Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Credit Bureau Data, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Credit Bureau Data, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (608) 785-2222 Fax: (608) 784-4988 View Additional Phone Numbers 518 State St, La Crosse, WI 54601 http://www.cbdlax.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Credit Bureau Data, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Credit Bureau Data, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Credit Bureau Data, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 22, 2004 Business started: 02/23/1979 in WI Business started locally: 02/23/1979 Business incorporated: 02/23/1979 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Nancy J. Borgen, President Ms. Laura Thesing, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nancy J. Borgen, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Stacy L Lockington, Compliance Officer
Business Category

Collection Agencies Credit Reporting Agencies Billing Service Collection Agencies (NAICS: 561440)

Industry Tips
Credit Report-Understanding Your Credit Report

Additional Locations

  • 518 State St

    La Crosse, WI 54601 (608) 785-2222 (800) 947-3604

  • PO Box 2288

    La Crosse, WI 54602

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been making payments to Credit Bureau of $50 bi-monthly for some time now. I have recieved calls pressuring me to increase the amont I pay on a regular basis, I been threatened with prosecution in the court system if I do not increase the payments, fill out financial disclosure statements and provide a declined loan document from a bank. Most recently I spoke with ***** and she pressured me to increase my payment to $100 bi-monthly with the threat of taking me to court for outstanding account balances and stating that she need documents to present to the account holders as proof that I cannot pay more than $50 every two weeks. Prior to speaking to *****, *** handled my account and due to the fact that he was out and out rude and belittling to me on the phone stating that I could make more of an effort to pay then Credit Bureau Data would be more willing to work with me. I do in fact have a large account balance and I am attempting to resolve this debt without filing backruptcy. I am contacting a ****** regarding the harrassing phone calls and the pressure put on me to increase my payments with threats of court and wage garnishment. I have filled out all paper work sent to me by the court system on previous judgements and the court has not ordered any thus far. I have made regular payments but have no "payment plan". I have made arragments with several other debt collectors and I have been treated respectfully and my payments (no payment plan) have been acceptable, as long as I make regular payments.

Desired Settlement: Credit Bureau Data will take my payment of $50 bi-monthly in check form. I will not set up any more electronic payments. Credit Bureau Data will not call me regarding my account unless I do not make two payments a month (WI Cease and Desist Law). Credit Bureau Data will stop harassing me .

Business Response:

February 22, 2013

1138071

BBB of Wisconsin

10101 W Greenfield Ave., Ste. 125

Milwaukee WI 53214

Re: Complaint # ******* – ***** **********

As the Compliance Officer of Credit Bureau Data, Inc. (“CBD”), I have received the complaint filed by ***** ********** through the Better Business Bureau.    I have reviewed all communications and actions regarding the accounts in question and have provided the following response.  CBD received a similar complaint directly from Ms. ********** via email on 02/16/13.  CBD’s response to the direct complaint is included with this response.

In regards to Ms. **********’s complaint, CBD has asked Ms. ********** to increase payments or comply with CBD’s extended payment policy.  Because accounts listed at CBD are collection accounts and by definition, delinquent, payment in full is due.  CBD understands a consumer may not be able to pay in full a balance owed and has established an extended payment policy.  According to CBD’s policy, a completed voluntary financial disclosure of assets form and a loan denial are required to establish a payment plan extending beyond 180 days.  CBD collects accounts on behalf of the creditor and must be able to justify to the creditor why CBD would agree to an extended payment arrangement.  The loan denial confirms the consumer cannot obtain a loan to pay in full the balance.  The financial disclosure form helps CBD determine an acceptable, reasonable payment amount by taking into account income and assets in relationship to expenses.  When the accounts in question are judgment accounts, CBD may proceed by filing a garnishment order if the consumer does not comply with this extended payment policy.

Representatives of CBD have asked Ms. ********** to comply with the extended payment policy on numerous occasions beginning 03/08/12.  Ms. ********** has repeatedly refused to provide documentation proving that she cannot make a higher payment.  She has stated she can pay $50 biweekly, however has not provided the requested proof of her additional loan payments or expenses.  Therefore, CBD did not have the necessary documentation to agree to an extended payment arrangement. 

CBD has, on occasion, agreed to set up short term payment arrangements with Ms. ********** that have not complied with CBD’s extended payment policy.  However, CBD agreed to these short term payment arrangements after Ms. ********** stated payments would increase soon after or she would be able to make a larger payment in the near future.

During the most recent communication with CBD on 02/15/13, Ms. ********** spoke with ***** ********, Collection Supervisor at CBD.  ***** explained CBD would proceed with garnishment if Ms. ********** did not comply with CBD’s extended payment policy or increase payments to an acceptable amount, based on Mr. and Ms. **********’s income.  Upon completion of the phone conversation, CBD began the initial steps of requesting a garnishment.  However, Ms. ********** contacted ***** later the same day and agreed to increase her payments to $100 biweekly for a period of six weeks.  Ms. ********** stated she and her husband planned to use their tax refund to pay off a high interest loan and would then take out a loan against their 401k to make a lump sum payment towards her accounts at CBD.  Ms. ********** stated she would be able to make larger payments on the remaining balance.  Therefore, CBD did not proceed with a garnishment.

In summary, CBD has repeatedly attempted to work with Ms. ********** to establish an extended payment plan, but Ms. ********** has refused to comply with CBD’s payment policy.   CBD did not threaten wage garnishment, but rather stated the actions CBD intended to take if Ms. ********** continued to not comply with CBD’s payment policy. 

In regards to Ms. **********’s desired Settlement, CBD will agree to accept biweekly payments of $50 for a period of 90 days beginning 03/01/13.  At the completion of the short term payment arrangement, CBD will review the arrangement with Ms. ********** to determine if the payment amount can be increased.  Per Ms. **********’s request, CBD agrees to cease contact with Ms. ********** regarding any current accounts unless she misses a scheduled payment.  Ms. ********** will need to contact CBD by 06/01/13 to review the payment arrangement or CBD will proceed with collection efforts. 

If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact our office at ###-###-#### or ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

***** **********

********** *******

Credit Bureau Data, Inc.

###-###-####

###-###-####

3/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Even with account numbers written on the memo lines of checks, my payments were credited wrong. After pointing out these mistakes and sending written notes with payments asking them to please read the memo lines for account numbers, the mistakes continued to be made. According to the representative I have not made a payment toward two different accounts for over 3 months. I have checks to prove how my payments should have been credited.

Desired Settlement: Having been turmed over to collections is bad enough. I want some form of proof from them that my account is being payed and I have not missed payments. I do not need this mistake to make my credit look even worse. I am not missing payments and there should not be anything in my file or on my credit report that says I have.

Business Response:

BBB of Wisconsin

10101 W Greenfield Ave., Ste. 125
Milwaukee WI 53214
Re: Complaint # ******* - **** ** *****

The following is Credit Bureau Data, Inc.' s ("CBD") response to the complaint received from
**** ***** through the Better Business Bureau.
When a consumer has multiple accounts, the policy of CBD is to "tie" accounts upon
establishment of a payment plan and use one primary or "seed" account number as a reference.
If a payment is received referencing this seed account number, CBD applies the payment at its
discretion to accounts tied to the seed. If a payment is received for the specific amount of an
account, the payment is applied to that account. If a payment is received with directions to apply
the payment to a specific account (not the seed account), it is CBD's policy to apply the payment
as directed.
In her complaint, Ms. ***** stated CBD did not apply payments as she requested. On 9/10/12
Ms. ***** spoke to ******** ***** and discussed payment application regarding her multiple
accounts. Ms. ***** stated she would note on the payment which accounts should receive the
payment. On 9/10/12, CBD added a reminder to accounts to apply payments as directed on
****'s checks. To CBD's knowledge, payments have been applied as directed from that point,
with the exception of the 1/7/13 payment.
On 1/7/13, CBD received a payment from Ms. ***** which was noted to apply to an account
that was previously paid. ******** ***** contacted Ms. ***** and received permission to
apply the payment to an account with a balance owing. CBD provided Ms. ***** an updated
list of accounts and balances when she visited our office on 2/7/13.
Ms. ***** stated in her complaint that she was told certain accounts had not received payment
in three months. CBD has received consistent payments from Ms. ***** on the total balance in
our office. When Ms. ***** began payments to CBD, she had three accounts in our office.
Upon receiving additional accounts for Ms. *****, she was contacted by ******** *****. Ms.
***** agreed to apply future payments to the newer, smaller accounts to reduce the number of
accounts credit reported, or she would note where to apply the payment on her check. With the
payments now being applied to the smaller accounts, payments were not applied to the three
initial accounts, However, payments continued on the combined balance of the accounts,
In response to Ms. *****'s complaint regarding the credit reporting of missed payments on
accounts, CBD does not credit report missed payments. Accounts at CBD are collection
accounts and by definition, delinquent accounts. Therefore, CBD does not credit report missed
or delinquent payments such as a credit card company may. CBD does credit report updated
balances of collection accounts due to payments.
In response to Ms. *****'s request for proof of payment on accounts, CBD has provided a list
of payments received in 2012 and has set her accounts to send a receipt after each future
payment.
CBD apologizes if any payments were not applied as requested by Ms. ***** and will gladly
redistribute payments as requested, with proof of incorrect payment application. However, the
total balance due the original creditor will remain the same. CBD believes all issues brought up
in Ms. *****'s complaint have been addressed and resolved.
If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact our office at ###-###-#### or
###-###-####.
***** ********
********** *******
Credit Bureau Data, Inc.
###-###-####
###-###-####

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** *****

I had put account numbers on the memo line of my checks. These account numbers where not followed. They suggested I pay off the smaller/newer accounts first but I chose not to. Since they do not send more than one initial bill, just receipts, I did not have a slip to accompany my payments...hence the memo line with account numbers. They need to read the memo line or send a new bill every month so that I have something to accompany my payment. I do not want or need the payments that have went to different accounts changed, just the knowledge that from now on the payments will be applied as I request. I do have all checks as proof that I list numbers on the memo line if they would like to see them. And I do feel like this is a negative mark toward me in that I paid on these two accounts consistently and now it is listed that I didn't for the months of November and December of 2012. Is it possible to get a new bill monthly instead of just receipts?

 

Business Response:

February 27, 2013

 

 

BBB of Wisconsin

10101 W Greenfield Ave., Ste. 125

Milwaukee WI 53214

 

Re: Complaint # ******* – **** ** *****

 

The following is Credit Bureau Data, Inc.’s (“CBD”) response to Ms. *****’s rejection of CBD’s initial complaint response.  CBD will apply future payments received as requested by Ms. *****.  In addition, while it is not CBD’s policy to send monthly statements on collection accounts once a payment arrangement is established, CBD will send to Ms. ***** a monthly list of accounts providing the following; CBD account number, creditor, and current account balance.  Furthermore, CBD mailed Ms. ***** an updated list of accounts on 02/27/13.  CBD looks forward to resolving the matter with this final response.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact our office at ###-###-#### or ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

***** **********

Compliance Officer

Credit Bureau Data, Inc.

###-###-####

###-###-####

v

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *****

 

11/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tried to get lower payoff or arrange payment. Would not lower at all and the only payment plan they would accept was beyond my physical means. (750.00 per month minimim) Upon payoff I also asked for debt to be removed from credit report which they said they said they would could not do. It would still be on my credit and could be viewed negatively though paid until 2014. Less than a month after contacting them they reported to my credit as I missed a payment even though no payment plan was agreed upon.

Desired Settlement: Work together to come up with a payment plan that I can actually afford. I'm trying to right this and build my credit, but they refuse to budge on their "policies" on payback.

Business Response:

10/10/12

 

Re: ***** ******** a.k.a. *****

 

The following is Credit Bureau Data, Inc.’s (“CBD”) response to Ms. ********’s complaint received through the Better Business Bureau.

 

On 05/21/12, Ms. ******** contacted CBD to request a reduced balance of her accounts.  After discussing the creditor’s and CBD’s settlement policy with CBD collector, ***** *****, Ms. ******** made a settlement offer of $4000.  CBD reviewed the offer with the creditor on 05/22/12, at which time the offer was declined.   As a contracted service provider, CBD is unauthorized to accept settlements on principal balances without approval from the original creditor.  ***** contacted Ms. ******** regarding the denial on 05/22/12.

 

CBD represented the settlement offer to the creditor on 10/08/12 in response to the complaint received.  The creditor once again denied the settlement offer and the request to remove the account from Ms. ********’s credit report.

 

During the 05/21/12 telephone conversation with Ms. ********, ***** ***** explained CBD’s payment policy as follows.  CBD’s payment policy aims to have accounts paid in full within 6 months of listing.  As Ms. ******** stated in her complaint, this would set her payments at approximately $750 per month.  If a consumer is unable to maintain acceptable payments, CBD requires a completed voluntary financial disclosure of assets form and a loan denial to set up a payment plan extending beyond 180 days.  After reviewing the voluntary financial disclosure of assets, CBD would consider alternative payments with Ms. ********.

 

Ms. ******** contacted CBD the morning 05/22/12 with questions regarding the credit reporting and collection process.  Collection Operations *******, ***** ******, spoke to Ms. ******** and explained that once paid in full, CBD would continue to credit report the accounts as paid in accordance with the Fair Credit Reporting Act (“FCRA”).  CBD credit reports the current balance of accounts, original balance, date of listing at CBD, date of service (if available), and the date of delinquency.  CBD does not credit report regarding missed payments.

 

CBD has submitted a request to the creditor to reconsider Ms. ********’s settlement offer and request to remove the account from her credit report.  CBD is awaiting the creditor’s response and will mail information regarding the decision to Ms. ******** once received.  

 

If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact our office at ###-###-#### or ###-###-####.

 

Sincerely,

 

***** **********

********** *******

Credit Bureau Data, Inc.

###-###-####

###-###-####v

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ********

If in fact they do not report any missed payments to the credit reporting agencies, why on 6/7/2012 did I receive potentially negative information reported on my credit report from the two Credit Bureau Data accounts and now all of a sudden my credit history says that I have a missed payment to attribute to my lowered credit score. These are the only negative accounts listed on my credit, all others are current and in good standing.  Also, they have resubmitted themselves as a collections account even though they have been listed as the collections account since it was first entered into my credit report. With the resubmission it drags my credit score down again. They have done this twice so far already in the current year. 2/14/2012 and 6/7/2012 which you can see in the items I've copied and pasted from my current credit report. All I would like to do is get the debt paid off at a reasonable rate and have it removed from my credit report once it is paid in full. I've not only been in contact with Credit Data Bureau, but also the original creditor ********* ********. The hospital talls me they cannot work with me since it is automatically sent to collections and the collections agency tells me the only people that can authorize reduced payoffs or payment plans are the original creditor.  I'm just curious as to who can actually do anything to help me pay off this debt.

Alert Details

Click on any Alert to the left to see details.

Potentially Negative Alert
Reported on 6/7/2012 by ********
Company: CREDIT BUREAU DATA INC
Balance Date:
Current Balance: $****
Status Date: 6/3/2012
Payment Status: COLLECTIONS
Company Phone: **********
Company Address: *** *** ** *
** ******, WI *********
What is Potentially Negative Information?
An item is "potentially negative" when a creditor reports that you have not met the terms of your credit agreement. Negatively reported items include late payments, accounts that have been charged off, and accounts that have been sent to a collection agency. Most negative information remains on your Credit Report for seven years.
 

Alert Details

Click on any Alert to the left to see details.

Potentially Negative Alert
Reported on 6/7/2012 by ********
Company: CREDIT BUREAU DATA INC
Balance Date:
Current Balance: $****
Status Date: 6/3/2012
Payment Status: COLLECTIONS
Company Phone: **********
Company Address: *** *** ** *
** ******, WI *********
What is Potentially Negative Information?
An item is "potentially negative" when a creditor reports that you have not met the terms of your credit agreement. Negatively reported items include late payments, accounts that have been charged off, and accounts that have been sent to a collection agency. Most negative information remains on your Credit Report for seven years.
 
 

Alert Details

Click on any Alert to the left to see details.

Potentially Negative Alert
Reported on 2/14/2012 by Experian
Company: CREDIT BUREAU DATA INC
Balance Date:
Current Balance: $****
Status Date: 2/5/2012
Payment Status: COLLECTIONS
Company Phone: **********
Company Address: *** *** ** *
** ******, WI *********
What is Potentially Negative Information?
An item is "potentially negative" when a creditor reports that you have not met the terms of your credit agreement. Negatively reported items include late payments, accounts that have been charged off, and accounts that have been sent to a collection agency. Most negative information remains on your Credit Report for seven years.
 

Alert Details

Click on any Alert to the left to see details.

Potentially Negative Alert
Reported on 2/14/2012 by Experian
Company: CREDIT BUREAU DATA INC
Balance Date:
Current Balance: $****
Status Date: 2/5/2012
Payment Status: COLLECTIONS
Company Phone: **********
Company Address: *** *** ** *
** ******, WI *********
What is Potentially Negative Information?
An item is "potentially negative" when a creditor reports that you have not met the terms of your credit agreement. Negatively reported items include late payments, accounts that have been charged off, and accounts that have been sent to a collection agency. Most negative information remains on your Credit Report for seven years.

 

Business Response:

The following is CBD’s response to Ms. ********’s rejection to CBD’s response dated 10/16/12.

In regards to Ms. ********’s accounts, the original creditor moves the accounts from their active billing system to a bad debt financial class when accounts are referred to CBD.  This eliminates the possibility of both parties working the accounts and leaves CBD responsible for collecting the accounts.  Since the accounts belong to the creditor, CBD must obtain authorization to accept settlement offers and remove accounts from credit reports.

CBD resubmitted Ms. ********’s previous settlement offer to the creditor after receiving the initial complaint through the BBB.  CBD sent Ms. ******** a letter on 10/11/12 stating the creditor agreed to settle the account at a reduced balance.  The creditor did not authorize the removal of the accounts from Ms. ********’s credit history.  Ms. ******** should refer to this letter for specific settlement information.

If Ms. ******** does not agree to the settlement terms authorized by the creditor, CBD will agree to mutually acceptable payments to pay in full the accounts, given Ms. ******** complies with CBD’s extended payment policy.  This policy states that if a consumer is unable to pay in full the accounts within 180 days, CBD requires a loan denial and a completed voluntary disclosure of assets form.  CBD uses the information in the voluntary disclosure of assets form to determine an affordable payment and to justify the extended repayment period to the creditor.

If Ms. ******** would like to establish an extended payment policy, please contact our office at ###-###-#### or ###-###-#### to request a voluntary disclosure of assets form.

CBD has not “resubmitted” the accounts to Ms. ********’s credit history.  As stated in CBD’s previous response, CBD credit reports the current balance of accounts, original balance, date of listing at CBD, date of service (if available), and the date of delinquency each month.     In January and May 2012, CBD received updated addresses for Ms. ********.  While CBD does not credit report address information, it affects the status of the account.  Thus, the “Status Date” on the credit report entries reflects when ******** received the account information from CBD with the change of status. 

In regards to Ms. ********’s credit score, CBD does not have any control of how the national repositories calculate Ms. ********’s credit score.

In the credit report entries Ms. ******** shared, the “What is Potentially Negative Information?” section does not state the potentially negative information is due to a missed payment.  Rather it states, “Negatively reported items include late payments, accounts that have been charged off, and accounts that have been sent to a collection agency.”  The information credit reported by CBD is potentially negative information because it is in regards to accounts that have been sent to a collection agency. 

In summary, CBD has addressed Ms. ********’s concerns and her request regarding the credit reporting of her accounts and has attempted to work with Ms. ******** regarding payment of the accounts.  CBD will continue to credit report the accounts in accordance with the Fair Credit Reporting Act and the directives of the creditor.  CBD has sent a letter to Ms. ******** with information regarding the creditor’s authorization to accept a reduced amount.  If Ms. ******** does not agree to the settlement terms, CBD will set up acceptable payments with Ms. ******** in compliance with CBD’s extended payment policy.  CBD looks forward to resolving the matter with this final response.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact our office at ###-###-#### or ###-###-####.

 

Sincerely,

 

***** **********
********** *******

Credit Bureau Data, Inc.

###-###-####

###-###-####

 

6/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been disputing a bill at ********* ******* in ****** ****, I was waiting to hear a response from the ****** office. Instead I received a call from "Credit Bureau Data Inc." I informed the representative that I have never received a response from the hospital so I need to talk to them. I was told that I had to pay them now cause the account has been turned over to collections (**************************************. I asked them if the only way to keep this off my credit was to pay it? The representative said "yes". I check FDCPA laws as I thought I should have rights to a valid dispute. I called the company and spoke to Wendy Kasten I informed her that I should have the right to dispute the charges, and the action taken by the company was unethical. Wendy gave me a new deadline to pay by and keep it off of my credit report. I again stated I'm disputing this, that is the only reason I am not paying. Wendy eventually did send validation of the debt. When I received the validation I called the ###-###-#### included in the letter. The phone never rang, in just went to a static and a fast busy signal. I tried the following morning and the phones responded in the same way. I personally went to the ****** office after not being able to contact Credit Bureau Data Inc. within the 30 days allotted to dispute the debt. A woman by the name of Jessica told me that all billing is done and Wisconson and she can not even produce a bill in office to see my dispute. I then contacted an attorny named FDCPA Attorney ****** ***** at ###-###-#### I explained to her what happened. I did not retain her she just took my call and agreed that I should have been informed of the right to dispute rather then pushing me to pay it by stating a deadline i needed to meet to protect my credit status. Some time later I received a call from a ###-###-#### I answered and it was Credit Bureau Data Inc. I was at work and had to step out of the production floor to take the call. I paid the bill in full as i felt I really had no other coarse of action to stop this. Today June 4th 2012 I went to get a personal loan. My lender informed that I had dropped my credit score over the last time he looked and at it with me. I inquired as to why and he gave a print out that shows that I "Disputed the bill" then "Paid in full" as though I realized that my dispute was not valid and now needed to be paid. I Called Credit Bureau Data Inc. today and explained that this should have never been put on my credit as I tried several times to contact them and the phone never connected me. I asked that they remove the mark from my CBR. The represenitive told me she would call me back. She did and told me they are leaving this on my credit, I explained to them all the touble I had gone through. Then they said they will remove the dispute and just leave the paid in full. Almost rubbing in that it's no problem to update but we are ONLY willing to update the dispute status to make it reflect i was satisfied with the service, just late paying it. I asked for a call back by a manger and was informed the manger is Wendy Kasten. I feel this is my best coarse of action to protect myself from this type of behavior. **** ******

Desired Settlement: 1.) Remove this from all three Credit Bureau's #******* 2.) Train and understand the right to disput a debt under the FDCPA

Business Response: Re: **** ****** 

Mr. ******’s ********* ******** (clinic account) account number ******* in the amount of $224.00 was placed with Credit Bureau Data, Inc. on 10/24/11.  The Notice of Listing was mailed to Mr. ****** on 10/24/11, providing thirty days to pay the debt, dispute the debt, or request validation of the debt, in accordance with FDCPA requirements. 

 

Collection staff attempted to contact Mr. ****** by telephone on 01/20/12.  Later that day, Mr. ****** contacted our office stating he disputed the debt.  The collector flagged the account as disputed and requested Mr. ****** submit his dispute in writing to CBD.

 

Mr. ****** contacted our office again on 01/20/12 and was transferred to Collection Operations Manager ***** ******.  Mr. ****** stated he disputed the debt and requested validation at this time.  Ms. ****** informed him the account had not been reported to his credit history but was scheduled to be reported the week of 02/01/12 if not paid in full by that time. 

 

Subsequent to the contact with Mr. ******, Ms. ****** contacted the original creditor and verified they had no record of contact by Mr. ****** regarding the referenced account.  CBD mailed the itemized statement to Mr. ****** upon receipt of the statement from the original creditor on 01/25/12, thus validating the debt.

 

CBD received payment in full of $224.00 by credit card on 03/22/12.

 

Mr. ****** contacted CBD on 04/02/12 and requested a receipt of payment.  A supervisor was not available at the time to assist him with his request, but Mr. ****** stated he could call back.

 

Mr. ****** contacted CBD on 06/04/12 and requested the account be removed from his credit report.  CBD contacted the original creditor on 06/04/12 regarding the request for removal from Mr. ******’s credit report.  CBD received authorization to remove the dispute flag from the account if Mr. ****** requested, but the account was to remain credit reported as paid in full.

 

A collector from CBD contacted Mr. ****** on 06/04/12 with the response to his request for removal of the account from his credit report.  Mr. ****** stated he was told in the initial communication with CBD on 01/20/12 that the account would be removed from his credit report if paid.  He requested the collection supervisor review the call recordings from 01/20/12 to verify this.

 

On 06/04/12, ***** ****** reviewed all call recordings regarding the account and found Mr. ****** was informed the account would not be credit reported if paid in full by 02/01/12.  Ms. ****** left a message for Mr. ****** regarding her findings on 06/04/12.  CBD has not received a response to Ms. ******’s voice message.

 

CBD has not received a written letter of dispute from Mr. ****** as requested by the collector on 01/20/12.  If Mr. ****** submitted to CBD a letter stating the nature of his dispute, CBD would forward the dispute letter to the original creditor for review.  Review of the dispute by the original creditor may change the status of this account and the credit reporting of the account. 

CBD apologizes for any technical difficulty you may have experienced while attempting to contact our office.  All notices sent by CBD contain a toll free phone number, as well as an additional phone number to contact our office should there be any problems with the toll free line.  Calls received during FDCPA permissible hours of contact (8 a.m. to 9 p.m., local time), the toll free number is answered by a live representative or an automated message.  Calls received outside permissible hours are not answered due to a system shut down.

 

If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact our office at ###-###-#### or ###-###-####.

 

Sincerely,

   ***** **********

Credit Bureau Data, Inc.

###-###-####

###-###-####