Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ben's Cycle & Fitness Center, Inc.

Phone: (414) 384-2236 Fax: (414) 384-8715 View Additional Phone Numbers 1018 W Lincoln Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53215 http://www.benscycle.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers in store and online sales of bicycles and gear.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ben's Cycle & Fitness Center, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ben's Cycle & Fitness Center, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ben's Cycle & Fitness Center, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 28, 2004 Business started: 08/11/1928 in WI Business started locally: 08/11/1928 Business incorporated 04/04/1968 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Vince M. Hanoski, President/Owner Mr. Drew Triplett, Internet Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Vince M. Hanoski, President/Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Drew Triplett, Internet Sales Manager
Business Category

Bicycle - Dealers Bicycles - Repair Bicycles - Renting Sporting Goods Stores (NAICS: 451110)

Hours of Operation
M: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
T: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
F: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Su: Closed

Additional Locations

  • 1018 W Lincoln Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53215 (414) 384-2236 (888) 275-5111 (414) 409-7853

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Online Order #****** was made on 6-5-15 for $143.61. My Credit card was charged that amount the same day. 3 hours later I was told the item wasn't in stock & I should buy something else for the same price. One hour later I replied and said 'Cancel the Order.' 3 days later,6-8-15, the Order wasn't cancelled and I was again being asked to buy something else for the same price. 3 days after that, 6-11-15, I was told my Order has been refunded. As of 6-13-15, there is no refund of $143.61 posted to my Credit Card account. Ben's Cycle knowingly committed fraud when they immediately processed a $143.61 charge for an item they know they didn't have. Instead, they kept the charge active hoping I would buy something else, instead of voiding the transaction.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $143.61

Business Response: Hello,
We apologize for the delay ******'s refund. We did not intend to mislead in any way. The bicycle light the customer ordered was lost in our system and discontinued by the manufacturer; so we offered to upgrade him with a better light by the same manufacturer for the same price as he paid. No added cost.

The emails from Matt our customer service tech I found it looks like he emailed ****** (Friday 6/5 1:41pm) if want to upgrade to better light for the same price. This light being out of stock and discontinued was completely our fault and in those case we will offer upgrade to make the customer happy.

****** emailed back to cancel the order (Friday 6/5 10:26pm). We are closed at this time; we come back into the office Monday morning (6/8 10am) and at this time Matt should have refunded ******. We apologize. Matt instead emailed him to make sure he didn't want the upgrade (Monday 6/5 9:43am). Once again. We apologize and this should have been refunded at that time.

I cannot find any email correspondence between Matt or ****** after this until the order was refunded on Thursday 6/11. Matt has been disciplined for the delay in ******'s request for cancellation. This is NOT acceptable.

I have attached a copy of our credit card processor of both the charge and the refund for the order. Matt put the refund for ******'s order through on 6/11. After we put through a refund, it is up to individual banks to process and return the funds to the customers accounts. We have found that it can take 7-10 business days depending on banks.

Once again, we cannot apologize enough for the delay in ******'s refund on 6/11. This should have been done first thing on Monday 6/8. We did refund his total amount on 6/11/15 as you see from our online credit card processor image.

Please let us know if there is anything else you would need from us.

Best regards,
Vince H******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

As of this writing, a credit has not been finalized to my card's account, but it seems probable to go through. I remain dissatisfied with the poor ethics of this Company. Hiring aggressive and incompetent staff is solely the fault of *** *****. That's you, Vince. I do not accept your apology. I will never shop at your business online or in person again. You are a dishonest person unworthy of respect.

Regards,

****** ****