BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

Johnson Bank

Find a Location

Phone: (262) 619-2700 Fax: (262) 916-8505 View Additional Phone Numbers 555 Main Street, Suite 400  Headquarters, Racine, WI 53403 http://www.johnsonbank.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Johnson Financial is the holding company for Johnson Bank, which has more than 50 offices in Wisconsin and Arizona.  Servicing consumers and business clients, the company offers standard banking fare such as savings accounts and loans in addition to insurance, investment, and wealth management services. The Johnson Trust Unit, serves high-net-worth individuals and institutional investors, has more than $2 billion of assets under management.  The group also provides international and private banking services. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Johnson Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Johnson Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Johnson Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 07, 1998 Business started: 11/12/1970 in WI Business started locally: 11/12/1970 Business incorporated: 11/29/1988 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Financial Institutions
P.O. Box 7846, Madison WI 53707-7846
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: 608-261-9555

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Bolger, CEO Ms. Judith Carre Sutfin, CFO Mr. Peter X. Engel, Executive Vice President Ms. Sally A. Smith, Senior Vice President, Director of Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Bolger, CEO
Principal: Ms. Judith Carre Sutfin, CFO
Customer Contact: Mr. Peter X. Engel, Executive Vice President
Related Businesses
Johnson Insurance Services, LLC
Business Category

Banks Financial Planning Consultants Financing Investment Advisory Service Investment Securities Loans Loans - Small Business Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Real Estate Loans Financial Services Estate Planning & Management Financing Consultants Mortgage Bankers Loan Modification Real Estate Loan Modification Banking Services Investment Management Financial Planning Kit Loan Servicing Mortgage Lender Monetary Authorities-Central Bank (NAICS: 521110)

Hours of Operation
Hours vary by location
Alternate Business Names
Johnson Financial Group, Inc
Industry Tips
Advanced Fee Loans Avoiding Fraudulent Tax Preparation Banking Regulators Bankruptcy-Consumers Considering Bankruptcy Counterfeit Currency Credit Card Accountability, Responsibility and Disclosure (CARD) Act Credit-Budgeting Made Easy

Additional Locations

  • 1 South Main St

    Janesville, WI 53547 (608) 743-1500

  • 1000 Fox Street

    Mukwonago, WI 53149 (262) 363-3031

  • 101 W Chestnut St

    Burlington, WI 53105

  • 10514 S Main St

    Hayward, WI 54843 (715) 634-6256

  • 10631 U.S. Highway 63

    Hayward, WI 54843 (715) 634-2611

  • 1309 N Wright Rd

    Janesville, WI 53546 (608) 743-4040

  • 14000 W. North Avenue

    Brookfield, WI 53005 (262) 787-4300

  • 1444 W. Mequon Road

    Mequon, WI 53092

  • 159 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd

    Madison, WI 53703 (608) 250-7200

  • 200 Sherman Ave W

    Fort Atkinson, WI 53538 (920) 568-5660

  • 2019 Cenex Dr

    Rice Lake, WI 54868 (715) 736-4700

  • 2021 Holiday Drive

    Janesville, WI 53547 (608) 743-4050

  • 222 W. College Avenue

    Appleton, WI 54911 (920) 225-5500

  • 2729 18th Street

    Kenosha, WI 53140 (262) 597-8200

  • 3001 West Rawson Avenue

    Franklin, WI 53132 (414) 304-7000

  • 318 South Washington Street

    Green Bay, WI 54301 (920) 433-7100

  • 333 East Wisconsin Avenue

    Milwaukee, WI 53202 (414) 287-6450

  • 340 South Main Street

    Rice Lake, WI 54868 (715) 736-4500

  • 3928 60th St

    Kenosha, WI 53144 (262) 657-2100

  • 4001 North Main Street

    Racine, WI 53402 (262) 639-6010

  • 441 Lake Avenue

    Racine, WI 53403 (262) 619-2712

  • 455 Riverdale Dr

    Green Bay, WI 54313 (920) 662-5318

  • 4959 Douglas Avenue

    Racine, WI 53402 (232) 681-6600

  • 525 Junction Road Madison

    Madison, WI 53717 (608) 203-3900

  • 526 North River Street

    Spooner, WI 54801 (715) 635-9749

  • 555 Main Street

    Racine, WI 53403 (262) 619-2700

  • 555 Main Street, Suite 400  Headquarters

    Racine, WI 53403 (262) 619-2700 (888) 769-3796

  • 5600 North Lake Drive Suite 101

    Milwaukee, WI 53217 (414) 961-6200

  • 5901 Durand Ave

    Racine, WI 53406 (262) 554-6500

  • 6520 Northwestern Avenue

    Racine, WI 53406 (262) 884-7750

  • 6700 Washington Avenue

    Racine, WI 53406 (262) 884-7800

  • 700 S. River St

    Spooner, WI 54801 (715) 635-5975

  • 7401 144th Ave

    Kenosha, WI 53142 (262) 857-6100

  • 7500 Green Bay Rd

    Kenosha, WI 53142 (262) 697-7500

  • 8046 39th Ave

    Kenosha, WI 53142 (262) 942-6700

  • 815 East Woodlake Road

    Kohler, WI 53044 (920) 208-7440

  • 840 Main Ave

    De Pere, WI 54115 (920) 330-6026

  • N22w23991 Ridgeview Pkwy W

    Waukesha, WI 53188 (262) 523-8250

  • 1902 W Parkside Ln

    Phoenix, AZ 85027

  • 3131 E Camelback Rd

    Phoenix, AZ 85016

  • 32621 N Scottsdale Rd

    Scottsdale, AZ 85266

  • 8700 E Pinnacle Peak Rd

    Scottsdale, AZ 85255

  • 8700 N Gainey Center Dr

    Scottsdale, AZ 85258

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 769-3796(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Could I please be directed to someone who would allow me to attach a few emails that refer to this complaint? Here are a few of my comments in the original complaint that was too large of a file to enter: *****This was the first response I recieved from Johnson Bank while I was at work unable to view my personal email or personal phone due to my employers company policy. This was the same day that my disputes were not addressed and my account was closed without my knowledge, also a check was sent via mail for the remainder of my account after my LOC account was paid in full leaving me half way between my workplace and home at a gas station with a disabled debit card and no possible way to pay for gas except to call a friend 30min. away to travel and borrow me money for gas and to get me through the weekend untill I was able to travel to my credit union in *** ***** ** the following Monday.***** *****This was the last email I had recieved the day my account was closed without my knowledge nor my confirmation. This company I believe has serious customer service isseues, yet they continue to climb "Fortune Magazines - Best Companies to Work For". Needless to say, being a former employee I find the services I recived poor at best. Despite what happens with this complaint I will forward this report to to Fortune Magazine to illustrate how appreciative Johnson Bank really is of their employees and former employees. Thank you for you time and consideration, **** ****** **** ** ***** *** ******* ***** ****** ** ***** ###-###-#### ********************

Desired Settlement: Billing adjustment & an apology.

Business Response:

***** ******

***** ******** **********

Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin

10101 W Greenfield Ave., Ste 125

Milwaukee, WI 53214

RE: Complaint from **** ****** ******


**  

# *******

 

Dear Ms. ******,

PAGE 01/02

Please accept this letter in response to your letter, dated February 21, 2012, regarding

the complaint you received from Mr. ******.

On January 18, 2012, Johnson Bank received an email from Mr. ****** regarding his

concern and the activity that occurred on or about December 27, 2011 which caused an

overdraft to his checking account. The cause of the overdraft, among other things, was

mis-communication between Mr. ****** and a merchant. Mr. ****** claims he

instructed the merchant that he would make a purchase for cash; however the merchant

processed a debit card transaction in the amount of $20.43.

Notwithstanding the apparent dispute between Mr. ****** and the merchant, Mr

******** overdraft on the date of concern

 

exceeded the amount In question and he was

 

NOT charged an overdraft fee or was any supporting line of credit activated for this

specific date or transaction.

On January 11, 2012, after reviewing the sequence of events with Mr. ******, Johnson

Bank provided in good faith a refund of an amount equal to an overdraft fee that was

assessed in close proximity to this date, but again, not directly related to the disputed

activity.

On January

 

3D, 2012, based on activity not deemed consistent with safe and sound

 

banking practice, Johnson Bank made the decision to close the account. Our Bank

representative left a voice mail for Mr. ****** as well as mailing a letter and a cashier's

check for the remaining funds in his account.

 

Johnson Bank does not feel that any additional refunds of overdraft charges are

required.

Jf

 

you have any additional questions, please feel free to. contact ine at ************ .

 

Thank you,
**** * ********* 


 

Senior Vice President & Chief Compliance Officer