Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lexus of Madison

Phone: (800) 651-4539 Fax: (608) 821-4246 View Additional Phone Numbers 8000 Airport Rd, Middleton, WI 53562 http://www.lexusofmadison.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states that they are a new/used auto dealership offering auto repair, alignment, tires, brakes, lube/oil, transmission, and new car parts.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lexus of Madison meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Lexus of Madison include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Lexus of Madison
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 16, 2013 Business started: 12/06/1990 in WI Business started locally: 09/13/2012 Business incorporated 09/14/2012 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ric Saatzer, Vice President Mr. Todd Cadle, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Todd Cadle, General Manager
Principal: Ric Saatzer, Vice President
Related Businesses
East Madison Toyota
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Lexus of Madison sells the following brand(s): Lexus

Alternate Business Names
PAG Madison L1, LLC Penske Automotive Group
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Lexus of Madison has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8000 Airport Rd

    Middleton, WI 53562 (608) 821-6000 (888) 218-2768 (888) 307-2981 (888) 307-2859 (800) 651-4539

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Buick Rainier from lexus of madison. Had several issues with the vehicle and they finally decided to give me my money back the only problem is they said they will only pay what i paid for the vehicle which is 7500 and the loan payoff is 8000 and adding with interest. that doesnt include the 2 payments of 148.90 ive made and the 200 i put down towards the vehicle. im a single mother of 2 very young children and cant and shouldnt have to pay for the taxes and fees of this vehicle. the dealership has had the vehicle longer than i had it. they have put me under so much stress its unacceptable. i was also paying for full coverage insurance when it was there almost the whole 3 months i owned it. they gave me loaner cars both times they had the buick and this recent time as of now i am driving a loaner that has expired plates, they expired in may.

Desired Settlement: i would like to have the loan paid in full and be reimbursed for the payments ive made and the 200 i put down. i want this behind me and want to get another vehicle that is safe.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

When this client bought the vehicle the was listed as AS IS and a state inspection was done on the vehicle.  Client had some steering issues and rode rough so we took the vehicle back after several weeks to inspect the vehicle.  We gave the client a brand new Lexus to drive while we had the vehicle.  Client wanted us to keep the vehicle for a longer period and we also said we would send it to a GM dealership to also have them inspect the vehicle.  We could not duplicate the issue and found the vehicle to be in good working order.

A few week later the vehicle arrived back to the delaership and we kept for a little over two weeks becuase the new complaint was it stalled several times and the brakes went out.  All systems checked out and we kept the vehicle longer and had some technicians to review the problem but could not duplicate the issues again.  the client also got to drive a Lexus for a loaner vehicle during this time frame.

We have agreed to pay the additional costs of service bills, pay the vehicle off at her lender and all taxes associated with the registering of the vehicle. 

 

Regards,

 

Todd C****

******* *******

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

 

We have attached the state inspection and the buyers order that reflect the vehicle was AS IS and the customer knew it was an AS IS vehicle at the time of purchase.  We have had third party mechanics look at it as well kept it for an extended period to ensure the vehicle was quite safe.  In fact, since we have bought the vehicle back we have not seen an issue with the vehicle nor could we ever duplicate the problem.  The loaner vehicle was provideded no cost to address the customers concerns but once we decided to buy the vehicle back so our guest could purchase a new one we asked to get the vehicle back.  The guest did not want to return the vehicle as it was an inconvenience to them which is understandable since they had to unpack all the camping gear in it.  The registration was renewed for that vehicle on 05/19/2015 and it was out on loaner to them from 06/10/15 to 07/11/15 and approximately 1418 miles was driven on it during that time frame.  We have paid off the vehicle including the taxes and registration and feel we have met our responsibilities above and beyond.

 

Respectfully

 

Todd C****

******* *******

Lexus of Madison

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* *****

Businesses like Lexus of Madison should not be out to take money from people that can't afford to lose it. I hope they don't put anyone else under this stress and I will do my best to let people know they lie and cheat people out of money for their mistakes. Very unorganized dishonest dealership. 

 

 

3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Jan.31st,2015 my husband and I purchased with financing the dealership provided, a 2006 Ford Expedition ***** ***** from Lexus Of Madison in Wisconsin. The vehicle was listed for sale on cars.com. I live in ********, so before I would make a 5 hour trip on a used vehicle, I had a lot of questions. I directed those questions to ***** *********** the dealership used car salesman and ******* who is a part of the management team at Lexus of Madison. I request all the history on the vehicle and what if anything did they have to do to the vehicle before able to sell it. The vehicle was worked on by the head mechanic of Lexus of Madison. There was an engine intake leak and that was repaired by Lexus of Madison. Lexus of Madison mechanic must have been unfamiliar with fixing Fords, because he put everything back together wrong. An very important wire harness that is a part of the intake system was placed over the engine when it had to go under in a designated spot and because of that being in the wrong spot it set off a network of engine codes. **** ********** the service manager with Lexus of Madison was finally reached about the problems and he told my husband and I to take it to the nearest Ford dealership in ******** and we took it to ********* **** ** ***** ***** ********. *** *** ******* ******* at ********* **** took our vehicle in and had their top Ford certified mechanic diagnose our vehicle we purchased from Lexus of Madison and for several day he made contact with **** ********** service manager of Lexus of Madison. **** approved the fix because Ford was able to provide a detailed analisis to **** of the damage that occured because their mechanic did not put parts back in the right place. after a week **** finally paid Ford in ******** for repairs and we were allowed to pick up our vehicle. One to one and a half weeks later the engine light came back on and the vehicle continued in the same manner once again, unsafe to drive, putting my family in harms way while driving it. The Expedition was brought back to **** ** ***** ***** ******** and because of the inproper work originally done to the vehicle by Lexus of Madison interior parts that cannot be seen by the eye and it had to be driven some to make sure it was fixed, but indeed it was not because the improper fix done by Lexus of Madison and then letting us risk our families life to drive 400 miles back to ******** with the vehicle, gave the vehicle just the right amount of driving time for the improper placed parts to start to malfunction and cause vehicle to be undriveable. Because Ford put the improper parts back in the right locations and put in the new parts that were damaged and ran it and then we were allowed to come get it, we didnt have it but a week and engine light came back on and vehicle became undriveable and again the work that FORD corrected that Lexus of Madison had done wrong to the vehicle had been finally driven just long enough for Ford to now also see internal parts also were harmed from the original improper word done to the Expedition intake before sold to us, by Lexus of Madison. They should NOT have took in a trade vehicle they new nothing about fixed it poorly and wrong position of wiring intake harness and sent my family on a 400 mile journey home where the vehicle could have left us stranded in high traffic situations in chicago and plkaced my family in harms way, and the salesman and staff should not have hid facts about this vehicle from my family when asked, just to sell it and stick my family with a LEMMON. They need to make this inappropriate and unprofessional sale of a misrepresented and defective vehicle for TOP dollar as if it was spotless and in good running condition and well maintained and buy it back for what is OWED due to they selling an inferior product and representing it otherwise, including misrepresenting a warranty package I requested I wanted and gave me far less in coverage than I asked for. The vehicle is back at the ********* **** Dealership in ***** ***** and cannot be safely driven without it causing the vehicle to get worse and totally break down "JUNK" It now needs an additional $5,200 and the vehicle is only worth $10,000 and we owe more than its worth because we financed a warranty package with the vehicle and the warranty was even misrepresented and we got a lot less than we asked for!~!!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: They buy back the vehicle by paying off the loan to Summit Credit Union in Wisconsin and Take the vehicle BACK! $13,518.00

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

I just saw this complaint today and we were already in the works as to solving the clients issues.  We have committed to fixing the vehicle even though some of the parts that failed were not due to workmanship at time of inspection.  The vehicle is AS IS however we are committed to customer satisfaction.  The vehicles issues are being fixed and the customer should have full resolution in a few days.  If any future issues that occur to the vehicle are the sole responsibility of the owner or the dealership currently fixing the problem.

thanks For Your Consideration,

 

**** ***** ******* *******

Lexus of Madison

1/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I leased a car (2015 Lexus ES 350) from Lexus Madison on 12/20/2014. We were misled and pressured by a sale person (**** *) to sign off all paperwork before we were even offered a chance to look at the car we were leasing. On our way home, we realized that the color of interior (all black except seats) was not what we expected. We emailed the sale person (**** *) immediately after we got home (about one hour after we left the dealer) and we asked **** if we could get a car with light color interior we expected. However, **** was not offering any solutions to the problem. Instead, he told us the car we got was the one we asked him to hold for us. The fact is that he NEVER told us any specific description of the car we were getting. We trusted him we were going to get a car we wanted because we made it very clear to him multiple times that we wanted a car with silver exterior and light color interior. Also, Lexus Madison stated on their website that they will go above and beyond to meet exact expectation of their customers. Our experience is totally opposite.

Desired Settlement: We expect Lexus Madison to get a car we specified multiple times, that is silver exterior and light color interior (i.e., light color on doors, front, and seats).

Business Response:

Good Afternoon,

The guest in question did visit with me and my sales manager, ***** ********, on Friday 12/26/2014 and voiced their opinion of what transpired and how they felt about the process.  They did view the car before delivery as they went through an entire tech delivery for close to an hour prior to leaving the dealership.  They did not mention anything at that time in regards to the interior color.  Attached is them asking us to hold that specific vehicle for them and they did test drive a similarly equipped interior vehilce prior to deciding on purchasing this vehicle.  On Friday, ***** did explain to them that the light grey paneling is no longer available in the new models.  The light Parchment paneling only comes with parchment leather and the light grey and black leather seating only comes with black paneling.  We do get written confirmation prior to doing a dealer trade (what we did for this client) or do a specific order so these instances do not occur.  

However,  They did mention they have another vehicle they can trade if she wishes to get a parchment interior which is the only light interior paneling Lexus offers in the ES350. 

 

**** *****

******* *******

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Lexus of Madison
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart