BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

National Pride of Kenosha, Inc.

Phone: (262) 694-2669 Fax: (262) 697-3472 5512 75th St, Kenosha, WI 53142 http://www.nationalprideauto.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automobile repair and maintenance services, used car / light truck sales, as well as, the sale of lawn maintenance equipment and hand held products for both home and professional use. Parts and service are also available for maintenance equipment sold at this dealership.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that National Pride of Kenosha, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for National Pride of Kenosha, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on National Pride of Kenosha, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 10, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1972 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated: 08/19/1976 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708
http://datcp.state.wi.us/
Phone Number: (800) 422-7128
hotline@datcp.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Pam Bock, Service Advisor Mr. Bruce Marcquenski, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Pam Bock, Service Advisor
Principal: Mr. Bruce Marcquenski, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Services - Oil & Lube Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Products & Services

National Pride of Kenosha, Inc. offers the following product(s): CarQuest Auto Parts, Bumper to Bumper, Hankook, Hustler Turf Equipment, Kawasaki Hand Held Products, Kawasaki and Hustler Parts, Agri Fab Lawn Accessories.

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy
12 month / 12,000 mile warranty on most auto repair work.
Alternate Business Names
National Pride Auto Center National Pride Auto Sales National PrideTurf Equipment Sales-Parts-Service
Industry Tips
Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • 5512 75th St

    Kenosha, WI 53142 (262) 694-2669

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live in Racine Wisconsin. My car, a **** Dodge Caravan, kept stopping on Sunday, July 14, 2013 on my way to church. I finally turned into ******** ********* ******* **** **** ****** **** **** ******** ** *****. I spoke to someone in their security department and asked him not to tow my car. I then called ******** *****, a company I had used before located **** **** ******* ******** ** *****, the next day (Monday) to ask them to pick up my car. I spoke to *** and she said that they would pick up the car for me. She told me to leave my keys in the car. I put them in the ashtray, closed it and left the driver’s side unlocked. No one from the company picked up the car. ******** towed my car on Tuesday. *** called me and said the second party towing company said my car wasn’t there. She said she would find out what happened. She found out the car had been towed to ******, the towing company that ******** uses. She said she would take care of it since it was the fault of the towing company she uses; however, ****** would not release the car to her since she isn’t the owner, so I picked up the car and paid ****** $123.00. I asked *** to be honest and let me know if the car was not worth fixing. So she called me back that same Tuesday and told me the car needed an alternator. I again asked her if it was worth fixing. She said the car would last for six months, but no longer. I told her to go ahead and fix it. *** said she would deduct the towing charge from the bill. My sister **** took me to pick up the car on the morning of Wednesday, July 17, 2013. The total cost of $325.57 was charged to my cousin’s ********’s credit card. I headed home and the car repeated the same behavior of stopping that it did on Sunday, July 14, 2013. When I turned into my complex the car stopped again, but I was able to steer it out of the way of traffic and I let it sit there. I called *** to tell her that the car stopped again. She told me to bring it in again and I told her I could not drive it back to Kenosha. She told me she would try to work something out. She called me back me back Thursday to tell me she had some friends who worked at *** * ***** ******* *** ** **** **** ****** ** ******. She said their number is ###-###-####. My sister **** followed me to *** * ****** early Friday morning and I told them that I had to be at work at 5pm and that I needed the car back by 3pm and they said Ok. ****, from the company office, called me about 1pm and said I could pick up the car. I asked if they fixed the car and she said they would talk to me when I got there. She wouldn’t give me any information. When I went to pick up the car a man (I didn’t get his name) told me to take the car home and don’t drive it any more. I asked what was wrong with it and he said the head gasket was gone and it would cost a lot of money to fix the car, but not to drive it anymore unless I got it fixed. It stopped continually on my way home. When I called *** she said they noticed there was a head gasket problem, but thought if they fixed the alternator that it would last for a while. Had she told me about the head gasket upfront I would have never opted to fix the car. I asked my sister ******** to research this. She called *** on Saturday, July 20, 2013 at approximately 2:20 pm and spoke with her at length. My sister said *** was courteous and said she that I just asked her to get the car back on the road for a little while. My sister told her that she was not prepared at the time to say that she was lying, but that if she went to the doctor, she relied on the doctor, as the expert, to give her full diagnoses and not to leave out a critical problem that would put her life in danger.

Desired Settlement: A refund and for them to be upfront about issues and not take advantage of their customers.

Business Response:

Response from *** **** ******** ******** at ******** ***** Auto Center in regard to the BBB complaint filed by Ms. ********** ******:

 

Ms. ********** ****** called ******** ***** and stated that her vehicle had stopped running and was located at ******** ******* in Kenosha. I told her that we worked with a local towing service and that I would call them to have the vehicle picked up. I immediately made the call for the tow by ******* ****** *******.  However, for whatever reason, the tow service did not pick up the vehicle that day.

 

The next day Ms. ****** called and informed me that the vehicle had been towed by ******** ******* because it had been left on their property overnight. The vehicle had been brought to a local impound lot. I was able to find out where the vehicle was being kept, however, I was informed that Ms. ****** would have to provide proof of ownership in order to get the vehicle out of the impound. She did provide proof of ownership and paid for impound fees. The vehicle was then towed to our shop. 

 

We initially performed a diagnostic test and determined that the vehicle’s alternator was bad. I contacted Ms. ****** to give her the price of the repair of the alternator, minus the difference of the cost of the impound fees.

 

Ms ****** did ask if the vehicle was worth putting the money into it.  I advised her at that time that I had been unable to drive the vehicle to determine if the engine or transmission were good or not.  I did mention that we were able to do a visual inspection to check all fluid levels, front end parts, brakes and any other components that may cause the vehicle to be unsafe to drive.

 

After this free visual inspection was completed, I advised Ms. ****** that the vehicle’s coolant was found to be low, however we would have to go further to determine why it was low and if there was a leak.  We did see a minimal amount of coolant underneath the vehicle and the hose from the overflow bottle appeared to be leaking. Ms. ****** then advised me that she was aware of a slight coolant leak coming from the head gasket and that it had been leaking for quite some time. I told her that the hose off of the overflow should be replaced and that is was a very inexpensive repair (about $20-$30).  She declined to have us repair it.  We could not see anything else besides the coolant leak that would make the vehicle unsafe to drive.  She had been driving the vehicle for awhile with a slight head gasket leak so she was aware of that leak.

 

Ms ****** gave me permission to go ahead with the repair of the vehicle’s alternator. Once repairs were completed we rechecked the charging system to make sure that the repairs that were performed were good. We then test drove the vehicle to see how the engine and transmission performed.  All tested well during the approximate 3-4 mile test drive we performed.

 

Ms ****** than came and picked up the vehicle (I don’t remember if it was the same day or next day) and drove to Racine (approximately 10-15 miles away), when the vehicle started overheating.  We had not replaced the hose for the overflow bottle, so I told Ms. ****** that I would find her a garage in Racine that would replace the hose for her at my expense. Because of everything that had happened with my tow service, I felt bad about the whole situation. I believed we had done everything we could do for Ms. ******.  The head gasket problem that she had been dealing with prior to us working on it appears to have gotten worse. We had been unable to determine that there would be a problem because we did not go any further into diagnosing the coolant problem, at her request.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Truck estimate and repair. Owner *** stated that I would be charged $64 for diagnostics and said NO repairs would be done until I authorize charges . This was our agreement. *** called me Monday 11/5/2012 and said she has good news. Said all I needed was spark plugs and they installed them. I was relieved to hear it was only spark plugs but didn't authorize the repair. She said "was it ok that we installed them and I replied yes thinking it couldnt cost much. *** said the cost will be $363.24 and we ended the call. I think I was in shock and felt obligated to pay! I went to National Pride and asked *** why so much and she stated the charges. I just gave her my card , paid and left. I got home and looked at the bill which was hard to read due to low ink in printer. I saw a charge of $7.33 for hazardous materials and $18.17 for shop supplies. After seeing these bogus charges and thinking about this entire transaction. I called *** back. I asked what the hazardous materials and shop supplies were and she stated this was a standard charge based on a percentage of the bill.( I kept the old plugs) No reason for the charges. I asked how long it took to change the spark plugs and she said I was billed 1.5 hours. I said I just replaced these plugs recently ( I replaced with the wrong plugs) and I did it in 30 minutes. *** said it took less than 1 hour but this is what the book time is??? So I was charged for 1.5 hours but took less than 1 hour. I told *** if she would have honored our original agreement and told me it was going to cost an additional $280.65 plus tax for just spark plugs I would've said NO to the repairs. I asked for my money back 1 hour after I picked up my truck and she said she couldnt do that but would give me a couple of free oil changes. I stated that I change my own oil and found no value. *** said she would call me back on 11-6-12 but never did. I was misled and really felt stupid paying for this but felt pressured and embarrassed.

Desired Settlement: I want them to refund my $280.65 parts and labor. They can remove their plugs or I can remove them and give them back.

Business Response: November 12,2012
BBB of Wisconsin
***** ** ********** **** ******* ******************
ID *******
RE: Mr. ****** *********'s complaint dated 11/5/12
###-###-####
Mr. ****** ********* scheduled an appointment to diagnose his '03 Chevrolet Silverado
1500 because the vehicle's check engine light was on, was not running well and was
misfiring. He had been trying to repair the vehicle himself and had replaced the spark
plugs, fuel injectors and other ignition parts, however, the vehicle continued to misfire.
We perfonned a diagnostic test. After over an hour of eliminating potential causes, we
diagnosed the problem as the spark plugs he had installed. We had to install new spark
plugs to confmn the other ignition parts Mr. ********* had installed were not wrong or
defective. The new spark plugs did take care of the misfire.
I then called Mr. ********* to let him know what we had done. It was explained to him
that after taking over an hour of diagnostic time, we had narrowed it down to the spark
plugs, however ,ve only charged him for 30 minutes diagnostic time. I gave him the cost
of the repair and he approved the charge. He came in, paid the bill and then left.
MI. ********* called back later that day to inquire about the charges. I to1d him that he
was charged 1.5 hours labor, plus 30 minutes diagnostic time. (This is standard labor
time based on the Mitchell Repair Book for the removal and replacement of the spark
plugs on said vehicle). I also explained to Mr. ********* that the hazardous materials
and shop supplies are standard charges for any repair facility.
My mechanic spent over 2 hours on this vehicle between diagnostic and labor time, but
Mr. ********* was only charged for a total of 2 hours. As consolation, I did offer him 2
free oil changes, but he declined the offer. I then explained I would have to talk to my
husband, who also runs the shop with me, to see if we could do anything more to adjust
any charges. Unfortunately I was very busy and short-handed the next day and neglected
to call him back. The following day we received the letter from the BBB of Wisconsin.
Sincerely,
** *** **** ******** ***** **** ****** ******* *******

Consumer Response: On Mon, Dec 10, 2012 at 5:07 PM, *** ************************* wrote:

Hi *******, I spoke with the owner this morning and explained the complaint to her and she agreed with me that I should've received a call before the repairs were completed. She also agreed to refund $200 of the repair sending me a check this week. I think this is more in align in what I would have been willing to spend for spark plugs. I hope this response satisfies your request.
Thanks again,
*** ********* **********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1