Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hansen & Sons Chimney & Fireplace Co.

Phone: (608) 244-9466 Fax: (608) 223-0940 850 E Broadway, Madison, WI 53716 http://www.madisonchimneyfireplace.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers chimney cleaning and repair, chimney building, fireplace repairs and new gas or wood fireplace/inserts. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hansen & Sons Chimney & Fireplace Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hansen & Sons Chimney & Fireplace Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Hansen & Sons Chimney & Fireplace Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 23, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1955 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1955 Business incorporated 06/19/1979 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
1400 East Washington Ave. Room 112, Madison WI 53703
http://dsps.wi.gov
Phone Number: (608) 261-8467
dsps@wisconsin.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Hussel, Owner Mr. Todd Kuwik, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Hussel, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Todd Kuwik, General Manager
Related Businesses
Chimney Doctors
Business Category

Chimney Builders & Repair Home Improvements Mason Contractors Fireplaces Chimney Cleaning Chimney Cleaning Equipment & Supplies Contractors - Retaining Wall Masonry Contractors (NAICS: 238140)

Products & Services

Hansen & Sons Chimney & Fireplace Co. sells the following brand(s): Regency

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy
This company has a "You Cant' Make a Mistake" Policy: 
- No Mess Guarantee
- 100% money back guarantee
- Lifetime Warranty - most items
- Guarantee low price policy
Service Area
All of Dane County
Alternate Business Names
Hansen & Sons MW Industries of Wisconsin, Inc.
Industry Tips
Contractor Certification (Dwelling) Home Improvements

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hansen & Sons Chimney & Fireplace Co. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 850 E Broadway

    Madison, WI 53716 (608) 244-9466

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December we contacted ****** & Sons about installing a new fire place to replace the existing one. **** ****** came to the house did an assessment, and on his recommendation we agreed to a Regency EX90 wood burnign fireplace to replace our old one. **** told us the fireplace could be used to supplement the heating upstairs ( the fireplace is in the family room in the basement) and reduce the use of our furnace. I asked if the fireplace would be hooked up to the hot air ducts fir the house; **** said they would only need to install two cold vents into the cold air ducts and the hot air would go thru them to bring the heat upstairs ( this didn't sound right to me but **** insisted it would work). The work was done Jan. 20. Upon completion we couldn't get any haet upstairs and notified **** ****** about it. Feb. 7 ********** came out to the house to look at the installation, and said it would be solved by enlarging the cold air duct recently cut into the ceiling and adding three more. **** had **** ( one of the employees who had installed the new fireplace and cold air return in the basement) come out February 18 to enlarge the existig cold air return and add three more (all wewre 4" x 10"); **** then told us he had measured wrong abnd only three of the ducts ere hooked up to the old air return and the fiourth was a dummy. I called **** ****** Tue. Feb 19 to let him know the installation of the three ducst and about the dummy, and we still had no heat going upstairs. **** said he would see about having the fireplace ducted to the hot air ducts from the furnace but he ahd to discuss it with **** ****** before it could be done. Feb 27, **** ****** called and said he would have the fireplace ducted to the hot air ducts in the house; later he called and said he changed his mind and would duct the fireplace to the cold air ducts. He came to the house March 1 and siad the furnace didn't have enough suction to draw the heat from the family room into the cold air ducts, so something had to be wrong with the furnace; I told I had talked with ******** who installed the furnace, and they said because it was high efficiency, the fan operatesd at a slower speed. (I asked **** if he or **** had checked the type of furnace before deceidng on how to do the installation, and he sadi even if he had checked it, he didn't see that kind before so it wouldn't have meant anything to him --I assumed checking the customer's type of furnace and heating system was a part of the process determining the installation). I asked again about ducting the fireplace to the hot air ducts but **** insisted on hooking them to the cold air ducts (other fireplace installers told me they duct the fireplace to the hot air ducts). Mar. ( ***** and **** from ******'s came and ducted the fireplace to cold air ducts as they were told. Some heat from the fireplace does go to the ciold air ducts and into the furnace; however, by the time the hot air from the fireplace gets into the furnace it has cooled off. In addition, this also requires that I have the blower on the furnace at full speed, even if the furnace itself is not on thereby causing me to have to run the furnace MORE instead of LESS as I was told at the time of signing the contract. My wife and I told we felt like he was using our house to experiment with and we didn't appreciate it; He told me he had done the same thing for a customer in Milwaukee area and it worked well- was this the only other installation of this kind he had done with the cold air ducts. I feel although I amde it clear to **** ****** that I wanted the fireplace ducted to the hot air ducts, it was his priority to duct it to the ciold air ducts for his own purposes. I now have a fireplace that I have to use the furnace blower at full speed constantly to try and move some heat from the fireplace through the rest of the house, contrary to what I was told initially, and have three unnecessary cold air ducts in the family which are blocked off in addition to another dummy return. We also had to have a wall removed ( enclosing the fireplace) which we finished; the wall will be repalced with dry wall but we will again have to finish the drywall to be consistent with the rest of the fireplace enclosure. I do have pics of the finished work the first time, the side wall being removed for the duct hook up to the cold air return, the new duct hook up, and of the four ducts in the family ceiling.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a significant adjustment to the bill for all the inconveniences we've gone through over since westarted this in January and feel **** ****** shoud be reprimanded for basically guessing at how he did our installation. I assumed suince he had been doing this for fifty years he would have checked the kind of heating system we had and plan the installation form there; instead he deceide on an install and after it didn't work right, hye finally called the furnace manfacturer who convinced him the furnace was operating correctly and he ahd made incorrect assumptions about how to install the system. I am tired of dealing with this the last two months and want it to end I am still waiting to hear when he will send the people out to finish enclosing the fire place.

Business Response:

Hi,
 
I met with *** **** on March 13, 2013 for approximately 2 hours and I believe we have satisfactory answered his questions.  He stated he would be conveying this to you.
 
Sincerely,
 
**** ******
*****
Hansen & Sons
Cell Phone: ###-###-####

Consumer Response: On Fri, Mar 15, 2013 at 10:22 AM, *** **** *********************** wrote:

*******,
 
I met with **** ****** ( *****) and his *** **** with my wife at our house, Wednesday Mar. 14. We reviewed the complaint and Mr. ****** and I agreed there were misunderstandings on both sides, and some of the ensuing probelms occurred because of Mr. ******'s efforts to correct the installation errors.
 
We decide Mr. ****** would take some additional steps to correct the snags with the operation of the fireplace as it is currently.  These efforts include sealing the unnecessary vents in the cold air returns, other minor adjustments, and enclosing the finished ductwork. We also agreed to negotiate to compensate me for the loss of the use of the fireplace as intended during the past months.
 
I am confident these actions will be taken, as Mr. ****** has been forward, timely and cooperative in his efforts to resolve this issue.  As a result I am requesting that the this  complaint be cancelled and rescinded so it does not appaere on ****** and Sons record.
 
If you have any questions you can contact me at ###-###-####.
 
Thank you for your assistance,
 
*** ****