Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kohler Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 528-2595 850 Woodlake Rd, Kohler, WI 53044 http://www.kohlercu.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a credit union offering lending and financial services for Ozaukee, Sheboygan, Calumet, Manitowoc, Fond du Lac, and Washington counties.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kohler Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kohler Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Kohler Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 20, 2005 Business started: 04/01/1938 in WI Business started locally: 04/01/1938 Business incorporated 06/22/1938 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke Street, Alexandria VA 22314-3428
http://www.ncua.gov
Fax Number: 703-518-6409

Type of Entity

Cooperative Association

Business Management
Mr. Anthony Klockow , President Ms. Laura Gabriels, Vice President of Communications
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Laura Gabriels, Vice President of Communications
Principal: Mr. Anthony Klockow , President
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Loans - Small Business Real Estate Loans Financial Services Credit Cards & Plans Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)

Industry Tips
Advanced Fee Loans Avoiding Fraudulent Tax Preparation Counterfeit Currency Credit Card Accountability, Responsibility and Disclosure (CARD) Act Credit Card Solicitation Credit Cards and Charitable Causes Credit Report-Understanding Your Credit Report Credit-Budgeting Made Easy

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kohler Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2303 Eastern Ave

    Plymouth, WI 53073

  • 2550 Washington St

    Grafton, WI 53024

  • 724 Madison Ave

    Howards Grove, WI 53083

  • 831 S Taylor Dr

    Sheboygan, WI 53081

  • 840 E Green Bay Ave

    Saukville, WI 53080

  • 850 Woodlake Rd

    Kohler, WI 53044 (888) 528-2595

  • 905 S Taylor Dr

    Sheboygan, WI 53081

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/29/15 I attempted to withdraw $200 from the Kohler Credit Union ATM machine at *** ****** *** ******* **********) in Sheboygan. I entered my PIN, pushed the buttons to withdraw the $200, it appeared that the transaction was going through, but no money appeared in the cash drawer of the machine. My checking account (through ********* ****** ***** ** ******) was debited $200. On 7/30/15 I did go into the Plymouth branch of Kohler CU and complete an ATM dispute form. The woman was very nice and helpful, but she could not tell me when I would get my money or what would happen next (not her fault, it didn't seem like anyone there knew what the process is). Nowhere on the ATM dispute form does it give a blank for my contact information. When I suggested that she write down my cell phone number so someone could contact me and tell me what was happening, she wrote it on a separate sheet of paper.

Desired Settlement: I would like a return of the $200 that the ATM debited from my checking account but did not give to me.

Business Response:

Since this was a non-member utilizing our ATM, ******* would have needed to go to her own financial institution to file the dispute (not Kohler Credit Union).  ******* originally contacted us through our website and explained her situation via sending us an email.  One of our service call center representatives instructed ******* incorrectly by directing her to go to one of our branches to fill out an ATM dispute.  ******* than came to the Plymouth branch and was assisted by our newest team member.  ******* explained to the teller that she was told by phone services to come in and fill out an ATM dispute, so ******* gave her the form.  When ******* asked when she would get her money back, the teller answered they didn’t know.  After receiving the complaint from the BBB, the branch manager at Plymouth contacted ******* on August 6th at approximately 2:30 p.m.  She asked her to explain what happened.  The branch manager then explained to ******* that she had been misinformed of the correct procedure and apologized.  The branch manager explained to ******* that she would need to work with her credit union to file the dispute and explained why it needs to be handled that way.  The branch manager asked ******* if this situation caused her any financial distress, to which she replied it did not.  The branch manager asked ******* what she could do for her to help make the situation better.  ******* then had several more questions that were answered by the branch manager, but was directed to call her credit union for the questions that were directly related to their specific procedures.

 

We have made the call center manager aware of the situation so she can do the appropriate training with her team.  The branch manager has also spoken with the teller that was at Plymouth that day and have done some coaching/training with her. 

 

******* was satisfied with our response and the branch manager gave ******* her direct contact information in case she had further concerns.

 

 

If you need more information, please let me know.

Thanks,

*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ******

I am working with my credit union to resolve this, but have been told by my credit union that Kohler Credit Union is passing the buck (literally) on this one.  Kohler Credit Union's ATM malfunctioned- they should be accountable for this.  How does my bank have any proof that their machine never gave me my money?  Kohler CU has my card information, surely credit unions can talk to credit unions and resolve this.  ********* ****** ***** is asking me what steps I have taken to resolve this problem with Kohler Credit Union and wants documentation of everything.  I don't understand why Kohler Credit Union did not balance their ATM and when they were $200 over, give me my money back.  The whole situation is very confusing to me.  I just want my money back.

Business Response:

We have reviewed the above referenced complaint that has been forwarded to BBB. We have contacted Ms. ****** and discussed the situation further. As a result, we fully understand her concerns and have identified internal processed and procedures we need to strengthen due to her situation.

 

We have apologized for the ATM error as well as, and more importantly, for our lapse in service that intensified this situation. We have made arrangements to provide her with the full $200 refund. She seemed appreciative of our call and apology.

5/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kohler Credit Union charged me an overdraft fee on a charge that was made on my account when there was money in there. I saw my account was low on Monday and I knew there would be a charge going through on Tuesday, so I went to the bank Monday night deposited money into the account so when the charge went through there would be money to cover it. However, today when I looked at my account there was an overdraft fee and my account wasn't even negative. I have a screen shot showing the amount issues.

Desired Settlement: I want them to refund the $30 they are charged me . This bank has horrible customer service and when I call to ask questions, they are rude and not helpful. I discussed other issues with them over the phone, and the refuse to help me. I have a loan with them that I have automatically deducted from my account and they won't give me time to discuss the options for lowering the interest rate.

Business Response:

Response to BBB compliant

Complaint submitted:    04/22/2014      9:55 am

Compliant ID:               ********

Complainant:                ***** ******

We pride ourselves in listening to our member’s needs and individual situations. Each member interaction is unique and we allow flexibility in trying to customize solutions based on a member’s circumstances. We also stress to our members the importance of financial management and their responsibility in monitoring their day to day account transactions.

In response to *****’s statement of problem:

On 4/21/2014 @ 12:06 pm - ***** spoke with one of our service representatives and requested to have an overdraft fee reversed.  After listening to *****’s explanation and reviewing her account, the representative denied the request because ***** did authorize the debit card transaction that caused the overdraft.  However, the representative explained that we could most definitely review the request again if she could provide documentation from U-Haul that they made an error by debiting her account. ***** was also provided with information on ways to modify her account to help avoid/reduce future overdraft fees.  She was also unhappy because of having to travel a distance to the closest branch location to make a deposit. Again, the representative provided ***** with options…including the suggestion to view our website to locate an ATM in her area that accepts deposits.

4/22/2014 @ 11:25 pm - ***** emailed her complaint to Kohler Credit Union explaining her frustration and request to have $60.00 in fees refunded.

4/23/2014 @ 3:12 pm - ***** ******, ******** ****** *******, was notified of the complaint and attempted to contact *****. A message was left asking for a call back.

4/24/2014 @ 2:48 pm – ***** ****** left another message for ***** to contact her regarding the complaint.

04/24/2014 @ 3:05 PM – ***** contacted ***** ******. She expressed her frustrations with having her fee refund request denied and the distance she needs to travel to make a deposit.  ***** listened, offered suggestions on account management and provided a solution that made ***** very happy.  A partial fee reversal was approved. 

Respectfully submitted,

********* ******

******** ****** ******

Kohler Credit Union

************ 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Kohler Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart