Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mercedes Benz of Elmbrook

Phone: (262) 821-5000 Fax: (262) 785-4179 View Additional Phone Numbers 2230 E Moreland Blvd, Waukesha, WI 53186 http://www.mbofelmbrook.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm is an authorized Mercedes Benz dealership selling new and used vehicles. Services include auto repair, auto body, auto parts, detailing and vehicle storage.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mercedes Benz of Elmbrook meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Mercedes Benz of Elmbrook include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mercedes Benz of Elmbrook
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 02, 2006 Business started: 03/04/2004 in WI Business started locally: 03/04/2004 Business incorporated 03/04/2004 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Department of Financial Institutions
P.O. Box 7846, Madison WI 53707-7846
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: 608-261-9555

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Thomas H. Dexter, COO Ms. Amanda Jeske, Customer Service Mr. Larry Mackowski, Former General Manager Mr. Scott Nelson, Service Manager Mr. Steve Willer, Body Shop Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas H. Dexter, COO
Customer Contact: Ms. Amanda Jeske, Customer Service
Related Businesses
International Autos, Inc. International Infiniti, LLC
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Services Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Hours of Operation
Mon-Thur 9am-8pm, Fri 9am-6pm, Sat 9am-5pm. Sun Closed.
Alternate Business Names
Waukesha Imports, LLC.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment Used Car Purchase-Buyers Guide

Additional Locations

  • 2230 E Moreland Blvd

    Waukesha, WI 53186 (262) 821-5000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 24, 2014 my car was hit by another in a slow impact collision. I proceeded to Audi International Service in West Allis where I purchased the car, who sent me to their body shop at Mercedes of Elmbrook, where I received an initial estimate of $3,800. Over the following several weeks more and more work was ordered by the body shop resulting ultimately in repair cost exceeding $9,000. The car never felt completely right though after picking it up from the repair in December 2014. It fish tailed in wet conditions even at low speeds of around 35-40 miles/hour, at higher speeds on the interstate it would unexpectedly and suddenly break out in the rear where the car had originally been hit in the collision. This caused me one time to almost side swipe a semi truck and on other occasions being pulled off the interstate into the ditch. I brought this to Audi service personnel and Elmbrook Mercedes representatives on numerous occasions throughout 2015, including but not limited to January 20, April 29, October 13 and November 10, 2015. But each time I was told I simply needed different tires. This is a 2014 model car and had brand new tires in the first place. In November 2015, I noticed severe deterioration from wear on only the very outside of only the rear passenger tire. All three other tires seemed in equally good condition. The tire in question is the area where the original collision occurred. On November 10, 2015 I complained again both at Int'l Audi and Elmbrook Mercedes, who told the insurance who were willing to cover this under the original claim that the car was fine when it originally left there after the repair. The insurance advised me to get a second quote which I did at another area body shop on November 28, 2015. There the car required additional repair in the amount of $2,201.39 dollars, including but not limited to alignments, replacement of two bent wheels and more. This body shop informed me in writing the car had either never been properly aligned or not aligned at all during the original repair at Mercedes of Elmbrook in December of 2014, very likely causing this extensive additional damage. Service at Audi International acknowledged all along there was this damage, but deferred to Mercedes of Elmbrook each time I spoke with them because that was where the car had been repaired originally. Elm brook Mercedes remained uncooperative through the end. The car works perfectly now after the second repair at the different shop on November 28, 2015 and I am looking at a minimum for reimbursement by Elmbrook Mercedes for the second repair that was necessitated by them not properly repairing the car the first time.

Desired Settlement: The car works perfectly now after the second repair at the different shop on November 28, 2015 and I am looking at a minimum for reimbursement in the full amount of $2,201.39 by Elmbrook Mercedes for the second repair that was necessitated by them not properly repairing the car the first time in December 2014.

Business Response:

Mr. ***** came into our body shop at Mercedes-Benz of Elmbrook to get body damage repaired on his Audi A6 in December of 2014.  The car, when leaving the body shop, was aligned to proper specifications by our Infiniti dealership in Waukesha, located on the same property as Mercedes-Benz of Elmbrook.  We have documentation to support this on a repair order (Infiniti repair order 47701).  At the time of the accident, Mr. *****’s car had 10,116 miles on it.  We have absolutely no record at either store of Mr. ***** coming in to address his concerns in January of 2015.

Mr. ***** did come into our Audi Milwaukee store February 13, 2015 to address a loud noise from his car. This visit resulted in some bolts for a heat shield being tightened, nothing in regards to “fish tailing” or alignment/tire concerns were documented on this repair order (474391). The mileage at this visit in February 2015 was 12,258.  Mr. ***** returned to our Audi Milwaukee service department again April 28, 2015 for routine maintenance, and made no mention again of any “fish tailing” or alignment/tire issues (478741), and the mileage at this visit was 16,607.

It is not until October 13, 2015 that Mr. ***** brought his car into the Audi Milwaukee service center because of an alignment/tire concern (489169) and the mileage at this visit was 24,981.

It is the expressed opinion of both Audi Milwaukee and Mercedes-Benz of Elmbrook that from the time the customer picked up the car from the original body shop repair in January 2015, until the time he first made mention of alignment/tire concerns it was 10 months later. In those 10 months the customer had driven his car 14,865 miles. During this time the customer had visited Audi Milwaukee’s service center twice, neither time making any mention of the alignment/tire concerns.

By Mr. *****’s own admission he had gone into the ditch on different “occasions” which could have significantly affected the alignment of his car.

Our determination is that there has been entirely too much time and too many miles driven from the time of original repair at Mercedes-Benz of Elmbrook in December 2014/January 2015 until any documented concern in October 2015 to find any fault in the repairs at Mercedes-Benz of Elmbrook. 


Consumer Response: The shop's admission of the missing bolt is further proof of their careless and incomplete repair work in December 2014. What’s more, admitting they recorded only some and not all of my visits and complaints further evidences their lack of care and even seems reminiscent of a cover up in retrospect, an attempt to “ignore the issues away."

The shop's admission of the missing bolt is further proof of their careless and incomplete repair work in December 2014.  What’s more, admitting they recorded only some and not all of my visits and complaints further evidences their lack of care and even seems reminiscent of a cover up in retrospect, an attempt to “ignore the issues away."

Business Response:

When Mr. ***** came to Mercedes-Benz of Elmbrook to have his car repaired, as mentioned in a previous response, the car was aligned properly.   Again, we have documentation to support this in the form of a repair order from International Infiniti.  All alignments at all International Autos stores are only performed by factory-trained technicians.

Our experienced service managers find it very odd that any reputable body shop would “put in writing” that the car had never been aligned properly 10 months previous.  The vehicle could have  easily become misaligned literally the minute he left the parking lot of the body shop.  Any curb, pot hole, or road debris is more than enough to misalign the car.  In 15,000 miles worth of driving, there is a very large chance the vehicle became misaligned during every day driving.  If there was a bent wheel during time of pick up, the vehicle’s steering wheel would have been shaking, and Mr. ***** would have never made it more than a few blocks without returning to Mercedes-Benz of Elmbrook.

Just because this other body shop charged him for parts and labor we cannot conclude that any of the parts or labor were necessary.  Nor can we know the price for the work is valid.

As far as claims of carelessness, it is company policy to write a repair order anytime someone’s vehicle comes in for any sort of service or repair.  To look at tires, to inspect a car, top off oil, etc.  All concerns of the customer’s are documented, and the repair order with all concerns listed must be signed by the customer.  However, it is not company policy to document customer concerns if they are not bringing in their vehicle for any sort of service.  Otherwise we would have to write a repair order for every customer phone call as well, which is absurd.  So Mr. ***** just "stopping in" would not have been documented, which is not unusual.

Mr. ***** claims to have spoken with “some guy”, which has become important because he has no name for with whom he spoke at the body shop about his concerns.  The only customer-facing employee in the body shop is a woman, Judy, who is our body shop manager.  She would have been the only person on site who could speak knowingly about Mr. *****’s vehicle, and she had not heard from Mr. ***** until October 2015.

The bolt which was tightened in February of 2015 was not missing.  It was merely tightened, and has nothing to do with any negligence on Mercedes-Benz of Elmbrook’s part.  Bolts can loosen themselves with every day driving—this claim is absolutely invalid. 

Further, Judy at Mercedes-Benz of Elmbrook heard from Mr. *****’s insurance in October 2015 stating that he was upset about his repairs.  Again, he waited until after 10 months had passed and drove 15,000 miles to make any claims  to us or his insurance company of improper repair.

Our initial position stands-- absolutely too much time and too many miles have been driven to assume any fault on behalf of Mercedes-Benz of Elmbrook. 


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

IA's response is completely unsatisfactory.

My car was in an accident November 24, 2014 with the other party being responsible.  Their insurance was required to pay IA for the complete repair.  But for IA’s failure to properly repair my car as IA promised at the time, I would not be out the sum of $2201.39.   There is no situation or circumstance under which I should have had to pay this additional amount.  IAs failures were documented by my repeated visits to both the dealership in West Allis and Mercedes of Elmbrook (I do have the names of the IA representatives I spoke with each time, simply opted not to post them in my original complaint pursuant to BBB’s policy to not personalize complaints) and the written statement of the mechanic at the second repair shop where the repair was finally completed. There is no issue other than IA’s refusal to take responsibility for its own shoddy repair.  No business should receive top ratings from BBB when that business refuses to rectify obvious and documented breach of its responsibilities to fulfill its contract of repair.
That the mechanic at the other repair shop even went to the length of putting into writing that IA either never properly aligned or didn’t align the car at all during the original repair in December of 2014, constitutes nothing less than further evidence of the poor repair service and inadequate subsequent customer care thatIA provided in this case.

The additional miles that IA contends were added to the car since the time of the shoddy December 2014 repair service, are the direct result of me having to continue driving the car without IA addressing the safety concerns I raised with them repeatedly over the course of many months.  Only after I eventually determined in October 2015 that IA was not going to take responsibility for the faulty original repair and alleviate the safety issues I’d raised with them repeatedly, did I take the insurance company’s advice and had the repair completed at a different shop, where the safety concerns were properly diagnosed and successfully removed.

Audi is a great product with a great image, I have owned numerous over the years.  That is why I am especially surprised and disappointed this specific dealership would risk tarnishing the Audi product brand and its otherwise good image with their irresponsible lack of attention and responsiveness to the safety issues they caused by not properly completing the original repair in the first place.  This is augmented by their poor customer service during my rebuffed months-long attempt to seek a resolution to said safety issues during my numerous visits to the IA dealerships, and most recently through their unprofessional and rude correspondence in relation to this BBB complaint.

The car works perfectly now after the second repair at the different shop on November 28, 2015 and I am looking, at a minimum, for reimbursement by IA in the amount of $2,201.39 for the second repair that was necessitated by IA not properly repairing the car in the first place.


Regards,

**** *****

7/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was dropped off for bodywork and also needed the left front wheel to be replaced due to the fact it was bent. The wheel was replaced with another bent wheel, however, it took a lot of time and money to find that out. After picking up the vehicle after the repairs were done, it was pulling, severely, to the left. I took the vehicle back for realignment and it did not correct the problem, so I decided to take it to a different repair shop for alignment. It also did not fix the problem. The level of frustration was reaching my breaking point so I took it to a third repair shop who suggested replacing the 2 front control arms and then try realigning it again. Well, after doing all that it also did not correct the problem. So, I took it back to the repair shop that replaced the control arms for further diagnostic, and after keeping my vehicle for another entire day trying to figure it out, they came to find out the left front wheel was bent.

Desired Settlement: The bent wheel to be replaced with a BMW brand new OEM wheel. The vehicle to realigned. Reimbursement for the 2 alignments done at the 2 different repair shops as well as reimbursement for the control arms replacement.

Consumer Response: On Fri, Oct 3, 2014 at 4:12 PM, *** ************************ wrote:

Hi *******,
 
Yes, everything has been resolved. 
 
Thanks,

5/15/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mercedes Benz of Elmbrook
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)