BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

View BBB Rating for BMO Harris Bank N.A.'s headquarters.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers financial services,including trust and investment management, equipment leasing, mortgage banking, asset-based lending, financial planning, investments, and insurance services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BMO Harris Bank N.A. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for BMO Harris Bank N.A.. BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for BMO Harris Bank N.A..

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1963 Business started: 01/01/1847 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1847 Business incorporated: 01/30/1959 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
550 17th Street, NW, Washington DC 20429-9990
http://www.fdic.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brad Chapin, EVP Jim Crowley, President Mr. Thomas Ellis, Executive Vice President Mr. Thomas J O'Neill, Executive Vice President Ms. Laura Peters, Customer Relations Mgr.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Chapin, EVP
Principal: Jim Crowley, President
Business Category

Banks Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Monetary Authorities-Central Bank (NAICS: 521110)

Industry Tips
Banking Regulators

Additional Locations

  • 1 Main St

    Racine, WI 53403

  • 1 W Main St

    Madison, WI 53703

  • 100 Main St E

    Ashland, WI 54806

  • 100 N Main St

    Janesville, WI 53545

  • 100 N Main St

    Westby, WI 54667 (608) 634-3787

  • 100 S 1st St

    Mount Horeb, WI 53572 (608) 437-5566

  • 100 Wisconsin Ave

    Denmark, WI 54208

  • 1000 Milwaukee Ave

    Burlington, WI 53105

  • 1000 N Water St

    Milwaukee, WI 53202 (414) 291-7955 (888) 675-8405

  • 1001 Marquette Ave

    S Milwaukee, WI 53172

  • 101 Falls Rd

    Grafton, WI 53024 (262) 377-5511

  • 101 Main St

    Mosinee, WI 54455

  • 101 N Main St

    Black Creek, WI 54106

  • 101 N Main St

    Shawano, WI 54166

  • 101 W 4th St

    Marshfield, WI 54449

  • 1013 S 8th St

    Manitowoc, WI 54220

  • 1015 N Main St

    Edgerton, WI 53534

  • 102 N Main St

    Chaseburg, WI 54621 (608) 483-2105

  • 10208 Park Plz Ste B

    Rothschild, WI 54474

  • 103 S 2nd St

    River Falls, WI 54022

  • 104 N 5th St

    Delavan, WI 53115

  • 1040 N Main St

    Sheboygan Falls, WI 53085 (920) 467-9057

  • 1049 Campbell St N

    Prescott, WI 54021

  • 10529 W North Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53226

  • 106 W Division St

    Neillsville, WI 54456

  • 108 E Court St

    Richland Center, WI 53581

  • 10995 N Market St

    Thiensville, WI 53092

  • 110 W Main St

    Weyauwega, WI 54983

  • 1100 8th St S

    Wisc Rapids, WI 54494

  • 111 E Kilbourn Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53202

  • 112 E Capitol Dr

    Hartland, WI 53029

  • 1140 W Main St

    Sun Prairie, WI 53590

  • 1145 Main St

    Onalaska, WI 54650

  • 1159 8th St

    Baraboo, WI 53913 (608) 356-7771

  • 117 S Chestnut Ave

    Green Bay, WI 54303

  • 120 N Emery Ave

    Peshtigo, WI 54157

  • 120 Park Ave

    Beaver Dam, WI 53916

  • 1200 Commerce Pl

    Plover, WI 54467

  • 1200 Washington St

    Grafton, WI 53024 (262) 377-4000

  • 1202 N Sherman Ave

    Madison, WI 53704

  • 121 N Main St

    Adams, WI 53910

  • 123 Main St

    Casco, WI 54205

  • 1245 Main St

    Stevens Point, WI 54481

  • 127 Jefferson St

    Oregon, WI 53575

  • 1288 E Frontage Rd

    Little Suamico, WI 54141 (920) 826-6446

  • 129 E Bridge St

    New Lisbon, WI 53950

  • 1300 Business Hwy 18-151 East

    Mount Horeb, WI 53572

  • 1300 Rose St

    La Crosse, WI 54603

  • 1301 Highway 175

    Hubertus, WI 53033

  • 1305 N Central Ave

    Marshfield, WI 54449

  • 1311 14th Ave

    Bloomer, WI 54724

  • 132 E Main St

    Hortonville, WI 54944

  • 1404 Creston Park Dr

    Janesville, WI 53545

  • 1415 S Marquette Rd

    Prairie du Chien, WI 53821 (608) 326-1715

  • 1425 Tower Ave

    Superior, WI 54880

  • 1433 Pabst Farms Cir

    Oconomowoc, WI 53066

  • 14353 Hwy 32 & 64

    Mountain, WI 54149 (715) 276-1820

  • 1441 N Taylor Dr

    Sheboygan, WI 53081

  • 1467 Us Hwy 14 E

    Richland Ctr, WI 53581

  • 15450 W National Ave

    New Berlin, WI 53151 (262) 789-2444

  • 1555 W Mequon Rd

    Mequon, WI 53092

  • 1580 E Moreland Blvd

    Vernon, WI 53186

  • 1590 Cardinal Dr

    Port Washington, WI 53074 (262) 268-9660

  • 16570 W Bluemound Rd

    Brookfield, WI 53005

  • 171 Main St Ste 100

    Belgium, WI 53004 (262) 285-7610

  • 177 E Silver Spring Dr

    Whitefish Bay, WI 53217

  • 1784 Superior St

    Three Lakes, WI 54562

  • 1820 Wisconsin Ave

    New Holstein, WI 53061

  • 19105 W Capitol Dr

    Brookfield, WI 53045 (262) 790-2900

  • 1964 Dickinson Rd

    De Pere, WI 54115

  • 2002 Eastern Ave

    Plymouth, WI 53073

  • 201 Allen St

    Random Lake, WI 53075 (920) 994-4362

  • 201 E Main St

    Reedsburg, WI 53959 (608) 524-8251

  • 201 N Main St

    Thiensville, WI 53092 (262) 242-4000

  • 201 S Military Ave

    Green Bay, WI 54303

  • 202 E Main St

    Gillett, WI 54124 (920) 855-6777

  • 203 S Main St

    Westfield, WI 53964

  • 204 S Main St

    Loyal, WI 54446

  • 2042 Lime Kiln Rd

    Green Bay, WI 54311

  • 205 Green Bay Rd

    Thiensville, WI 53092

  • 205 N 2nd St

    Watertown, WI 53094

  • 205 S Main St

    Seymour, WI 54165

  • 206 Airport Rd

    Shawano, WI 54166

  • 209 E Jefferson St

    Spring Green, WI 53588

  • 209 Horicon St

    Mayville, WI 53050

  • 210 W Davenport St

    Rhinelander, WI 54501

  • 2100 Omro Rd

    Oshkosh, WI 54904

  • 2120 W Wisconsin Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53233

  • 214 W 5th St

    Shawano, WI 54166

  • 220 N Century Ave

    Waunakee, WI 53597

  • 220 S 18th Ave

    Wausau, WI 54401

  • 221 W College Ave

    Appleton, WI 54911

  • 2223 Main St

    Green Bay, WI 54302

  • 2225 N Calhoun Rd

    Brookfield, WI 53005

  • 2266 S 13th St

    Milwaukee, WI 53215 (414) 671-6510

  • 231 W Silver Spring Dr

    Glendale, WI 53217

  • 2315 S Business Dr

    Sheboygan, WI 53081

  • 237 W Maple St

    Lancaster, WI 53813

  • 24 E Walnut St

    North Freedom, WI 53951 (608) 522-4271

  • 2417 Monetary Blvd

    Hudson, WI 54016

  • 2440 Four Mile Rd.

    Caledonia, WI 53108

  • 24616 75th St

    Salem, WI 53168

  • 25 N Madison St

    Evansville, WI 53536 (608) 882-2582

  • 250 E. Main St.

    Lomira, WI 53048

  • 2555 S 108th St

    West Allis, WI 53227

  • 2608 Center Ave.

    Janesville, WI 53546

  • 2614 W Mason St

    Green Bay, WI 54303

  • 2700 Golf Rd

    Delafield, WI 53018

  • 2700 S Oneida St

    Green Bay, WI 54304

  • 2701 S Kinnickinnic Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53207

  • 2701 W National Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53215

  • 2753 W Lawrence St

    Appleton, WI 54914

  • 2755 Plaza Dr

    Wausau, WI 54401

  • 2806 Schofield Ave

    Schofield, WI 54476

  • 2850 Prairie Ave

    Beloit, WI 53511

  • 2851 New Pinery Rd

    Portage, WI 53901 (608) 742-5555

  • 2851 Post Rd

    Plover, WI 54467

  • 2900 Fish Hatchery Rd

    Madison, WI 53713

  • 2900B Church St

    Stevens Point, WI 54481

  • 2915 W College Ave

    Appleton, WI 54914

  • 300 E. Wall St.

    Eagle River, WI 54521

  • 300 Maragret St

    Woodruff, WI 54568

  • 300 N Milwaukee St

    Waterford, WI 53185

  • 301 Water St

    Eau Claire, WI 54703

  • 302 N Iowa St

    Dodgeville, WI 53533

  • 31 Meadowview Dr

    Baraboo, WI 53913

  • 310 W Main St

    Wautoma, WI 54982

  • 310 W Walnut St

    Green Bay, WI 54303

  • 3155 N 124th St

    Brookfield, WI 53005

  • 321 N Main St

    West Bend, WI 53095

  • 328 Water St

    Eau Claire, WI 54703

  • 33 W Pioneer Rd

    Fond Du Lac, WI 54935

  • 333 Blackburn St

    Ripon, WI 54971

  • 3470 Gateway Rd

    Brookfield, WI 53045

  • 35 E Main St

    Chilton, WI 53014

  • 3500 Highway 16

    LaCrosse, WI 54601

  • 3601 S 147th St

    New Berlin, WI 53151

  • 388 W Main St

    Ellsworth, WI 54011

  • 3901 E Calumet St

    Appleton, WI 54915

  • 401 E State St

    Mauston, WI 53948

  • 401 N Main St

    Westby, WI 54667 (608) 634-3787

  • 402 E Wisconsin Ave

    Appleton, WI 54911

  • 408 Highway 70 E

    Saint Germain, WI 54558

  • 410 Broad St

    Lake Geneva, WI 53147

  • 4100 Durand Ave

    Racine, WI 53405

  • 4106 Highway 93

    Eau Claire, WI 54701

  • 411 N Bridge St

    Chippewa Fls, WI 54729

  • 412 Howard St

    Green Bay, WI 54303

  • 414 Buffalo St

    Sheboygan Falls, WI 53085

  • 414 W National Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53204

  • 422 E Mason St

    Milwaukee, WI 53202

  • 4235 52nd St

    Kenosha, WI 53144

  • 4252 Southtowne Dr Ste D

    Eau Claire, WI 54701

  • 4323 Milton Ave Ste 100

    Janesville, WI 53546

  • 4501 Vernon Blvd

    Madison, WI 53705

  • 4522 Cottage Grove Rd

    Madison, WI 53716

  • 4613 Monona Dr

    Monona, WI 53716

  • 4677 S Packard Ave

    Cudahy, WI 53110

  • 4702 Verona Rd

    Madison, WI 53711 (608) 821-1940

  • 4711 Monona Dr

    Monona, WI 53716

  • 4726 E Towne Blvd

    Madison, WI 53704

  • 50 Pearl Ave

    Oshkosh, WI 54901

  • 500 1st St Ste 6500

    Wausau, WI 54403

  • 500 Cherry Ave

    Oconto Falls, WI 54154 (920) 846-2810

  • 500 E Grand Ave

    Beloit, WI 53511

  • 500 Main St E

    Menomonie, WI 54751

  • 500 Viking Dr

    Reedsburg, WI 53959 (608) 768-1433

  • 501 Broadway

    Wisc Dells, WI 53965

  • 502 Central Ave

    Coon Valley, WI 54623 (608) 452-3165

  • 502 Third St

    Wausau, WI 54401

  • 508 N Lake Ave

    Twin Lakes, WI 53181

  • 5101 Spring St

    Mt Pleasant, WI 53406

  • 516 Clermont St

    Antigo, WI 54409

  • 5211 Rib Mountain Dr

    Wausau, WI 54401

  • 524 E Green Bay Ave

    Saukville, WI 53080 (262) 284-7444

  • 5250 Verona Rd

    Fitchburg, WI 53711

  • 5567 Odana Rd

    Madison, WI 53719

  • 585 Ryan St

    Pewaukee, WI 53072 (262) 695-8000

  • 5935 7th Ave

    Kenosha, WI 53140

  • 60 10th St

    Clintonville, WI 54929

  • 610 W Verona Ave

    Verona, WI 53593 (608) 845-3900

  • 615 Highway 136

    Baraboo, WI 53913 (608) 356-1651

  • 615 Water St

    Sauk City, WI 53583

  • 623 W Grand Ave

    Port Washington, WI 53074 (262) 284-1000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    643 S Green Bay Rd

    Neenah, WI 54956

  • 6645 W Oklahoma Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53219

  • 7 N Brown St

    Rhinelander, WI 54501

  • 7000 S 76th St

    Franklin, WI 53132 (414) 529-2252

  • 7000 W Greenfield Ave

    West Allis, WI 53214

  • 713 N Main St

    Lodi, WI 53555 (608) 592-3884

  • 726 Water St

    Sauk City, WI 53583

  • 730 Fox St

    Mukwonago, WI 53149

  • 734 5th Ave

    Antigo, WI 54409

  • 7447 University Ave

    Middleton, WI 53562

  • 7501 W North Ave

    Wauwatosa, WI 53213

  • 7535 Pershing Blvd

    Kenosha, WI 53142

  • 7600 W Layton Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53220

  • 770 N Water St

    Milwaukee, WI 53202

  • 770 North Water Street

    Milwaukee, WI 53202

  • 7801 Mineral Point Rd

    Madison, WI 53717

  • 7878 Big Sky Dr

    Madison, WI 53719

  • 810 Shorewood Blvd

    Madison, WI 53705

  • 8300 W Silver Spring Dr

    Milwaukee, WI 53218

  • 868 S Main St

    West Bend, WI 53095

  • 8740 N Port Washington Rd

    Fox Point, WI 53217

  • 885 Western Ave Ste 400A

    Fond Du Lac, WI 54935

  • 8900 S Howell Ave

    Oak Creek, WI 53154

  • 900 E Main St

    Merrill, WI 54452

  • 900 Elm Grove Rd

    Elm Grove, WI 53122

  • 9066 76th St

    Pleasant Prairie, WI 53158

  • 9210 W North Ave

    Wauwatosa, WI 53226

  • 945 Cardinal Ln

    Green Bay, WI 54313

  • 9501 W Loomis Rd

    Franklin, WI 53132

  • 960 W Paradise Dr

    West Bend, WI 53095 (262) 338-8500

  • 9719 S Franklin Dr

    Franklin, WI 53132 (414) 423-4500

  • N14W23999 Stoneridge Dr.

    Waukesha, WI 53188

  • N168W22770 Prairie View Ln.

    Jackson, WI 53037

  • N64w25050 Prospect Cir

    Sussex, WI 53089

  • N70W5185 Columbia Rd.

    Cedarburg, WI 53012 (262) 377-9000

  • N82W15415 Appleton Ave.

    Menomonee Falls, WI 53051

  • S63W13510 W Janesville Rd

    Muskego, WI 53150 (414) 529-4414

  • S69w14142 Tess Corners Dr

    Muskego, WI 53150

  • W156N11150 Pilgrim Rd.

    Germantown, WI 53022

  • W62n209 Washington Ave

    Cedarburg, WI 53012

  • W62N209 Washington Ave.

    Cedarburg, WI 53012

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I obtained a "****** *******" installment Loan from M&I in 2011. I was told that this was the best way to rebuild my credit. I would make monthly payments,directly withdrawn from my account. It was structured like a loan, so I am paying interest. But I was expressly told that the benefit to me is that they (M&I) would POSITIVELY report, monthly, to all the major credit bureaus. When BMO bought M&I several months ago, I noticed my credit score took a hit because my installment loan was reporting as closed. After several frustrating conversations with someone at BMO, I was told that they (BMO) are under no legal obligation to report on my behalf and that not reporting was not negatively effecting my score. This may be true, but it is also not positively effecting my credit, which was the original intent of the program, and the reason why I pay interest on a loan I do not need.

Desired Settlement: I would like BMO to contact all three major credit bureaus and indicate that the account is in fact open and positively report for all missed months.

Business Response:

Ms. *******,

The credit bureau reporting for your loan account will be reflected again at the beginning of February.  We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


I am not satisfied with their response.  I still feel as though I have been scammed by them.  The whole purpose of a "Credit Builder Loan" is to build credit.  I have held up my end of the contract, but they have failed to report, as promised.  Though they are not damaging my credit, they are not improving my credit, as promised.  I feel that the fees and interest I pay are unnecessary, as they are not performing the agreed upon actions.


I would like them to report corrections to all major credit reporting bureaus (as a couple are actually reporting the account as closed, while others are saying my last payment was received in September).  I would also like them to credit the interest accrued for the months that they did not report accurately to the agencies.  I am in the process of trying to purchase a house and their inaction is directly impacting me.

******* *******

 

 

Business Response:

It is common for financial institutions undergoing system conversion to turn their credit reporting functionality off for a period of time for the convenience of the customer.  During a system conversion, many unfortunate and unforeseen events can occur such as payment posting errors, missing payments, etc.  We would never want these types of bank errors to reflect negatively on any of our customer's credit reports.

Credit reporting  for your loan will resume at the end of January 2013, which will be reflected on a credit report that is requested in February 2013.  Please keep in mind that once the credit reporting is turned back on, it will complete the necessary information for the months following our system conversion in October.

The account number that you had with M&I Bank should continue to report as transferred/sold with a $0.00 balance owed.  The history for that account will remain from the date it was opened until it was 'closed' in October 2012.   Your new renumbered account will begin reporting at the end of January 2013, picking up the history from October 2012 to present.

We do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with this situation; however, please know that these decisions were based on the best interest of our customers.  Should you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact our office at ###-###-####.

****** *. ***** | **** ********* | *** ** ** ****** **** ********* | BMO Financial Group | **** ** *********** **, **********, ** ***** |

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


I am trying to buy a house and "your problem" has become my problem and I am increasingly disgusted with BMO's customer service, in many regards beyond just this particular credit building loan scenario.  Your answer is that I should just wait until you get around to fixing the problem, when my solution is to move all my banking to another institution and tell everyone I know to stay away from BMO in the future.  This "transition" has been very frustrating for me as a consumer (no response from BMO customer service after several calls and emails regarding additional issues I had with other services).  Your business gives institutional banks a bad name.  

Regards,

******* *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a IRA Cash Deposit Certificate (5 year) with BMO Harris Bank that matured on 11-15-12. I requested that BMO Harris Bank transfer the money to ******* ****** *****. BMO Harris Bank only transferred part of the money. BMO Harris Bank didn't transfer approximately $708. The BMO Harris Bank ******* Mr. **** acknowledged that the bank made an error, but BMO Harris Bank still has not transferred the $708.

Desired Settlement: Transfer of the $708 to my ****** ****** ***** account.

Business Response: BMO Harris Bank mailed a check to the ****** ****** ***** on 12/28/12.  ******** ******, ****** personal banker, called Mr. ****** on 12/28/12 to inform him of the resolution.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BMO Harris Bank refusing to pay me 1800.00 per mounth, they are also refusing to let me transfer my finds to my local branch in *******,**.

Desired Settlement: I would like my 1800.00 per month, and to transfer my funds to my Bank in *******, **

Business Response:

Mr. **********,

The $1,800.00 was placed into your account # xxxxxx**** on December 4, 2012, backdated to Dececember 3, 2012.  The funds were debited from your account # XXXXX****. 

We are unble to process your request to transfer funds from account # XXXXX**** to your bank in *******, *****.  You must provide BMO Harris Bank with written consent from an ************** *** ***** or an Administrator of the Wisconsin ******'s ************ ******** in order to make additional withdrawals from or close your Portfolio Checking account number xxxxx****.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: just looking for the lien wavier just looking for lien wavier vin #***************** i fax the title to ******* 7 days ago and no respronse. Will never use this bank again.

Desired Settlement: i need the lien wavier

Business Response:

One of our employees received a call on the request last week and told the requestor that we needed a copy of the title in order to complete the request.  We provided our fax information. We have not received the copy of the title yet.

Please have the customer fax the title to ###-###-#### and we will prepare a lien release ASAP.

Thank you!

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October of 2011 I engaged a company for services. I negotiated a settlement for less than the $800 agreed upon. Thru an error on my part the $800 check was not retrieved. On the only date in November when my account would have enough to cover the check, the check was presented at 7:05 am at the only branch which opened at 7:00am. The payee of the check gloated that I would now have to sue him to get the money back and that he was able to get the information from the bank staff to present the check. As a former bank officer, I know that it is impossible for all of the circumstances to occur to enable for that event to take place without bank assistance. My family banked with M&I for 50 years and we were unaware of a bank branch which opened at 7am. I am demanding the refund of the $800 plus interest, or in the alternative legal expenses to retrieve the monies. Additionally, I would like assurance that M&I takes remedial action to prevent future breach of customer information.

Desired Settlement: I am demanding the refund of the $800 plus interest, or in the alternative legal expenses to retrieve the monies. Additionally, I would like assurance that M&I takes remedial action to prevent future breach of customer information.

Business Response: September 10, 2012  To the Better Business Bureau: 
Complaint Case ID:       *******
Consumer:                   ***** ** *******  
Thank you for your correspondence dated August 31, 2012 addressing the concerns filed by ***** ** ******* in regards to a check that was cashed on his account with M&I, a part of BMO Financial Group.  We believe the following information will address his concerns and explain our position regarding this matter. After a review of Mr. *******’s inquiry, I have found the following information.  The check in question from Mr. *******’s account was written on September 29, 2011 and cashed on November 16, 2011.  Mr. ******* brought his concerns to our attention on December 2, 2011 when he spoke with a Personal Banker in our *** **** branch over the possible breach of personal information being provided to a third party.  Our banker explained at that time that no personal information was provided to the payee.  Mr. ******* then contacted me in January 2012 to further discuss the situation since he still believed that one of our employees informed the payee of the check as to when and where to cash it.  I reviewed this situation with our *** **** office since we take customer privacy policies very seriously.  At no time did an employee provide any information that is not considered allowable.  Any time a payee comes into a branch to cash a check we have the right to say whether there are sufficient funds to cash the check.  Also, as far as branch hours go, this information is public knowledge and therefore we would not question a customer if they inquired about opening times for a branch.  The Bank would also not have known there was a dispute between the two parties of the check.  If the maker of the check does not want the check cashed, he has the ability to place a stop payment.  Mr. ******* requested a stop payment after the check had been already cashed.  With the information provided above, we have determined that no bank error occurred nor is there evidence of any employee releasing personal information to the payee.  As such Mr. *******’s request for the Bank to refund the check amount is respectfully declined.  Mr. *******’s issue is with the payee of the check, not the Bank. We trust this response clarifies our position in this matter.  If you have any questions or need any additional information, please contact me at ###-###-####. 

Sincerely,  

***** *********
Branch Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/24/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had an existing mortgage loan with M&I bank since summer of 1996. The home is valued at $107,000 with $52,000 remaining. I have a second interest free subordinated loan/mortgage with the City of Eau Claire Housing Division for electrical and window/door upgrades for energy efficiency. The value of the loan is approximately $10,000. I contacted M&I in February to refinance and take advantage of low interest rates. I was upfront about home value, and second mortgage with the city of Eau Claire. Both ***** ********** (*** ******** **************) and a **** ******* at the Menomonie branch stated that refinancing with the interest free loan intact should not be a problem. Therefore, I started the loan process, application, and paid the $495 fee that would be credited towards refinancing upon completion of the loan. On an additional note, my credit rating is in the high to mid 700’s and my income to loan ration is excellent. M&I’s communication has been inconsistent. First, informed me the loan could not be refinanced because the loan with Eau Claire did not have installments. Therefore, I contacted ***** ******* (************** ********** with the City of Eau Claire Housing Division) to convert the subordinated loan to have monthly installments/payments. ***** completed the necessary paperwork and forwarded it to M&I. After review, M&I change their story again and stated the loan could not be subordinated because it was interest free. Now I had to either pay off the $10,000 loan or have M&I pay off the loan and roll it into the mortgage and pay interest on a total loan amount of $62,000. This equaled roughly $3500 in extra interest paid to M&I. I then contacted US Bank and Royal Credit Union and spoke with their******** ***********. Both banks were willing to refinance leaving the subordinated interest free loan with the City of Eau Claire intact. I informed M&I of this and they were still unwilling to refinance. M&I is now refusing to refund the $495 fee.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of $495 fee as M&I was fully disclosed regarding subordinated loan with the City of Eau Claire. M&I changed loan stipulations twice and further tried to swindle an additional $3500 in unnecessary interest.

Business Response: August 13, 2012  To the Better Business Bureau: Complaint Case ID:       *******
Consumer:                   
Thank you for your correspondence dated August 9, 2012 addressing the concerns filed by ***** ** **** in regards to his mortgage application fee with M&I, a part of BMO Financial Group. The following email response was sent to Mr. **** on Friday, August 10th from ***** ****, ******** ****** *******, regarding his concerns.    Good Morning *****, My name is ***** **** and I oversee the mortgage sales division for the NW region of WI.  I just left you a voice mail message, but wanted to follow up with email also.  We apologize for your experience related to your recent attempt to refinance your mortgage with M&I.  We acknowledge that we could have done a more complete explanation of your options in the up front loan process.  We have requested a refund of your application fee totalling $495 today.  A check will be mailed directly to you.  Please allow up to two weeks to receive the check.  If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact me. Thank you,  ***** ****  I trust this response addresses Mr. ****** concerns.  If you have any further questions, please contact***** **** at (715) 726-0705.  Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we've been customers in good standing. excellent credit. my husband lost his job and they are refusing to modify our loan. they would rather take our house. i don't believe our mortgage was set up legally. we have no paperwork. there was a penalty that wouldnt allow us to refinance for 3 years when ofcourse the bubble burst and now no other mortgage company will touch our loans. lastly never provided us paperwork on our mortage.

Desired Settlement: i would like to see the 150k we've paid over the past 5 years applied to our already underwater principle and the rest of it at a fair interest rate consistent with our credit rating. we just want to be treated fairly and given a chance to maintain our home and live the american dream like everyone else.

Business Response:

Please see attached our response for the **** ******** complaint.

Thank you -

 

**** ** ***********

********** **** ********

************ ** *****

Dear Mrs. ********:

M&I

*** ***** ***** **************** **

*******************

************

The Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin has forwarded your complaint to us regarding

your mortgage loan with M&I, a part of BMO Financial Group. I believe the following

information will address your concerns.

Our research indicates that on July 17, 2007 M&I Bank FSB (M&I) received your loan

application to refinance your home from your mortgage broker, ***** ****** **** ******,

LLC. This loan included a prepayment penalty that was in effect for three years. On

July 18, 2007 M&I mailed early disclosures, including a prepayment penalty disclosure, to

you at *** ********** **** ***** **** ************ ** *****

 

 

. You agreed to the refinance

 

and the settlement agent that conducted the loan closing was ******* ******** in

************. M&I received a complete set of closing documents from the settlement agent

that were Signed by *********** and **** ********. A full set of closing documents should

have been provided to you by the closing agent or your mortgage broker at the time of the

loan closing

 

 

. If you do not have a copy of these documents, M&I can provide copies of your

 

loan documents upon written request.

Mr

 

 

. ******** first contacted our Loss Mitigation Department on February 14, 2012 stating

 

that you could no longer afford your mortgage payments due to a financial hardship. At that

time the Loss Mitigation representative advised him that if the home was no longer

affordable

 

 

, there were options for liquidating the property, such as reviewing for a short sale.

 

Mr

 

 

. ******** stated that was not an option because he did not want to short sell the

 

property. A Loss Mitigation package was emailed to ************************ that

same day advising him to send in the required documents for M&I to review the loan for any

potential workout assistance

 

 

.

 

On February 23

 

 

, 2012 we had not received any financial information and a follow-up email

 

was sent to the same address above. On February 27, 2012 an email response was

received from Mr. Williams stating that due to your financial hardship M&I could either

accept a deed-in-lieu or we could proceed with foreclosure, but there was nothing else he

would do and refused to supply any of the required information that had been requested.

Additionally Mr. Williams also stated that if financial information was needed to review for a

deed-in

 

 

-lieu he would not provide it and again stated that M&I would have to foreclose on

 

the property

 

 

. Mr. ******** said that he would not jump through hoops for the property any

 

longer. At that time your file was closed due to Mr. ********** refusal to provide the required

information for review.

On May 16, 2012 Mr. ******** called a second time and asked about possible modification

options because he could no longer afford payments

 

 

. The Loss Mitigation representative

 

**** ********

BBB of Wisconsin

July 9,2012

Page 2

again advised that if the property was not affordable we could review for a potential short

sale. Mr. ******** was instructed to contact a realtor to get the property listed, and when an

offer was received to contact us for our review

 

 

. Mr. ******** then stated he was not

 

interested in making any type of payment on the loan. As of today

 

 

's date, we have not had

 

any additional communication regarding an offer on the property

 

 

.

 

M&I remains committed to helping families who are suffering from a financial hardship by

working with them to find the best possible solution

 

 

. If you would like M&I to review for any

 

loss mitigation options, such as liquidating the property, you will need to provide all the

required documents. If you need the list of required documents again, you may contact us

at (***) ********, press option 1, and one of our analysts will be happy to assist you.

Sincerely

 

 

,


 

******* ********

Vice President

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/25/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ****** BOUGHT OUT M & I BANKS. I HAD A M & I CREDIT CARD WHE NI BECAME UNEMPLOYED. I REACHED AN AGREEMENT TO PAY OFF THE CARD FOR A LESSER VALUE AS LONG AS IT WOULD NOT AFFECT MY CREDIT. M AND I AGREED TO REMOVE THIS FROM MY FILE UPON FINAL PAYMENT. THEY REFUSE TO DO SO AFTER SEVERAL COMPLAINTS AND THEY CONTINUALLY REPORT TEH DATE AS 4/2011, WHEN IT SHOULD BE THE ACTUAL DEFAULT DATE FROM 2009

Desired Settlement: IT SHOULD BE DELETED AS AGREED

Business Response: May 11, 2012  *** ** ********
******* *******

***** ** ***** Dear Mr. *****: 

Re:  Visa Credit Card ending in ****

I received your recent inquiry to the Better Business Bureau and have reviewed your account.  This is to confirm that the reporting of your credit card account as settled for less than the full balance owed is correct.  Installment payments were made on this account, with the last payment posted to the account on April 6, 2011.  After that, an update was sent to all the credit reporting agencies to report the account as settled for less than the full balance, with no remaining balance owed.  M&I, a part of BMO Financial Group does not delete or remove credit card account history from a credit reporting agency’s records after a settlement agreement has been completed nor would we have promised to remove this trade line completely from your credit reports.  The previous account history will continue to be reported along with the current account status of settled for less than the full balance owed.  Attached is a copy of a letter that was sent to you on May 10, 2011 indicating the above information. I have also confirmed that all three credit reporting agencies are correctly reporting the account as settled for less than the full balance, with no remaining balance owed.   If you have any additional questions please contact our Recovery Department at ###-###-####. 

Sincerely,  
******* ********

Credit Card Operations

 

Attachment

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Please provide documentation of the settlement agreement and where it references the policy that they do not remove. This was promised to me and the cosigner on the phone by a person that was claiming to be an  M&I representative.

Regards,

*** *****

 

 

Business Response:

May 18, 2012

As we have stated in our previous response, we have no record of ever offering the removal of Mr. *****'s credit history from all credit bureaus. As this is never an option to offer to our customers, we would not have offered this to Mr. *****. If Mr. Bruch or the other account holder can provide documentation that this was offered to them, we will be happy to re-visit this issue.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The offer was made over the phone. These are ususally taped for accuracy. Please provide phone documentation that states M&I protocol is to never remove information from the credit bureaus regarding a settlement. The M&I representative DID promise to remove this from my file in return of the payments agreed. I fullfilled my agreement and now M&I fails to deliver what their representative promised. Please provide documentaion that your representative never made this promise. I was contacted by M&I regarding this settlement offer, I did not contact them. It is up to M&I to provide proof, not the consumer.

Regards,

*** *****

 

 

Business Response: May 25, 2012  To the Better Business Bureau: 

Complaint Case ID:   *******

Consumer:               ******* and ****** *****

Re:  Visa Credit Card ending in ****

We have received and reviewed Mr. ******* *****’s dispute of our previous response.  I would like to first clarify that this is a joint account that ******* ***** held with his father, ****** *****.   In reviewing our records regarding this issue, we have found the following in our notes and from taped phone conversations: §  Previous to October 2010 – ******* ***** refused to make payment on his past due credit card account.§  October 22, 2010 – An M&I Representative from our Collections Department spoke with *******.  ******* stated he had previously been talking with someone about a settlement but no one called him back.  ******* offered a payment amount however the Rep needed Supervisor approval.  Credit reporting was never discussed in this call. §  November 2, 2010 – The Rep called ******* back to advise we could not accept his settlement offer and countered with a new offer.  ******* stated he can’t pay that amount and the conversation ended.  Again, credit reporting was never discussed.  This is the last discussion with *******.§  December 31, 2010 – this account is charged off for non-payment. §  January 6, 2011 – A different Collections Representative contacted ****** *****, the joint account holder.  ****** was unaware he was on this account.  A settlement offer is made to him.  ****** stated he would need to get back to us.  Credit reporting was never discussed.§  January 13, 2011 – The Rep contacted ****** to discuss the settlement offer.  ****** requested a letter be sent to him to confirm the conversation.  Credit reporting was not discussed.§  January 20, 2011 – ****** confirmed receipt of letter and agreed to settlement terms.   Again, credit reporting was not discussed.§  All settlement payments were received from ****** ***** as follows:      1/26/11             $1,000      2/20/11             $388      3/16/11             $388      4/5/11               $389 §  At no time during our calls with ****** *****, was ******* ***** a party to these calls.  We have no way of knowing whether ****** and ******* ever had a conversation regarding the settlement offer/agreement. Due to the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA), a bank is held responsible and must accurately report a customer’s account history to the credit bureau agencies.  We have done this with the *****’s account.  As we stated previously, our Collections Representatives would never have been in a position to offer to remove any previously reported information on the *****’s account.  We have reported accurately and confirmed in our May 10, 2011 letter to ******* ***** that the reporting of their credit card account as settled for less than the full balance owed was correct.  On May 24, 2011 ******* first disputed this line item with the credit bureaus.  As is the correct process, M&I responded back to the credit bureaus that the account was reported accurately.   We now consider this matter closed.  If Mr. ******* ***** has proof that M&I offered to clear his account history, we will gladly review that information and re-open this matter.   

Sincerely,  

******* ********
Credit Card Operations

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

5/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: M&I Marshall & Isley Bank vs ******** ********* ************ - Case no ******* (this was the info. regarding the foreclosed property). I am a manager of an Condo association in Wisconsin as I own one of the properties. . One of the units, *** ** ***** **** *** ******** ** ***** was foreclosed on Feb. 7, 2011. On 12-6-11, M&I took over ownership of the property. Through telephone conversations, a representative of the bank, ***** *********, was assigned to make payments for the current and subsequent association fees that are due on a monthly basis. At that time, she indicated that we should submit a bill via EMail for the 1st quarter of 2012 along with the month of December 2011. Then bill them quarterly until the property is purchased. I have had numerous EMail transactions as well as telephone conversations with her where she indicated that the "check was in the mail", or there was a change in the way the accounting department handled these payments. On February 2, 2012, she indicated that everything was finally taken care of on their end, and she was going to send me a tracking number and ship the check over night. At that time, the amount due was $840. To date, I have still not received anything, my telephone calls go unreturned and EMails unanswered. I just resubmitted a bill for the next quarter and including late payment fees for a new total due of $1,395. I asked her to advise if someone else should be contacted in her place, or whatever and there is no response.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have these payments brought up to date and to remain current. If it is someone else that I should be contacting, I would like to know that. Either way, this is a very small condo association (4 units), so it is very important that we receive the funds as we count on those funds for the budget. Thank you.

Business Response: March 9, 2012  To the Better Business Bureau: 

Complaint Case ID:   *******

Consumer:                  **** *******  Thank you for your correspondence dated March 6, 2012 addressing the concerns filed by **** ******* in regards to Homeowner Association dues for a condominium in Merrill, Wisconsin.   First, we would like to clarify that Ms. ******* is not a customer of the bank, nor is she one of the homeowner’s of the condominiums.  Ms. ******* has contacted M&I and the Better Business Bureau on behalf of her mother, who actually owns one of the other units in this 4- unit building.   ***** *********’s first contact with Ms. ******* was in February.  At that time she was asked to send ***** an invoice for any outstanding Homeowner Association (HOA) dues.  A W-9 (which is required) was never submitted by the HOA, nor was an acceptable invoice (i.e. on letterhead, invoice number, etc.).   ***** then contacted Ms. ******* upon receipt of the BBB request on March 7th and related again the necessary information needed to Ms. *******.  Ms. ******* informed ***** they were not a formal HOA and did not have a formal invoice/letterhead, nor did they have a W-9 as they were a non-profit organization.  When ***** asked Ms. ******* for the non-profit number, she told ***** that they were not established as a non-profit either.   Since Ms. ******* is not associated with these condo units, nor is there a legal HOA in place, the bank will not be able to have any further discussions with Ms. ******* going forward.  No HOA dues are legally required to be paid by the bank at this time.  

