BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

This Business is not BBB accredited

Altra Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (608) 787-4500 Fax: (608) 787-7160 2715 Losey Blvd S, La Crosse, WI 54601 http://www.altra.org

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers financial services that consist of lending and saving products.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Altra Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Altra Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 13, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1931 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1931 Business incorporated: 10/20/1931 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

United States Government Department of Commerce: International Trade Administration
1235 N. Milwaukee St., Rosenberg Hall Suite R-01, Milwaukee WI 53202
http://www.trade.gov
Phone Number: (414) 297-3473
Fax Number: (414) 297-3470
paul.churchill@mail.doc.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jack Peplinski, President/CEO Mr. Thomas Brock, Senior Vice President and Chief Admin. Officer Ms. Mary Isaacs, Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Peplinski, President/CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1404 S. Main St.

    Holmen, WI 54636 (608) 526-2300

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1807 E. Main St.

    Onalaska, WI 54650 (800) 755-0055

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2715 Losey Blvd S

    La Crosse, WI 54601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    28 Copeland Ave

    La Crosse, WI 54603

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    306 Main St.

    La Crescent, MN 55947

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 443

    La Crosse, WI 54602 (608) 787-4500

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They charged a 32.00 fee for non sufficient funds. 32.00 is about a weeks pay for cleaning their building I know this because I'm the custodian for it. Dont have enough money dont worry altra will be sure to give you a fee for that. Im cancelling my account but I need my money back first.

Desired Settlement: the money that was stolen.

Business Response: Thank you for your recent correspondence and inquiry regarding complaint ID ******** that was filed with your office on 6/2/2014.  In this particular case, I can confirm that Mr. ********* was, indeed, charged $32 for a non-sufficient funds (NSF) item as stated in the complaint.  The non-sufficient funds fee is incurred when an attempt is made to withdraw funds from an account where the debit request is in excess of the available balance.  The $32 NSF fee is consistent with a schedule of our fees disclosed to Mr. ********* in our Service Charges brochure.  While we make every attempt to work with our members and provide numerous options to avoid this fee, there are occasions where the fee will not be refunded due to repeated mismanagement of the account in this respect.  In this particular case, Altra had previously refunded Mr. ********* this fee no less than two times (on 5/3/2012 and 2/14/2014).  Our Contact Center Manager had also discussed the situation in great detail with Mr. ********* at the time of the last refund, on 2/14/2014, in an effort to assist him in avoiding the situation in the future.

4/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 4/1/13 i checked my balance it was $64.76-i deposited two checks from the ******** nation totalling $1830.10-which according to their nite drop box-would be deposited the next day-bringing my acct. to $1894.85-the checks were put on a 10 day hold w/o them notifying me about it until i made phone calls-they told me to access the money for bill paying-i'd have to contact the casino & have them fax proof of legitimacy-they gave me an incorrect fax # and i had to call them again to get the right one-it finally went through-yet in the meantime they had bounced 2 of my checks-1 for $35-which should have cleared regardless of the hold but they processed the other 1 1st-which was for $200-giving them the ability to charge me 2 nsf charges @ $32 each. Last month they allowed around $300 in nsf charges against by reprossing the same check over & over.

Desired Settlement: I want them to @ least to pay the $35 check written to xcel energy & charge me for 1 nsf @ most-i was not notified that checks were on hold until i informed them that i was going to contact you-as it was mailed out on 4/2/13. I also believe their nsf charges to be quite excessive as most bank/c.u. charge $20 per nsf like my other acct. with !st natl. bank in west salem & would like reimbursement for anything above that amount-i thought the c.u. would have more consideration for their members-but you can't serve both God & mammon.

Business Response:

Please see our response to the complaint ID #*******.  If you have any questions don’t hesitate to call!

 

cid:A1D8D200CBBF2B4488A2BD9A49778929@altra.org

****** ****** | **** *********, ********* ********

Altra Federal Credit Union

PH ###-###-#### | Fax *************************

 


April 15, 2013

******* * ******
*** * ***** ** *** *
******, WI *****

Dear ******* * ******;

Account Number: Better Business Bureau (BBB) Complaint

Dear Mr. ******;

This letter is in response to your complaint with the BBB on 4/8/2013.
On the night of 4/1/2013 two checks attempted to clear your account. You did not have available funds at that time so those two checks were NSF. Your deposit of $1 ,830.1 0 was received and posted on the 4/2/2013.
As a onetime courtesy, $64.00 in NSF charges was credited to your savings account. You had agreed to close your checking account so no other issues arise.
Altra's $32 per NSF charge is well in-line with the average amount being charged. Please refer to ********* *** for comparisons (*************************************************************** ****).
If you have any other concerns, please contact me directly at ###-###-####.

****** ******
**** *********, ********* ********
Altra Federal Credit Union
Cc: **** *********, ***/*********, Altra Federal Credit Union
**** ************, Better Business Bureau

8/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ALTRA FEDERAL CREDIT UNION closed a business account on July 30, 2012 and failed to immediately send me the funds that were available which were deposited into the business account on 7/28/2012. ALTRA FEDERAL CREDIT UNION without notifying me, moved the funds (which were mostly cash) to a personal savings account. I called ALTRA FEDERAL CREDIT UNION to request the funds be sent to me. I've not received the check to date 8/5/2012.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE MY FUNDS SENT TO ME ASAP TO THE ADDRESS ALTRA FEDERAL CREDIT UNION HAS ON FILE.

