BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers collections services for hospitals and medical clinics.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Med Health Financial Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 04, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1986 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated: 11/06/1985 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions
345 W. Washington Ave. 4th Floor, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 266-1064
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Anne Murray, Director Ms. Tammy Star, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Anne Murray, Director
Customer Contact: Ms. Tammy Star, Operations Manager
Business Category

Collection Agencies Collection Agencies (NAICS: 561440)

Alternate Business Names
MedHealth

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10200 W Innovation Dr #100

    Milwaukee, WI 53226

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1997

    Milwaukee, WI 53201

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, this business is no longer in business.


Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sometime in 2013 I discovered a collection account on my credit report from MED HEALTH FINANCIAL SERVICES (account number #*******) about which I had been previously unaware. The amount was small so despite not having knowledge of the account I decided to pay the collection in full. I called the agency and explained that the account was likely related to my my divorce and my ex-wife. I stated that my only goal was to have the account removed from my credit report. The promise was made to me that this would happen upon my full payment. A year or more has passed and several correspondence have been made and this promise has still not been kept.

Desired Settlement: Removal of collection account from credit reports

Business Response:

 

Dear Better Business Bureau:
Thank you for allowing Med-Health Financial Services, Inc. an opportunity to respond to this consumer’s complaint.
We have reviewed Mr. ****** ******’s complaint and the information that we have regarding his accounts. Mr. ****** ******’s complaint alleges that Med-Health Financial Services, Inc. agreed to remove account ******* from his credit bureau upon receipt of full payment.
Our review included listening to the call that Mr. ****** ****** had with our representative on March 11, 2013. During the call, there is no discussion regarding the removal of the account from Mr. ****** ******’s credit bureau. The representative clearly indicates that the account would be updated with the payment information. There was never a promise made by Med-Health Financial Services, Inc. to remove this account from the credit bureaus.
Thank you for the opportunity to provide this clarifying information. We at MHFS are dedicated to helping consumers with collection debts to resolve those debts and improve their financial standing.
Sincerely,
***** ****
***** ****
********** *******
Med-Health Financial Services, Inc.

************ 

 

8/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke with a **** ****** at Med Health Financial Services. I asked her to please tell me the law and the statute number that states that even though my court order says the mother of my child is responsible for any medical bills that may remain after the insurance that I provide for my daughter has paid. When I asked Ms. ****** this she got real nasty and her final comment before putting me on hold was, "I'm going to have to place you on hold then while I do YOUR work for you".

Desired Settlement: I feel Ms. ****** owes me an apology for her rude behavior.

Business Response:

Thank you for allowing Med-Health Financial Services, Inc. an opportunity to respond to this consumer’s complaint. 

 

We have sent the attached letter to Mr. *******.  We hope that this letter resolves Mr. *******'s complaint.

 

Thank you for the opportunity to provide this clarifying information.  We at MHFS are dedicated to helping consumers with collection debts to resolve those debts and improve their financial standing. 

 

***** ****

********** *******

********** ********* ********* ****

6/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My problem is that this is an unethical and corrupt business. Seriously, I have offered to settle the amount in exchange for them to not report this to the 3 credit reporting agencies, but they are unwilling to work with me on this, and there staff is very condesending and rude.

Desired Settlement: Please remove this account from my credit file, validate the debt, and have a nice day!!

Business Response:

 

March 22, 2013
Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin
10101 W. Greenfield Avenue, Suite 125
West Allis, WI 53214

 RE: Complaint Case #*******
****** *******

 Dear Better Business Bureau:
Thank you for allowing Med-Health Financial Services, Inc. an opportunity to respond to this consumer’s additional information.
We have reviewed Mr. *******’s complaint and the information that we have regarding Mr. *******’s account. Mr. *******’s complaint alleges that Med-Health Financial Services, Inc. is unethical and corrupt. He states that he has offered to settle the amount in exchange for Med-Health Financial Services, Inc. to not report the account to the credit reporting agencies. He states we are unwilling to work with him and that our staff is condescending and rude.
In addition to several messages, we have had the following contacts with Mr. ******* regarding the outstanding debt:
Account was placed on January 16, 2012. Initial notice indicating the account was placed at Med-Health Financial Services, Inc. was sent on January 17, 2012. On February 2, 2012, a phone call with Mr. ******* indicated that he had not received the notice. We obtained an updated address and a second notice was sent on February 3, 2012. We contacted Mr. ******* on February 16, 2012 by phone. He indicated that he was reviewing the information and would send us a letter if he was going to dispute the balance.
o We never received a letter from Mr. ******* regarding a dispute. On March 5, 2012, Mr. ******* requested itemization of the debt which was sent on March 13, 2012. We contacted Mr. ******* on March 27, 2012 and he stated he would call us back. We contacted Mr. ******* on June 5, 2012. He stated that he would like us to remove his employer’s phone number. His work number was removed from the account. A certified letter was received from Mr. ******* on March 11, 2013. We contacted Mr. ******* by phone to explain that we are unable to delete an account from a consumer’s credit report in exchange for payment. As a data furnisher to the credit reporting agencies, we are required to maintain the integrity of the data that is submitted. Our representative explained that, once paid, we would be able to update the balance as zero but could not delete. Accounts can only be deleted if they are reported in error. Mr. *******’s account was not reported in error. Mr. ******* did not ask for a settlement on this account during the conversation. This account would be ineligible for a settlement at this time.
We would be happy to work with Mr. ******* to discuss payment arrangements for this account. We can be reached at ###-###-####.
Thank you for the opportunity to provide this clarifying information. We at MHFS are dedicated to helping consumers with collection debts to resolve those debts and improve their financial standing.
Sincerely,
***** ****
***** ****
********** *******
Med-Health Financial Services, Inc.
###-###-####

8/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter was seen by Dr. ***** in 2009 as a follow-up to surgery eight or so years prior. She checked into the office and advised them we had moved and was not asked to provide any information as to address or insurance, assuming it would be covered by the claim with ******* who paid for the initial surgery. No monies or co-pays were collected at the time of service. In May of 2011 I was contacted via phone as to an unpaid bill with Medical College of WI, by Med Health Financial. I was skeptical as to who they were and asked for a bill to be mailed before I would pay anything, the representative was very pushy and want me to pay it right them, which added to the skepticism. After some research I figured it out to possible be from my daughters appointment with Dr. *****, which was the only association we had with the Medical College. I call *****s office and inquired about the bill and found out that they had the wrong address, which I updated at that time and that they tried to processes through the insurance we had during the initial surgery. The office visit in 2009 should have been paid for by ******* who was the responsible party for the surgery and follow up. After getting nowhere with *****s office or ******* on this I paid the bill in July 2011. I received a credit report last week and found that Med Health reported this as delinquent in December 2011 but shows it was paid in July 2011. Tried to resolve this with someone name ******* but she was a waste of a phone call and just kept stating their policy.

Desired Settlement: I asked for a letter stating that this was an error on the part of Dr. *****s office and that the negative credit reporting be removed and also that Med Health acknowledges the error in reporting this as delinquent in Dec 2011 when it was actually paid in fully in July 2011 once all of the facts were gathered.

Business Response:

 

July 29, 2012

 

Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin

10101 W. Greenfield Avenue, Suite 125

West Allis, WI 53214

RE: Complaint Case #******* 

**** ****

Dear Better Business Bureau:

Thank you for allowing Med-Health Financial Services, Inc. an opportunity to respond to this consumer’s additional information.

I have reviewed Mr. ****’s complaint and the information that we have regarding Mr. ****’s account. Med-Health Financial Services, Inc. did have a phone conversation with Mr. ****. This was our first phone contact with Mr. ****. During the call, our representative does obtain a proper address for Mr. **** and sends Mr. **** notice of the account. In review of the May 2011 phone call, we feel that our representative could have better informed Mr. **** of the time implications of waiting to pay the account beyond the 30 days of receiving notice of the account. For this reason, as a courtesy, we will delete this account from Mr. ****’s credit bureau. Please be advised that it can take up to 30 days for this to be updated to Mr. ****’s credit report.

Thank you for the opportunity to provide this clarifying information. We at MHFS are dedicated to helping consumers with collection debts to resolve those debts and improve their financial standing.

Sincerely,

***** **** 

Operations Manager

Med-Health Financial Services, Inc.

###-###-####

6/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company reported me to collections and refuses to remove the collection from my credit report even after discovering that they had an incorrect address for me. I NEVER received a notice for this and this collection has now destroyed my credit. My insurance was supposed to cover this and I was completely UNAWARE that I owed anything to anyone and now I cannot purchase a home because my credit is destroyed as a result of an unpaid bill that was sent to an incorrect address. I paid the bill the moment I became aware of it and I begged and pleaded to them to remove it from my credit so I can move on with my life and my efforts have gotten me nowhere.

Desired Settlement: A letter faxed or emailed to me evidencing the removal of this collection account from my personal credit reports.

Business Response:

Here is our response to the consumer's complaint.

***** ****

Med-Health Financial Services, Inc.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I would like to have them review who actually filled out the paperwork at the hospital. My father, ****** ******, was the one who took my child to the hospital for this bill. I was out of town and unable to do it. I was not the one who signed any paperwork for this. That is why I did not have any knowledge of this. My father also suffers from Alzheimer's and he did not give me any notices he may have received. It has been a very difficult situation and I am now being punished unfairly for something I had no knowledge of. It's bad enough that my child was ill, i'm taking care of a parent who is ill with Alzheimer's and to top it off, now my credit is being severely affected because of it and it is really creating more problems in my life that I really could do without. I pay all of my bills on time, I did not simply ignore this bill. I paid it as soon as it came to my attention. I can't help but feel like I am being cheated and unfairly punished here.


Regards,

****** ******

 

 

Business Response:

Here is our response to the consumer's further information.

 

***** ****

Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin

10101 W. Greenfield Avenue, Suite 125

West Allis, WI  53214

 

RE:       Complaint Case #*******            ****** ******

 

Dear Better Business Bureau:

 

Thank you for allowing Med-Health Financial Services, Inc. an opportunity to respond to this consumer’s additional information. 

 

In his additional information, Mr. ****** states his father, ****** ******, was the person to take the child to the hospital as he was out of town and unable to.  He states he is being punished for something unfairly as he had no knowledge of these services.

 

Our records indicate that the account in question was for services rendered to ****** ******, date of service 6/22/09.  The patient’s date of birth was July 8, 1980.  The patient was 28 on the date of service.  This information does not match Mr. ******’s statement that these services were for his son being taken to the hospital. 

 

Thank you for the opportunity to provide this clarifying information.  We at MHFS are dedicated to helping consumers with collection debts to resolve those debts and improve their financial standing. 

 

Sincerely,

  ***** ****

Operations Manager

Med-Health Financial Services, Inc.

###-###-####

3/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 7th 2012 at approximately 4:25 pm I was part of a phone call with ******* ******* Supervisor Collections department. She told me more than once that it was illegal and against the law for her company to remove or delete any old items reported to the different credit reporting agencies. After reviewing various FTC documents I was not able to find anywhere that it was illegal for a company to have items removed from the various credit reports by a reporting agency as Miss ******* stated to me.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have all accounts that are paid in full and were reported to the various credit reporting agencies to be removed by MHFS immediately.

Business Response:

Our response to complaint #******* is attached.

Thank you.

***** ****
Operations Manager

Med-Health Financial Services, Inc.


Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin

10101 W. Greenfield Avenue, Suite 125

West Allis, WI  53214

 

RE:       Complaint Case #*******

            ******* *. *****

 

Dear Better Business Bureau:

 

Thank you for allowing Med-Health Financial Services, Inc. an opportunity to respond to this consumer’s complaint dated March 7, 2012.

 

In his complaint, Mr. ***** states that he would like Med-Health Financial Services, Inc. remove all accounts that were paid in full from his credit bureau.  Mr. ***** states that he was told by ******* *******, Collections Supervisor for Med-Health Financial Services, Inc. that it is illegal and against the law for her company (Med-Health Financial Services, Inc.) to remove or delete any old items reported to the different credit bureaus. 

 

Under the Fair Credit Reporting Act, Med-Health Financial Services, Inc. is considered a data furnisher to the credit bureau reporting agencies.  Section 623(a) of the Fair Credit Reporting Act maintains that furnishers of information have a duty to provide accurate information.  Accuracy is defined by the Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act to mean information that a furnisher provides to a consumer reporting agency about an account or other relationship with the consumer correctly reports the following:

 

         Reflects the terms of and liability for the account or other relationship;

         Reflects the consumer’s performance and other conduct with respect to the account or other relationship; and

         Identifies the appropriate consumer.

 

In adherence to the above standards, Med-Health Financial Services, Inc. accurately reports balances as appropriate based on the account’s standing.  If an account has been paid in full, we report that account as paid in full to the credit reporting agencies.  A deletion would only occur if a bona-fide error existed with the account information that was provided to the credit reporting agencies.

 

Thank you for the opportunity to provide this clarifying information.  We at MHFS are dedicated to helping consumers with collection debts to resolve those debts and improve their financial standing. 

 

Sincerely,

 

***** ****

Operations Manager

Med-Health Financial Services, Inc.

###-###-####