BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in tires (from wheelbarrows to tractors & trucks) & wheels.  Including the services of commercial & national accounts.  Additional repair is offered for domestic & import autos, light trucks, vans & motor homes.  Including diagnostics, lube , oil & filter changes, flat repairs, wheel balancing, custom wheels, transmissions, brakes (ABS/antilock), tune ups, engine analysis (complete overhauls-steam cleaning), starters & alternators, emission testing, exhaust systems, mufflers, catalytic converters, four-wheel alignments, struts & shocks, bearings replaced/repacked, suspension service, rack & pinion steering, heavy duty batteries, power windows, seats & taillights, vehicle air conditioning & heating.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Matthews Tire meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Matthews Tire include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Matthews Tire
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 22, 1999 Business started: 06/01/1959 in WI Business started locally: 06/01/1959 Business incorporated: 09/20/1985 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Trevor Rezner, Owner Ms. Deb Duesing, Controller Mr. Pat Duesing, Operations Advisor Mr. Dave Flunker, Manager-Appleton West Mr. Craig Keberlein, Manager-Menasha Mr. Mike Marshall, Manager-Waupaca Ms. Shayni Mischler, Office Manager Mr. Paul Olson, Manager-Commercial Tire Center Mr. Rick Roesler, Manager-Appleton East Mr. Todd Steffes, Manager-Fond du Lac Mr. Tom Winninghoff, Manager-Green Bay
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Pat Duesing, Operations Advisor
Principal: Mr. Trevor Rezner, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Lubricating Service - Automotive Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Retread & Repair Transmissions - Automobile Truck Repair & Service Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Battery Supplies Bearings Wheels Auto Parts & Supplies - Custom Wheels/Rims Auto - Emissions Testing Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Power Steering Tire Repair Auto Services - Oil & Lube Tires - Commercial Sales & Service Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto - Fleet Maintenance Auto - Fleet Service Heaters - Automotive Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Products & Services

Matthews Tire sells the following brand(s): McPherson, BF Goodrich, Continental, Dunlop, General, Goodyear, Kelly, Michelin, Uniroyal, American Racing, Black Ice Alloys, Boss Motorsports, Cragar, Eagle Alloys, Focal, Helo and Ultra Wheel

Hours of Operation
M: 6:30 AM - 7:00 PM
T: 6:30 AM - 7:00 PM
W: 6:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Th: 6:30 AM - 7:00 PM
F: 6:30 AM - 7:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Service Area
Northeast Wisconsin
Alternate Business Names
Matthews Tire Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • 111 W Union St

    Waupaca, WI 54981 (715) 258-0288

  • 1690 Appleton Rd

    Menasha, WI 54952 (920) 727-9901

  • 2717 S Oneida St

    Green Bay, WI 54304 (920) 498-1458

  • 2930 W College Ave

    Appleton, WI 54914 (920) 734-5701

  • 562 W Johnson St

    Fond Du Lac, WI 54935 (920) 921-6261

  • 600 N Bluemound Dr Ste A

    Appleton, WI 54914 (920) 735-0162

  • W3092 Van Roy Rd

    Appleton, WI 54915 (920) 730-2199

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sales adviser **** . Had explained that my new tires would not fit on my freshly painted rims so he took me back when he pushed the pedal on the machine the machine slipped and scratched and gouged the rim when asked how he was going to fix that. he replied very smart like we'll go next store and spray paint it. I politely asked for all my materials back and left the store. When I got home I called and spoke to **** and explained that I will be taking them back to were I had them painted and asked that if I were charged again would he cover the damages due. He politely agreed and said absoulutely just bring in the receipt ....... it has been 3 mnths now After I my father and wife and the gentlemen at the paint shop have dropped off and sent out letters . Called and are just continuing to get the run around we have had enough. Today I stopped in the location and the manager was out I called back three separate times and was told he's either busy or on a test drive and then finally gone for the day. I simply am asking for what they have already agreed to do but haven't followed thru with witch is pay for the rim to be fixed

Desired Settlement: The invoice I have has an outstanding balance of $220.50 I simply just want to be reimbursed for the damages done to the rim

Business Response: Apparently we had a lapse in communication between our store manager and sales associate. We apologize for the long time to handle this situation. The manager was waiting for a paid receipt and only received an estimate. That estimate only had the customers first name on it and it was for 2 wheels. The manager placed it on the side to ask **** about it.  It must have gotten lost in the shuffle, when it was found we could not remember who it was for due to the lack of complete information.  Yes we did inadvertently scratch one wheel for Mr. Cumber and did agree to pay for the repainting of it.  Please supply us with a paid receipt from the wheel painter for the wheel we damaged  and we will issue payment promptly.  

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 4 tires last summer (actually it was my wife). Since then I have to repeatedly add air to the tires. I took the vehicle in to get the tires repaired at the beginning of this year to get the tires repaired. Within a month the tires were low once again. This was noticed on a trip to Lower Michigan at a small gas station on the Ill/Wis border. This gas station did not have working air for tires therefore I used Fix-a-flat to get to the next station where I could fill the air to proper level. About a week ago the sensors in our car noted low air pressure once again as I was attempting to fill the tire with air the valve was glued to the cap with what appears to be remnants of the fix-a-flat. in the process of removing the cap the valve stem separated at the threads. Because of this I was told that the sensor was ruined and it had to be replaced. I was then charged 90.30 . I believe that I would not have had to replace this sensor if they would have done the job correctly. As it is I still have at least one other tire that is still low but I am afraid to try to add air myself, so therefore I am going to take it to another company to have the tires fixed properly. At which time I will ask for reimbursement of any and all costs to get this corrected the right way.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for the 90.30 and any other costs it takes for me to get these tires properly repaired. I do not wish to have any service from this company ever again other than this settlement

Business Response:

We do not feel that we should be responsible for the $90.30 or any other costs that Mr. ********* is looking for.   Mr. ********* did purchase tires from us on 5/16/12. As stated in his complaint, he supposedly had problems many times.  We never heard anything from the customer until 1/30/13, 8 months and over 10,000 miles later that he had any issues.   Then again we didn’t hear anything until 6/17/13, 5 months later, we do not know how many miles the vehicle had on it as he only brought back the single tire.  Mr.  ********* was told at that time that he needed a new TPMS sensor because he had broken it off and he proceeded to swear at our salesperson.  If these tires were continually a problem from the beginning, our question is why he didn’t come back right away.  Also, when he did come back with a flat tire after 10,000 plus miles why didn’t he say something about the rest of the tires at that time? The *********’s were given all the warranty information as we do with all our customers at time of purchase. We explained the free tire rotation and air pressure checks that we do as a service for our customers. This service is done for a number of reasons, to help keep the customers tires wearing properly and that they are aired up to the manufacturers’ specifications. The *********’s did not come in to have this service done. If when Mr. ********* experienced the low air pressure problem he would have called us or the toll-free 800 number on his warranty information he would have been referred to an authorized repair garage to look at his leaky tire issue or at least given some direction on what to do until he could get to a repair facility. He choose to use the fix-a –flat instead.  As stated on the fix-a-flat can, this is for emergency use and the tire should be taken ASAP to a professional for proper repair.  That apparently was not done.  We cannot be responsible for the customers’ actions of adding fix-a-flat and not taking it to a proper facility to be properly repaired.  We do not feel that with that many miles and that amount of time since the tires were installed that we did anything incorrect to cause this situation. Therefore we will not be refunding any amount to Mr. *********.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

The reason that we did not bring the tires back was because of our work schedule.  My wife had used the last of her free vacation time to get the tires installed.  We did not realize that we needed to save more vacation time to keep bringing the van back to get the tires fixed.  Apparently they had only repaired one tire which I had told them was the biggest problem.  So not only do they have issues with quality, they need to listen better when the customer tells them that I am having issues with all the tires but the one on the drivers front was constantly going flat.  I used fix-a-flat in an emergency.  Apparently the business did not read the complaint thoroughly enough (similar to when I returned the first time WHICH SHOULDNT HAVE HAD TO HAPPEN PERIOD)  but mistakes do happen.  But most businesses will admit to a failure on their part and try to resolve the issue.  Yes I did swear.  When you pay close to 500 dollars for tires and then have to pay and additional 90 and who knows how much more, you do get angry.  Especially when you get an attitude that they did nothing wrong.  Funny the tire that I took back was the same tire that they supposedly repaired.  Unknown to them, I had marked the tires to make sure of the problem tire because I believed then and still do that there was a slipped belt.  Which they told me was going flat because the corrosion wasnt removed properly on the original installation.  The technician at the time swore that it was because it was low that I was getting the wobble in the steering wheel at certain speeds.  (Which through experience with tires with slipped belts before on my parents car and then again with a pickup truck was the exact same type of wobble)  I will get this looked at by another garage, and if it is a faulty tire I will take up that matter in a different scenario. 

Also, wondering how a valve stem could so easily be twisted off, I did some experimenting.  Being a ******* ******* ** * ******* **** I am well experienced in troubleshooting.  I have found and actually recreated a very similar break in almost the exact spot of the valve stem.  I did this by purposely over tightening the valve inside the stem.  This cause excessive pressure on the threads causing them to weaken at that point.  I do not feel that it was intentional or someone over tightening by bad practice, but probably more of just an accident.  But as I stated before, most businesses will try to make it right.  This place did not.  I will not ever go there again, and I have made sure to let my friends and coworkers know of the issues. (Many told me horror stories of other family or friends with similar issues but that is hear say.  I have added that so that maybe, just maybe the owner/managers might learn that they need to do a better job.  Otherwise bigger businesses have failed)

 

Regards,

******* *********

 

 

Business Response:

We feel that the customer did not give us opportunity to resolve the situation prior to him breaking the sensor off.  We stand by our decision not to reimburse Mr. *********. We have very convenient hours and have a customer shuttle to take customers to and from home or work, we also have loaner vehicles should service work take longer than expected. We do not expect people to take vacation time to have their vehicles serviced.  Again, if this situation of continual leaking tires, why did they not contact us until after the sensor had broken off?  Tire pressure monitoring systems are a very good thing for the consumer. But as with any technology there are some drawbacks. We have no idea as to the exact cause of the sensor breaking, but we do know that we did not break it.  We are sorry that Mr. ********* doesn’t feel that we gave them good service but we didn’t know it was a constant problem until we received his request for reimbursement.  We employ some of the best and most knowledgeable people in our industry. We take great pride in the services we perform and our reputation is very important to us. We try as hard as we can to keep every customer happy. Unfortunately we can’t please everyone and this seems to be the story with Mr. *********.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

My response is once again.  I did take the van in to get it fixed.  Not only did I make an appointment and describe that I had multiple tires leaking, although one was a lot more than the others.  I then explained it to the first person that I talked to when I showed up 6 minutes before my scheduled appointment.  over a half hour later I then explained it once more to the technician who was to do the repairs.  With the Technician I explained that I had rotated the tires and I couldnt pinpoint which tires were the most problem other than the one that went low every other day.  HOW MANY TIMES SHOULD I HAVE RETURNED TO THE SHOP TO GET THIS FIXED.  I FEEL TWICE IS MORE THAN ADEQUATE.   Apparently for their business twice is not enough.  I should add that on my appointment I waited over an hour and a half after talking to the technician, which should have been more than enough time to repair/replace all of the tires and probably have lunch also.  On the last business response I was LIVID to find that they did not listen to a word I said all except the one tire especially the amount of time I wasted in their waiting area.

The fact that they did not find damage to the rim or debris in the tire should be more than enough to prove that the install was done incorrectly, The fact that several people there did not listen to me is a huge issue.  In fact it is a Joke the way their service has been.  More like a bad joke.  It is ridiculous that with all the proof that they didnt initially try to overcome the problem rather than charge me FULL PRICE for a part that I wouldnt have needed IF IF IF IF  they had done the service CORRECT the first time.

I was hoping that the BBB would have a little more BITE to investigate companies such as this.  I will be more than willing to give my full cooperation if there would be a REAL investigation.  Otherwise I consider I am at a loss of 90+ dollars and the price it will take to have a reputable shop repair the rest of the tires (YES THEY STILL LEAK)

This will be my last response as I have stated and more than proved that they do not stand by their service.  Consider this to be permanently UNRESOLVED

Regards,

******* *********

 

 

12/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my vehicle in for an alignment. The service center called me to inform me at 10:30am that I needed to have my lower ball joints replaced. I proceeded to tell them that I wanted a price on the parts first. They then said they didn't know because they needed to mark up the parts first, unless I wanted to get the parts in which they would just install them. So I left work to go and get them the necessary parts. I get down to their shop with the parts at 11:00am and the tech informs me it takes 4-5 hours to install the ball joints. I said are you serious? He said yes. I said well then forget it I will take it somewhere else to be repaired. He then says well we already have it apart. So I say fine go ahead and do it. Then I receive a phone call at 2:00pm saying my truck is done. I arrive there and I ask the tech how long the alignment takes. He says 45min. So they had my truck for a total of 3.5 hours of which 45min was an alignment so we will say 30 min to benefit the service center. So that then leaves a total of 3 hours for doing the ball joint repairs. What do I get charged? 4.6 hours of labor at $89 an hour. Now this seems a little excessive to me. I ask the tech how do you justify charging this much? He says that's what it is. I said but you only had my truck for 3 hours. He said I'm sorry but that is what the computer says. I said your company is taking advantage of people and I am never coming back here again.

Desired Settlement: refund of my 1.6 hours of labor I was excessively overcharged for a total of $142.40 plus tax.

Business Response: We have a different view of what transpired that day. Our ******* ******* responded as follows:  


***** **** came in for an alignment on 11/12.  **** found both lower ball joints to be worn out.  I called the customer and he said that they were a lifetime warranty part through ****.  He asked if we could take care of the warranty for him and I explained that since we didn't have the receipt from the original purchase, we couldn't warranty the parts for him.  He asked if we could get parts from **** and I explained that I would need to call and get prices on them, but if he wanted to bring us the parts, we would install his ball joints so he could turn the old ones in for warranty.  He said it was ok to do it and that he would drop off the ball joints in a little while.

I had **** start to take the vehicle apart since he said it was ok to do the repair.  ***** dropped off the ball joints and I went over the cost of the job and estimated time that it would be done.  I even turned my computer monitor around to show him exactly what the labor guide had said for a time and cost estimate.  He then said not to do it, but I explained that the tech already had part of the vehicle disassembled.  I offered to either put it back together with the bad ball joint, or just replace the one side for him since we only had one side apart and he then said to just do it.  I asked for clarification if he wanted to do just one or both and he said to do both once again and then walked out the door.

 

I was not at the sales counter when he picked the vehicle up so I did not hear any of the conversation then.

***** ******
******* *******

We did not overcharge the customer.  The customer was given options and authorized the amount and repairs. Just because our technician finished the job faster than expected doesn't mean we owe him a refund. Sometimes we quote a price and it takes longer than expected and we still honor the quoted price.  We did not do anything wrong and fixed the customers vehicle according to his quoted and authorized price.  Therefore we will not refund anything.

Thank you.