Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

MOFOCO Enterprises, Inc.

Phone: (414) 963-1020 Fax: (414) 963-2045 View Additional Phone Numbers 4170 N Lydell Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53212 http://www.mofoco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto parts, auto supplies along with automotive parts manufacturing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that MOFOCO Enterprises, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for MOFOCO Enterprises, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on MOFOCO Enterprises, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1972 Business started: 01/01/1970 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1970 Business incorporated 04/17/1973 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Randall Henning, Owner Mr. Roy Henning, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randall Henning, Owner
Principal: Mr. Roy Henning, Owner
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Machine Shops Auto Parts & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers Auto Parts & Supplies - Rebuilt Automotive Parts and Accessories Stores (NAICS: 441310)

Alternate Business Names
Mofoco Import Auto Parts

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

MOFOCO Enterprises, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4170 N Lydell Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53212 (800) 558-8955 (414) 963-1020

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/31/2015 Delivery Issues
11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a motor from MOFOCO last November (2013). When the motor was delivered, there were several issues I had; it has taken from June, 2014 (when the motor was received) to now, and I am still waiting on the resolution of one of the issues: I ordered an electronic ignition to go with the motor. When my mechanic installed the ignition, it did not work. He called MOFOCO, and they argued with him, saying that he had probably installed it incorrectly and burned it out. I contacted MOFOCO, and after they said they thought my mechanic was at fault, they offered to test the ignition if I sent it back to them; they said they could determine whether the ignition was bad "out of the box" or if my mechanic had installed it incorrectly and burned it out. I returned the ignition to MOFOCO, and waited for nearly 2 months. No word from MOFOCO. When I contacted them, they told me that I should have sent the entire distributor back to them so they could test it. I told them that the distributor is in my car (!) and I couldn't send it to them; and that I couldn't believe they don't have a distributor cap and rotor they can use to test the ignition. No response. About a week ago, I heard from MOFOCO that they would get a cap and rotor (at their expense) and test the ignition; they would let me know by this past Monday what they found (Monday, Sept. 15). No word from MOFOCO Monday, Sept. 15. I emailed them, and the excuse is that it won't be tested until "the guys" in the shop test it; there's nothing the owner can do to hurry that up. I am still waiting to hear.

Desired Settlement: MOFOCO refunds the nearly $70.00 I paid for the ignition so that I can purchase a new one from the manufacturer; or they return it to CompuFire under warranty for replacement.

Business Response: Ms ******** sent an incomplete part back to be tested.  As the problem could be with her distributor cap or rotor, there is no way to accurately test the unit she sent.  If she would kindly send the other parts, I would be more than happy to test them.

Consumer Response: On Mon, Oct 6, 2014 at 4:36 PM, ***** ******** ************************* wrote:

Regarding the above no.'d complaint, I emailed the company to ask that they just return the part I sent to them.  The co. emailed me to say that they tested the part that very day, and they found that the part is burned out due to improper install.
I do not believe that the company did indeed test it, and am now waiting for the returned part. I think the company's efforts to resolve this matter have been totally BOGUS.  I will contact you again if they do not return the part as I requested (they gave me a USPS tracking no., but I have as yet not received the part).
***** ********

10/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back on May 21 I completed payment on purchase of a "Streetwise 1776ccPS(MFC-BE1776PS). Amount $3074.00. The Website states that it would take a minimum of eight weeks for completion of this product. So at the ten week period from the original May 21 date I called and got no logical estimated date of delivery or updated status from the Parts person that had went to check on the status for me. Two weeks later at the 10 week period I sent off an email to MOFOCO and got no response. So I went to MOFOCO Facebook Page where I posted my concern about my lack of product or status. Which was responded to but not with any definite date on delivery. I called and spoke with a Gentlemen that was more aware of the engine building process. He explained that they had a small operation and certain procedures that at times took longer than other times. Lack of building materials which would delay production. I then explained to him how I felt the Customer should be kept up to speed with the status of these things considering the amount of money that is involved in the purchase of these products. Also my concern in Warranty handling since the company didn't appear to be very responsive to the Customer base. I was assured that I would be quite satisfied with my engine if I could be a little more patient. Well that brings us to present date week (13) no Engine(Longblock) and I once again have contacted the MOFOCO Parts person to speak with the Manager for a Refund since I have no Engine or Faith in this company any longer. I was told that he was in a meeting and would call me back if I would leave my name & number; so I did that and then some leaving my Order number (25151) and Amount of requested refund ($3074.00). An hour and a half later I still have no response. Both the length of time and lack of responsiveness from this company have left me with no confidence in this company and couple that with the fact that I am in *** ****** and they are in the Midwest; I would like a refund and move on with this task. I want a REFUND of my $3074.00 which was taken with a Visa in two payments back on 20, 21 May 2014. Thank You for your assistance

Desired Settlement: A prompt refund of my $3074.00

Business Response: Mr. ******** engine has been shipped out. I have spoken with Mr. ******** and he recieved a refund for the shipping expense and his warranty has been extended to 18 months as compensation for the extra time it took to complete his engine.

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a rebuilt cylinder head from MOFOCO in October 2013. This part was finally shipped in December 2013 (4 weeks after I was told that it shipped). The part arrived, missing pieces. I contacted the company, and they told me that another part would be mailed. After two weeks, I still had not received the missing piece, so I called back. The company continued giving me the run around and refused to correct the problem. The part ordered was also incorrectly assembled, missing a cylinder head temperature hole. I was told to simply reverse the parts, but no remedy was provided by the company. Now, in June 2014, I have removed the part due other engine issues, only to discover that the part is cracked and now unusable. I took the part to an experienced machinist who specifically named improper rebuilding as the cause of the failure. Mofoco naturally blames my installation of the product as the problem. More important than the damaged item is the way in which *** ***** of Mofoco handled my issue. I was cursed at, screamed at, and accused of incompetency over the phone and in email. I have never dealt with a more disrespectful individual than Roy Henning, *** ***** of this company. His parts are defective, his skill questionable, and his business attitude abysmal.

Desired Settlement: Primarily, I would Mofoco to offer a good product. I am still out the $300 I wasted purchasing an inferior product from them, but I have ordered from a different manufacturer. I do think that Mofoco could easily have avoided this and other issues simply by attending anger management classes or counseling to work through their deep-seated issues.

Business Response: Mr ****** is a **** ****** ******* who admitted that he knows nothing about cars and that this is his first VW.  I have been building engines for 23 years with my first build coming when I was ** years old.  Mofoco is the only manufacturer of volkswagen aircooled cylinder heads completely in the United States.  The part that Mr ****** ordered and recieved was a rebuilt cylinder head that was manufactured in Germany in 1979.  There is nothing that a head rebuilder can do or not do to either cause or prevent the head from cracking.  The damage can only be caused by improper installation OR another part can fail and then cause the head to fail.  He sent me a picture of the head and the evidence is clear in the picture that this was the case.  The heads of the valves are white which indicates a lean condition, overheating or a vacuum leak.  After this was explained to Mr ****** he continued to have no reason other than "someone told him" or "I read on the internet" that it must be my fault.   After he was told all of the things that could happen, he continued to insist that it's my fault, I don't know what I'm doing and I make a bad product.  He then proceeded to begin name calling and insulting me.  I raised my voice in anger but never used an profane language.  This customer is just someone who wants to blame others instead of taking responsibility.  The car he is working on is 35 years old and sometimes things just break.  Since there was nothing I could have done to either prevent or cause this failure, a warranty does not apply.

Business Response: Cool, glad I got another chance to respond.  I didn't notice right away that the customer admits that the engine was taken apart due to "other problems" and this crack was discovered.  This was never communicated to me and there is a reason why.  I explained that this failure was due to something else in the engine failing or not being tuned correctly.  He assured me that "everything was done perfectly by a professional VW mechanic."  My question is, if he has a professional mechanic at his disposal, why is he ordering parts over the internet?  The simple answer is that this mechanic does not have the experience or skills necessary to rebuild a cylinder head.  It's always easier to blame someone 1000 miles away rather than question the person in front of you.   As to the customers last bit of information about timeserts falling out, that is a direct result of the engine overheating.  That is a CAUSE, not an EFFECT.  Any other expert in the VW cylinder head community can confirm this.  In light of this new information, I am even more convinced that something else in the engine caused this failure.  If it is not corrected, the next set of heads will fail as well.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Mofoco has set a pattern of poor workmanship, and this mechanic continues to downgrade the ability of others in order to save his own reputation. The facts are as follows:  the head was missing parts when delivered.  The timeserts were not secured.  There is now a crack in the head, whicha may or may not have been present at installation.   I should have returned the head immediately; I should have reported the timeserts immediately; there was no way I could found the crack if I had not opened the engine back up.  Consistently, this company has displayed poor quality control and a lack of concern for customers.   If the engine had overheated enough to cause the head to crack, there would be other damage, which there is not.  So, let others be warned before placing orders...  MOFOCO may continue bragging of their vast experience, but the facts show a very different picture.

 

Regards,

******* ******

 

 

6/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ordered a part over three months ago they sent wrong part I called them they said keep the part I had it was there fault it was wrong and they would send the right part . it been over three months I got the part somewhere else an I want my money back on my card

Desired Settlement: just want my money back for something they are showing and do not have missed a lot of car shows because of this

Business Response: This part is no longer manufactured or available new.  We were attempting to find the customer a good used original part even thought this part is not necessary for the operation of the car.  I had instructed our office to credit him already when we couldn't find one.  I will check first thing in the morning and if it isn't done, I will take care of it immediately.

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: * hired *** ******* to build turn key engine and replace transmission * paid $5075 for the engine and $1300 for the transmission * was paid on August 7th, 2013 and engine and transmission to be done in 6 weeks * shipped them my car for the install fist week of October 2013 * engine build was nev er started until after November * December I asked for a full refund, they declined * January I was told my car would be done by the end of the month * February I was demanded to pay an addition $1450 to finish the job or else..... * March sent *** $1450 in a money order to finish * ***** *** says he has problem and will let me know * My transmission will not shift to 1 or 2, reverse lock out wont work car only shifts 3 and 4. * Engine will not stay running. I paid Mofoco, *** ******* over $7800 for a new engine and transmission installed in my car and now it don't run and can't drive it. I waited over 8 months for a 6 week job. My car drove fine over 1300 miles from Nebraska to Oregon in July of 2013 to a car show winning three awards. The car sat near the pond for a 7 day period and when I went to drive home, the engine overheated in about two hours of driving time. I searched for a way to get car home, rented ****** truck and tow dally and came home. Found 5 companies that rebuild engine. I choose *** because he said he would remove and replace engine and transmission for the labor of $750. So I agreed and paid for the engine and transmission in full and then shipped him my car 8 weeks later hoping to have my car back in a few days. Shipping cost $1000 from ***** ** to Milwaukee WI. *** ******* has not kept up with his end of the deal. The deal was to have a new turn key engine test run and ready for install when the car got there along with a rebuilt transmission. It should have only taken a day or two to remove and reinstall and test drive car. *** ******* complained that I was at fault, everything I said is a lie, and he wanted $100 per hour for custom work to remove and install a VW engine and transmission. I sent *** pictures of my car, the engine and engine bay, the transmission and axles so he knew what he was receiving. My car is a VW pan with a fiberglass body bolted to it. So it is mostly all 1970's VW remove and replace. *** has sent me aggressive emails, held my car hostage, charged me for parts and labor with out a written estimate up front, may have used my engine as a rebuild and not a new case build, rebuilt my transmission and it will not work, the engine will not stay running at idle. I feel that I need a full apology for all the accusations, and a refund for not completing the job as stated. *** has also had the nerve to charge me $20 per day for storage if I did not pick up the car with in 10 days of him stopping work on it. So my truck driver picked up the car on 5.16.2014 and paid *** $100 for storage. I should be charging *** $20 per day for the six months he had the car over and above the contract dates. I will have added expenses to have the car looked at and fixed correctly to make it drivable

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund and I want Mofoco to pay for the additional cost it will take to fix or correct the problems.

