12/21/2015 In my second year of my small business start up I was contacted by a sales rep at PAi to set up a solo 401(k) plan. I was assured that I could set aside up to $18k a year before taxes to help fund my retirement plan. I asked at that time if it depended on my income and was told that it did not. After much wrangling the account was setup and I made 3 contributions to it. After speaking with my accountant at year end and learning that I did not have enough net income to justify having such a plan I phoned PAi and asked for it to be terminated. After only 3 months and 3 contributions their termination fee was $175 to roll my small pittance of savings into my other IRA. When I inquired about waiving the fee I was given a strong "no". Their sales team is only interested in getting you signed up. They don't have any knowledge about funding the accounts or what is allowable. If you want to set up a retirement plan talk with an accountant--not with PAi. They do not have the knowledge or integrity to give you the information you need up front. I wish I had been smarter. As a small business owner I need every penny I earn. An expensive error on my part. Buyer beware!
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by C. K. on 12/21/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Upon learning of this customer’s concern, a member of our Voice of the Customer Team reviewed the details of this situation and contacted the customer to address the concern. by on 12/21/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3/12/2014 Called and asked to rollover an old 401K - less than $200 in the account. Was told to rollover my money to another qualified account (IRA) that it will be $50.00. Fifty dollars to write a check and send it to another qualifying account. This is after other quarterly fees they add to the account that reduced it by $36.00 from the previous balance. Con men - that is all they are.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Michelle C. on 3/12/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Upon learning of this customer's concern, a member of our Voice of the Customer Team reviewed the details of this situation and contacted the customer to address the concern. by on 3/15/2014

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
12/4/2013 Buyer beware that this company is "fee" happy. I paid over $300 to have this company set up our 401(k), then they charged $80/month and over $1,000 to terminate their services even though I am not on a contract but month to month. And did I mention I asked them to rollover my money to my financial advisor over a month ago and they would not do it. Shop around before you say yes to Pai...I wish I would have.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Annette R. on 12/4/2013 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Upon learning of this customer's concern, a member of our Voice of the Customer Team reviewed the details of this situation and contacted the customer to address the concern. by on 3/15/2014

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
6 people found this review helpful and 3 people did not find this review helpful.