Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Computer Doctor WIS, LLC

Phone: (262) 542-1110 Fax: (262) 542-1905 W220N1560 Jericho Ct Ste 9, Waukesha, WI 53186 http://www.computerdrwis.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states that they offer computer service in both residential and commercial markets, including computer repair upgrades, installation/set-up, purchase of new and used custom built PCs and website hosting and creation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Computer Doctor WIS, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Computer Doctor WIS, LLC include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Computer Doctor WIS, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Computer Doctor WIS, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 11, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1982 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1982 Business incorporated 03/09/2000 in WI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ted Kieper, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ted Kieper, President
Business Category

Computers - Service & Repair Web Design Internet - Web Hosting Computer Printers Sales & Service Computers - Dealers Computers - Used Computers - Disaster Recovery Computer and Office Machine Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811212)

Alternate Business Names
Computer Doctor
Additional Information

According to information in Bureau files, it appears that this company is no longer in business. The phone numbers the Bureau had for this company are disconnected, and directory assistance does not have a listing for this company. The Bureau's mail to this company has been returned as undeliverable. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

Industry Tips
Laptop Security

Additional Locations

  • W220N1560 Jericho Ct Ste 9

    Waukesha, WI 53186 (262) 542-1110

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The experience started out ok, but was a BAD EXPERIENCE in the end. I took my computer in because it no longer connected to any internet, and also had freezing issues. I paid a $50 diagnostic fee. I was told it just needs a new hard drive. I paid $150 at this point. They put that in and I loaded all of the discs that I already owned. The same issue was happening though. It still wouldn't connect to the internet. I called and talked with ***. He said its all my fault and there's no way they would know why it wouldn't connect to the internet in the first place.... I asked if he could honor the diagnostic fee I paid to look at it again. and he refused to the point where I said I had to go, but before I left, he said "DO ME A FAVOR, DON'T COME BACK" and then he hung up on me. He is now threatening us saying he will call his lawyer after we posted a negative review on his company ******** page. ******************************************

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology from *** at Computer Doctor as he was disrespectful toward me and my wife and has threatened us both.  If that is not within the BBB's scope though, I would then like an explanation as to why Ted told me "DO ME A FAVOR, DON'T COME BACK" and then hung up on me.  I was calm and asking why he would not honor the diagnostic fee of $45 that we already paid.  I came in with the computer not being able to connect to the internet.  They turned the computer on just fine and did diagnostics with a conclusion that there were some viruses on the computer and some bad sectors in the hard drive, but it still works.  They said the hard drive would need to be replaced and that will resolve all issues.  We paid $100 more for that and they installed the hard drive.  I had the discs from when I bought the computer so I installed the OS and drivers.  The computer works, but still won't connect to the internet - same original issue.  He said I need to pay another diagnostic fee of $45 more for them to look at it.  I was ok with paying a fee for them to fix it, but I already paid a diagnostic fee.  In closing, two explanations are requested with a cordial and non-threatening reply:
1.  If a customer who has paid you money is cordial and asking questions, why would you explicitly tell them to not come back and worse, hang up on them?  I couldn't believe you hung up on me as I only explained my concerns. 
2.  Why do you not honor a diagnostic fee for the same issue a computer you looked at is having?  I can see paying extra when you find the real issue and fix it, but not paying a double diagnostic fee for the same item and original issue. 
Please let me know if you have any questions or need more clarification. 
Regards,
******* *******

Business Response:

He would NOT take no for an answer.

 

I am sorry I hurt his feelings but I had to get back to work. I got tired of him insisting that I had to make hiscomputer work after his doing whatever it was he did causing it not work as he had hoped it would.

 

I will not warranty his work. He took on the Windows install and driver setup.  No one ever told him that replacing the hard disk would certainly solve all his problems. It is what had to be done first. The computer may have additional problems.

 

When we found virus infestation and a defective hard disk our diagnostics ended. We cannot do further diagnostics because the erratic hard disk could skew the test results. We never addressed the internetconnection issue. We would have had to install the operating system (Windows), a 7 hour job which he decided to take on himself thus ending our involvement.

 

We did our standard 7 hour $45 diagnostic and sold him a $100 component (raw blank hard disk) that needed professional installation to work properly.

 

We normally do not sell any computer components we do not install to avoid problems like this. We made an exception for him because he thought he could do it himself and money was tight as his wife is expecting a baby soon so we tried to help him out. I am now sorry I did that.

 

This just proves that no good deed goes unpunished.

 

I did tell him I would contact a lawyer if they continued to post negative comments and lies on social media web sites about my business.

1/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a CPU cooler system from them. 24 hours after install the anti-freeze in the CPU cooler leaked onto the video card and motherboard of the computer, frying both pieces and leaving a "river" of coolant down the video card. The computer, which we just built on Christmas, is no longer running. When I purchased the CPU cooler i was told this was a new system but the box it came in was from a different CPU cooler and the fan didn't work. I was not concerned with the fan because I had a back up to use. I called and spoke to both owners who tried telling me this was a new device. I was told I did something wrong in the install, however I have 10 years of computer building experience and have used this type of system before without issue. I requested that he replace the video card and motherboard due to the defect in HIS product that I purchased just a few days ago. This is when the story changed to the unit coming out of a computer from another customer but nothing was wrong with it. The computer this was placed in was a gift for my son for Christmas and is now worthless and non-operational because this company sold us a faulty item. He offered us a refund of the unit ($15), but that comes no where near the replacement cost of the video card or motherboard it ruined, approximately $350.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to send me the money to replace the items that his faulty product ruined. I do not want any more products from him, just the money to re-purchase the items from the companies I originally bought them from. The model video card to be replaced is MSI Twin Frozr 2 GTX 560 ti and is sold for $250. The motherboard, just purchased in December 2014 is a Gigabyte Motherboard GA-G41MT-S2PT LGA775 G41 DDR3 SATA PCI Express USB microATX Retail and was purchased for $85. I can provide the purchase order for the motherboard and a PDF of the video card with price from Amazon.com. I will provide receipts/proof of items repurchased.

Business Response:

This was a private sale not even sold through my business.

He paid cash. Sold as-is NO refunds NO returns. There was no receipt asked for or offered. He broke it. Then he lies. Nobody ever said it was new. What does it matter? He decided to install it. It was most likely not mounted properly. It worked perfect for years. The box he got was from a different part. It was advertised as used in my ****** **** ad. See attached ad copy. We never accept returns or make refunds and it is clearly posted in out store. I offer nothing.


10/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently stopped in to Computer Doctor because my Internet Explorer had trouble loading and I wanted someone more experienced to look at it. The owner of Computer Doctor told me he could run a simple diagnostic check for $45 to see if there was a virus. I agreed. The next day he called with the diagnostic results and said he felt a complete restore was warranted, which would cost $195. This was shocking as the only problem I had was with my Internet Explorer and my computer is only a year old. I wanted a second opinion before paying such a large amount so I told him I was not interested in a restore at this time. I paid him for the diagnostic and took my computer home. When I took my computer home and turned it on, it was a completely different machine. My backgrounds were gone, my program shortcuts were gone, everything was rearranged, and the computer said I no longer had permission to access my own files. My work files, pictures, music, spreadsheets, documents, all were unable to load and the word "diagnostic" can be seen in many of the error messages. My computer had *one* problem when I took it in, and that was the Internet Explorer. Now my one year old computer is literally useless after picking it up from Computer Doctor, as I cannot access any of its contents. I called Computer Doctor with this information but they did not call me back. So I went in with my computer, showing him the error messages that mentioned "diagnostic" and showing how I could no longer access my year's work on this machine. The owner showed me the waiver I signed at the time of diagnostics saying that they would not be held accountable for any corruption of files due to any work done. He did offer to fix the problems he caused....FOR THE RESTORE PRICE OF $195. I told him these problems came from the work he did and that the restore should be paid for by him. He accused ME of causing these problems TO MY OWN MACHINE after I took it home from Computer Doctor the first time and refused any further work unless I paid him the $195. When I refused, he told me then that he was "done with me" and told me to leave his business. A simple diagnostic check turned my year old $700 computer into a piece of junk. He did not refund my money, and he told me he would only fix the damage he caused if I paid him an additional $195. This is not right. I told him as he was showing me the door that I would be filing with the Better Business Bureau. He said "Good I can give you their number." I didn't doubt for one second that he had it.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund of the $45 I originally paid for the diagnostic, as it has rendered my machine useless without a complete restore. Even then I now have a large data loss. Also I am requesting the $195 needed for a complete restore of my machine, a service that is only necessary because of what was done at Computer Doctor. I do NOT want this work done at Computer Doctor as I no longer trust them with my computer.

Business Response:

9-29-2014

 

*** ******* brought in his HP laptop on 9-16-14 for repair as it was running erratically.

Viruses or hard disk failure usually are the cause in this case.

We ran our 5 hour $45 comprehensive diagnostic procedure and found no virus infestation and then we ran two factory recommended scans on the hard drive and it tested just fine on 9-17-14.

 

After the diagnostic procedure we ran it a short time to see if his Internet Explorer problem had gone away. It did not and we shut it down and called him.

It has probably suffered unknown file damage from an unknown source.

 

We recommended a complete restore back to as it was when it left the factory at a cost of $195.

 

Client stated he did not want to invest any money in fixing his computer.

The computer then sat here until 9-24-14 when he came for it.

.

After paying the $45 and taking it home on 9-24-14 he returned on 9-25-14 with it saying it was even worse than when he brought it in. We did nothing to it other than our five hour diagnostics. It still needed a complete back to factory restore. It may continue to get worse.

It did not run properly when it came in and it did not run properly when it left our shop.

He became loud, insulting and vulgar when I told him I would not fix his computer for free and I asked him to leave my store and never return.

We did exactly for him what he asked us to do and charged him exactly ($45) what he  agreed to pay according to the contract he signed.

 

Here is the text of the contract he signed;

 

Agreement; I release Computer Doctor Wis LLC from any liability resulting from the loss of or damage to any computer components (including component failure) or data files on my computer in the course of the work on my computer for any reason. I understand that the unpredictable results associated with removing a virus can cause my computer to stop working or run worse.

I agree to pay any collection costs incurred by Computer Doctor Wis LLC related to this contract agreement. I have read, understand and agree to this contract. I hereby authorize Computer Doctor Wis LLC to perform the necessary technical service to repair the above listed problems.

 

He did not ask for a refund nor would I give given him one. We owe him nothing.

Business Response:

He brought his computer in for repair diagnostics.

 

The unusual problem he has is usually virus or hard disk failure related.

I ran 3 different scans totaling five hours after removing his hard drive and testing it on my lab computer.

I never found any virus infection or hard disk failure nor did I ever say I did.

I made no changes to his computer whatsoever.

 

He needs professional computer help.

 

He cites an unknown un-named third party that he says makes unfounded accusations against my company.

I have no comment on that.

 

I will never help him again because of his profanity laced tirade at my store when he found out I would not repair his computer for free.

 

Consumer Response: Clearly this business is founded on arrogance and unprofessionalism as the owner refuses to take responsibility for his damage to not only my computer, but apparently others as well. The FACTS are my computer was a completely different machine after I brought it in, the owner REFUSED to fix the problems that HE CREATED, instead throwing a signed waiver in my face, and upon taking my computer to another nearby mechanic I was told that they have received numerous complaints about Computer Doctor in the past. Computer Doctor's response is simply "Everybody else is wrong and Computer Doctor is right." I WOULD STRONGLY ADVISE ANYONE READING THIS TO TAKE YOUR COMPUTER ELSEWHERE FOR REPAIR. YOU ARE LITERALLY SIGNING AWAY YOUR PC WHEN BRINGING IT TO COMPUTER DOCTOR.

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We took a computer in for service, was told that it had a virus. Sold us a used laptop for $450.00. Gave us a 60 day warranty. Exactly at 90 days computer had a "rogue" virus. We took it back and were told that for $140.00 he would "take" a look. When asked if we had virus protection he said, well it was there!! How does one even remove virus protection? We believe we never had it but was told we did! We bought a brand new computer from Best Buy for 379.00. We think "the doctor" owes us money. We are retired and don't have gobs of money. We made a huge mistake working with these folks.

Business Response:

Re; *****

 

5-13-14 was 1st day we were notified of any problem. (4 1/2 months later)

We have not heard from this client since 12-30-13.

Why did the client not even complain to us before contacting the BBB?

 

We did a $125 data recovery from their old junk computer.

The refurbished computer really cost $325.

 

We never would have said “$140 to look at”.

We do almost all of our work on a flat rate basis and there is no $140 flat rate item.

 

Our 60 day warranty ended March 1st 2014 does not cover virus problems even on the first day.

There are about 2000 new virus’ unleashed upon us every hour 24/7/365.

 

A refund is never offered.

This policy is clearly posted throughout the store and on all credit card receipts and on all our invoices.

 

We do charge $45 for a comprehensive 5 hour diagnostic

 

Microsoft Security Essentials Virus protection was installed

 

Perhaps since the client found out that Windows XP support on this computer was ending and this was a way to get a new computer and ask us to pay for it.

 

I offer nothing. WE did nothing wrong.