Business Response: Mr ******** bought a complete engine and transmission from Mofoco.  Upon recieving the car, I had a 45 minute discussion with Mr ******** to tell him that the car was in very poor condition.  It was filled with animal nests and excrement, I have photographic evidence of this  The existing engine was poorly built and missing many key components to properly cool an aircooled engine, I have photographic evidence of this too.   Upon further examination, I communicated that the orignal estimate of $750 labor would be to remove his existing engine and transmission and install the new components exactly as they were removed.  This estimate did not include fixing anything else on the car.  Any additional services would be charged separately.  Mr ******** continuelly insisted that I do custom work to his vehicle for free.  For example, he wanted custom work done to his air conditioning system, which I told him on more than one occasion that Mofoco is not licensed to do.  He continued to suggest that I break the law and work on it for the entire time the car was here.  I refused to break the law.  He also wanted a custom 4 barrel carburator and manifold installed, which I told him on multiple occasions that I have no experience with.  Because of his insistance that I try, which he guaranteed would work, I gave it a shot.  I have photographic evidence that the parts will not physically go together.  The transmission was built exactly to the specifications that he paid for, test driven in a different vehicle and installed in his vehicle, I have photographic proof of this.  Next, the engine was test run on our custom engine test stand.  It ran for 2-3 hours to test and tune before installing in the vehicle, I have a short video to prove this.  After the engine and transmission were installed in his vehicle, we encountered many problems that were previously undisclosed by Mr ********.  For example, his accelerator cable that runs from the gas pedal to the carburator was tied in a knot and held together with electrical tape.  I communicated to him that this was very unsafe and that it would cost $75 to install a new cable.  He refused and insisted I do it for no charge.  When we finally got the engine running in the car, I could not get it to run the way it did on our test stand.  I communicated this to Mr ******** and his first  repsonse was that the car could have bad gas.  This raised a red flag with me because I had 2 personal cars that sat at my shop for 6 months longer than his and both of these vehicles started up and the gas had not gone bad.  This told me that Mr ******** had not been truthful with me about the cars history as he knew the gas was bad.  Again, I quoted him prices to drain the gas tank, inspect it for rust, clean it and reinstall it.  He again refused and insisted that I do it for no charge.  So we worked with what he had and attempted to drive the car.  For some reason, we could not get the car into 1st and 2nd gear.  We disengaged the linkage from the car and shifted the transmission manually, to insure that the transmission we installed was in perfect working order.  Again I communicated this to Mr ********.  His response was that it all worked perfect when it got here and we must have broken it.  This lead to another refusal to pay and more insistance that I work for free.  I, along with two other employees, did a total of 50 extra labor hours of work on Mr ********'s car which he refused to pay for.  At this point, I told him that there was nothing more I could do for him.  The poor condition of the car was preventing me for finishing the job and since he refuses to pay more money, he will now need to pick up his car and have it worked on somewhere else.  I gave him 10 business days to pick up the car or a $20 per day storage fee would begin to accrue.  About 6 days later, I was contacted by an insurance agent for Mr ********.  He had filed a fraudlent claim with his insurance company blaming farm animals for his original engine failing.  He wanted me to provide false proof to these claims so he could recoup part of the cost of the new engine.  Again, I refused to break the law.  Finally, last week Friday, a truck driver showed up unannounced to pick up the vehicle.  At the time, the driver was provided a checklist of items.  In this checklist, Mr ******** attempted to collect the old parts from his engine.  I thought this very odd as I had given him hundreds of dollars off his bill to pay him for these old parts.  When i refused to give up the parts, Mr ******** attempted to have the ********* PD and then the ******** PD come to my shop and arrest me for theft.  When the officer from ******** arrived, I gave him my statement and allowed him to photograph the parts that I was keeping.  These parts are completely unusable, however, I am keeping them as proof of the poor condition of the car when it arrived.  The condition of these parts completely refutes Mr ********'s claims about the state of the car and I believe that is why he wants them back.  Again, they are completely unusable.  In all, I have photographic, video and physical proof that everything I charged Mr ******** for was in fact done to his vehicle.  I told him that he is welcome to take it somewhere else and have a professional mechanic check everything that I did.  I have nothing to hide. 

Business Response: Again, each time the story is different.  This customer will never be satisfied, even with all brand new working parts, a full refund, a new house and a 6 month paid vacation around the world.  This customer has recieved what he paid for and an additional 50 labor hours for free.  Our business together has concluded and I wish him well on his future projects.

Consumer Response: Dear BBB, I have pictures, videos and email stating all the facts on this claim. The company did not produce the engine and transmission on the contract date. It was to take 6 weeks for the engine build and it never got finished. At over $7800 invested in a new turn key engine and transmission along with the install it should run and drive. Please don't let this company do what they did to me to future customers. If the company will make this right, I will drop all charges I have with multiple organizations around the country. All you have to do is watch the video's and you will see the mess my car came back in, and it is not even drivable. It will need a new engine gasket seal kit installed, a new clutch, a transmission fix of who know what. Remember, I never got a bill of sale, warranty paperwork, engine build or engine spec sheet and I did not get my parts back. The company has never shown proof of anything and I have all the proof you need. Follow up on my engine and transmission purchase from *** ******* at Mofoco. I received my car from Mofoco on 6.19.14. I paid them for the turn key engine and transmission last year, 8.7.2014 in the sum of $6375.00. A 6 week job, Right! My car won’t stay running and the transmission will not shift. The electrical wires are grounding out on the A/C mounts; the points wire is open air connector and grounding out on chrome shroud. The engine is leaking oil and has not been started up by me. My car is at a VW mechanic shop and the man is 61 who know all about VW’s. My car came back a total mess. Dirt, damage, grease marks and many parts missing. What I need from *** ******* at Mofoco is the following: My parts from my old engine, coil, carb, intake, distributor, generator, clutch, pressure plate total about $600.00 that is not part of an engine block core charge. I want an engine that runs with no oil leaks, a transmission that operates normal; I want warranty paperwork, bill of sale, engine build sheet/spec sheet. I would like to get my money back, but that will never happen because the attorney retainer is $4k and $325 per hour. And when I win the case, get judgment, Mofoco will never pay. So this is for everyone out there to stay away from MOFOCO. Attached are several video of what my car came back. *************************** *************************** *************************** *************************** *************************** *************************** *************************** *************************** *************************** *************************** So, beware. I would suggest that you never do business with this company because you might end up with parts and products like what happen to me. My brand new clutch was smoked, glazed and overheated by *** trying to drive my car starting out in 3rd gear. CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT! I was ripped off by over $7800 by this company. I thought I was getting the best turn key engine for the money. Don’t let this happen to you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on MOFOCO Enterprises, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart