BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto sales, service, parts, and financing of new and pre-owned Ford vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Metro Ford and Kia of Madison meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Metro Ford and Kia of Madison include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Metro Ford and Kia of Madison include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Metro Ford and Kia of Madison
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 25, 1992 Business started: 12/01/2011 in WI Business started locally: 12/01/2011 Business incorporated: 11/18/2011 in DE
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Eric Barrows, Customer Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Barrows, Customer Contact
Related Businesses
Metro Kia of Madison
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Services New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Metro Ford and Kia of Madison offers the following product(s): Ford

Alternate Business Names
Wisconsin Auto Center, LLC
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment Wisconsin Auto Insurance Requirements

Additional Locations

  • 5422 Wayne Ter

    Madison, WI 53718 (608) 246-3600 (888) 981-7082 (608) 246-3620

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (608) 246-3620(Phone)
  • (888) 981-7082(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 12/27/13 The day I went to the dealer to conduct a diagnosis for my Explorer, they told me it would take 2 hours, but they were delayed 4 hours. After that they gave me the report, the person I waited on me told me not to drive the truck because the transmission needed to be repaired. That day the truck delivered them without any leakage problem in the transmission, but to my surprise the next day (12/28/13) all transmission fluid was on the floor (I have pictures to prove it). When I went to complain to the dealer (12/30/13), they told me that this happens, that coincidence. To this day I could review below to find out what the problem was leaking and note that they took cover on the servo and not relocated properly, also I have picture to prove it

Desired Settlement: I want them to return my truck as I deliver, without LEAK.

Business Response:

In response to complaint Case # ******* regarding a 2002 Ford Explorer with ******* miles on it. The Customer brought it in to us on December 27, 2013 to have us  diagnose a  clunking noise when driving  under 45 miles per hour when warm and the service engine soon light coming on. We road-tested, inspected and diagnosed the concern. Our transmission technician determined the clunking noise was coming from inside of the transmission and that  2nd gear  in the transmission was not working. The clunking noise was coming from the 2nd gear servo piston which was worn-out and as a result was  wearing a hole thru the side of the transmission thru the servo cover. Our service advisor explained the situation to the customer and told him that transmission failure was imminent and that the vehicle should not be driven any more that a short distance. The transmission was going to fail soon and could leave the customer stranded. Due to the high number of miles on the transmission and the wear in the transmission case we recommended that the lowest cost option would be to replace the transmission assembly  with a used transmission assembly from an auto dismantler and provided an estimate of $2995.00 for parts and labor. Against our recommendation the customer continued to drive the vehicle without repairing it and the servo spring wore thru the side of the case and the cover broke which allowed fluid to leak transmission from the transmission. This fluid leak is what the customer is referring to in the complaint. Our diagnosis and advice were correct and what happened is exactly what we had warned the customer would happen if he continued to drive the vehicle.

 

There were other concerns with the vehicle as well that we made the customer aware of. The drive belt, drive belt tensioner and idler pulley were badly worn and needed to be replace. The left front wheel bearing was worn out and an evaporative emission hose was broken. There were diagnostic trouble codes stored in the vehicle computer for the transmission concern as well as the ABS/Wheel bearing concern and the evaporative concern. We also performed a manufacturer recall repair #***** to the speed control circuit which was at no charge.

 

Attached you will find a copy of the invoice that was provided to the customer the day he was here for the diagnosis.

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* *****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I need to comment on the deceptive advertising practices used by Metro Ford of Madison. I was sent a scratch and win advertisement by Metro Ford, which, when scratched off, shows me to be a winner of a new F150 or $25,000 cash. But when I went to the Metro Ford on May 18, 2013, they told me that being shown as a winner of one of the prizes meant that I had won some prize. I did not stay to find out what that prize would be, as I was disgusted at this deceptive advertizing. According to the Deceptive Mail Prevention and Enforcement Act of 1999, advertisements must be readable and understandable by an average member of the target audience and must include all terms and conditions, including the rules and entry procedures. As English is my first language, and the only fine print included the odds of winning, Metro Ford is in my opinion at a minimum in clear violation of the Deceptive Mail Prevention and Enforcement Act. The deceptive advertisement did not state that an additional condition of winning was to match, not only the three poker chips across, down or diagonally, but also to match the reservation number to win the prize shown. The dealership personnel explained the deceptive advertising as shown above, but did not offer any remedy when I stated that I did not feel this was fair. This shows poor control of your Ford agency, garage, dealer or store and wasted my time and left a bad taste in my mouth. As a buyer of many Ford vehicles for the past 40 years, I can't adequately describe my disappointment, and will not be setting foot in Metro Ford again. ***** * *****

Desired Settlement: Metro Ford of Madison should be required to provide the prize shown requiring only the conditions shown on the deceptive advertisement they mailed to me - I matched the 3 poker chips and my prize is $25,000 or a new Ford F-150.

Business Response:

Due to printing errors in a mailer for a sale event scheduled at Metro Ford, the sale event was  cancelled along with any prizes associated therewith.

After consulting  with the Wisconsin Department of Transportation, Metro Ford decided that it was in the best interest of all parties to cancel the sale scheduled to end on May 31, 2013. Wal-Mart gift cards were given to those who brought in their mailers by May 31, 2013. This information was posted on the Metro Ford website at the direction of the Wisconsin Department of Transportation.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I purchased my vehicle in 2009 I was signed up for the Tires for Life warranty. My tires have almost 100,000 miles on them and still not have been changed. They say the tread has to be under 4/32 to change them but the tread reading has been like this since 2011! There is no way the tread hasn't changed in 2 years. This is a major safety issue!

Desired Settlement: Replace the tires with good quality ones immediately!

Business Response:

   I have verfied Ms. ****** is part of the tires for life program.  She just needs to bring the car into service.  The service advisor will measure the tires with Ms. ******.  If the tire depth is uner 4/32 we will replace.  She can ask for ******* or ***** in service.

 

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******** ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Nov 2012 I received an email and mail advertising from Metro Ford of *******. I emailed them and asked to be removed from their mail and email lists. In Jan 2013 they mailed me another ad.

Desired Settlement: Removal from their mail and email lists.

Business Response: We will remove the customer from our system. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The problem being is as noted. This dealer was involved with financing a new truck,What took place was that they had run my credit,with my social security number. Problem being is, no one had permission to use, dont know how they got it,but they never checked any type of identification to see if the person they were checking ,was that person.Days later i get not only two denials,but three denials from credit companies. Would have never know,except in the mail came copies of denials from credit agencies. Now all this is now on my credit report.From talking to someone all i get was that if the paper work would have been signed, i would have a new truck in my name, and nothing to show for it.

Desired Settlement: How can credit be run on someone,without proper identification,if your not that person,you should not even be talking to them.Something has to be done to clear all those inquires off my credit report.I dont know what the desired out come would have to be,but to me,nothing was done to check anything,and as far as i can see,if all comes down to idenity theft,and the dealer never took the time to check out anything.I have called the dealer, all they want to do is put the blame to a subcontractor,but to me, they are representing that dealer,and the dealer takes no responsibility for anything.

Business Response: I wanted to let you know what was going on with the Ronald ****** complaint.  We are currently working with Mr. ****** towards a resolution, I have made contact with him and wanted to know if you needed anything from me at this point since it is in progress?  Please let me know at your convenience, 

Thank you, 

****** ********
General Manager
Metro Ford of Madison
**** ***** *******
******** ** *****

PH: ###-###-####
FA: ###-###-####
**************************

"Home of the 20 year 200,000 mile warranty on every New Ford"  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to look for a car. I have a lien on my current vehicle for more than it is worth. The salesperson went ahead and looked in to it for me because they had a "guaranteed $3500 cash for clunker incentive". When I went in the next day after he told me I was approved, I let him know I would like to look at a few vehicles. The salesperson assured me he had a few in mind for me. When I got there he would only show me one vehicle (that was traded in only an hour before I got there). The vehicle had obvious damage to the front bumper and scratches over the entire car. When I told him I was not interested in that car, he brought the finance manager out and they both gave me an attitude. They argued with me until I test drove it, would not give me a price until they wrote up an agreement that they could file an inquiry with the bank. The price was $3,000 over the blue book value for a car in excellent condition. When my boyfriend, who is NOT on the loan at all, went in to talk to them, they gave him confidential information regarding my loan, without my permission.

Desired Settlement: There really isn't anything they can do to settle this. I want people to be aware of the treatment they provide to people with less than perfect credit. Realize I was APPROVED to purchase a car and they would not offer me but one option AND treated me poorly!

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 

Please see attached response.

 

Thank you,

 

****** ********

Stacy Juedes

BBB of Wisconsin

10101 W. Greenfield Ave., Ste. 125

Milwaukee, WI 53214

 

Dear ***** ******:

 

Thank you for the opportunity to complete the facts and events involving Ms. *****’s complaint.  The issue was related to her lack of choice in vehicles that we offered her.  Without going into any specifics of her situation, the bank, loan guides and our own inventory dictated which vehicle would work for her.  It is true that Ms. ***** was approved, however the bank had stipulations that she could not meet.  Multiple people, including myself, made her aware of this fact.  She called and talked to me prior to making this complaint.  I asked her if there was anything I could do in an attempt to satisfy her. She said no and just wanted to make me aware of the situation.  I thanked her for her time and ended the conversation. 

   

Sincerely,

  ****** ********

General Manager

Metro Ford of Madison

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I had specifically informed the sales person at Ford that I wanted to see a few cars before making a decision. He stated that he could show me a few vehicles. However, when I arrived they had just received a trade in and refused to show me the other options.  I told him I COULD meet the stipulations but because of their lack of cooperation and poor attitude toward me, I declined. What they are now saying is that I couldn't meet the stipulations (this is untrue, I can - but chose not to) and that they only had one car to offer me. A car lot only has one car to show a customer? Also, they released the amount of the down payment to my boyfriend. This is confidential information and should not be released.

 

Regards,

******** *****

 

 

Business Response:

Per the original complaint:
Desired Settlement:
There really isn't anything they can do to settle this. I want people to be aware of the treatment they provide to people with less than perfect credit. Realize I was APPROVED to purchase a car and they would not offer me but one option AND treated me poorly!
There has been no desired settlement requested. 
 
Thank you foru your time,
 
****** ********

Business Response: I have left ******** a voice message the past two days and have not been responded to?  What should I do going forward? Please advise, ****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased a vehicle on January 5th 2012 I got to Metro **** around 10:30am and did not leave until 4:45pm very long day that is not the problem with Metro **** I was going to purchase a different vehicle that day and thought if my husband did not like it i would be able to get my old vehicle back and no questions asked. I brought the vehicle back that night at 6:00pm and was told I would not be able to get my own vehicle back I had to purchase another vehicle off the lot and I asked why they said I had signed a form stating I was giving up my car no matter what if I did not like the 1st vehicle I would have to pick a different one out. I had cried and was not handling what had just happened to me very good asking why can't I just get my own vehicle back all I want is my vehicle back, sorry no is all I got back alot. I broke down and said fine find me a vehicle that fits my needs and dollar amount. I test drove a **** ****** vehicle at 7:30pm could not see if there were scratches, dents or anything like that because it was very dark and they were closing in a half an hour so everything was a rush. I got home and my husband looking at it saw on the bumper directly right under whomever had this vehicle had rubbed up against maybe a very tall cement block and made a couple good marks on the bumper so now instead of a white vehicle on the bumper it was grey with deep marks on it. I was devistated again by this dealership who has done me wrong for the second time. I went back the next day and said that I would have never purchased this vehicle if I had seen this that night and had showed them the windshield as well it had scratches on the driver side from the wiper it was very bad. Metro **** did replace the windshield and touched up the bumper but it still looks bad like they put white out on it the whites don't even match. I wanted to talk to the Kevin Doerr who is the store head manager and he has not called me back.

Desired Settlement: I had gone in February 27th 2012 to talk to the body show manager and we talked and she had a lead tech come out and look at it remembers my vehicle and said they were only to touch it up per the used sales manager. All I want is the bumper replaced new,they would not do that at no charge to me I did get a estamite from Metro Ford and it would be $643.00 for me to replace with all the trouble I had I don't think I should have to pay.

Consumer Response: **SEE ATTACHED DOCUMENT**

Business Response: in response to complaint it seems that our dealership took an extra amount of time to find not just one but two vehicles that fit the customers wants and needs. when presented with a potential safety issue such as scratched windshield glass we replaced immediately. The concern of a scrape on lower bumper on a used vehicle is a cosmetic item that was touched up with paint in our body shop. we do not replace bumpers that are undamaged, we touch them up as normal procedure. if the color match is unacceptable, we can try to match paint better if possible.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,

 

**** *******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1