Business Response: Given the status of the account, the processing of the check withdrawal was delayed.  However, it was processed and sent on 8/6/12 via Certified mail.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards, ******* ********

 

 

 

 

8/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had called my bank to request my 2010 bank statements because they were no longer available as E-statements. I had signed up for E-statements originally to be conservative and I felt that it was a waste of money to be mailing out the statements if I did not need them. The statements are available online for 18 months but the statements I needed were older than 18 months. When I contacted the bank to see how I could get these statements, I was told that there would be a $5.00 per statement fee to get these records. My understanding of E-statements was that they are electronically available as needed so I never worried about printing them off until now when I needed them. The **** ********* (*****) was very friendly and was able to pull my statements and send them to me electronically. My issuue lies with the fact that they are charging me $60.00 to get these statements. In comparison, I singed up to get statements mailed to me again for $1.00 a month charged to my account. It just seem ridiculous that I was charged in essence for 60 months on mailed statements. I understand they probably need to be retrieved from archive and would have been willing to pay a smaller fee for the trouble.

Desired Settlement: I just felt this was an unfair fee to request and thought that it should be brought to the attention of the BBB. Thank you for your time.

Business Response: Dear Ms. *****,  Please find attached your response to the BBB  complaint.  If you have any further questions, please let me know.  ****** ****** *** ********* ********Operations Center(w) 608-787-4538 or 800-755-0055 x4538(c) 608-317-0274 

Consumer Response:

 

From: ***** ***** [**************************]
Sent: Tuesday, August 07, 2012 7:15 AM
To: Complaints
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB of Wisconsin 

I believe this to be a fair decision.   Thank you.  tter Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,

 

***** *****

 

 

 

4/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During a messy divorce my car payments on a loan serviced by the business fell behind. In January of 2011 a payment arrangement was agreed upon between Ms. ****** ****** and myself in which I would pay $300 above my normal monthly payment until the account was again current with the understanding that reestablishing a positive payment history would allow me to refinance the vehicle under my name alone since the divorce settlement awarded the vehicle to me. In February 2011, a repossession agent contacted me out of the blue asking when he could recover the vehicle. A panicked phone call to Ms. ****** resulted in her retracting the recovery order and the payment agreement to continue as planned. In March 2011, due to identity theft and fraudulent charges to my checking account, I was unable to make the agreed upon payment, at which time I contacted Ms. ****** and asked for some time to line up a new vehicle to which she responded that we would start the repayment plan the following month which would allow me to retain the vehicle. Ms. ****** stated that it would "look better" if I were able to make up the missed payment but that it was not necessary. Ms. ****** then proceeded to leave messages regarding paying the missed payment to which I responded that I would attempt to put together the money, but I could not commit to the additional payment. In August 2011, I received notice that the business was accelerating the debt and including the debt owed by my ex-husband in the amount as he did not make arrangements to pay his obligations. Phone calls to Ms. ****** were left unreturned. As per the agreement, Ms. ****** would set up an automatic withdrawal from my checking account for the agreed upon amount, she stopped doing this in July 2011, even though messages were left for her to continue the payments as planned. In November 2011, a repossession agent left a message to schedule recovery of the vehicle. (I returned his call and left a message, but recent discussions determined I had transposed numbers and left the message for someone else, I accept responsibility for that error). In February 2012, a lawyer calls to inform me that on Thursday, February 08, 2012 police officers will be at my place of employment to serve papers regarding my refusal to surrender the vehicle when in fact I have received no request from Altra Federal Credit Union to do so, and in fact have not had contact with them since the August 2011 letter regarding accelerating the debt excluding the one message from their repossession agent. My complaint isn't that I have to surrender my vehicle because my ex-husband failed to fulfill his financial obligations, but rather the methods and lack of record keeping used by Altra Federal Credit Union in dealing with the situation. Ms. ****** contacted me multiple times on information that should have been in the file from previous conversations, such as the missed March 2011 payment.

Business Response: Altra acknowledges that we did in fact initiate the repossession of a vehicle for this borrower in the spring of 2012.  However, we did so only after numerous unsuccessful attempts to contact the borrower and work out a repayment plan over an extended period of time. We initially met with the borrower in April 2010 to assess her financial situation.  At that time, this auto loan and several other loans with Altra were delinquent.  After that meeting, we made several attempts on at least a monthly basis to contact the borrower, but those calls were not answered or returned.  Additionally, the borrower did not make any additional payments to the auto loan during this period.   In August 2010, Altra sent a Notice of Default to the borrower.  We did not receive a response from the borrower until January 2011, when she contacted us and made some promises to make payments.  At this time, we stopped the repossession process.   However, the payments promised to be made in February - June 2011 were returned to us or cancelled so that not a single payment was successfully made to the loan.  We have tried repeatedly to contact the borrower, and left several messages, to discuss the situation.  No response was received from the borrower. In August 2011, we again sent a Notice of Default to the borrower.  We did not receive any contact from the borrower after the Notice was sent.  The vehicle was subsequently repossessed in March 2012.