This business is not BBB accredited.

Guardian Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (414) 546-7450 Fax: (414) 546-7444 View Additional Phone Numbers 4501 W Greenfield Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53214 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This firm states that they are a credit union offering financial services, including membership, checking, savings, CDs, HSAs, loans, and investment services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Guardian Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 29, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1934 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1934 Business incorporated 12/27/1988 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke Street, Alexandria VA 22314-3428
Fax Number: 703-518-6409

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
450 Fifth Street, NW, Washington DC 20549
Fax Number: 202-942-9634

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions
345 W. Washington Ave. 4th Floor, Madison WI 53703
Phone Number: (608) 266-1064

Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System
Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions, 345 W. Washington Avenue, 4th Floor, Madison WI 53703
Phone Number: 608-261-7578

Type of Entity

Service Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Wesson, President Ms. Heidi Bontempo, Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Heidi Bontempo, Marketing Manager
Principal: Mr. Steve Wesson, President
Business Category

Credit Unions Investment Advisory Service Investment Securities Loans Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Mortgage Brokers Financial Services Investment Management Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)

Alternate Business Names
GCCU Service Corporation
Industry Tips
Advanced Fee Loans Avoiding Fraudulent Tax Preparation Counterfeit Currency Credit Card Accountability, Responsibility and Disclosure (CARD) Act Credit-Budgeting Made Easy

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Guardian Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    1025 Milwaukee Ave

    S Milwaukee, WI 53172


    11220 W Oklahoma Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53227


    1501 E Sunset Dr

    Waukesha, WI 53189


    4501 W Greenfield Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53214 (414) 546-7450 (414) 856-9323 (800) 264-5578


    7801 S Howell Ave

    Oak Creek, WI 53154


    PO Box 270124

    West Allis, WI 53227


    W186n9559 Bancroft Dr

    Menomonee Fls, WI 53051


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Better Business Bureau representative,My complaint is in regards to Guardian Credit Unit, specifically the one in *** *****, since it is the one Im familiar with, but I have a feeling that their overdraft charge practices go behind this location. Here are the specifics of my situation:On April 9th 2015 I had a balance of $361.32I made the following purchases (verified by the credit union employee) on April 11th:***************************Total 365.36Unfortunately, I exceeded my balance by $4.04 To my surprise 2 days later, I found my balance to be negative $179.04. Guardian had charged me $175.00 overdraft penalty one for every transaction made that day. Shocked I ventured to think that the company had made a mistake and all I needed to do was to talk to someone at the credit union in question. I presented my problem to one of their representatives at the bank. While cordial, the gentleman insisted that the bank was at right to charge me these fees, because the transactions did not materialize until later. Than why was my account negative from the beginning? What was most disappointing was the fact that the gentleman did not even once, question the banks practice. He didn't talk to a coworker or a manager in duty, neither did he directed me to someone else in the company, letting me feel useless and defeated.The companys logic for entering overdraft fees is faulty and should be modified.Regards,****** *********

Desired Settlement: I would like my account to be refunded for the overdraft charges on it. Also, the company needs to modify their program for adding overdraft charges. Their online banking is inferior to other online banks, who display charges on hold within minutes that a transaction has occurred. Balance available in this case, is not very reliable.

Business Response:


May 13, 2015



****** ******** ****** ***** * ********** *** **** ***** **  *****


RE: ****** *********


To Whom It May Concern;


Guardian Credit Union charged 5 overdraft fees to Ms. *********’s account on 4/13/2015, totaling $175. The fees were charged for transactions that did not have available funds in the account at the time they cleared. When a transaction is authorized at the time of purchase the funds are placed on hold for 5 days. If the transaction is not processed by the merchant within those 5 days the hold will be released, making the funds available again.  When the first transaction was processed on 4/13/15 the available balance was -$4.04, causing the first fee to be charged. Each transaction after the first, continued to bring the balance more overdrawn, which is what caused the additional fees.


We have taken care of refunding the $175 in fees to Ms. *********’s account.  I would like to encourage Ms. ********* to contact me if she has any further questions regarding her account at Guardian Credit Union.





Colleen O******

AVP Member Service

###-###-#### X****

Guardian Credit Union

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 



****** *********




3/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took out loan with Guardain CU and they offered insurance for unemployment to pay loan. Insurance was issued by ********* ****. After a year they delayed, denied and basically they are more than willing to charge for the prodc but, don't dsare try to use it.

Desired Settlement: I have supplied documents, proof of unemployment on 5-6 occasions including going to the bank for an appointment, that they broke at ********* ***** ******. Now Guardain has washed their hands of it and I get to deal with ********* ****, which I send the required documents and they say never recieve them. Enough is enough, enclose please see unemployment. for the time period.As soon as this is resolved I will closed my accounts with Guardian, and file claims with state insurance boards for cunsomer abuse. I get paid $40 an hour, in good faith i paid for there insurance each month, as soon as I try to use thier is no mechinisnm to filed a claim. I have 5 plus hours inviovled with this and no closer for a resoltion, why am i chasing down mangers, insurnace companies, to0 file a claim? Every time I send infomation to *********, i get no confirmation, just a nother letter asking for more.

Business Response: We were contacted by **** on 2/15 and provided him with the Insurance Company information and our ** ** ******* contact information. **** contacted our ** ** *******, **** ****** on 2/17 by email and **** responded the same day, explaining we have never had an issue regarding a claim like this before, as making a claim should be as easy as talking with the insurance company. **** contacted the Insurance company directly for ****, and after conversations with ** **** *********, provided him with a direct contact for a Case Examiner and *** **** ****** of Debt Protection Claims on 2/23.

8/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In early May, I contacted my bank and paid an amount they specified to qualify to have PMI removed from my home mortgage. I was told my payment in June would be for an amount that did not include PMI. PMI was deducted in June. I called again after my June payment and was told it would be removed for July. I was again charged PMI in July. I wanted credit for both June and July PMI.

Desired Settlement: I wanted credit for both June and July PMI.

Business Response:

Our Mortgage Department recently took care of this matter. His last PMI payment was in May. He was not charged PMI for June or July, the member never changed his auto pay. So, we were pulling his old amount. This has been fixed and he was happy the last time we spoke with him.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I did receive a call back from Guardian Credit Union after filing this complaint and my issue was resolved. 



**** *******




7/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I shopped at ****** during the data breach and felt my debit card was compromised and requested they cancel my debit card. The teller reduces he said they were monitoring suspicious activity and that I shouldn't worry and that I should still use my old card until the new one arrived. January 31 and unknown party used my card at a **** **** and charged 457.00 which required me to fill out a police report for identity theft. I received my money and this is cleared up. I was recently married and have begun the process of changing my name. I went into the branch and provided the teller my marriage certificate. She preceded to have me fill out paperwork and I signed everything. Then I receive a phone call that at my convenience I can come and fill out a signature card and they will complete my name change on my account. Today june 27th I went into the branch to fill out the so called signature card. Then they tell me I need a new drivers license to complete my name change even though I presented them with legal court documents to prove my identity.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to spend more time educating their tellers better so they have the knowledge so that people don't have to come into the branch to do the same thing multiple times to complete one task.

Business Response:

Hello ****,

We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced at our organization. We are currently looking into the issues you reported, and we will contact you to obtain further information so that we can work to improve our services. Thank you for your valuable feedback as it assists us in making the kinds of changes that allow us to create a better place for our members.  Thank you for your patience as we investigate this matter, and we hope that we can earn your decision to remain a member.


Guardian Credit Union

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Guardian Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart