BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

Kryptonite Kollectibles, Inc.

Phone: (877) 646-1728 1441 Plainfield Ave, Janesville, WI 53545 http://www.kryptonitekollectibles.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of theme clothing, gifts, and novelties on-line.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kryptonite Kollectibles, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kryptonite Kollectibles, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Kryptonite Kollectibles, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 22, 1998 Business started: 02/05/1993 in WI Business started locally: 02/05/1993 Business incorporated: 02/05/1993 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gil J Lyne, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gil J Lyne, President/Owner
Business Category

Collectibles Comic Books Novelties - Retail Internet Shopping Clothing - Retail Playing Cards Autograph Dealers Baseball Cards & Sports Memorabilia Gift, Novelty, and Souvenir Stores (NAICS: 453220)

Products & Services

Kryptonite Kollectibles, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Reebok and Nike; plus official NFL, MLB, & NASCAR merchandise

Hours of Operation
M: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
S: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Su: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Service Area
This company states they ship worldwide

Additional Locations

  • 1441 Plainfield Ave

    Janesville, WI 53545 (877) 646-1728

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a ***** ****** from them 5 weeks ago and they said it was dellivered by *** to someone stanind in front of the house- which was not my nephew - then when I told the company that they said *** lost the package - How can they lose it if supposedly they gave to someone? They I was told *** was investigating the matter - next thing was they said they called by nephew that they found the package and would set up a delivery date-well, that's the last anyone has heard anything from ***-I told this Company that after 5 weeks I think they are running a scam as they won't refund my money - I told them to have *** delever the package back to them (if they ever find it)-this is ridulous - that was a Christmas present being sent to my nephew in ****** - I wouldn't deaL with this Company ever again - I don't think they are reputable and I don't understand after 5 weeks of this -it isn't settled

Business Response: Dear ******* **********,

The full amount of $127.48 was refunded to the customer on 01/04/13.

The history of what happened is that the customer contacted us stating that they did not receive their item even though it was scanned and showed delivery by ***.  We confirmed the address with the customer and told them that we would file a lost package claim if the address was correct and they did not have the package.  The claim was filed with *** on 11/19/12.  On 12/05/12 *** sent us an E-mail stating that the package was located and closed the case.  We E-mailed the customer to confirm that the package had in fact been delivered.  The customer responded stating that they did not receive the package even though *** closed the claim stating that the package had been found.  On 12/12/12 we contacted *** explaining that the customer had not received the package and that we wanted them to reopen the case.  At that time we explained to *** that we wanted exact dates and times of any contact to verify the delivery of the package so that we could provide the details to our customer.  On 12/24/12 *** E-mailed us stating that the package had been found and the case was closed.  No date and time information about specific contact was provided to us by *** but we contacted the customer to verify the status of the delivery just to be safe.  Once again the customer stated that the package had not been received.  On 12/26/12 We contacted our *** representative to have them work with *** to either document who and when the delivery was confirmed with or to honor the claim and process the refund.  On 01/03/13 the confirmation that the package was either lost or stolen was relayed to us and we immediately processed the refund for the customer.

We are sorry that the package was lost and followed procedures outlined with *** to try and resolve the issue.  Several times we notified the customer that if the package could not be found and delivered, that they would receive a full refund and that is in fact what happened.  We communicated everything to the customer as it was happening but the customer did not seem willing to accept the facts as we presented them.  We are sorry that the resolution took as long as it did but *** states that they take 5-8 business days to process the claims and during the Holiday Season, there are weekday holidays that do not count as business days and at that time of year, the longest period of time is usually what it takes because of the volume of activity.  We contacted the customer both times that *** notified us that the package was confirmed delivered to verify the fact rather than just close the case ourselves.  We went above and beyond what some businesses would have done to keep the customer informed until the satisfactory result was able to be achieved.

Hopefully this is what is needed in response to the letter we received,
****** *. *******
Kryptonite Kollectibles
**** ********** ***
********** WI *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent back a sweatshirt that was too small and wanted to exchange it for a larger size. The company emailed me stating that the sweatshirt was received damaged and that they could not exchange it. I asked for pictures of the damaged sweatshirt and never heard from them again. This occurred in Jan. 2011. I forgot all about this exchange until recently when I was going through my emails. When I contacted the company, this is what they replied " You never contacted us to arrange to have the damaged sweatshirt returned to you or with information about an insurance claim and after the failed attempts at contacting you the matter was closed. We do not have the damaged sweatshirt any longer since the claim period has long since expired and will not be sending a replacement since no insurance claim was ever processed by you." I did contact them last and never heard back from them. I feel they never attempted to contact me after I requested photos of the damaged sweatshirt.

Desired Settlement: I would like a replacement sweatshirt in a size extra large. I know they still sell the same one since I have seen it advertised on the internet.

Consumer Response: To Ms.******** ********    I am responding to the letter below that I recently received from BBB.  I have not heard from this company since I have requested your assistance in this manner.  I am definitely not satisfied with the company's resolution to this issue.   Thanks for your assistance with this matter, ***** ********

Business Response: *** asked me to send you a response to post regarding the complaint filed by ***** ******** since I am the one that handled the return and subsequent correspondence.

***** returned a sweatshirt that she had purchased from us for a refund.  We contacted her upon receiving the return to let her know that the sweatshirt was returned to us damaged and that we could not process a refund for her.  She contacted us asking what was wrong with the sweatshirt that was returned to us.  We explained that the zipper pull was broken off and was loose in the box.  We told her that if she insured the package that we could provide any documentation if she were going to file a claim including sending her a picture of the broken zipper.  She explained that she did not have insurance on the package and asked for a replacement to be sent to her.  We told her that we would not be able to send her a replacement because we could not resell the damaged item that was returned to us and that she was welcome to have the defective sweatshirt returned to her but she would have to contact us to arrange payment for the cost of shipping it back to her.  We heard nothing from her in response and after 3 months we contacted her again.  Once again we received no response so after another month the item was discarded.  More than 1 year later we received a phone call from her that she wanted the old sweatshirt back or a new one shipped to her.  We told her about the lack of response to provide us with a method of payment for us to return the item to her and after such a long period of time, the item was finally discarded and the case closed due to lack of response.

I hope that is concise enough for you to be able to post as a response,
*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ********

 

 

I have copied the last email (dated Jan. 10, 2011) that  I received from ***** regarding trying to get some sort of documentation to me about the extent of the damage to the sweatshirt.  I never heard back from the company even though the company now is claiming that they tried to contact me three months later.  I also never did receive the pictures that was promised.  I did sent a check for $7.00 that would have covered the shipping to have the damaged sweatshirt sent back to me but that was never done either.  In good faith, they could of at least sent me back the damaged one and cashed the check.  I feel this was my property since I had already paid for it and nothing was done to return it to me.  The company had no right to just throw it out.  I was never even provided with proof that it was damaged.


Thank you for your assistance in this matter.


***** ********

 

 

*****,
 
I will try to get the photos taken for you tomorrow and E-mail them to you.
 
****** ** *******
Kryptonite Kollectibles
 **** ****************
**********, ** *****

###-###-####
 
In a message dated 1/7/2011 10:44:50 P.M. Central Standard Time, ************************* writes:
When I returned the sweatshirt it was in good condition.  This damage must have happened during shipping.  I did not insure the package since nothing like this has ever happened to me before.  This sweatshirt was alot more money then I would normally spend on this type of item plus I have had problems with the size and the type that I ordered.  I would hate to lose my money so what can be done to resolve this fairly.  I would appreciate pictures of the damage since I would still like to go to the post office and see if there is anything that they can do to assist me in the damage of this garment since it happened with them.

   This item is a Christmas gift for my son in law and I would still like to give it to him.  

thank you for your assistance in this matter.

***** ********


 

Business Response: In a message from the customer dated 01/07/11 in response to our contact, the customer informed us that there was no insurance on the package so we did not provide the photos to the customer since there could not be an insurance claim.  On 06/10/11 we contacted the customer through Amazon to inform them that we did not receive a response as to whether they wanted us to send the damaged sweatshirt back to them or if they wanted to order a new one and have us include the damaged one in the same package in return.  After receiving no response to the correspondence, we sent a follow up contact through Amazon on 07/08/11 stating that if we did not hear back in 2 weeks that we would consider the issue closed and dispose of the damaged sweatshirt and shred the check provided to us.  Because of not receiving a response to either contact attempt, the damaged item was discarded and the check was destroyed that was sent for an exchange.

We are sorry that after more than 4 months after our last contact attempt that we do not have the damaged item or shipping check to return the original item to the customer but we advised that if we did not receive a response that this was the action that we would take and we allowed sufficient time after both attempts to have a response sent to us before finally having to consider the issue closed.

As a solution to this, we would be willing to let the customer reorder the item in the size that they need at 50% off and we will waive any shipping fees.  This offer has off assuming more then half of the financial side of the customer receiving a new sweatshirt and feel that it is a fair offer to have this matter resolved from the customer's perspective.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ***plaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my ***plaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Hi,   I received the below email from Kryptonite Kollectibles right after your message.  I have not responded to them however, I have asked ****** to look into this refund.  I have checked my bank records and have found no transaction for a refund from this ***pany.  Kryptonite Kollectibles has attached an invoice but it does not state when the refund was issued or how the refund was issue.  This attachment looks like a shipping invoice that has refund added onto it.     This ***pany is now telling me two different ways in which they will resolve this issue: 1. that they have already sent me a refund which I am saying I never received  and 2.  that they will let me purchase another sweatshirt at 1/2 price with no shipping.  Both of these offers were made on the same day approximately an hour apart.    I am responding in this manner instead of on the BBB website so that I could send you the attachments.  I have also attached my ****** emails for the year 2011 to show that I never did hear from the ***pany on the dates they claim to have contacted me.  I also attached my emails from 2010 to show that they have never contacted me through ****** until this month. I have however, received the below email through ****** so the email system on ******'s part is working.    Once I have heard from ******, I will issue a response on the BBB website.  Please do not consider this case closed until you have heard from me again. Thank you for all of the help that you have given me with this matter. ***** ******** _______________________________________________________________________________________________________----- Forwarded Message -----
From: Kryptonite Kollectibles - ****** *********** <**************************************>
To: ***** ******** <*************************>
Sent: Monday, March 5, 2012 4:55 PM
Subject: Return information from ****** seller Kryptonite Kollectibles (Order: *******************)


Order ID*******************:
1 of ****** ******* ***** **** Hooded Sweatshirt, Large [ASIN: **********]

------------- Begin message -------------

*****,

We are sorry for the confusion that has resulted in the claim that you submitted with the BBB but as you can see, we processed a refund on 11/19 before noticing that the item was damaged but during the confusion of the busy shipping season, we did not notice that the item was damaged until we attempted to put it into inventory.  At that time we forgot that the refund had been processed already and were proceeding as if it were a new return.  The refund was processed by ****** and credited back to your account so as it turns out, you received your money back and it was us that was out the cost of the sweatshirt but since we made the mistake in not noticing the damage right away, it was our fault and not yours.  We are sorry again about the whole misunderstanding but you can verify that the refund was processed as we have stated.

*****

------------- End message -------------

For Your Information: To help arbitrate disputes and preserve trust and safety, we retain all messages buyers and sellers send through ******.*** for two years.  This includes your response to the message above.  ******.*** uses filtering technology to protect buyers and sellers from possible fraud.  Messages that fail this filtering will not be transmitted.

We want you to buy with confidence anytime you purchase products on ******.***. Learn more about Safe Online Shopping (*******************************************************************) and our safe buying guarantee (*******************************************************************
[***mMgrTok:
**************

Regards,

***** ********

 

 

Business Response: The screen shot sent to the customer is the actual screen shot if we, ****** or the customer were to look at the order that was placed.  The refund was submitted to ****** on 11/19/2010 and ****** states that a refund should take 24-48 hours to be processed and post to the account.  The refund is processed by ****** not by Kryptotnite Kollectibles since they handle all credit card processing and we as the shipped never see the credit card information.  The funds were removed from our account by ****** so should have been credited to the account that was used to make the original purchase.  If the customer did in fact not receive a refund from ******, then she should contact ****** about her refund since it is them that have to apply the credit back to her account.

We apologize about the confusion of how things have happened in this case and that we did not realize until the last contact that we made that a refund was processed right away.  All of the mails about the item being damaged and that we could not issue a refund or ship an exchange are not of any importance since a refund was made on 11/19/10 for the item that was returned before we noticed that it was damaged.  We have supplied the same information to the customer and have left a phone message as well.

The timeline is:

The return was received and refunded on 11/19/10
The item was to be placed in inventory and we noticed the damage
We contacted the customer thinking it was a new return and told them that we could not issue a refund or exchange due to the damage
Several contacts were made by both parties in response to the damaged item
The BBB claim was filed

We admit that we made a mistake in the way we handled the whole issue since we had forgotten the refund that was initially made.  All of the mails between us and the customer should not have been necessary since a refund was processed before the damage was discovered.  We are not asking the customer to pay for the damaged sweatshirt again since we erringly processed the refund upon receipt of the return.  We are sorry again about any issue raised regarding the return which were entirely our fault but a refund was processed and should have been credited by Amazon.  If the refund was not posted to the customer's account, then ****** did not transfer the funds and should be able to do so.  The funds were removed from our account and should have been posted to that of the customer.  Once again, it will appear in the credit card account as a credit from ****** not Kryptonite Kollectibles.

We are so sorry for the stress and confusion which is all our fault but a refund was processed and can be verified by ****** as shown in the screen shot.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


 I have been in contact with ****** and the reason for the refund on Nov. 18 was because the item was no longer available so a refund was issued before the item was ever sent.  I reordered a different  ****** sweatshirt through **** **** ***. on Nov. 18 (invoice below) which turned out to also be owned by kryptonite kollectibles.  When I went to return the sweatshirt, instead of it going to **** **** ***, the return slip said to sent it to kryptonite kollectibles.  I did not give the sweatshirt until Christmas and did not mail it back until Jan. so it makes no sense that you would have refunded my money before you even sent the sweatshirt out.  If you check the below invoice, there are 2 different account numbers.  I wanted an exchange for the one from **** **** ***.  If you check your invoices from that company, you will see I ordered a sweatshirt from that company as well which would explain the quick refund.


  If the offer of a sweatshirt for half price and no shipping is still being offered, I will except it and call this matter settled.

Regards,

***** ********


 

 

Thanks for your order, ***** ********!

Want to manage your order online?
If you need to check the status of your order or make changes, please visit our home page at ******.com and click on Your Account at the top of any page.

Purchasing Information:

E-mail Address:  

*************************

Billing Address:
***** ********
**** * **** **
********* ** *****-****
United States

Shipping Address:
***** ********
**** * **** **
********* ** **********
United States

 

Order Grand Total: $134.76

Get the ******.com Rewards Visa Card and earn 3% rewards on your ******.com orders.

Order Summary:

Your purchase has been divided into 3 orders.

Order #1 : (order will arrive in 1 shipment)

Order #:

*******************

Shipping Method:

FREE Super Saver Shipping

Shipping Preference:

Group my items into as few shipments as possible

Subtotal of Items:  

$43.97

Shipping & Handling:  

$5.97

Super Saver Discount:  

-$5.97

Promotion Applied:  

-$0.00

Promotion Applied:  

-$0.00

 

------

Total before tax:  

$43.97

Estimated Tax To Be Collected:  

$2.31

 

------

Total for this Order:  

$46.28


 
Delivery estimate: November 16, 2010 - November 19, 2010

1

"PEANUTS SNOOPY "IT IS WHAT IT IS" Carolina Blue Licensed Tee (Medium)"
Apparel; $17.98

  Sold by: 
Haunted Flower LLC

1

"The Last Song (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo)"
Miley Cyrus; Blu-ray; $25.99

  Sold by: 
******.com, LLC

 

Order #2 : Kryptonite Kollectibles

Order #:

*******************

Shipping Method:

Standard

Shipping Preference:

Group my items into as few shipments as possible

Subtotal of Items:  

$39.99

Shipping & Handling:  

$8.00

 

------

Total for this Order:  

$47.99


 
Delivery estimate: November 15, 2010 - November 18, 2010
Shipping estimate for these items: November 9, 2010 - November 10, 2010

1

"****** Heroes: Group Shot Hooded Sweatshirt, Large"
Apparel; $39.99

  Sold by: 
Kryptonite Kollectibles

 

Order #3 : **** **** ***.

Order #:

*******************

Shipping Method:

Standard

Shipping Preference:

Group my items into as few shipments as possible

Subtotal of Items:  

$39.99

Shipping & Handling:  

$6.50

Promotion Applied:  

-$6.00

 

------

Total for this Order:  

$40.49


 
Delivery estimate: November 15, 2010 - November 18, 2010
Shipping estimate for these items: November 9, 2010 - November 10, 2010

1

"MARVEL GROUP SHOT "9 HEROES" LICENSED FRONT-ZIP BLACK HOODED SWEATSHIRT, Large"
Apparel; $39.99

  Sold by: 
**** **** ***.

 


 

 


 

 

Business Response: The sweatshirt was shipped on 11/09/2010 using Priority Mail with a delivery confirmation # of **********************.  The sweatshirt was returned to us on 11/19/10 and was refunded.  The refund amount was $39.99 and did not include the original shipping since the item was returned.  The refund was deducted from our ****** account and was not due to "no longer being available" since the item was in stock and was shipped.  If an item is unavailable, a full refund is issued and an E-mail stating that the item is out of stock is automatically sent to the customer by Amazon.

The customer states that they ordered from **** **** ***. but that the sweatshirt was shipped by us.  That is not true.  Blue Star is a completely separate company that sells on ****** and is a competitor of ours.  An item cannot be ordered from one vendor on ****** and shipped by another.  The invoice enclosed in the last mail from the customer shows a sweatshirt sold by Blue Star that we have never even carried.

Once again, the sweatshirt was shipped on 11/09/10 and returned to us with a refund processed on 11/19/10.  The item was in stock and shipped.  The order was no cancelled but actually shipped and returned to us.  We apologize yet again about the confusion that we caused by issuing a refund on an item that turned out to be damaged and forgetting that the initial refund had been made thereby contacting the customer about a damaged item returned to us that had already been handled with a refund.  The refund can be verified by ****** but in fact was not for an item being out of stock.  We only charge the credit card if the item has been shipped so for there to be tracking information and the credit card having been charged, it is not possible that the item was out of stock.  If we submit to ****** that an item is out of stock, the credit card hold is reversed, the order is closed and an E-mail is sent to the customer by ****** to notify them of the status.  That was not the case with this order.

We are not Blue Star inc. and do not sell nor have ever sold the ****** "9 Heroes" sweatshirt.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved