BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automobile sales, leasing, repairs and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Uptown Ford, Lincoln, Chevrolet, Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Uptown Ford, Lincoln, Chevrolet, Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Uptown Ford, Lincoln, Chevrolet, Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1948 Business started: 01/01/1946 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1946 Business incorporated: 05/12/1955 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Glenn I. Pentler, President Mr. John Pentler, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glenn I. Pentler, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Services Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt Auto Parts & Supplies - Used New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Uptown Chevrolet Uptown Chrysler Dodge Uptown Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep Uptown Lincoln Uptown Lincoln & Ford Uptown Motors, Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment Used Car Purchase-Buyers Guide

Additional Locations

  • 1101 E Commerce Blvd

    Slinger, WI 53086 (262) 670-3800

  • 1595 E Sumner St

    Hartford, WI 53027 (414) 344-0180

  • 2111 N Mayfair Rd

    Milwaukee, WI 53226 (414) 771-9000

  • PO Box 26319

    Milwaukee, WI 53226 (800) 289-8786

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November 2011 I purchased a **** **** ***** with 82,390 miles on it from Uptown Motors. Not long after I purchased the car I noticed that the exhaust system seemed louder than normal but did nothing because I didnt have a extended warranty. Between November 2011 and June 2012 I put roughly 5,500 miles on the car when the transmission began to have problems. I took the car to Al,s ******** * **** ** **** *** ********* ** to be checked out. ** told me that the transmission needed to be rebuilt at a cost of $2,300. He also stated that the car had numerous other defects which included 2 struts, shocks, ball joints, broken front coil springs, flex pipe, res pipe, fftm muffler and gaskets for an additional charge of $2,300 to repair. From his experience ** stated that the front coil springs had been broken BEFORE I purchased the car. Also noting that 5,500 miles was hardly enough miles to be responsible for such damage.It seems to me that the saety check was inaccurate because of the numerous safety issues involved. I purchased the vehicle for an inflated price of $7,100. Today the retail price of my car is $4,500-$4,800. Which also explains the overinflated price. When I contacted Uptown Motors they stated that they were unable to do anything because I had no warranty but for a extra cost I could bring it in to be checked out. **** ******** did this for NO FEE at all. My complaint lies not so much with the transmission but with the numerous defects the car had when it was sold to me. I believe I was taken advantage of because of my age and lack of experience in purchasing used vehicles. I'm on a limited income and believe nobody should have to go through what I have been through.

Desired Settlement: I believe that some form of compensation should be required weather it be helping with the cost of repair or adequate trade in value.

Business Response:

In responsse to Mr. ********'s complaint, this is the first notification we have receieved of this complaint. Typically when a customer has an issue with a vehicle, they would bring the vehicle in to our service department and we would determine the root cause of the issue. This car has not been in our service department since it was picked up (even for an oil change). Though we would not be able to cover all or even the majority of the cost of the repair on a vehicle that was bought 9 months ago, we definitely would have worked with the customer to help keep the costs down. When we set up this 2003 ***** to offer for sale, we did replace the tires and replaced the sway bar links. We inspected the other components of the vehicle and they showed wear indicative of a 9 year old car. In other words, the parts were in working and safe order, but they did show the wear of a vehicle that had over 80,000 miles. In addition, many of the parts that are being recommended for replacement are "wear parts" that wear out over time. They are parts that easily could have many (10s?) thousands of miles of use left but are not as tight as when they were new. As a car owner or retailer, the decision has to be made if you want to make the vehicle as close to new as possible or simply just a safe vehicle to drive. In our experience, a consumer looking to buy a 2003 vehicle is looking to buy a safe vehicle at a reasonable price and that is what we deemed this ***** to be in November of 2011.

Finally, when Mr. ******** purchased his vehicle, he found the car online and called to inquire on the Focus. Based on the fact the car was in nice condition with upgraded features like a moonroof, alloy wheels, and the upgraded *** model, this car stood out to Mr. ******** among the hundreds of other ****** in the area. He deemed it a good value based on his research and stopped into the dealership with his father to look over the vehicle. The vehicle met his expectations and we were able to arrange very aggressive financing terms for him to make the vehicle fit his budget. In no way did we or did we intent to take advantage of any customer. This vehicle was priced aggressively for the equipment and mileage and it was in the condition an average 2003 ***** would be in late in 2011.

We do typically charge a diagnostic charge to offset the expensive diagnostic equipment we offer that the average mechanic does not have access to. We would waive the diagnostic charge if Mr. ******** did want to bring his vehicle here to have us inspect it. The car was bought used and he did not purchase a warranty, but we will do our best to reduce costs if we do verify the concerns and he decides to have the work completed at Uptown.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Uptown Chevrolet in ******* when my car was not working correctly. I had gone through Uptown a couple other times because my insurance covers there and they had a personable staff. When my car acted up the last time as it turned out the problem was my transmission. It took several days (as expected) and it cost around $1,500. A couple months later my car was having problems starting. I took it to another place in my home town that my daughter had recommended. The diagnosis that was given to me was problems with my transmission. When I talked with the mechanic I told him I had taken it to Uptown for my transmission, and he told me they had just taken my money, because nothing looked like it was fixed. Now after a faulty repair, I am out another $1,700 to fix the same problem that I had already fixed. The funny part is my daughter had the same problem with her car and Uptown. I have never been so upset about my car. I will never be going back to Uptown because they cannot seem to fix the problems in any of the cars. More recently I learned of other friends who have also had problems with getting cars fixed at Uptown Chevrolet. They are taking money and not fixing the problem.

Desired Settlement: I want my car to run smoothly, but I do not trust Uptown to fix it. If I got my money back I could take my car to someone who will fix the problem the first time.

Business Response: On December 6, 2011 Mrs. ************** brought her **** ***** ****** to Uptown Chevrolet with an  intermittent no start ad no PRNDL indicator on the dashboard.  The problem was disgnosed to be the transmission mode switch.  Mrs. ************** gave us permission to replace the mode switch at a cost of $1053.95.  After speaking with Mr. **************, the problem with the car now is an internal transmission problem causing a slipping condition, which is not related to the previous repair.  We did not work on any transmission shifting issue in December.  We worked on the selector on the dash. Even though the two issues are not related,  we have offered to diagnose the current problem at no charge to Mr. and Mrs. **************.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/28/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/31/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/13/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1