BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers funeral services at a lower cost.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hartson Funeral Home, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hartson Funeral Home, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hartson Funeral Home, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 28, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1989 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated: 05/11/1992 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
1400 East Washington Ave. Room 112, Madison WI 53703
http://dsps.wi.gov/sb/SB-HomePage.html
Phone Number: 608-266-2112
dsps@wisconsin.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary A. Hartson, President Ms. Missy Hartson, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary A. Hartson, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Missy Hartson, Vice President
Business Category

Funeral Homes Cremation Services Cremation Urns Funeral Directors Funeral Related Services Funeral Homes and Funeral Services (NAICS: 812210)


Additional Locations

  • 11111 W. Janesville Rd.

    Hales Corners, WI 53130 (414) 425-9797

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hartson's handled the funeral for my father. They did not follow through with obtaining copies of the death certificates. We paid cash for the entire funeral and they were paid to obtain 12 obtains of the death certificates. I called and spoke with ***** their ****** ******* and indicated that I wanted to know status. ***** said they were at register of deeds office and didnt know why they havent been sent. I told her I would like them *** **'ed overnight and I would pay for the overnight fees. Called over a week later to ask where they were and she indicated that they were sent ** **** and did not process my request for overnight because they didnt get payment and dont overnight them, despite havent told me differently the week before.

Desired Settlement: Refund entire amount that was paid for the death certificates.

Business Response: Re: Death certificates for ***** *********
Dear Sir or Madam:
The following letter is an explanation in response to a complaint we had received on 9-6-12.
The death certificates were processed within a reasonable amount of time, especially considering that this was a case in which the ********* ******* ********* office signed the death certificate, which sometimes can take anywhere between 4-8 weeks to obtain. When Mr. ********* had called initially to ask the status of the certified copies we had not received them back from the register of deeds office yet. We were not made aware that Mr. ********* would pay to have them *** **'ed overnight. Once we had received the certified copies we then sent them to Mr. ********* via ** ****, certified for 2 day delivery, thinking that would be sufficient.
The cost for certified death certificates is $20 for the first copy, and $3 for each additional copy.
There were 12 certified copies ordered and paid for by **** *********, total cost for those was $53.00.
If there are any questions please contact me.
Sincerely,
**** *******
******* ********
Hartson Funeral Home


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First - the response from Hartson's Funeral Home came from **** *******.     I did not speak with **** *******.     I spoke with their ****** ******* - ***** *******.

Below is a list of the calls I place to Hartson's Funeral Home looking for the death certificates and requesting that they be *** **'ed at my expense.   I explained to ***** numerous times on the call on 8/28 that they needed to be *** **'ed and they should call me when they get them so I can provide my credit card number for the charges.   ***** said she would get the message to **** and have **** call me.   **** NEVER CALLED.

8/28/2012 03:12pm - ###-###-####


09/05/2012 12:28pm - ###-###-####

09/05/2012  1:58pm - ###-###-####

I am the executor of my father's estate and will provide a copy of the Last Will & Testament if necessary.   My brother **** ********* went to Hartson's at my direction with $4000 in CASH to pay for the funeral and death certificates.    

Hartson's (***** Zentner) has clearly dropped the ball on my request and they choose to ignore my repeated requests for overnight service.   The only resolution in this matter is to refund the cost of the death certificates in the amount of $53.00.   50% payable to ******* ********* and 50% payable to myself.

If Hartson's refuses - my recommendations are for you to take away their A+ BBB Status and post my complaint on the website that I was an unsatisfied customer related to Hartson's Service and that they did not resolve the complaint.



Regards,

**** *********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1