Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Federated Adjustment Company, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Federated Adjustment Company, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (414) 228-0900 Fax: (414) 228-6995 View Additional Phone Numbers 7929 N Port Washington Rd, Milwaukee, WI 53217 http://www.facpaid.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers collection services for businesses including: pre-collections, direct collections, check recovery, return mail, second placement, litigation service and payment monitoring. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Federated Adjustment Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Federated Adjustment Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Federated Adjustment Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 04, 1995 Business started: 11/16/1970 in WI Business started locally: 11/16/1970 Business incorporated: 11/16/1970 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Bonnie K. Smith, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Bonnie K. Smith, President
Business Category

Collection Agencies Payment Processing Service Credit Services Collection Agencies (NAICS: 561440)

Industry Tips
Collection Agency-Credit Counseling-Facts For Consumers Credit Report-Understanding Your Credit Report

Additional Locations

  • 7929 N Port Washington Rd

    Milwaukee, WI 53217

  • PO Box 170680

    Milwaukee, WI 53217 (414) 228-0900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had several medical debts which were sent from aurora to federated. One of the bills totaled about 1400.00 dollars. I made a payment arrangement with federated by providing my bank acct info and told the to draft a certain amount if money per month from my account. The larger bill was eventually transferred to another agency so therefore federated was not to collect the debt anymore. I found out that federated kept taking money out of my account after the larger bill was transferred for a new medical debt. I did not authorize them to do so. I immediately put a stop payment to stop them from continuing to take my money. I have since paid off all debts with federated but feel they should delete these negative entries from the credit bureaus. They falsely took my money. They now report to the credit bureaus as paid in full, but I want them to delete them all together. I attempted to talk to the ******* ***, but he does not respond to my emails. Thanks

Desired Settlement: I want federated to have the negative entries removed from all credit reporting agencies whom they report to.

Business Response: M.s ***** is correct in saying she has had several accounts with our office.  She had multiple accounts sent from Aurora as she stated.  She did in fact set up payment arrangements with our office to begin to pay those charges off as well.  We had consistent payments from Ms. ***** from 3-2013 through 11-2013.  We received a new placement from a different medical provider, ******** **********, on 6-2013 for $264.00. On 8-2-2013 we spoke with Ms. *****, as we needed to set up more payments with her, and we explained we had received a new charge from a different provider.  During that conversation Ms. ***** authorized 10 payments of fifty dollars to run on the 15th and 30th of each month from 8-15-2013 through 12-30-2013.  As of 10-4-2013, Aurora closed the remaining inventory and re listed the remaining balances with another agency, PPS.  Since we still had the 264 dollar charge from the NON AURORA provider, ******** **********, we continued to process the payments Ms ***** authorized.  Prior to processing the payments on 10-15 10-30 and 11-15, a notice was sent to Ms ***** reminding her we were going to process those payments.  It also would have stated on the notice the payment was being applied to ******** ********** since it would have been the only active account remaining.  None of the previous payments Ms. ***** had made were applied to the ******** account until the Aurora accounts were closed.  So payments of 50 dollars were processed on 10-15, 10-30 and 11-15-2013. and applied to the ******** account.  On 12-10-2013, we received 3 returned check notices regarding Ms *****' payments from 9-30, 10-30 and 11-15.  Two days later we got a 4th notice for non authorized payment from 10-15-2013.  The 9-30 payment was actually applied to the Aurora balance since they were still active at that time.  The other 3 from 10-15 10-30 and 11-15 were applied to the ******** account balance.  Federated was charged a 12 dollar fee for each of the checks but since one was posted to a then closed Aurora account, we could only pursue her for the 3 that were applied to the ******** account.  The total she ended up paying on 2-25-2014 was 264.00 in principle, 36.00 in check fees for the 3 returned checks, and then 8.00 in interest.  We have since updated the account as paid in full to the credit reports.  While some agencies may agree to delete credit entries once a balance is paid, that is actually a violation of the FCRA.  Unfortunately, as we have explained to Ms ***** in the past, we will not be deleting this account.  We are not reporting erroneously nor did we process any payments that were not authorized by Ms ***** herself.

Business Response: Federated did nothing wrong in this case and did notify the debtor of our intentions to process payments for account in question.  The account should continue to report as a paid in full collection.  However to avoid anymore disputes or time being wasted on this same account we have requested the deletion of the entry.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******** *****

 

 

 

5/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is collecting on a debt that I do not owe. On top of that at the time of filing this collection on my reports this company does not have a surety bond in the state of Texas. The Texas Finance code states that a A third-party debt collector or credit bureau may not engage in debt collection unless the third-party debt collector or credit bureau has obtained a surety bond issued by a surety company authorized to do business in this state as prescribed by this section. They are in direct violation of Texas law. This has also been verified with the Texas Secretary of State. Sec. 392.101. BOND REQUIREMENT. (a) A third-party debt collector or credit bureau may not engage in debt collection unless the third-party debt collector or credit bureau has obtained a surety bond issued by a surety company authorized to do business in this state as prescribed by this section. A copy of the bond must be filed with the secretary of state. (b) The bond must be in favor of: (1) any person who is damaged by a violation of this chapter; and (2) this state for the benefit of any person who is damaged by a violation of this chapter. (c) The bond must be in the amount of $10,000. Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1008, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. Sec. 392.102. CLAIM AGAINST BOND. A person who claims against a bond for a violation of this chapter may maintain an action against the third-party debt collector or credit bureau and against the surety. The aggregate liability of the surety to all persons damaged by a violation of this chapter may not exceed the amount of the bond. Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1008, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997.

Desired Settlement: This company needs to remove this collection from all of my credit reports Immediately and all alleged records against me must be purged from their files. If this is not done within 10 days of receipt of this complaint I will file a lawsuit

Business Response: This account is no longer active, we have closed it out.

*** ******
********** *******
Federated Adjustment Co In
************

10/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned a call 9/26/13 to Federated Adjustment Company .I wanted to find out what the call was for. I was transferred to a collector who stated is was regarding a bill with **** *********. She stated that the bill was now at $961.10 & earning interest and also on my credit. I told her that I was in dispute with the hospital that called them & also with **** *********. That the location I was transported from I could have walked. The collector goes on to tell me that I was not in any mental state to do so at that time. At which point I got upset with the collector and told her it was none of her business what my mental state was & that I was not speaking with her any further. I called back and spoke with a "Supervisor ***" but still feel that the collector that I spoke with originally was out of line to speak with me that way. I would like to get my bill resolved with **** ********* an a apology from Federated Adjustment Company. I do not appreciate the way I was spoken to or the way this situtaion was handled

Business Response: I apologize if the consumer feels this situation was handled wrong and unprofessionally.  While i understand the consumers displeasure with the medical decision that day it was the decision of the attending medical professionals at the time.  They obviously thought under the circumstances of the consumers medical condition, whatever that may have been, the request or hope of walking to the location of the next medical facility was not an option. During our effort to explain that, the consumer became defensive and felt offended.  I apologize again for any offense she felt.  I would be more then happy to work with the consumer directly and set up some sort of arrangement to satisfy this matter.  The account is currently listed as a dispute with the credit bureaus as a result of the consumers concerns about the necessity of the service.

*** ******
********** *******
Federated Adjustment Co Inc
###-###-####

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

**** *******

6/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have several accounts with this agency due to faulty business practices at ******. I had several claims from 2010, one was billed with the wrong billing code and denied by insurance. For some reason ****** is assigned to me and would gain satisfaction from calling me each week of my pregnancy to advise me that this was my responsibility, even though I knew it was not. I had to work with ******'s supervisor to straighten things out with this $3013 collection bill that is still on my collection report, but was finally paid, and not by me. ******'s new mission is to make sure my credit report is still flawed by other accounts and she is trying to get money from me that my insurance company paid. She states that she is not able to communicate with my insurance company anymore, that I must pay her even though my insurance company paid. She states that she doesn't want to hear me talk about my insurance company anymore and is extremely controlling and demeaning during all but one conversation I've had with her.

Desired Settlement: I want someone who is willing to help, and I'm happy to pay what I rightfully owe but want no more dealings with ******.

Business Response: Ms ******** ****** has several accounts with our office as she stated.  We have 4 charges, all received back 5-2011.  These amounts received were for 75, 3013, 100 and 80 dollars.  We did have contact with ******** regarding these charges via a letter she sent, received in 6-2011.  She expressed issues with the insurance, specifically coding issues. FAC advised(9-2011) we can not really get involved with those types of disputes is up to her and her insurance company to get resolved.  ******** became vulgar, defensive, and uncooperative.  She requested a new collector but ****** advised she is the representative that handled her account.  ******** was not happy with that response.  Nearly a year later(10-2012) after several attempts from our office, we heard from ********'s insurance(****** **********).  They advised the 3013 dollar charge should not be ********'s responsibility.  They sent Federated Adjustment Co and Explanation of Benefits(EOB) later that month that shows they denied due to timely filing.  FAC put this EOB in for review with our client Aurora, to see what was going on.  The account was on hold while we were reviewing this with our client.  As of 12-2012 the insurance company issued payment for that specific charge of 3013.  They actually paid 1076.71 with a contracted write off of 1936.29.  That one charge has been cleared with us.  Unfortunately since the account was not paid within the validation period and ultimately falls on the patients shoulders to ensure payment is made timely we can not delete the account from her credit report.  It is against the Fair Credit Reporting Act.  Besides the fact there are still three open charges, 75,100, and 80.  These seem like possible co pays or balance after insurance already.  This, again, will be up to ******** to resolve.  If she feels insurance has paid on those as well we will need some proof of payment, or if is still disputing those charges a written dispute will need to be received to then review with out client.

I would be more than happy to assist Ms ****** in resolving her other charges if needed.

*** ******
********** *******
Federated Adjustment Co Inc
###-###-####

4/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a collection notice for a remaining balance of a bill that my attorney paid after my settlement. When I called the office I was advise they were unsure of the figure my attorney was quoted but I still owe $104. I asked the rep "***" to look in the notes on the file to see where my attorney was quoted this figure. He stated he's not about to go back and forth looking at notes to get this resolved and I was going to pay the $104 and he was interested in hearing what I had to say and continued to interrupt me several times when I was asking questions regarding my account. So I asked for the notes on my account in writing and he advised me I can ask for whatever I want but they care not required to provide me anything. Every time I've called this company I'm always treated rudely by every employee there. I am highly upset!

Desired Settlement: I would like my bill to be adjusted to the amount my attorney was quoted and this account release from my credit bureau report

Business Response:

Regarding:

Ms. ****** ******’s BBB Dispute *******.

Federated Adjustment Company first received ******’s account back in 4-19-2010.  We sent our validation notice to her, 4-20-2010, without a mail return.  The original amount received back then was 951.81.  This client, ****** ******** **********, at this time listed cumulative balances with us that potentially have multiple dates of service.   This account came over with a last date of service 11-4-2009.

We had no communication from ****** after multiple attempts to send invoices as well as phone contacts attempted and messages left.  We did not hear from ****** until 12-9-2010 when she called our office claiming she was represented by an attorney for this and it was actually paid by her attorney directly to ******.  She gave check number 51508 from ****** law offices in the amount of 886.83 dated 11-25-2010.  Federated then contacted our client to verify if this payment was in fact received.  They advise the check was received from ******’s attorney but not cashed as the check was restrictively endorsed saying payment in full for all charges for ******.  We contacted the ******’s attorney to advise the client can not cash their payment as it was restrictively endorsed. 

****** law offices then resent the check to our office for 886.83 with a letter saying is payment in full for charges only related to accident on 1-29-09.  As stated earlier in this letter, ****** places multiple dates of service with us under once total balance. 

The disputed amount of 104.00 is actually including 39.02 worth of interest.  The principle amount remaining is just 64.98.  We tried to explain the situation to ****** 12-29-2010; that the remaining charge was unrelated to the accident and that is why it remains unpaid.  She did not like that, began to swear at the representative and eventually terminated the call on us.

If ****** agrees to pay the remaining 64.98 of principle left on her account FAC will agree to delete the interest for her and get this updated on her credit report.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******  ******

 

 

I was never advised this information from the company. I was constantly rudely interrupted and disrespected which caused me to get upset and end the call. I will be willing to pay the $69 but I would like to receive a statement in writing stating this and I will be happy to settle

 

10/11/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 4 2012 I sent a letter regarding a notice I found on my credit report for uncollected balance of $52.00, received in return was just a statement showing I owed $347.50???, no explanation of why I did not receive correspondence regarding this outstanding balance or why the difference from my credit report to the statemtn. There was a change of my mailingl address and believe this is where the problem for correspondence may have stemmed from however the mail was set to forward and monthly payment were being made prior to that to Aurora and don't understand why it was sent to collection if payments were being made? I did in the interim call FAC between the inital Februray 4 letter to be sure to set up payments to get resolved but yet I to this day have no answer as to why and how this went to my credit report rather than my attention first. My letter dated 5-21-2012 request proof of the changes made to my credit report as well as a written response to now two letters of corresondence from me with no answer. FAC expected payment and I expected answers in return but have received nothing!!!!

Desired Settlement: Want full explanation and removal from my credit report.

Business Response: ********* ********** **mpany received 3 charges for ***** all from Aurora Advanced Health Care.  Two charges were received with us 4-22-2011 for 455.00 and 26.00.  Our validation notice was sent to the address*** ****** ** ****** **** ** *****.  A third charge was then received from AAHC on 5-20-2011 for 186.00.  FAC sent the validation on that new charge on 5-24-2011.  These validation notices were sent to the address APril has verified as correct.  On those notices it explains the balances placed with FAC become eligible to report to a debtors credit report 30 days after we receive it.

On 7-18-2011 we sent another notice for the total of all three charges we received from AAHC.  On 8-24-11 another notice was sent for the total with FAC.  11-11-11 a now 5th notice was sent out.  FAC never received mail return or forwarding information.  The phone numbers we attempted were unfortunately no good.  On 2-9-2012 we did receive the dispute letter regarding a 52 dollar charge on her credit report.  FAC was unsure what account ***** was referring to so we sent out the itemized statements on each of the three charges previously mentioned.  ON 3-2-2012 ***** contacted our office and set up payments with us for 50 dollars a month.  She made two 50 dollar payments in 3-2012, 50 on 4-25-2012, and then paid the remaining balance of all her accounts on 5-24-2012. 

FAC reported each of these to April's credit report as paid in full once they were paid in full. 

There is also mention of monthly payments were being made to AAHC so she was unsure to why the accounts were even sent.  AAHC can send a balance to collections at any point regardless of payments being made or not.

********* ********** ** has decided to go ahead and just delete the credit entries for April.  We are going to forward a letter for each account saying it has been paid in full and we have agreed to delete from the credit bureaus.  Hopefully this eliminates any concerns ***** has. 


Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

***** ******