Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Premier Jaguar-Land Rover-Volvo-Porsche

Additional Locations

Phone: (920) 968-5600 Fax: (920) 968-5610 3030 N Victory Ln, Appleton, WI 54913 http://www.bergstrompremier.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers import automobile sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Premier Jaguar-Land Rover-Volvo-Porsche meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Premier Jaguar-Land Rover-Volvo-Porsche include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Premier Jaguar-Land Rover-Volvo-Porsche
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2002 Business started: 08/14/2002 in WI Business started locally: 08/14/2002 Business incorporated 08/14/2002 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Department of Financial Institutions
P.O. Box 7846, Madison WI 53707-7846
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: 608-261-9555

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tim Bergstrom , President & COO Mr. Scott Komp, General Manager Mr. John F. Bergstrom, CEO & Chairman Mr. Jeff Englebert, Vice President of Imports Operations Mr. John Hogerty, Executive Vice President, General Counsel, Secretary and Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Bergstrom , President & COO
Customer Contact: Mr. John Hogerty, Executive Vice President, General Counsel, Secretary and Treasurer
Principal: Mr. Scott Komp, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Bergstrom Jaguar Bergstrom Land Rover Bergstrom Porsche Bergstrom Premier Motorcars, Inc. Bergstrom Volvo Porsche of the Fox Valley
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Before You Buy Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • 1 Neenah Ctr Ste 700

    Neenah, WI 54956 (920) 725-4444

  • 3030 N Victory Ln

    Appleton, WI 54913 (920) 968-5600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/12/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took delivery of a brand new **** ******* *** ******* * on the afternoon of Jan 28 from this Bergstrom dealership. This car had 15 miles on the odometer at time of delivery and was delivered to me with an existing mechanical problem somewhere in the engine area. This car was defective at time of delivery. This problem was not disclosed to me by the dealer. I heard the noise and symptoms of this problem immediately as I drove it out of the dealership. I drove the car to let the engine warm up but the noise remained. I started the car the next morning in my garage and the noise was still present. I then promptly returned the car to the dealership on the morning of Jan 29 to show them the problem/noise. They said they could not hear the noise/problem. I was instructed to drive the car and see if the problem went away or got worse. It got worse. I returned the car to them that same afternoon (Jan 29) and they could then hear the noise both inside and outside the car but they did not know the cause. They kept the car for diagnostics and said they needed to talk to the tech group at ******* ***** *******. The car has been at the dealership since Jan 29. Yesterday, after 4 days, they told me the car needs a new oil separator and vent tube, which requires significant disassembly of the car's rear bodywork, engine externals and also requires the engine to be lowered partially from the car. They are not sure that this will cure the problem, which is understandable. My point is this - I purchased a brand new car that was supposed to be defect free and the dealership should have ensured that it was defect and problem free when it was delivered to me. What I got was a car with an immediate pre-existing mechanical problem that needs to be partially disassembled and repaired,which requires it to be in the shop for days. I didn't buy a repaired or used car, I bought a brand new defect free high end car. The MSRP on this car was $117,940. This is not an inexpensive or cheap car. The management at the dealership has not called me or contacted me in any way. I have called the salesman that sold me this car multiple times over the past couple of days and discussed the issues and my concerns and disappointment and informed him what I would like for a resolution but so far the management at this dealership has ignored me 100%. A repaired car of this value, which I had in my possession for less than 24 hours, that was delivered to me with a pre-existing mechanical problem is not acceptable to me and never will be.

Desired Settlement: I would like this issue resolving quickly please. My first choice would be that the dealer replaces this car with a new car with similar equipment and of equal or greater value and defect free. My second choice is that they reverse my transaction and give me my trade vehicle and money back.

Business Response:

February 8, 2013

SUBMITTED ONLINE

Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin

Dispute Resolution Center

10101 W. Greenfield Avenue, Suite 125

West Allis, WI  53214

 

RE:       Case #******* – **** ****** *****

Dear Dispute Resolution Center:

***** ****, the ******* ******* of the store was made aware of Mr. *****’s concerns on Saturday, February 2 and has been in contact with Mr. ***** every day since then.  The vehicle has been fixed under warranty and Mr. ***** picked it up on Monday, February 4 in the afternoon.  We sought help from ******* on an exchange program, but to no avail.  After talking with Mr. *****, Mr. **** worked out a deal with him to give him back retail dollars towards the purchase of a new ******* from our lot.  He agreed and is happy.  We consider this matter resolved.

Very truly yours,

 

**** ** *******, **

********* **** *********

  & ******* *******

 

JJH:cah

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by Bergstrom ******* of the Fox Valley in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that although the first problem with my car was successfully fixed (it took 1 week to identify and fix) this does not fully resolve my complaint because a second problem exists with my car and has apparently existed since the car was returned to me from the dealership on Feb 4 following the first repair. This second problem may have existed from day one but neither I or Bergstrom know this for sure. My car now hesitates/stumbles at approx. 2500 RPM in 2nd and 3rd gear when driving in manual mode under light throttle. I informed Mr. **** of this symptom and potential problem on Feb 5 and again on Feb 11 when we spoke on the phone. However, to be perfectly fair I must point out that I told him that I hadn't driven the car enough (due to bad weather) to be 100% sure if this was a real problem or not. Once I was able to drive the car more it was apparent that this was a real problem and I called him on Feb 16 to inform him. My car went back into the dealership on Monday Feb 18 and the ******* technician came for a road test drive with me and he could feel and hear the hestitation. He promptly ran diagnostics on my car but no fault codes showed up so no solution was apparent or offered. I was told to drive the car to see if it gets better or worse or goes away. I drove it more that afternoon and I was able to feel the hestiation also in 4th gear at 2800 RPM. I reported this back to the ******* ******* ******* on Feb 19 and he called me back Feb 20 to say they had researched this but unfortunately found no information or reports of similar problems with other **** cars. I have not heard from anyone at the dealership since Feb 20, including Mr. ****, and I am not currently aware of any plan that the dealership has to fix this latest problem with my car. Perhaps they are hoping the problem will fix itself! Meanwhile I still have a "new" car that does not run correctly and has never been problem free since the first day I took delivery. Therefore, I haven't had a single problem free day of ownership yet. I have no interest or intention of driving this car with this engine hestitation problem. I have owned more than 55 cars in my life and this is without doubt the worst ownership experience I have ever had.

Regards,

**** *****

 

 

Business Response:

March 5, 2013

SUBMITTED ONLINE

Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin

Dispute Resolution Center

10101 W. Greenfield Avenue, Suite 125

West Allis, WI  53214

 

RE:       Case #******* – **** ****** *****

Dear Dispute Resolution Center:

***** ****, the ******* ******* of the store was made aware of Mr. *****’s latest concerns and has been in contact with Mr. ***** again.  Mr. **** agrees that the best thing to do is to buy back the vehicle from Mr. ***** and go to work to sell him a different vehicle.  He emailed Mr. ***** with this resolution (as Mr. ***** is out of the country for a couple weeks) and Mr. ***** responded on March 2 that he agrees with this resolution and will bring in the vehicle and title.  Mr. **** scheduled an appointment with him for March 13.

Very truly yours,

**** *. *******, **

********* **** *********

  & ******* *******

 

JJH:cah

3/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made an appointment for December 12th to drop off my 2005 Volvo XC90 T6 to have a clicking noise diagnosed. When I dropped off the vehicle I added that the spark plugs were due to be changed and depending on the cost of the repair I might want to have that done at the same time since I live in **** ** ***. There was also another squeking noise I wanted diagnosed (which they were unable to locate even when given specific instructions on the best way to hear it.) and i was due for a tire rotation. So the service advisor, **** ****** said she would have it all checked out and give me a call when they had an estimate prepared. She promised to give me a call if the diagnostic charges would exceed two hours, she didn't and i was charged for more than two hours worth. I left the vehicle at the shop and was given a loaner, it took at least fifteen minutes to "dig one up" which I thought was a little funny for such a seemingly professional buisness but i made it clear it was no big deal and i didn't mind waiting. After a few days **** called, she said the clicking noise IS coming from the drivers side axle. She said the clicking noise is the sound of the part going bad and replacing it will fix the problem. she said the repair costs around $850 BUT their are a few other things that need replacing too. tie rods, front strut mounts, spring seats, support plates, and the vehicle would require an allingment after all the new parts are installed. thats when she told me they couldn't locate the other squeaking sound. ok i said, how much to have it all done, with the plugs, the tire rotation, everything, so its up to date with regular scheduled maintanence, all ready to go. $2500.00 she said, ouch, but fine, lets get it all done at once. she did make it clear that i didnt have to have all the other stuff done but that the other parts were shot and needed replacing. i asked her specifically before i gave her the go ahead, i said, if i spend this money, the clicking will be gone, everything will be up to date and the techs DID'NT find ANYTHING else that needs fixing. NO she said, she promised if i spent the money the car would be ready to go and they didnt find ANYTHING else that needed replacing. i told her to go ahead with everything. she said she had to order the axle and it would be a week or so. a few days pass and **** calls and says my cars ready, it was sooner than i expected and was grateful. i made an appointment to pick it up. when i went in to pick up the car i meet with **** to pay my bill, i had a ten-percent off any repair coupon i got in the mail and she was happy to provide the discount which was almost $250 We wrapped up the paperwork and she gave me my keys and i went out to drive away. as soon as i pulled out of the parking spot i noticed two things. first the clicking sound, it hadnt been fixed whatsoever and the alingment was off, the steering wheel was not at twelve o clock, it dosent sound like a big deal but when i bought the vehicle i took it in to bergstrom to have a few things looked at, one of them was the alingment, at that time (june) the steering wheel was way off, more like two o clock, that experience was flawless by the way, i dealt with a woman named ****** and she brought the tech into the office and i was able to talk to him before anything was done, he was truthful about what needed to be done and even had tips on how to SAVE money!! i looked over my old paperwork but couldnt find his name. anyway, i had already paid for TWO alingments, one in june and now one in december and now the wheel was off again. but the clicking was my big concern. i turned around immediatly and went back in to see ****. she was obviously embarrassed and brought the tech who suppossedly worked on my vehicle out to take a ride with me. she stood in the parking lot while we made a lap. the tech heard the clicking instantly and it was ABSOULUTLY OBVIOUS he'd never heard the sound before. he didn't know what to say and was also embarrassed, i was upset but assured him i wasn't. we parked and i went back to talk to ****, she had heard the sound from where she stood in the lot. i had an appointment so she told me to bring it back when i was done and drop it off, again. while i was at my appointment it became clear that they never even heard the sound i had brought it in for, they just put it up on the rack and looked for worn out parts. the sound, by the way was the only thing wrong, otherwise it drove perfectly, and that is where i made my mistake, i let them talk me into stuff it didnt need. anyways, i brought it back an hour later and **** was there and set me up with another loaner, this time it was ready and waiting. i made special mention of the wheel being off center also. so a week goes by, no call, then the next week **** calls and says they still cant figure out what the problem is, ok no problem i say. I mention the drive-shaft and u-joints and that i had a work van that made a similiar noise in the past. she assured me they would check it if they hadn't already. another week, she calls and says they replaced the other front axle, AT THEIR EXPENSE, but that it didnt fix the sound, she said she was bringing in an engineer from volvo to help. a few more days and she calls and says its the torque converter, which as far as i can tell is the drive shaft. it's another $1300 but she would make sure i didn't pay for labor. i was so upset i couldn't speak. to me, the moment they messed up they were then responsible to fix the problem at their expense no matter what. also i was lied to, by **** who said she would call if diagnostics went over two hours, and when she assured me the clicking sound was the "part going bad" She knew i was upset and asked if i wanted to think about so we hung up. i called back later with a list of concerns, one was the tech, techs themselves, why did they have to bring in an engineer to locate a problem i mentioned to her over the phone! not to mention ********* is supposed to be world-class in it's field. second i mentioned the alingment was off, she assured me it would be fixed as well. third it was obvious the tech had never even heard the clicking sound in the first place!! if i wanted some greasy scam artist to replace anything that looked worn out i would take it down the street in my home town. i then asked how much the labor was on a repair like that to see how much she was saving me, she said a couple hours worth, so $250, maybe. i tried to haggle, i asked her if i should talk to her supervisor but she said it probably wouldnt make a difference. somebody has to pay for the part she said. later i thought about it and remember the axle they replaced at their expense, who paid for that part? i could tell the free labor was just her first bargaining chip but she assured me that she was worried about calling me and made sure to "get me somthing" i was SO frustrated, i told her to go ahead, she said it would be another week and added she would still apply the coupon i originally brought in, she told me with the discount it would be another $1150 if you've ever been at the mercy of a huge company you know what the week was like. i didnt feel like i could object, the ACTUAL problem was dangerous if not fixed while all the other crap she sold me was not. and that is another problem, she, was a salesperson, she knew nothing about cars in general, she just took what the techs told her and sold it to me, they might have even said well this and that dont really need replacing but... anyways a week goes by, she calls, i make an appointment, go in, pay, the ACTUAL total was $1227 i get my keys and drive away, all the while mind you i've been extreamly polite and reassuring. a half mile down the road i notice the alingment is STILL off, the wheel is not at twelve o clock. i was so upset i just kept driving and have been living with it for a few weeks, almost afraid to call them. also when i turn a corner there is a rumbling in the wheel, it's very noticable but im not sure if they messed somthing up or if it's because they rotated the tires and the newer tires have bigger ridges. again, i'm worried if i make an appointment they'll "FIND" something else that needs replacing. i made sure to ask the first time around if they found anything else that needs replacing, lie, the torque converter. the clicking is the sound of the part going bad, lie, the sound wasn't coming from that part at all, replacing it didn't fix anything. i go to ********* because theres a level of trust and peace of mind with a big dealership, not to mention they are supposed to employ EXPERTS, all of that is trashed now. they are no better than the greasy shop on the corner. They had my vehicle from December 13th to January 25th

Desired Settlement: i dont expect a full refund, but i do want to be refunded the entire cost of the second repair, which came to $1227.35 plus the cost of diagnostics over two hours worth, plus the cost of an alingment. I want the vehicle re-alinged, the steering wheel set to twelve-o'clock, and the front end inspected to see if the rumbling when i turn a corner is something that needs attention, if so i want it fixed all at no cost to me.

Business Response:

February 25, 2013

 

SUBMITTED ONLINE

 

 

Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin

Dispute Resolution Center

10101 W. Greenfield Avenue, Suite 125

West Allis, WI  53214

 

RE:       Case #******* – ******* *. *****

 

Dear Dispute Resolution Center:

 

***** ****, *** ******* ******* of the store reported that he spoke with Mr. ***** and is having Mr. ***** bring his vehicle in on Monday, February 25 to have his car fixed at our cost.  We will provide him with a loaner vehicle while we are fixing his vehicle.  We also agreed to reimburse him the amount he requested.  Mr. **** reported that Mr. ***** is happy with this resolution and has agreed to give the BBB his ok on this matter.  We consider this matter resolved.

 

Very truly yours,

 

 

 

**** ** ******** **

********* **** *********

  & General Counsel

 

***:***

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *****