of the chair, and it's supposed to have a warranty for a year, and I have to be perfectly honest with flex steel is supposed to be the best in the buisness quite frankly I think that flexsteels customer service is pathetic!!!!! I don't want a refund from Van Vreedes I want a new chair if this part that I have been waiting for since Jan. 20 doesn't match which I know it wont match because it wont be the same dye lot!!!!!!!

Regards,

****** *********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1