Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company states it offers retail and commercial banking, wealth management, and employee benefits services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Nicolet National Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Nicolet National Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 09, 2006 Business started: 11/01/2000 in WI Business started locally: 11/01/2000 Business incorporated 04/05/2000 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200

Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System
Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions, 345 W. Washington Avenue, 4th Floor, Madison WI 53703
Phone Number: 608-261-7578

Securities & Exchange Comm.
450 5th Street N.W., Washington, DC 20549
Phone Number: (202) 942-7040

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Michael E. Daniels, President and COO Mr. Robert Atwell, Chairman/CEO Mr. Jeff Gahnz, Vice President of Marketing Ms. Nancy Johnshoy, Vice President-Portfolio Manager Ms. Ann Lawson, Vice President/CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael E. Daniels, President and COO
Business Category

Banks Investment Securities Retirement Planning Service Financial Services Commercial Banking (NAICS: 522110)

Alternate Business Names
Nicolet Bankshares, Inc.
Industry Tips
Advanced Fee Loans Avoiding Fraudulent Tax Preparation Banking Regulators Counterfeit Currency Credit Card Accountability, Responsibility and Disclosure (CARD) Act Credit-Budgeting Made Easy

Additional Locations

  • 101 S 1st St

    Colby, WI 54421 (715) 223-2361

  • 1011 N Broadway

    De Pere, WI 54115 (920) 425-1400


    1015 10th Ave

    Menominee, MI 49858 (906) 863-4407

  • 111 N Front St

    Fairchild, WI 54741 (715) 334-2911

  • 111 N Washington St

    Green Bay, WI 54301 (920) 430-1400

  • 119 N 1st St

    Abbotsford, WI 54405 (715) 223-3535

  • 134 S 8th St

    Medford, WI 54451 (715) 748-8300

  • 1610 Lawrence Dr

    De Pere, WI 54115 (920) 330-6050

  • 2009 Hall Ave

    Marinette, WI 54143 (715) 732-2600

  • 2082 Monroe Rd

    De Pere, WI 54115 (920) 406-2480

  • 2100 Stewart Ave Ste 100

    Wausau, WI 54401 (715) 845-8680

  • 2170 Lincoln St

    Rhinelander, WI 54501 (715) 362-1640

  • 2363 Holmgren Way

    Green Bay, WI 54304 (920) 406-7080

  • 2380 Duck Creek Pkwy Ste 100

    Green Bay, WI 54303 (920) 496-8802

  • 2400 S Kensington Dr

    Appleton, WI 54915 (920) 224-1420

  • 315 N Us Highway 141

    Crivitz, WI 54114 (715) 854-7400

  • 325 W Pine St

    Eagle River, WI 54521 (715) 479-8484

  • 3845 Rib Mountain Dr

    Wausau, WI 54401 (715) 241-2500

  • 500 West St

    Neillsville, WI 54456 (715) 743-3144

  • 717 McComb Ave.

    Rib Lake, WI 54470 (715) 427-5234

  • 864 N Lake Ave

    Phillips, WI 54555 (715) 339-6700

  • 8744 Us Highway 51 N

    Minocqua, WI 54548 (715) 358-6930

  • 900 W College Ave

    Appleton, WI 54914 (920) 224-1400


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged twice for the exact same debit. The bank continues to place blame on Walmart even though Walmart verified there was no double charge by them. This was done by the Walmart zone supervisor named Jude who was located at the main street branch of Walmart in Green Bay, Wi. The charge for $61.18 on the 1st of July 2016 was deducted then again on the 16th of July 2016 I was charged again ,putting my account into an over draft . Jude at Walmart explained that it was a double charge on the bank side and it was Nicolet`s fault. I have dealt with a personal Banker named **** ***** at the Brussels branch of Nicolet bank she also confirmed that it was an exact duplicate charge and sent me paperwork showing such. They still have not giving the money back, though they have refunded the overdraft fee of 30 dollars twice duplicating that charge too I keep getting the run around and have spoken to the assistant Bank vice President to no avail.

Desired Settlement: I want the second charge of 61.18 removed from my account and all this mess cleared up along with any charges . Bank account number is #7584192 checking account .We even signed papers for unauthorized charge

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


***** *******

2/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Overdrafted my bank account accidently. I received a 30 dollar overdraft fee and I understood and accepted that. Then they started to charge 5 dollars a day for my account being overdrafted. I am on social security and will not receive any money until the first of the month. all in all this will cost me over 100 dollars on the overdrafts I believe and it is really upsetting. I called the bank to see if they can at least stop charging me and they said no. I feel it is wrong to charge as much as they do for a overdraft.

Desired Settlement: I would like the 5 dollars daily they have been charging me reversed on my account. After the first when I get my check I would like to close my account. I would also like them to explain it much better that there policy is to charge these overdraft fees. I thought it was one or the other not both and they really need to explain that to their customers.

Business Response:

******* opened his account with us in March, 2014.

When he opened the account, Nicolet’s ********* ****** ******* discussed the overdraft protection program with him.

She also gave him the proper account disclosures, which includes fees that could be charged on the account.

Since opening the account, he has been overdrawn twice for a total of 31 days.

In this specific case, our ********* ****** ******* proactively called ******* to let him know his account was overdrawn.

She did not reach him so she sent a letter.

******* proceeded to call our branch, complain about the fees and then hung up.

The ********* ****** ******* called, emailed, and called again. 

On June 26, ******* make a deposit to cover the fees. 

******* said that he was happy with the resolution of the overdraft fees and that he will contact the BBB and let them know we worked with him to resolve the issue.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I did clear this up with the bank and we came to a reasonable outcome. It took a little bit of explaining but i now understand the bank rules and fine print better.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 



******* *******




Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Nicolet National Bank
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)