Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Blackhawk Community Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 779-5555 Fax: (608) 755-6119 View Additional Phone Numbers 2640 W Court St, Janesville, WI 53548 http://www.bhccu.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a full-service credit union offering credit cards, loans, financial services and retirement planning.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blackhawk Community Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Blackhawk Community Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Blackhawk Community Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 20, 2000 Business started: 06/18/1965 in WI Business started locally: 06/18/1965
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions
345 W. Washington Ave. 4th Floor, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 266-1064
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

SECURITIES EXCHANGE COMMISSION
450 5TH ST NW, WASHINGTON DC 20549
http://www.sec.gov/invkhome.htm
Phone Number: (202) 942-7040

Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster Street, Madison WI 53703
http://oci.wi.gov/oci_home.htm
Phone Number: 6082663585 8002368517
Fax Number: (608) 266-9935

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Sherri Stumpf, CEO Ms. Tammy Krebs, Director of Member Services
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sherri Stumpf, CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions Financial Planning Consultants Loans Loans - Small Business Real Estate Loans Retirement Planning Service Financial Services Credit Cards & Plans Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)

Industry Tips
Advanced Fee Loans Avoiding Fraudulent Tax Preparation Counterfeit Currency Credit Card Accountability, Responsibility and Disclosure (CARD) Act Credit Card Issuers Credit Card Solicitation Credit Cards and Charitable Causes Credit Report-Understanding Your Credit Report Credit-Budgeting Made Easy

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Blackhawk Community Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1116 E Geneva St

    Delavan, WI 53115 (262) 728-8686

  • 1525 Us HWY 51-138

    Stoughton, WI 53589 (800) 779-5555

  • 2640 W Court St

    Janesville, WI 53548 (608) 755-6065

  • 2704 E Milwaukee St

    Janesville, WI 53545

  • 3012 Deerfield Dr

    Janesville, WI 53546

  • 500 Public Ave Ste 101

    Beloit, WI 53511 (608) 473-0981

  • 617 N Main St

    Edgerton, WI 53534 (608) 884-3351

  • PO Box 5366

    Janesville, WI 53547

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a line of credit with Blackhawk that I had to default on due to losing my job in 2011. The case went to civil court and Blackhawk won; however, I did not receive a notification about the court date until a week after. As a result, was unable to defend myself at that time. The debt was then sold to, from my understanding, to The Stark Collection Agency. Now that I have proper employment, I have been making payments to repay the debt that I defaulted on. The only issue is, this still shows up as a written off debt on my credit report, a civil dispute, and then a third time as a collection from Blackhawk. This is greatly impacting my credit score and I would like to have one or multiple items removed, and would like Blackhawk to work in conjunction with me to do so. I called one customer service line and was treated poorly. So, I am reaching to the BBB to act as a mediator.

Desired Settlement: I would like the Blackhawk items removed from my credit report since it shows up as a civil claim and they sold the debt off. If they are still claiming the debt, I would like the debt to be moved into good standing since I am making on time payments and have a payment agreement with Stark Collection Agency. I would like the civil case between myself and Blackhawk removed if Stark now owns the debt. If they purchased my debt, that means my debt is paid in full and I am only beholden to them. If my assumptions are correct, the civil suit and Blackhawk's claims should be transferred into their name. This would move the 3 negative impact statements I am currently dealing with into one, which would improve my score.

Business Response:

We do not sell our debt to a collection agency (The Stark Agency).  We use a third party vendor to assist in collecting the debt.   This member has not talked with anyone at the credit union, so I'm assuming that the person he is referring to is with the collection agency.  

We have checked the information that is being reported to the credit bureaus and it is accurate based on the actions taken with this account.  We believe in accurate reporting to the collection agencies based on the guidelines set up for reporting.  Once the debt is paid in full, it will be updated with the credit bureau.  

The three actions reported on his credit report are correct.  Report indicates charged off debt - we charged off the debt as required by our regulators and have referred the collection to the Stark Agency.  The civil action - happens when the delinquency is over 90 days past due.  The delinquency - is reported for the period of time that the debt was unpaid at Blackhawk.  

We can see that he has made three payments so far to the Stark Agency.  When the debt is paid, the credit report will reflect that it has been paid in full.  It is up to the credit bureau to make the correction to the report.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have been making payments on this account since October of last year. (Please See the Attached Document) I can provide bank statements if you like. I did call Blackhawk customer service. I may have spoken to someone who was not knowledgeable of how matters such as this work.

I am disagreeing with this because I would like to know what actions can currently be taken to show that I am making a good faith effort to repay the debt. I would like my credit report to reflect that and I do not feel it is a over the top request.

As soon as I was in a financial position to repay the debt, I contacted Stark and began to do so. As a result of me contacting them and agreeing to pay $200 a month toward the debt, they suspended the accruing interest. This payment amount is higher than my original payment amount I had with Blackhawk itself.

To be frank, I could have just as well let the debt sit and waited until it dropped of my credit report in 2018 and not made the effort to repay the principal amount (3,500 ish) and the interest and fees (2,000 ish). When I initially spoke with Stark Agency and they told me I could settle the debt for roughly 70 cents on the dollar. This would have on covered the principal amount borrowed, but I did not feel that was fair to Blackhawk. Out of the $200 I pay a month, roughly 30% of that is going toward accrued interest and court costs. I am taking fully responsibility for this issue rather than taking the cheap way out.

If there is anything that can be done, even if it is a note made by Blackhawk on my reports stating that if they want the standing of the debt to contact Stark Collection and as of (insert date) the debt is being repayed, that would be acceptable. Otherwise, I have to request that Blackhawk mitigate the damage being done to my credit report by removing one or more of the claims because I am repaying the debt and have a, now credible history, of repaying the debt.

For the record, I am by no means saying Blackhawk is a bad credit union. They were good to me while I was a customer there. However, this is a matter of my long term borrowing stability.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response:

Hi *******,

Thank you for contacting me regarding this matter.  I appreciate knowing more about your circumstances and appreciate what you're trying to do.  So here is what we will do for you.

We will remove the tradeline from Blackhawk and also the collection entry from Stark.  The judgment (Public Record) must remain on there until paid in full.  (Court requirement)   The county has control over this entry and there is nothing we can do to note a comment or anything.   Once we get the satisfaction, that will be recorded through the county.

Please allow up to 30 days for the change to be made to your credit bureau.  Although we submit this electronically, sometimes it takes time on their end to make the correction.  

If you have any further problems or concerns, please feel free to call me at ###-###-####.

****** ******, CEO

Consumer Response:

******,

Thank you very much. I do appreciate what you doing that for me. Any mitigating actions are always helpful. 

Blackhawk is a great bank, and I hope that anyone who reads this complaint does not think otherwise as a result of circumstances beyond my or your control. 

My parents and girl friend have mortgages and equity loans through you and have had nothing but compliments.

 


Regards,

******* *****


1/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
10/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to prison for beating a man up for puting his hands on a woman i got 2 1/2 years for this in the proses some one stole my info and ran up a bill of 178 dollers with bank fees it was like 200 dollers. They told me that I couldn't dispute the fees and acount issue because it had been so long. I then gave them 80 dollers towards the account negative. And sighned a contract that i would pay 20 dollers outa each check, i called the bank and they told me the contract was changed to 50 dollers without my knowledge

Desired Settlement: For my 80 dollers to be out in to my checking account and it to be 80 dollers in the positive not negative what ever it is negative

Business Response: Hi *******,
Fees are charged when we pay a check or withdrawal for you without having funds available in your account.  Based on your explanation, I have decided that this time to waive the 7 Non-Sufficient Fund fees for a total of $196.00.  This amount has been added back to your account and you now have a positive balance.  If the account should go negative in the future, these fees will not be waived.  

If someone stole your checks or has account to your account, you should probably change your account number.  And you should have filed a police report so the matter can be investigated.  

Thank you for banking with us!  ****** ******  

11/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/24/2013 I was charged 6 Over draft fees, even though my account never went negative and that shows on my statement. because of the over draft fees my account did go negative ONE time over a matter of a few cents. I spoke initially with the receptionist who was VERY rude about it. I then asked for a manager. The first manager I spoke with was nice and said all she could do was refund half of them. So I was refunded $90...but still charged another $90 for items that never actually over drafted. Later that day my husband called an spoke with another manager who was extremely rude and said the first manager shouldn't have even helped us like she did. I have my statement that shows my account never went negative until they had charged me 6 fees and it went negative once over a matter of cents. I have banked with them a long time and have never had any issues with my account going negative or paid any overdraft fees. I feel that we were treated very poorly and I do not understand how they can charge me for something that never happened.

Desired Settlement: I want the overdraft fees returned to my account. I think the staff needs to brush up on customer service policies and to remember that there are alot of banks I could go with, but I chose them. they should appreciate me as a customer.

Business Response:

October 21, 2013

****** *****
*** * ******* ***
********** * **  *****
E-mail: ******************

Dear ******,

Thank you for contacting us regarding your account.  This letter is being sent as a follow up to the phone call we had with you on October 21, 2013. 

Our records indicate that you elected to participate in the Overdraft Protection offered by the credit union.  This participation means that when you use your debit card without funds available, we will continue to process your payment so you are not declined.  This activity results in a $30 fee each time you use this service.   When you use the card at the point of sale by signing your name, it can take up to three days for it to show up on your account.  If you use your card and enter a PIN number, these transactions show up immediately on your account.   

The copy of the transactions that you submitted with your complaint shows a balance without your signature transactions posted yet.  Since these are transactions that we allowed to clear without the funds available, you were charged the fee each time an amount exceeded your “available balance”.   You can view these pending transactions through your Home Banking online access.

It is critical that you keep an accounting of your transactions.  You can see from this situation that is it easy to have a situation become out of control when you have PIN, signature, auto pay and debit transactions all coming out of your account. 

As a valued member, we have refunded all of the overdraft fees related to this incident and you have our sincerest apology for any inconvenience this may have caused you.  In the future, if you should encounter any other problems, please feel free to call me directly at ###-###-####.

Best regards,

****** ******

***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Blackhawk Community Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart