Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Wisconsin Homes, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (715) 384-2161 Fax: (715) 387-3627 425 W. McMillan St., Marshfield, WI 54449 http://www.wisconsinhomesinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the parts and equipment for manufactured homes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wisconsin Homes, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wisconsin Homes, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Wisconsin Homes, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1969 Business started: 01/01/1965 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1965 Business incorporated 01/06/1986 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
1400 East Washington Ave., Room 112, Madison WI 53703
http://www.dsps.wi.gov
Phone Number: (608) 266-2112
Fax Number: (608) 267-0644
dsps@wisconsin.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lamont Nienast, President Mr. Shannon L. Nienast, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lamont Nienast, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Shannon L. Nienast, General Manager
Business Category

Building Materials Manufactured Homes - Equipment & Parts Modular Homes Home Builders Prefabricated Wood Building Manufacturing (NAICS: 321992)

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Service Area
WI, MN, IA, ND, MI, CA
Industry Tips
Contractor Certification (Dwelling)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Wisconsin Homes, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 425 W. McMillan St.

    Marshfield, WI 54449 (715) 384-2161

  • PO Box 250

    Marshfield, WI 54449

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased home in 2004. In October felt floor spongy so I removed Vinyl flooring and discovered particle board completely wet with sub floor the same way. I took pictures and sent them to Wisconsin homes. I later contacted ****, whom I have spoken with before because of concerns with the particle board. (I talked to him about earlier about using ceramic tiles to prevent water penetrating the particle board). Anyways, **** was pleasant and offered 400.00 dollars to repair the damage. I was not satisfied with this and began to explain and ask questions about the construction and the use of waterproofing materials. **** became defensive and started to talk about the deck which is close to door. About building materials used in the deck construction. I told him what I knew and before I knew it he hung up.What I found when I removed the vinyl flooring,was the particle board was completely saturated. It has also damage the subfloor to a point where both had to be removed. I also damaged the wood under the door. Wisconsin homes only use pine instead of pressure treated wood under their doors. It also has damage the floor joist. What has to happen at this time the house has to be jacked up, the deck removed the vinyl siding has to be removed. The 2x10 that the door sits over the door has to be removed and replaced. The cabinets in this room has to be removed in order to get to the floor. The contractor came to the house and inspected the damage, he concluded that if Wisconsin Homes had used metal flashing under the door, installed pressure treated wood underneath the door, installed some type of plastic between the wall and floor joist the damage would have been minimal. We now have to worry about the mold issue we are facing. All the material now has to be removed and replaced. Repair cost 5000.00

Desired Settlement: I would like to have Wisconsin Homes pay at least 1200-1500 to off set the repair cost. I feel that Wisconsin Homes did not use waterproofing materials to slow or even prevent the water damage that occurred. They did not use metal flashing under the door, nor use pressure treated lumber around the parameter of the home. It is also a know fact the particle board should never be used in construction of these types of home.

Business Response:

Concerning Mr. *******’s issue.

 

Mr. ******* ordered his house without disclosing that he intended to place a deck immediately under a standard entrance door. Standard entrance doors do not require treated lumber placed under them nor does the door manufacturer require treated lumber or flashing be part of the installation. The addition of the deck was done on site after the purchase of the house. Whoever did the onsite work would have been responsible to ensure that water did not migrate into his house. Also the deck boards are at a height even with the bottom of the door threshold.  That height allowed water to migrate below the threshold and into the house as shown by the pictures he forwarded to Wis. Homes. It does not sound like Mr. ******* hired a licensed contractor to do this installation.  Having said this Wisconsin Homes is still willing to help Mr. ******* by offering him the original $400.00 towards the repair of his home.

 

Sincerely

  

**** *********

******* *******

Wisconsin Homes

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I would rather receive the 400.00 dollars, before I officially sign off of this complaint.

Regards,

 

****** *******

 

 

 

Business Response: My apologies we will get the check for $400 out right away.   Sorry for the confusion.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.

I would like to receive my original amount requested which is 1500.00

Regards,

****** *******

 

 

3/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our met with Wisconsin Homes and was appointed as the dealer for ***** *** ***** only to have the agreement cancelled with no warning or contact. We have incurred considerable expense in both actual costs and time to promote Wisconsin Homes in our area. We are just about to enter a major trade show to promote them only to find this out. We have been working closely with them and a customer of ours and are days away from finalizing the sale of the first house

Desired Settlement: At the least we expect coverage for the cost already incurred to promote their line of homes plus the revenue from the loss of the sale of our first home

Business Response: ***** ******** ****** did not have a display model.   We require builders to have a model.   To my knowledge ***** ******** ****** has never sold a home.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I attended their facility and have a model home on display was never a brought forward as a requirement nor was this concern communicated to us in any manner. Secondly we have just closed the sale of our first home and where notified of the change when we where calling about finalizing an order. At the same time we had just made an offer to purchase property for a display home.  When they were approached by another party in the area they were fully aware that we had committed to promote them at a local home builder show and had booked advertising in the local market. They failed to even contact us in any manner of the potential change in our relationship

Regards,

***** ****

 

 

Business Response: ***** was told on multiple occasions they needed a model home to be a builder.  WI Homes was unaware of *****'s offer to purchase property or any home show.  There has been little communication with him since intial meetings from mid summer 2013.   We have not built any homes for ***** *********.   His lack of activity is why we no longer work with him.     


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Wisconsin Homes, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart