Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers financial services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Landmark Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Landmark Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Landmark Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 28, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1933 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1933 Business incorporated 03/22/1988 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke Street, Alexandria VA 22314-3428
http://www.ncua.gov
Fax Number: 703-518-6409

SECURITIES EXCHANGE COMMISSION
450 5TH ST NW, WASHINGTON DC 20549
http://www.sec.gov/invkhome.htm
Phone Number: (202) 942-7040

Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System
Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions, 345 W. Washington Avenue, 4th Floor, Madison WI 53703
http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org
Phone Number: 608-261-7578
DFIMortgageBanking@wisconsin.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jay Magulski, President Ms. Sharon Mather, Senior Vice President Ms. Jessica Matter, Legal Analyst Mr. James Newman, Vice President & Controller Mr. James Reichart, Vice President of Marketing/Business Development
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jay Magulski, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Jessica Matter, Legal Analyst
Business Category

Credit Unions Investment Securities Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)

Alternate Business Names
Landmark Financial Services, Inc. Landmark Investment Center

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Landmark Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 100 S Western Ave

    Juneau, WI 53039

  • 106 E Main St

    Beaver Dam, WI 53916

  • 1101 Spring St

    Madison, WI 53715 (608) 251-0621

  • 13600 W Greenfield Ave

    Brookfield, WI 53005 (262) 796-4500

  • 140 Mccrae Rd

    Fall River, WI 53932

  • 1400 Horicon St

    Mayville, WI 53050 (920) 887-7783

  • 1400 Schauer Dr

    Hartford, WI 53027

  • 149 S Main St

    Juneau, WI 53039

  • 1629 S Main St

    West Bend, WI 53095

  • 1901 Market Way

    Watertown, WI 53094 (920) 206-2845

  • 1931 Grove Ave

    Racine, WI 53405

  • 2190 Wisconsin Ave

    Grafton, WI 53024 (262) 375-9599

  • 2400 N Grandview Blvd

    Waukesha, WI 53188 (262) 574-4900

  • 2518 W Washington St

    West Bend, WI 53095 (262) 334-1867

  • 2775 S Moorland Rd

    New Berlin, WI 53151 (262) 796-4500

  • 2797 S Kinnickinnic Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53207

  • 3098 Reflections Dr

    Hubertus, WI 53033

  • 3413 Rapids Dr

    Racine, WI 53404

  • 3600 N 124th St

    Wauwatosa, WI 53222 (414) 535-1014

  • 4000 S 27th St

    Milwaukee, WI 53221

  • 4501 W National Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53214 (414) 902-2060

  • 473 Milwaukee Ave

    Burlington, WI 53105

  • 4801 S Packard Ave

    Cudahy, WI 53110

  • 5445 S Westridge Dr

    New Berlin, WI 53151 (262) 796-4500 (800) 871-2110

  • 5825 W Hope Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53216

  • 6219 Washington Ave

    Racine, WI 53406

  • 7780 S Lovers Lane Rd

    Franklin, WI 53132 (262) 637-9735

  • 801 Cardinal Ln

    Hartland, WI 53029 (262) 367-6420

  • 8129 S Howell Ave

    Oak Creek, WI 53154 (414) 762-2241

  • 9515 W National Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53227 (414) 476-5170

  • 955 Lexington Dr

    Oconomowoc, WI 53066 (262) 569-4040

  • N64W22694 Main St.

    Sussex, WI 53089 (262) 820-6820

  • N96W17480 County Line Rd.

    Germantown, WI 53022

  • PO Box 510910

    New Berlin, WI 53151

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/16/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a payment for a bill and I accidently used my savings account number instead of checking account number on 7/13/2016 and this caused the bill to run my payment through 3 times causing a negative balance. I said I would pay it off. I was off of work for awhile so the money I had been putting into my checking account which is tied to my savings account was going towards bills. On 9/6/2016 I moved 62.54 to my savings account to cover the negative balance and then I had a remaining balance of -20.46 and when I deposited money into my checking account on 9/6/2016 I told the teller that I would pay the remaining balance off when I got my bonus check on 9/16/2016. He said no problem. On 9/12/2016 I noticed that they transferred the available balance of $0.40 from my checking to my savings account and charged a miscellaneous fee of $50.00. When I called them I was transferred to Lakeba in Collections. She said that was a forced close fee because my account was negative for 60 days. I told them that I just made a payment to it last week and spoke with a teller and told him I would pay the remaining balance this week. She kept talking over me and wouldn't let me finish. And I asked why wouldn't they move money from my checking account prior to this date? My understanding was that I had to have a savings account in order to have a checking account is what I was told, but now they closed it. I was also told that having both accounts would help with overdraft fees as they could draw from one another. She then told me they have a lot of locations she doesn't know who I spoke to, but the fee won't be removed this is what it is. Then they moved my negative balance on my savings account to my checking account. I asked why wouldn't you do this in the beginning and just take the money I owed you? She was rude and speaking down on me so I hung up. So I went into their Germantown branch and spoke with the Branch Manager ***** ****** and let him know what happened. I know it was my fault the account was negative, but I was off of work on an unpaid leave so I am scrapping pennies. He agreed to take the 50 dollar forced close fee off of my account because I was being honest and admitted my fault. He called about an hour later saying he didn't have the authority to remove the fee that he was really sorry and only billing and collections could remove it. So I called back to billing and collections and spoke with Mary who was much nicer than Lakeba. She said that ***** ****** could send an email to her because he would have a much better chance of getting the fee removed than I would. I also asked her again why if I have both accounts and was told that they could be used for overdraft protection and if they can put a negative balance from my savings to my checking account AFTER they charged the $50 fee why wouldn't the do it before charging it? She said sometimes they do that and sometimes they don't. I told her I was already promised by him that it would be removed. I sent him an email and got no response. Not once in any of the letters they sent me did they discuss a forced close fee. In addition during the times I was at the bank since July I spoke with tellers and let them know my situation. They acted like it would be ok and they didn't even put notes on my account. I want the fee removed. I was already told it would be. They also have horrible customer service. No empathy whatsoever. I also feel like if you made me get the savings account in the beginning to get a checking account why can you close the savings account, but keep the checking account open now? I feel like I was lied to. I also feel like they should honor the agreement the branch manager and I made and he was going to remove the fee.

Desired Settlement: I want the $50 forced close credited back to my account. That is what the branch manager told me he would do and if he doesn't have the authority to do it then he needs to have someone who does put it through.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and yes they did refund the money yesterday, but I would like it to be noted that ***** ******, Branch Manager at the Germantown Branch,  did tell me that he was going to waive the fee and then called me an hour later stating that he didn't have the authority to do it and someone in billing and collections would have to do it. This was not credited in good faith this was a credit that was promised to me. I had to go back into the branch yesterday because I found out they had cut my debit card off too and no one ever told me that. Landmark credit union could use some classes in customer service. So I am only accepting this on the fact that they did reverse the fee for me. But I will be closing my accounts with them due to their customer service and how they treated me.

Regards,

****** *******


9/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Landmark included a total of $636 onto my acct for insurance in Dec 2015. I already had insurance on my car although it was only liability of which I was paying $50/month. Landmark overcharged me for insurance and they also charged me for insurance when I already had it and they charged me the full amount for 12 months. I only had Liability for only for 6 months. The remaining 6 months I had full coverage. So in essence, I paid for insurance twice.

Desired Settlement: I would like the insurance fee of $636 that Landmark charged to my account removed in full. If this is not doable, I want to be charged accurately based on the fact that I already paid for coverage on my on for the full time that I have been having the car loan, whether it be liability only or full coverage. So far I have paid a total of $666.73 to Allstate for insurance for this car. I should not have to pay for insurance twice!

Business Response:

August 23, 2016


Dear ****** ******,

This is a response to the complaint ID ******** submitted by ***** * ******* on 08/23/2016.

Ms. ******* applied for and was approved for a vehicle loan at Landmark Credit Union on September 9, 2015. Landmark Credit Union requires full comprehensive and collision insurance coverage as indicated in its loan documents executed by Ms. *******. Ms. ******* failed to maintain the requisite insurance coverage on her vehicle between September 09, 2015 and April 28, 2016 which resulted in an insurance policy being purchased for her and the premium amount added to her loan balance.  Upon receiving proof that Ms. ******* obtained the requisite insurance coverage, the premium was refunded to Ms. ******* on a pro-rata basis.

In detail, Landmark Credit Union has contracted with Allied Solutions to complete verification of insurance coverage on its vehicle loans. Allied Solutions sent three notices (1st Notice on October 28, 2015, 2nd Notice on November 11, 2015 and 3rd Notice on November 25, 2015) to Ms. ******* requesting that she provide proof of insurance. Ms. ******* failed to respond to these notices or provide proof that she had obtained and was maintaining full comprehensive and collision insurance coverage on her vehicle.

On December 22, 2015, Allied Solutions purchased insurance for Ms. *******’s vehicle loan and the insurance premium in the amount of $636 was added to the loan balance at Landmark Credit Union.

On February 11, Ms. ******* contacted Allied Solutions and provided proof that she had purchased liability insurance from Allstate Insurance. On April 21, Allied Solutions received a new Allstate Insurance Policy showing that Ms. ******* purchased Comprehensive and Collison coverage with an effective date of 04/28/2016.

On April 26, 2016 Ms. ******* received $134 as a partial refund of the insurance premium in the form of a loan balance reduction. Based on this information, Landmark believes that the issue has been resolved and no further action is needed on its part.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any further information in this matter.

Thank you,

 


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I do not agree because I was already paid Allstate for liability so therefore I should not have to pay Landmark for full insurance. If anything, I should only have had to pay them for collision only and for only 6 months of coverage. That does not average out to $502 dollars. Again, this is not fair to me and it was a waste of my money. So far, I have paid Landmark a total of $3,340.22 so my balance should not still be over a thousand dollars considering the fact that my original loan was only for $3,660.50. I have not had the loan a whole year so interest should be minimal.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:

September 6, 2016


Dear ****** ******,

This is a response to the complaint ID ******** submitted by ***** Y ******* on August 23, 2016, the rejection received on August 25, 2016 and the additional comment received on August 30, 2016.

Landmark provides its borrowers with the Supplemental Credit Contract Provisions document only for the purpose of clarity and additional detail; Landmark’s Motor Vehicle Retail Installment Contract  signed by the borrowers contains the same requirement of comprehensive and collision insurance to be maintained and incorporates the Supplemental Credit Contract Provisions document by reference making the additional signature redundant. For your convenience, I am enclosing the Motor Vehicle Retail Installment Contract signed by Ms. ******* on September 5, 2015. This requirement can be found under Additional Agreements of Buyer, sections two and three.

Landmark will contact Napleton Auto Group in Libertyville to inquire about Ms. *******’s claim related to her signature; however, this does not change Ms. *******’s obligations to maintain full comprehensive and collision insurance for the full term of the vehicle loan and to pay the outstanding balance for the insurance coverage that Landmark purchased for this loan.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any further information in this matter.

Thank you,

 


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I will contact legal advice as I should not be held responsible for a contract that I did not sign. I will also file a complaint with the FTC for lack of ethics in this matter. Stay tuned...


Regards,

***** *******

8/30/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Truck loan payment not due until December 21 2017 due to an insurance payment paid to loan back on Feb 2016. Landmark has taken it upon themselves to reverse those payments out and apply as principle payment and reported this as a deliquent account to the credit bureaus as of August 3 2016. I have statements stating my next payment date is December 2017. No notifications phone calls made to me in advance advising my loan due dates was changing or this practice is legal.

Desired Settlement: Correct all 3 credit bureaus. ..Balanced waived as cortesy.Letter from landmark as an error on their behalf.This has destroyed my credit.

Business Response:

August 10, 2016


Dear ****** ******,

This is a response to the complaint ID ******** submitted by ******* ******** on 08/08/2016.

