Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

WaterStone Bank SSB

Additional Locations

Phone: (414) 761-1000 Fax: (414) 918-0905 View Additional Phone Numbers 11200 W Plank Ct, Wauwatosa, WI 53226 http://www.wsbonline.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers bank products and services including savings, checking, money market accounts, certificates of deposit, business banking, home equity loans, lines of credit and commercial loans.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that WaterStone Bank SSB meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for WaterStone Bank SSB include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on WaterStone Bank SSB
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1951 Business started: 01/01/1921 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1921 Business incorporated 06/03/2013 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
550 17th St. NW, Washington DC 20429
www.fdic.gov
Phone Number: (877) 275-3342

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System
Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions, 345 W. Washington Avenue, 4th Floor, Madison WI 53703
http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org
Phone Number: 608-261-7578
DFIMortgageBanking@wisconsin.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Douglas Gordon, President and CEO Mr. William F. Bruss, Senior Vice President Ms. Kelli Glatczak, Assistant Vice President of Deposit Servicing Mr. Allan Hosack, CFO Ms. Becky Krueger, Community President - Waukesha Branch Ms. Shannon Loper, Community President - Oconomowoc/Lake County Branch Ms. Megan McCoy, Director of Marketing Ms. Gina Rafenstein, Branch Manager - West Allis
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Douglas Gordon, President and CEO
Business Category

Banks Savings & Loan Associations Savings Institutions (NAICS: 522120)

Alternate Business Names
Waterstone Bank WaterStone Financial Inc.
Industry Tips
Banking Regulators

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

WaterStone Bank SSB has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10101 W Greenfield Ave

    West Allis, WI 53214 (414) 476-4120

  • 11200 W Plank Ct

    Wauwatosa, WI 53226 (414) 761-1000

  • 1230 George Towne Dr

    Pewaukee, WI 53072 (262) 696-5200

  • 1233 Corporate Center Dr

    Oconomowoc, WI 53066 (262) 567-4230

  • 17495 W Capitol Dr

    Brookfield, WI 53045 (262) 696-7090

  • 21505 E Moreland Blvd

    Waukesha, WI 53186 (262) 549-5960

  • 6555 S 108th St

    Franklin, WI 53132 (414) 425-4140 (414) 459-4215

  • 6560 S 27th St

    Oak Creek, WI 53154 (414) 761-1920

  • 7500 W State St

    Wauwatosa, WI 53213 (414) 258-5880

  • W188N9820 Appleton Ave.

    Germantown, WI 53022 (262) 253-0400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This bank gave a loan to a company that went into foreclosure 2 months after I moved in & they recieved my 1st months rent & security deposit. I signed a 1 yr. lease that included appliances but was not provided a stove until 32 days after I moved in & paid rent in full for 2+ years without any repairs being made to the unit. After giving the landlord a 60 day notice that I would be moving out, I paid rent for the remainder of the 60 days, and was then given a 5 day notice to pay (more) money or evacuate the unit. When I contacted the field manager of the landlords office, I was told to "throw it away because it was a mistake." I didnt throw it away, I kept it for my personal files. Upon the completion of my 60 days & after cleaning the unit to a condition (wich was better than went I rented it) I returned all keys to the office & asked the receptionist to sign a form I had drawn up stating that all merchandise was returned, and I left my forwarding address for the return of my security deposit. After numerous attempts to contact the office about the security deposit, I was contacted by a member of the bank stating that I would have to "hunt down" the previous owner of the building to recieve my security deposit. Why would "I" need to find them when the bank is the one who gave the loan & ultimately collected my rent & security deposit when the building was forclosed upon?

Desired Settlement: I paid $645 for a security deposit. I know that owners have 21 days to complete security deposit transmittals, or "send in writing" the reason the security deposit was with held. Neither of these things have been done, and it has now passed the 21 day legal cut off date wich gives me the right to sue in small claims court for double the amount. I just want this matter resolved & to stop being given the run around. I am very shocked & disappointed in the way they are handling business.

Business Response: Waterstone Bank took over management of the subject property in June of 2010 and the complainant had resided in the subject property for some time prior to June of 2010.  It is WaterStone Bank's understanding that the complainant paid a security to ****** ***********, the prior owner of the subject property.  Wisconsin law is clear that a security deposit, unless assumed by the successor in interest, is a contractual relationship between the tenant who paid the security deposit and the landlord who received the security deposit.  WaterStone Bank never received a security deposit from the complainant nor assumed obligation for it from ****** ***********.  Accordingly, WaterStone Bank has no obligation, legal or otherwise, for the return of the complainant's security deposit and the complainant's recourse is strictly against ****** ************