Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Discount Auto Transport

Phone: (715) 687-4600 Fax: (715) 687-8323 View Additional Phone Numbers 424 N 5th Ave, Stratford, WI 54484 http://www.discountautotransport.net



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto transport services. We transport any vehicle running or in op, new or classic. We can transport your vehicle with an open or enclosed transport. We move vehicles for corporate and household moves. Professional athletes and celebrities. We take care of dealer trades for both new and used vehicles. DAT has transported everything from golf carts to a WW2 landing craft.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Discount Auto Transport meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Discount Auto Transport include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Discount Auto Transport
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 02, 2004 Business started: 01/01/2003 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street, SW, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Michael D. Lippe, Owner Ms. Robin Meerstein, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael D. Lippe, Owner
Business Category

Auto Transporters & Drive-Away Companies Auto Services Transportation Services All Other Support Activities for Transportation (NAICS: 488999)

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Discount Auto Transport has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 424 N 5th Ave

    Stratford, WI 54484 (715) 687-4600 (888) 671-9285

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired discount auto transport to transport my vehicle from ******* to ********. They say that if anything were to happen to the exterior of the vehicle while being transported they would cover the damage. THIS IS NOT TRUE! i received my vehicle with a broken driver side window and when i told the driver and then went on to call the companies dispatch they play dumb like it was already there. When this company went to pick up the vehicle, before they even put it on the trailer they mark anything wrong with the exterior of the car on a piece of paper. The crack was never on the window when they picked it up and they don't have it marked either, obviously because it wasn't there. They said they aren't paying for it and if i don't pay the driver then they are keeping the car. The whole operation is a fraud and I was very disgusted by the way **** from Discount Auto Transport treated me on the phone. He just turned everything on me as if I was trying to pull a fast one and trying to get a free delivery he said. Obviously he uses this line every time a situation like this happens. I just want them to pay for the replacement of my window.

Desired Settlement: They should pay for the replacement of the window that was broken during the transporting of my car

Business Response: Response to complaint to BBB. First of all let it be known that our company arranges  shipping for  thousands of vehicles a year. And we never have complaints about our service. We have been in business for almost 15 years and accredited by the BBB for almost ten years. In this case we arranged shipping for a **** ********** from a dealer in FL going  to NE.  The customer is complaining of a very small crack in a drivers side window. The transport did not damage this window it has had this small crack for many years. According to the driver the small crack can only be seen when the window is in the half way rolled up position. Impossible to have damaged this when rolled up which it was while in transit. Even if it was damaged in transport the transport has insurance to cover it.   I am working with the selling dealer to resolve this issue with the customer. This is not an issue that Discount Auto Transport should have to deal with. But in the interest of good customer service we are helping the customer as best we can in this situation. After talking to the customer and transport driver we do believe that the window was not damaged during shipping. But the customer has not sent any pictures of the alleged damage either to our company or to the selling dealership. This  customer  is blaming everyone to try to get money from someone. He tried to get money from the transport, the dealership and now us.  As much as we try, we find it is impossible to please every customer. We even gave this customer a discount on the transport price because he complained the price was to high. Again there is no proof of any damage caused in transport to this 50 plus year old car.  We will do anything we can to help the  customer resolve this issue. I have forwarded all the insurance documents on the transport that transported this vehicle. If the customer does in fact believe he has a legitimate claim he can file that claim with the transports insurance company. 

Business Response: As I have Stated. Discount Auto Transport arranged shipping for Mr *********. Mr ********* has provided no pictures of a damaged window and produced no estimates of repair. If we had these we would be happy to forward these to the transports insurance company. There are procedures to follow if Mr ********* truly believes that his window was damaged in transit. We have provided Mr ********* with the insurance information that he would need to file a claim. If he would send the pictures and estimates that we requested we would even help him file his claim. As of yet we have received nothing from him. He has just demanded money. If Mr ********* won't even take the time to file a claim with the insurance company or even provide us with pictures or estimates. Then there is very little we can do to help him. As a policy we don't just hand out money to customers just because they say give me money. If Mr ********* is not willing or able to help us file a claim with the insurance company than he is not very serious about getting his window fixed.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* *********

 

 

5/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Discount Auto Transport contacted to transport 5 vehicles from WA to AZ. I made it clear that they could not be delivered before July 2nd 2012 because we would not yet be in AZ. DAT agreed & contracted *** ************** to transport cars, giving them specific instruction to not deliver before July 2nd. ***** ******* from *** ************** called & confirmed transport. I emphasized we were flexible on pickup date, but cars could under no circumstances be delivered before July 2nd. He agreed and said this would be no problem because it would most likely take over a week to deliver. I spoke with ***** 3-4 more times as the pickup date came closer, each time reminding him cars couldn't be delivered before we had possession of Phoenix house on 2nd of July. ***** gave estimated pickup date of June 25th or 26th & delivery date of 3rd-6th of July. The morning of pickup (26th), ***** called to let me know his driver was on way. I asked him once more if they would be delivered after 2nd of July, & he said yes. As driver was loading cars, I asked when he planned to deliver. He told me he would arrive on 28th! I told driver there must be a mistake, because we wouldn't even be in AZ before 2nd. He told me he had a schedule to keep & to call ***** for solution. I was sick to my stomach & called ***** asking him what was going on. ***** said he made mistake, but since cars were loaded, no choice but to have them dropped off in parking lot somewhere in AZ for a week! Was also instructed to pay then so cars would not be sold at auction. Cars delivered 28 June to storage yard while we were in WA. Yard didn't know who cars belonged to. We picked up cars at yard on 3 July, had to pay $300 storage fee. Cars covered in oil so thick we couldn't see out of windows. License plate broken off of *****. Junk in ****. Damage to chassis of ******** & rear shocks of **** ** crushed from chaining down on transporter. Driver not there to sign bills of lading/condition. I contacted Discount Auto Transport to inform company that contract was broken due to not only being delivered too early, but delivered well outside of 2-day window that company is bound to deliver within, along with being charged $300 extra for storage fees because of mistake. Also noted poor condition of vehicles upon arrival, driver not there for me to point out damage. DAT claims no responsibility, wants me to deal with *** **************. I am a paying customer of DAT & feel since their contractor broke the contract, they should make it right and not make me, the customer, try to get compensation from their contractor. DAT should compensate me and then force their contractor *** to make it right with them, or no longer hire them.

Desired Settlement: I want $300 storage fee refunded. ***** of *** ************** admitted mistake, blames driver. *** sent $100, I need another $200 to pay for balance of storage fees. *** claims company is broke, cannot pay more. Discount Auto Transport is giving poor customer service by claiming no responsibility for their contractor's mistakes. I want damaged chassis of ******** repaired. I also want rear shock absorbers of **** ** replaced as they were both crushed when car was chained down. Driver was not there for me to inspect cars and sign off on bills of lading. ***** of *** once again blames driver for damage, says driver no longer works for him, not his fault what drivers do. I think Discount Auto Transport needs to pay for breach of contract and damage, and make their contractor compensate them, or no longer use them. A total of $500 is a meager estimate to cover balance of storage fees, cost of new rear **** ** shock absorbers, and repair of ******** chassis.

Business Response: Regarding: ID *******
To Whom it may Concern.

***** ******** contracted to move 5 cars back in June; He wanted them delivered on a specific day right during the July 4th holiday. I said we would
try but we cannot guarantee it. ***** knew before this transport arrived to pickup his cars that they were going to deliver a couple days earlier than
what he wanted. Instead of calling me he went ahead and told the transport to take the cars anyway. He could have cancelled and I could have gotten a
different transport for him that would have delivered at a later time. He never called until a week after the cars were delivered. There is no guarantee
as to specific. days to either pickup or deliver cars. I am a transport broker.
My job under my federal license is to make sure that the transport we use has an active federal license and insurance in place at the time of transport.
There is no way I can guarantee exact days of pickup and delivery. As to claimed damage I have never seen any paperwork, pictures or estimates
showing any damage. This is the first I am even aware of this. ***** never mentioned it before. *** did have an agreement with ***** to refund him
some money. I am sending a copy of *****'s original contract that clearly shows that pickup and delivery times are estimated. Also included is the
paperwork showing that *** had the required license and insurance in place at the time these vehicles were transported.  If you have any further
questions please feel free to call me at ###-###-####.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

**** ***** states that I "wanted the cars delivered on a specific day right during the July 4th holiday". I did not need them delivered on a specific day, but I insisted that they could under no circumstances be delivered before July the 2nd because we would not yet have the lease to the new house, and also would not yet be in ******* until that time--so it was very important that the cars not show up before then. I stated that I was flexible on the pickup date to make sure the delivery date would not be too early. **** assured me that this would be no problem at all.

It is not true that I "knew before (my) transport arrived to pickup (my) cars that they were going to be delivered a couple days earlier than (I) wanted". Every time I talked on the phone to ***** ******* (transport dispatcher) he confirmed that the cars would be delivered on or a day or two after July 2nd, but definitely not before, while I reminded him about why they could not be delivered early. Even only a few minutes before pickup, I talked to ***** on the phone while the truck was headed toward my house and I asked him point blank if they would be delivered on or after the 2nd of July and he said "Yes". Then, after the cars were already loaded on June 26th, the driver told me that he "would be delivering them on the 28th in two days". I told the driver that this wasn't right and I wouldn't even be in ******* by that time, and told him there was a mistake. I would not have let them load the cars if I knew the driver was going to deliver them in two days (***** even told me as his driver was on his way that they were going to be delivered on or after the 2nd!).


I immediately called ***** and asked him what was going on. ***** said that there was a mistake and that his driver is on a schedule and had to leave immediately. He said that he would try to find a yard to store the cars for a few days. I asked him again if he could just delay the delivery, and he said all he could do was store the cars somewhere. He said he would call me the next day to let me know where the cars would be delivered. Due to *** **************'s paperwork stating that cars unpaid for at delivery are subject to impound and sale at auction, I gave the driver the money order to avoid possibly having the cars sold at auction. I called over the next few days and could not get ahold of ***** to find out where the cars were being delivered.

I arrived in ******* on the 2nd of July (miraculously as I had an accident during the move that caused me to break four toes and get an infection without having any medical insurance) and finally got ahold of ***** who told me where the cars were. My roommate and I went to the storage yard on the 3rd to pick them up. When I saw the cars, I was sick to my stomach. My ******** was covered completely with oil so thick that I couldn't see out the windows to drive it. The other four cars were my roommate's. The rear license plate was broken off of one, his pickup truck was full of garbage and car parts that didn't belong to us, and the cars were very dirty. My roommate was freaking out and I felt extremely bad since I was the one that had setup the transport. So, I paid the $300 of my own money in storage fees to get my one and his four cars out of the yard.

We asked the ***** of the yard about what happened to the cars and he said he didn't know anything about them, someone must have dropped them off outside at midnight, so he brought them in--"and by the way, you guys want that old ******, too? You guys can have it, too." This ****** was supposed to be delivered to a customer in ******* *****, **********, but the truck driver ditched it there with our cars!

When we got the cars home, I tried contacting ***** with no success. I then emailed **** with no response. So, after a few days I called him and he said I needed to have ***** help me because it was out of his hands. After trying many times to contact *****, he told me that he couldn't do anything for me because he "couldn't afford to" because he "made so little money on the deal". After several phone calls he agreed to pay me for the storage fees, but that he could only afford $100 for now. I told him that I would accept that as a down payment. After many more phone calls, he finally sent $100 but now claims he is through and can't afford to pay anymore.

His excuse is that the driver made a mistake, but that he no longer works for him, so therefore is not responsible for his actions. He claims paying another $100 payment to reimburse me for storage fees would ruin his business financially and that he can't even afford to repair his trucks and one of his drivers had another accident so they really can't afford to give me anything. What kind of a business is this guy running? He admits the mistake but doesn't think he should do anything about it.

Upon inspecting the cars, we discovered that the rear shock absorbers of the **** **** ******* ***** were crushed and collapsed from the way the car was chained down (pictures attached). Also, one of the rear brackets on the chassis of my ******** was ripped out from the way it was chained down.

**** and ***** can be very difficult to get in contact with. Most of the time I have to leave a message, and they have NEVER called me back; I have always had to try and try again until they answered the phone. When I plead my case with them and want compensation for the cars being delivered way too early, having to pay $300 in storage fees, having dirty and damaged cars, they try to make me think it is all my fault. ***** claims our cars were leaking and that's what the oil is from. None of our cars leak that badly, maybe only a drop or two on the driveway in a month's time. Our cars looked like someone had dumped a barrel of oil on them, and what's more--all but one were loaded on top of the truck, and the ones loaded on the top of the truck were the dirtiest! It looks to me like their truck was spewing out lots of oil blowby or their hyrdaulics were leaking.

The dispatch instructions state: "This should be picked up within 2 days of 06/25/2012. This should be delivered within 2 days of 07/02/2012." The vehicles were picked up on the 26th of June, but delivered on the 28th of June. That's not even within the acceptable 2 day window! That's 4 days too soon, violating that portion of the contract--all the while before the cars left that ***** confirmed no early delivery.

I did not submit any paperwork or damage claims to **** because he never responded to my email, and after him finally answering the phone, he basically said that it was out of his hands and I needed to take it up with *****. I have been trying for months to get ***** to make it right, but he doesn't care. I think that if the company that **** hired to do the job mistreats a customer, that he should make things right and hold the company (*** **************) accountable for its actions. I'm just a customer that was wronged and **** is in a better position than I am to persuade *** ************** to correct the problem.


I did tell **** about the damage but he didn't think I reported it soon enough. I couldn't tell the driver about the damage and couldn't mark it on the bills of lading because we weren't there at delivery, therefore we didn't sign off that we agreed that the cars were delivered in acceptable condition. It took days before I was able to get ahold of either **** or ***** on the phone after many repeated attempts and messages on their answering machines, and the responses I got were "too late now, what's done is done".


I am not going to get taken advantage of. Only one of the five cars was mine. I set up the transport as a favor to my roommate. Despite every effort on my part to ensure they weren't delivered before we moved in to the new house, they were delivered way too early, causing me to have to pay $300 out of pocket to get the cars out of storage. My roommate is irate about this and he is not going to compensate me for getting his cars out of storage. Furthermore, the cars arrived damaged and dirty. ***** of *** admits the mistake but claims he can't afford to pay me any more than $100 and after many phone calls I am tired of being blown off. **** wants me to deal directly with *** to solve the issue and is now acting like I never told him about these problems. Something's got to give. I want someone who cares and has the power to help, to help me.

Regards,

***** ********

 

 

Business Response: This is out of my hands. I have fullfilled my contractual obligations for this transport. I arranged transport and and verified license and insurance for this carrier.  That is my responsibility as a transport Broker. I do not guarantee pickup or delivery times or offer to cover any costs relating to the transport. This is between ***** and the carrier.  If my house burned down I would not try to get money from the Real Estate agent. This is an example of what ***** is asking for. I would however offer to refund ***** $100.00 on his credit card to resolve this. If this is satisfactory let me know. Thanks. ****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and will settle for a refund of $100 to my credit card. I am willing to close the case after the refund has been received.

Regards,

 

***** ********

 

 

 

Business Response: My Virtual terminal will not let me just send money to a credit card account. I will have to mail a check for this. I will need ***** to send me an address in which to send this to. ****