Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Certified Recovery, Inc.

Phone: (715) 833-1455 View Additional Phone Numbers 1280 W Clairemont Ave Ste 1, Eau Claire, WI 54701


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a collection agency.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Certified Recovery, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Certified Recovery, Inc. include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Certified Recovery, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Certified Recovery, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 20, 1998 Business started: 03/16/1992 in WI Business started locally: 03/16/1992 Business incorporated 03/16/1992 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Patrick J. Karr, President / Treasurer Ms. Linda A. Nelson, Vice President / Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick J. Karr, President / Treasurer
Principal: Ms. Linda A. Nelson, Vice President / Secretary
Business Category

Collection Agencies Collection Agencies (NAICS: 561440)

Alternate Business Names
ARMS
Industry Tips
Aproveche para Librarse de las Deudas Collection Agency-Credit Counseling-Facts For Consumers Credit Report-Understanding Your Credit Report Debt-How to Repay Your Debt Debt-improve your financial status

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Certified Recovery, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1280 W Clairemont Ave Ste 1

    Eau Claire, WI 54701 (715) 833-1455 (800) 236-0016

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/23/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently I was made aware of a negative account on my credit report. The account is with Certified Recovery, which I have disputed several times as there is no amount due to them. I have provided proof that the account was paid in full several times yet it remains on my credit report. This affects my credit score negatively.

Desired Settlement: I request that the account not be reported negatively rather it be corrected to show as not delinquent and paid in full as there was never an amount due to them from me.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the alleged complaint from ***** *****. In May of 2014 ***** ***** sent a written dispute to Certified Recovery, Inc.  We validated the debt on May 28, 2014.  I have attached a Transunion Account Reporting Review form dated December 31, 2014.  It shows that Certified Recovery, Inc. is not reporting any tradelines on ***** *****'s credit report. Please let me know if you have any questions.  Thank you.

***** * ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

It appears as though the company has not provided all of the information.  After I disputed the debt I did not hear from them until March of 2015, at which time I responded to them again along with my original correspondence (which is attached).  In fact, there is no debt to validate as I have the original bill and explanation of benefits from both my medical and dental carriers showing the amounts paid in full.  In addition, just because they did not report to Transunion does not mean that they didn't report to other agencies, the false information.  In fact, my credit report shows the debt at the other two agencies, and shows it as disputed but still outstanding.  Completely false information.

Lastly, as they alleged they validated the debt, I would like them to provide the name, title, and contact information of each individual who accessed my private health information as I fear there may be a HIPAA violation as well.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response:

I have reviewed the alleged complaint.

On May 13, 2014, ***** ***** sent in a written dispute letter to Certified Recovery, Inc.  In the dispute letter she also ceased all verbal communication from Certified Recovery Inc.  We validated the debt on May 28, 2014 and marked the item as a disputed item to reflect on her Transunion Credit report.

On March, 2, 2015 we sent ***** a collection letter since we were again ceased from all verbal communication with her.  On March 9, 2015 we received a cease and desist letter from ***** *****.  She stated that she previously disputed the debt on May 13, 2014 and that Certified Recovery Inc. failed to respond within 30 days with a validation of the debt.  Again, we have a copy of the validation sent from our office on May 28, 2014.  Also, on March 9, 2015 we coded the account to be deleted from the Transunion data base.  We report to Transunion at the end of the month and this account was on the file sent on April 2, 2015 for deletion. Certified Recovery Inc. only reports and has a contract with Transunion.  *****, if you have a report showing that Certified Recovery Inc. is reporting to the two other bureaus then I would request that you send me copy of that for my review.  You stated that these items were being reported to the two other bureaus as disputed and outstanding.

I did recently contact the BayCare Health System to go over your account again.  I have attached page 7 of your first dispute from May 13, 2014.  Your dental insurance, Assurant Benefits and also your medical insurance, United Health Care both paid this claim.  This resulted in a credit on your account of $540.88. Please see Prev Bal on the attachment.  At that time Assurant Benefits had to be reimbursed from the BayCare Health System since the claim was paid by two carriers.  They refunded Assurant Benefits $98.95 and had to put the adjustments back on your account.  The Insurance Adjustments were 8.00, 186.00 and 688.72 which then resulted in a balance owing by yourself of $440.79.   If you take -540.88 and add 98.95, 8.00, 186.00, and 688.72 you arrive at a balance of 440.79 which is indicated on the 1/20/2014 billing statement. If you have questions regarding this transaction I would suggest contact Assurant Benefits.

Certified Recovery Inc. has a Business Associate contract with the BayCare Health Systems in accordance with the Privacy rules of HIPAA.  Since Certified Recovery Inc. is a Business Associate of the Baycare Health System and has a signed contract in place were are  allowed us legal access to protected health information. In your case, we requested an itemized statement in order to validate your debt under the contractual Business Associate agreement with the BayCare Health Systems.

5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Certified Recovery is reporting that the last date of activity on this account was 4/2/15 which is in error and is a violation of the CFPB. Please have this account deleted because of their error and violation of law. It is making such a dramatic impact on my credit report that we are no longer approved for our first home loan.

Desired Settlement: To have the account deleted.

Business Response: I have reviewed the alleged complaint from ***** ***** *******.  Certified Recovery, Inc reports all eligible records to ********** on a monthly basis. 

I did perform an Account Reporting Review on ***** ******* and I have attached it to this e-mail.  I downloaded all records on April 2, 2015 and electronically sent the file to **********. 
The 04/15 "Date Verified" does not indicate the date of last activity.  That is the date the account was last updated in **********'s system.
On April 29, 2015 I e-mailed my account manager at ********** and also one of the *** analyst employees.  I attached the same attachment and specifically asked if the 
Date Verified :  4/15 field was an indicator of the date of last activity.  I have copied and pasted their response below.  I will also give you and explanation of the other fields.  
Date Opened:  11/10 is when your account was turned over for collection. 
High Credit:  $6596.00 is the amount turned over for collection. 
Amount Past Due:  Total balance due with accumulated interest from date of assignment allowed by WI statute ******. 
Date Verified: 4/15 is the date the account was last updated at **********. 
I hope this clarifies the situation.
***** * ****** 
********** RESPONSES BELOW:

Hi *****,

 To echo what ***** said, yes the date verified should show 4/15.  The effective date on the last file was sent was 4/2/2015 but the customer should not see this date.  He should just be seeing 4/15. 

 ***


***** 

I’m not sure what kind of report the consumer is looking at but you are correct when you indicate that your trade shows a last reported date of 04/2015.  That is the date the account was last updated in our system, per your file 

Please let me know if you have any other questions. 

Thank you,

*****

 

Consumer Response: I am not referring to the reporting date.  I am referring to the date of last activity.  I have not made any payments or had any interaction with this company therefore there should not be an activity date of 4/15.

Business Response: *****, 

I provided you an attachment of how Certified Recovery Inc is reporting this data.  In order further assist you I would request a copy of the document you are referring to. 
This way I can review the document and try and resolve this issue for you.  We are reporting your account correctly. You keep referring to "date of last activity" and I would 
need verification of that to review in order to help you futher.  Thank you. 
***** * ****** 

3/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was not mailed a bill for a 15 month period. When I did recieve a bill and called to resolve it I was called names such as irresponsible, and told I was a rude customer to my Dr because I hadn't paid yet and was berated when I stated I would not pay that day over the phone. I then told them I had an insurance issue and had forgotten about the bill and asked her if she had ever forgotten about something after not getting a bill for well over a year. She told me I was a terrible person for letting my bill go this long. I then informed them I would be not speaking with their company again and would handle the issue with my doctor's office. I hung up and immediately called my doctor's office and offered to pay them. They called Certified Recovery and got the amount I owed. I paid the doctor's office and apologize. The doctor's office sent a fax with my payment to Certified Recovery. Over 3 months later I got another bill from Certified Recovery stating the amount was still due and I needed to pay immediately. I called them and my doctor's office again. The insurance clerk at the doctor's office stated that she had faxed and called them several times about the issue. I called the collection agent Sonya's supervisor to complain about the berating tone and names. My doctor stated they were still having issues with Certified Recovery and no longer used them.

Desired Settlement: Billing needs to be done in a timely fashion. By the time I resolved my insurace injury inquiry, they quit sending bills. However, the most important issue that needs attention is they way their agent was allowed to speak to me. Either they need more training, a more respectful script to follow, or more monitoring of this agent to prevent the berating, belittling, and name calling I was subjected to due to their lack of reasonable billing cycle for older debts. I knew as soon as I got the letter after 15 months that I needed to pay this bill. I did not need to be shamed and bullied into paying. Their excuse was that they tried to call me but didn't leave a message. With all the phone scams we are advised NOT to return calls to unfamiliar numbers. Even after all of this happening in August of 2013, I received another past due bill from them in October! I have yet to recieve any receipt or paperwork from them stating it was resolved. I finally called today to ask if it was resolved before writing this complaint. I want the delay of their billing to be reflected in any credit reporting they have made. Thank you.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the alleged complaint from the consumer.  In November of 2011 my client turned the consumer over to our office for collection in the amount of $116.31.

She was mailed a Bad Debt Verification out the date of listing which was November 16, 2011.  Several messages were left with no return phone call.  The collector then followed with collection letters.  In August of 2013 the consumer stated that she does not work during the summer time and therefore unable to pay her bill. She stated is able to pay in September and will call our client regarding this.  She then hung up the phone.  She did call back several time that day and explained that she gave the client a Post Dated Check for September 5, 2013 for the balance on the account. 

Our office sent in several client requests to our client trying to verify the balance due.  We did not get a response from our client on three differenct occassions.  The consumer did call our office again on October 15, 2013 wondering why we still showed a balance owing on the account.  My manager called the client and on October 18, 2013 they reported to us that the consumers account was paid in full.

Since I am uncertain on when the payment was actually made I deleted this trade from the consumers credit report on March 4, 2014. Her record should be updated in about 10 business days.  I am also mailing the consumer a copy of a statement showing that the account is paid in full along wth a copy of the UDF that the item has been deleted. 

***** * ******

 

 

8/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the week of July 1st I receive a bill in the mail from this collection agency. At this time I called the number that was listed and spoke to Emily. She told me that there was a whole bunch of bills that were turned over to her from my daughter's surgery, emergency room visits, eyes check ups and what not. At this time I pulled out all my billing receipts that showed that I had all of this paid in full and was at a $0 balance. She argued with me and argued with me. She was insistent that that they hospital and my doctor had turned all of this over to collections. At this time I called the billing department at Aurora and they told me that in fact I was at a $0 balance except for a new charge from the most recent appointment and that was not turned over to collections. Certified Recovery claims that they had been sending me statements time and time again and I was not responding to them. That simply is not true! I NEVER seen anything like this until this past week and I addressed it right away (you can check my call logs). The Aurora billing department told me not to pay anything because it was already paid. I even have a debit card receipt. Well after I told Emily this she was extremely mad, still insisting that I owed them money. She told me that my eye daughter eye doctor had turned this over to collection on the 8th of this month. They told me no such thing ever happened. I just received a bill in the mail for her last appointment and it is not even past due. I about $50.00 and I sent out a check to pay it. Certified Recovery is claiming that I owe THEM that money. Last night, on the 8th, I scanned in and emailed all my Paid In Full bills and now this morning they are coming up with a different story. She told me that her and her manager said that I owned money from something else now. She called me right at work twice. I took this call outside and told her that I was advised by Aurora not to pay this because is it not owed. At this time she started to get snippy with me and said she was going to get her manager. This company NEVER sent me anything on this until last week. I NEVER heard of anything of the such. In February, I paid off all of my doctors bills. Everything is itemized out on these bills. She was claiming that I owed for anesthetic. If you look at my bill, you can clearly see that it was all paid in full. I told them I was advised not to pay this and was going to and not to call me again. Aurora bill told me to tell them that. She started to yell at me and I told her I was at work and if he kept calling me I was going to go down to the police station. And I mean it. Then she proceeded to tell me that she was now going to be taking legal action against me. I don't need this type of harassment, especially when I have paperwork showing I paid it in full. I am not dealing with this company. They totally lied. Again, I was NEVER contacted by them, nor did they ever send anything out to me saying that I was in collections. This is 3rd day that they harassed me during work hours. I simply am not dealing with these people. I have all the paperwork showing what I paid in addition to my NEW bill showing what I owe.

Desired Settlement: Being that all areas of Aurora claim that this never existed and I have my paperwork. I have proven that I do not owe this money. They advised me that they are reporting this negative activity to all the credit agencies, in addition to taking legal action. I am trying to rebuild my credit after a Bankruptcy from a job loss and I have been doing a good job so far and now they are pulling this on me. Any documentation you need from me, I can certainly supply. They need to drop these claims because Aurora as well as myself know they are untrue. I will not have someone call me a lair.

Business Response:

I did listen to the recorded phone call of the alleged complaint. The phone call was not made directly into her place of employment but it was made to a phone number provided to my client from her. She is correct in that Aurora Medical Center is not one of our clients.  They are a separate entity from our client group.  ***** did explain this to her in the recorded phone call. We have sent her an itemized statement from our client for all bills listed in our agency.  Emily tried to give her the phone number to our client so she could verify all information.  She refused to take this information down and said she was never going to pay the bills. She is also correct that she has a current bill for $59.44 but she also has a bill in collection for the same amount and client for a different date of service.  Our office did receive receipts of payment from her but the receipts were for Aurora Medical Center which is a separate entity and not our client.  I did call over to our client on July 18, 2013 and spoke to them about the alleged complaint and verified all information.  The information in our office is correct and owing.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** ****

 

 

8/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A woman contacted me today and proceeded to insult me because I was unable to pay my bill in full at that time. I intended to make a payment, but decided not to as her rudeness escalated.

Desired Settlement: I know what money is due, I have copies of my statements. Calling to insult me will only make this company last on my list of piad bills. I would like to stop recieving callsfrom them.

Business Response:

I was just notified of this complaint on July 25, 2013.  I reviewed the conversation from February 18, 2013. The collector spoke with the debtor and she stated she works part time and her husband works full time.  She can barely make payments and explained it is none of our business why.  She requested to talk to a supervisor and was transferred to Andy.  She explained she did not want to be contacted by our collector any longer.  A majority of her accounts have been in our office for over two years.  The debtor has never made one payment on her account.