BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm offers commercial, residential, and agricultural concrete footings & foundation walls, concrete parking areas, retaining walls, waterproofing, flatwork, concrete pads, concrete driveways, patios, concrete overlays, pool decks, and more.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northern Concrete Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northern Concrete Construction, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Northern Concrete Construction, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 07, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1995 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated: 03/15/1996 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street, SW, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chad Kane, Vice President Mr. Mike Ausloos, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Mike Ausloos, Sales Manager
Principal: Mr. Chad Kane, Vice President
Business Category

Concrete Contractors Paving Contractors Foundation Contractors Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete Concrete - Stamped & Decorative All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Refund and Exchange Policy
Concrete is a unique construction material.  Every batch is a little different, and is affected by many things ranging from weather conditions to jobsite preparation.  It is our goal to satisfy every customer, and we stand behind the work that we do.

Additional Locations

  • 6601 County Road R

    Denmark, WI 54208 (920) 863-3043

  • PO Box 396

    Denmark, WI 54208

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March 2013 we were seeking to install new flooring in our basement. *** ******, designer at Northern Construction, met with us to discuss options. We advised him that we wanted a very smooth surface with with a uniform gray color. We said we wanted concrete tiling and showed him a sample of what we wanted. However, he told us we should with an italian skin stamped overlay instead. We received two other quotes that were significantly cheaper, but went with Northern because of their apparent expertise and advertised design skill. They floors they installed look nothing like we requested. The floor is extremely bumpy and textured. There are huge divots that look like heel prints from someone stepping through the concrete while it was wet. The appearance of the floor looks nothing like the stamp we were showed. I believe they either used the wrong stamp and/or had someone very inexperienced apply it. While they were laying the floor, I heard one gentlemen giving another younger man instructions on how to apply it. I believe that because we were a smaller job for them, we were used as a training experiment, and the poor results are evident. Also, we expressly stated that we wanted a relatively uniform gray color. When we were selecting the accent color, *** proposed a black color. I expressed concerns it was too dark. He told me the sample colors he was showing me were for an outdoor product, and assured me that the indoor product would not look that dark. WHy wouldn't he show me the product that they would actually be using? I felt very rushed to make a selection, and he seemed very annoyed to have to answer my questions about the process/colors. Contrary to his representations, the accent (release) color they used is black. It has pooled in all the large divots. The floor has the appearance of a leopard print - gray with large black circles/divots. Nothing like we ever discussed. Also, there are many sections where the texture is pitted and crumbly. We asked them about this issue, and they admitted that not enough release was applied to the stamp, causing the stamp to stick to the concrete. This not only altered the textured of these sections, but the sealant will not absorb into these sections, resulting in an uneven finish. We had them come over to look at the floors and discuss our concerns about the uneven finish, color and textured, and they told us that were not going to help us. We had a second contractor come in and give us an opinion, and they said that the texture was much heavier than typically used indoors, and that the finish was very uneven. We have e-mailed Northern about finding a product to fix the uneven finish, and they have failed to respond to our e-mails.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to install a new smooth gray overlay to cover the very bumpy and discolored stamped overlay they installed. Alternatively, I would like a refund of the $6300 we paid them for the defectively installed product they gave us which also looked nothing like we discussed and agreed on.

Business Response: I have left a message with Annie and e-mailed her for me to schedule a visit. After the visit, I will be better able to offer any type of recommendations. *** is not working here at this time. I am not aware of unanswered e-mails or calls. From this point forward I will be the contact. I have not been involved in this matter and I would like to see the work myself. ***************************** ###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a brand new home from ********* ***** of ***** *** in 2010. ********* ***** contracts with Northern Concrete to complete the foundation and flat-work. We moved in January 8th 2010. The Spring of 2010 we noticed the surface of our driveway had begun to flake off. Since then our side walk has started to exhibit the same surface defects. We have finally become so disgusted with the appearance, we called Northern Concrete. They promised to have a representative of the company come out. They missed the 1st appointment, and didn’t call until after we had waited around half of the morning. When they finally did come out, the proceeded to tell me it was road salt from our car tires that caused the damage. The problem I have with this poor excuse is this. Our sidewalks show the same defects, and no salt from our cars has been on them. Also, there are also numerous driveways/sidewalks in our neighborhood (not completed by Northern Concrete) which were completed many years prior to ours and look like new work. If salt was the sole reason for this deterioration, all of the driveways and sidewalks in your neighborhood would look as bad as ours does. This deterioration of the concrete surface, In my opinion, it’s probably due to poor installation techniques, poor curing, a bad concrete mix or a combination of all three.

Desired Settlement: I'd like Northern Concrete to repair or replace our driveway and sidewalks without incurring additional costs. . They were paid to provide a quality product once already. Our concrete is anything but. Concrete that is less that 5 years old shouldn't crumble and fall apart!

Business Response:

*****,

I apologize for the timing of our first visit regarding your driveway.  Our representative should have contacted you if he was not able to meet with you at the scheduled time.  While we don't have a "warranty" regarding concrete work, we do realize that we need to stand behind our work and take necessary steps in the event of a customer concern.  I have been with Northern for 12 years and can say that we take quality concerns seriously.  We take the necessary steps to pour problem free concrete; however at times things arise.  We don't always have the answer.  Concrete is a very unique product - the conditions vary from pour to pour with the weather, with the sub-base that it is being poured on and even the sand and aggregate used to produce cement.  I have a link included that outlines how to pour exterior concrete from the ********* ***** *** ***********.  These steps can be followed and unforseen problems can develop.

***********************************************

We take these steps on each and every pour.

Now to the heart of the matter.  We poured your concrete back in 2010.  We are willing to do a resurface on the areas in question.  This product is very good and has strong bonding agents.  I have attached the product information for your review.  Due to three years elaspsing from the initial pour, we will have a charge associated with this repair.  It would normally price out at $4,350.00.  We are offering to complete the repair for $1,950.00.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** *******

###-###-####

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Concrete scaling is a flaking or peeling of the finished surface. Left unrepaired, it will continue to deteriorate. Possible causes, according to the ******** ***** ***** ******** ***********, include: using concrete that lacks injected air bubbles to help it resist freezing and thawing stress; applying deicing salts; finishing concrete with water on the surface, which weakens the top layer; failing to cure it properly.

 

As no deicing salts were used, the finishing, or curing is left in question.  I paid 170,00 dollars for my home.   I certainly didn't expect the driveway to last less than 3 years.

 

The recommendation presented by Northern Concrete is to pay them $2000.00 to repair their inferior product.

There is no reason for me to expect the proper "repair" of my driveway when the initial work was sub-par.  The price of the concrete work was included in the purchase price of my home.  I don't feel I should have to pay for something I already paid for previously.

 

This resolution is unacceptable!

 

 

 

***** *****

 

Business Response:

I have been with Northern Concrete for 12 years.  During that time, it would be impossible to produce the amount of work that we produce and not have customer complaints.  We have a good track record of coming to a resolution with customers.  As **** knows, the concrete portion of his home has no warranty.  That doesn't necessarily mean that we don't look at each complaint and determine the best course of action.  The reason that we are standing by our initial offer is that if the driveway was having problems in 2010, why wait until 2013 to call with the issue?  When we do receive a complaint on a driveway, it's typically after the first freeze thaw cycle.  If there was bleed water trapped under the surface of the concrete, it would spall at that time.

Thank you,

 

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Northern Concrete does shotty work and do not back it up. I purchased a brand new home a couple of years ago. When I bought the house the driveway looked fine. A year later it started to crumble. I contacted **** at northern and he said it was our fault for putting salt on it in the winter. And for parking on it. Correct me if I am wrong, but isn't a driveway used for parking? We do not salt our driveway and we do not park our vehicals outside during the winter either. They recommended that we purchase a $2000 product that would slow down the crumbling. I told him he should do it for free since it was their fault. I contacted a different concrete company to come out and inspect.

Desired Settlement: I believe they should back their work up and replace/repair, at no cost to us, the crumbling driving. Our subdivision takes pride in its appearance and our driveway is an eye sore. Concrete that is only 3 years old should not look like this.

Business Response:

*******,

I am respoding to the complaint from ***** ****** located at **** ****** ******** *** in ***** ***, WI  *****.  I met with ***** on Friday April 26th, 2013.  I will be drafting a letter tomorrow indicating the repair that I am suggesting for the solution to the complaint.  It will be applying a product which will resurface the top layer of concrete.  I will provide detail of the product that we will use.

Can you please give me a call at ###-###-####?

Thanks,

****

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** ******

 

 

 

Business Response:

*******,

 

I tried calling ***** but I couldn’t reach him.  We have decided to replace his driveway and front sidewalk vs. the resurfacing.  It will include the area highlighted in yellow on the attachment.  I will overlay his porch as well.

 

There may be some damage to his yard as a result of this repair & we would not be responsible to correct it.

 

I also want to note that by accepting this offer, that ***** releases Northern Concrete Construction Inc. from any future claims.

 

I have had one other complaint from the BBB & I sent a letter to the customer to sign.  Is that necessary?

 

**The attachment shows which area will be replaced i.e. driveway & sidewalk hatched yellow and the overlay on the porch**

 

 

  Thank You,

 

  **** *******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1