On January 16, 2016, Landmark Credit Union received an insurance check in the amount of $4,796.57 for ******* ********’ vehicle loan at Landmark Credit Union. The outstanding balance on this loan as of this date was $1,714.82. Documentation enabling Ms. ******** to file a GAP insurance claim was mailed to her attention on January 16, 2016.

On March 18, 2016, Landmark Credit Union received a pro-rated refund check in the amount of $193.61 for an extended warranty that Ms. ******** had purchased through Boucher Chevrolet in Waukesha. The remaining balance of Ms. ********’ vehicle loan, after applying this refund, was $1,521.21.

These payments were incorrectly applied to the loan as regular payments in place of “principal only” payments, which advanced the loan due date to December 21, 2017. The error was identified and corrected in July 2016 and  Landmark Credit Union attempted to contact Ms. ******** on three separate occasions in July to notify her of this correction and the revised payment due date. The attempts to reach Ms. ******** were unsuccessful and the vehicle loan was charged off on August 3, 2016.

Ms. ******** spoke with an associate in Landmark’s collections department on August 8, 2016.  Landmark investigated the situation, reversed the late payment charges and the loan write-off and corrected its reporting of this loan to the three credit bureaus.  Correspondence was mailed to Ms. ******** on the same date confirming these actions taken by Landmark and again providing requisite documentation for filing a GAP claim and, in the alternative, urging Ms. ******** to make payment arrangements for the remaining loan balance of $1,521.21.

Based on this timeline of events, it appears that Ms. ********’ concerns regarding this issue had been timely addressed and resolved prior to her submitting the complaint to the Bureau. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any further information in this ******.

 

Thank you,

 

******* ******
Legal Analyst
Landmark Credit Union
*************@landmarkcu.com
Tel: ###-###-####


Consumer Response: To date my credit is still affected by the error from landmark .I cannot apply for any credit and have been denied credit . This basically has had a negative impact on my life awaiting for the bureaus to be updated. The legal analyst indicates in July i was notified of this but does not list or give specificied dates.Because I was never contacted. I am asking as cortesy tome that my loan due be waived. 

Business Response:

August 24, 2016


Dear ****** ******,

This is a response to the complaint ID ******** submitted by ******* ******** on August 8, 2016, with additional comment by ******* ******** received on August 23, 2016.

Landmark Credit Union has updated its credit bureau reporting of Ms. ********’ activity associated with this loan to no longer reflect derogatory information.  It may take several business days for the bureaus to display the updated information. As a result, Landmark’s error in applying of the funds to the loan and the correction of this error will have no negative effect on Ms. ********’ credit standing.

There is an outstanding balance of $1,521.21 that remains unpaid on this loan.  On more than one occasion, Landmark has communicated with Ms. ******** as well as provided Ms. ******** documentation for a Gap Insurance claim that would pay off this balance. A Landmark Associate advised Ms. ******** in a phone conversation that, as an accommodation to her, the deadline for making these or other payment arrangements has been extended to November 1, 2016.  In the event that no arrangements are made and no payment is received as of this date, Landmark will begin reporting the delinquent loan status to the credit bureaus and seek to recover the outstanding balance from Ms. ********. 

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any further information in this ******.

 

Thank you,

 

******* ******
Legal Analyst
Landmark Credit Union
*************@landmarkcu.com
Tel: ###-###-####


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********. landmark fails to realize that to date bureaus still shows negative ratings I've been denied credit cannot apply for credit period. My loan was not due until December 2017.So how is scheduling the due date to November 2016 is a convenience to me. Landmark fails to provide proof of any contact to me making me aware of this reversed transaction as asked in my previous rejection.Again I am asking this loan be waived. landmark legal rep is indicating this had no negative impact. When I advised I was turned down for credit.

 

 


[To assist us in bringing this ****** to a close, we would like to know your view on the ******.]

Regards,

******* ********

5/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a motorcycle from BMW and used Landmark Credit Union for a $12,000 loan. Purchased insurance the day I received the motorcycle and sent all insurance information to Landmark. Paid the $12,000 in 12 months and now see an additional $1900 charge on the loan that I was never informed of due to the fact they never received my insurance information. Verified with Landmark I had the valid insurance from the first day I received the motorcycle. Now Landmark is not taking the charge off even though all of the information from my side has been provided.

Desired Settlement: The loan is already paid off, take the $1900 charge off since it is not valid.

Business Response: Dear ****** ******,

This response is in regards to the complaint submitted on 04/05/2016 with complaint ID 11310235 regarding ****** *****.

Per Landmark Credit Union and Allied Solutions procedure, three notices were sent via USPS following the loan origination date of 04/24/2015 requesting documentation proving insurance was obtained on the 2015 BMW S1000RR. Additionally, following the third notice, a phone call is attempted; Allied Solutions received no response. Force-placed Insurance was then placed on the motorcycle loan on 07/09/2015 in the amount of $1,891.

Prior to the motorcycle loan payoff, a refund of the force-placed insurance was issued in the amount of $1,891 on 04/14/2016. Final payment made to the loan was conducted on 04/27/2016.

Do not hesitate to contact me regarding further information in this ******.

Thank you,

******* ******
Legal Analyst
Landmark Credit Union
*************@landmarkcu.com
Tel: ###-###-####


3/22/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
2/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/15/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
12/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to set an outside bank account to my Landmark account and kept getting errors This happened two times in a row, I called and I was being transferred and just took too long to get help each time... So when it came time for my bill to be due I had no option but to pay over the phone. The lady said there's a $10 fee and I asked her to waive it because of the issues with the website. She then put me on hold and said her manager said nope we can't do that. I was questioning her and she started to get an attitude. I've sent several emails asking them to credit my account because the error in their website was out of my control! They keep giving me the run a round and not helping. The point if setting this up is to avoid fees! How can you blame a customer for your online services not working???

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded for the $10 phone fees I had to pay to them this year! They should of just credited the fees and provided good customer service.

Business Response:

December 15, 2015

********* ** *****

**** *** ** ********* **  *****

RE: BBB Complaint # ********

Dear *********:

I received your customer complaint from the Better Business Bureau and will attempt to address your concerns regarding your issues with setting up an outside bank account to make a loan payment and the $10 fee assessed for payments made by phone.

I had **** *****, ** ** ********’s e-channel, research the issues with establishing an external transfer from UW Credit Union.  Here is what **** found the following:

On 10/2/2015, member enrolled for External Transfer in Online Banking. She received two emails with instructions on completing the setup of her email, *********************, which was completed.  She attempted to setup her account at UWCU Checking #***-***-****but I see the current status of this account is deleted.

On 10/25/2015 she attempted to set-up External Transfer for UWCU Checking #***-***-****  The security step of sending two trail deposits to the UWCU for verification was not completed.  Reminder emails were sent to her on 10/25/2015 and 10/28/2015. The current status is requires approval.  To complete this process, she would need to request new trail deposits to be sent to her UWCU account. Inside the External Transfer portal she should click on Settings in the top right corner then select accounts. Locate the UWCU account from the list of My Other Accounts and select the blue arrow icon on the left side to reveal the account detail. Select to have the trial deposits resent (allow 3 business days).  She should enter the two small deposit amounts in the field found in the account detail screen (Settings>Accounts>My Other Accounts> blue arrow left side).

The member could also use our new loan payment product.  This can found under the Move Money tab in Online Banking.  This option does not require the trail deposit security step described in the external transfer option. Also, this option is only a one step process because it will post directly to the Landmark loan.

I refunded two of your $10 fees assessed for a total of $20 to your savings account.  This should cover the timeframe when you attempted to set up the External Transfer.

Please follow the instructions above to complete your External Transfer.  If you need help, please contact our e-channel at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

 

*** ****

****** **** **************** ********

Encl.

***          *** ********* ************* ******** ****** *****                 ****** ******** ******

                                

11/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a Landmark Credit Union Visa credit card that offers defective merchandise purchase protection. I purchased a ****** credit with this card. The computer was defective. I called to activate my protection within the prescribed period and Landmark began my claim. ******, the computer company had installed spyware on all their new machine, rendering the machine insecure against hackers. There is a class action lawsuit forming against ****** for this issue. Landmark took my complaint, asked ****** to refute, and then Landmark sent me a letter dated 4/14/15 which stated that I had until 4/27/15 to refute ******'s response. HOWEVER, this later from Landmark was postmarked 4/27/15 (I still have the envelope to prove this). So, when I sent my response, twice, the first within a weeks time of receiving the Landmark letter, they replied that I "did not respond in time and my VISA buyer protection would not be honored." I called Landmark and told them that their letter was postmarked on 4/27/15 and so it was IMPOSSIBLE for me to reply by 4/27/15. They asked me resubmit my information, I did. And they provided the same response...that I missed the 4/27/15 deadline. This is ridiculous. They did not provide any time to respond, the letter arrived past the 'required due date" and they are using that date to deny my claim. They made no reference to the 15 pages of documents that I provided stating ******'s defective product and refusal to return the laptop.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is that Landmark Credit Union process the buyer warranty as it is prescribed in my credit card agreement and provide the $759.26 credit that I am due.

Business Response: This issue was regarding a dispute.  Disputes are handled through our current processor.  We have contacted them to reopen the case.  They are also looking into the issue of why the form was received by the customer the same day it was to be returned.  I have been in contact with the customer to work through this.

Business Response: We have recently been notified by our processor that they agree with the cardholder that the postmark was enough to substantiate the timely receipt of the dispute.  A credit for the full amount was made to the account on 11/23/2015. 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

It appears there was a typo in Landmark's message...should read, there was "not" enough time to reply.  Nonetheless, their actions have corrected that issue on late postage and the defective computer. 

Thank you very much for your help, BBB!

Regards,

**** *****


10/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This has been ongoing for 10months and invloves numerous issues with how this credit union handles transactions, posts transactions, provides properly working mobile banking and online information, etc. I have never dealt with a financial institution before that is like Landmark with respect to their outdated and inconsistent system and applications! And all of this has resulted in numerous overdraft charges for me when about 80% of them would have never been charged or imposed to me by any other financial institution I have ever dealt with. I also work in banking and again, financial institutions do not operate this way anymore and I have never seen this before. Example#1: They offer a mobile app to their customers, just like all the other banks/CU's that allows you access your accounts to review your balance, make transfers, bill pay, and check deposits from your smart phone. This product works nothing like it should. I also have used this same product, with ***** ***** *** ****** ****, and ***** *****. And as everyone knows now...this is where banking is leading-having online realtime access to your accounts and 100% convinience. Well landmarks mobile banking is the complete opposite! The mobile check deposit through the app is the worst I have seen-and I have no issues at the other banks as their apps submit a real picture and confirm the number at the bottom. but landmarks app makes it look like a black and white scan and usually takes about several pictures in all types of lighting to even get an "Ok" photo. SO I did this action this morning for example. And it was crutial that it went through as my checking account is already negative, due to issues I will continue to explain. The deposit was made by me this morning at 6am, but I was not notified from them until 1:00pm today that my deposit was deleted because the images were not legible. Now because of the poor finctionality of their product and the fact that they did not accept my check deposit-if another transaction happened to come through it will cause another overdraft fee. If I call-they will tell me the same thing they always say. Sorry mam but if you balanced your checkbook this would not happen. But who balances their checkbook anymore? That is the whole point of mobile apps so you dont have to!!!!!! And that works fine everywhere else. but nope they blame this all on me. Another complaint-for whatever reason-if a transaction comes through and the entire funds are not there to cover it they charge you the $30 overdraft immediately!! That is the only type of transaction on their system that is real time!!!! Everything else is delayed-never updates over the weekend-even account transfers of cash etc. One day I looked at my checking bal, it was low and I knew there were transactions that were going to come through from that morning. Drove over to the branch and made a cash deposits. Well within the amount of time I left work and made the deposit (about 10mins!) 2 of those transactions came out of my account and the $30 overdraft fee for each one was imposed immediately! So I called because the cash deposit I had just made was more than enough to cover everything and they still would not refund any fees. Again-at *****, ***** *****, and ***-if you make a desposit same day there are never overdraft fees since they are imposed at the end of the day. And also, another complaint that has caused issues and numerous fees as well....the real balance and the available bal(which is supposed to be excluding pending transactions) IS NEVER CORRECT AND ALWAYS INCONSISTENT IN HOW IT PERFORMS. For example, last Friday my account balance was 463.00. i made an online debit payment for our car loan to another bank-historically this comes out right away-like an ATM transaction...so in my mind then come Sat was out shopping and transfered some money into this same checking to cover my pur*****s based on what it was telling my available balance was. But what it was not telling me or proving to me is that there were more additional pensing transactions out there that i thought had already cleared wed and thursday which did not-and were not counted for in the available balance. So come Monday, bam 2 overdraft fees-and here I thought the transfers I made was all that needed to be moved over to cover my weekend transactions. This is why my account is now currently negative which mentioned above-and they cannot even accept my deposit because their mobile app is horrible. I even emailed them last weekend with exact details about what was going on, and not one person has replied or gotten back to me. i historically use this account to pay the same bills and use at the same gas stations. And some transactions will show as pending right away-some wont-and even from the same exact place!!! I do not have anywhere near the amount of issues on any of my other bank accounts anywhere-and even our other checking account here at Landmark! Just the one account since the most items are consistently paid out of it. So wouldt this clearly indicate i am not the problem completly? Because their mobile app or their online banking can never provide me with a real time balance or available amount, i have now paid a total of 540.00 in 30.00 overdraft fees this year-even if I deposited cash that same day! and then 35.00 in consecutive overdraft fee YTD as a result also. I have always called multiple times so they could document all the issues I am having. I have only ever been credited 150.00 as a result betwen 2 different phone calls. but then I I have also not called everytime there has been issue due to the level of stress this has caused. We were never told when we opened our accounts here that even though they offer the same online and mobile products as the other banks and CU's, that theirs works nothing like everyone elses and should never be relied upon to be accurate. If I would have know what I know now, i never would have opened accounts here.

Desired Settlement: Honestly I dont know because I am exhausted with anything having to do with landmark. And i am sure they will not want to refund what I feel they should refund. Like I said I did not report this issue every single time. but out of the 540.00 about 400.00 of those fees were not my direct fault as their online information and banking app never tells you what you really have-and even when deposits made same day or funds clear due to their lengthy check holds they still charge all these fees real time. If they do refund me and recongnize the fact that the system is unreliable and outdated that would be enough for me to not give them as bad of a review. However I just cannot bank here anywmore at all!

Business Response:

October 16, 2015

****** ** ********* **** * ******** ** ********** **  *****

RE: BBB Complaint # ********

Dear ******:

I received your customer complaint from the Better Business Bureau and will attempt to address your concerns regarding transaction posting, mobile banking and online information.  In response to your issues and examples:

Issue #1-Mobile App-check deposited at 6:00 am but not notified until 1:00 pm and app does not detect images well

On 10-8-2015 a mobile deposit check was rejected because the front and/or back of the image was not legible enough to submit for payment to the Federal Reserve. The review of this item took place at 9:50 am and an email notice was generated and sent to Ms. ****** ********* at *************** .  This is the only rejected mobile deposit item we have on record.  Two other items were successfully deposited on 4-7-15 and 8-10-15.  Black and white photos are used in Mobile Deposit because color photos cannot be submitted per check 21 standards.  

The user agreement for mobile deposit states that we reserve the right, at our sole and absolute discretion, to reject any image for remote deposit into your account. We will notify you of rejected images.  Funds from deposits made through Mobile Deposit generally will be available for withdrawal by the second business day after the day of deposit. 

Landmark began offering its Mobile App and Remote Deposit capture in 2014.  Since the inception, Landmark averages approximately 7,000 checks that are captured through Remote Deposit each month.  Less than 10% of checks are not accepted for various reasons, including but not limited to the check and critical features of the check being illegible. The first five check deposits are manually reviewed by a Landmark associate along with any check over $1,000.  Since your check deposit for $1,150 matched both of these criteria, the check was manually reviewed and rejected due to being illegible. If the check is illegible, the associate has no choice but to reject the check image and notify the member.

Issue #2-Phone call to Landmark –instructed to balance checkbook/Pending Transactions not showing on online banking.

I certainly understand technology today offers the ability and convenience to do banking through various channels such as online banking, mobile apps and call centers.  You mentioned that when you call, you are instructed to balance your checkbook.  Landmark always advises members to track their accounts and balances to ensure they are correct and up-to-date including any pending transactions that haven’t cleared their accounts.  With that said, we understand that our online banking does not currently show pending debit transactions.  We are pleased to announce that an update to our online banking application will soon provide pending transactions when a member logs in on line and should be available prior within the next few weeks.  Currently, if you need to know if any transactions are pending, you can contact our Member Service Center at ###-###-#### and ask a Member Service Representative or hit option #1 to access your accounts using your member # and access code.  

Issue # 3-Assessed $30 NSF fee for transactions that clear the same day a deposit is made

Landmark will assess a $30 NSF if funds are not available when a transaction is posted and money is not in the account at the time the transaction attempts to post.  While some financial institutions may allow a deposit made anytime the same day, Landmark indicates in its disclosures, at the time an account is opened, that funds must be on deposit when the transaction is posted.   Transactions post at different times throughout the day depending on what type of transaction was conducted.  ATM withdrawals and PIN POS transactions may post immediately, while a check or debit card transactions may not clear until 2-3 days or more after the transaction was conducted or check written. 

It appears that you are attempting to make deposits into your account after debit transactions have been authorized but not yet posted to your account. Legally, any authorized check, ACH payment or debit card pur***** requires that funds need to be available in the account at the time the transaction is authorized.  

Courtesy Pay is a service that allows Landmark Credit Union to cover a transaction on our member’s checking account, even if it causes the account to become overdrawn. The convenience fee for Courtesy Pay on the checking account is $30 per transaction.  Members have the option to opt out of this service and transactions that would have been paid under Courtney Pay may be returned unpaid and subject to a return item fee.  

ACH payments authorized with third parties are not accounted for in the checking account available balance until the transaction clears the account which can take up to 3 business days.

If you would like to discuss your account, I would recommend stopping in at a branch near you and a Landmark associate will be happy to assist you.

Please contact me at ###-###-#### with any questions.

Sincerely,

 

*** ****

****** **** **************** ********

****.

Cc:          *** ********* ************* ******** ****** *****

                Better Business Bureau

                                

9/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle in April 2015 through Landmark Credit Union. I was insured through American Family Insurance at that time. In July 2015 I changed insurance carriers and had my new insurance, *******, send the updated information to Landmark Credit Union. Later in July, I received a letter from Landmark stating that there was a forced insurance policy in place because I did not have insurance coverage prior to July. I contacted Landmark to provide proof of insurance throughout the life of the loan. My former insurance agent at American Family also personally contacted the policy carrier, ******, to confirm that I had coverage prior to July 2015. She also sent me a proof of coverage letter at that time. I was told by the representative at Landmark that the situation was resolved, a credit for the forced protection would be issued and that if I was reported to the credit bureau, that information could be adjusted after the credit was issued. A month later, I have now received yet another letter stating that I am past due on my payment. I called and spoke to a representative for 45 minutes. I had to walk through everything that has been done to date. She tried to assist me by contacting ******, who told her that there was a gap in coverage for 5 days which I disputed. They contacted American Family and confirmed that there was never any gap in coverage. She called me back to say that the forced policy would be cancelled (So it wasn't cancelled a month ago when I was told it would be) and that a credit would be issued. She also told me I would need to pay the nearly $900 that is "overdue" in order to avoid being reported to the credit bureau. She said a credit would be issued and the amount would be credited to my principal. I am awaiting a call back. I have asked her to confirm whether or not there are case notes from last month indicating that I was already told what she told me with the exception of having to pay the outstanding amount.

Desired Settlement: I'd like proof that a full credit has been issued on the forced insurance policy and I'd like written proof that I am not going to be reported to the credit bureau. If I am reported, I expect for that information to be rescinded and corrected so it does not affect my credit.

Business Response:

September 15, 2015

Ms. ******* *********

**** ******** ***** ******* ****** **  *****

RE: BBB Complaint # ********

Dear *******:

I received your customer concern from the Better Business Bureau and will attempt to address your concerns about the Collateral Protection Insurance program at Landmark Credit Union.  There are really three main options to track insurance for collateralized loans such as vehicles, snowmobiles and other recreational vehicles.  The options are:

                1.  Track insurance internally within Credit Union

·         Landmark services approximately 75,000 collateralized type loans as mentioned above and the process of tracking insurance is extremely labor intensive and requires expensive software

2.  Purchase a blanket insurance policy to cover all loans

·         Cost is in the millions of dollars

3.  Contract with a third party provider who has experience dealing with hundreds of other financials and have the processes and software in place that provides greater efficiencies and cost savings to the financial and those cost savings can be passed on to members in the form of lower loan rates.  This is the option Landmark has chosen in order to pass the savings onto its members.

There are a number of reasons why the third party provider may send a notice and/or add Collateral Protection Insurance, even if you, the member, have the proper insurance in place as required by your contract.  Some of the reasons include not having Landmark Credit Union listed as the lien holder on the policy, not carrying both comprehensive and collision coverage, deductibles that exceed Landmark’s limits, a lapse or change in coverage and the insurance agency not sending the policy in a timely manner, or finally, the company that tracks the insurance either did not receive the policy, was unable to match the collateral with a member number and possibly not entering the policy information correctly.

The notices are sent if any of the above happens beginning with a first notice at 30 days, a second notice 14 days later, a third notice 14 days after the second notice and insurance is force placed 28 days after the 3rd notice.  The third party insurance tracking company provides a toll free number that can be called to provide insurance information and they will even contact your insurance agent if a copy of the policy is needed.  

Please find below a timeline of the events occurring with your Collateral Protection Insurance:

·         5-13-15 and 5-27-15 – ****** sent notices that Landmark needed proof of insurance from the loan origination (4-2-15)

·         7-9-15 – a CPI premium $4928.00 was force placed (one-year policy period 4-2-15 thru 4-2-16)

·         8-10-15 – **** (from our Collection Department) talked to you about the loan being past due and CPI; you indicated your agent sent proof of insurance to Landmark in Texas.  **** informed you that was the wrong Landmark and asked for your insurance info so he could get it cleared up with ******.

·         8-15-15 – You called back with insurance information; first policy through American Family Insurance ended 7-16-15; new policy with Met Life starting 7-16-15

·         8-17-15 – ****** received the policies, but the American Family Insurance policy had an effective date of 5-5-15;  ****** processed a partial refund $4041.00

·         8-18-15 – **** called you back to advise of the lapse period 4-2-15 thru 5-5-15, and that you should contact American Family

·         8-18-15 – You called back- American Family was able to resolve the issue

·         9-1-15 – the partial refund of $4041.00 posted (remaining lapse period 4-2-15 thru 5-5-15)

·         9-4-15 – ****** was able to confirm an older policy with American Family covering the lapse

·         9-15-15 – a refund for the remaining $887 was posted

 

You have been fully refunded for the Collateral Protection Insurance that was added on and your next payment will now be due on 10/17/15.  Your credit has not been affected and all payments will appear on the credit bureau as being paid on time.  Please contact me at ###-###-#### with any questions.

Sincerely,

 

*** **** ****** **** **************** ********

Encl.

Cc:          *** ********* ************* ******** ****** *****

                Better Business Bureau

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a threat letter that informs me that unless I show proof of homeowner insurance (I have a mortgage through Landmark), that I will be signed up for a potentially expensive policy. However, I had sent in proof of insurance last year that doesn't expire until September 2015 of this year. I went back and checked my e-mail. There is no reason for me to receive such a letter. I have received these letters randomly throughout the term of my loan with Landmark. I'm not sure if the firm that I believe Landmark contracts with is incompetent or hoping to catch people who forget to send in proof of insurance so they can sign them up with a policy or if there is some reason. But what I do know is that I'm sick of these letters. At the very least, these letters should be sent based on when my policy expires and if I send in proof of insurance, I shouldn't have to keep sending it in.

Desired Settlement: Drop the company they outsource this task to or change their policies so they don't hassle customers.

Business Response: Recently we received notification of your complaint that you submitted to the Better Business Bureau
regarding our insurance request letter.
In July you received a letter requesting proof of insurance on the above referenced property.
Since the property located at *** ****** ***** is a condominium, on an annual basis we'll require proof
of coverage from both the association along with your unit owner's policy,
Every year the policy carried by the association expires on July 1" while the policy you carry for your unit
expires on September 21". The letter you received dated July 5th was notifying you that we did not
receive the current year's policy from the association. On July 14th we received the association's
current policy for the policy period of July 1, 2015 to July 1, 2016.
I'm sorry to hear that you felt the wording of the letter was threatening. The verbiage is based on the
requirements published by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. If you ever feel uncomfortable
with any of our correspondence, please feel free to contact me directly.

12/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had a hard time the last year and now back in school. I am making payments on my credit card but not the full amount. The credit union has called and I will say I only answered one call and said nothing I can do lest till sometime in December. Didn't give them much info outside of being in school. wo business days after I talked the calls started again. Can you say harassment now from landmark credit union. At the start of the school year my health insurances was just under 240 a month and in September it went up another $85 a month. I had to use my credit card payment money to pay for my health insurances. I was making payments but not the full amount. I was giving something each month. On Decmeber first I went to make a 78 transfor to my credit card and found out ****** approved does not say a last name approved a transfor from my checking account to my credit card of 168.77. I had 400 in the count 322 for my health inurances and 78 to my credit card. I also had a check to put some money into my cc. I call the credit union and they would not put some of the money back into my account to keep from getting an overdraft. To me the back stoled money from me to get my credit card up to date making there books look good. By the end of the month my credit card would have been up to date. Again this was unauthorized by me and the credit union took my money. Now I had to ask friends and family to give me money to cover this. How can a financial institutions just move money around from account to account? It looked like this person put a lock on my account too because I went to desposit and the teller had to call someone to let me put money into my account.

Desired Settlement: At lest an apology for not putting some of the money back. The person reprimanded for stealing my money and taking over my account and telling me how my money is going to be used.

Business Response:

I had a conversation with the member today regarding the case ID above and did apologize for the collection activities in this situation.  He understands that the steps we took were legal, but given his circumstances it would probably have been better to work with him a little more while he looks to improve his situation.   I suggested going forward, that while he may not know exactly how much he can pay, that giving us a date and approximate amount of a payment, and keeping that promise, is always better than not answering phone calls and being vague on account payments.  Additionally, because this situation created an overdraft in an account at another financial institution checking account he maintains, I would refund that overdraft fee to his Landmark account upon verification of the amount.  He should be emailing me the needed documentation shortly. 

 

Based on our conversation, I would consider this matter closed.  The member has my email address and direct phone number should he have other concerns going forward.

11/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the Spring of 2014 I discovered that Landmark failed to close my auto loan with them in April 2011 when my car was sold. I brought this to their attention and my account was updated with the credit bureaus, resulting in an increase in my credit score. In August I discovered that my payment history was being reported differently to Experian and Equifax, including an inaccurate 90 day late which has since been removed.

Desired Settlement: Since Landmark has inaccurately been reporting my payment history for years, I am asking for my payment history to no longer be reported to the credit bureaus effective immediately.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the complaint of our member and can assure you that Landmark Credit Union does not report loans that have been paid off to any of the credit bureaus after the month in which they are paid in full.  What should happen, is the month a loan is paid in full, a code is added to the data file sent to the bureaus indicating the loan is now closed.  That code tells the bureaus to status the loan as closed/paid in full.  Once a loan is paid in full on our systems, no further reporting to the bureaus is completed. 

 

If the bureau does not read the code correctly, the loan will be left in the state it was last reported.  Therefore, without seeing the members credit file, I would guess the loan showed a zero balance with a last reporting date of April or May of 2011.  Since after the date the loan was paid in full the loan no longer appears in the reporting files we send, it is never updated beyond its last status. 

 

Regarding the different payment history’s at the different bureaus, I can only speak to what Landmark reports.  We send the exact same reporting file to all three reporting agencies on the 1st or 2nd of every month.  The bureau’s themselves would have to speak to how errors appear in individual credit files which are inconsistent with the data that was provided to them.

 

Given that the members’ loan is paid and in fact, the history no longer resides in our online systems, there is no way for Landmark to update her credit files going forward.  Additionally, since the requested credit files have been corrected, we will consider the matter closed unless informed otherwise.

Business Response: Dear Ms. ******:

 

The WI Dept of
Financial Institutions has forwarded your complaint to our attention.  As my previous correspondence has indicated,
your loan information is no longer in our ‘online reporting systems’ but
still does exist in our archive.   We
can, and have, verified the loan payment history.  You should have in your possession copies of
all statements showing your loan payments and a letter from our Collections
Dept. detailing when loan payments were due and when they were applied to your
loan.  I cannot speak to why your loan was
never status’d as closed because the credit reporting files sent to the credit
bureaus from 2011 no longer exist. 
However, if you look at the Last Reporting Date on the original credit
report you refer to, that date should be either the month the loan was paid in
full or the month after.  If that is the
case, Landmark was no longer reporting your payment history to the credit
bureaus after the loan was paid.  It’s
just that for some reason the balance did not reflect zero. 

 

When you contacted the
credit bureau about your loan not showing with a zero balance, they passed on a
request to LCU’s Collections Dept that you were disputing the information on
your credit file.  The Collections Dept
researched the loan and updated it as instructed.  This includes everything related to the
credit report, i.e. the payment history, balance and Closed/Open status.  Again, at this point I cannot speak to why
the Open/Closed status was incorrect or why the payment history wasn’t properly
reflected.  However, as the documentation
we’ve sent you indicate, what was updated on your credit file, at your request,
is accurate.  I have also included all
documentation in this response with copies to the Wisconsin Dept of Financial
Institutions. 

 

It is my
understanding that the current payment history shown on your credit file is
reflective of the payment history detail sent to you last month.  If that is not the case, it would be our
error and we would correct it immediately. 
Additionally, the change you requested can only be made through a single
system, eOscar, which updates information on all three credit bureaus.  As I have mentioned in previous correspondence
when you questioned why different information was reflected in different
bureaus, any differences in what the three bureaus are showing would have to
come from them as we only enter it in eOscar once. 

 

You have asked that
the inaccurate payment history be removed from your file, but as you have
stated we are obligated to report credit histories accurately.  Once the information on the credit file was
disputed, two errors were found (the balance not reflecting zero and the
payment history) and both were corrected. 
If you have information which shows that the loan payment history we
have documented is incorrect, please let me know and I will have the credit
file updated promptly. 

 

Sincerely,

        ****** ** ******** ********* **** *********

 

 

**** 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below...

The Fair Credit Reporting Act promotes the accuracy, fairness, and privacy of information in the files of consumer reporting agencies (CRAs). To ensure compliance, the agency pursues an aggressive enforcement program aimed at the main players in the credit reporting system – CRAs, those who send them information, and consumer report users. In recent years, the FTC has sued the three nationwide CRAs – Equifax, Experian, and Trans Union – obtaining nearly $3 million in civil penalties. The FTC also sued a major consumer data broker, Choice Point, Inc., and made them pay $15 million in penalties and consumer refunds for not screening prospective subscribers before selling them sensitive consumer information. The FTC also charged companies with furnishing inaccurate information to CRAs.

For willful noncompliance with FCRA, a consumer may recover the greater of either actual damages or a statutory maximum of $2,500, plus possible punitive damages, as well as reasonable attorney's fees and costs. Under 617 of the Act, recovery for a violation of actual damages, plus attorney's fees. Under 618, a consumer may file a civil lawsuit in state or federal court to enforce compliance and the statute of limitations is five years from the date of discovery.

 

Landmark Credit Union Violations

 

1)      Failing to report my auto loan as closed in a timely manner.  For almost 3 years my closed and paid off loan was being reported as open and 30 days late, thus resulting in a major score deduction. 

 

2)      Reporting inaccurate payment information to the credit bureaus for years, as acknowledged in your previous BBB correspondence.

 

3)      Verifying inaccurate 90 day late payments with the credit bureaus in August/September of 2014 during a time that by your own admission, you no longer had my payment history in your files.

 

If you do not want to remove my inaccurate late payment history that is up to you.  Please be advised however, that I will be pursuing reimbursement for your violations as you have caused great harm to me financially.  Your poor business practices have also been reported to the State Attorney General’s Office, and the CFPB.  Consumers should not be punished for Landmark Credit Union's mistakes.

 

Regards,

******* ******

 

 

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August of 2014 we purchased new Snowmobiles and were required to provide proof of insurance in order to acquire the loan. The proof of insurance was provided and that has been verified by the loan officer were the snowmobiles were purchased. Since then, I have received a letter stating that proof of insurance was not provided and needs to be provided. If I had to provide the proof of insurance to get the loan in the first place, how did I not provide proof of insurance. My insurance agent and the dealer where I bought the machines from have both provided Landmark with the proof of insurance again and they still are not showing me as having provided them with the insurance information. This happens every few months with Landmark and they have even gone as far as forcing coverage to my loans when I have had current insurance. I can provide a stack of these letters and proof that I have been covered

Desired Settlement: Landmark seriously needs to examine their insurance reporting policy. I've heard from several people that this is not an isolated event and most insurance agents will attest to Landmark as being the worst at recording current insurance information. They need to prove to me that they have received my proof of insurance and show the correct dates are in their system. I plan on filing a BBB complaint everytime I receive another letter going forward.

Business Response:

In reply to your letter dated 10/23/14 for ******* *****, complaint #********, I did respond to Mr. ***** on 10/15/14 and copied ********************** in my email.  Mr. ***** did respond and had one further question, and the response is below.  Please let me know if you need any additional information.

 

 

*** ****

****** **** **************** *******

 

******** ****** ***** **** ** ********* ***** **** *** ****** *** ******* **  ***** ****************** ************* ****** ************* *** **** * ******

 

You're worth more here.

 

Hi ****,

 

I received a response from our 3rd party insurance carrier. Here it is….

 

Hello, 

I am showing insurance is with ** **** and this is considered a continuous carrier, therefore no more letters will go out unless the insurance is cancelled or coverages are dropped. I am currently not seeing any expiration date on the policy on our system.

 

*** ****

****** **** **************** *******

 

******** ****** ***** **** ** ********* ***** **** *** ****** *** ******* **  ***** ****************** ************* ****** ************* *** **** * ******  

You're worth more here.

 

Mr. ****,

 

I appreciate the response.  From what I can see, you only show my

insurance being good through 11/23/2014.  I paid my policy in full for

the entire year.  I can bet you anything i will receive another one of

your letters next month stating that I am not covered.  PLease correct

the error on your end to reflect the one year policy.  Should be

effective through 8/2015.

 

From: ****, ****** 
Sent: Wednesday, October 15, 2014 12:37 PM
To: '***********************
Cc: ********* **** ************************
Subject: secure: ***** BBB 
Importance: High

 

Good afternoon ****,

 

Please find attached Landmark’s response to your customer concern #******** filed with the Better Business Bureau.

 

 

*** ****

****** **** **************** *******

 

******** ****** ***** **** ** ********* ***** **** *** ****** *** ******* **  ***** ****************** ************* ****** ************* *** **** * ******

 

You're worth more here.

 

 

 

Confidentiality Note: This e-mail message and any attachments to it are intended only for the named recipients and may contain confidential information. If you are not one of the intended recipients, please do not duplicate or forward this e-mail message and delete it from your computer immediately.

5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Landmark Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart