11/19/2015 DO NOT go to this dealership. We went to go look at a buick. Salesman was nice and not pushy at first. Gloated about how nice the vehicle was. "The vehicle is in great shape!!!" "This dealership goes over and beyond" "We care about our customers" The used buick was very nice cosmetically with a few minor flaws as a scratch here and there. The salesman told us they ALWAYS put new brake pads on each car unless they look new for safety reasons. He stated a new belt, diagnostic, and all fluids were checked. He assured us that buick mechanics do a very thorough job at making sure the cars are safe to take off the lot. We took it for a test drive and it drove nice. We decided to take it to a different mechanic just to be on the safe side. SOOOOOOOOOO glad we did. After a total of 6 hours of researching, test driving, time at the mechanic's shop, and $65 dollars later for a safety inspection/diagnostic/suspension check...we discovered the vehicle would need at least $3,000 and upwards worth of repairs. Things that needed to be fixed...... a new belt, new trans fluid and a flush because it was dark red which means it wasn't and probably hasn't been changed, the engine was leaking in a few different spots, gas lines were near rotted, brakes needed to be changed, the rear suspension was starting to give, 2 hoses would have to be replaced, power steering was leaking, and the diagnostic test came back with 3 codes, ect. How is it that a buick mechanic can let ALL of these things slide??? Not even change the transmission fluid, really??? Rather then admit fault or appoligize the buick salesman kept insisting the mechanics were the ones that were lying. From my one and only experience here at this dealership, I'd recommend going elsewhere.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Twila on 11/19/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Comments from customers are taken very seriously and each one is researched, evaluated as to what happened, and what we need to do in the future to ensure a better outcome. We do care about our customers and it is always our goal that our customers leave here completely satisfied. I'm sorry that was not the outcome here. In regard to the vehicle, it was a 2003 budget vehicle with 86,000+miles. It was put through the State vehicle inspection, passed, and was accompanied with appropriately marked Wisconsin Buyers Guide as required, passed all safety test per WI state standards, and priced less than $5500. It is 12 year old vehicle with expected wear of this age vehicle that has been well cared for while exposed to our weather so some rust is expected. Minor seepage as opposed to leakage in some areas is not unusual, and it is noted that brakes measured with more than half of their life left. Recommendations per 2003 owner's manual unless vehicle has been in certain hard city driving with extreme temperatures, state that transmission fluid should be changed at 100,000 miles. We cannot make a budget car in "like new" condition and keep at a budget price. We are always open to having our customers drive our budget vehicles and take to their own mechanics if desired to check out prior to purchase because we want them to be comfortable with their purchase. by on 11/23/2015

Report Abuse I understand what a used 12 year old vehicle is, or what condition it may or may not be in. I understand that the car will not be like new, that there will need some work done to it and there will be rust. My mechanic has told me when buying an older used vehicle expect to put $2,000-$4,000 into it after purchasing. Our issue is not the vehicle or its condition, rather the dealership and the people who are employed inside. That car was for $5,500 and the sales person tried to sell the car as if nothing was wrong with it. He stated the brakes were changed and always changed unless they look brand new. In your response you stated the brakes had half-life so were not changed so right there your salesman is lying. When asked if we can take it elsewhere he said "EHHHHHHHH" and hesitated. "I will have to ask my manager" From your response, obviously your dealership knew that there were several things wrong with it putting it on to your lot as a "budget car". I'm not sure how it passed Wisconsin state inspection because there were so many things wrong with it. The mechanic even said, "I can't believe this came from a dealership. I've worked at used car dealerships as a mechanic and I wouldn't have recommended this vehicle to go to the lot in this condition.” Neither your dealership nor the sales person will get much from the vehicle so why not just be honest!!!! Tell the customer this is a budget car and there are some things wrong with it. Tell the customer since this is a budget car we only do the minimum per the 2003 owner’s manual. Don't make the vehicle seem as if it's a great buy and the dealership is doing you a favor. You have probably over 300+ cars on that lot with most probably on the upwards of $25,000. The way to build customers and a good word about your dealerships is by being truthful. Since visiting your dealership we continued to look at other dealerships and speak to people around Milwaukee. Almost every person we have spoken with including other dealerships say that it's not a decent dealership in more ways than one. There is a reason why you don't seem to have a good reputation. We just bought a used vehicle for more than we wanted to spend. Why you ask? Because the dealership and salesman was honest!!!! He didn't call me while we were away at the mechanic to tell us "5 other people want to look at this car so when will you have it back" He pointed out that there were scuffs and scratches. He handed us a piece of paper with everything they had fixed and said, "We don't put anything on this lot that would need a lot of work put into it. Work means money. If that were the case, we would just sell it at an auction. Our reputation is more important then losing a little money" And he was right!!! The mechanic said other than a few small maintence things it was in good condition unlike the other vehicle that was brought in a few days earlier. So we purchased it for cash and drove away. This is your statement in your response. "We cannot make a budget car in "like new" condition and keep at a budget price." Then don't try to sell a budget car as if it were in "like new" condition when it needed a few thousands worth of repairs. HONESTY will get you everywhere. by Twila on 11/23/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
8/14/2015 I thought I would get over what happened to me at your dealership. Weeks later, I'm still outraged at the fraud your agents tried to perpetrate against me. I've decided to contact the better business Bureau. I know your job is to make money, but it should not be at the expense of the truth. Either I was lied to, or the agents and technicians are not competent in their jobs. Either way, I have no faith in their ability to properly service me. To make a long story short, by the rate that the air decreased in my tire, I am confident that you sold me the car with the nail in it. Given the first diagnostic report I received upon purchasing the car, the tire is question had a lower PSI level than all the other tires. On top of the air depletion rate, there was a ton of construction going on in front of the dealership when I purchased the vehicle. That's not the main issue though. My primary concern is when I brought the vehicle in to get it checked out, the agent tells me I have 2 nails and they would patch me up and get me on my way. He comes back a few minutes later and says that I actually had 3 nails and no patch could be done. Instead of patching, I had to purchase a $275 tire. I left and took my vehicle elsewhere. Needless to say, the certified mechanic I took my vehicle to said there was only 1 nail in my tire. Tell the truth and you would have gotten more of my business in the future instead of a little $275 tire.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Veronica H. on 8/14/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business When a customer leaves our dealership less than completely satisfied, we have not met our goal. Our customers are our most valuable asset and each one is very important to us. In this case, we did not effectively communicate that to our customer and for that I sincerely apologize. We appreciate the April purchase of a 2011 Lacrosse and regret there was an issue with the tire pressure which we were made aware of on a July 3rd visit. I can certainly understand the frustration in first being informed that the tire had a nail and could be repaired, then having a second and third puncture area identified resulting in the recommendation that a new tire would be needed. Due to the possility of compromising the integrity of the tire, we can only recommend two patch/plugs on a tire as long as they are a minimum of 15 in. apart. In that the technician identified 3 areas of leaking, the recommendation was made for safety reasons that the tire should be replaced.We are always willing to show our customers the areas of concern so that an informed choice can be made. If we failed to offer that, once again I am truly sorry as that should have been an option. We would never intentionally mislead or give false information simply to make a sale. We are a family business and care very much about our customers and the quality of the services we provide. by on 8/19/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1/9/2015 Never ever buy a used vehicle or extended warranty from this place. They protect them selves with notifications and not covered in warranty. My parents have leased a 2006 pontiac torrent AWD in 2009 which has been nothing but a pain in the but. The abs failed in 2009 the wheel bearing the sun roof leaked and in the past 2014 i spent 4k in repairs the lovable coffin on wheels is now having a abs and a t/c problem along with starter problem and heater core problem Im not happy I want my lease paid off and the 17k plus 4k in repairs I"LL NEVER EVER BUY A CAR BUY THEM OR DO SERVICE REPAIR BY THEM EVER!!!!!
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Stan on 1/9/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We're sorry for the issues you have had with your 2006 vehicle that was purchased used from us in 2009 with and extended 3 year service contract administered by an outside provider. Guidelines for these policies are specific and it's true there are a number of levels and exclusions which we go over and compare and have initialed by our customers at time of purchase so that they understand what is covered and what the exclusions are. This service policy would have expired in June of 2012. We have not serviced the vehicle since 2011. In reviewing the history I do see that there were some issues soon after purchase in 2009 that were covered by the policy as well as another claim we covered as a goodwill claim. We did some body shop repairs that same year after an accident and repaired the vehicle two more times once in 2010 and once in 2011 which were covered by the policy. It is very frustrating when issues occur after the service policies have expired and I regret that you've had that problem. That is not the experience we want for our customers but sometimes it is out of our control. If there are issues that you would like to discuss further please contact our service director. by on 1/13/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
11/1/2014 I went to **** ***l to purchase a Saturn Vue . I went there and I test drove it it was a nice car it had over 100,000 miles on it. I told them I was going to pay cash, but it would take me about 4 to 5 days to get it. So they tell me to right out a check for the amount of the car, and put down $200.00 cash so I did . They told me that I had to sign some papers to hold the car . So they told me I could drive the car home if I wanted to , but I told them no not until I talked to my insurance agent . So while I was also looking at the Saturn I also seen a Chevy Equinox they had on the lot. So the weekend went by and on Monday morning I called them and told them I decided I didn't want the 2003 Saturn I wanted the 2011 Chevy Equinox. I got off work and went to **** **** and I told the salesman what I wanted and he went to his boss the used car manager and they came back and said you have to trade the Saturn in for the 2011 Chevy Equinox. I said how do you figure I don't own it and they said yes you do because you signed all the license and title papers . so I said fine then so they came up with a deal that a automatic $2000.00 came off the price of the car , and the car never even left the lot. they told me the car has another owner on it so now the title shows 2 owners now . and I said well it shouldn't be processed yet and they said when you sign the papers it is automatic .So I finally received my money in the mail to pay for the car and when I got there they told me I didn't have enough money and that they processed my check that I wrote out for the 2003 Saturn that the 2003 Saturn is mine not the 2011 Chevy Equinox .so I took the 2003 Saturn home and the 2 days later called them and told them I was coming back to buy the 2011 Chevy Equinox and when I got there they pulled it around back and told me it was already sold and no one new it was sold until I got there and they tried to sell me a different car and they basically laughed at me. they said they couldn't budge on the price so I told them that I was looking for a dealer that I could go to and get work done on my car with no problems and they didn't even want to make a deal to keep a customer happy , so I told them fine I am going somewhere else and take my business some where else . I drove down the street to Holz Motors and they made me a deal I couldn't refuse , and I purchased a fully loaded 2010 Chevy Equinox for a less price as the one at John Paul GMC Buick Then I find out the Saturn was on Recall fro the ignition switch , that they didn't tell me about . I also found out from some other dealers that you have up to 10 days to return the car you are purchasing .
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Dean B. on 11/1/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business I have taken some time to research this complicated (July/August) transaction and the most appropriate response I can make at this point is that I sincerely apologize for the experience you had at our dealership. Our goal is to have our customers leave here completely satisfied and clearly we did not do that here. I believe there was miscommunication on a number of levels. We will look at all of the contributing factors, learn from them, and address them appropriately so that we do not have this situation again. We are a family business and care very much about our customers and this is never the kind of experience we want our customers to have. I'm glad you now have a vehicle you are happy with and sorry that we lost a customer in the process. I wish you well and once again I am truly sorry for your negative experience with us. by on 11/4/2014

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
6/19/2013 On 6/14/13, I took our 1999 Pontiac Grand Prix for an antifreeze leak. I was told the coolant pump had to be replaced for $420 and also the Intake Gasket was leaking and would cost approximately $900 to repair. I declined the work on the Intake Gasket and had them replace the coolant pump for $420. The car leaked worse after that. I took the car to a different mechanic who said he would fix the Intake Gasket. When this mechanic looked at our car, he said the Intake Gasket was fine and not leaking and instead he replaced the the following 2 pipes: Part Number 24503423 and 12565082 which costs $11.17. The car is no longer leaking and running great now. I also called the previous owner of this car as we have only had it one year, and he indicated the coolant pump was replaced a couple of years ago. I also had my 2008 Impala in at John Paul's for an oil change and was told my ball joint was bad and would cost between $300 - $400 to repair. I declined that work from John Paul's and had the same mechanic that worked on our Grand Prix, look at this car and he indicated there was nothing wrong with my ball joint and that I didn't need it replaced. I called John Paul's and explained these situations to them and how I felt like they were dishonest and trying to take advantage of me. They told me if I brought in the 2008 Impala and if the ball joint was fine, he would refund me the $420 for the coolant pump that he replaced on my Grand Prix. I declined as I don't trust them and didn't want to do business with them anymore.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Brian K. on 6/19/2013 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Every customer comment that we receive is very important to us in that customer satisfaction is vital to our business. Regarding the first issue with the 1999 Grand Prix our service manager confirmed to the customer that the coolant pump was needed and that was why it was replaced. We will stand by that. Often when there are two leaks in one system, in this case the coolant system, repairing one will increase the pressure in the system and cause the unfixed leak to worsen. The customer seemed to agree that he understood why the leak would get worse. As for the intake gasket and the pipes that he says resolved the problem, they are directly next to each other. We try very hard to assess each problem accurately and would never knowingly quote work that is not needed. If we made an error, according to the customer and his other technician, we apologize, but in no way were we trying to mislead the customer. Our service manager also attmpted to explain our findings on the 2008 Impala. We have documented that the ball joint was loose and one of the bushings in the control arm was loose and that the replacement of the control arm would correct both issues. The customer stated that the control arm was looked at by his brother in law who is a technician and that it wasn't needed. In the conversation the customer indicated maybe he should bring his brother in law down with him and we could take a look at it. We welcomed the opportunity to do that and offered to put the vehicle on the lift and along with our technician look at the vehicle and show them what was seen and why the recommendation was made. The offer was made that if we could not prove our position to their satisfaction then we would refund them any money he was out for both visits. I don't know how we can be any more open and forthright than that. We will always go the extra mile for our customers if we are given the opportunity. by on 6/20/2013

Report Abuse In response to John Paul's comments, I was told that after the coolant pump was replace, the lower intake gasket may leak worse. I understood that and when it did leak worse, I assumed it was the gasket since that is what you told me and what I have in writing on my receipt. I was never told of any other leak. My receipt indicates that the car was pressure tested and it was the gasket that is starting to leak. When in fact the gasket never had a leak. I would think any honest technician would of realized it was the 2 pipes that were actually the leak (not the gasket) at a much lower cost to the customer rather then inform the customer that the leak was in the gasket and would be $900 to repair. I will never step foot in John Paul's again due to this dishonesty. Due to the lie that was told to me on my Grand Prix, it is pointless for me to bring my Impala in again since I don't trust you. I had it looked at already and nothing is wrong with it. by Brian K. on 6/20/2013

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful and 1 person did not find this review helpful.