Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Calumet Auto Parts?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers used auto and small truck parts, engine and transmission installation and radiator installation and repair.  We install many of the parts that we sell.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Calumet Auto Parts meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Calumet Auto Parts include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Calumet Auto Parts
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1980 Business started: 05/01/1975 in WI Business started locally: 05/01/1975 Business incorporated: 03/28/1977 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Claudio Pelc, President Ms. Sheryl Pelc, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Claudio Pelc, President
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt Wheels Auto Salvage Yards Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Radios & Stereos - Sales & Repair Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Motor Vehicle Supplies and New Parts Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423120)

Products & Services

Calumet Auto Parts sells the following brand(s): All makes and models, foreign and domestic.

Calumet Auto Parts offers the following product(s): Used auto and light truck parts.

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, American Express, Master-Card, Visa.  Sorry, no personal checks accepted.
Refund and Exchange Policy
Calumet Auto Parts warrants the parts for 90 days from the date of purchase to be functional and serviceable.  If the part is found to be defective within the warranty period, Calumet Auto Parts shall, at its discretion, repair, replace or refund up to, but not exceeding the original purchase price.  Any non-defective part returned for whatever reason will be assessed a minimum of 25% handling fee, plus reasonable labor charges.  No refunds after 7 days from the date of purchase unless a replacement is not available.  No refunds on special order parts.
Alternate Business Names
Calumet Auto Salvage, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Calumet Auto Parts has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8501 W Calumet Rd

    Milwaukee, WI 53224 (414) 355-2222 (800) 215-6500

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 215-6500(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Calumet Auto Parts on November 7th,2014 and asked about a driver side mirror, so after me giving information about the car I was told the price and the only two colors they had were gray and burgundy; I said great I need the burgundy one so there's no need for me to get it painted because the car is burgundy. I went to Calumet Auto Parts and spoke to the guy at the counter and we repeated the same process as we did over the phone a few hours early, so I paid for the part in full and the guy at the counter told me it would be here in about two days. I got a call from Calumet Auto Parts on Monday November 10th,2014 and was told my part was in, I told him I would be there tomorrow to pick it up. Tuesday November 11,2014 I went to Calumet Auto Parts to pick up the part, I was given a gray part not burgundy, like I paid for. I told the guy behind the counter this is not right the part its gray not burgundy, he told me it is the right part just not the color I wanted, and it would still fit on the car I needed it for. I gave me my invoice and showed him that it stated burgundy; I was told if I didn't want the gray part I would have to pay a restocking fee of 25%. We went back and front about why I needed to pay a restocking fee for something they screwed up on. In the end was told that the part would still fit on the car even if the color don't match and if I don't want it I would be given a refund less the 25% restocking fee. So I didn't get the part I paid for and they still charged me the restocking fee of 25% from the $205.92 that I paid them for a part, that I didn't get because they screwed up. So I paid them $51.48 to waste my time, because that's what they charged me for in restocking fees.

Desired Settlement: I want the 25% of the $205.92 that I was charged in restocking fees refunded back to me, which was $51.48.

Business Response:

On Monday, November 17, 2014, I spoke with ****** and I heard his complaint.  I agreed with him and offered him a full refund.  ****** came into our business today, Tuesday, November 18th and received the balance of his refund.

******* ****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** *****

 

 

 

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: No refund policy was given. However, the person who sold the product stated that an item purchased cost $63.00. The item was an outside view mirror. The item purchased was, also, a used auto part. Upon return of the item purchased the refund amount was $39.63. The merchant charged a 25% restocking fee + 10.00 to ship back to the vendor. (note the item was picked up the next day). However, this policy was not stated at the time of the purchase. This policy was not provided stated before the purchase of the item. If it had I would have gone some where else for the item.

Desired Settlement: The merchant should have provided the actual purchase price. If extra fees were expected because of what was stated above, it should have been indicated to me prior to the completion of the transaction.

Business Response:

Mr. ******** came to Calumet Auto on Thursday, August 21, 2014 at 8:45AM.  He requested a mirror for a 1997 Saturn, and he wanted a black one.  We did not have the mirror that he wanted in stock, but we offered him that we could special order one in from another salvage yard for $60 plus tax, and we could have it here by the next day, Friday.   At this time, Mr. ******** agreed to purchase the mirror and paid a $30 deposit. He received a receipt for the deposit on our invoice number ******. 

After the mirror arrived at our yard, Mr ******** picked up the mirror and paid the balance due of $33.36.  This happened on Friday at approximately 9:15AM and he received another receipt for the balance paid.  On Tuesday, August 26, 2014, Mr. ******** came back with the mirror and he said that he wanted to return it because he had purchased a different mirror.

Mr. ******** had a copy of our terms and conditions in his possession for over 24 hours when he picked up the mirror.   In the front of the receipts, in large bold letters, it states "PLEASE SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR TERMS & CONDITIONS".  Under the Terms and Conditions, item #2 it states: "No refunds on special order parts."  According to the Terms and Conditions we did not have to refund any portion of the price.  However, as a service to Mr. ********, and as a gesture of goodwill we accepted the mirror back, but we assessed a 25% for handling and labor charges, plus $10 for shipping the mirror both ways.  All very fair and reasonable costs.

We provided Mr. ******** the exact part that he requested at the agreed price in the time frame promissed.  Sometime, after he picked up the mirror he changed his mind.  I feel that charging him $11.62 for labor plus $10 for freight is just and fair.