Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Associated Banc Corp.

Find a Location

Phone: (920) 431-8000 Fax: (414) 283-2223 View Additional Phone Numbers 2870 Holmgren Way, Ashwaubenon, WI 54304 http://www.associatedbank.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers financial services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Associated Banc Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Associated Banc Corp. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 41 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

41 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 14
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 25
Total Closed Complaints 41

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Associated Banc Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1945 Business started: 11/30/1929 in WI Business started locally: 11/30/1929 Business incorporated 10/20/1964 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

SECURITIES EXCHANGE COMMISSION
450 5TH ST NW, WASHINGTON DC 20549
www.sec.gov/invkhome.htm
Phone Number: (202) 942-7040

Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster Street, Madison WI 53703
http://oci.wi.gov/oci_home.htm
Phone Number: 6082663585 8002368517
Fax Number: (608) 266-9935

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Philip Flynn , President/CEO Ms. Sara J Walker, Sr. V.P. & Investment Officer Ms. Caralyn Court, Administrative Assistant Mrs. Ann Marie Dombrowski, Customer Care Representative Mr. John Halechko, Executive Vice President/Director of Branch Banking Mrs. Sheila Iczkowski, We Care Specialist Mrs. Diedre J. Lacasse, Customer Care Supervisor Ms. Melanie Stanczyk, Customer Care Mr. David L. Stein, Executive Vice President-Director Retail Banking Ms. Heather Wynne, Adminstrative Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Philip Flynn , President/CEO
Customer Contact: Mrs. Diedre J. Lacasse, Customer Care Supervisor
Principal: Ms. Sara J Walker, Sr. V.P. & Investment Officer
Business Category

Banks Investment Advisory Service Investment Securities Trust Companies Investment Management Monetary Authorities-Central Bank (NAICS: 521110)

Alternate Business Names
Associated Bank, N.A. Associated Bank, National Association Associated Card Services Associated Commerce Bank Associated Mortgage Associated Trust Company
Industry Tips
Banking Regulators

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Associated Banc Corp. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 Junction Dr W

    Glen Carbon, IL 62034

  • 1 N Moorland Rd

    Brookfield, WI 53005

  • 100 E Sunset Dr

    Waukesha, WI 53189

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 E Washington St

    Belleville, IL 62220

  • 100 W Wisconsin Ave

    Neenah, WI 54956

  • 1000 Franklin St

    Manitowoc, WI 54220

  • 1003 Main Ave

    De Pere, WI 54115

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1007 N 4th St

    Chillicothe, IL 61523

  • 101 E Court St

    Richland Center, WI 53581

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    101 E Evergreen St

    Elmwood, IL 61529

  • 10101A Market St.

    Mosinee, WI 54455

  • 102 N Main St

    Lodi, WI 53555

  • 1025 Main St

    Oconto, WI 54153

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10280 Lincoln Trl

    E Saint Louis, IL 62208

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    103 W Forrest Hill Ave

    Peoria, IL 61604

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1035 Broadway St

    Hamilton, IL 62341

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    104 Homer Adams Pkwy

    Alton, IL 62002

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    104 SE 3rd Ave

    Aledo, IL 61231

  • 104 Washington Ave

    Washburn, WI 54891

  • 10440 Townline Dr

    Sister Bay, WI 54234

  • 105 Main St.

    Embarrass, WI 54933

  • 10526 Main St

    Hayward, WI 54843

  • 10701 West National Ave

    Milwaukee , WI 53227

  • 10708 W Janesville Rd

    Hales Corners, WI 53130 (414) 425-1600

  • 108 W Prospect St

    Thorp, WI 54771

  • 1107 Regis Ct

    Eau Claire, WI 54701

  • 111 Tower Dr

    Columbus, WI 53925

  • 115 4th St

    De Pere, WI 54115

  • 115 4th St

    De Pere, WI 54115

  • 1156 4th Ave S

    Park Falls, WI 54552

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    116 E Main St

    Princeville, IL 61559

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    116 S Congress St

    Ray, IL 62681

  • 117 King St.

    Stoughton, WI 53589

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    119 W 5th St

    Minonk, IL 61760

  • 1201A S Hastings Way

    Eau Claire, WI 54701

  • 1207 E Green Bay St

    Shawano, WI 54166

  • 1217 N Taylor Dr

    Sheboygan, WI 53081

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    122 W Boston Ave

    Monmouth, IL 61462

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    125 NE Jefferson Ave

    Peoria, IL 61602

  • 127 Sand Lake Rd

    Onalaska, WI 54650

  • 129 E Division St

    Shawano, WI 54166

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    130 E Randolph St
    One Prudential Plaza

    Chicago, IL 60601

  • 1305 Main St

    Stevens Point, WI 54481

  • 1325 Church St

    Stevens Point, WI 54481

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1325 Sycamore Rd

    Dekalb, IL 60115

  • 1332 Egg Harbor Rd

    Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235

  • 134 N Main St

    Oconto Falls, WI 54154

  • 135 S Mill St

    Saukville, WI 53080

  • 1400 Capitol Dr

    Pewaukee, WI 53072

  • 1420 11th St

    Monroe, WI 53566

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    143 S Main St

    Lewistown, IL 61542

  • 1482 W Mason St

    Green Bay, WI 54303

  • 1501 N Casaloma Dr

    Appleton, WI 54913

  • 1501 N Casaloma Dr

    Appleton, WI 54915

  • 1530A S Commercial St

    Neenah, WI 54956

  • 15665 W National Ave

    New Berlin, WI 53151

  • 1594 E Sumner St

    Hartford, WI 53027

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16 E Fort St

    Farmington, IL 61531

  • 160 Medford Plaza

    Medford, WI 54451

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1601 N Alpine Rd

    Rockford, IL 61107

  • 1617 N Central Ave

    Marshfield, WI 54449

  • 1630 Losey Blvd S

    La Crosse, WI 54601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1645 N State Highway 121

    Mt Zion, IL 62549

  • 167 Lincoln St

    Valders, WI 54245

  • 1717 Center Ave Ste 7

    Janesville, WI 53546

  • 1720 Monroe St

    Madison, WI 53711

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1865 N Henderson St

    Galesburg, IL 61401

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1881 Washington Ave

    Atlanta, GA 30344

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1901 Douglas Rd

    Montgomery, IL 60538

  • 1920 N Rapids Rd

    Manitowoc, WI 54220

  • 1930 Wisconsin Ave

    Grafton, WI 53024

  • 19601 W Bluemound Rd

    Brookfield, WI 53045

  • 19601 W BLUEMOUND RD

    Brookfield, WI 53045

  • 197 W Chestnut St

    Burlington, WI 53105

  • 20 Park Ave

    Beloit, WI 53511

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 E Randolph St
    Amaco Building

    Chicago, IL 60601

  • 200 E Wisconsin Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53202

  • 200 N Adams St

    Green Bay, WI 54301

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 N La Salle St
    Florsheim Tower

    Chicago, IL 60601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 S Market St

    Waterloo, IL 62298

  • 200 S. Edwards Blvd.

    Lake Geneva, WI 53147

  • 2001 Londonderry Dr

    Madison, WI 53704

  • 2001 Londonderry Dr

    Madison, WI 53704

  • 2001 S Webster Ave

    Green Bay, WI 54301

  • 201 2nd St S

    Hudson, WI 54016

  • 201 Coulee Rd

    Hudson, WI 54016

  • 201 Park Ave

    Beaver Dam, WI 53916 (920) 887-1621

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    201B Northwoods Mall

    Peoria, IL 61614

  • 202 E Main St

    Coleman, WI 54112

  • 202 State St

    Madison, WI 53703

  • 205A Central Bridge St.

    Wausau, WI 54401

  • 206 N Wisconsin St

    De Pere, WI 54115

  • 2064 Lime Kiln Rd

    Green Bay, WI 54311

  • 210 S Lake Ave

    Crandon, WI 54520

  • 211 Highland Dr

    Fredonia, WI 53021

  • 212 Bay St

    Chippewa Fls, WI 54729

  • 2127 Jackson St

    Oshkosh, WI 54901

  • 213 N Lake Ave

    Twin Lakes, WI 53181

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    217 W Washington St

    Millstadt, IL 62260

  • 219 W Center St

    Whitewater, WI 53190

  • 220 Water St

    Eau Claire, WI 54703

  • 221 4th Ave W

    Ashland, WI 54806

  • 222 E Wisconsin St

    Portage, WI 53901

  • 222 N Wisconsin St

    Port Washington, WI 53074

  • 2235 Main St

    Green Bay, WI 54302

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    225 N Michigan Ave
    Illinois Center

    Chicago, IL 60601

  • 2252 W Mason St

    Green Bay, WI 54303

  • 2262 University Ave

    Green Bay, WI 54302

  • 23 S Washington St

    Elkhorn, WI 53121

  • 2310A Crest View Dr

    Hudson, WI 54016

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    238 N Main St

    Columbia, IL 62236

  • 238 N Main St

    Dousman, WI 53118

  • 2400A W Wisconsin Ave

    Appleton, WI 54914

  • 2401 Rose St

    La Crosse, WI 54603

  • 2403 E Main St

    Merrill, WI 54452 (715) 536-9449

  • 2403 S Oneida St

    Green Bay, WI 54304

  • 2415 Westowne Ave

    Oshkosh, WI 54904

  • 2420 Allen Blvd

    Middleton, WI 53562

  • 2502A Shopko Dr

    Madison, WI 53704

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2515 W Lake Ave

    Peoria, IL 61615

  • 2534A Steffens Ct

    Green Bay, WI 54311

  • 2550 W Mason St

    Green Bay, WI 54303

  • 2613 N Clairemont Ave

    Eau Claire, WI 54703

  • 2645 N Mayfair Rd

    Wauwatosa, WI 53226

  • 269 S. Century Ave.

    Waunakee, WI 53597

  • 2701 N Richmond St

    Appleton, WI 54911

  • 2720 N Lexington Dr

    Janesville, WI 53545

  • 2727 Post Rd

    Plover, WI 54467

  • 2741 Prairie Ave

    Beloit, WI 53511

  • 2811A 18th St

    Kenosha, WI 53140

  • 2815 S Chicago Ave

    S Milwaukee, WI 53172

  • 2825 S 108th St

    Milwaukee, WI 53227

  • 2870 Holmgren Way

    Ashwaubenon, WI 54304

  • 300 E Lake St

    Lake Mills, WI 53551

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    300 E Washington St

    East Peoria, IL 61611

  • 300 E Washington St

    Slinger, WI 53086

  • 300 Lincoln Ave

    Rio, WI 53960

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    300 S 4th St

    Pekin, IL 61554

  • 3002 Fish Hatchery Rd

    Fitchburg, WI 53713

  • 3009 Mall Dr

    Eau Claire, WI 54701

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    301 W Galena Blvd

    Aurora, IL 60506

  • 303 S 1st Ave

    Wausau, WI 54401

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    306 Eagle Dr

    Rochelle, IL 61068

  • 310 Silver St

    Hurley, WI 54534

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    313 5th St

    Lacon, IL 61540

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    318 W College Ave

    Greenville, IL 62246

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3222 W Harmon Hwy

    Peoria, IL 61604

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    326 Missouri Ave

    E Saint Louis, IL 62201

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    326 N 24th St

    Quincy, IL 62301

  • 3292 Main St

    East Troy, WI 53120

  • 330 E Kilbourn Ave Ste 201

    Milwaukee, WI 53202

  • 3301A E Hamilton Ave

    Eau Claire, WI 54701

  • 330A N Peters Ave

    Fond Du Lac, WI 54935

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    333 W Main St

    Havana, IL 62644

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3333 N Rockton Ave

    Rockford, IL 61103

  • 3394 E Washington Ave

    Madison, WI 53704

  • 3415 Custer St Ste A

    Manitowoc, WI 54220

  • 3432 S 27th St

    Milwaukee, WI 53215

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3512 Court St

    Pekin, IL 61554

  • 361 Charles St

    Oconto, WI 54153

  • 37 Milwaukee Ave E

    Fort Atkinson, WI 53538

  • 3719 S Kinnickinnic Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53235

  • 3956 Mormon Coulee Rd

    La Crosse, WI 54601

  • 400 S Chestnut Ave

    Marshfield, WI 54449

  • 400 Scott St

    Wausau, WI 54403

  • 401 E Kilbourn Ave Ste 300

    Milwaukee, WI 53202 (800) 236-8866 (920) 338-7800

  • 4050 Cty Rd N # A

    Oshkosh, WI 54904

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4125 N Sheridan Rd

    Peoria, IL 61614

  • 4141 Nakoosa Trl

    Madison, WI 53714

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    416 W Front St

    Roanoke, IL 61561

  • 430 E Silver Spring Dr

    Whitefish Bay, WI 53217

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4400 Center Ter

    Rockford, IL 61108

  • 4402 E Towne Blvd

    Madison, WI 53704

  • 4407 Cottage Grove Rd

    Madison, WI 53716

  • 444 N Sawyer St

    Oshkosh, WI 54902

  • 448 S Gammon Rd

    Madison, WI 53719

  • 450 N Holmen Dr

    Holmen, WI 54636

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4600 N Brandywine Dr

    Peoria, IL 61614

  • 4811 S 76th St

    Greenfield, WI 53220

  • 491 S Washburn St

    Oshkosh, WI 54904

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    50 E Main St

    Galesburg, IL 61401

  • 501 S Webb St

    Wittenberg, WI 54499

  • 509 Alma St

    Pound, WI 54161

  • 509 Grand Ave

    Neillsville, WI 54456

  • 510 Redbird Cir

    De Pere, WI 54115

  • 519 S Lansing Ave

    Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5200 N Central Ave

    Chicago, IL 60630

  • 5211 Alderson St

    Schofield, WI 54476

  • 5220 Farwell St

    Mc Farland, WI 53558

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    525 W Washington St

    Pittsfield, IL 62363

  • 5292 2nd Ave

    Pittsville, WI 54466

  • 530 W State Highway 153

    Mosinee, WI 54455

  • 531 E Grand Ave

    Beloit, WI 53511

  • 5350 W Fond Du Lac Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53216

  • 57 N 3rd Ave

    Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235

  • 5900 W North Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53208

  • 5914 75th St

    Kenosha, WI 53142

  • 5A University Square

    Madison, WI 53715

  • 600 E Main St

    Watertown, WI 53094

  • 600 E Northland Ave

    Appleton, WI 54911

  • 600 W Kimberly Ave

    Kimberly, WI 54136

  • 6007A Monona Dr

    Monona, WI 53716

  • 605 State St

    La Crosse, WI 54601

  • 605 State St
    P.o. Box 1868

    La Crosse, WI 54601

  • 607 E Spruce St

    Abbotsford, WI 54405

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    612 N Main St

    Rockford, IL 61103

  • 617 N Segoe Rd

    Madison, WI 53705

  • 620A S Whitney Way

    Madison, WI 53711

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    622 Roosevelt Rd

    Machesney Pk, IL 61115

  • 6343 Blanchar's Crossing

    Windsor, WI 53598

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6355 N Central Ave

    Chicago, IL 60646

  • 640 S Green Bay Rd

    Neenah, WI 54956

  • 647A S Green Bay Rd

    Neenah, WI 54956

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6550 N Illinois St

    E Saint Louis, IL 62208

  • 6655 Mckee Rd Ste A

    Madison, WI 53719

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    700 Main St

    Peoria, IL 61602

  • 700A E Blackhawk Ave

    Pr Du Chien, WI 53821

  • 702 Eisenhower Dr Ste D

    Kimberly, WI 54136

  • 704 N Grand Ave

    Waukesha, WI 53186

  • 704 N. Main St.

    River Falls, WI 54022

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    706 Maine St

    Quincy, IL 62301

  • 709 E Geneva St

    Delavan, WI 53115

  • 711 W Grand Ave

    Wisc Rapids, WI 54495

  • 711B Us Highway 45 N

    Eagle River, WI 54521

  • 733 S Gammon Rd

    Madison, WI 53719

  • 7455 Mineral Point Rd

    Madison, WI 53717

  • 750 Viking Dr

    Reedsburg, WI 53959

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7620 N University St

    Peoria, IL 61614

  • 7900 W Brown Deer Rd

    Milwaukee, WI 53223

  • 8 W Davenport St

    Rhinelander, WI 54501

  • 8113 Highway 57

    Baileys Harbor, WI 54202 (920) 839-2621

  • 825 N. Main St.

    Viroqua, WI 54665

  • 829 W Mitchell St

    Milwaukee, WI 53204

  • 850A E Maes Ave

    Kimberly, WI 54136

  • 8751 Highway 51N & 70W

    Minocqua, WI 54548

  • 888 S Main St

    Fond Du Lac, WI 54935

  • 926 W College Ave

    Appleton, WI 54914

  • 9515A Hwy. 16

    Onalaska, WI 54650

  • 955 W. Fulton St.

    Waupaca, WI 54981

  • N112W16330 Mequon Rd.

    Germantown, WI 53022

  • N135A Stoney Brook Rd.

    Appleton, WI 54915

  • N168W21367 Main St.

    Jackson, WI 53037

  • N48W35876 Wisconsin Ave.

    Oconomowoc, WI 53066

  • N533 Highway 67

    Ashippun, WI 53003

  • N64w23710 Main St

    Sussex, WI 53089

  • N7706 Mill St

    Eland, WI 54427

  • N88W16554 Main St.

    Menomonee Fls, WI 53051

  • W260N9579 Hwy J

    Colgate, WI 53017

  • W3169 Van Roy Rd Ste 11

    Appleton, WI 54915

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6902 W Main St

    Belleville, IL 62223

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6902 W Main St

    Belleville, IL 62223

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/16/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been with this Associated Bank for over 9 years. I took out a second Mortgage to buy a business from the equity in my house.The loan was set up to be a line of credit and I was paying 500.00 per month the interest rate was 5% never missing a payment and paying more then what was due. Then when the banking system crashed they closed my line of credit, Tripled my payment to 1450 a month and they continue to raise my interest rate it is at 9% I think that is called predatory lending. I have called and called to see if I can get better rate but the answer is always no. As they increase the interest rate the loan will take for ever to pay off.

Desired Settlement: Lower my interest rate.

Business Response:

Thank you,

Associated Bank

3/4/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
2/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Loan officer ignored repeated attempts to contact her during application process - failed to respond to emails and phone calls - treated us disrespectfully overall. Refusal for loan application included inaccurate and fraudulent claims. Terrible service overall after giving us reason to believe at initial consultation that the numbers provided to her should result in loan approval.

Desired Settlement: Approval for FHA loan application and personal apology for loan officer's unacceptable behavior from Bank CEO.

Business Response:

Thank you,

Associated Bank

12/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A fradulant charge on this stupid bank that charged me and won't reversely charge

Desired Settlement: To have my money refunded to me

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *********,
This letter is in response to the complaint that you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin regarding your Associated Bank checking account ending in 9810, titled jointly with ***** *********. While [ was disappointed to hear that the level of service we provided did not meet your expectations, or our standards for service excellence, I am glad to have had the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you.
As we discussed. we received the Unauthorized Transaction Claim form completed by ***** on
December 22, 2015 for the unauthorized charge of $102.25 to *********** from December 21, 2015. We issued a temporary credit to your joint checking account of $102.25 on December 22. 2015. and mailed ***** a letter dated December 23, 2015 confirming the temporary credit. As the tetter indicates, if we determine the transaction to be valid, the temporary credit we issued will be reversed. You will be notified of our decision by mail once our review is complete.
At Associated Bank. we place a high value on providing quality service and recognize that customer satisfaction is a key to our continued success. If I may be of further assistance, now or in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at the number above.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *********

12/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had an account with Associated bank well over 12 years. Not just once but 3 times my account has been hacked and the refund on my account has always taken more than the 7 to 10 business days. More recently my account was hacked in September and all but a few bucks were left in my account. I went to the Stoughton branch to explain the issue, signed some paperwork and was told my account would be refunded the amount. Not only was it not refunded, there was a hold on my account and every time I've contacted them about this hold they transfer my call to someone higher than themselves who just tell me that the paperwork is processing. It's now almost December and I still do not have access to my money or my account and I have got the run around by several people.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund on my accounts.

Business Response:

I am responding to the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin received December 1,2015 regarding a disputed transaction on an account you have with Associated Bank.
I have left you two messages and sent you an email asking that you contact me to discuss your concerns; however I have not heard back from you. I am unable to find any open account you may have at Associated Bank and cannot locate any dispute on file for you.
In order for me to respond accordingly to address your concerns, please contact me as soon as possible. I am available Monday through Friday from 7:30 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. at the number listed above. I look forward to speaking with you.

12/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their records are not accurate. I have a pay off statement from a collection agency, dated 08/27/2015, paid in full. called on 11/06/2015 and was advised, there is currently a $295 balance (this account has been closed since 08/2014). I was asked to call back in a few weeks to check the status. I was told it takes time to enter this information into their records. I phoned on 11/23/2015. I stated, I have a paid in full statement from the collection agency. At this point I was told, yes, the account appears to have a zero balance, as of this morning (11/23). I called the collection agency to confirm, it was indeed paid in full and accepted by Associated Bank on 08/28/2015I called back today, 11/24 for a follow up. I was told, the account appears to have a balance of $200. The representative on the other line could not tell me anything about why it showed a zero balance yesterday and $200 balance today and why I have a statement that it was paid in full as of 08/27.I asked to speak with her supervisor. The supervisor was not in yet (9:30 am eastern time). I asked to be transferred to the Assett Recovery department. There was no answer. There is no one available for assistance at 9:30 am eastern time.

Desired Settlement: I am attempting to have my name removed from this account. I would like this account deleted from my credit. I have provided all the legal documents to indicate this was not my account. I have been unable to get my name removed from this account because there was a remaining balance. Now, the balance is zero and I am still being told I can not get my name off of this account.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the complaint that you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin regarding your Associated Bank Checking Reserve Line of Credit ending in ****.
After completing an investigation of your concerns, I determined that Associated Bank charged off the line of credit on May 1 1, 2015. We transferred the line of credit to *** ********** **** on June 26, 2015 because it was past due for February 7, 2015 with a balance owed of $943.80. I confirmed that you paid $943.80 to *** ********** **** on August 27, 2015. Associated Bank received the payoff. less fees owed to **** ********** **** and applied the payment on September 15, 2015. Although Associated Bank currently reflects a principal balance of $268.86, on November 23, 2105 we requested the remaining balance to be abandoned. Please allow adequate time for our records to be updated.
Enclosed is a copy of the WorryFree Agreement dated January 7, 2001 signed by you and ******
**********. Because the loan contract you signed with Associated Bank supersedes your divorce decree. ****** needed to pay the debt in full or refinance the debt into his own name in order to remove your name from the loan.
[ understand this is not the outcome you had hoped for however we are obligated to accurately report our records to the credit reporting agencies. For your convenience. I enclosed copies of all pertinent documents mentioned in this response.
At Associated Bank, we place a high value on providing quality service and recognize that customer satisfaction is a key to our continued success. If I may be of further assistance, now or in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at the number above.

10/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bank at Associated bank, for the last year and a half have been getting fees taken out of my accounts, I keep my check book balanced, but with the fees taken out I was unaware of the right balance, and went under a zero balance. The bank used my savings account to cover the check book and every time charged me another fee. In total I have been charged 241.00 in fees. I went to the bank and they told me there was nothing they could do. My son has now taken on my banking and bill paying so no more of my money is taken. I do not want to switch banks, this bank is convenient for me,but my son said if they will not help me he will switch. ********

Desired Settlement: refund my money, or a portion of it.

Business Response: This letter is in response to the complaint that you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin
regarding your Associated Bank checking account ending in ****.
After completing an investigation of your concerns I determined that **** ********, the joint
account holder on the checking account, completed a Retail Overdraft Protection Transfer Authorization
form on May 22,2014. This form discloses that Associated Bank will charge an overdraft transfer fee
against the recipient account for each transfer/advance as stated in the current Account Fee Schedule.
The overdraft protection transfer fees assessed to your checking account for this service of $10.00 are
valid and will not be refunded.
The overdraft fees and service fees assessed to your account are also valid according to the terms and
conditions of your account; however, on September 30, 2015 I refunded overdraft fees of $70.00 and an
$11.00 service fee as a customer courtesy.
At Associated Bank, we place a high value on providing quality service and recognize that customer
satisfaction is a key to our con[lnued success. If I may be of further assistance, now or in the future,
please feel free to contact me directly at the number above.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******** ********

9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was working with ***** ******** to obtain a home loan. I had requested a status update on the loan by Friday May 1st and she assured me she would call back. I never heard from her again. After several emails and voicemails I gave up and went to another lender. ***** ******** then continued to run my credit even though I was working with another lender. I secured the loan through the alternate lender but now have a ding on my credit because she ran credit without my permission.

Desired Settlement: I want the credit denial ding removed from my credit.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to your concerns regarding your recent experience with Associated Bank.
Please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience or frustration this matter may have caused you.
After completing an investigation of your concerns, I determined that you authorized three applications in
an effort to purchase a property that you had been renting at *** ********** **** in ***** ********* ********. The initial application ending in **** was submitted on November 14, 2014 as a USDA/Rural
Housing Service loan for $122,448.00. This application was denied, and a Notice of Action Taken letter
was mailed to you on January 13, 2015. The Residential Loan Officer provided you with suggestions on
how to help improve your credit score and invited you to come back in a few months if you wanted to
apply again.
The second application ending in **** was submitted on April 6, 2015 also as a USDA/Rural Housing
Service loan for $127,551.00. This application was denied, and a Notice of Action Taken letter was
mailed to you on April 24, 2015. Atthat time, you explained that you had money in a 401 k account, and
you were willing to use some of the funds for a down payment if necessary to help secure the loan. In
response, the Residential Loan Officer discussed other types of loans you could consider applying for.
On May 4, 2015 a third application ending in **** was submitted as a Conventional loan for $115.400.00,
taking into consideration a 3% down payment based on the appraised value that came in lower than
expected at $119,000.00. A Notice of Action Taken letter was sent to you on May 26, 2015 which asked
you to provide additional information by June 25,2015 to be able to give further consideration to your
credit request. After waiting the applicable timeframe for you to provide the requested information, and
not hearing back from you, a final Notice of Action Taken letter was mailed to you on July 1, 2015 listing
the principal reasons for the denial of the loan. Enclosed for your convenience are copies of the Notice of
Action taken letters referenced above.
During the investigation process, I found no evidence that you had communicated your desire to cancel
the application, although you stated that you believed it was cancelled when you did not hear back from
the bank by May 1, 2015 as you requested. Associated Bank followed established procedures
throughout the loan process, and we deny any wrongdoing.
We are required to accurately report data to the credit reporting agencies therefore we respectfully deny
your request to make any changes to the current credit reporting.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the rebuttal you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin regarding
a mortgage loan application ending in **** from May 2015.
Upon further review, we have determined that there was some miscommunication between the loan
officer and yourself, regarding what the steps needed to be taken by the bank to determine the
qualifications for a Conventional mortgage loan.
As you requested, because of the miscommunication, Associated Bank submitted a request to the credit
reporting agencies on July 27, 2015 to remove the "hard" hit and replace it with a "soft" hit for May 2015.
What this means is that you will still see the inquiry on your credit report if you pull it for monitoring
purposes however, it has absolutely no impact on your credit score. Please allow adequate time for the
credit reporting agencies to update their records.
I have also enclosed the Notice of Action Taken letters that were mailed to you regarding the loan
applications ending in 2331, 2432 and ****. These letters were inadvertently not included when we
submitted our previous written response to the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin on July 22, 2015.
I am glad that we were able to assist you in resolving your concerns. At Associated Bank, we place a
high value on providing quality service and recognize that customer satisfaction is a key to our continued
success. If I may be offurther assistance, now or in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at
the number above.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* ******

 

 

 

7/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a credit card machine through Associated bank. I canceled the account I was supposed to be up on my contract. They charged me a $500 early termination fee which led to a bunch of over draft fees. I have dealt with 4 different members of the bank to try to resolve the issue including several phone calls to the merchant services department. I was guaranteed a refund of the $500 by the merchant services department which the assistant manager of the bank was on the phone call and heard. He then guaranteed that all of the over draft fees would be returned as well. I have been working on this issue since March of 2015. Now today I received a phone call from a debt collection agency that they have turned me into collections for a negative balance on my account. This has been put on my credit and is counting against me personally as well as my business partner. We have tried for months to resolve this, now they have locked us out of our accounts we have no access to any of our online accounts. We have been told countless times that we will get phone calls back we still haven't gotten one. Every time we have called them. As of now I have left at least 4 or 5 messages for the manager to call me back I still haven't heard a word from him.

Desired Settlement: I want the money that was guaranteed to me as a refund and I want all negative things taken off of my credit report as well as the collection agency called and corrected so they stop calling my business.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin received
on June 26, 2015 regarding your merchant account ending in **** and checking account ending in ****.
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with the
servicing of your accounts and apologize for any frustration you experienced.
I am glad that I had the opportunity to speak with you and discuss your concerns. Your Associated Bank
merchant account is serviced and maintained by First Data Merchant Services and your contractual
relationship is with First Data. As we discussed, after an investigation of your concerns, it was
determined that it was implied that an error had occurred. Therefore, the $500 merchant account early
termination fee will be refunded to your checking account by First Data in approximately 7-10 days.
To do this, your force closed checking account ending in **** was reopened on July 2,2015. Also, the
negative account reporting was removed from ChexSystems and we have stopped any further collection
calls. Once the credit is in your checking account I will contact you to assist in getting back online and will
refund the applicable overdraft fees.
We value our relationship with you and appreciate your business. If I may be of further assistance, now
or in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at the number above.

7/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Associated Bank Services was processing my credit card charges but didn't fulfill its promises to lower my fees.As a matter of fact it was constantly raising them.I was forced to cancel its services but then Associated Bank charged me with $500.00 termination fee based allegedly on a contract signed by me.I asked the Bank for the copy of the contract showing my signature and then the bank representative admitted that there is no contract but I still owe termination fee.I think that the Bank reasoning is based on false legal philosophy and there is no ground to to charge me the termination fee based on the contract which does not exist.I demand a full refund of my $500.00 and an apology. Account_Number: merchant No ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund $500.00 refund

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin received
on March 13, 2015 regarding your merchant account ending in ****. Thank you for taking the time to
share your concerns. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with the selVicing of your account and
apologize for any frustration you experienced.
I am glad that I had the opportunity to speak with you and discuss your concerns regarding the early
termination fee. As we discussed, after an investigation of your concerns, it was determined that the fee
is valid and was disclosed in the terms and conditions of your merchant contract. Enclosed is a copy of
the signed contract and confirmation page. The ETF (early termination fee) is referenced on the
Confirmation Page under item #8 and refers to the Program Guide for further details.
The $500 ETF was assessed to your checking account ending **** on October 21,2014. Then on
November 12, 2014 your new merchant processor IPS credited your checking account $500.00. Our
review of your account did not uncover any errors therefore I regret that we must decline your request for
reimbursement of the early termination fee.
If I can be of further assistance, now or in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at the number
above.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the rebuttal you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin received
on May 29,2015 regarding your merchant account ending in ****.
Your Associated Bank merchant account is serviced and maintained by ***** **** Merchant Services,
and your contractual relationship is with ***** **** as indicated by uProcessor" next to your signature line
on the contract. Therefore we previously referred you to contact ***** **** directly at phone number **** ******** to work out a resolution. While I understand that you felt you were not getting any assistance
from Associated Bank or ***** ****, our documented interactions with you indicate otherwise. ***** ****
also confirmed that they discussed your specific concerns with you.
The estimation of savings letter you referred to was an estimate by ***** **** in late 2009 early 2010.
However you never accepted that offer and it was no longer an option when you opened your merchant
account on August 7,2012. ***** **** offered you a rate review in August 2014 which you accepted.
However, you contacted them two months later to cancel.
On October 6, 2014 you requested cancellation of your merchant account. ***** **** offered you another
rate review, however you declined. ***** **** ensured that you were fully aware of the ETF amount and
agreement term before confirming that you still wanted the account to be closed.
As previously informed, the $500 early termination fee is valid and was disclosed in the terms and
conditions of your merchant contract. The ETF (early termination fee) is referenced on the Confirmation
Page under item #8 and refers to the Program Guide for further details
I regret that we are unable to assist you and consider this case closed.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[I want to clarify once again that I had a signed contract with Associated Bank, not ***** ****. The estimation of  the savings letter wasn't "an estimate by ***** ****," as Associated Bank put it, but it was written and signed by a Bank employee. I was reluctant to sign the merchant contract, but for about 2 years the Bank employees were constantly promising the lower rates during my visits to the bank and their frequent visits to my business (my business is located 0.5 mile from location of the bank).

I also want to point out that a monthly statement with a summary of transactions and charges doesn't mention ***** ****. It is entitled Associated Bank Services and provides Customer Service number  877 273 8191 without any information that it is ***** ****'s phone number.

Associated Bank considers this case close. But it is not closed for me. It will continue on different forum in order to teach Associated Bank a good business practice.]

Regards,

****** * *****

 

 

5/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a member of Associated bank for the past 15 years. I just opened two business account with them last year and the problems keep on rolling. Right after I signed up, they started charging a $18/account fee - making one of my accounts go into owing them money within a few months. They also added a $3/month fee for not going paperless - which is something I already set up with all my accounts. This is absolutely the worst beginning experience I've had with a business -to-business transaction. The checks that I've paid for or longer usable - what a waste of money. They also added these fees without my knowing, stating that they sent a letter in the mail notifying that the fees will be going up - something I did not come across. Do not open any sort of business account with Associated Bank if you want to stay away with fees. I will be moving over all my accounts to a credit union - probably ****** **. I will also be severing my 15 year relationship with a bank that has completely lost the reason they should be in the business - the customers.

Desired Settlement: I'm completely disappointed in the bank.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin received
April 17, 2015 on your checking accounts ending in **** and ****. Thank you for taking the time to
speak with me on your concerns.
The $18.00 service fees you mentioned in your complaint for the account ending in **** included a
$15.00 monthly service fee for not maintaining the required daily balance, a relationship balance or 5
electronic transactions within a given statement cycle. The remaining $3.00 fee is for mailing the monthly
statement to you. Our records indicate the statement is not suppressed for mailing on this account.
As we discussed, on April?, 2015 we refunded $42.21 and on April 23, 2015, I refunded the remaining
$18.00 service fee. I closed this account based on your request.
Periodically, Associated Bank reviews checking account products to insure we offer the best quality
products that align with industry standards. Effective April 30, 2015, changes will be made to your
Business Basic Checking account eliminating one of the options to avoid the $15.00 monthly service fee.
The notification of this change was mailed to you in February 2015 and we also included it with your
March 31, 2015 statement. For your review, I am including a copy of the letter and your statement.
At Associated, we do understand that your time is valuable and that the banking business is increasingly
competitive. If I can be of any further assistance, now or in the future, please feel free to contact me
directly at the number above.

4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Associated Bank Services was processing my credit card charges but didn't fulfill its promises to lower my fees.As a matter of fact it was constantly raising them.I was forced to cancel its services but then Associated Bank charged me with $500.00 termination fee based allegedly on a contract signed by me.I asked the Bank for the copy of the contract showing my signature and then the bank representative admitted that there is no contract but I still owe termination fee.I think that the Bank reasoning is based on false legal philosophy and there is no ground to to charge me the termination fee based on the contract which does not exist.I demand a full refund of my $500.00 and an apology. Account_Number: merchant No ********

Desired Settlement: Refund $500.00 refund

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin received
on March 13, 2015 regarding your merchant account ending in ****. Thank you for taking the time to
share your concerns. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with the servicing of your account and
apologize for any frustration you experienced.
I am glad that I had the opportunity to speak with you and discuss your concerns regarding the early
termination fee. As we discussed, after an investigation of your concerns, it was determined that the fee
is valid and was disclosed in the terms and conditions of your merchant contract. Enclosed is a copy of
the signed contract and confirmation page. The ETF (early termination fee) is referenced on the
Confirmation Page under item #8 and refers to the Program Guide for further details.
The $500 ETF was assessed to your checking account ending **** on October 21,2014. Then on
November 12, 2014 your new merchant processor IPS credited your checking account $500.00. Our
review of your account did not uncover any errors therefore I regret that we must decline your request for
reimbursement of the early termination fee.
If I can be of further assistance, now or in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at the number
above.

4/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used to bank at Associated Bank **** ***** ******* ***** **. When I called the office to talk to someone about unknown small charge later prompted a question of a bigger purchase on same call. This happened last Dec., 2014. I was surprised especially by the fact of individual saying, "Associated is not known for investigating". Unfortunately, I took the statement of ***** **** - ***** ***** ** ******* charging their customers $700 auto termination fee and mentioned it. After the phone call ended with the bank, I did my own investigation days later and found the places I purchased items from had no record of that amt. under my name and my lifestyle did not agree with what the negative paper said about me from the bank. So, I wonder where did Associated Bank get info. about me telling of the bigger total? If they would have contacted both companies as I did, they would have found this out. I believe I did THEIR JOB for them!! I am shocked. Banks I thought were still supposed to help the customer in this important of an area.

Desired Settlement: To make sure that Associated Bank at **** **** ****** ******* ****** ** ***** ** ************ Any questions: ###-###-#### has my name removed and in great standing with no questions. Apparently this total belongs to someone else.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the complaint that you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin,
regarding your Associated Bank checking account ending in ****.
On November 26,2014 you requested the bank to place a freeze on your debit card ending in ****,
because you suspected possible unauthorized use of the card. On December 1, 2014 you called our
Customer Care department to file a dispute for the Radio Shack charge of $831.60 that posted to your
account on November 26, 2014. We received your signed dispute form back on December 8, 2015.
While we investigated the disputed transaction, we issued a provisional credit to your account of $831.60
on December 11, 2014.
Information that Associated Bank received from the merchant stated that you violated the terms and
conditions of the agreement with Radio Shack. Based on this information, we determined the charge to
be valid. We mailed you a letter dated February 9, 2015 explaining that we would rebill your account on
February 16, 2015 for the full amount of $831.60. You closed the checking account on February 16, 2015
by withdrawing the remaining balance of $1 ,955.47. Therefore we mailed you another letter on March 4,
2015, explaining that the transaction is valid and that you must repay the $831.60 back to Associated
Bank. Another letter was mailed on March 17, 2015 to request payment of the $831.60 since we had not
heard back from you. Please forward payment to Associated Bank immediately at the following address:
Associated Bank
******** ******* *** **** ** *** ***** ***** **** ** **********
At Associated Bank, we place a high value on providing quality service and recognize that customer
satisfaction is a key to our continued success. If I may be of further assistance, now or in the future,
please feel free to contact me directly at the number above.

3/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Jan. 27, 2015, I was going to use an ATM located at Associated Bank in ******* **. I was going to withdraw $40.00 and proceeded until the screen informed me that the service fee was going to be $4.00. (My ATM card is with BMO Bank, and I rarely use other banks for withdraws.) The screen prompted me to either accept the terms and fee, or cancel. I clearly hit cancel. To my surprise, the transaction immediately continued, and gave me $40.00 plus the $4.00 fee. I DID NOT hit the wrong button. I immediately went into the location, and wanted to return the $40.00, have the $4.00 fee removed, and notify them of their issue. The bank teller told me that the fee is from BMO bank, not theirs, and I will need to deal with BMO Bank to have it resolved. I contacted BMO Bank, and they said it is Associated Bank who charges the fee, and I need to go through a lengthy process, signing release forms, so BMO Bank can file a claim, on my behalf, against Associated Bank. Feb 5th, 2015, I called Associated Banks Customer service through their corporate center, and after another 40 minutes of waiting on the phone, I was told that Associated Bank will not deal with me, or do anything for me, and that they will only deal with BMO Bank after I sign a release so they can represent me on my behalf. So far, I have nearly 2 hours into resolving a $4.00 charge, and I need to print forms, mail things, wait, causing even more wasted time. I was told that I am not a customer of Associated Bank since I do not have an account with them. I informed them that it was my $4.00 they took, it came directly from my bank account, and that makes me a customer of theirs. This was Associated Banks error. Associated Bank teller misinformed me, likely knowingly. And now even at the corporate level, Associated Bank will not return me the $4.00 fee that I did not agree to.

Desired Settlement: The $4.00 they took from me without my approval given back to me.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the complaint that you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin
regarding your recent experience with the Associated Bank office located in ******* *********.
After reviewing the transaction, our records indicate that that on January 27, 2015 at 1 :49:48 p.m. EST
your debit card ending in **** was swiped at the ****** ATM terminal. Once this step is completed, the
$4.00 surcharge notice is presented and allows you to cancel the transaction. We did not receive a
cancellation command from the ATM terminal. Our records show that your card was swiped again at
1:50:07 p.m. EST, and a request for a $40.00 cash withdrawal was processed, which the ATM dispensed.
Although we find no error in the ATM transaction, in recognition of your time and inconvenience, we are
mailing you a refund check for the $4.00 surcharge under separate cover.
At Associated Bank, we place a high value on providing quality service and recognize that customer
satisfaction is a key to our continued success. If I may be of further assistance, now or in the future,
please feel free to contact me directly at the number above.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Hello,
 
I do not agree with Associated Banks review of their events.  
I swiped the ATM Card only once.
I was asked to accept the $4.00 surcharge only once, and I declined it.
The ATM dispersed my $40.00 and charged me the surcharge.
 
I do not accept their resolution because their account of what occurred is not accurate.
 
Thank you, *** 

 

 

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the rebuttal that you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin
regarding your recent experience with the Associated Bank office located in ******* *********.
Upon further review, it was determined that your card was issued by *** ****** ****. If the card is a
chip card, the customer experience would be to swipe the card twice. The first time the ATM detects the
chip card and instructs the customer to re-insert it. At that point, it reverts back to the magnetic stripe and
asks the customer to remove their card to continue the transaction. So, in this case, it is normal that we
would see the double swipe.
Based on your feedback, we re-reviewed our incident logs at the ****** ATM for both machine faults and
other issues at the ATM. We have no other complaints reported regarding fees being assessed at this
terminal, nor did we see any faults on the ATM on January 27,2015 that would have created any issues
at the ATM. We also tested the ATM with a non-Associated Bank debit card and were unable to re-create
the same situation that you experienced.
If I may be of further assistance, now or in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at the number
above.

2/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged over $1200 for $80 worth of overdraft checks. They took over $600 out of my account and they never even paid off the checks. Associated Bank was charged with going against proper banking practices and charging fees from high to low instead of going based on the actual amounts in the correct order in order to overcharge their customers. I was refunded some money, but nothing near what I have paid in because most of it went to lawyers and the people who began the lawsuits. I think I got $30-$60, so they admit that they did this to me as well. I was repeatedly charged $33 for an overdraft fee (over 5 times a day), and then they took about $620-650 out of my account. They took my whole paycheck, but they still say I owe them over $800, which was only about $600.. They never paid off the checks, and this amount is astronomical. I have filed 2 other complaints about this. Please have them stop trying to say I owe them because I should speak to an attorney about this. I feel that at the very least, these amounts should be amended to say that I do not owe them anything, but I think after putting this black mark on my record and keeping me from having a saving/ checking account through any bank and overcharging me and using illegal/ unethical practices, that they should actually be required to refund at least half ($300) of the amount I have already paid on this debt!

Desired Settlement: I would like for Associated Bank to clear my black mark that says that I owe them $600/$800 and I would also like at least some of the $600 I paid for $80 worth of bounced checks to be refunded to me as this is even more than 6/7 times the amount of the checks that they have already charged. My account should have been closed after it went into the negative and I asked to have it closed.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin received
on January 26,2015 regarding your checking account. Thank you for taking the time to share your
concerns.

I have been trying to reach you to discuss your concerns; however I have been unable to contact you.
left messages for you at your phone number ###-###-#### listed in the complaint however I have not
received a callback.

Based upon the information provided, we are not able to identify your account; however I would like the
opportunity to discuss your concerns. Please contact me at the number above so that I can assist you.
At Associated Bank, we place a high value on providing quality service and recognize that customer
satisfaction is a key to our continued success.

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started with a refund process and to stop payment in August 2014. The bank refunded me double by mistake and charged me overdrafts fees. My account is under investigation again and has been sent to collections. I have money direct deposited into this account every two weeks.

Desired Settlement: I would like for all of the daily fees to be removed and overdrafts. I would like for my account to be in good standing.

Business Response:

I am responding to the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin received
October 28, 2014 regarding a disputed transaction on your Associated Bank checking account ending in
****. I have been trying to contact you to discuss your concerns however [ have been unable to reach
you ..
My investigation into this matter shows that you completed dispute paperwork twice for the $87.21
transaction to Garcinia Cambogia posted on September 2, 2014. Associated Bank issued two provisional
credits to your account on September 3,2014. On September 22,2014 we issued a rebill notice to you
advising that due to the duplicate disputes filed in error, we were debiting your account $87.21 on
September 30,2014. We then debited your account the additional $87.21 on October 3, 2014 because
the dispute was not found in your favor. You had not provided the bank confirmation of your cancellation
with Garcinia Cambogia.
On October 21, 2014 we received the copy of your email from the merchant stating they were going to
return the funds to your account. At that time, we issued a provisional credit to your account for $87.21
while we reached out to the merchant again for further clarification.
Although the dispute is still in process, you chose to close your checking account on November 3, 2014.
Once the dispute investigation is complete, Associated Bank will either consider the provisional credit as
permanent if the dispute comes back in your favor, or if not and it is found to be a valid transaction, we
will request repayment from you for $87.21.
At Associated Bank, we place a high value on providing quality selVice and recognize that customer
satisfaction is a key to our continued success. If I can be of any further assistance, now or in the future,
please feel free to contact me directly at the number listed above.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to your additional concerns you shared in the complaint filed with the Better
Business Bureau of Wisconsin received November 10, 2014.
The dispute investigation regarding the $87.21 transaction to Garcinia Cambogia is still in process. Your
account was assessed a $35.00 overdraft fee on September 3,2014. A total of $70.00 of continued
overdraft fees assessed between October 7,2014 and October 20, 2014. You were refunded $28.00 of
the overdraft fees as a courtesy on October 14, 2014.
It is a general practice for Associated Bank to refund any overdraft fees that were caused by unauthorized
transactions on your account. Once the dispute investigation is complete, and if it is determined that the
dispute comes back in your favor, Associated Bank will issue you a check for the remaining fees of
$77.00. If the transaction is found to be valid at the end of our investigation, we will request repayment
from you for $67.21 that was issued as a provisional credit on October 21,2014.
If I can be of any further assistance, now or in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at the
number above.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer d like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *******

 

 

11/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my house loan and equity line of credit on a charge card.I secured some loans for my daughter and had them all of these and my loans merged into one loan. To lower my payments. The first loan was never cleared off my credit record. I went to Heritage Credit union to merge my debits once again on one loan and this is when I found out it was still on my credit report. I called Ms Johnson at the Lodi bank and she would not answer by calls or re-turn them. So I went to the Associated bank at **** **** in ******** **. The manager helped be get a letter to the Heritage Credit Union to clear this matter up. Now I went to get a loan once again to merge my debits into one loan and lower my payment and it is still on my credit report. I never received a letter stating that this matter was cleared up. The loan officer at *** ***** ask if I had this letter and I don't.What do I need to do to get them to clear this matter up?

Desired Settlement: I want this head ach cleared up now not later. This is a mark against my credit record. I go to get a loan and report every thing I have and this show up. This is not acceptable. This has been there for 10 years or better. I want it off my credit report.

Business Response:

**** *** ******* ******* ****** ** ****** ************ ******** ***** ************ ***
This letter is in response to the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin received
on October 31,2014 regarding your home equity line of credit account. Thank you for taking the time to
share your concerns. Please accept my apology on behalf of Associated Bank for any frustration you
experienced.
I am glad that I had the opportunity to speak with you. You indicated you filed the complaint because you
thought the account ending in **** was showing incorrectly on your credit report. Then on October 31,
2014 you talked to a Better Business Bureau representative and informed them that the account is valid
and you no longer had any concerns.
At Associated Bank, we place a high value on providing quality service and recognize that customer
satisfaction is a key to our continued success. If I can be of any further assistance, now or in the future,
please feel free to contact me directly at the number above.

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Im writing in regards to NSF fees that I feel are wrong. I made a deposit in my bank on Saturday 9/20/2014 at approximatley 12:30 PM in the amount of $686.76. I had received a check and needed to deposit it before I went grocery shopping and got a few other things. I had then went to the grocery store, gas staion and a few other stores. Associated bank had than took out 4 NSF fees totaling $180.00 for those stores. I feel this is extreamly wrong. Therefore my deposit stayed pending until Monday 9/22/2014 as well as my 4 debits at the stores. However they are charging me for my weekend debits and not recognizing my deposit that was also made on the weekend. My husband has just returned home from a deployment and is currently not working, So im the only one supporting our family of four and cannot afford these barbaric fees because we needed to go grocery shopping to put food in our stomachs. Now because of these $180 in fees we may not even be able to pay our rent on October 1st. I called the customer service department and they refuse to even help me.

Desired Settlement: Im just looking for my NSF fees back totaling $180.00

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin
regarding your Associated Bank checking account ending in ****. I have been trying to reach you via
telephone to discuss your concerns however I have not heard back from you to date.
After reviewing your account, I determined that you deposited a $686.76 non-Associated Bank check on
Saturday, September 20, 2014. As indicated in Section 11.1 of the enclosed Deposit Account
Agreement, our general policy is to make funds from your deposit available to you on the first business
day after the day we receive your deposit. Please note that with a non-Associated Bank check deposit,
$100.00 is made available to you the day of the deposit with the remaining funds on hold until the next
business day. Cash, electronic direct deposits, wire transfers and checks drawn on Associated Bank are
available on the business day we receive the deposit. For determining the availability of your deposits,
every day is a business day, except Saturdays, Sundays and federal holidays.
For your convenience, I also enclosed the Notice of Insufficient Funds statement dated September 22,
2014 that provides detailed information regarding the four $35.00 overdraft fees we assessed for
transactions that presented for payment on September 22,2014. Although the fees are valid and were
assessed in accordance with the terms and conditions of your account, as a customer courtesy I refunded
the $140.00 in fees to your account on September 25,2014.
At Associated Bank, we place a high value on providing quality service and recognize that customer
satisfaction is key to our continued success. If I may be of further assistance, now or in the future, please
feel free to contact me directly at the number above.

10/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am very upset to find out this morning that this bank accounts have been compromised and they failed to notify their customers that this happened. They confirmed this to me on the phone this morning, after we had called because my husband had gone to a store this morning and found out that our card had be shut off. This is absolutely ridiculous that a business of this size could know that this happened in July and make a decision NOT to notify anyone who held their card. While the card may have the mastercard logo on it, they are operating and using that logo so they should have some responsibility to their customers to protect them. There were 4 charges that were made to the account after the 2 they were able to lock it. Here is my problem they allowed the charges to go thru without question, as I stated to them on the phone I find this so perplexing because they usually have a strong security. I have had it questioned when my husband used a atm witin 3 miles of our house but yet they knew that they were compromised and never thought to question $116.00 worth of gas in ******** that is a huge amount of gas and I have certainly never in all my years with this account charged that much. That should of been a warning but they allowed it to go thru? Not once but 2xs in one night? I don't expect anything out of this other that they should be tarnished by this and their inability to protect their customers by not letting them know this happened. ***** and ***** ***** both announced yesterday they were hacked BUT Associated made a conscious decision to ignore the fact that they use the MasterCard name and their customers were at risk, Please warn the public so we can protect ourselves and make businesses have to do the same or face a penalty. Thank you

Desired Settlement: At this point I believe my account will be reimbursed the amounts that were taken....however they take your money out and expect that you have to file all this paperwork to retrieve it....all while they know darn well that these are fraudulent charges...this is fraud by associated bank by not acknowledging this.

Business Response:

I am responding to the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin received August
29,2014 regarding your Associated Bank debit card ending in ****.
Recently, Associated Bank was notified of a possible data breach with a merchant you may have made a
purchase from using your debit card. Because that merchant has not publically announced this possible
breach, we are unable to release the identity of that merchant to you.
Associated Bank has internal controls to prevent or reduce fraud on your account. When questionable
transactions processed on your account, we placed a block on your card to prevent further loss. In
addition, we have already granted you temporary credit for the transaction that was processed, however
we request you complete the dispute form that was mailed to you to complete, sign and return back to
Associated Bank for processing. We are providing you another copy of this dispute form in the case you
might have lost the original form.
At Associated Bank, we take the protection of your information very seriously and are committed to
providing quality and secure banking. In addition, it is very important for you to monitor your account
regularly for any unauthorized activity. This can be done through Online Banking, Mobile Banking,
Telephone Banking or by reviewing your statement each month. To learn more about protecting your
personal and financial information, please visit the Associated Bank Security Center at
www.AssoicatedBank.comfsecuritvfor more information.
If I can be of any further assistance, now or in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at the
number listed above.

9/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened a checking account with Associated Bank Spring of last year 2014,it was not explained to me clearly how the debt card purchases work. There were about 4-5 purchases made with my debit card. They cleared with the money in my account and then for some reason it said the merchant has 2-4 days to process the payments. This caused me to get overdraft fees for some reason. I tried calling the customer service number and all of the services reps to explain my issue they were very, very rude to me, so I decided to make an appoitment with the Bank manger **** ******, hoping to get some type of resoultion, He was just as rude as the customer service reps. Associated Bank donot value their customers or the issues that occurs with Associated Bank!!

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like the fees that were not my fault reversed!!!

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *****,
**** **** ****** ******* ******* ****** ** ***** ************ ******** ***** ************ ***
This letter is in response to the complaint that you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin
received on May 12, 2014 regarding your checking account ending in 2630. I am sorry to hear of your
disappointment with the servicing of your account and apologize for any frustration you experienced.
I am glad that I had the opportunity to speak with you and resolve your concerns. As we discussed, when
you use your debit card for a purchase, the merchant issues a temporary hold for that amount. The hold
is in effect for the general timeframe when most debit card authorized transactions are received by the
bank and drops off after the actual transaction is processed or the general timeframe expires. Banks do
not have control over the amount of time between obtaining an authorization and when they submit the
transaction for payment.
As we discussed, although the fees assessed to your checking account are valid according to the terms
and conditions of your account, on May 14, 2014 I refunded $70.00 in overdraft fees as a customer
courtesy. Enclosed for your convenience is our Understanding Overdrafts and Your Options to Manage
Fees pamphlet which provides great information on tips to avoid overdrafts.
Also, according to our records, at the time you opened the account you opted-in to the bank's Everyday
Debit/ATM Overdraft Service. This means that Associated Bank will authorize one-time debit card
purchases or ATM withdrawals even if there are no funds available and your account will be charged the
corresponding overdraft fees. However, recurring debit card transactions such as gym memberships or
cell phone payments and non-ATM/Debit Card transactions such as checks, ACH withdrawals, or online
banking/telephone banking transactions may still be paid and subject to overdraft fees
If you would like to Opt Out your account from the Debit/ATM Overdraft Service, or have any other
questions, please contact me at the number above. At Associated Bank, we place a high value on
providing quality service and recognize that customer satisfaction is a key to our continued success.

5/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bank sending advertisement to me but will not work with me at all. I all ready have a home equity loan with this bank. I am currently unemployed and have tried to work with them, but keep telling me there is nothing they can do for me. but yet they send be an advertisement with interest rate as low as 3.99% and mine is at 7.00%+

Desired Settlement: I would like them to work with me and maybe lower my interest rate.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the complaint that you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin
regarding your real estate secured loan ending in ****. Thank you for taking the time to talk to me about
your concerns.
Please accept my apology on behalf of Associated Bank for any frustration you experienced because of
the March 2014 Home Equity Line of Credit promotion offer we mailed to you. I can certainly understand
your disappointment when you received the offer. Please let me know if you wish to opt-out from
receiving any future marketing mailings from Associated Bank or its affiliates, and I would be happy to
process your request.
You indicated in your complaint your desire is for a lower interest rate on your loan. In order to determine
if you qualify for a modification program, please complete and return the enclosed A.S.S.I.S.T.
application. If you need to make payment arrangements while we are evaluating your application, please
contact ********* *******, who is your single point of contact, at ###-###-####, extension ****. If
********* is unavailable, you may also contact ****** ********** at extension ****.
The servicer of your first mortgage can also answer any questions you have about Deed in Lieu or a
Short Sale options for the property.
If I may be of further assistance, now or in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at the number
above.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

On Tue, May 6, 2014 at 12:12 PM, ********************** wrote:

I am not happy with the response I received from Associated Bank regarding my complaint.  I received a phone call from ******** ********** and basically she told me not much could be done because I was unemployed.
Sincerely,
***** *****

 

 

 

4/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had closed my accounts with this bank in July of this year (2013). Through them I had a bill pay service set up. When I'd closed my I double and triple checked with the personal banker who was helping me to be sure that I was done with them and the bill pay service and that I could move on with out worries. He gave me the green light and told me everything was fine. Early in November I began receiving calls from a third party which Associated Bank is using to run their bill pay service asking me to pay them 111.41$ for a bill pay. I explained to this company that I had closed the account and had not been with Associated Bank for months. This company explained to me that they had tried to get a refund from the payee of this bill, but that it was a non refundable bill. For some reason or another Associated could not (or would not) pay this third party company that had payed the bill on behalf of Associated Banks bill pay service. I think ok! I'll go talk to someone with Associated Bank. I'd received a letter from associated bank that was referring to this 111.41$ so I thought I'd take that with me and we could get everything cleared up. The personal banker I spoke with this time, said that if I'd closed my account then there was absolutely no reason that the bill pay service would have continued. What he had told me was that the letter was a notification that the bill had not been payed to the payee. So if I'd payed the bill by other means then this was not an issue and I had no worries. Cool! I pay my bills very promptly so no worries! December 2, 2013 I receive a letter telling me that "Within the next 30 days my information will be sent to an outside collection agency that will handle the collection process for this debt". I return to Associated Bank once more to talk with someone. I ended up talking with the personal banker who had helped me close my account. He essentially explained to me that this was my fault and that I needed to take care of it. I tried calling Associated Banks phone # for escalating a complaint to receive a "There's nothing we can do other than file complaints on the personal bankers you've dealt with. Here's the number for the third party company we do our bill pay service through, maybe they can help you". Ok, I've been jerked around for months over this issue, I can try one more phone call. After calling this third party company it was explained to me that the only option I had was to pay them the money that they had payed on my associated bank account's behalf. Even though I'd closed my account and completely walked away from that bank months ago.

Desired Settlement: I've been through a lot with this whole issue. If someone would have just called me right away and said "Hey! we screwed up! would you be ok with paying an extra month in advance for your phone bill?" I'm a very agreeable and understanding person, this wouldn't have been an issue. It's been month now, and they've put me through hoops that shouldn't have even existed. Now, they want money from me just before the holidays or they'll ruin what credit I have? I want Associated Bank to own up to their mistake, swallow the cost, apologize, and then leave me alone.

Business Response:

 

Dear Mr. ********,
**** **** ****** *******
******* ****** ** *****
###-###-#### PHONE
###-###-#### FAX
This letter is in response to the complaint that you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin
regarding your Associated Bank checking account ending in ****. Please accept my apology for any
misunderstanding that may have taken place regarding your request to close your checking account with
our ********* branch.
As we discussed, the branch closed your account on July 18, 2013 however the recurring bill payment to
U.S. Cellular was not cancelled. We issued an electronic bill payment on your behalf to U.S. Cellular for
$111.41 on October 28, 2013. As a result, our bill payment vendor contacted a collection agency who
sent you a letter asking for reimbursement of $111.41.
Associated Bank NA denies any wrongdoing however, because of the inconvenience this situation has
caused you, as a customer courtesy we will reimburse the collection agency on your behalf. I will provide
you the documentation of the paid check as soon as it is available. I am glad we had the opportunity to
discuss your concerns with you and that you consider this matter resolved.
If I may be of further assistance, now or in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at the number
above.

****** ******* ******** **** ******** *** ******* *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this is sufficient. However the fact that Associated Bank denies any wrong doing raises red flags for me. Since when does a company not take full responsibility when a customer has been wronged?

I would hope that in the future Associated Bank would do better to train it's employees and more effectively communicate between its departments. This issue should never have gotten this far. period.

I was initially adamant about pushing for more by this point.. but in the end I'm glad to be clean of them and hope that Associated Bank can correct their business practices/operations for their customers sake.

Thank You,

 

******** ********

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Continued chaning practice and policy on with held funds for deposit varying from branch to branch. Refused to reviel written policy to customer. For 6 years depodited checks with no funds held unless total of check is greater then $5000.00. Was not notified of any policy change. Now funds on a check for $4000 and $2300 being held for 5 days. Checks are drawn on local bank. Asked for proof of written policy and was told policies are not shared with customers. Refusing to release funds and refusing to close account and return checks to me to be deposited in a new account. Aked to speak with another representative/ a supervisor to fiel a complaint and was denied. Told I could not do so I had to speak with person on the phone not a supervisor. I have no access to my funds. Bank refusing to return checks to me or release funds. I consider this theft. Changing policy and refusal to provide written proof of policy indicates illegal actions. Refusal to speak with supervisor further provides suspision of illegal actions. I have had large amounts of money stolen from my account in the past. Concerned this will occur again. Unable to close account because associated will not release funds to do so. Complaint is for poor customer service, theft, and fraudulant actions.

Desired Settlement: Settlement of Monies returned totaling $6300.00. Proof of written policy. Investigation into customer service, complaint file process, and potential illegal handling of funds by teller.

Business Response:

 

October 9, 2013
******* *****
** *** *****
**** ***** ** *****
RE: Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin, Case #*******
Dear Ms. *****,
**** **** ****** ******* ******* ****** ** *****
###-###-#### PHONE
###-###-#### FAX
This letter is in response to the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin received
on September 17, 2013 regarding your checking account ending in ****. I have been trying to contact
you by telephone however I have been unable to reach you.
Funds from a non-Associated Bank check deposit are generally available on the first business day after
the day we receive the deposit, however, the first $100.00 of the deposit.is made available immediately.
Cash, electronic direct deposits, wire transfers and checks drawn on Associated Bank are available on
the business day we receive the deposit.
However, in some cases we will not make all of the funds that you deposit by check available to you on
the first business day after the day of your deposit. Funds you deposit by check may be delayed for a
longer period if the deposit totals more than $5,000 on anyone day. The first $5,000 will be available on
the first business day after the deposit and the excess over $5,000 will be available on the fifth business
day after the day of your deposit. Please refer to the attached funds availability disclosure for more
details.
Your $6,403.00 deposit on September 16, 2013 consisted of a $2,337.51 and $4,065.49 check. Of that
deposit $1303.00 was placed on hold for five business days and was made available on September 21,
2013. That was the amount over $5,000 less the $100.00 that is made available immediately.
Holds are placed on some deposited checks to help protect the customer and the bank from potential
loss. The bank may place a hold on deposited checks for a variety of reasons including large deposit
scenarios. If the check deposit is made in-person at one of our branches, the customer is provided with a
hold notice outlining the reason for the hold and the time in which the funds will be available. Associated
Bank's Funds Availability Policy Disclosure is available in our Deposit Account Agreement which was
provided to you at account opening. The current version is available online at
****************************. I enclosed a copy of the Deposit Account Agreement for your
reference.
Unfortunately we are unable to return the checks you deposited. Once a check is deposited, the bank of
first deposit is inhibited from disrupting the check clearing system to provide the item back to the
depositing customer, unless the item is subsequently returned by the other bank.
At Associated Bank, we place a high value on providing quality service and recognize that customer
satisfaction is a key to our continued success. If I can be of any further assistance, now or in the future,
please feel free to contact me directly at the number above.
Sincerely,

******* ********
******** **** ****** ********** ******** **** ******
** **** ****
cc: Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin, Electronic Transmittal Only
Enclosures
*** **

7/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I open an account at the bank I put several hundred dollars in the account. I was told the credit monitoring system was free. Well it turned out it was free for the first month. They lied to me. I see they have a high number of complaints of lying to their customers. It was an account I did not used much. The fees drained my account and than some leaving me with a negative balance after they had stolen all of my money. After the bank stole all of my money and than some. They closed my account and turned it over to a thug collection agency in Milwaukee called ***** *** ******* who has allot of complaints against them also. These collection agency that associate hired now is calling my elderly parents and threatening them for the money that Associated had stolen from me.

Desired Settlement: Refund all of the money the bank has stolen from me in hidden fees. Another class action law suit against Associated Bank for hidden fees.

Business Response:

 

July 1,2013
**** * ******
******* ***** **
******* ** *****
RE: Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin (BBB) Case # *******
Dear Mr. ******,
**** **** ****** *******
******* ****** ** *****
###-###-#### PHONE
###-###-#### FAX
I am responding to the cornplaint you filed with the Belter Business Bureau of Wisconsin received June
18, 2013 regarding your Associated Bank checking account ending in ****.
The investigation into your concerns is complete. Your checking account was opened on January 25,
2012. The ID Secure premium for $12.95 was assessed to your account monthly, beginning in March,
2012. Product materials for the ID Secure program disclosed applicable fees and customers have a
responsibility to review periodic statements to discover errors or issues. Your account was closed by the
Bank.on October 1, 2012 due to NSF activity with a fee balance owed of $125.00.
As a courtesy, we refunded the six months of ID Secure premiums totaling $77.70 that assessed to your
account. We also refunded the $35.00 overdraft fee, $70.00 of continued overdraft fees and $10.00
overdraft protection fee. Enclosed is a check for $67.70 that represents the remaining balance after the
refunds were applied to the balance owed on your account. ***** *** ****** was notified to stop all
collection efforts regarding this malter. In addition, we also removed any reporting/negative comments
reported to ***********.
Associated Bank also closed your checking account ending in **** due to NSF activity on October 23,
2012. A principal balance of $30.55 and a fee balance of $115.00 were owed. However as a goodwill
gesture, we recently chose to forgive the entire balance owed.
If I may be of further assistance, now or in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at the number
listed above.
Sincerely,
*******
****** *******
*** * ******** ******** *** ******* *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Associated Banc Corp.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart