BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a consumer debt collection agency that markets to creditors in Wisconsin, Illinois, and Michigan.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Americollect, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Americollect, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 37 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

37 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 30
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 37

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Americollect, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 17, 1997 Business started: 07/01/1964 in WI Business started locally: 07/01/1964 Business incorporated: 07/14/1964 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kenlyn T. Gretz, President Ms. Lisa Vijayakumar , Compliance Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kenlyn T. Gretz, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Vijayakumar , Compliance Officer
Business Category

Collection Agencies Collection Agencies (NAICS: 561440)


Additional Locations

  • 1851 S Alverno Rd

    Manitowoc, WI 54220 (800) 838-0100 (920) 682-0311

  • PO Box 1566

    Manitowoc, WI 54221

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 838-0100(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received numerous harrassing phone calls from this company stating this debt was mine and I asked for proof from the provider that they claim they are collecting for and they will not provide the information requested, and I have told them this debt is not mine. I sent a certified return receipt letter asking for copies of the debt they claim I owe, and received the receipt that they signed for my request on 12/19/2013. Instead I got more harrassing calls threatening me that they would put it on my credit report, which they have now done. I have been working with all three credit reporting agencies to have this removed with little success with the exception of TransUnion who has deleted it because they could not verify the debt.

Desired Settlement: I am entitled by law since I'm being falsely accused, copies of the "Bills" from the original company they are collecting for from this company. If they cannot provide these documents then they need to remove this from my credit report from all three agencies.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing complaint ID #******* by Mr. ****** to my attention. Under the Fair Debt Collection Practices
Act (FDCPA), information regarding a debt may not be disclosed to any third parties without the prior consent of the
consumer given directly to the debt collection. {l} However, Americollect, Inc. may disclose information regarding the
underlying debt to respond to complaint allegations. [2} This communication is not made with 0 view toward collecting
the debt. This communication serves as Americollect, Inc. 's timely response to Mr. ******'s concerns.
We made one outgoing phone call that resulted in our collector leaving a message on Mr. ******'s answering machine
on November 27th, 2013. We have searched our database with the phone number that Mr. ****** has provided with his
complaint (###-###-####) and have not been able to find that number in our system. If there is another number we were
reaching him at I would be happy to look up another number in our system, but per the notes on his account the
November 27th was our only contact with Mr. ******. We have never actually talked to Mr. ******.
I do not have the letter that he has sent certified requesting that we validate these balances. If he would provide a copy
of the letter and the Signature confirmation card, I might be able to locate more information.
, have made contact with the client and they are sending us the itemized statements on the disputed accounts. Once we
have those itemized statements I will be mailing them directly to Mr. ****** address provided in this complaint.
At Americollect we take disputes/complaints, including Mr. ******'s, very seriously. We also take our obligation to the
collection process, the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, the Fair Credit Reporting Act, and our obligation as a data
furnisher under the Metro 2 reporting guidelines and regulations very seriously.
This communication is made for the limited purpose of responding to a dispute and is NOT an attempt to collect a debt.
Once Mr. ******'s receives his itemized statements, if he stiff has additional questions or concerns we encourage him to
contact our office at ###-###-####.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/31/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Good Morning, On Americollect’s social media page, they claim that their “Walls Talk” and teach employees to treat clients, consumers and each other with “Fairness.” I couldn’t disagree more with this claim, as I do not feel I am being treated fairly by Americollect, as a consumer. In 2011, I had a medical bill submitted to Americollect by my healthcare system since I was not able to meet my obligations at the time. In 2012 I was faced with imminent job loss, however managed to make payments to Americollect and eventually pay my debt in full in February 2013. While it did take me some time to pay, I did pay my obligation in full and did not settle for less than I owed. Americollect is the only collection I have on my credit report. Since I know others that have successfully had a collection removed from their credit report, simply by asking Americollect for a goodwill adjustment, I decided to call them to see if I could be extended the same consideration. In March of 2013, after my account was paid in full, I called and spoke to a woman that said she couldn’t delete the account, but the credit bureaus could if I filed a dispute with them. I did as she suggested and submitted a dispute to the credit bureaus. Americollect proceeded to validate the debt, completely negating the statement made by their representative when I called. On April 15th, I decided to email the customer service team at Americollect, in hopes of different, less conflicting results. In only fifteen minutes after I sent my email, I received a sharply scripted response that lacked personal attention to my request. Coincidentally, on April 16th, my credit bureau reported that the status of my account with Americollect had changed from “Paid” to “In collections.” This makes the tradeline more negative than before I’d contacted them. When I asked Americollect about this, they claimed they didn’t make any changes. However as the data furnisher, no one else could have made such a change. I’ve tried reaching out to them again on May 8, June 3, June 18, July 22, September 12, and October 1, 2013. Once, of all of these instances, I received a form letter in the mail stating they would not remove the account. I feel that they have chosen a position of retaliation by reporting my account in a more negative status after I’d contacted them, and then refusing to return my messages. Americollect contacted me multiple times a day as I paid back my debt. However now that they have received their money, it’s impossible to get any service from this company. As long as this account remains on my credit report, I am a consumer to this company, and I should be treated fairly, as they claim, and have each of my requests responded to in a personal, non-form letter manner. The homepage of Americollect’s websites says they are “Ridiculously Nice.” That has not been my experience. Thank you, ****** ****** Acct #: *********

Desired Settlement: I ask that Americollect remove this account from reporting, as they have done with other consumers.

Business Response: Dear Mr. **********,

Friday has arrived and I hope you had a successful week! Attached is my response to complaint #*******. Thank you for allowing me to respond to Ms. ******'s concerns. Have a great weekend.

-*** ******

Business Response: Dear Mr. **********,

Can you believe it is already the end of October! Time sure flies. Hope you are getting all ready for winter.

I have attached our response to Ms. ******'s additional concerns.

Don't forget... change your clock back this weekend! Have a great day!

-***

Consumer Response:

Mr. **********:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Mr. **********, do I have any options here?  Will Americollect not be held accountable for relaying accurate information to the consumer and provide documentation as such...just as I have done?  They acknowledged nothing in my complaint. 

Can they just decide they don't feel like replaying to my complaints any longer and that's it? 

I contacted the BBB for assistance...where do you suggest I go from here?

I appreciate your help,

****** ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The CA didnt send no notice to my house. On Sep 13, 2013 at 3:13pm contact the agency about the negative information. He didn't even have my insurance on file. I asked him a few questions and he couldn't answer. I'm disputing this debt. Under Florida law your company doesn't have a collection id on file. So, you can't collect the debt in this state and i also request full validation on this account.

Desired Settlement: If, the bills is mines would like to settle the debt provided if the company can validated if they are legal to collect in florida and what balance and collection id from state of florida is provided. If the debt is settle would like the negative to be removed in exchange for payment. if the validation of debt can be prove.

Business Response: Re: ID *******: Mr. ****** ********
Dear Mr. ******* **********;

Thank you for bringing concern ID #******* submitted 09/13/2013 by ****** ******** to my
attention. Under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA). information regarding a debt may not
be disclosed to any third parties without the prior consent of the consumer given directly to the debt
collection. [1] However. Americollect. Inc. may disclose information regarding the underlying debt to
respond to complaint allegations. [2] This communication is not made with a view toward collecting the
debt. This communication serves as Americollect lnc.'s timely response to ****** ********'s concerns.
As a reputable collection agency. we take complaints very seriously. I have searched our database and
have been unable to pull up an account under Mr. ****** ********'s name, address or phone number
that was provided with this complaint Also I ran a search of our phone number database for the past 8
months and we have not called the phone number nor has the number been used to call into us.
Upon receiving better information on the account in question I will be happy to send him validation of
the debt. To answer his question about our license number for the state of Florida it is **********.
If after receiving the additional details from this complaint Mr. ******** still has additional questions
or concerns, we encourage him to contact our office at ###-###-####. At this time, we consider this
case closed.
Sincerely.
**** ***********
********** *******
Americollect Inc
[1] 15 U.s.c. § 1392c (b).
[2] See Jones, FTC informal Staff Letter, Dec. 30, 1992.

Business Response: Re: ID *******: Mr. ****** ********, Americollect, Inc.
Dear Mr. ******* **********;
Thank you for bringing concern ID #******* submitted 09/13/2013 by ****** ******** to my
atte ntion. Under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), information regarding a debt may not
be disclosed to any third parties without the prior consent of the consumer given directly to the debt
collection. [1] However, Americollect, Inc. may disclose information regarding the underlying debt to
respond to complaint allegations. [2] This communication is not made with a view toward collecting the
debt. This communication serves as Americollect, Inc.'s timely response to ****** ********'s concerns.
As a reputable collection agency, we take complaints very seriously. We received the additional
request for a settlement on the account and we are authorized by our client to offer a settlement
discount of 30%. That being said, the remaining 70% of the balance, or a total of $179.20 would be due
by Mr. ********. This offer will remain in effect until 12/01/2013. If this settlement amount is paid
before the expiration date it will also not be reported to Mr. ********'s credit file.
I will be happy to discuss this with Mr. ******** personally to resolve this matter. I can be reached at
###-###-####.
Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention. I look forward to a successful resolution of this
matter and maintaining Americollect's position as one of the most respected collection agencies.
Sincerely,
**** ***********
********** *******
************ ***
[1] 15 U.S.c. § 1392c (b).
(21 See Jones, FTC informal Staff Letter, Dec. 3D, 1992.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** ********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received notification from ******* *** (original creditor) that I had an outstanding balance due on a gas utility account #*************, which I promptly paid directly to ******* *** over the phone on 4/10/13. At this same time I pulled my credit reports, only to find this account listed by Americollect, Inc. as in collections. I called ******* *** and they confirmed that the account was pulled back from Americollect, Inc. and that Americollect, Inc. no longer had authority to collect on this account. I sent a letter to Americollect, Inc. on 4/23/13 stating that while I am NOT looking for debt verification under FDCPA §809(b), they ARE incorrectly reporting account information to my credit files and requested they immediately delete their tradeline under FCRA §623(a)(8)(D). I received a letter dated 4/25/13 ignoring my request, and simply updating the account to show as paid. I NEVER paid Americollect, Inc. and they DID NOT have the account in their possession at time of payment to ******* ***.

Desired Settlement: I demand immediate removal of this invalid account's tradelines from all of my credit reports.

Business Response:

 

06/03/2013

 

Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin

10101 W. Greenfield Ave, Ste 125

Milwaukee, WI 53214

 

Re:  ID ******* ******* ********, Americollect, Inc.

 

Thank you for bringing concern ID #******* submitted 06/30/2013 by ******* ******** to my attention. Under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), information regarding a debt may not be disclosed to any third parties without the prior consent of the consumer given directly to the debt collection. [1] However, Americollect, Inc. may disclose information regarding the underlying debt to respond to complaint allegations. [2] This communication is not made with a view toward collecting the debt. This communication serves as Americollect, Inc.’s timely response to ******* ********'s concerns.

As a reputable collection agency, we take complaints very seriously. After reviewing the complaint and previous notes regarding this matter, it would appear that Mr. ********’s statements are partially correct.  Our office did receive account ************* in our office on  12/13/2012. A validation notice was sent via USPS on 12/14/2012 to his home address (the same address listed on complaint #*******). There was no record of  this notice being returned to Americollect as undeliverable). The account was reported to the three major credit bureaus on 2/11/2013, sixty days after the account listed with Americollect. A direct payment made to the client was reported to us 4/12/2013 indicating the account was paid in full.  As part of our normal practice, the account was reported as paid in full with the three major credit bureaus on 5/24/2013.  

After reviewing the nature of the dispute and details of the account, and because Americollect is a company that prides itself on understanding the consumer, Americollect has decided to make an exception and remove all record of this matter from Mr. ********'s credit file. A universal data form requesting this removal has been forwarded to Mr. ******** via USPS at his address listed on this complaint.

If after receiving the additional details from this complaint Mr. ******** still has additional questions or concerns, we encourage him to contact our office at ###-###-####.  At this time, we consider this case closed.

Sincerely,

 

 *** ******

Americollect Inc

 

[1] 15 U.S.C. § 1392c(b).

[2] See Jones, FTC  informal Staff Letter, Dec. 30, 1992.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* ********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First off, I have this Work Comp Claim that has not been paid off by my company for some reason. So I decided it's only about about $100 dollars so I decided to pay it after a few year of everyones BS. I went online and logged on and tried to pay it but was denied. So I called them and then was in the middle of asking them why there website doesn't work and they hung up on me. I guess they really don't want me to pay this bill. HOW CAN THIS BILL BE PAID IF NO ONE WILL ANSWER?

Business Response:

Please find attached our response.

Thank you.

***** *****

Americollect, Inc

Re: Complaint ID *******,  ****** **** ****** and Americollect, Inc.
To whom it may concern at the Better Business Bureau,

Thank you for bringing complaint ID #******* ****** **** ****** to my attention. Under the Fair Debt Collection
Practices Act (FOCPA), information regarding a debt may not be disclosed to any third parties without the prior consent
of the consumer given directly to the debt collection. III However, Americollect, Inc. may disclose information regarding
the underlying debt to respond to complaint allegations. (2t This communication is not made with a view toward
collecting the debt. This communication serves as Americollect, Inc.'s timely response to ****** **** ******'s concerns.
I have reviewed the account, and the call placed to our office by Mr. ****** on February 22, 2013. From what I can
garner with the information provided, it may be that Mr. ****** tried to access his online account with our office by using
our (creditor) client portal, instead of the portal for consumers, which is available by logging into the system via the
internet address of: ************************ I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused Mr. ******, but if
he would like to take care of his account balance online, he may do so by using the log-in and password provided to him
on our notice, or he may call our office at ###-###-#### and speak with *****, one of our team leaders.
At Americollect, we take disputes/complaints very seriously. We also take our obligation to the collection process, the
Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, and our obligation as a data furnisher under the Metro 2 reporting guidelines and
regulations very seriously.

Sincerely,

***** * *****, ***
AMERICOllECT, INC
Compliance Officer
P:###-###-####
F;###-###-####
**********************
**** *** ****
*********, WI *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear in attachment.

I have gone on said website and it was denied numerous times. This lead me to trying to talk to a representative and they hung up on me. I realize this bill is a ****** ****** of ***** *** **** ****. bill and proven with the paper work. I am sick of all you people giving me the run around and so I wanted to just solve it by paying said bill.

Since everyone is making it hard I'm guessing no one really wants it's paid. Even  **** ********** the ******* ******* of ****** ****** ** ***** *** said not to pay it and that it would be taken care of. I even talked to a Representative of AFL-CIO Labor Council and was told that work comp. should have paid it. Maybe I should just let a judge settle it even thought it would cost more than the stupid bill is worth. The only thing I'm really worried about in this work comp. problem is my credit score and how this affects future issues.

Regards,

****** ******

 

 

Business Response:

Please find attached our response.

Thank you,

***** *****

Americollect, Inc

Re: Complaint ID *******, additional concerns, ****** **** ****** and Americollect, Inc.
To whom it may concern at the Better Business Bureau,

Thank you for bringing complaint ID #*******, additional concerns, ****** **** ****** to my attention. Under the Fair
Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), information regarding a debt may not be disclosed to any third parties without
the prior consent of the consumer given directly to the debt collection. [11 However, Americollect, Inc. may disclose
information regarding the underlying debt to respond to complaint allegations. 121This communication ;s not made with
a view toward collecting the debt. This communication serves as Americollect, Inc.'s timely response to ****** ****
******'s additional concerns.
I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused Mr. ****** and would like to help him resolve the balance due.
As previously stated, Mr. ****** should try to access the consumer website payment portal by logging into:
www.americollectpay.com. If Mr. ****** needs his log-in and password again because he no longer has the information
as previously provided to him on notices sent from our office regarding this account, he should email our customer
service department at: ************************. At that time, he would be forwarded the log-in and password
information. Mr. ****** may also call our office at ###-###-#### and speak with Allie, one of our team leaders, to pay
over the phone from his checking, savings, debit card, or credit card account, for no additional charge.
At Americollect, we take disputes/complaints very seriously. We also take our obligation to the collection process, the
Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, and our obligation as a data furnisher under the Metro 2 reporting guidelines and
regulations very seriously.



Sincerely,

***** * *****, ***
AMERICOllECT, INC
Compliance Officer
P:###-###-####
F;###-###-####
**********************
**** *** ****
*********, WI *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Americollect contacted us using a computerized system that asked to verify identity of resident before connecting to an actual person. When connected, the company representative first asked us why we called them, then proceeded to only give her first name before demanding my wife verify her identity to the representative. It wasn't until my wife made several requests that the representative provided Americollect as the name of her business. Demanding someone's personal information without providing any information why the information was needed is akin to a scam. My wife was smart enough not to provide anything but a name and phone number (before refusing to give her birth date) to someone that, for all we know, would use any further information to steal from us.

Desired Settlement: If Americollect believes a debt is owed by my wife, they should not attempt to contact us by phone any further. Contact through mail should be sufficient for them to attempt to collect any debt.

Business Response: Tuesday, March 05, 2013
BBB of Wisconsin
10101 W. Greenfield Ave., Ste.125
Milwaukee, WI 53214

Re: Complaint ID *******, ********** ********* and Americollect, Inc.
To whom it may concern at the Better Business Bureau,

Thank you for bringing complaint ID #******* ********** ********* to my attention. Under the Fair Debt Collection
Practices Act (FDCPA), information regarding a debt may not be disclosed to any third parties without the prior consent
of the consumer given directly to the debt collection. [l] However, Americollect, Inc. may disclose information regarding
the underlying debt to respond to complaint allegations. [2] This communication is not made with a view toward
collecting the debt. This communication serves as Americollect, Inc.'s timely response to ********** *********'s
concerns ..
Americollect did call the phone number ###-###-####, as noted on the complaint filed by Mr. *********, on 3-1-13 in
hopes of reaching a ***** **** *********, as we had been able to do in the past. Later that day, a return call was made
by ***** **** ********* to our office, at which time the collector who answered the call, attempted to verify the caller
not only by name and phone number dialed, but also by either a date of birth or last four digits of her social security
number. Americollect wants to, and needs to, make sure we have the correct consumer on the phone before disclosing
any information regarding accounts listed in our office; without additional information besides a name and phone
number dialed, our staff will not disclose additional information to the caller.
At this time, the phone number of ###-###-#### has been marked as a cease and desist number for reaching ***** ****
********* in accordance with the request made in the filed complaint.
At Americollect, we take disputes/complaints very seriously. We also take our obligation to the collection process, the
Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, and our obligation as a data furnisher under the Metro 2 reporting guidelines and
regulations very seriously.
Sincerely,
***** * *****, ***
AMERICOLLECT, INC
Compliance Officer
P:###-###-####
F:###-###-####
**********************
**** *** ****, ********* ** *****
[1] 15 U.S.c. § 1392c(b).
[2] See Jones, FTC informal Staff Letter, Dec. 30, 1992.
This communication is made for the limited purpose of responding to a dispute and is NOT an attempt to collect a debt.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My concern involves services over a period of time where I required medical care from ****** ******* ***** for a work related injury. The medical cost were to be paid by workman compensation. However, I was called to active duty 4 times in the past 2 years and did not realize my medical bills were not paid by workmans comp. So my medical bills were forwarded to Americollect in Oct. 2012. I called to explained the situation. There response was that they could not do anything other than collect the debt. I explained my situation and asked if they could at least remove the debt from my credit report, as I would pay the entire debt now.

Desired Settlement: Please remove this debt from my credit reports as I was not in a position to address my collections while on active duty and the debt has been paid.

Business Response:

Attached is our response.

Thank you.

*****

Americollect, Inc

Re: Complaint ID *******, ******* ******** and Americollect, Inc.
To whom it may concern at the Better Business Bureau,

Thank you for bringing complaint JD #******* ******* ******** to my attention. Under the Fair Debt
Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), information regarding a debt may not be disclosed to any third parties
without the prior consent of the consumer given directly to the debt collection. [11 However, Americollect, In c.
may disclose information regarding the underlying debt to respond to complaint allegations. [Z] This
communication is not made with a view toward collecting the debt. This communication serves as
Americollect, Inc.'s timely response to ******* ********'s concerns.
Our office received the accounts in question during the months of August, October, November, and December
2012 for listing via the original creditor client. On January 2, 2013, our office st arted receiving calls from Mr.
******* regarding his accounts listed in our office. Mr. ******** did inform our office about having a pending
worker's compensation case and how his attorney advised him to pay and then be reimbursed by the pending
claim, but that he also needed to have the accounts removed from his credit report. Initially the team leaders
at our office stated they were not able to remove the accounts from Mr. ********'s credit file due to our
normal guidelines and policies, but after my review of the account and a request made to our office by the
original creditor when payment in full was received at their office on January 22, 2013, the removal of all
accounts listed on Mr. ********'s credit file was completed.
A notice regarding the request to remove the accounts listed at Americollect, Inc for Mr. ********, was sent
to him on January 22, 2013, at his address: *** ***** **, *********, WI *****. If Mr. ******** would like
another copy of this notice, he can contact me at **********************, and another copy will be provided.
At Americoliect, we take disputes/complaints very seriously. We also take our obligation to the collection
process, the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, and our obligation as a data furnisher under the Metro 2
reporting guidelines and regulations very seriously. Americollect reports what is true and accurate to the
credit bureaus and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused Mr. ********.
Sincerely,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This Company is attempting to collect and extort money for a debt I DO NOT OWE. Further they have sent a harassing and demanding letter in violation of my rights as a disabled individual under the Federal ADA act. . There tactics are unethical and illegal especially since this is a FALSE or a contrived collection attempt. I have responded to their mailing notifying them of its invalidity and that it is completely disputed.

Desired Settlement: Cease and desist. No further contact other than letter of termination of action.

Business Response:

Please find our resopnse attached.

Thank you.

***** *****

Re: Complaint ID *******, ****** **** ********** and Americollect, Inc.

 Dear Specialist ********,

Thank you for bringing complaint ID #******* for ****** **** ********** to my attention. Under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), information regarding a debt may not be disclosed to any third parties
without the prior consent of the consumer given directly to the debt collection. [1] However, Americollect, Inc. may disc lose information regarding the underlying debt to respond to complaint allegations. [2] This
communication is not made with a view toward collecting the debt. This communication serves as Americoilect, Inc.'s timely re sponse to ****** **** **********'s concerns.

 Our office was sent the account in question to list on January 7, 2013, at which time the validation/first notice of listing was sent to Mr. ********** on January 8, 2013. Since the listing date, we have not had verbal or
written communication with Mr. ********** until this complaint was brought forward.

 Please note that the account information sent to our office for listing in cludes the address and phone number, the same information as provided by Mr. ********** in his complaint; our office was also provided his date of
birth and social security number, as he provided to the creditor client for verification reasons and in order to process his dates of service through Medicare.

 At Americollect, we take disputes/complaints very seriously. We also take our obligation to the collection process, the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, and our obligation as a data furnisher under the Metro 2
reporting guidelines and regulations very seriously. Americollect reports what is true and accurate to the credit bureaus. We have conducted a reasonable invest igation with respect to Mr. **********'s request s and
our findings conclude that we are aware of the disputed status of the account, we will be reporting with the

 This communication is made for the limited purpose of responding to a dispute and is NOT an attempt to collect a debt. credit bureaus that the matter is disputed after April 1, 2013, and the balance listed at Americollect, Inc is
accurate as of January 16, 2013.

Complete verification of the account will be mailed to Mr. **********'s home address of:
**** ***** **
********* ** *****-****

After review of such verifi cation, if Mr. ********** has questions concerning his acco unt, or supporting documents as to why the account is his responsibility, he can forward that information directly to this office to my attention.

***** * *****, PCS
********** *******
P:###-###-####
F:###-###-####
**********************
** *** ****
********* ** *****
(IJ 15 U.S.C. § 1392c(b).

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** **********

 

 

Business Response:

Please find attached our response to the additional concerns raised.

Thank you.

***** * *****

Re: Complaint ID *******, additional concerns, ****** **** ********** and Americollect, Inc_

Dear Specialist ********,

Thank you for bringing the additional concerns relating to complaint ID #******* for ****** **** ********** to my attention. Under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPAL information regarding a debt may not
be disclosed to any third parties without the prior consent of the consumer given directly to the debt collection. 11) However, Americoll ect, Inc. may disclose information regarding the underlying debt to respond
to complaint allegation s. [2l This communication is not made with a view toward collecting the debt. This communication serves as Americollect, Inc.'s timely response to ****** **** **********'s concerns.

I have reviewed again Mr. **********'s additional conce rns, and attachments to this filing dated January 23, 2013. I was unaware, until that time, that Mr. ********** had already been in contact with **** ******
******* and the BBB regarding this same account and balance due. At the time of reviewing the attachments Mr. ********** sent along to the BBB with this additional concerns complain t, , enlisted the help of our client
contact at **** ****** ******* for information regarding any responses their office had sent to Mr. ********** in addressing his concerns.

After reviewing the letters sent to Mr. ********** from **** ****** ******* (DHS) dated August 29, 2012, September 7,2012, September 18, 2012 (sent via the BBB as DHS' timely response to the complaint filed
against their office assigned case number *******), and October 16, 2012 (again sent via the BBB as DHS' timely response to Mr. **********'s rubuttal), it is clear that Mr. **********'s account has been reviewed at
many levels and he has been informed that the balance after his Medicare Part B paid their 80% portion, is his responsibility.

At Americollect, we take disputes/complaints very seriously. We also take our obligation to the collection process, the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, and our obligation as a data furnisher under the Metro 2
reporting guidelines and regulations very seriously. Americollect reports what is true and accurate to the credit bureaus. We have conducted a reasonable investigation, as has the original creditor client, **** ******
*******, with respect to Mr. **********'s requests and our findings conclude that we are aware of the disputed status of the account, we will be reporting with the credit bureaus that the matter is disputed after Aprill,
2013, and the balance listed at Americollect, Inc is accurate as of January 28, 2013.


This communication is made for the limited purpose of responding to a dispute and is NOT an attempt to collect a debt.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: I have read the response from this business concerned in this complaint. It is still unaccepable for the same reasons delineated previously. They are continuing  attempting to collect an INVALID charge and completely denied by me. All this has been explained to the false creditor they presumable purchased this invalid claim. Not they are violating several of my rights in an attempt to collect a bad debt which they foolishly did not research to validate its substance. They need to return this to its maker as they know that they had ageeed to accept as full payment the amount they received BEFORE the service was rendered. If they attempt to take ANY action resulting credit rating, legal action will be initiated. They need to immediately CEASE and Desist any further action and or communication with me. Finally I have have a ADA discrimination/Harassment complaint ready to file. 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** **********

 

 

Business Response:

Please find attached our response.

Thank you

***** * *****

Americollect, Inc

Re: Complaint ID *******, additional concerns (2), ****** **** ********** and Americollect, Inc.

Dear Specialist ********,

Thank you for bringing the additional concerns relating to complaint ID #******* for ****** **** ********** to my attention. Under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), information regarding a debt may not
be disclosed to any third parties without the prior consent of the consumer given directly to the debt collection. [11 However, Americollect, Inc. may disclose information regarding the underlying debt to respond
to complaint allegations. [2[ This communication is not made with a view toward collecting the debt. This communication serves as Americollect, Inc.'s timely response to ****** **** **********'s concerns.

I have again reviewed again Mr. **********'s additional concerns. Mr. **********'s concerns have been investigated and addressed numerous times before the account was listed in our office, a third-party debt
collector who has not purchased the account in question from the original creditor client, and the balances due for the various dates of service are correct. Medica re, the on ly insurance Mr. ********** provided to be
billed for his services to **** ****** *******, was billed and the claims were processed per their guidelines and contracts.

Please be advised that the account in question will not be returned to the original creditor, it will remain at Americollect, Inc to collect upon as a balance due. If Mr. ********** does not agree with how Medicare
processed his claim(s), that is something he will need to take up with their processing office.

At Americolfect, we take disputes/complaints very seriously. We also take our obligation to the collection process, the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, and our obligation as a data furnisher under the Metro 2
reporting guidelines and regulations very seriously. Americollect reports what is true and accurate to the credit bureaus. We have conducted a reasonable investigation, as has the original creditor client, **** ******
*******, with respect to Mr. **********'s requests and our findings conclude that we are aware of the disputed status of the account, we will be reporting with the credit bureaus that the matter is disputed after April 1,
2013, and the balance listed at Americollect, Inc is accurate as of January 30, 2013.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. This response is still totally unacceptable and in error. They still have not come to terms with the agreed upon amount Before the procedure. For this reason and fraudulent double billing this debt is INVALID. Americollect failed to verify its validity and therefore holds a worthless paper. They need to Cease and Desist and refrain from ANY further contact with me to avoid and further violations Federal collection laws. In addition I have filed a complaint with the State Dept. of Financial Institutions. ** ***********

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** **********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We owed $121.60 to ******* ************,**. We paid in full on august 21, 2012. Then we get a letter from ameriicollect saying we owed them $2.28 and they just took it out of my checking account without permission. i called them and told them they had no right for the moneies and i told them to put it back in the bank. They took it out on 9/5/2012 and put it back on 9/13/2012. Now they have put it on or against our credit report. can you help us

Desired Settlement: I want it off of the credit report and want a receipt from them saying what they did and when.

Business Response:

Thank you very much we appreciate the time and the attention.

 

Sincerly,

 

****** *******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/14/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company insist on attempting to collect on a matter that was not processed correctly at the time of my E.R. visit. My insurance information was provided at the time of the visit but apparently either not entered correctly or provided to all subcontractors. My insurance company informed me that all services conducted was not my debt as it should have been billed appropriately. This service was covered by my insurance, however ************ filed a negative credit action upon me personally. The staff refuse to recognize their error. This matter is about a $40 bill, I am more than willing to pay the amount to have this removed from my credit report but the company refuses to do so as it apparently would indicate acceptance and acknowledgement of a billing error.

Desired Settlement: Accept the $40 for their time in dealing with this matter and agree to remove all negative entries on my credit report relating to this account.

Business Response:

Attached is our response to complaint numbered*******.

 

Thank you.

************* ***

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: re: act ******** name of bill is ****** ******. amount 228.00 I (*****) have been deathly ill for along time. My medical bills became so high though we tried to pay them off the only suloution we saw was bankruptcy. We filed a chpt 11 then swithched to chpt 7 in April 2010. I got real sick in Nov. of that year and had not seen this bill. I got sick again in Jan, again in April. Americollect claims they called (they had the wrong number). once I did see the bill come thru I immediately called and made arrangements. I asked if I paid it off if it would come off my credit report. The agent said yes. I paid the bill, they are refusing to remove it from my credit. Under the circumstances I feel they are not being FAIR under the Fair Credit Reporting act. They claim they do not report Fair they report true and honest. I paid my bill aqs soon as I knew about it, I did my part. I do not feel they are doing ther part by removing it. If you see my credit I have really been working hard at paying all my bills. ***** was the manager who I spoke with. The whole purpose of this is because this is going to hold me up from getting preapproved for a house. I would not waste my time if I felt I was wrong. During the times I was so sick my husband spent as much time at the hospital and going to school as he could. Life Happens. I am truely sorry That it has come to this. I thought they passed the Fair Credit act to be fair. This is not fair. They told me they would not put it on my report.

Desired Settlement: please remove this from our credit report for Laura and Jeremy Lehman.

Business Response:

Please see attached our response to complaint *******.

 

Thank you,

Americollect, Inc

 

Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin

Attn: ******** ********  

********** ******** ********* **********

 

10101 W. Greenfield Ave, 5te 125

 

Milwaukee, WI 53214

PO Box 1566 1851 S Alverno Rd

 

Mllnt,ollect.com

 

Re ID *******
 ******
& ***** ******, Americollect, Inc.

 

***************** ********

 

Fin************  

infol(!!I'Jmenco

 

 

llect.com

 

Thank you for bringing concern ID #******* submitted 06/22/2012 by ***** ****** to my

 

attention. Under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), information regarding a debt may not be disclosed to any third parties

without the prior consent of the consumer given directly to the debt collection. [1) However, Americollect, Inc. may disclose information regarding

the underlying
debt to respond to complaint allegations. [2j This communication is not made with a view toward collecting the

debt. This communication serves as Americollect, Inc.'s timely response to ***** ******'s concerns.

As a reputable collection agency, we take complaints velY seriously. After reviewing the complaint and

previous notes regarding this matter, it would appear that Ms. ******'s statements are partially

correct. Our office did speak to Ms. ****** on 10/25/2011 at which time she set up three payments

with our office to pay in full two accounts listed in our office with positive balances as of that date. The first payments were to pay in full an

account
just listed with our office for collection on 09/06/2011, which had not yet been reported to her credit report. Our representative clearly

stated
that in the account notes and held the account from listing with the credit bureaus due to the payment agreement; the

 second account that had a positive balance as of the call date of 10/25/2011, the account in question, had been

listed in our office since 08/03/2011 and had been listed with the credit bureaus as of 10/10/2011,

thus that account could not be promised to be held from their credit reports. The payments were processed and applied to the accounts

accordingly
and then a third account was listed in our office on 11/22/2011, which was also held from the credit bureaus due to a payment in full being set up for that account with our office on 11/29/2011. As a normal practice we report to all 3 credit reporting agencies once a month between the 81h and the 10th of each month. After reviewing the account, the credit bureau reporting as Paid In Full for the

account in question, will stand. Our office is bound to report to the credit bureaus what is true and accurate, and that has been completed:

When the account was listed in our office, a notice of listing was sent to the ******s at a correct home address on

08/03/2011;

After a period of time, the account was listed with the credit bureaus on 10/10/2011, per our normal practices, as a new open balance

account;• When a payment was processed towards the balance due, that update status was reported to the credit bureaus on 01/10/2012 as

Payme
nt Process ing; and • When the account was Paid In Full, that update status was reported to the credit bureaus on

02/10/2012 If after receivi ng the additional details from this complaint Ms. Lehman s till has additional questions or concerns, we encourage her

to
contact our office at # ### ### #### . At th is time, we consider this case closed.

Sincerely,

***** * ***** Compliance Officer

 

Legal Coordinator

 

Americo llect Inc

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been in contact with Americollect since March regarding payments on the account my husband and I have in their office. After paying down a substantial amount in payments, the arrangement the company made with me became null and void. I had notified the business that I was not able to make a full payment to keep the account off of my credit report and I was told they would work with me and give me an extension on reporting to the credit bureaus. My husband and I are currently on disability, I have just given birth, and do not return to work until next month. Americollect told me they would contact me before they reported it to the credit bureaus. They extended the reporting by 30 days and told me they would contact me before they reported it. They have done no such thing. They called me for a payment and have reported the account as of May 10th. I am not sure how they train their staff, but they should not make promises they cannot keep. I am currently going thru a mortgage proceeding and they have now jeopardized my ability to get a mortgage. I will now not be able to provide a home for a newborn child, even though I have been making large payments to the business, and short changing the rest of my bills to keep them from reporting my husband and I do the credit bureau. I spoke with a supervisor named *******, who told me that by law they have to report the information to the credit bureau. The law does not protect me from a verbal agreement I had with an operator on the other line who told me they would contact me to make further arrangements after the 30 days was extended. Also, failing to provide that verbal agreement in their notes, it is their word against mine. This is an outrage. Why can collection companies get away with it? Why can they sit there and make statements and not be held accountable for them later? I paid large amounts of payments to them and they made a promise to me they would contact me before it was reported. Now, I had been on bedrest for complications during pregnancy. I gave birth 5 weeks early by c-section, and calling a collection company was the furthest thing from my mind. They were supposed to contact me before it was reported. They have no problem calling me to collect the debt. They do have a problem removing it from the credit report and keeping their end of the bargain.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have this account removed from the credit reporting agencies and work directly with the company to have the payments made. I had been very adamant on making payments before they reported them into the credit agency, as per the agreement that we had. I was lied to and decieved by this business to make payments into them and they still went ahead and reported it behind my back without my knowledge. We are outraged. We want it removed and a new negotiation made with them to pay it off without it being reported into the credit bureaus.

Business Response:

If you have any other question please let me know.

 

Thanks,

 

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAD A 709.00 BILL FROM COMMUNITY MEMORIAL THAT WENT TO COLLECTIONS AFTER AN INSURANCE CLAIM WAS DENIED. AMERICOLLECT WAS A THIRD PARTY COLLECTOR FOR THAT DEBT. I PAID THE ORIGNAL CREDITOR WHO AGREED THAT IF I PAID IN FULL IT WILL BE REMOVED FROM MY CREDIT REPORT. AMERICOLLECT MARKED AS PAID, BUT DID NOT REMOVE. I CONTACTED THE CREDIT BUREAU TO EXPLAINED THIS WAS PAID AND IT WAS TO BE REMOVED. I ALSO TOLD THE CREDIT BUREAU THAT I HAVE CONTACED AMERICOLLECT PREVIOULY ABOUT THE FALSE REPROTING OF THE ACTUAL DATES OF THE DEBTS, THEY WERE FROM 2010. AFTER THAT COMPAINT, AMERICOLLECT DID CHANGE THE REPROTED DATE FROM 4/10/12 THE LAST THEY REPORTED TO THE CORRECT/ACTUAL DATE OF 6/2010, BUT THEY CHANGED THE STATUS BACK TO DEROGATORY FROM THAT ACTUAL PREVIOUSLY REPROTED OF PAID. I HAVE COPIES OF A 4/1/12 AND 4/28/12 CREDIT REPORTS THAT SUPPORT ALL OF THESE CLAIMS.

Desired Settlement: AS THE ORIGINAL CREDITOR PROMISED, THIS IS TO BE REMOVED FROM MY CREDIT FILE AND THEY SHOULD STOP HARRASING ME BY FALS REPROTING TO THE CREDIT BUREAU. THIS SHOULD BE IMMEADIATE

Business Response:

Dear ********:

Attached is our response to complaint number *******.

 

Thank you,

Americollect, Inc


 

Better Business Bureau

 

 

of Wisconsin

 

At

 

 

tn : ******** ********

Accredited Business Complaint Specialist

 

10101 W. Greenfield Ave

 

 

, Ste 125

 

Milwaukee,

 

 

WI 53214

 

Re

 

 

** *******, ******* * ****** Americollect, Inc.

 

************

J

 

 

-***********
F.ua **********
****************************

 

Thank

 

 

you for bringing concern 10 #******* submitted 05/01/2012 by ******* * ***** to my

 

attention

 

 

. Under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), information regarding a debt may

 

not be disclosed to any

 

 

third parties without the prior consent of the consumer given directly to

 

the debt

 

 

collection. [1] However, Americollect, Inc. may disclose information regarding the

 

underl

 

 

ying debt to respond to complaint allegations. [2) This communication is not made with a

 

view

 

 

toward collecting the debt. This communication serves as Americollect, Inc.'s timely response

 

to

 

 

******* * *****'s concerns.

 

As

 

 

a reputable collection agency, we take complaints very seriously. After reviewing the complaint

 

and

 

 

previous notes regarding this matter, it would appear that our office did list the account in

 

que

 

 

stion on 03/22/2010, which was then reported to the credit bureaus as an open balance listed

 

at

 

 

our office. Mr. ***** made a credit card payment online via the original creditor's website on

 

03/12/2012.

 

 

The payment was then reported to our office on 3/19/2012 and when we

 

electronica

 

 

lly updated the credit bureaus on 04/10/2012, we noted the account as "Paid".

 

At Americollect,

 

 

we take disputes/complaints very seriously. We also take our obligation to the

 

co

 

 

llection process, the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, and our obligation as a data furni sher

 

under the Metro

 

 

2 reporting gUidelines and regulations VERY seriou sly. When Mr. ***** sent in his

 

original

 

 

dispute to our office informing us of the payment he had just made to the original creditor

 

on 03/12/2012, an

 

 

email was sent to our original creditor contact regarding the contention raised

 

by Mr.

 

 

***** about the removal of the account from his credit report. A return email was then

 

rec

 

 

eived by our office from the original creditor on 03/19/2012 to inform us that per the notes in

 

their

 

 

system for Mr. *****'s account, there was no documentation that any employee at their

 

office

 

 

discussed or informed Mr. ***** that his account would be removed from his credit report

 

by

 

 

Americollect.

 

This is

 

 

a communication from a debt collector.

 

Thi

 

 

s is an attempt to collect a debt and any information will be used for that purpose.

 

Americollect

 

 

reports what is true and accurat e. We have conducted a reasonable investi gation with

 

r

 

 

espect to Mr. *****'s request and our findings conclude that he was aware of the balance at the

 

time of

 

 

listing with our agency, he was aware of our intent to report to the credit bureaus if the

 

balance

 

 

was un-paid, and when we became aware of the payment in full, we reported as such to

 

the

 

 

credit bureaus.

 

We

 

 

consider this case closed.

 

S

 

 

incerely,

 

***** * *****

Comp

 

 

liance Officer

 

L

 

 

egal Coordinator

 

Ame

 

 

ricoll ect, Inc

 

** *** ****

********* ** ***********

Phone:

 

 

************

Fax: ************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

this case is not closed and they never answer why they changed the status from paid to dergogatory once I complained the dates they were reporting were inaccurate. They need to provide me with the documentation that Community Memorial states they did not agree to have it removed,  because its completey innaccurate. I called the business office the day prior to paying online. I also called Americollect.

Regards,

*** *****

 

 

Business Response:

Attached plesae find our response.

 

Thank you,

***** * *****Americollect, Inc.

 

B

 

 

etter Business Bureau of Wisconsin

 

Att

 

 

n: ******** ********

Accredited Business Complaint Specialist

 

10101

 

 

W. Greenfield Ave, Ste 125

 

Milwaukee,

 

 

WI 53214

 

Re: ID *******,

 

 

******* * *****, Americollect, Inc.

 

************

**************

Fa

 

 

x : ************

;nFo@iJm.r;cof'.crpay
.conl

 

Thank

 

 

you for bringing concern 10 #******* originally submitted 05/01/2012 by ******* * ***** to

 

my atte

 

 

ntion. Under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA). information regarding a debt

 

may not be disclo

 

 

sed to any third parties without the prior consent of the consumer given directly to

 

the debt collection

 

 

. [1J However, Ame ricollect, Inc. may disclose information regarding the

 

underlying debt

 

 

to respond to complaint allegations. [2] This communication is not made with a view

 

toward

 

 

collecting the debt. This com munication serves as Americollect, Inc.'s timely response to

 

 

 

 

******* * *****'s concern s.

 

As a

 

 

reputable collection agency, we take complaints very seriously. After reviewing the complaint

 

and

 

 

previous notes regarding this matter, it does appear that an insurance company issue was

 

po

 

 

ssibly at hand for the accounts in question since befo re listing with our office. Due to the status of

 

"Paid

 

 

in Full" on each of the accounts in question, we have decided that a removal of each account

 

from

 

 

Mr. *****'s credit report can be warranted. A copy of the Universal Data Form (UDF) for each

 

ac

 

 

count has been sent to Mr. ***** via the USPS as of 5-14-12 to show that we have requested

 

Tran

 

 

s-Union, Equifax and Experian remove the accou nts from his credit reports; this remova l may

 

take

 

 

30 days or longer to update with the bureaus. At Americollect, we take disputes/complaints very

 

serious

 

 

ly. We also take our obligation to the collection process, the Fair Debt Coll ection Practices Act,

 

and our

 

 

obligation as a data furnisher under the Metro 2 reporting guidelines and regulat ions ve ry

 

se

 

 

riously.

 

We

 

 

consider this case closed.

