Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Oliver Adjustment Company

Phone: (262) 653-2300 Fax: (262) 653-2312 3416 Roosevelt Rd, Kenosha, WI 53142

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company is a third party debt collection agency.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Oliver Adjustment Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Oliver Adjustment Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 06, 2005 Business started: 04/01/1947 in WI Business started locally: 04/01/1947 Business incorporated 12/01/1959 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions
345 W. Washington Ave. 4th Floor, Madison WI 53703
Phone Number: (608) 266-1064

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Christopher S. Cope, Owner Ms. Gloria Gerber, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher S. Cope, Owner
Business Category

Collection Agencies Collection Agencies (NAICS: 561440)

Alternate Business Names
Oliver Adjustment Company of Kenosha & Racine, Inc
Industry Tips
Debt-How to Repay Your Debt Debt-improve your financial status Five steps to be taken when a collector calls for a debt that you do not owe

Additional Locations

  • 3416 Roosevelt Rd

    Kenosha, WI 53142 (262) 653-2300


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are two collection accounts listed on my credit report that I believe belong to my ex-husband. I can not get this company to respond to my letters for verification.

Desired Settlement: I'd like these accounts removed off of my credit reports or proof that these bills are for medical care provided to me.

Business Response:

Immediately after receiving this complaint we researched the records involved.  Our research revealed that Ms. ****** was in fact billed incorrectly by United Hospital System - the charge should have been billed to the patient's father (*********** ****** ***).  Our research indicated that Ms. ****** may have brought the patient (*********** ***) to UHS, but the father was called and he gave verbal permission to proceed with treatment.  We have since cancelled the charge from Ms. ******'s file, and the credit bureau will be notified to remove the record from her credit report (our next electronic report will be sent March 10th).

2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Oliver adjustment company, was supposed to send the credit aagencies notice that all of the debts that they were collecting From me have been closed. They Obviously have not. I checked my credit report today 2-4-2015 and there are four items on there listed as "open" and all four from oliver adjustment company of *******. The longer this is on my credit, the more it messes my credit up. They need to figure out how to solve the problem. These four items have a zero balance, but by them being in there period is not accurate. I have filed bankruptcy, and have been discharged.

Desired Settlement: Have the items closed, and taken off of my credit!

Business Response: As I explained to Ms. *****, we  have always reported the status of her charges in our collection system accurately.   For example, all of the charges that were discharged through her Chapter 7 Bankruptcy filing are being reported with a zero balance and the status of  "Discharged through Bankruptcy Chapter 7."  The credit bureaus have taken this information and are now showing the charges with zero balances, but have retained an open status.  Ms. ***** must petition the credit bureaus for the reasoning behind why they continue to list her accounts this way.  For whatever reason, the bureaus list the charges on credit reports this way....we have no control over this.  These charges we listed are valid, and it is against the Fair Credit Reporting Act to arbitrarily delete records we report.  As to her request for deletion, we simply will not do that as we will not willfully violate the act.

Business Response:

There is no additional information to resubmit.  We reported the account as "discharged through chapter 7 bankruptcy" - there is nothing else we can do.  Ms. ***** needs to contact the credit bureau to request an explanation as to why they report discharged accounts as open - this is not something we control.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


******* *****



7/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: oliver adjustment is on the national no call list, I have told them not to call********** but contact me by mail, but the brain dead people keep calling

Desired Settlement: to respect my privacy and stop calling me

Business Response: This is the first notification that we have received regarding this person.  We have marked our files accordingly, and we will no longer attempt to contact Mr. ****** by phone.

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Are debt was turned over to a lawyer's office and a letter was sent to us that we could face court costs if we did not pay. The debt was paid and I called Oilver's to see what determine when a debt is turned over to a lawyer? I explained to her that I knew of someone that had a debt with them just as old mine, owed more and they had not made any payments in over a year (there was activity on our account within the past year) and they did not receive a letter in the mail. I never gave her their name and just wanted to know what determine when it's turned over. Ms. Laura Black at that time told me "that it was none of my business."

Desired Settlement: Your website under "values" indicates that you "Treat individuals with care, respect, dignity and fairness." I do not feel you stand by that statement.

Business Response: We spoke with the employee that dealt with Ms. *****.  Our collectors are trained to never discuss another person's information and financial situation with a 3rd party, therefore our employee correctly handled the situation correctly.  

Consumer Response:

I did not want to know about the other person. I wanted to know what was their policy when a account is transferred over to a lawyer's office. I was confused when I made payments and the other party had made no attempt to pay for some time and their debt was just as old. I still do not know your policy. At this point it sounds like you pick and choose.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


**** *****



Business Response: There is no "one size fits all" rule for when an account is sent for legal action.  Generally speaking, if we are able to verify that a debtor is employed and appears to have the means to pay (but has not responded to numerous attempts from our collectors), we may refer the matter to our attorneys.  In your case, you are/were gainfully employed, and were not making sufficient payment arrangements, so we sent the charges to small claims court.  In your friend's case, we likely are missing information on file that indicates they have the means to pay the past due charges.  If we do discover in the course of our collection efforts that they are gainfully employed, we may then take legal action to protect the interests of our client.

3/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I told this company that this was a workman's comp bill and I am not responsible and send it to them never received a call back and they automatically put it on my credit report that is bad business now I have a mark on credit for a debt of 157.00 that is not mine to pay

Desired Settlement: I want them to remove this from my credit reports immediately and they pay the debt or pay me 157.00 for screwing up my credit

Business Response:

I informed Mr. ****** that we do not have any open current or past charges in our system under his name.  If he ran a credit report on himself, he may be confusing us with ****** out of Milwaukee (that has happened many times in the past).  There isn't anything else we can do for him at this point.


***** ****

****** ********** ******* ** ******* * ******* ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Oliver Adjustment Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)