BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states that they offer health care account administration and health savings accounts.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that H S A Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for H S A Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on H S A Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 24, 2006 Business started: 04/01/1997 in WI Business started locally: 04/01/1997 Business incorporated: 09/10/1986 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
Consumer Response Center, 2345 Grand Boulevard, Suite 100, Kansas City MO 64108
http://www.fdic.gov
Fax Number: 816-234-9060

U.S. Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)
15 Rockdale Street, Braintree MA 02184-0172
http://www.fdic.gov/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Wally Fick, VP Chief of Staff Ms. Charlotte Kienbaum, VP Operations Mr. Kirk Hoewisch, President HSA Bank Mr. Dean D. Mason, CEO Mr. Itamar Romanini, Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wally Fick, VP Chief of Staff
Principal: Ms. Charlotte Kienbaum, VP Operations
Business Category

Financial Services Banks

Alternate Business Names
HSA Bank, a Division of Webster Bank, N.A. Webster Bank, N.A.
Additional Information

HSA Bank is a division of Webster Bank, N.A.

Industry Tips
Banking Regulators

Additional Locations

  • 605 N 8th St  Ste 420

    Sheboygan, WI 53081 (866) 357-5232 (800) 357-6246 (920) 803-4171

  • PO Box 939

    Sheboygan, WI 53082

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 357-5232(Phone)
  • (920) 803-4171(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: HSA Bank failed to relinquish funds to third party. I was left to pay out of pocket for medical expenses. The whole point of a Health Savings Account is to have funds available 24 hours a day 7 days a week. When contacted about this issue, the operator informed me that it is out of there control. I pay them every month for them to decide when I can have my money or not. Please contact me for further information if needed.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of the balance still in the account, not taxed. They will not make a dime off of me. A check for 980.08, nothing less.

Consumer Response:

from:  *** ********** ***********************
to:  ********************************* *********************************
date:  Thu, May 9, 2013 at 10:47 AM
subject:  Complaint
I did receive a call from the HR department of HSA Bank, in regards to my issue. Glad to inform you that all issues have been addressed in full and I have no further issues ongoing. They admitted it was a clinical error on there part. Thanks again for your time and concern in relation to my issue. Have a great day.

Sent from ***

Business Response:

Per the last message provided by the complaintant to the BBB, the situation has been appropriately handled and the case should be closed.  Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: problems with HSA website, will not allow me to get mothly/quarterly statements as advertized, I just want problem fixed but they will not help me.

Desired Settlement: fix problem with web information, they repeat over and over they will help me fix problem but nothing is done and they never follow up as promised.

Business Response: HSA Bank management contacted client to walk them through opening up their statement on our site through a different computer.  We are able to open all statements for client from internal computer.  We offered to client to send paper statements for past and future months at no charge.  At this stage client has not been able to spend more time with us on the phone to attempt to rectify the situation.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My previous job required that I had an Health Savings Account with HSA Bank (a Division of ******* Bank N.A.)for employer health care contribution. Now I am working for a different employer and I got a letter from HSA Bank for a list of fees they will start to charge me. To avoid all the fees I intend to use all the money in my HSA account for my upcoming dental work and close the account, but HSA will charge me $25 for closing the account. I wasn't aware of the closing fee that I have to pay when my employer started an HSA account for me. I think this is an unfair charge.

Desired Settlement: HSA bank waives the closing fee.

Business Response:

The following message was sent to the complaintant, including the attached.:

 

Dear Mr. *** I have received your BBB complaint about the closing fee on your account with HSA Bank. In that statement you stated you were not aware of the 25.00 closing fee. When you opened the account a fee schedule was sent to you with your welcome kit and it did list all of the fees associated with your account, including the closing fee. I have attached a copy to this email for your review. I am sorry that you are dissatisfied with this fee, however it is our standard closing fee. I tried to reach you at the number on the complaint which was ###-###-#### and they said there was no one by your name there. I also tried the number on file we have for you, but that number also was not a current contact for you. If you would like to talk further you can reach me at ###-###-#### EXT. 34743. If you would like to close the account let me know and I can send you the closing forms right to your email, and I will be happy to help you.  Sincerely,  

 

**** *******
**********, Customer Contact Center
HSA Bank, Division of Webster Financial N.A. member FDIC *** ** *** **** *****
************* ** *****Direct & Fax:  ###-###-####
Email:  
********************      

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had a very small balance in an HSA account for at least 6 years ... it was initially set up because we were going to use a high deductible HMO plan at my workplace. I put $200 into the account to set it up. Well, we switched carriers less than a year later and I had no need for the high deductible savings account anymore. I called HSA several times over the next few YEARS and each time I was told that I couldn't simply phone and cancel this account and get my money back ... they were going to send me the appropriate forms to close the account and I never got them ... ever. I probably phoned once a year over the past 4 years. Now they're charging a monthly service fee on the account and I called once more to simply close it and get my paltry amount of money back ... They're supposedly going to send me a form via E-mail now ... and once I fill it out, they will now DEDUCT $25 (CLOSING ACCOUNT FEE which I was never told about before!) and will (AFTER holding my check for another 5 DAYS - why 5 days???) send me my check to close the account ... TODAY was the FIRST TIME I was ever told there was a closing account fee ... They always said ... "oh, there will be a tax consequence for removing this money" and always made it difficult to simply get my money back ... IT IS AN IMPROPER WAY TO RUN A BUSINESS, It's my money.... I've asked for it back several times... and they have always made it difficult to get it simply returned to me. If I can identify myself and give them the proper social security numbers and verify my identity ... why all the additional paperwork and waiting??? I have explained that I don't need the account anymore every time I've called... and yet, they still have my money. AND NOW THEY ARE GOING TO STICK ME WITH A $25 closing account fee (WHICH WAS NEVER DISCLOSED TO ME BEFORE) on a less than $200 balance. It was about $203 a while back ... but they have started charging a "monthly service fee" of .75 to keep my money from me. And the gal I dealt with today ...(*********) ... her voice was simply dripping with sarcasm as she told me to "have a SPECTACULAR day" after telling me all this good news ... especially she seemed to enjoy telling me about the $25 hidden closing account fee and about the additional 5 days before they'll even mail me a check. Nice way to run a bank.

Desired Settlement: I just want my money out of this "bank" ... Why couldn't they have simply sent me my money 4 years ago, when I first asked for it back? I'd like interest for the time they held it back from me... I think their whole purpose is to make it difficult to access your funds ... especially if you have no need for the account anymore. I'd like them to give me my current balance of 199.23 (without charging this unconscionable $25 "closing account" fee too!) Why should it cost me $25 to close an account? How difficult is it to close an account? $25 seems an excessive amount to cut me a check. Just give me my money ... as soon as possible ... why I have to fill out another form is beyond belief. Any other bank I've ever dealt with has given me my money when I've identified myself sufficiently and asked for it back. It is my money after all. Why is HSA permitted to operate in this fashion??? Return my money promptly and stop making it difficult for those who have no need for these accounts anymore to get their money back. It is not right.

Business Response: HSABank has reached out to the customer directly. 

 

We emailed ****** the required forms and he signed and sent back. I also refunded his monthly statement fee as well as waived the 25.00 closing fee. **** ******* spoke to ****** on 9/18/12 and explained all of this and stated the check would go out 9/19/12 and to expect to receive it in 7-10 business days. ****** was very thankful for the resolve of this matter.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I appreciate that the BBB of Wisconsin was there to help prompt a response finally from HSA bank.  After years of ignoring my requests, I finally got resolution to this issue.  

Thank you for being there.  Without the BBB, I don't think this was going to end well for me.  I received my check today.  It should not have been so difficult to simply get my money back...  HSA should revisit their account closing procedures and simplify the process for those no longer needing the account for their health plans.  It should have been easier to do.  

 

Thank you very much.

****** ***** 

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/7/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They charged me $12.50 to replace a debit card that I did not get.

Desired Settlement: refund

Business Response:

-Accountholder called on 3/21 questioning where the authorized signer's debit card was. He was again advised of the issue date and that it was activated on 1/8/12.  AH wanted the debit card statused and replaced (comments don’t state why).  The AH was made aware of the 7-10 mailing timeframe and that there would be a $12 fee for this.  He was also made aware that we need a copy of the Authorized Signer SSN card and DL to unrestrict the account for them to be able to use the cards.

-Both Accountholder and Authorized signer debit cards were activated on 1/8/12 and both PINs were also changed on 1/8/12

-The new debit card order was processed and the fee was refunded.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have funds direct deposited from my pay check at *** first into and HSA account with HSA bank unfortunately these funds are not showing up reputedly after being withdrawn from my paycheck and being sent over to them for several days. This last time funds were taken on 1/20/2012 and still are not reflecting in my HSA account. I have asked repeatedly where they are and when they will be reflecting and am getting no answers. I have reached out to my own HR and have been advised it was sent but what happens after that is up to HSA bank, I have made several calls and have also attempted to speak with a supervisor with no such luck as to where the money is.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money in my account.

Business Response:

HSA BANK has spoken with the employer and the complaintant.  HSA Bank has confirmed that we processed the same day, in all cases, that we had the instructions and funds to post.  Employer confirmed they had some challenges with a new aquisition of employees and integration into new software and expects funds to be seen in the HSA account either the same or following day of payroll.  All parties now understand what happened and agree that HSA Bank performed as expected.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******** ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.