Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Altra Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (608) 787-4500 Fax: (608) 787-7160 View Additional Phone Numbers 2715 Losey Blvd S, La Crosse, WI 54601 http://www.altra.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers financial services that consist of lending and saving products.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Altra Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Altra Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 13, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1931 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1931 Business incorporated 10/20/1931 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

United States Government Department of Commerce: International Trade Administration
1235 N. Milwaukee St., Rosenberg Hall Suite R-01, Milwaukee WI 53202
http://www.trade.gov
Phone Number: (414) 297-3473
Fax Number: (414) 297-3470
paul.churchill@mail.doc.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jack Peplinski, President/CEO Mr. Thomas Brock, Senior Vice President and Chief Admin. Officer Ms. Mary Isaacs, Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Peplinski, President/CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Altra Federal Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1404 S. Main St.

    Holmen, WI 54636 (608) 526-2300

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1700 Oak Forest Dr

    Onalaska, WI 54650

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1807 E. Main St.

    Onalaska, WI 54650 (800) 755-0055

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2715 Losey Blvd S

    La Crosse, WI 54601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    28 Copeland Ave

    La Crosse, WI 54603

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    306 Main St.

    La Crescent, MN 55947

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 443

    La Crosse, WI 54602 (608) 787-4500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: charges for an account overdrawn account Altra Federal Credit Union refuses to close an overdrawn account that were opened under my name, I spoke with a representative at the branch location requesting the account closed she stated she could not close the account until the balance were paid, I ask to speak with the branch manager. I spoke with (****) the Branch Manager on May 20 2016, regarding this account, ask if he could close the account so that I could pay the account off he stated he needed to speak with a person in the accounts department he would return my call, I did not receive a call from ****, on June 02, 2016 I placed another call to **** no answer, I left message for **** he returned the call to notify me there were nothing he could. I charged 32.00 dollars every seven days for an overdrawn account that I have requested close. The original charge were for a 35.00 check, now totaling more than $200.00 for Consecutive Days OD Fee. I feel this is a ripe off.

Desired Settlement: remove $200.00 in consecutive days od fees, and close account

Business Response:

This account was taken negative by a $35.00 item that tried to clear the account several times.  Because there were not sufficient funds in the account and the account remained that way, a continuous overdraft fee occurred because the account remained negative for a period greater than 7 days.  We received notification that the member’s intent was to close the checking account.   Subsequently, our Accounting department has refunded the fees in order to bring the account positive, transferred the positive balance to savings, and closed the checking account.

6/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They charged a 32.00 fee for non sufficient funds. 32.00 is about a weeks pay for cleaning their building I know this because I'm the custodian for it. Dont have enough money dont worry altra will be sure to give you a fee for that. Im cancelling my account but I need my money back first.

Desired Settlement: the money that was stolen.

Business Response: Thank you for your recent correspondence and inquiry regarding complaint ID ******** that was filed with your office on 6/2/2014.  In this particular case, I can confirm that Mr. ********* was, indeed, charged $32 for a non-sufficient funds (NSF) item as stated in the complaint.  The non-sufficient funds fee is incurred when an attempt is made to withdraw funds from an account where the debit request is in excess of the available balance.  The $32 NSF fee is consistent with a schedule of our fees disclosed to Mr. ********* in our Service Charges brochure.  While we make every attempt to work with our members and provide numerous options to avoid this fee, there are occasions where the fee will not be refunded due to repeated mismanagement of the account in this respect.  In this particular case, Altra had previously refunded Mr. ********* this fee no less than two times (on 5/3/2012 and 2/14/2014).  Our Contact Center Manager had also discussed the situation in great detail with Mr. ********* at the time of the last refund, on 2/14/2014, in an effort to assist him in avoiding the situation in the future.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Altra Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart