BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers used automobile sales, service, parts and supplies, and tires.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Schoepp Motors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Schoepp Motors, Inc. include:

  • 20 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Schoepp Motors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 11
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Schoepp Motors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 29, 1992 Business started: 11/01/1977 in WI Business started locally: 11/01/1977 Business incorporated: 12/30/1977 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Douglas Schoepp, Vice President Ms. Sally Hogan , Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Sally Hogan , Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Douglas Schoepp, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Truck Repair & Service Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • 1518 N Stoughton Rd

    Madison, WI 53704 (608) 210-2929

  • 2424 S Stoughton Rd

    Madison, WI 53716 (608) 221-0000

  • 3440 Tribeca Dr

    Middleton, WI 53562 (608) 255-7003

  • PO Box 628068

    Middleton, WI 53562

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I visited this lot and was told that they could sell me a car at a price. I agreed on the price and they were going to check with my bank to get approval for the money. I did not authorize anything beyond that. I have since gotten two letters from two separate lending institutions stating that this lot requested a credit line in excess of $14,000 in my name! I never agreed to a price anywhere near that amount and I sure as hell did not authorize them to try to borrow money in my name! I now have two marks on my credit score and it is ruined because of this!

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology from parties involved in this scenario. 

Business Response:

As regards complaint #******* please be advised that I called Mr. ******* on Saturday, Dec. 7, 2013 in an attempt to resolve his issue. Mr. ******* told me that it was not a good time for him and asked me to either call back or email him. I told him that I would prefer to call. I called him on 12-11-13 and again on 12-12-13 leaving messages both times. As of today, Dec. 13, 2013 I have not heard from Mr. *******.
 
I believe that a conscious effort has been made on Schoepp Motors part to try to resolve Mr. *******’s complaint and consider the matter closed.
 
Respectfully,
**** ******** ** ******* ******* ****

Consumer Response:

I get no more than 24 hours to return his call? That is a ridiculous request to make of a person! I am a busy man and I will return his call at MY earliest convenience! This is the least they culd do given the hardship they have created for me already!


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My fiance and I filled out an online application to buy a car on Schoepp's website, I was contacted by **** ***** at their Middleton Location same day. I told him we were pre-approved with another dealership and that we previously purchased a 2009' Camry from them, I told them what the other dealership was offering us and what our payments were. 11/12/2013 "Just left you a voicemail but yes we have a lot to choose from on our lot and coming back to us to trade would be the best idea since you bought the car from us and we would love to earn your business again. We do work with *********** and a few other banks that could potentially get you a better rate. I'd love to take a look at the Camry and see if we can give you more than 11k for it. Please give me a call on my cell at ###-###-####. Thank you for your time." First Email from ****...The rest are text messages asking him to give us numbers. We finally went to the dealership on 11/12/2013. We showed them the Camry and I asked them (****) to give me prices on what they were giving us for the Camry, HE never told us. I had picked out a few different cars that we wanted to work with, they picked one car, it was a 2011' Toyota Highlander, 'according' to them, the bank said that wouldn't work. We sat at the dealership for 2 hours on 11/12/2013 waiting to hear from the bank...**** who I believe is *** ** there, came out and told us that they need to find something newer. I told him that's fine, he said if we need to get payments up to $525, would that be ok, I said I guess, we need to be in a bigger vehicle for our kids. I had asked several times what the numbers were going to look like, I still never got a break down of anything from anyone there in the 3 days working with them. We left the dealership on 11/12/2013 without a vehicle and on 11/13/2013, I had asked to have DVD'S installed in the van, they said they could do that, but needed money down, I told them no and that we would be walking away from the deal (in short) The dealership called me several times to say they could do the DVD'S with no extra money down. I thought ok, this might work., But I was still very curious what the payments would be and the finance charges were going to be, and I still hadn't gotten those answers. So we went into the dealership on 11/13/2013 and no ONE AT this point told us any numbers, I had asked several times to see numbers, **** the Sales man kept saying I'm working the manager as hard as I can, I'm workin on it or I don't have any numbers yet. We did not get ANY numbers on our trade or the finance charges until we got into closing and at that point, I felt pressured to sign. This has been a very emotional purchase for me, I feel very, very, very taken advantage of. We spent hours with these people trying to do the right things for our kids. In closing they told us we couldn't do the GAP insurance because it would require money down on the financing? We are thousands and thousands of dollars in the whole and if we get into a total loss type of accident we owe thousands of dollars to a vehicle that wouldn't be in our possestion. We don't have that kind of money.

Desired Settlement: I want them to get us our service contract money back asap. I want them to expedite the GAP insurance refund from the original loan. I want to know why they did this to us? I don't understand why they would take advantage of people like this. This has been the worst experience I've had in buying cars. I want to know why they wouldn't allow us to purchase the GAP insurance, it wasn't even offered. I want that paid for by the dealership, I want *** ***** to call me and explain this situation to me.

Business Response: As regards complaint #******* please be advised that Schoepp Motors believes that the customers concerns have been addressed and the issues have been resolved. Schoepp Motors redid all of the paperwork so as to include the GAP insurance as customer desired. In addition, Schoepp Motors gave the customer an upgraded DVD system. Again, it is our belief that the customer is satisfied with the results.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am 30 year old - first time independent buyer. During my solo test drive, I had to pick up my son who has high anxiety and ADHD based on an incident that occured at the sitter's home. I was car shopping alone. I felt unable to leave abruptly as it would disrupt my son - I can medically prove his anxiety with transitions, if necessary. I was reluctantly referred to Schoepp by an employee/co-worker and was told to deal with ** and **** at the **** location. I felt pressured to buy a car on Sat Dec 28, feeling the "deal" they were giving me would expire when I left the premises. I wanted to wait on the purchase of the vehicle, which I stated on the phone before I arrived until I had a down payment. I reluctantly signed the paperwork, while ** moved the items from my rental to the newly purchased vehicle, which I objected to at first as I wanted to come back at a later date, I asked him about the dirty looking floor mats that were in the trunk and not placed in the car. He wanted me to come back on Monday to get new ones, as they don't normally do that for people but since I was a good friend of an employee they would take care of me. When I got home at 6pm, I felt uneasy and like I was manipulated. I was informed of a 3/3000 warranty during the sale but none of this information is in my paperwork. When I returned on Monday Dec 31st , with my father, to bring the car back, I was told nothing could be done until Wednesday Jan 2, 2013. I returned with this information in writing. I also informed them I would be willing to pay the 5% fee for them to take stock of the vehicle again. I have no problem with this. My letter informed that I would be willing to contact the DOT if this matter was not resolved, informing them I am aware of my rights. When I received a call after 5pm on Wed Jan 2, 2013, **** (***** *******) asked if this was to come as a threat. He was very condescending, saying there are two sides to every story. The vehicle has been sitting on their lot since Jan 2, 2013. I refuse to drive it without resolution. I will admint I was uncomfortable with the fact I was not offered any additional warranty and I did tell Schoepp that I found another car same model/year with more miles for less but ****** ********* with a longer warranty at another dealership. The other dealer was able to be upfront and tell me that it came with new tires and brake all around. I was never given this information from any sales person at Schoepp Motors, until I asked to return the vehicle and inquired about what maintainance was performed. There is no record of when the last oil change was performed, so ****'s solution was to offer me, with an attitude stating it probably doesn't need one and because the car has a service light it should go off when it is ready, a free oil change and 3 additional free ones, for my troubles. I also informed **** that there are stickers still left on my vehicle from the sale, indicating that the sales rep was rushing to get me out of there. Everytime I spoke with ****, he tried to pass me off on another employee and was rude. None of my expectations in dealing with Schoepp Motors have been met. As a female at a dealership, I felt taken advantage of and disrespected. Again, I do not trust them and will not use their services nor will I refer anyone to them or give them a positive reference.

Desired Settlement: The ideal situation would for my relationship with Schoepp Motors to end. For them to take back the car and charge me the 5% return fee. Pay for full independent vehicle inspection from certified ****** mechanic, if I must keep the vehicle. Also replace the tires, as I was never given the condition even though I asked several times of ****, ***** ******* for the tire condition. I do not want to be stuck with a vehicle that has to have major repairs done within the next 6-12 months. If I must keep the vehicle, they should pay for the oil changes to be performed at my mechanic or provide me reimbursement for those oil changes.

Consumer Response: I want to inform you I have scheduled a meeting with **** the ***** ******* for tonight with a witness so I can attempt to receive the appropriate documentation regarding the maintenence of the vehicle as well as get writen documentation of the verbal agreement I was given by my sales rep of the 3month/3,00 mile warranty on the car.  I also wish to have a copy of the vehicle's ****** as it is not available on-line, as is the case with most reputable car dealerships. 
 
Thank you, 
******* *****

Consumer Response: **** ******* left me a voicemail stating he could not meet with me at 6pm.  I called and requested again details on the condition of my vehicle that he failed to give me in our previous conversations.  
 
He proceded to get a snappy tone and said he would call me back with the condition of the tires.  He still has not addressed the condition of the floor mats.  I feel I need to have a personal representative with me to record our conversations.  As I stated in my complain, I do not trust this dealership and what they say unless it is in writing.  
 
I believe their reply will comeback stating "buyer's remorse" and they have done nothing to make their customer who paid over $13,000 for a car with fees/taxes feel comfortable with their services after the signing of the contract.  
 
*******

Consumer Response: Friday - I went to meet with the ***** **** *******, I did not have an appointment, so I was not allowed to meet with him and was given a "*******", who in fact was a sales rep *** ******.  I took with me a male friend for support.  When I was explaining my case, *** treated me as if I was not worth the time, howeverwhen my friend explained that I was not offered an extended warranty on my vehicle.  *** showed me the warranty pamphlet that I was supposed to have seen during the sale of my vehicle.  I advised I had never seen it.  He excused himself stating he needed to call **** ******* and see what could be done (giving the impression that he had left for the day).  When he returned he had an offer, to give me a 2yr/24,000 mile warranty aat "their cost" for the 1yr/12,000 mile price to be added into my loan amount.  The problem with this is that all services under warranty must be performed at Schoepp Motors.  He informed me that I did not need to make a decision on this offer Friday as he knew I was meeting with my credit union to discuss refinancing my loan.
 
I still would like to speak with Mr. ******* as I feel that I was mistreated by his ***** ******* and very important information was left out of the sales transaction in order for me to take delivery immediately before I was to receive a down payment, following my accident. 
 
Thank you, 
*******



Business Response:

Ms. *****'s recollection of her car buying experience at Schoepp Motors differs from those of our employee's that have been in communication with her. Our practice is to offer extended warranties to customers that purchase vehicles that fall within the underwriting guidlines by our warranty company of which Ms. *****'s ** ***** is one. When Ms. ***** came to the dealership on Friday Jan. 4, 2013 our salesman, *** ****** spent over an hour with her, and her friend that she was with. *** offered Ms. ***** a 2 year, 24,000 mile warranty at our cost for her vehicle. Ms. ***** asked if she had to accept the offer at the time or if she could think about it over the weekend. *** told her of course she could think about it, and told her to call him the following Monday morning. Ms. ***** called on Monday but did not want to talk to ***, instead she wanted to speak with the *****. Today, Jan. 9, 2013 I spoke with Ms. ***** telling her that the offer of the 2 year, 24,000 mile warranty through our company, at our cost was still available. She said "just send a check for $1,124 to my credit union so that I can purchase their warranty." I told her that was not the offer or an option. Schoepp Motors is not responsible for any misrepresentation as regards the sale of the **** ***** to Ms. *****.

Respectfully,

**** *******, **

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Please be advised that much of what Schoepp Motors has represented is false or misrepresented.  The conversation with **** ******* was inconclusive, he advised he would speak with the owner and would call me back about a decision in this matter.  I visited with him in person for the first time on 1/10/2013.  He offered to speak with Mr. ******* about waiving the $100 deductible if I were to purchase the 2yr/24K mile warranty through them so I could receive services any where under the warranty.  Mr. *******'s reply was, "No, there are some customers we just are not able to make happy." I began searching for legal representation, as I had yet to receive my registration and proof of ownership from the WI DOT (it arrived in the mail 1/17/2013). 

I have since refinanced my vehicle through my credit union and purchased their GAP insurance and 4yr/48K mile warranty.

I scheduled an appointment to have my oil changed and my car inspected for problems I have been having with Schoepp Service Department on 1/21/2013 at 10 am.  I received a phone call at 9:47 am on 1/21/2013 from the ******* ******* **** ****** advising that the service was complete and that Mr. ******* wanted to speak with me.  I called him and was immediately told that they would not honor their written 3 month/3,000 mile warranty or the remaining 3 free oil changes.  I should come pick up my vehicle immediately (I should add they dropped me off at work) and they would not be giving me a ride to come get it.  He also proceeded to tell me that he would pay me $75 for the 3 oil changes they were not honoring, if I would sign a settlement agreement, and if I made a big fuss they would call the police.  Not once have I stepped out of line an become inappropriate on their premises.  I have only asked to have a face to face meeting with a personal witness to come to an agreement.  Mr. ******* said I was harassing his employees, I do not feel that following up when I do not receive a call back is harrassment. 

I learned from the WI DOT that my title transfer and ownership information was not filed to them until 1/9/2013 and have shared this information and all of the phone logs and written documentation from Schoepp Motors with my legal counsel. 

 

Regards,

******* *****

 

 

Business Response:

There were several people here that tried to placate the complaintant. Each time she seemed happy, then subsequently continued to come back disgruntled. Complaintant refused our offer the the extended warranty. Rather, complaintant wanted to find a warranty outside of our dealership and have us pay for it, which of course is not our normal business practice, and declined to do so. We believe that this issue has been resolved in that the complaintant refinanced her loan and purchased an extended warranty through her new lender.

Respectfully,

**** *******, **

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

My case is being reviewed by my lawyer. 

Regards,

******* *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After purchasing my 2009 Ford Ranger from Schoepp Motors on 12/10/1012 it became apparent that I overpaid for the vehicle by approximately 2,200.00. This negative equity was confirmed by several trade in and purchase offers from several dealers around the Madison area. The amount financed 17,800. minus the warranty 1,600. equals 16,200. minus the best offer of 14,000. equals 2,200. in negative equity. After looking in to the situation, I discovered that there were a number of discrepancies with the information provided to the finance company which may have affected the decision to approve my loan. The "book to value" (equipment listed on truck and reported to bank) was either reported incorrectly or embellished to enhance the outcome. The following items were reported to the finance company but are not on the truck: Cruse control, fiberglass cap, camper package and ******* stereo. Additionally, my income was reported as 3,200. monthly which is approximately twice what I told them. This also likely affected the decision to approve the loan with a monthly payment of 312. The documents provided include the "book out value" (provided by ** *******) and the loan application (provided by schoepp).

Desired Settlement: 1) refund of 2,200. applied to the loan to cover the negative equity or 2) installation of the missing items reported to the finance company (approximate value: 1,100.) and 1,100. refund applied to the loan. These remedies would make the truck worth what I paid for it and I would no longer be upside down with negative equity.

Business Response:

We will contact the customer to ask if he would be willing to come in so that we can sit down together and address his concerns. We are confident that we will be able to resolve the issues that are agreeable to both parties. We will keep you informed.

Thank  you,

**** *******, **

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchashed this vechile for a wrongful price reason. I had a lot of problems with the vechile, i have been complaining about this vechile for repairs. I even took it to a other place to get it inspected and I went back there and showed them the papers and told them that those needed to be fixed. They refusted at first. I kept trying to speak with the ******* *******, couldnt. There were a lot of problems like: brake pads, rotator, cruise control, broken mirror cover, glove compartment, missing lights covers, straches on outside, ripped some farbic inside, gas always runs out fast, shuts down my vechile while I am driving or at stop light or stop sign, the engine service light came on couple times, the abs lights too, window was not working. They only fixed the brake pads n rotator, which all 4 was needed to be fixed but they only fixed front and it is already causing my rims to become dirty black. They fixed the cruise control and I had to pay for it. I had to bug them like 4 or 5 times to get those fixed, i asked for the other items, they said oh they are fine not a problem. I just finally got my windows fixed at the schoepps motor in *******, after a 3rd try. The guy at the schoepps in ******* told me that my engine sounds funny, i said i know it tried to tell ********* that and they wouldnt do anything about it.My vechile was almost 19000$ with 62000 mileage when i purchased it. I tried to fight back for the price isn't right because my aunt purchased a exact vechile as mine and same year but she has more fancy stuff inside and other stuff, and only was 42000 mileages on it and bought it for 13000.I went back to the other schoepps in ******* on **** **********, the guy told me that I was being RIPPPED OFF and I was told to contact u. I am tired of fighting and trying to get my rights and my vechile properly fixed ever since i bought it in 12/11.Hope u guys can help me with this. Thank u.

Desired Settlement: I dont know waht i can exchange for because since my vaule worth on this vechile isnt that good anymore. I want to trade it in for another suv or whatsoever i can get.

Business Response:

We apologize. We thought that this complaint had been responded to. We will look into immediately.

Thank you,

***** *****

Business Response:

We have been in contact with complaintant. There is a communication barrier in that the individual is deaf, but we continue to communicate via email.

Thank you,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently (September 2012) purchased a car from your company at the NE location and the entire process was painful. We originally chose a red 2007 Chrysler Pacifica with the assistance of salesperson, ****. Within a few hours I was driving it home. My excitement was soon squelched by the fact that the battery light was on during the drive home, (only a couple blocks from the dealership). Upon testing it with a volt meter at home I discovered that it was not putting power into the battery whatsoever. I also noticed that about half a quart of brand new oil was in a puddle in my driveway. I immediately called **** and he said that they would repair it. That same day and hour I drove the car to the NE dealership and showed the salesmen working there where the oil had been leaking from and they gave me a loaner car and told me that their mechanics would look at the Pacifica and repair what may need to be repaired and that I could pick the Pacifica up on Monday. On Monday I received a call from the mechanics that they found a loose connection and that it had been fixed but they could not see that it had been leaking oil. When I went to pick up the car I asked if I could have a copy of the paperwork that I had signed the day of purchase but the salesmen told me that the paperwork was no longer at the NE location and that I would have to go to the West side location to get it. When test driving the car I noticed a baseball sized dent in the front quarter panel and I told the salesmen that I did not remember it being there. **** agreed and another salesmen checked the dent log. The second salesmen told me that there was nothing in the dent log. The salesmen gave me a we an “I owe you” and I took the car home and drove it Tuesday and it was fine, Then on Thursday of that same week the car died, in the middle of the road, on my way to work. Fortunately it eventually started again but by this time I had lost all trust in the car. That same day I drove to the West side location as instructed to get my paperwork and arrived by 4:30pm. The person that I spoke with told me to wait. At about 4:50pm he told me that all of the finance people had gone home and that I would be unable to pickup the paperwork. He asked me if I would like to have it mailed to my home or if I could just pick it up at the northeast side. I told him that I could pick it up after work on Friday. I asked him at this time if I would be able to trade the car for another car without any additional expense and he told me that it would be no problem. Friday morning the car died again on my way to work, again it eventually started up and got me to work. I went back to the northeast side to collect my paperwork and they said that they had no idea why the salesmen at the west side would have told me to come to the northeast side and they did not have the paperwork. I was so frustrated at this point. Not only was I receiving misinformation from the salespeople and what borders on evasion of sharing information about the purchase/sale of my vehicle, but also having serious computer/engine problems with the newly purchaced vehicle, and an unexplained dent (acknowledged by the staff that they caused it and agreed to fix it). I said that I just wanted a different car. The next day, Saturday, my wife and I chose a different car with the assistance of our original salesperson, ****. The new vehicle, a 2009 Subaru Forester, (found at the East location), had a price difference of roughly +$5000 dollars. After being held at the car dealership from 10am-3:30pm we finally left the dealership. I found out later in the week that the gap between what the car is worth in excellent condition from a dealer (blue book) and what I paid is almost $3000. I am happy with the Subaru Forester, but I feel that I was charged exorbitantly especially after what my wife and I were put through.

Desired Settlement: Refund the down payment ($2400) that I put on my credit card when purchasing the vehicle to bring the price closer to the dealer book value.

Business Response:

Customer was contacted, and agrees that Schoepp Motors is not obligated to renegotiate after the deal is consumated. Customer is happy to receive $250 from Schoepp Motors as a goodwill gesture to promote future relations.

Respectfully,

**** ******* ** ******* ******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and appreciate the recognition. 

Regards,

***** **********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my 2007 ******** ******** on 9/8/12. I noticed immediately upon purchasing that the transmission was not shifting smoothly. I contacted Schoepp Motor's on 9/10/12 to advise them of possible transmission issues. An appointment was made to drop the car off on 9/13/12 to check the issues out. I was called later in the day and told that there were two updates for the transmission and the updates were done via a "******** **********" in *********, WI. I picked up the car on 9/13/12 and I did notice that the vehicle shifted smoother in the car at the console. Upon driving it down the road however, I discovered that the vehicle was experiencing the same issue - shifting hard into some gears in the transmission and shuddering. Some of the higher gears don't seem to know what gear the vehicle should be in so it shifts in and out of different gears. I called the next day and was advised that ****, the ******* *******, would get back to me to schedule to have it looked at again. I had to call again and speak with **** to get an appointment set up. That appointment was for 9/20/12. At this appointment, Schoepp was supposed to have the hood repaired (part of the purchase agreement) and check the transmission out. I was able to pick my car up on 9/21/12. I was advised upon picking my car up that Schoepp Motors did not look at the transmission at all. I had to make another appointment to have the transmission looked at. I took the car in on 9/26/12. Upon being able to pick the car up, I was advised that the "******** **********" in *********, WI had to "re-flash" the transmission (update it). I was advised that several different people took my car out after this was done and determined the issue to be fixed. I then drove off and began experiencing the same issues the next day while driving. I made a call to Schoepp Motors on 9/28/12 and was advised that **** was out until Mon, 10/1, and that I would receive a call Tuesday to discuss the next step. It is after close of business on said Tuesday and I have not heard from them as of 5:34pm CST.

Desired Settlement: At this point I no longer desire keeping the car or doing further business with Schoepp Motors. I would prefer to give the vehicle back to the dealership and get the $300 that I made as a down payment in cash back. I would also like the loan with ****** ********* to be null in void with no penalties to me.

Business Response:

Currently, the customer is very happy. We are putting a new transmission in her vehicle. We would be glad to email you when the work has been completed and she is driving the vehicle again.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** *******, ** Schoepp Motors, Inc.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After 7 hours at the dealership, I purchased a **** ********** ******. I needed a reliable vehicle for myself and my 3 year old son. I was trying to negotiate price, and **** informed me they have top of line mechanics and they put so much work into the vehicles to make sure they last for customers, that they could not come down to what I wanted for a price. I was ok with this, considering I was getting a vehicle that fully serviced and that would be reliable . I left the dealership and the car died 6 times on the way home. I had to pull over, after loss of power steering to put the vehicle in park and restart it. It was chugging at stop signs and jreking as I was driving. This vehicle was completly unsafe and defective. I called them and shared my problem and they said they would come get it. They said they needed my permission to tow the vehicle. I told them they could tow it as long as they cancelled my loan so I could start looking for a reliable vehicle that wasn't going to die on me in the 30 minutes of driving it off the lot. They agreed and towed the vehicle the day after I got it. Less than 24 hours later. They also didn't get a copy of my license and told me to bring it in the next morning. Because they didn't have my license they told me couldn't process my paperwork, or give me copies of anything that we had signed. They told me ****'s job was on the line and they legally can't finish the paperwork until they have it. When I followed up with them, **** told me my car was fixed and had been sitting there all day for me to get it. I told him I had already agreed to cancel the loan with **** who I gave permision to tow as long as they cancelled the loan. **** told me I was being ridiculous and it was a clamp causing all the car problems. They never put me in loaner, I missed work, and had to get a rental car and pay for it myself. I then talked with ****. He told me I can't just change my mind. I told him this wasn't the case. The car was defective and they had agreed to return it. Also, they told me they couldn't even process the loan without my license. we contacted Summit and they did not have a copy either, so I needed to bring it in the very next morning.They said they would change it out for another car on their lot. I can't see doing anymore business with them, as they have been so rude to me and I don't trust the quality or safttey of their vehicles.

Desired Settlement: Stop loan application process.

Business Response:

There is nothing wrong with the volkswagen. Customer had "buyer's remorse" because she discovered that her parents would be willing to buy her a new car.

Respectfully,

******* *******

Schoepp Motors, Inc. GM

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9187896, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took in my vehicle to trade in on a bigger four door ***** and was in agreement that the deal would be an even up exchange due to what my credit union would allow with financing. (Friday, July 27, 2012)We specifically discussed a 2005 ********* ****** with a 6 cylinder engine and 78,xxx miles on it. Schoepp Motors needed two checks totaling $1500 for what they called a down payment although this was to be an even exchange. I only had one check on me so I had to drive over an hour home and get another check before they would release the new vehicle to my possession. I left them $100 cash (have a receipt) and a check for $250. I returned with a check for $1150 which was to be held until 8-26-12. Upon returning to Schoepp Motors, they had the vehicle parked in front of the building and ready to go. We were never offered a test drive and when asking why we couldn't drive it, they told us they when you purchase a vehicle for $8000, you do not get to test drive it. Because the deal was already done and my credit union was closed, I took the car home. While on the way home, we discovered the car was not only not the correct car (It was a 2007 4 cylinder Malibu with 124,xxx miles) but it also had a number of things wrong with it. We had tried to call Schoepp Motors, however, they would not return our calls. We called again the next day (Saturday, July 28, 2012) at which time they would not return our calls yet again. My fiance finally got ahold of the ******** that we dealt with and he could not provide us with an answer as to why we did not have the car we were told we were getting. We finally got tired of waiting around for the phone calls to be returned and drove right to the dealership. The******** we dealt with avoided us at all costs. The ***** ******* finally approached us after an hour and a half and said he had a 6 cylinder car for us, the original car we were supposed to get but we would have to wait approximately a week before we could take the car due to it having numerous amounts of parts being put into it. At that point we said we did not want it if it has to have that much work done to it. We found a different car on their lot, for $1000 cheaper than what we had originally done the paperwork on. The ***** ******* told us that he would make it right with that car and he would be pulling it out behind the dealership for us to pick up today (Monday, July 30, 2012). He gave me his direct number and said to call him right away when I talked to my bank today. I called him and asked him to fax over the purchase contract, he got very rude with me and said he didn't have time to talk. About 30 minutes later, I recieved a phone call from the finance department at Schoepp Motors. I was told that the car we had agreed with the***** ******* on Saturday, July 28 was not available for us, that they had in fact sold it to another customer. I asked them how they could sell this car when we were in agreement that we were purchasing the car today and she told me that they were not going to lose out on a sale waiting for us to get there. So I am now stuck with this 2007 Chevrolet Malibu with a 4 cylinder engine and 124,xxx miles on it when it is NOT what we agreed upon and NOT what we were under the impression we were getting. I am also trying to figure out why I had to pay them $1500 when the car I traded in (2006******* ******* ** with 78,xxx miles) booked and was worth more than the car we left with. Today (Monday, July 30,2012) I went to my credit union to fill out the paperwork they needed and found out that not only did I get the wrong vehicle but the paperwork I signed at Schoepp Motors does NOT match any of the paperwork that they faxed to my credit union. They had told us that they would not release the car to our possession until the credit union I deal with sent a check down with me to pay them for the car. I did clear this up with my credit union but the purchase contract that was faxed to my credit union was asking the loan officer I deal with to cut Schoepp Motors a check for $350. We never got to test drive the vehicle, and were avoided after confronting them with problems we found with the car. (The keyless entry does not work, the headlights are not tight in the car, there is a loud rattling in the defrost/dash vents when you do 55 mph, etc.) All of these problems, they refused to fix.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $100 cash back that I left with them, along with the other $1400 they took as a down payment on an even trade. I would also like any and all repairs needed on this car to be fixed, as I did not purchase a fixer-upper car. I went to purchase a reliable vehicle that I could get my 9 month old son in and out of without having the issues of only having two doors.

Business Response: I am just returning to the office after being gone from 7-26-12 thru 8-3-12.  We will have a response to  you within the next 3 to 4 days. Thank you. ***** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I feel I have waited long enough in dealing with this dealership personally and was only put through the ringer with them and nothing was ever done to resolve it. This is why I have passed the issue on to the BBB. If I don't have a response from them within the next 24 hours, I will be taking the issue much further.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** ******

 

 

Business Response: Please be advised that Schoepp Motors has returned  the down payment of $1,500 to the customer.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

****** ******

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/18/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a vehical from Schepp motors on ***** ********* **** from a salesman name **** *******, it was late in the eviening alost Total dark, Mr **** road on the passager side up front of the car and had to see the crack in the font windshield and did not disclose what i feel was a safty issue, he also proclaimed that this vehical had a n alarm on it, this is also untrue, I went back to mr **** face to face to let him know about his sales tactis and how i was very angry with this deal, Mr **** gave me a number and A name of a Repair manager on ***** ********* **** and said call this guy to set up for a repair of your window, so I called this manager and he said to me I not going to put any money into your vehical unless **** call me himself and give me the okay, he knows how things work around here, then, he said look I don't know you but you seem like avery nice guy, call ryan back , then he siad no iwll call **** back to call you, A few days went by no call fom ****, so I called **** agan and I was given as always he is with a custer gimmick, so I said to the salesman on the phone to tell Mr **** that I will pay the 300 Dolors an repair the window and I will asee Him and Schoepp Motors in small xclaims court since now he refuse to pay for the window and lied to me about the alarm on the Vehical

Desired Settlement: To have Mr **** write an apology and pay for the window and haveSchoepp Mptor install an alarm system that Mr **** liied about being on the vehical

Business Response: Your name: ****** ********

E-mail: ***********************
Message:
My Compplant number is ******* I WAS CONTACTED BY sCHOEPP mOTORS BY A MALE WHO DID NOT GIVE ME HIS TITAL OR ADDRESS ME AS Mr ******** ,he Just said my name is **** call me at ********

****** ********

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,

 

****** ********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Husband and I went in to Schoepp motors looking at vehicles to purchase, we were told by the sales person that they had exactly what we had been looking for. We test drove the vehicle and it wasn't quite what we had been looking for however they were willing to make a few adjustments to the vehicle. We wanted to go look further as we had not been to many other dealerships and wanted to be sure we were getting into a vehicle that we were going to be sure to like and keep as it was a big investment. We were basically corralled in a sales office and had the sales man and the manager both pushing the deal around when we still were insistant we wanted to look around a bit the owner of the company came in and basically gave a take it or leave it offer. We then talked about it and decided we were still going to look around a bit. On our way out the Sales manager and owner again stopped us and gave us one last deal. In this deal they gave in to some options that made the vehicle feel more of what we wanted. Also said we had so many free oil changes blah, blah blah. We had put a good down payment down however were still needing to figure out the financing ANOTHER reason we wanted to look around a bit. We weren't really intending to purchase that day. We were told don't worry about the financing we will get you the financing. Well we were then told that they got us the financing thru a reputable lender however, the only way they would go thru with the financing is if we purchased this extended warranty service plan. We fell for it an purchased the service plan which supposedly can be used anywhere not just at Schoepp motors. Well the first time we had trouble with the vehicle 6 months after we purchased it. I took it in to Schoepp motors, it was due for an oil change and also had some indicator lights that were coming on according to the manual it was for the particulate filter , the winshield wiper nozzel was missing and the front end was loose. I was called and told what repairs it needed the ball joint and u joints needed to be repaired and the batteries (it has 2) were bad. I was also told the brakes needed to be done (which I already knew and had parts for at home) and were done at home that evening. I was not going to have them put new batteries in for $200 a piece as I knew that I could replace them for less then half of that. I did ok for them to replace the rear u joint and upper r ball joint, they were to also fix the wiper nozel. The U joint and upper ball joint were under warranty, the wiper nozel was jerry rigged with some part the mechanic must have had laying around in his tool box and just decided to shove on there as it still didn't work -come to find out the hose underneath was kinked and the piece that was put on there was taped on. I was told it would be $170 for diagnostics. Basically I argued with the guy who told me he was the "Service Manager" that really r u kidding me you are charging me $170 to tell me I need a new battery he spoke to me in a very condicending manner which I did not appreciate at all - remember the ball joint and u joint were supposedly warrantied by this warranty that we had to have or we would not have gotten the financing for the vehicle. So now guess what the u joint and both upper ball joints as well as a wheel bearing are loose and need to be repaired. NO, I was not taking it back to Schoepp motors for service as according to them I could go anywhere with this warranty for service. Well low and behold the warranty rep came out and said nope sorry we won't cover the parts. I called the warranty company when I called they said oh well because of rust and the big tires is why the claim was denied but maybe if you take it back to Schoepp motors then we could help you out. Are you kidding me right now. Can you say breach of contract? No I am not taking the truck back to Schoepp motors for repair after the shotty job they did the last time and then wanted to charge a ridiculous amount for services that really were not rendered. I have a Master Mechanic and four other service technicians telling me that the parts are bad due to mechanical failure, I have owned trucks all of my adult life and this truck has been babied. The warranty was shoved down my throat at the time of purchase and now is not able to be used basically unless I deal with Schoepp motors service department who are in my opinion, unprofessional and over priced. I would like to say I love the vehicle I purchased from them but I feel like I have a very sour taste in my mouth from the sales tactics used on down to the poor service in the service department. Obviously there is more going on here the was let on to be

Desired Settlement: I would like to see a refund for the warranty that I was told I HAD to purchase or could not get financing for the vehicle which I am not able to use anywhere else but at Schoepps service department as I will not be using their services Obviously Schoepp sells vehicles that is there business and customer's come in to buy a vehicle however the high pressure sales tactics and cramming things down peoples throats is not going to earn repeat business. I know that other dealerships acutally take the time to sit down with you and go over your options and speak to you even if you are a women in a manner that is not condicending and degrading, I will probably go else where to buy a different vehicle in the future.

Business Response:

In an effort to discuss this customer's complaint, our GM has left two (2) messages that as of today, June 13, 2012 have not been returned. Until the customer is willing to return the calls we have put this complaint on hold.

Thank you,

***** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As of today June 13, 2012, neither I nor my husband has received any messages via email, home phone or cell phone contact from the business.  I don’t feel any effort has been made by the business what so ever to resolve any of the issues at hand.

Regards,

******** **********

 

 

Business Response:

We have been in converstion with complaintant(s), and they have agreed to bring the vehicle in so that our service people can evaluate the issues that are causing the concerns.

Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/13/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used car and they charged me $2,000 more then the advertized price I seen price on the internet and in newspaper

Desired Settlement: I would like them to charge me the $2,000 less that was advertized.

Business Response:

We settled with Ms. ******* for a total of $1,000. She was very agreeable and as a matter of fact told me that she was going to contact the BBB and ask that her complaint be retracted.

 

Respectfully,

**** ******* GM

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/8/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Schoepp to buy a **** or another car. I got there at 12:30 in the afternoon. They did not have the cars I wanted. I found a car, I was ready to buy the car so I used my debit card. It would only let me get a certain amount of money on it. so the manager, ****, ask his boss if the salesman could give me a ride to the bank to get the money to be able to pay it in full. I went to the bank and received $4,243.88. I talked to the finance agent and he said the car I had chose had ball joints and tie rod problems. I said, "I refuse to buy that car." So **** and my salesman, **** *********, let me test drive 4 more cars. I told them I did not like none of the cars. I asked for my money back, but was refused. I stayed there til 4:15 p.m. because I did not want to buy their cars. I put my head down on the table I was sitting at and told them I was tired and wanted to go home. But since I could not receive my money back. Finally, **** said, he would give me a deal on the radio for $150. He said, "the car was a very good car, worth $6800, one car owner, in excellent condition, he could show me the Carfax. I could even take the car to ********** ***. I received the title and I asked **** did the car have a warranty. He told me, "No, you own this car now." But I would get a 15% discount on repairing the car. I bought the car Jan. 21, 2012 I bought front brake pads and had the rotors cleaned on April 20, 2012. The back brakes are going to cost $500 to be fixed. Plus this is just the beginning of other things needing to be fixed now. Also I took the car to Car X to be evaluated, the Monday after I bought it and they told me the car was in excellence condition. So, I believed them.

Desired Settlement: I want them to give me all the money I have spent on this car and change their techniques when selling cars. I feel they have jeopardized my life and my granddaughter's life while riding in this car.

Business Response:

Ms. ***** purchased her vehicle from Schoepp Motors in January of 2012. According to her statement, she took the car to CARX immediately after the purchase for an independant evaluation. In her own words she says "they told me the car was in excellence (her spelling) condition.

She requested new pads in April. Our service manager advised her that the pads did not need to be replaced. She insisted upon replacement because she thought she heard a "squeeking" noise and wanted to be safe. The work she requested was performed for her at a discount.

Schoepp Motors will continue to provide quality service and customer service if she chooses to patronize us. We offer to extend discounts in the future for sales and service purchases that she may make.

Respectfully,

**** *******, GM

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

********* *****

 

On 4-23-12, the Monday after the so-call front brakes being fixed.  I took the car to ******'s Auto Serv. Ctr. because the brakes were still squealing.  This is the information I received about the car.  Warning lights  oil pressure reads psi 120 gauage ? not accurate, A/C 48 degrees weak, Lights R B outer Brake bulb out, Brakes squeal from front new and rear ok, Cooling -35 and little low minor leak at T-Stat housings, fluid levels  0, 1 qt low, tire condition F 3/32, R 5/32,  brake shoes and pad condition front-new, rear 4mm/rotor arr ?, parking brake hard to move- did not want to apply, steering and front end rt inner tie rod slght play, suspension rear shocks leaking,  fluid leak seepage at upper intake (0.1)minor and T-Stat housing minor leak.  I refused to buy the first car because I need to buy tie rods.  This car having these many problems; there is no way I would have bought this junk because I could not receive my money back 31/2 hours i refeused to leave with nothing, so I was pessured into buying this junk for $6,243.88.         

 

 

Business Response:

We have received the latest reply/response from your office relating to the complaints from ********* *****. As this complaint reads essentially the same as the previous, there are a few points to our reply that are not going to read as before. Ms. ***** purchased a higher mileage vehicle that was inspected and certified, as outlined on the WI Buyers Guide, to be free from major defects or flaws. Ms. ***** did have brake work performed on the front of her vehicle by our East facility to correct what she felt was operation (the other repair shop's report states that the front brakes appear new) as well as a diagnosis of the Check Engine or MIL light on her dash. Repairs were declined by her at that time. The other items Ms. ***** cites in her latest letter are all items consistent with the age and mileage of her vehicle and are outlined by definition on the Buyers Guide.

While we wish to please each and every customer that purchases a vehilce from Schoepp Motors, we feel we have been accommodating to Ms. ***** and do not feel that any part of this transaction was done out of line or at any time was the vehicle that she purchased misrepresented.

Again, we will be happy to continue to provide service to Ms. *****'s vehicle at either of our locations at a discounted rate should she decide to patronize Schoepp Motors.

Please accept this as our final reply regarding this issue and consider closing the complaint as to reflect a positive status on our record.

Respectfully,

**** *******, GM

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

********* *****

As I said early, I did not want this car.  I only took this car because I asked several times to receive my money back and your salesmen thought it was more important for me to buy it because they did not give me my money back.   I feel when I asked the first time for my money I should have received it and I would have left.   It does not take 3 I/2 hours to buy nothing.  I tested at least 4 cars.  I have all the information for this car and nothing states this car has this many problems.  As a matter of fact, it states it's in excellent condition.  If you want to end this conversation online.   I will have to get me a lawyer and go to court because you cannot take my money the way your company did.

********* *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My issue is with a misrepresented/misquoted miles per gallon rating on a car I bought used from Schoepp Motors. I bought a 2002 ****** **** from *** ******** at Schoepp Motor's northeast location on 3/9/12. One of the first questions about the car that I asked was about the car's MPG -- he told me 28 mpg. I looked on blue book after I bought the car and it gets 15 city, 18 highway. I called *** immediately and he said they would work with me and he would call me after speaking with his manager the next morning. I owned that I should have doubled checked the mpg before purchasing the car and *** told me he owed me an apology - it was lower than he thought too, and he did not double check either. I would not have bought the car had I realized it's actual MPG and I felt that I had no reason to mistrust ***'s quoted MPG; as the salesperson I assumed he had a hard figure that was correct, and I was wrong. The next morning around 930 am I received a call back from *** while I was at work and he asked me how many miles I thought I would drive in a year. I guessed 3000 - as a cyclist and busser until this point, I did not know exactly and later texted him to let him know I'd be getting back to him with a more exact figure. When we spoke during that 930am conversation on 3/10, after asking for my estimate on miles I would drive each year, he asked, "What about if we offered you free gas for three years?" I said that sounded like a pretty good compromise. We arranged to talk Monday about exact figures. I crunched numbers -- and anticipating a move and a start-up business soon -- I asked him if they would meet me on an estimate of 7500 miles, which seemed reasonable given the actual miles I was accruing, and given my predictions of these lifestyle changes; and, it was still low given the national average is 15,000 miles annually. I explained to him my reasons and he said he would approach his manager again. We arranged for me to come into the office today, 3/16/12 at noon, during which not only were they trying to tell me that **** ******* was only willing to give me a $300 gas card (which seemed insufficient given the difference in the cost of gas -- the MPG is about 40% less than what I was quoted, hence that much more cost to me due to misrepresentation.) I asked them about the initial offer and they denied ever having offered me free gas and said they only offered to pay me the difference (based on a lower MPG than *** had quoted me -- they were using the difference between 25 MPG and 18 MPG.) I told them that they were changing the language of the offer retrospectively and ****, the general manager outright told me that he had no reason to believe me over ***, who within that meeting back-peddled on several details, including the MPG he quoted me, the offer he initially made to me per his higher ups on 3/10, and he said that I asked for a car with a certain MPG which I never did. In the end they only offered to issue me a $500 gift card which to me still does not compensate for what I believe were unfair business practices (misrepresenting MPG) and then back-peddling when asked to correct it. I realize there is no WI law that requires them to take the car back but I would like to see a resolution that more fittingly compensates me for their misrepresented product (below.)

Desired Settlement: I initially said that I would be willing to return the car (for the value I paid) and trade it in for another model and they could pay my lender the difference. They only offered to give me a trade-in value for the car or a $300 gas card which was not the original deal discussed (which was "free gas for three years" based on the 3000 mile per year estimate I gave to Tom when he called me on 3/10, which was designed to help compensate me for the misquoted MPG.) 3000 miles per year is actually way under what I would actually be driving (I put 140 miles on the car in the first week) but I am willing to compromise with that number (9000 miles over three years) given it was the number I initially gave. I am either looking for them to make good on the original offer to pay for free gas based on 3000 miles per year; I am asking that they do so per Kelly Blue Book's combined MPG of 17 PMG at today's gas price of $3.89/gallon, which would equal $2049. I am not interested in trading for a car on their lot as I do not wish to do business with them further.

Business Response: Date Sent: 3/23/2012 1:01:45 PM

To Whom It May Concern,

This correspondence is ******* ******' response to the complaint referenced.

Ms. ******** states in her complaint that the purchase price was $7,200. In reality, our sale price was $6,995. She negotiated and signed a lower offer to purchase the vehicle for $6,500. The initial request was for a $500 down payment. Then Ms. ******** stated that she would only put down $200 and finance the balance. Later, she recanted, and would not provide any money down.

Long story short, we sold her the car for a purchase price of $6,000, a full $500 less than her original signed offer.

Ms. ******** also stated that she drives an estimated 3,000 per year. Again, she changed her figures (based on a possible move, etc.) to an estimate of 7,500 miles.

As a gesture of goodwill to keep the door open for future repeat and referral business, she was offered a $300 gift card. She accepted and said tht she was very happy that we were willing to do that.

Again, she changed her stance, claiming that she now wanted $2,000 (fully 1/3 of the actual purchase price) for three (3) years of free gas.

As this was such an unreasonable request, we offered to trade her into a different vehicle, at which point she declined.

Ms. ********' final demand/threat was that we pay her $2,000. She again reminded us that she is a writer (for *******) and that if we did not comply she would write bad reviews about us.

We do not support her claim that our sales representative quoted an MPG figure. We are, as Ms. ******** acknowledged, not required to buy this car back. Yet, we are still extending the invitation to trade her into a different car if she wants to.

Respectfully,

**** ******** ** ******* ******* ****


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

"Ms. ******** states in her complaint that the purchase price was $7,200. In reality, our sale price was $6,995. She negotiated and signed a lower offer to purchase the vehicle for $6,500. The initial request was for a $500 down payment. Then Ms. ******** stated that she would only put down $200 and finance the balance. Later, she recanted, and would not provide any money down."

This is absolutely not true.  *** ********, the salesperson who handled my sale, asked me if I wanted to make a down payment.  I then asked him if I had to, and he responded that I did not have to.  The $500 down payment was not only not discussed but the figure I said that I could put down that day was $200, to which *** -- as I said before -- said I did not have to put down unless I wanted to.  Having explained to them that I just went through an unexpected move, I decided not to make a down payment since ******** made it clear that the down payment was optional.

"Long story short, we sold her the car for a purchase price of $6,000, a full $500 less than her original signed offer."

This is also not the purchase price; and I'd like to see what they have to show for the "original signed offer" because I do not have any record of that.  To boot, my bank (****) refinanced my car for 6% less than ***** ***** ****** ********, whom the dealership had me go through after saying that my own bank declined me (and I have A+ credit.)  Having revisited my bank, my banker actually refinanced part of the auto loan through a personal loan because for auto loans, they can only refinance a car up to 120% of its worth according to **** and the car Schoepp Motors sold to me exceeded that.  This was no bargain deal.

"Ms. ******** also stated that she drives an estimated 3,000 per year. Again, she changed her figures (based on a possible move, etc.) to an estimate of 7,500 miles."

I gave the 3,000 mile estimate to *** ******** the morning he called me at work on 3/10.  I explained to him in our follow-up conversation that having biked/bussed everywhere I wanted to actually map quest some numbers and came up with the 7,500 miles per year figure.  I communicated this with him up front (I have record of a text message too) and his response was that he would have to talk to his manager.

"As a gesture of goodwill to keep the door open for future repeat and referral business, she was offered a $300 gift card. She accepted and said tht she was very happy that we were willing to do that."

This is also absolutely false: I never accepted the gift card.  In that meeting I rejected this offer because I told them this was not the original offer.  When they offered me a $500 gift card I rejected that too, saying that would not begin to compensate for the misrepresented I stand by my account sent to both the DOT and BBB.  

"Again, she changed her stance, claiming that she now wanted $2,000 (fully 1/3 of the actual purchase price) for three (3) years of free gas."

This was the original offer made to me via *** ******** on 3/10 at 930 am.

"As this was such an unreasonable request, we offered to trade her into a different vehicle, at which point she declined."

They did not offer to trade me a different vehicle.  *** ******** said that they would only take my car back at trade-in value (a huge loss compared to the retail price I paid.  In fact, when I spoke to *** ******** on 3/10 I said I would consider a trade-in (based on equal retail value, or they could compensate for the difference) and he said they did not have a car for me to trade.

"Ms. ********' final demand/threat was that we pay her $2,000. She again reminded us that she is a writer (for *******) and that if we did not comply she would write bad reviews about us."

My words were: "I'm a writer, and I'll be writing about this."  Which I did -- I went straight to the appropriate parties -- the BBB and WI DOT.  I don't even know what their statement means to imply.

"We do not support her claim that our sales representative quoted an MPG figure. We are, as Ms. ******** acknowledged, not required to buy this car back. Yet, we are still extending the invitation to trade her into a different car if she wants to."

I will not trade in my car at trade in value -- and given my past experience with Schoepp Motors, I do not trust them to offer me a car of equal value (for example, my car's retail price stated off at almost $9000, which is astronomical by any car value assessment website.)  I will only consider a trade in if my car is traded in at the financed amount signed in my agreement minus payments I've already made; I am also including a stipulation that any future dealings with Schoepp Motors happen with a BBB or DOT representative present as a witness.

Regards,

***** ********

 

Business Response:

Schoepp Motors' last offer to Ms. ******** was a $300 gift card, which she declined. We have no other offers on the table.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an ** ***** *** in mid-October with approximately 42K miles on it. The salesman, ******* was in a hurry that morning, due to a sick child, and although I wanted to take the car to my mechanic PRIOR to signing the contract, he assured me that I could take it to my mechanic anytime that week, and if my mechanic found anything wrong with it, they would fix it, mo problem. So, 48 hours later, I had my mechanic check it out and he found unnatural wear in the front rotor, along with leaking in the front shock/strut assembly. He printed out an estimate for me, with exactly everything he found wrong, so that I would have it to take to the Schoepp's service department. There was also a problem with the alignment, but after two visits with Schoepps, they finally fixed that problem. But they claimed that the unnatural wear in the front rotor was due to a pebble being caught in there and it would be fine and that the shocks/struts are supposed to leak some fluid and that is normal. So, they fixed nothing. Now, here I am 5 months later and have only gone 10K miles and my car shakes terribly every time I brake. It now, after the Schoepps service department and ******* claimed that the brakes and rotors on this car were brand new, needs new brakes and rotors. I called the service department on Thurs, March 15 and explained what was going on and they said there is nothing they can do. That there is no warranty on parts such as brakes and rotors. I believe this is impossible, since I was told that if anything was wrong with the vehicle, they would repair it. Their service department, claimed there was nothing wrong with the brakes, rotors or front struts/shocks and would not fix it at the time. Now, it is obvious that it in fact, did need to be fixed at that point in time, as NO brakes and rotors should go out on a car after only 10K miles. I also realized the day I got home from purchasing the vehicle that is was missing a front floor mat and had no owners manual. I immediately called ******* and left a message and two more times sent him an e-mail informing him of these missing components. I also brought it to the service departments attention the two times I was in there and they also did not do anything.

Desired Settlement: Since I was originally told that any problems my mechanic found with the vehicle would be fixed, at their cost, they should still be responsible for these repairs. If they had fixed the problems when I first brought it to their attention, which was within a week of purchasing the vehicle, then we would not have this problem now. Their incompetence to what needed to be done and instead what they felt like doing, has now resulted in exactly what my mechanic said would happen if I did not get these things fixed. My rotors are warped and my front shocks/struts are starting to go out. I would also like the front floor mat and owners manual that I never received.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

Schoepp Motors response to this complaint is as follows:

During the pre-sale safety inspection there was a bulb replaced, the oil was changed as well as the filter, NEW front brakes, pads and rotars were installed.

Customer brought vehicle in on 10-25-2011 complaining of wear in front rotar and leaking front shock/strut assembly. Our ASE Master Certified technician, **** ******* inspected the vehicle and physically showed Ms. ****** her brakes. He pointed out to her that they were indeed new pads and rotars. He also noted that she had picked up a pebble while driving. At the same time he checked the front shock/strut assembly and found absolutely no need to replace them.

Ms. ****** returned on 11-1-2011 complaining that her vehicle "pulled left." Our service department discovered that she again had picked up debris on one of the roads she travels. This time it was a nail that was stuck in her front left tire. Our service advisor, **** *****, authorized a FREE repair of her tire at that time.

Ms. ****** has come back three more times since she purchased her vehicle; for 3 FREE oil changes.

Ms. ****** purchased a vehicle with new pads and rotars and fully functional shocks/struts. She has driven over 10,000 miles; picking up debris and putting wear and tear on HER vehicle. She has not spent a dime for maintenance or repairs. Schoepp Motors has picked up the expense.

We will look at her vehicle again. If she wants repairs done by us, we are willing to perform the service work. However, this time she needs to contribute financially. In an effort to resolve this matter, Schoepp Motors is extending an offer to do the following:

1. Provide an owners' manual at no cost

2. Provide a floor mat at no cost

3. Repair shocks/struts and brakes, customer to pay our internal cost as opposed to paying retail charges for these items at our facility or another service facility.

Note: To address the assertion of our incompetence, I would challenge anyone to find a more competent ASE Master Certified automobile technician than our trusted employee of 17 years, **** *******.

Respectfully,

**** *******, GM Schoepp Motors, Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.Schoepp Motors claims the brakes and rotors were brand new, but when I called and asked about the warranty on the brakes in March, they told me even if there was a manufacturers warranty, it would have been expired since it had been a year since they installed them on the car. So, when I bought the car in October, in reality, the brakes and rotors were already eight months old, not brand new as they claimed. Their claim that a nail was the result of roads I was driving is incorrect. The day after I purchased the car, I noticed that it was pulling to the left and the front tire kept loosing air. My mechanic noted that the car needed an alignment, along with the fact that there was unnatural wear on the front rotor and leaking of the front strut, which would eventually need to be replaced. This work order was shown to Schoepp Motors service department when I went back in and they made a copy of it for their records. They fixed the alignment problem, and told me that was the reason the tires were loosing air. A week later, it was still pulling to the left and the tire was still loosing air. I took it back in, where they found the nail in my tire. These were both problems that I noticed the day after purchasing the vehicle. The "free" oil changes they are referring to, are given to everyone that purchases a vehicle from them, it is not a "special" offer. It came with the purchase of the vehicle. Brakes and rotors are not supposed to wear out in the span of 10,000 miles. My mechanic noted that there was a problem with them within days of me purchasing the vehicle and Schoepp Motors decided it was not a problem worthy of fixing and gave me some story about a pebble being caught in the rotors. Again, this was all within two weeks of purchasing the vehicle, not from "wear and tear" I have put on the vehicle. And to offer me a "free rug and owners manual"... those should have come with the vehicle!

Regards,

***** ******

 

Business Response:

Thanks for bringing to my attention the fact that we also did an alignment for you free of charge. I believe that we have given enough free work. Our offer to make repairs to the brakes, and shocks/struts at our cost vs retail cost either here or at another facility is our final offer.

Respectfully,

**** *******, GM

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

 ***** ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/28/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/23/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1