Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Black Forest, LLC

Phone: (414) 228-4899 Fax: (414) 228-0863 2900 W Vera Ave, Glendale, WI 53209 http://www.blackforestllc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm offers pre-purchase inspections, restoration, maintenance and parts including, soft tops and tires for Mercedes Benz automobiles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Black Forest, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Black Forest, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Black Forest, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 06, 2004 Business started: 07/22/2000 in WI Business started locally: 07/22/2000 Business incorporated 05/30/2003 in WI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael D. McKinney, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael D. McKinney, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Seat Covers, Tops & Upholstery Auto Services Auto Parts & Supplies - New General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Additional Information

This company was formerly known as Black Forest Benz, L L C.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • 2900 W Vera Ave

    Glendale, WI 53209 (414) 228-4899

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased parts and service to have brake pads and brake disc replaced which include a brake fluid bleed on my vehicle with this company on February 3 2015. My total was $630.50 before tax. not even 24 hours after having this brake service done the brake progressively began to squeel louder upon braking. I call the company and left a message with ****** to have ***** contact me regarding this issue. I set up an appointment and within a week I took my car back into the company who serviced the brakes and informed me if the problem persists to contact them right away. 2 days later I called again and left a message for *** ***** because the noise only stopped for a couple days. *** *****, *******, indicated that because of the cold weather I may have to drive my car a few hundred miles and apply pressure on the brakes especially at high speeds such as exiting the freeway in order to get the brakes warmed up and that should eliminate the noise. It has been 3 weeks and the noise sounds like it was before I took it in for service. On Friday March 6, 2015 I placed another call to Black Forest and spoke to ***** the technician who did my re-service. I asked him for the manufacture name of the brakes I received. He provided it. I notified him of my last phone call with their office. He indicated that phone call had been between myself and *** ***** *****. I asked him to leave a message for him again for me because I would like to know if they checked the warranty on the parts and what is going to be done to fix this problem, why I have to continue to bring my car to them for repeat service for brand new parts and that this is a safety issue at this point because I feel a difference in the braking and pad wear so something must be wrong since their last solution did not get rid of the loud squeeling noise.-

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my service charges because to date *** ***** or his staff have not offered to replace and redo the brake service. My brakes are now warn more than they should be after having put on a couple hundred miles on them. I believe this is a safety issue and it is not a concern or priority for Black Forest to have this issue fixed.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the complaint from Ms. *******.
Unfortunately what she says and what is the truth are two entirely different things.
She picked up the car on 2/4/15.
She called us back on 2/6/15 letting us know she heard brake noise.
We scheduled her for the very next business day on 2/9/15 to look at the brakes while she waited.
Ms. ******* did not show up for this appointment nor did she call.
The next time we heard from her was on 2/16/15.
At this time she spoke to me.
She indicated that another shop told her we did not replace the upper ball joints, so she wanted all her money back for her invoice (INV #12240 attached) totaling $1306.78.
I explained to her that she had declined the upper ball joints because she said she was going to sell the car.
Ms. ******* then said oh, were fine then on that, just give me my money back on the brakes.
I said if there is a warranty issue with any of the brake work that we did, that it would be fully covered.
She did not seem satisfied with this.
I scheduled her for the very next day to look at this issue.
Ms. ******* arrived on 2/17/15 and we inspected the brakes.
We noted that the front pads were glazed and proceeded to de-glaze the pads and rotors under warranty at no charge.
When we test drove the car we did not hear any noise after this work.
A few days later she said the noise came back.
I explained the situation related to bedding in the brakes as she noted and the possible issue with cold weather.
I suggested she drive the car for a couple hundred miles and report back.
She called back approx 2 weeks later and was upset saying the brakes now do not stop the same and make more noise.
She was scheduled the following day on 3/11/15.
We test drove the vehicle with her in the car and neither she nor ***** (service tech) could hear any noise coming from the brakes. (See attached INV *****)
It was also confirmed that the braking operation was normal.
(She was also reminded of the brake warning light still on that she had previously declined to have repaired)
During all of the contact with this customer she made it clear she really just wants a free brake job and does not care about the safety of her car. (See inspections notes on invoices attached)
We completely understood the possibility of brake noise and addressed it within 24 hours once she actually showed up for the appointment.
In between the time that we have done this work she has submitted this claim which again just asks for money back, not actually addressing the fact that the brakes are not making noise.
In addition to this, she has discussed the option of sending the brake pads in for warranty if they continue to make noise some time in the future. ***** indicated he would work with her on this if the problem came back.
So given this history and where we stand today, I'm not sure how we could more thoroughly address this concern which by her own admission has been resolved.

Business Response:

Since the time that we last addressed this client concern, we have heard nothing back from the client.
As clearly indicated in my last response and on the last invoice attached, she test drove the car with our technician, and neither could find any fault or concern with the brake work we did.
In addition, she discussed with the technician what would be the next step in replacing the pads if the issue in fact did come back.
I indicated in my response to you that we would most certainly work with her to resolve the issue in this manner if it returned.
To be clear:
-Her BBB complaint was filed before she had us inspect the vehicle the 2nd time.
-Since the complaint was filed we looked at the vehicle and did not hear back with further issue.
I find from her second response that she has chosen to have work done on the car at another shop.
This is completely her right to do so. The issue comes down to warranty on the work we did being covered by our shop only.
This is standard in the industry, and pretty much standard in business.
We have proven that we addressed her concerns within 24 hours each time. (2 visits whereby the 2nd visit proved no issues)
We clearly noted the inspection work done, and on the last invoice made certain while the client was here that the concern was not present.
The logical step for resolution in this matter would have been to respond back to us if the problem came back.
Whether the client is male or female is irrelevant and baseless. 
The fact that she has chosen to do additional work on the car since her visit to us is irrelevant as well.
The fact that she had this work done by Matt's is somewhat of interest though, as this was the shop she complained to us about before coming to us in the first place. She indicated that they were unable to fix the brake warning light she had in the dash. 
In conclusion, if she would have continued to have issues with the front brake pads the next step would have been to replace the pads.
This conversation was noted in her invoice as previously attached.
We had not heard back from her since that visit. (Her BBB complaint was filed before the visit of which we were unaware)
At no time did we refuse to inspect the vehicle free of charge and under warranty.
By having work done by another shop and not giving us reasonable notice, the client has in effect waived the right to have warranty work done by us.

Consumer Response:

The warranty was obviously an issue once I came in the 2nd time to have the vehicle looked at.  I was never offered to by the company to replace the parts under warranty to help remedy the problem (before or after the second time I brought the car in)  I told them repeatedly that the noise is mostly intermittent and obviously they sometimes could hear the noise when I brought it in but the final time it was 8am and the car hadn't been driven so there was no noise.  When it came back I called and spoke to ***** that same day to notify them immediately and I took they initiative to call the manufacturer.  On that same afternoon ***** left a message for *** ***** to call me back to check on the warranty and he provided me with the part number and brand name for the parts I paid for.  From that date, I have received no additional calls from them and I had been waiting more than a week before I then took my car to have it serviced elsewhere.

I can be noted the continuous dates of their invoices and the emails of phone calls to manufacturer that I clearly was still having the issue after the 2nd inspection done by this company.

 

I am glad I filed the complaint when I did because apparently the trend of not responding or taking the steps necessary to contact the manufacture for warranty replacement was obviously up to me because Black Forest not one time contact the manufacturer to replace the warrantied parts.

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******** *******

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Black Forest, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)