BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

Certified Recovery, Inc.

Phone: (715) 833-1455 View Additional Phone Numbers 1280 W Clairemont Ave Ste 1, Eau Claire, WI 54701

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a collection agency.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Certified Recovery, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Certified Recovery, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Certified Recovery, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 20, 1998 Business started: 03/16/1992 in WI Business started locally: 03/16/1992 Business incorporated: 03/16/1992 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Patrick J. Karr, President / Treasurer Ms. Linda A. Nelson, Vice President / Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick J. Karr, President / Treasurer
Principal: Ms. Linda A. Nelson, Vice President / Secretary
Business Category

Collection Agencies Collection Agencies (NAICS: 561440)

Alternate Business Names
ARMS
Industry Tips
Aproveche para Librarse de las Deudas Collection Agency-Credit Counseling-Facts For Consumers Credit Report-Understanding Your Credit Report Debt-How to Repay Your Debt Debt-improve your financial status

Additional Locations

  • 1280 W Clairemont Ave Ste 1

    Eau Claire, WI 54701 (715) 833-1455 (800) 236-0016

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 236-0016(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was not mailed a bill for a 15 month period. When I did recieve a bill and called to resolve it I was called names such as irresponsible, and told I was a rude customer to my Dr because I hadn't paid yet and was berated when I stated I would not pay that day over the phone. I then told them I had an insurance issue and had forgotten about the bill and asked her if she had ever forgotten about something after not getting a bill for well over a year. She told me I was a terrible person for letting my bill go this long. I then informed them I would be not speaking with their company again and would handle the issue with my doctor's office. I hung up and immediately called my doctor's office and offered to pay them. They called Certified Recovery and got the amount I owed. I paid the doctor's office and apologize. The doctor's office sent a fax with my payment to Certified Recovery. Over 3 months later I got another bill from Certified Recovery stating the amount was still due and I needed to pay immediately. I called them and my doctor's office again. The insurance clerk at the doctor's office stated that she had faxed and called them several times about the issue. I called the collection agent Sonya's supervisor to complain about the berating tone and names. My doctor stated they were still having issues with Certified Recovery and no longer used them.

Desired Settlement: Billing needs to be done in a timely fashion. By the time I resolved my insurace injury inquiry, they quit sending bills. However, the most important issue that needs attention is they way their agent was allowed to speak to me. Either they need more training, a more respectful script to follow, or more monitoring of this agent to prevent the berating, belittling, and name calling I was subjected to due to their lack of reasonable billing cycle for older debts. I knew as soon as I got the letter after 15 months that I needed to pay this bill. I did not need to be shamed and bullied into paying. Their excuse was that they tried to call me but didn't leave a message. With all the phone scams we are advised NOT to return calls to unfamiliar numbers. Even after all of this happening in August of 2013, I received another past due bill from them in October! I have yet to recieve any receipt or paperwork from them stating it was resolved. I finally called today to ask if it was resolved before writing this complaint. I want the delay of their billing to be reflected in any credit reporting they have made. Thank you.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the alleged complaint from the consumer.  In November of 2011 my client turned the consumer over to our office for collection in the amount of $116.31.

She was mailed a Bad Debt Verification out the date of listing which was November 16, 2011.  Several messages were left with no return phone call.  The collector then followed with collection letters.  In August of 2013 the consumer stated that she does not work during the summer time and therefore unable to pay her bill. She stated is able to pay in September and will call our client regarding this.  She then hung up the phone.  She did call back several time that day and explained that she gave the client a Post Dated Check for September 5, 2013 for the balance on the account. 

Our office sent in several client requests to our client trying to verify the balance due.  We did not get a response from our client on three differenct occassions.  The consumer did call our office again on October 15, 2013 wondering why we still showed a balance owing on the account.  My manager called the client and on October 18, 2013 they reported to us that the consumers account was paid in full.

Since I am uncertain on when the payment was actually made I deleted this trade from the consumers credit report on March 4, 2014. Her record should be updated in about 10 business days.  I am also mailing the consumer a copy of a statement showing that the account is paid in full along wth a copy of the UDF that the item has been deleted. 

***** * ******

 

 

9/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 10/30/2009 I had a hospital stay at ****** ********* in *** ****** WI. The care that was provided was outstanding. I have health insurance through *****. As the weeks passed I watched the letters coming from ***** stating what they would pay for. From what I can tell the final payments from ***** where made sometime in January 2010 to ****** *********. February 16, 2010 I received a letter from Certified Recovery also of Eau Claire, WI stating my account from ****** ********* was turned over to them for collection. For the last two weeks, Certified Recovery has not returned any of the three messages I have left them. I have also called ****** ********* offering to pay this amount, but they tell me I cannot pay them directly and to contact Certified Recovery. Looks like I am between a rock and hard spot. I do not dispute that I owe this amount but I am having a hard time understanding why ****** ********* would turn this over to a collection agency in less than a month from the time the final payment from insurance was made. All I want to do is pay this and move on but it does not seem either ****** ********* or Certified Recovery have the same goal. In the meantime this will be reported to the credit agencies as a past due account. I don’t think this is fair or a good business practice.

Desired Settlement: I just want to pay this bill and not have it show on my credit.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the alleged complaint from ****** *****.  Apparently this complaint was not answered in 2010 so therefore I am answering it at this time. On February 16, 2010 my client, Midelfort Clinic placed ****** ***** in collection.  The amount listed was $2,240.52. The same day a Bad Debt Verification was mailed to ****** *****.

 

Our contract at that time with all of Luther Midelfort entities stated that we were not allowed to call the guarantor during the Validation period.  However, this does not prevent us from talking to a debtor if they call in or returning a call.

 

On March, 8, 2010 the collector had a voice mail message from ****** ***** for a return call.  He also stated that this is his 3rd message and would like a return phone call.  The collector noted that this is the first message received on her voice mail and returned the call promptly.  No return call was received.

 

On March 10, 2010 our office received a complaint from the DFI whish was answered promptly. The collector obtained a work phone and then placed a phone call to ****** at his place of employment.  ****** was very professional and nice about the situation to the collector.  The collector explained that upon receiving messages we promptly return phone calls and did not receive the previous two messages left prior to March 8, 2010.  ****** explained that he did not have his credit card information with him but he would contact our office later in the day or the following business day.  ****** did call back and gave credit card information which we processed.  A portion of the payment was a HSA card which we cannot process but gave the information to Midelfort Clinic which they processed and reported the payment.

 

Since this account was in the validation period FCRA AND FDCPA does not allow a collection agency to report this information to the credit bureaus.  This account was not reported to any outside credit bureau and did not affect ******’s credit rating. 

 

***** * ******

8/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. ***** of Certified Recovery was contacted in May 2011 regarding a notice I received about an unpaid medical transportation to a hospital for me which was owed and paid for by the ********* **************. I, and the ** clerk from the paying office, explained to Mr. ***** that the bill for $943 was to be paid to the ********, *** ** ********. The bill was paid, and check was cashed in June 2011 by *** ** ********. Certified Recovery, maliciously irrespective of Mr. *****'s promise filed a collection activity negative report with ********** ****** ********* agency and damaged my perfect credit history. The creditor, *** ** ******** had originally miss-billed the correct ** office, which I corrected with *** and Mr. *****. Certified Recovery's actions clearly violate the the Wisconsin Statutes regarding Consumer Rights. I and my reputation are being damaged by negative comments for a debt that I did not have any control in processing for payment and payment.

Desired Settlement: Contact ********** ****** and remove item from file. Send me letters of apology for actions taken that I may send to my creditors and any parties effected. Thank you.

Business Response:

I was just able to answer back complaints that I did not receive because the BBB did not have our correct address.  Therefore I received these complaints at a much later date after they took place.

 

On May 18, 2011 Joe spoke with the debtor.  The debtor explained that he has VA and gave us two names at the VA to call.  *** spoke to the VA and they stated they had the

claim but it takes time to process these claims. The service date was June of 2010.

 

On May 25, 2011 Joe explained to the debtor when the account would be credit reported if the account was not paid.  The debtor understood and felt confident this would be resolved.

 

Joe followed up with the VA on June 28th and they stated they had not cut a check yet but for us to check back in a couple of days.  On July 1st Joe called the VA and they stated that check was sent on June 28th to our client.  Our client reported this payment to our office on July 5, 2011.

 

We deleted this item from the debtor’s credit bureau in August of 2011.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** *****

Hello,

The Credit Bureau failed to state that I told them that their "client" hospital failed to bill the correct VA facility in Tomah Wi. as I told them in their admissions process for the emergency room when I was brought in by ambulance.  The various entities from the hospital mistakenly billed the Milwaukee VA. which caused the delay in processing the payment.  They further compounded the problem by billing me the private pay rate of charges for services rather than the correct lower rate for the fees that the government pays for social security and VA charges.  Mr. *** ***** insisted that I pay the inflated charges within 30 days or they would "slam" my credit record despite my explanation of  what had occurred.  The Credit Bureau only removed it from my record after their Client hospital told them to do it and that the debt was mistakenly sent to them while I was working with their accounts receivable lady to help straighten out their billing errors.

  Ask them how much commission did the hospital pay them on the money that the VA paid to the hospital?  The ladies from the VA fee basis office who pay my outside medical bills told me that they know *** ***** from previous dealings and cannot or would not ever render payment for medical bills to their collection agency but always pay the Vendor of the services.  The Agency knows this and I'm sure acted accordingly to try to force me to send them the money so they could take out their fees. Meanwhile my credit was damaged with the three national credit 

 

Thank you,

**** *****

Business Response:

I have reviewed his answer. 

 

First off, I would like to clarify that Certified Recovery Inc is a collection agency.  His answer refers to our company as a Credit Bureau. 

 

My client, is EMS – Franklin.  The Franklin Fire Department transported him to the hospital.  The hospital he was transported to is a separate entity from the Franklin Fire Department.  My client is not the hospital and therefore any admissions process or billing is not shared with our office due to HIPAA privacy rules.

 

Our office works on a contingency basis with EMS for the amount they send over for collection. The collector can not change that amount unless notified by the original creditor.  The collector spoke with the Tomah VA office on several occasions trying to get this resolved. We also spoke with EMS regarding this and on June 24, 2011 they stated all they received in the past was a denial from VA.  The collector then called VA back that same day and they stated the check had not been processed yet.  Also, the VA office only sends money to the client billing their office because of the Tax ID#.

 

Certified Recovery Inc does not report to all three National Credit Bureaus. Our office only reports data to TransUnion . So therefore I am not sure how his credit got damaged with all three of the bureaus.  That information was not provided from Certified Recovery Inc.

 

Certified Recovery Inc deleted his account from TransUnion on E-Oscar in August of 2011 after the patient filed a complaint with TransUnion.  He also is correct that our client called thereafter and requested that we remove this debt from the credit bureau since they originally billed the incorrect VA office which delayed payment from the correct office. At that time we had already deleted the item from his report and this does not reflect on any current credit report or credit score.

 

I hope this clarifies the situation.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** *****

 

Thank you for continuing to pursue this matter.

The companies response deals primarily with word usage and excuses, but fails to address the real problem that even after I immediately I contacted them after receiving their first notice of attempt to collect a debt, and gave them factual information that the debt was not mine to be paid, they continued to put pressure on me to pay the debt and threatened my credit record in order to enforce a larger payment on me rather that the eventual amount paid by the VA.  I understand from the Tomah VA Fee Basis Office who paid the bill that these tactics were known of "Mr. Black" of Certified Recovery from previous dealings with other VA Veterans as well.  It is a despicable practice and not in accordance with the Federal Debt collection regulations.

Thank you again,

**** *****

Business Response:

Our industry has rules and regulations in place for the collection of a debt.

The consumer is legally liable for the debt regardless of insurance.  As a courtesy we may follow up with the insurance company but the insurance company is not legally liable and we will pursue the consumer for payment.

The account can be reported to the credit bureau after the validation period regardless if there is insurance or not.  Also, if an overpayment occurs  the consumer is reimbursed the overage.  We are required by law to reimburse all overpayments $5.00 and above on a monthly basis.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Hello again, and thank you for the chance to once again respond.  The agency's response once again attempts to ignore their violation of the Fair Credit act by attempting to enforce payment by me of an inflated private pay rate for services by their client after they were notified by myself promptly in writing that the billing WAS NOT MY DEBT, would be paid ( and was paid subsequently) by the Veterans Administration when the agency made first contact in writing to me asserting their claim.  *** *** ***** continued his attempt to damage my credit rating by reporting this inflated claim to the national credit reporting agency which he knew would impair my ability to borrow money from lending institutions and negatively affect my credit scores and thus such things as my insurance rates to enforce his collection.  He continued to do such even after talking to the responsible officials at the Veteran's Tomah hospital who told him that the ambulance bill would be paid once they received a correct billing charge for the services rendered at the correct address.  So much for their "validation" process that they tout.  They should have their license as a collection agency revoked as I understand from the VA that they have had similar problems with *** ***** on other occasions.

THANK YOU AGAIN FOR YOUR DEVOTION TO THIS MATTER.

Regards,

****** *****

 

 

8/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the week of July 1st I receive a bill in the mail from this collection agency. At this time I called the number that was listed and spoke to Emily. She told me that there was a whole bunch of bills that were turned over to her from my daughter's surgery, emergency room visits, eyes check ups and what not. At this time I pulled out all my billing receipts that showed that I had all of this paid in full and was at a $0 balance. She argued with me and argued with me. She was insistent that that they hospital and my doctor had turned all of this over to collections. At this time I called the billing department at Aurora and they told me that in fact I was at a $0 balance except for a new charge from the most recent appointment and that was not turned over to collections. Certified Recovery claims that they had been sending me statements time and time again and I was not responding to them. That simply is not true! I NEVER seen anything like this until this past week and I addressed it right away (you can check my call logs). The Aurora billing department told me not to pay anything because it was already paid. I even have a debit card receipt. Well after I told Emily this she was extremely mad, still insisting that I owed them money. She told me that my eye daughter eye doctor had turned this over to collection on the 8th of this month. They told me no such thing ever happened. I just received a bill in the mail for her last appointment and it is not even past due. I about $50.00 and I sent out a check to pay it. Certified Recovery is claiming that I owe THEM that money. Last night, on the 8th, I scanned in and emailed all my Paid In Full bills and now this morning they are coming up with a different story. She told me that her and her manager said that I owned money from something else now. She called me right at work twice. I took this call outside and told her that I was advised by Aurora not to pay this because is it not owed. At this time she started to get snippy with me and said she was going to get her manager. This company NEVER sent me anything on this until last week. I NEVER heard of anything of the such. In February, I paid off all of my doctors bills. Everything is itemized out on these bills. She was claiming that I owed for anesthetic. If you look at my bill, you can clearly see that it was all paid in full. I told them I was advised not to pay this and was going to and not to call me again. Aurora bill told me to tell them that. She started to yell at me and I told her I was at work and if he kept calling me I was going to go down to the police station. And I mean it. Then she proceeded to tell me that she was now going to be taking legal action against me. I don't need this type of harassment, especially when I have paperwork showing I paid it in full. I am not dealing with this company. They totally lied. Again, I was NEVER contacted by them, nor did they ever send anything out to me saying that I was in collections. This is 3rd day that they harassed me during work hours. I simply am not dealing with these people. I have all the paperwork showing what I paid in addition to my NEW bill showing what I owe.

Desired Settlement: Being that all areas of Aurora claim that this never existed and I have my paperwork. I have proven that I do not owe this money. They advised me that they are reporting this negative activity to all the credit agencies, in addition to taking legal action. I am trying to rebuild my credit after a Bankruptcy from a job loss and I have been doing a good job so far and now they are pulling this on me. Any documentation you need from me, I can certainly supply. They need to drop these claims because Aurora as well as myself know they are untrue. I will not have someone call me a lair.

Business Response:

I did listen to the recorded phone call of the alleged complaint. The phone call was not made directly into her place of employment but it was made to a phone number provided to my client from her. She is correct in that Aurora Medical Center is not one of our clients.  They are a separate entity from our client group.  ***** did explain this to her in the recorded phone call. We have sent her an itemized statement from our client for all bills listed in our agency.  Emily tried to give her the phone number to our client so she could verify all information.  She refused to take this information down and said she was never going to pay the bills. She is also correct that she has a current bill for $59.44 but she also has a bill in collection for the same amount and client for a different date of service.  Our office did receive receipts of payment from her but the receipts were for Aurora Medical Center which is a separate entity and not our client.  I did call over to our client on July 18, 2013 and spoke to them about the alleged complaint and verified all information.  The information in our office is correct and owing.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** ****

 

 

8/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A woman contacted me today and proceeded to insult me because I was unable to pay my bill in full at that time. I intended to make a payment, but decided not to as her rudeness escalated.

Desired Settlement: I know what money is due, I have copies of my statements. Calling to insult me will only make this company last on my list of piad bills. I would like to stop recieving callsfrom them.

Business Response:

I was just notified of this complaint on July 25, 2013.  I reviewed the conversation from February 18, 2013. The collector spoke with the debtor and she stated she works part time and her husband works full time.  She can barely make payments and explained it is none of our business why.  She requested to talk to a supervisor and was transferred to Andy.  She explained she did not want to be contacted by our collector any longer.  A majority of her accounts have been in our office for over two years.  The debtor has never made one payment on her account.