Sincerely,  

***** ** ******
Customer Relations Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The customer portrayed the facts of this case incorrectly.  I am an owner of one of the 4 units in our association.  My mom that she referenced lives in the unit I own, and handles the financial transactions of our association.  I am the manager of the association, but live in another state.  I definitely do have a vested interest in this case.

The first contact I made to ***** * was December 16, 2011.  Another unit owner, ***** ********* had contacted M&I to determine who we could work with with their institution to collect the HOA fees for the unit that was foreclosed on 12-6-2011.  That person said that ***** Scarcello was the contact were supposed to work with. I contacted ***** S. via telephone and she indicated that we could send her an EMail with the fees that would be due for the month of December 2011 as well as the 1st quarter of 2012.  There was no additional information or details of any other information she would require to pay us.

 

I made telephone calls and left messages on 12-21-11 and forwarded the same EMail inquiring into when we could expect payment.  There was no response so I called back 12-27-11.  On 1-4-12 she sent an EMail confirming that a check would be cut this week with an expecteed delivery by late the following week.  I did speak to her again on 1-9-12 to determine if there was a local (******** **) contact assigned to the sale of the foreclosed property that we should be working with.  She explained the process to me at that time.  I left a voice mail message with her on 1-16-12 and she followed up the following day with an EMail indicating that she was going to check with accounting.  I left messages with her as we had an association meeting on 1-21-12 and wanted to be able to update the members. 

No response until 2-2-12.  Her EMail indicated that somehow the check idd not get processed due to a change in their accounting system.  She indicated she was requesting a cashiers check that day and would send me the UPS overnight tracking numbers for delivery.  The delivery would be on Monday.  I followed with another EMail on 3-1-12 to submit a request for the 2nd quarter fees as well as all the unpaid fees from December 2011.

That was the last I heard from her until I contacted your office.  I do appreciate that you were able to spur things along.

On 3-7-12, she called me at my work office and indicated that we would need to submit an invoice on our association letterhead along with a W-9 form.  I indicated that we are a very small, informal (4 unit) association so we do not file a W9 form.  Also, we do not have special stationery or invoices.  She called back and said that we would then need to file a non-profit document, provide an invoice on some type of letterhead (even if we make up one) and also a copy of the by-laws.  She said that they would not be able to pay us any fees until we get that filing to her.  In addition, they would not pay us any back monies since we don't have the proper paper work.

On 3-8-12, I did send to her an invoice on letterhead along with a copy of our by-laws indicating the obligation owed.  Further, I indicated that I would like her to review and acknowledge.  I have not heard anything further.  I am attaching a copy of the invoice that I sent to her yesterday. 

I don't know if you are able to do anything.  We have contacted an attorney to get the paperwork started so that we can do what we can to comply with all of their requirements.  Again, 3-7-12 was the first I had heard anything regarding those additional items.  I would like you to pass on that she does or M&I bank does need to contact me as it is my responsibility as manager of the Eastview Townhouse Condominium Association.

I think it's ludicrous for an institution of that size to treat others in this manner and to lie about it.  That is totally unprofessional and I'm glad that I'm not a customer of M&I bank.

I do appreciate all that you have done to assist.  Your assistance is overwhelmingly refreshing.

Regards,

**** *******

 

 

Business Response: March 21, 2012  To the Better Business Bureau: Complaint Case ID:   *******Consumer:                  Hope *******  This letter is in response to the additional concerns filed by Hope ******* in regards to a Homeowner Association for a condominium unit in Merrill, Wisconsin.   Hope ******* never represented herself as the owner of one of the condos in Merrill, Wisconsin.  She represented herself as stating she was calling on behalf of her mother.  The Bank had no reason to believe she was the owner of the condo her mother lives in.  It has been explained to Ms. ******* on numerous occasions that the Bank cannot pay Homeowner Association dues without a W-9.  Ms. ******* misspoke when saying the condo association was a non-profit organization.  When we requested that she produce the non-profit federal number, she admitted that they never filed to be a non-profit organization.  She has never provided proof that there is a Homeowner Association for this 4-unit condo complex.   

Until such time that Ms. ******* can produce a W-9 and can show proof that a legal Homeowner Association is in place, the Bank's position remains the same.

 Sincerely,  
***** ** ******
Customer Relations Manager


Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,

 

**** *******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My dealings with this bank are now over, but during the life of this loan, it has been one heartbreaking experience. My husband and I had a loan through the **** ***** *** and ended up with this bank. My husband works outside as a logger, and heavy equipment operator, so there are times when he is out of work. Getting payments deferred was not an easy task with this company. My husband and I were separated for a time and he had the truck and I had no idea where he was, and I was called and pretty much threatened, made to cry and was told I needed to stop payment on my house to pay the payment on the truck, and this was on a Sunday to boot. I have never been treated so badly. Then after getting back together, I was in a auto accident that almost took my life and during this time my family was treated awful and with no compassion what so ever. Now on disability, I took money out of an retirement plan to pay this loan off so I could get rid of the stress of dealing with them. I have expressed my concerns with them many, many times and was just told that there was nothing they could or would do to extend or redo the loan. It is funny we have other loans and all of them have been able and willing to help anyway they could and most in some shape or form have helped during this past year or so. It was just sad that even with life changing events and the desperate need of a vehicle, since after the wreck the truck was the only form of transportation we had. That was until a couple from a church we did not even belong to gave us a van so I could get back and forth from the doctors visits, because my husband works out of town and I would have been left without transportation. And some people aren't as fortunate, and my husband worked every minute he could, while my family worked with me, and worked at getting my disability. All I can say is I am so glad to have the loan behind us and hope no one has to treated like this ever again. I know I am a nobody but the way they dealt with us was awful and mean. I almost forgot, they also after having been paid in full pulled another payment out, thank goodness I caught it quick and my bank gave me all of the fees back, but was told it was my fault, that I should have called to tell them I had paid the loan off, really? Then went through two days of hell working it all out, and someone from M&I was very rude to the teller at my bank, even hung up on her. I had to make two trips into town that I should have never had to make, I don't live close to town over 20 miles and as I have stated on disability and money is hard to come by and then this is how it all ended. So never to glad to be done with them.

Desired Settlement: I know they are in business to make money, but I would like to be contacted from someone from the company that has some standing. I know my complainants never made it to anyone in a top position.

Business Response:

February 22, 2012

 

 

To the Better Business Bureau:

 

Complaint Case ID:   *******

Consumer:                  ***** ******* *****

 

Thank you for your correspondence dated February 16, 2012 addressing the concerns filed by ***** ******* ***** in regards to her installment loan with M&I.

 

In order to better explain our position in this matter, we feel it is necessary to provide a summarized history of Ms. *****’s loan account history:

           

§  The loan was opened in July 2005.

 

§  Between September 2005 and January 2008, the loan went past due over 30 days a total of 15 times (one month being over 60 days past due).

      In January 2008, we granted Ms. ***** a 2-month deferral (February and March 2008) in order to get her back on track due to the income issues she was facing at that time.  We explained to her the criteria to receive a deferral included that she was only allowed one deferral per a 12-month period and that she could only receive two deferrals in any rolling 5-year period.

 

§  Between April 2008 and December 2009, the loan went past due over 30 days a total of 12 times.

      In February 2010, we granted Ms. ***** another 2-month deferral (December 2009 and January 2010) due to the financial struggles she and her spouse were experiencing at the time.  We did advise Ms. ***** this would be the last deferral on her loan.

 

§  Between March 2010 and January 2012, the loan went past due over 30 days a total of 17 times (one month being over 60 days past due).

 

§  The loan closed in January 2012.

 

Throughout the life of the loan, it is clear that Ms. ***** had difficulties satisfying her monthly payments in a timely manner.  It is our goal to ensure that any customer’s account, if they were to fall behind in their payments, be brought current and remain in a current status, which is why our customer service representatives regularly contacted Ms. *****.  In addition, M&I was under the understanding that once the deferrals were applied to the account, this would resolve the short term hardships Ms. ***** was experiencing.  In 2008, we attempted to speak with Ms. ***** in regards to a possible auto re-write (due to her long term hardship), which she declined.  We apologize if our phone calls gave Ms. ***** the impression that we were not empathetic to her needs.

 

The last payment due on the installment loan was December 4, 2011.  The amount due for this last payment was much higher than Ms. *****’s normal monthly payment due to the excessive amount of late payments on the loan and the four months of deferrals.  In early January 2012, we allowed Ms. ***** to set up partial phone payments over several months to pay off the last payment on the loan, with the first payment set for January 31, 2012.  However, Ms. ***** paid off the loan on January 24, 2012 and did not contact our office to cancel the phone payments she originally set up.  The payment processed as scheduled on January 31, 2012, which was refunded to Ms. ***** in early February 2012. 

 

I trust this response addresses Ms. *****’s concerns.  If you have any further questions, please contact ******* ****** **** ********* *** *********** ******* ** ***** *********

 

Thank you.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *****

I guess there is nothing I am ever going to get out of this, and nothing is owed to me. They say they are sorry I felt the way I was treated was not empathetic to my needs, they have no idea the stress they put me through. The way I was spoken to, the lack of all human concern upset me something awful, and hope no one ever has to go through the distress they put me through. Yes my husband and I had hardship after hardship, my husbands work is weather related and through the winter months it was a struggle every year, and sometimes more than just winter was a struggle.  I was just glad he had a job and we tried our best to keep up, but with the treatment that we received from this company, and never wanting to take what we had unless it was a full payment, it made it hard to make a payment even when we could. And had it not been for the need of the truck for work, and being towards the end of the loan I would have them just come repo. the truck to get out from the abuse of the bank. The economy has done so much damage to the working class and like I said my husband and I having a job was better than most, and we were trying and got no credit or compassion for any of our situations. August of 2010, I was in an auto accident and almost died, now on disability, during that time this company did nothing but cause more stress and pain. I just hope no one ever has to deal with them like we did, and I hope **** ***** ******* stops using them as a loan company, because I love my ****, but definitely not this Bank. And you can not tell me it was my fault that the scheduled payment still came out after the loan was paid off, really in this computer world, you can't tell me that their systems are that out dated, really? Then the fact that the lady from M&I bank hung up on the **** ***** teller that was kind enough to help me try to tell M&I bank that the draw had already gone through and would not be returned, she had already sent the info. via fax and told the lady on page two the info. she was asking about was clearly stated. I just find the whole situation very sad, and that the tactics they used  to be something out of the stone ages.  I have worked with the public for years and would never think of treating a customer with such disrespect as we were given. I guess we were just treated so well by the other loan companies that the behavior from this bank just stood out like a sore thumb, and I guess from the answer from M&I it is treatment that they use often. I am sorry for all the others that have to deal with hardships, or even a little set back and have a loan with this bank, because they have fangs and don't mind using them.

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened a bank account at M&I bank on 6-27-2011. the branch was located at **** ****** *** **** ****** ****! i had a $150 coupon! I think $50 for 5 qualifying check card purchases,$50 for 3 online bill payments,$50 for 2 direct deposits. i did the first two parts qualifying for $100 and i kept my account for at least 6 months! I asked the personal banker that if there is any fee for my account and she is no it's absolutely free!! i noticed that i have been charged some of the months during the 6 months period for $10 fee later i understand that i had to have 10 debit card purchase to have a non-fee account! anyhow i emailed the bank on 12/28/2011 about the rewards and the fact that i have not received anything! if they have done all the paper work i should have received it by September! they came back to me that i have to go to the branch i opened the account!! Well i went there the branch was closed!! so i decided to close my account and went at 10th street and closed it out! the personal banker there also confirmed that i should have received the $100 rewards! on 01/13/2012 i emailed them inquiring about the $100 again and mentioned that i will file a compliant to BBB but i have not received any answer!

Desired Settlement: I want my $100 rewards as it was promised!

Business Response:

January 31, 2012

 

 

To the Better Business Bureau:

 

Complaint Case ID:       *******

Consumer:                   ***** *******

 

Thank you for your correspondence dated January 24, 2012 regarding the matter filed by ***** ******* concerning a new account opening bonus offer from M&I, a part of BMO Financial Group.  I believe the following information will address his concerns and explain our position in this matter.

 

After a careful review of Mr. *******’s account transactions, it was determined that Mr. ******* did indeed qualify to receive the full $150 new account opening bonus offer.  **** ******, South Region District Sales Manager in *******, contacted Mr. ******* and sincerely apologized for the bank error and for the attempts he had to make to resolve the issue.  We will be sending Mr. ******* a check for $100 (the balance owing).  Mr. ******* expressed his satisfaction with the outcome. 

 

If you should have any further questions please contact **** ****** directly at ***** ********.

 

Thank you,

 

***** ****** ******** ********* *******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/29/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/9/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues