7/14/2016 I am writing to express my concern about what appears to be fraudulent and deceptive billing practices based on a mattress purchase at your Broadview Village Square Store. I have called numerous times to your Broadview Village Square store to talk with Roberto O*****( manager) about my account. My original understanding of the terms of the contract were that the total cost of the mattress would be $691.46 (through 5/7/16). I understood that I owed a payment on March 11 (which I made) and then, subsequent payments were due on the 15th. Following that I was told by an associate that I owed more money because I made a late payment in May and was referred to Mr. O*****, store manager. To date, I have paid out a total of $745 to Ashley Furniture. I spoke with Mr. O***** on the phone on 5/10 and 5/13/16 and he assured me that he would take care of it. He stated on 5/13/16 that I had a remaining balance of $300 and that he would call me back. The next day I received a paper bill stating that I owed the amount. Regardless of the fact that Mr. O***** NEVER called me back, I have been paying on time and as of July 13, 2016 it states that my remaining balance is still $785.00, i.e. the balance continues to go up vs. going down with payments! Unfortunately every week, Mr. O***** is either on "vacation" or in a meeting no matter what time or day I call. I feel duped and taken advantage of (I would never pay this much money for a mattress that wasn’t from a high end brand). As a Special Education teacher and someone who has dedicated her life to equity and fairness for everyone, this whole series of circumstances is stressful. The strain has affected not only my work, but also my health and personal finances. I was excited about my purchase, but now suffer extreme anxiety which only exacerbates my epileptic (seizures). Unfortunately, as evidenced by numerous complaints all over the internet, Ashley Furniture has had similar unscrupulous dealings with consumers across the country. A simple Google search validates my concerns and the need for an immediate review of your employee & billing practices. I honestly just want to receive the same level of courtesy and high regard that I received when I initially walked through the doors of your local store. and would appreciate any assistance you could offer in this situation. Sincerely, ******* ******** *** ******** ******** ********* ******* ****** ******** ****** ********* ************ *** ** ********** ******** ******** **********
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by T. W. on 7/14/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business This complaint has been forwarded to our Customer Care Team. The customer should be contacted within the next 48 hours to discuss the situation. by on 7/15/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
6/30/2016 The individual Ashley furniture store I made my first big purchase from was fantastic. The sales woman was kind, gave my mom and me time to discuss and make decisions, and even contacted me after delivery to ensure all was correct. I ordered a bed, a mattress, and a couch. The couch and mattress arrived with no problems. A rail on the bed frame was broken upon delivery. The delivery man called it in and placed an order for a replacement part. I was told that the part would be delivered within a week and I would need to call to make a follow up appointment to put the bed together. A week came and went and no delivery. I called customer service and was told that a shipping label had been printed and my part would arrive the following week. Another week went by and no bed. I called customer service again and was told that the part wasn't in stock but should be the next Monday. The rep would call me and tell me when it was shipped or if there were any issues. Monday came and went and no phone call. I called customer service again and wondered why I was given the run around and sill didn't have my part. Finally a rep told me that she would ha he my order from a replacement part to an exchange. Once the new order went it she would call to set up a service call. I was called a day later and a service call was set up for the following Sunday. A team of delivery men delivered the part and set up the bed. Finally I had my bed put together after a month of calling? berating customer service, and being given the run around. I lost rent money, as I couldn't live in without a bed but had signed a lease, I was not given straightforward answers, and even started to pay my monthly Ashley bill without even having my entire purchase! I am severely disappointed in Ashley's customer service and lack of compassion for their customers. I finally received my fix for my bed 4 days after they switched my order from replacement to exchange, why wasn't this done in the first place? Why did I have to wait over a month to get any service or answers?
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by C. G. on 6/30/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business This complaint has been forwarded to our Customer Care Team The customer should expect an email or phone call within the next 48 hours to discuss the situation. by on 7/6/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
6/14/2016 This has to be the worse place we have ever bought furniture from. We received our furniture damaged and then it took them over a month to finally replace it after a technician was in my house for 3 hours trying to fix it. Then the deliver team damages my house without saying anything and left, as fast as they could. Furthermore, they delivered one chair when they we were supposed to be getting 4 and they gave me "4" different stories to why. This is by far the worse customer service I have dealt with in a long time. If you are going to claim your the "BEST", then no excuses need to be made from purchase to deliver. Especially when you have to PAY for deliver and they picked the time that is best for them and not for the customer. Never again will I buy from them and I will not recommend them to any friends and family, from any store. There sales tactics are also terrible. We cannot even make it in the door before we are bombarded and we just want to look without being bothered.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by B. C. on 6/14/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business This complaint has been forwarded to our Customer Care Team. The customer should expect an email or phone call within the next 48 hours to discuss the situation. by on 6/23/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
4/6/2016 WORST CONSTRUCTION QUALITY EVER IN THE HISTORY OF FURNITURE BUILDING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! my couch is less than 1 year old and the frame for the back has broken and ripped thru the back of the couch. my ashely recliner seat cushion bottoms out so low when you sit that it creates an 8 inch gap between the seat cushion and the back cushion. there are plenty of videos on youtube to prove it. *** ***** * *** *** * **** **** **** *** ******* **** *** ****** ********** ** ****** ******* **** ** ***************** 1/2" x 1" soft pine framwork with 1 1/2" staples fastening the "studs" together....not to mention press plywood templates stapled to additional support framework. i would expect this from something from walmart or target , but this is actually worse as walmart carries the better homes line of furniture which is very solid compared to the Ashley brand. NEVER EVER EVER AGAIN will i buy anything with ASHLEY Furniture name on it.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Binglung on 4/6/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We believe customer might be one of our customer's however more information is needed to determine if he is one of our customers. by on 4/6/2016

Comment from the Business Ashley Furniture Industries, Inc. (“Ashley”) manufactures and distributes furniture to independent retailers. These independent retailers sell directly to consumers. The customer purchased from the independently owned and operated ASHLEY FURNITURE HOMESTORE® retail furniture store identified on his/her sales order invoice (“HomeStore”). Any information regarding the transaction between the customer and the HomeStore must be addressed by the customer and the HomeStore. Please direct the customer to work with the HomeStore to resolve any allegations regarding the transaction and bring the matter to a satisfactory conclusion. Thank you. by on 5/14/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
3/17/2016 I purchased a couch, love seat, and ottoman from Ashley Furniture. Before the one year warranty on my furniture had terminated, the seams on the cushions of the furniture were tearing away. After trying to get in contact with customer service numerous times, I was finally able to get a hold of someone after waiting 30 to 40 minutes in the phone. The representatives were rude and rushed me to get off the phone. They proceeded to send me replacement parts but did not send all the parts. When the first worker came to replace the parts, he realized that the entire order had not been shipped. Once again, I had to call and tell them to send the rest of the parts, of which I remained on the phone for 30 to 40 minutes just to talk to someone. When they sent a second person to replace the furniture parts, the worker came without tools just to tell me that the company had scheduled the work for 30 minutes but in actuality about 3 hours of labor was required. Therefore, the worker did not do anything but came all the way to tell me that the work could not be done and that I had to call in and reschedule again. This would be the fourth time. It is evident that both the customer service and the independent workers who come to fix the products are incompetent and just wasting people's time. I am deeply disappointed in the service and will not consider shopping with this company again.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by V. T. on 3/17/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business I do believe this could be one of our customers, but I am not able to locate her information. I have sent the customer an email to get more information back on 3/18/16, and we have not heard back from the customer. by on 3/24/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3 people found this review helpful .
1 2 3 4