 

Si

 

 

n ereLy,

Compliance Officer

 

L

 

 

egal Coordinator

 

A

 

 

mericollect, Inc

 

** *** ****

 

 

 

********* ** ***********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I have a collection through Americollect. On February 8th, 2012 we gave them $2000.00 dollars paid by our check card. Becauseof other bills we were not able to pay anything else at the time but they sent us a letter on the 23rd of March 2012 which we received on the 26th of March 2012 to contact them before the claim went to judgement. My wife and I contacted them on the night of the 26th of March 2012 and spoke to a ****** in which we explained our concerns regarding that buill and others we needed to pay on and could not make the payments they wanted a month which exceeded $200.00. ****** then agreed on $177. 27 a month starting at the end of this April 27, 2012 through payment of our health savings card through my wife's employment. We also paid $50.00 in good faith at the end of the call. As of this morning, Americollect contacts my wife in which She spoke to ****** who took the call. My wife called me and all 3 of us were on the phone. ****** tells us that the agreement that was made between ****** and us could not be done because the payment had to be $177.27 every 2 weeks. I explained to ****** that we could not do that because of our other bills and 2 children we needed to provide for and said that ****** made this agreement and their company is now going back on what they agreed to. ****** then threatened us that they would take us to court to file a judgement and they would get their money that way including us paying the court costs. I asked ****** how they can make deals and then go back on them and the entire conversation continued to end in her legal matter. It is not fair to my wife, myself or our 2 children to make payments that we can not do; we can not after they agreed to take $177.27. This is wrong and they should not be having people making payment arragements if others are going to call and try and cancel the agreement and force more money. My wife and I would greatly appreciate your help in this matter and thank you for the time you are taking to read this and check into it.

Desired Settlement: We want to pay our claim off but at the agreement of $177.27 a month as my wife, myself and Americollect agreed upon.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

 

Attached is our response to the recent complaint, number *******.

Please let me know if there is anything further.

 

Thank you,

***** * *****

Legal Coordinator

Compliance Officer

Americollect, Inc

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   If we (my wife & I) are able to pay more after having worked out a better budget will do so.  We asked that the agency no longer be in contact with us with the exception of in writing as a side note.  Thank you so much for your help in this matter.  Regards,

 

****** ****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid a collection in the amount of $142.96 on behalf of Advanced Healthcare Inc., to Americollect Inc on Aug. 9, 2010. This paid debt was not reported to Transunion within 30 days as required by Federal Law. Americollect did not inform Transunion that this debt was paid on Aug 9, 2010. As a result of which I have experienced financial damages.

Desired Settlement: A refund of financial damages that I have suffered as a result of Americollect Inc not complying with federal law.

Business Response:

Thanks if you have any additional questions please let me know.

 

 

Sincerley,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wednesday February 22, 2012 at exactly 12:50pm a person named Grahm called by place of employment from a ###-###-#### phone number and left me a voice mail asking to call him at ###-###-####. I called the number and found out it was a collection company, which a female named ****** answered called Americollect and I knew that they were attempting to collect a personal debt from me for a bill. I did state to meagan that they are not allowed by law to call my place of employment unless I have given permission to do so, which I have not and I would be reporting them. I do work collecting from our customers so I do know the collections laws.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company fined and my debt cleared with them since I am sure they continue to call other customers of theirs at their place of employment.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this matter or our attention if you have any further questions please let me know.

 

Thanks,

 

****** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

 

My company does not allow phone calls at the work place, that stated they do, that statement is wrong. I work at collections and we have a brand new collections law book that states a collection company is not allowed to call a consumer at place of employment. I would need to receive a statement or some form showing that I owe any moneys with an account number etc.  I have not received anything from this company in the mail.  I will not make any arrangments until I receive something in the mail.  I do not know who they are collecting for. Thank you

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

Business Response:

Thank you for your position.

We did not know your company disallows phone calls until now.  We have your employer noted. 

There are no new laws regarding calling a consumer at their place of employment that we know.  Please provide your verification this new law.

We are not sure why you did not receieve statements that we sent to you.  We will send another, please call us if you don't receive it.

 

Sincerely,

 

****** ** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After making payment in full to the company. I requested to have collection removed from my credit report, and it has not been removed yet.

Desired Settlement: Would like to have collection removed from my credit reports

Business Response:

 

Dear ******** ********,

 

If you have any other questions please feel free to contact me.

 

Thanks,

 

****** *******
********* ********** ********

BBB of Wisconsin

10101 W. Greenfield Ave., Ste. 125

Milwaukee, WI 53214


RE: ********* ** ******* ******* ***** * *****************



Dear ******** ********,



Thank you for bringing complaint ** ******** for ******* ***** to my  attention. Under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), information regarding a debt may not be disclosed to any third parties without the prior consent of the consumer given directly to the debt collection. [1) However, Americollect, Inc. may disclose information
regarding the underlying debt to respond to complaint allegations. [2]  This communication is not made with a view toward collecting the debt. This communication serves as Americoliect, Inc's timely response to ******* ***** concerns.

During a phone conversation on January 9th 2012 Mr. ***** was advised that the account had been listed with our agency but had not yet been  reported to the credit bureau. He was also notified of his validation rights in a letter mailed to his residence (11/08/11). During the phone conversation on January 9th, Mr. ***** was advised if he would have his account paid in full by 02/07/12 the account would not affect his credit. Unfortunately one of our collectors made a mistake and didn't hold the account from being reported to Mr. ***** Credit file.

At Americollect, we take disputes/complaints very seriously. We also take our obligation to the collection process, the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, and our obligation as a data furnisher under the Metro 2 reporting guidelines and regulations VERY seriously. When Mr. ***** spoke with a Team leader at our office, he requested to have account
************* removed from his credit file. Americollect reports what is true and accurate but we have conducted a reasonable investigation after speaking with Mr. ***** on 01/19/12. In respect to Mr. Adam's request our findings conclude that the account was paid in full in a timely manner and we would be doing a manual removal for Mr. ***** which was conducted on 01/20/2012.  I am confident we will be able to resolve this matter with Mr. *****. We have processed the removal request with the three major credit bureaus (***** ****** ******** *** ********).

Unfortunately the process does not happen as quickly as we would like & the Bureaus have up to 30 days to comply with our removal request.



Sincerely,

************ *** ****** ******** *** ************ ********** ***** ******* ************** ************** ************************ ******************** **** *** **** ********** ** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After obtaining a copy of my credit report I see that you are reporting an account #********* from a “**** ****** *******” and this is the first I have been aware of this. I spoke to my attorney and we discussed the situation. I was never sent a written notice of this claim as required under the FDCPA which would have provided me with 30 days to respond and request validation of the claim. By not doing this and putting it on my credit you have violated the FDCPA and I am now entitled to $1,000 plus damages pursuant to the length of time it has been on my report. I have never had business with this company not to mention I live in Arizona! I have not given my Attorney the go ahead to file suit yet, as I wanted to contact you first. If this is not removed from my credit immediately I will allow my attorney to take over as well as file complaints with the FTC, the Attorney General as well as my State Senator. I await your reply.

Desired Settlement: I want this handled right away and removed from my credit

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/12/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
8/30/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
5/26/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
5/8/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
4/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1