Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in tires (from wheelbarrows to tractors & trucks) & wheels.  Including the services of commercial & national accounts.  Additional repair is offered for domestic & import autos, light trucks, vans & motor homes.  Including diagnostics, lube , oil & filter changes, flat repairs, wheel balancing, custom wheels, transmissions, brakes (ABS/antilock), tune ups, engine analysis (complete overhauls-steam cleaning), starters & alternators, emission testing, exhaust systems, mufflers, catalytic converters, four-wheel alignments, struts & shocks, bearings replaced/repacked, suspension service, rack & pinion steering, heavy duty batteries, power windows, seats & taillights, vehicle air conditioning & heating.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Matthews Tire meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Matthews Tire include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Matthews Tire
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 22, 1999 Business started: 06/01/1959 in WI Business started locally: 06/01/1959 Business incorporated 09/20/1985 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Trevor Rezner, Owner Ms. Deb Duesing, Controller Mr. Pat Duesing, Operations Advisor Mr. Dave Flunker, Manager-Appleton West Mr. Craig Keberlein, Manager-Menasha Mr. Mike Marshall, Manager-Waupaca Ms. Shayni Mischler, Office Manager Mr. Paul Olson, Manager-Commercial Tire Center Mr. Rick Roesler, Manager-Appleton East Mr. Todd Steffes, Manager-Fond du Lac Mr. Tom Winninghoff, Manager-Green Bay
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Pat Duesing, Operations Advisor
Principal: Mr. Trevor Rezner, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Lubricating Service - Automotive Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Retread & Repair Transmissions - Automobile Truck Repair & Service Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Battery Supplies Bearings Wheels Auto Parts & Supplies - Custom Wheels/Rims Auto - Emissions Testing Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Power Steering Tire Repair Auto Services - Oil & Lube Tires - Commercial Sales & Service Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto - Fleet Maintenance Auto - Fleet Service Heaters - Automotive Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Products & Services

Matthews Tire sells the following brand(s): McPherson, BF Goodrich, Continental, Dunlop, General, Goodyear, Kelly, Michelin, Uniroyal, American Racing, Black Ice Alloys, Boss Motorsports, Cragar, Eagle Alloys, Focal, Helo and Ultra Wheel

Hours of Operation
M: 6:30 AM - 7:00 PM
T: 6:30 AM - 7:00 PM
W: 6:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Th: 6:30 AM - 7:00 PM
F: 6:30 AM - 7:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Service Area
Northeast Wisconsin
Alternate Business Names
Matthews Tire Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • 111 W Union St

    Waupaca, WI 54981 (715) 258-0288

  • 1690 Appleton Rd

    Menasha, WI 54952 (920) 727-9901

  • 2717 S Oneida St

    Green Bay, WI 54304 (920) 498-1458

  • 2930 W College Ave

    Appleton, WI 54914 (920) 734-5701

  • 562 W Johnson St

    Fond Du Lac, WI 54935 (920) 921-6261

  • 600 N Bluemound Dr Ste A

    Appleton, WI 54914 (920) 735-0162

  • W3092 Van Roy Rd

    Appleton, WI 54915 (920) 730-2199

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased 4 new tires in January for my Ford Taurus. Installer damaged all 4 wheels scuffing and scratching the paint. 1 wheel the paint was gouged all the way down to metal. Called **** at the store and he had me bring vehicle in to look at the damage. He acknowledged damage and only offered a $10.00 touch up paint and to paint wheel if I took it off the vehicle and dropped it off. He also offered no apology for the damage to my wheels which had no scratches prior to the tire installation.

Desired Settlement: I feel Mathews should replace the wheel with the gouged paint to the metal.

Business Response:

Hello ****

  This is **** from Matthews Tire, I can replace your wheel but I need to see it, to order the correct style. Please call or send me an email so we can set a time.

 

 

**** *******

Matthews Tire Fond du Lac

###-###-####

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,
***** *****

3/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sales adviser **** . Had explained that my new tires would not fit on my freshly painted rims so he took me back when he pushed the pedal on the machine the machine slipped and scratched and gouged the rim when asked how he was going to fix that. he replied very smart like we'll go next store and spray paint it. I politely asked for all my materials back and left the store. When I got home I called and spoke to **** and explained that I will be taking them back to were I had them painted and asked that if I were charged again would he cover the damages due. He politely agreed and said absoulutely just bring in the receipt ....... it has been 3 mnths now After I my father and wife and the gentlemen at the paint shop have dropped off and sent out letters . Called and are just continuing to get the run around we have had enough. Today I stopped in the location and the manager was out I called back three separate times and was told he's either busy or on a test drive and then finally gone for the day. I simply am asking for what they have already agreed to do but haven't followed thru with witch is pay for the rim to be fixed

Desired Settlement: The invoice I have has an outstanding balance of $220.50 I simply just want to be reimbursed for the damages done to the rim

Business Response: Apparently we had a lapse in communication between our store manager and sales associate. We apologize for the long time to handle this situation. The manager was waiting for a paid receipt and only received an estimate. That estimate only had the customers first name on it and it was for 2 wheels. The manager placed it on the side to ask **** about it.  It must have gotten lost in the shuffle, when it was found we could not remember who it was for due to the lack of complete information.  Yes we did inadvertently scratch one wheel for Mr. Cumber and did agree to pay for the repainting of it.  Please supply us with a paid receipt from the wheel painter for the wheel we damaged  and we will issue payment promptly.  

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 4 tires last summer (actually it was my wife). Since then I have to repeatedly add air to the tires. I took the vehicle in to get the tires repaired at the beginning of this year to get the tires repaired. Within a month the tires were low once again. This was noticed on a trip to Lower Michigan at a small gas station on the Ill/Wis border. This gas station did not have working air for tires therefore I used Fix-a-flat to get to the next station where I could fill the air to proper level. About a week ago the sensors in our car noted low air pressure once again as I was attempting to fill the tire with air the valve was glued to the cap with what appears to be remnants of the fix-a-flat. in the process of removing the cap the valve stem separated at the threads. Because of this I was told that the sensor was ruined and it had to be replaced. I was then charged 90.30 . I believe that I would not have had to replace this sensor if they would have done the job correctly. As it is I still have at least one other tire that is still low but I am afraid to try to add air myself, so therefore I am going to take it to another company to have the tires fixed properly. At which time I will ask for reimbursement of any and all costs to get this corrected the right way.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for the 90.30 and any other costs it takes for me to get these tires properly repaired. I do not wish to have any service from this company ever again other than this settlement

Business Response:

We do not feel that we should be responsible for the $90.30 or any other costs that Mr. ********* is looking for.   Mr. ********* did purchase tires from us on 5/16/12. As stated in his complaint, he supposedly had problems many times.  We never heard anything from the customer until 1/30/13, 8 months and over 10,000 miles later that he had any issues.   Then again we didn’t hear anything until 6/17/13, 5 months later, we do not know how many miles the vehicle had on it as he only brought back the single tire.  Mr.  ********* was told at that time that he needed a new TPMS sensor because he had broken it off and he proceeded to swear at our salesperson.  If these tires were continually a problem from the beginning, our question is why he didn’t come back right away.  Also, when he did come back with a flat tire after 10,000 plus miles why didn’t he say something about the rest of the tires at that time? The *********’s were given all the warranty information as we do with all our customers at time of purchase. We explained the free tire rotation and air pressure checks that we do as a service for our customers. This service is done for a number of reasons, to help keep the customers tires wearing properly and that they are aired up to the manufacturers’ specifications. The *********’s did not come in to have this service done. If when Mr. ********* experienced the low air pressure problem he would have called us or the toll-free 800 number on his warranty information he would have been referred to an authorized repair garage to look at his leaky tire issue or at least given some direction on what to do until he could get to a repair facility. He choose to use the fix-a –flat instead.  As stated on the fix-a-flat can, this is for emergency use and the tire should be taken ASAP to a professional for proper repair.  That apparently was not done.  We cannot be responsible for the customers’ actions of adding fix-a-flat and not taking it to a proper facility to be properly repaired.  We do not feel that with that many miles and that amount of time since the tires were installed that we did anything incorrect to cause this situation. Therefore we will not be refunding any amount to Mr. *********.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

The reason that we did not bring the tires back was because of our work schedule.  My wife had used the last of her free vacation time to get the tires installed.  We did not realize that we needed to save more vacation time to keep bringing the van back to get the tires fixed.  Apparently they had only repaired one tire which I had told them was the biggest problem.  So not only do they have issues with quality, they need to listen better when the customer tells them that I am having issues with all the tires but the one on the drivers front was constantly going flat.  I used fix-a-flat in an emergency.  Apparently the business did not read the complaint thoroughly enough (similar to when I returned the first time WHICH SHOULDNT HAVE HAD TO HAPPEN PERIOD)  but mistakes do happen.  But most businesses will admit to a failure on their part and try to resolve the issue.  Yes I did swear.  When you pay close to 500 dollars for tires and then have to pay and additional 90 and who knows how much more, you do get angry.  Especially when you get an attitude that they did nothing wrong.  Funny the tire that I took back was the same tire that they supposedly repaired.  Unknown to them, I had marked the tires to make sure of the problem tire because I believed then and still do that there was a slipped belt.  Which they told me was going flat because the corrosion wasnt removed properly on the original installation.  The technician at the time swore that it was because it was low that I was getting the wobble in the steering wheel at certain speeds.  (Which through experience with tires with slipped belts before on my parents car and then again with a pickup truck was the exact same type of wobble)  I will get this looked at by another garage, and if it is a faulty tire I will take up that matter in a different scenario. 

Also, wondering how a valve stem could so easily be twisted off, I did some experimenting.  Being a ******* ******* ** * ******* **** I am well experienced in troubleshooting.  I have found and actually recreated a very similar break in almost the exact spot of the valve stem.  I did this by purposely over tightening the valve inside the stem.  This cause excessive pressure on the threads causing them to weaken at that point.  I do not feel that it was intentional or someone over tightening by bad practice, but probably more of just an accident.  But as I stated before, most businesses will try to make it right.  This place did not.  I will not ever go there again, and I have made sure to let my friends and coworkers know of the issues. (Many told me horror stories of other family or friends with similar issues but that is hear say.  I have added that so that maybe, just maybe the owner/managers might learn that they need to do a better job.  Otherwise bigger businesses have failed)

 

Regards,

******* *********

 

 

Business Response:

We feel that the customer did not give us opportunity to resolve the situation prior to him breaking the sensor off.  We stand by our decision not to reimburse Mr. *********. We have very convenient hours and have a customer shuttle to take customers to and from home or work, we also have loaner vehicles should service work take longer than expected. We do not expect people to take vacation time to have their vehicles serviced.  Again, if this situation of continual leaking tires, why did they not contact us until after the sensor had broken off?  Tire pressure monitoring systems are a very good thing for the consumer. But as with any technology there are some drawbacks. We have no idea as to the exact cause of the sensor breaking, but we do know that we did not break it.  We are sorry that Mr. ********* doesn’t feel that we gave them good service but we didn’t know it was a constant problem until we received his request for reimbursement.  We employ some of the best and most knowledgeable people in our industry. We take great pride in the services we perform and our reputation is very important to us. We try as hard as we can to keep every customer happy. Unfortunately we can’t please everyone and this seems to be the story with Mr. *********.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

My response is once again.  I did take the van in to get it fixed.  Not only did I make an appointment and describe that I had multiple tires leaking, although one was a lot more than the others.  I then explained it to the first person that I talked to when I showed up 6 minutes before my scheduled appointment.  over a half hour later I then explained it once more to the technician who was to do the repairs.  With the Technician I explained that I had rotated the tires and I couldnt pinpoint which tires were the most problem other than the one that went low every other day.  HOW MANY TIMES SHOULD I HAVE RETURNED TO THE SHOP TO GET THIS FIXED.  I FEEL TWICE IS MORE THAN ADEQUATE.   Apparently for their business twice is not enough.  I should add that on my appointment I waited over an hour and a half after talking to the technician, which should have been more than enough time to repair/replace all of the tires and probably have lunch also.  On the last business response I was LIVID to find that they did not listen to a word I said all except the one tire especially the amount of time I wasted in their waiting area.

The fact that they did not find damage to the rim or debris in the tire should be more than enough to prove that the install was done incorrectly, The fact that several people there did not listen to me is a huge issue.  In fact it is a Joke the way their service has been.  More like a bad joke.  It is ridiculous that with all the proof that they didnt initially try to overcome the problem rather than charge me FULL PRICE for a part that I wouldnt have needed IF IF IF IF  they had done the service CORRECT the first time.

I was hoping that the BBB would have a little more BITE to investigate companies such as this.  I will be more than willing to give my full cooperation if there would be a REAL investigation.  Otherwise I consider I am at a loss of 90+ dollars and the price it will take to have a reputable shop repair the rest of the tires (YES THEY STILL LEAK)

This will be my last response as I have stated and more than proved that they do not stand by their service.  Consider this to be permanently UNRESOLVED

Regards,

******* *********

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Matthews Tire
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)