BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

Salem Autosports, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (262) 862-9100 Fax: (262) 862-9103 View Additional Phone Numbers 25509 Wilmot Rd, Trevor, WI 53179 http://www.salemautosports.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers the sale of used cars, trucks, SUVs, motor homes, travel trailers, and antique cars.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Salem Autosports, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Salem Autosports, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Salem Autosports, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 18, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2004 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/2004 Business incorporated: 03/21/2005 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Bergsten, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Bergsten, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Antique & Classic Auto Dealers - New Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)


Additional Locations

  • 25509 Wilmot Rd

    Trevor, WI 53179 (866) 421-8558 (262) 862-9100

  • PO Box 66

    Salem, WI 53168

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 421-8558(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from this business on 11/21/12. I drove it less than 50 miles over the next three days. On the 3rd day (Saturday 11/24/12) while driving the vehicle I experienced a major breakdown with the rear end. I contacted the dealership while broke down on the side of the road and was asked by the dealer, "What do you want me to do?". I had the vehicle towed to my mechanic, since the dealer offered no solution. He found that the problem with the vehicle was an exisitng condition. The dealer did not make me aware of this condition at the time of sale. When questioned about the condition of the vehicle, the dealer explained to me and my mechanic, during seperate coversations, that he had sent the vehicle to his mechanic 2 weeks prior to my purchase to have the problem corrected. My mechanic spoke with his mechanic and he explained that yes. the vehicle was there for repairs, but when he told the dealer the extent of the repairs required, the dealer told his mechanic he did not want to invest that amount in the vehicle, not to repair it. The dealer was aware of the conidtion of the rear end of this vehicle and did not disclose this to me at the time of purchase. I am now facing close to $800.00 in repairs of which the dealer has offered to pay $250.00.

Desired Settlement: Dealer to pay in full for the repairs to this vehicle by my mechanic.

Business Response: Contacted customer

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a friend drive me to Salem Auto Sports in ********* from ****** ********* I seen a ***** ******* on ***********. I purchased the car. I drove it all the way home. Two days later my dad checked the oil. It was not on the dipstick. My dad thought he'd check the car over. He got busy. A few months went by. I put at least 2 quarts of oil in my car every three days. My dad figured out that my car doesn't leak oil but burns oil. A leak would be a cheaper fix. My dad changed my spark plugs and all the pistons had oil in them. My mom called Salem Auto sports. She talked to the head mechanic. He told her that they only had that car for a week or so and that they didn't get a chance to look it over completely. She also talked to the owner. He told her that it was too late for them to do anything about it. I think it's ridiculous that they sold an oil burner. I took a loan out to pay for a piece of crap. The loan will outlast the car.

Business Response: had the customer contacted me within 30-60 days i would have been able to pay for a repair,or taken the car back. if the car was consuming oil from the start like they said at the rate they said.you would think they would have called right away not 4-5 months later.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1