BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers inspections and cleaning for chimneys, woodstoves, inserts and gas conversions along with major and minor repairs, duct and dryer vent cleaning.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chimney Doctors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chimney Doctors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chimney Doctors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 01, 1981 Business started: 01/01/1981 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated: 06/19/1979 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
1400 East Washington Ave. Room 112, Madison WI 53703
http://dsps.wi.gov
Phone Number: (608) 261-8467
dsps@wisconsin.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William B. Hussel, President Cindy Rabas, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William B. Hussel, President
Customer Contact: Cindy Rabas, Office Manager
Business Category

Chimney Builders & Repair Chimney Cleaning Masonry Contractors (NAICS: 238140)

Alternate Business Names
America's Best Chimney Co. Chimney Doctors-America's Best MW Industries of Wisconsin, Inc.
Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Additional Locations

  • 5349 N Lovers Lane Rd

    Milwaukee, WI 53225 (414) 463-8984

  • 6516 Monona Dr Ste 117

    Monona, WI 53716

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (262) 248-5114(Phone)
  • (262) 338-6080(Phone)
  • (262) 338-9338(Phone)
  • (262) 367-7308(Phone)
  • (262) 377-2411(Phone)
  • (262) 549-6003(Phone)
  • (262) 569-1115(Phone)
  • (262) 632-1580(Phone)
  • (262) 654-8507(Phone)
  • (262) 673-4545(Phone)
  • (262) 691-4412(Phone)
  • (262) 767-1800(Phone)
  • (262) 784-1551(Phone)
  • (262) 784-8000(Phone)
  • (414) 352-2446(Phone)
  • (414) 429-6164(Phone)
  • (414) 463-3877(Phone)
  • (414) 463-3899(Phone)
  • (414) 463-4180(Phone)
  • (800) 236-1552(Phone)
  • (800) 244-4181(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife contracted this recommended company to do some work on our duplex. The work was started, my wife received a call that the workman may not be able to do what we had agreed to. My wife said she was not interested in spending more money. He stated he would find out what could be done and get back to her. Never heard back and then received the bill. They went forward on a job after suggesting they may not be able to complete it according to our previous expectations. They demolished the chimney stack at expert prices, prices we were paying to have the chimney rehabilitated. We could have had it torn down for a lot less cost. They then met with my wife after the fact and yelled at her and attempted to intimidate her, suggesting it was her fault they did not get a correct estimate and do the job right. They then quoted her a second price at $5000.00 more to make the fireplace chimney workable. I contacted *** ***** and expressed my dismay with these two employees behavior toward my wife. He said that they owed her an apology and would get back with me to see how the second employee remembered the events Next thing we get is an email asking for money and saying he and I resolved everything. Now I don't trust him. He never arranged for his employee to apologize to my wife and the effort to quickly get the money suggests money is more important than his honor. He has now dishonored his name and reputation. I would have liked them to have done the rest of the work but now I don't want them on our property. I do not want to pay $4500.00 to have a chimney stack shortened and made defunct. I want them to apologize to my wife for their behavior towards her and split the bill in half for not giving us the option to cease when he told us he would get back to us with options going forward.

Desired Settlement: Since we didn't get what we hoped for and were not given the chance to stop the work before they went forward on it, I think 50% of what they charged would be fair considering we have reputable contacts to disassemble a chimney stack. And now we still need to pay for someone else to make it functional.

Business Response:

This is our response to regard to subject complaint filed by ***** ****.
 
I believe that this issue is 90% resolved between ******* doctors and ***** ****.  However, because we are approaching the seven business day deadline with regard to filing our response, here is an update:
 
I phoned Mr. **** the day (October 11th) that I received the BBB complaint and apologized for several misunderstandings on our part with regard to the resolution of his initial concerns.  We both agreed that he would call me on Monday, October 14th, after discussing this matter with his wife.
 
On October 14th, he and his wife visited our office and discussed the entire matter with our ****** ******* (***** *****).  I'm told that this was the beneficial meeting regard to all parties, and that ***** ***** agreed that **** ****** would provide Mr. and Mrs. **** with an updated proposal to install a new direct vent gas fireplace in their rental property “at cost” – approximately 50% of normal retail prices.
 
This proposal was sent to ***** **** on October 15, 2013 (Tuesday) – please see copy attached.  This proposal also included an additional $600 reduction in price for the reconstruction of their fireplace base which was found to be deteriorated after we opened up the fireplace enclosure.  Our original price to reconstruct this fireplace base was $1800 and was reduced to $1200 to show a gesture of good faith to Mr. and Mrs. ****.
 
******* **** replay by e-mail on October 15th (Tuesday)– stating that she was looking for an absolutely low price unit and I responded that our proposal was indeed the lowest priced unit that we offer.
 
At this point, we are waiting for a response from Mr. & Mrs. **** with regard to our latest proposal of October 15, 2013 (Tuesday).
 
We intend to continue working with Mr. & Mrs. **** to resolve their dispute in a satisfactory manner.

Consumer Response:

***** * ****

**** * ********* ***

********** **  *****

******* *** ****

******* ******

******* *******

**** * ****** **** **

********** **  *****

Dear Mr. ******,

I have to finalize my thoughts as they pertain to our experience with you.  We contracted to have what we thought was expert chimney work done with the result being a safe and functional chimney.  It became apparent to your technician that this might not be possible.  He informed my wife and she stated she did not want to spend any more money and asked for options.  The technician said he would check to find out what our options would include.  He never got back to my wife.  He continued on, even though there looked to be no activity week after week at the duplex.  Then we received a bill for the full amount.  When my wife inquired where the vent was, she was told they couldn’t put it in so they closed it up.

If we had been informed of the inability to do the work, as stipulated by the contract, we would have halted the work and had the chimney stack torn down by someone for half the price.  We were denied that option and asked to pay $5,690 for this work that requires no special expertise.

We feel defrauded by approximately half that amount.  We sought relief from this injury from ******* *******.  You said you would take $600 off the next labor and sell us the insert at cost.  There were no less expensive options offered. 

I have lost the trust factor in this relationship.  $600 is hardly a level of pain that compares to ours monetarily.  I have no confidence because of that to think we are really saving money on the insert when it seems there are much less expensive options on the market. 

I have no more time to devote to this.  ******* ******* honor has a low price tag.  We will maintain our honor by paying the breached contract in full minus the price of the vent, which we never received due to the uncompleted work, and the approximate labor cost to install it.  Enclosed is a check for $3,090.

We will let stand our complaint at the Better Business Bureau hoping that somewhere someone else will be protected and ultimately integrity becomes the priority over money.

Sincerely,

***** * ****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Chimney Doctors solicited my business with a coupon mailed to my home. With that coupon in mind i sought out their service and when i handed the coupon to the repair man he said "Oh, thats not going to be honored because it was a mistake" and he refused to take it. I then called the office and was told the same thing.. now i get my bill without my coupon discount. The estimate was $478 for the repair and when i got the coupon for $32 off any repair over $100 I decided that was the company to hire to complete the work. If they don't have to honor this coupon they could keep putting out "MISTAKE" COUPONS ALL THE TIME to increase their business and profit margins on the back of the consumer! If the coupon is indeed a "mistake" I feel it is the company's problem and they must honor the coupon regardless.

Desired Settlement: i would like to pay my bill of $478 minus the $32 offered on the coupon.

Business Response:

With regard to Mr. ********'s complaint, here is our response:
 
1. Mr ******** is requesting a $32.00 credit for a coupon from a Money Mailer mailing.
 
2. The coupon (attached) clearly states that "Coupon #MM513 Must Be Noted On All Contracts".  This is a requirement because our discount is given to serve as an incentive for customers to have us do the chimney repair at a time when they are reviewing various other competitor bids.  We did not intend the discount to apply if a customer happens to find the coupon AFTER his decision was made to have us do the work (this is similar to a customer purchasing a retail item like shoes, hat, etc), then finding a coupon after the purchase is made, then going back to the store later and asking for the discount.  Most retail stores would not honor the coupon.
 
Besides, our coupon clearly states this is not valid.
 
3. Mr. ******** did not present his coupon until he presented it to our foreman AFTER the job was completed.
 
4. Mr. ******** had our e-mail address and phone number and could have easily notified us that he had the coupon.
 
5. We also replaced the entire plywood top of his chimney at no extra charge.  This normally would have been a $90.00 extra charge.  This extra work was clearly over and above our proposal.
 
Considering the above items we ask that Mr. ******** submit his final payment ($478.00) to us on or before July 5, 2013.
 
Sincerely,
 
**** ******
*****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]  


My complaint remains unchanged.  I got a coupon in the mail for $32 off any job over $100, and my job was $478. I came out of the house to use my coupon and pay the bill and the foreman said "Sorry, they won't accept this coupon because it was a mistake, it was supposed to say $32 off of a $1,000 job". That mistake is not my fault. In 58 years of living in Wisconsin I have never had a company refuse to honor a coupon - THIS IS A FIRST.


I will pay the full bill and hope there is some honesty and integrity at Chimney Doctors to give me the discount that I considered when I used them for this job. Of course, by not honoring this coupon they will lose a customer which should be important to them.  I would also like them to know that, based on this coupon experience, I would NEVER recommend them to anyone who asks about Chimney Doctors as a company to use to have their chimney cleaned or repaired.  


Again, my complaint remains

Regards,

**** ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.