Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sommer's Buick Subaru

Phone: (262) 242-0100 Fax: (262) 242-6188 View Additional Phone Numbers 7211 W Mequon Rd, Mequon, WI 53092 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.sommerscars.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of new and used automobiles and trucks. Services also include financing, auto parts and supplies, auto body and painting, and auto repair and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sommer's Buick Subaru meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sommer's Buick Subaru include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Sommer's Buick Subaru
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1959 Business started: 01/01/1957 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1957 Business incorporated 12/31/1958 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions
P.O. Box 8041, Madison WI 53708
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (800) 452-3328
Fax Number: (608) 264-7968

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Donald G. Sommer, Owner Mr. Walter B. Sommer, Owner Mr. Howard Gleason, General Sales Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Rose Gavigan, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Donald G. Sommer, Owner
Principal: Mr. Walter B. Sommer, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Sommer's Automotive Sommer's Buick GMC Subaru Sommer's, Inc. Sommers Collision Repair Center
Industry Tips
Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sommer's Buick Subaru has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7211 W Mequon Rd

    Mequon, WI 53092 (262) 242-0100 (888) 494-4193 (888) 792-6191 (888) 491-4770

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August of 2013 my vehicle was in an accident and needed repair. I figured since I bought from Sommers and everything was great till this point I would trust them to repair my car. The car needed some bumper work and paint. When the job was completed the first time, the bumper and sensors where not flush. The auto body manager told me this sometimes happens when they repair a bumper and not replace the bumper. So I said well let's replace it and he told me your insurance company wanted us to repair this and the work carries a warranty. So a few months later I made an appointment to get the bumper repainted due to peeling paint and realign the bumper and sensors. A few months later I had to make another appointment to get the tail light replaced because a gap between the light and bumper let water get in the light. This was paid for in full by completing a supplementary claim, so I said hey lets try to get this bumper done. Nothing. Earlier in 2015 I needed to get the bumper painted again for peeling paint. I had to wait 5 weeks for an appointment this time. In July of 2015 I went to another auto body shop to have them look at this bumper situation. The shop took off the bumper and took pictures. They let me know the sensor mounts where bro*** and glued with epoxy , these should have been replaced with new ones. Sensors where glued into the mounts and held in place with zip ties should have been replaced as well. Last and certainly not least the bumper itself had a hole drilled into it to allow it to be screwed into place to appear to fit better, not to mention the bumper was cut and glued in several places as well. Hmmm $3600 repair????

Desired Settlement: I'm looking for a full refund of all out of pocket funds paid.

Business Response: Thanks for the message. *** and I have been in contact a number of times, I have him scheduled to come in so we can meet, discuss and review the bumper. He will be set up with alternative transportation at no charge while we evaluate the scenario. The repair was done almost 2 years ago so everyone is on the same page regarding why we need to see the car.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ********

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold me a car on February 26, 2015 that had not been properly inspected for safety as well as debris from the previous ******. When weather started to warm up, thousands of larvae started crawling out of the carpets & upholstery. Source was from a long dead rat/mouse and nest in the trunk, completely covering the jack and inside the spare tire. If the car jack & tire had been safety inspected they would have found the problem and never sold the car. We cleaned out the nest and skeletal remains and sprayed bug spray thinking that would take care of it. It did not. Contacted the car dealer four days later on May 6th when we realized the infestation was unending. They told me to call Batzner Pest control who basically told me that the only way to try to kill these would be steam cleaning and we'd have to remove the seats & carpet. Bombs wouldn't do the trick as the bugs in egg state are immune. Called S*****s back and was told they'd get back to me which they did two days later. Was told to bring car in following week. Did that and was told I could pick it up on Friday, May 15th. May 15th, received a call that steam cleaning did not work, and they were trying something else. On the 17th, we drove to the dealership to see if we could see the car and what state it was in. It was sitting outside, with a bug bomb in the center of it. Knowing that would also not work based on what Batzner had told me... at this point, I realized nothing was going to work. Decided that we no longer wanted that disgusting car. It gave me the willies to just sit in it. Called Monday and said we'd like a refund. Was told they'd call us back within 20 minutes, waited two hours and when we didn’t receive a call, we drove to the dealership. We said they could keep a small portion of our money to cover the cost of us using the car for 75 days (although we'd only driven it 200 miles) but were told they'd only give us $8500 (we paid $11,669). We were shocked that they thought we could just throw away $3000 like that. After about four hours of arguing with them, we managed to get $9500 back but still feel that expecting us to pay $2000 for a car that they never should have sold to anyone, and that we'd only used for 75 days was too much. At the time that all this happened, we were told that both ****** of S*****s were on vacation and couldn't be reached. So, on May 26th, I mailed a letter to both the ****** (Walter & Donald S*****) - hoping to hear back from one of them. As of today...nothing. I'm sure they both had a good laugh at our expense.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get at least another $1000 back for the car, preferably $1500. I believe that they should be compensated for us having the car for 75 days or the time they took to attempt to resolve the problem. (Although why they were wasting their time trying to fix the unfixable, I do not know.) But, I feel that $2169 is just way too much to expect us to cover - especially when we are the victims here. Why should we have to foot the bill for their mistake? I'm not asking for extra money, or anything ridiculous...just would like a fair deal. In addition to what they took from us, because we bought two cars in two months, we paid over $1400 in sales tax to the state. This was a horrible ordeal and I'm so very grateful that we never got around to taking any of our grandchildren for a ride in the "fancy" car. We've since purchased another vehicle from a different dealer. Pretty much the same car, but with 40,000 less miles and NO BUGS or DEAD RODENTS, and we paid $469 less than what S*****s charged us for the other car. But, in the long run...because we ended up paying double the sales tax, plus losing $2169 to S*****s, it's a rather expensive purchase.

Business Response:

We apologize that the resolution the customer proposed and we executed is no longer satisfactory. The vehicle passed all inspections and met all Wisconsin state requirements at time of sale. With no obligation to do so, we attempted to help with the issue in question well after the vehicle was out of the dealership's possession.

 

We are glad that the customer found a vehicle that meets their needs.

Business Response:

Hello,

Once again, we are very sorry about the situation. When the vehicle came in on trade, the issue mentioned did not come up to three different parties: the manager who appraised the vehicle, the technician who inspected the vehicle and the person who detailed the vehicle prior to the vehicle being delivered to the customer. Regardless of this, we did respond to the customer's requests immediately when the issue appeared, which was well after the vehicle was out of our possession. We attempted to fix the issue because we wanted to satisfy the customer and have them continue ******hip. At the customer's request we purchased the vehicle back, we didn't have to nor did they need to sell it to us. If the customer wanted to pursue a private party sale, trade it in elsewhere, or discontinue ******hip of the vehicle in some other manner in an attempt to achieve a different outcome, they certainly had the option to do so, and this would have been appreciated from the dealership's standpoint as well. We are glad that the customer found other transportation and hope it serves them well for many years.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Yeah, I bet you're sorry for all the horror we went through.  But you're not sorry that you stole $2000 from us, nor are you sorry that you spent our money on a nice vacation for you and your family.  I'm also very happy that you're happy that we found another vehicle elsewhere.  As a matter of fact, it's such a nice vehicle (as compared to the one you sold us for MORE money) that we're planning to store it winters and are now in the market for another vehicle.  Guess where we WON'T be buying another truck from...we actually found one on your website - which was exactly what my husband is looking for.  But, said,"no...it's not worth the risk.  They don't stand behind what they sell."


And NO...keeping the car (which gave me the total willies every time I got behind the wheel) or selling it to some other innocent person - was NOT an option.  I'm not like you...I couldn't take money from someone and sleep at night after selling a car like that.


Glad you're happy.


And I'm also glad I found a decent car dealership to purchase another Mustang from - one that doesn't have dead rodents or poop or bugs...

Regards,

****** ***********

 

 

10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 25, 2013, I took my 2002 Buick Century to Sommers for an ordinary oil change/lube/filter and tire rotation. For whatever reason, it took the dealership 90 minutes to complete this simple work. After I explained that this was my first visit to Sommers -- and that I was disappointed in how such simple tasks could take so long -- a manager kindly gave me a coupon good for a free oil change/lube/filter. Today (Sept. 5, 2013), I stopped by the dealership today to redeem that coupon -- as well as have an anti-lock brake issue examined, as suggested by an always-on brake warning light. After approximately 80 minutes, another manager spoke to me regarding the brake issue. He presented me with a lengthy list of "needed" repairs -- the least of which, according to the dealership, would have been the brakes. Cumulatively, these repairs would have cost (by the shop's estimate) $3000. After taking the car off the rack and washing the car, the dealership returned the car to me -- 90 minutes after I arrived. It also presented me with a bill for $90 -- the "free" oil change/lube/filter, plus an $85 inspection fee, plus tax. So, let's review: It took another 90 minutes to perform a simple oil change -- as well as an "inspection" that looks like a lengthy fishing trip to offset the cost of the "free" oil change. Some of the repairs -- particularly with regard to the brakes -- may be legitimate. Others appear to be a complete stretch -- especially since none of this came up in the February visit.

Desired Settlement: A full refund mailed to me.

Business Response: In Response to your letter RE: ******* for Mr. ***** ******* please see attached Repair Order documentation that Mr. ******* signed and was offered a copy for the Diagnostic charge of $85.00 for his concern on the ABS light. Sommer's exceeded the estimate by the shop supplies amount, $5.10, which our accounting program should not have included with a complimentary service and estimate, and we will  refund to Mr. *******.  Mr. ******* also received a final invoice which shows the findings from the diagnostics with estimate for the repairs if he chose to have repaired. With every service we do complete a multi-point inspection and several things were found that may need attention soon. We did advise Mr. ******* about those things that may need his attention soon(noted on repair order) for his review and the prices that it would cost to repair each item. It is our policy to inform each and every customer of upcoming repairs especially any safety related  items like tire, brakes , steering  as a service to the customer and many customers rely on us for that information.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In this same forum Sept. 24, I wrote that I was firmly rejecting Sommers' response to my Sept. 5 complaint.

Incredibly, Sommers has replied by: furnishing a copy of its attempt to gouge me.

I'm unsure if this is some attempt to stall, delay or otherwise test my resolve. No one should doubt my resolve --  when anyone attempts any kind of malpractice on my vehicle, I treat it as an assault on a family member.

Simply providing documents does nothing to change to crux of this case. On Feb. 23, Sommers found nothing wrong with my vehicle. Just six months later, it found $3000 worth of things wrong with my vehicle. That's not gouging?

As further evidence of what out-and-out gouging this is, consider: Just last week, it became clear that my vehicle's battery needed to be replaced. A Milwaukee Firestone dealer did this, as well as examined my vehicle overall. It did find an issue with the tires and brakes -- just as Sommers found -- but, notably, found NONE of the other issues Sommers claims are present.

I don't know who's kidding who here. I also can't find the words to reject Sommers' "responses" emphatically enough.

Regards,

**** *******

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Sommer's Buick Subaru
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart