BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used auto sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that John Amato Hyundai - Mazda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for John Amato Hyundai - Mazda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on John Amato Hyundai - Mazda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 20, 2011 Business started: 10/17/1980 in WI Business started locally: 10/17/1980 Business incorporated: 10/17/1980 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Briggs, General Manager Mr. Jon Lebese, Parts & Service Director Mr. Don Morrison, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Briggs, General Manager
Related Businesses
John Amato Nissan, Inc John Amato Ford, Inc. Amato Collision Center, Inc
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
John Amato Hyundai Mazda John Amato Hyundai, Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • 8301 N 76th St

    Milwaukee, WI 53223 (414) 357-8500

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May of 2013 our car engine locked. So we then took the vehicle back to John amato car repair shop to get it fixed. The mechanics at John Amato then gave us the option to either get a new engine or to trade in the vehicle. We opted to get a new engine with the assumption that it would be repaired professionally and properly. But unfortunately that was not what we received. So after waiting nearly two months in witch they said would only take one week for them to replace the engine, when the when we received the car back the car ran for a week , then shut down we then towed the car back and we were told we needed a new starter. So after a new starter was installed nearly two days later the vehicle started shaking and the check engine light stayed on. Also the vehicle would not crank the first time you had to start the car at least two times.We took the car back to the dealer and they said we need another new engine. it took them nearly three months to finish putting in a "new" engine. When asked what is the hold up they said "we had to wait until we sent the faulty engine back to the company under our warranty, then wait for them to send us another engine." So after getting the car back we thought the nightmare was over and the engine light came back on. So we had to take the car back in to get you guessed it, another engine! So again we waited months to get our vehicle back. So then not even a month later we had to get another engine again! We had to go thru the same thing over again! I would also like to add that I was under the assumption that I was going to receive professional quality work and I did not receive that. Also I was under the assumption that a new engine was going to be placed in the vehicle. Not a temporary engine. We are still having engine trouble so we took the car to a local ********* and they found more issues with the engine. We then told the engine concerns to Amato but they won't evaluate the engine without us paying for it to get looked at. And at this point I want a refund of all my cash I spent at John Amato, or I want a trade in with no money down to settle my dispute! If neither of my settlement requirements are not meant I will seek legal action that would cost the company more money.

Desired Settlement: REFUND IN CASH ONLY!!!! OR FULL TRADE IN WITH NO MONEY DOWN!! WILL SEEK LEGAL ACTION IF EITHER OUTCOME ISNT GRANTED! SO IT WOULD BE WISE FOR JOHN AMATO TO GRANT MY OUTCOME OR BE PREPARED TO PAY EVEN MORE OUT OF POCKET THEN DESIRED!

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern

We at Amato have reached out to Mr. ******* and asked him to bring his vehicle in for inspection. We provided Mr. ******* a free rental vehicle while we performed the inspection. The inspection revealed that the vehicle has a power steering leak and worn front end parts that are causing noise and abnormal tire wear. We have put together an estimate for the repairs and informed Mr. *******. The repairs needed are not part of the previous repairs. Mr. ******* has declined the repairs at this time. Amato purchased a remanufactured engine from Advanced Power Train who is a supplier of engines. This engine has a 3year 36K mile warranty. Advance power train has paid Amato to perform all the engine replacements including rental car charges for the vehicles Mr. ******* was put in. Mr. ******* has always had a free 2013 vehicle to drive while his car was being repaired. Mr. ******* was offered a repurchase of his vehicle before the 2 engine was installed, and at that time Mr. ******* opted to keep his car. This was before the warranty company spent the money to replace all the engines. Mr. ******* is welcome to bring his vehicle into our sales department and trade the vehicle in. He will have to requalify with the finance company to make a purchase.

Yours Sincerely

*** ******

******* *******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A few months ago I was looking for a car. I was looking at the jeep grand cherokee. So fast forwarding to this month I was told I could purchase a $8,995 jeep grand cherokee and that we had a deal over the phone that all I had to bring was my title for my trade of my Toyota corolla 2007. So I did so also they said I had to buy car insurance for the 2005 red jeep grand cherokee. A total of $213.69 was payed for full coverage. Me and my fiancé were then told we didn't have the car. We were disappointed and discouraged because the car dealer said that we had a deal on the phone. I don't appreciate being lied to. It was not a misunderstanding. I never once said my car was worth $4,500. It was a ridiculous thing as to what they did saying I had the car then didn't. An apology won't do anything because the manager didn't show much care or empathy. I yelled at him because it wasn't like this was something little at all. No car place has ever asked to pay for the car insurance before having the car. We thought we had it because they told us to pay for the insurance.

Desired Settlement: They said we had a deal so it needs to be finished either pay for the 4,500 that they said my car was worth or repair my car. They wanted a total of $7,000 put down and a remains $1,500 of in house financing.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 The customer is correct in stating we had a prelimary deal worked out over the phone, however this was pending a final appraisal of the 2007 Corolla.  As everything was discussed over the phone, we had yet to have an opportunity to properly appraise his vehicle.  If there was not clarity within the discussions with the customer, then on behalf of our dealership I'd like to apolgize for not making that clear.  In regards to having the insurance set up on the vehicle, it is Wisconsin state law that a customer must have full coverage insurance on a vehicle prior to leaving the lot.  We simply were trying to expedite the transaction based on the assumption the value of his trade would be accurate.  Unfortunately it did not work out that way.  In most cases, insurance companies will provide a refund of the intial proceeds of a policy if the deal is not finalized.

 

** *****

***** *******

***** *******

 

Consumer Response: The reason why we had to get car insurance was because they said we had the car. All we had to do was get a bank statement, bring cell phone bill, and write five names. Which I did then we were told we didn't have the car after the car sales man said we had a deal. There needs to be ramifications for lying. We opulent of paid for the car insurance unless we didn't have the car. The apology is not really an apology because the guy on the phone had an attitude about and told me to go somewhere else and find a ****** jeep.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This started in January 2012. I purchased a 2010 Chevy Malibu from them. About 16 - 18 months later I had to replace the lower control arms & buy tires. Tires, ok. Lower control arms, not so much. I believe the control arms were an issue when I bought the car. They just said "drive it a while & see". I ended up acquiring a loan to purchase the tires & replace the lower control arms. I assumed this would have been covered under my "Warranty Forever Platinum" coverage I purchased when I bought it. I brought the Chevy in for problems with the defroster. After the service dept. looked at it they told me the fuse panel was melting the fuses & causing the shorts. I had also brought it in for the dashboard lights would dim & then brighten, the drivers door not opening.They couldn't find anything wrong with the dashboard lights & replaced the contact because I couldn't get into the car. The same problem occurred after the contact was replaced, just not as often. Hearing the fuse panel was melting fuses made it clear why the car was having problems. In the waiting room, I saw my name was on their "Buy Back" list & I had to ask what that was about. (I never should have asked.)They showed me a few cars I liked but they smelled of smoke & I was told I could not afford some of them. They had a 2013 Mazda 6 that I do NOT want & a payment I can NOT afford. I ended up with the Mazda for fear of the Malibu catching fire on the highway somewhere. The Mazda has a burning odor from somewhere around the blower for the ac/heater. The service department smelled it. They said it would "burn off" after 3,000 miles & it hasn't gone away. I now have 8,800 miles on the car & still have the smell as well. They used the Malibu as a trade-in on the loan. The sales person at Amato Mazda said they could not buy the Mazda back unless I paid $11,000 because the Mazda is worth $15,000 now. The total loan was for $26,645.12. The base price of the Mazda, when I bought it was 21,995.00, that's on the papers. I should not have gone to this dealership by myself. They saw me coming. I didn't even get any options like the Malibu had on this Mazda.

Desired Settlement: They need to give me a car that is equivalent to the current loan. Without me paying $11,000.00 towards the current loan. They need to make this right. I didn't ask for the Malibu fuse panel to burn fuses. I had also asked Amato to keep the payments lower than $450.00. I am currently unemployed & have trouble making the $546.38 monthly payment.

Business Response:

 

September 27,2013

******* **********

**** ***** ******** **********

BBB of Wisconsin

10019 W Greenfield

Milwaukee,  WI 53214

###-###-####

Fax  ###-###-####

 

ID *******

RE: ******* * ****

**** * ** **

********** ** *****

 

 

Dear  Mr.  **********,

 

In response to Ms. ****'s complaint

 

On Jan 19,2012 Ms.  **** brought her vehicle into Amato.  She stated that her Manual Transmission  is stuck in 2nd gear. And the Shifter handle is loose.  We found that Shifter assembly was broken.  We removed and replaced shifter and bracket.  The total was $ 616.00 Plus tax.  She also had a Oil Change done which brought the total to $ 661.06 with tax.

 

On April 04, 2012 Ms. **** stated that vehicle would not come out of park.  We inspected the vehicle and found that clutch assembly was worn.  Vehicle would not move at all. Clutch assembly worn.  Recommended replacing Clutch and Fly Wheel assembly, and Pressure plate.  Which came to $ 999.87 Before taxes.  We also competed a Oil change.  The total with tax  $ 1089.61

 

On April 18,2012 Ms. **** stated that shifter feels hard to move.  Inspected found shifter cables binding. 

Removed and replaced shifter cables.  Total came to $ 219.17.  We did not charge her for tax.     

 

On Aug 16,2012 Ms. **** brought her vehicle in for a oil change and stated that Car sounds like it is in the wrong gear. Inspected found that Left front wheel bearing was bad, worn and making noise. Total came to $ 282.23 Plus we completed a oil change and tax.

 

On Nov 08,2012 Ms. **** brought her vehicle in and stated that when she was driving she heard a clicking noise from the Engine.  Inspected found that Water was mixed with Engine oil.  We recommended replacing the engine.  ***** agreed to replace engine with a used Engine.  We removed and replaced Engine and completed a Oil Change.  after further inspection found that Clutch was worn  down again.  She had us replace Engine and clutch assembly. 

 

On July 30, 2013 Ms. **** brought vehicle in for a Check Engine light.  Inspected vehicle at no Charge found that Catalytic converter was bad.  Also found vehicle needing Brakes.  ***** declined all repairs at this time. 

 

 

On Sept 12,2013 ***** called and stated that vehicle stopped running on her while she was on her way to work.  Amato Agreed to Tow vehicle in and inspect.  After inspection found that ***** drove vehicle without oil in engine.  Vehicle still had our oil change sticker on glass. Called ***** and informed ***** stated that she just got oil change done somewhere else.  Informed ***** that there is no oil inside engine. ***** stated that we removed oil from engine.  I told ***** that the last time we completed a oil change to her vehicle was Nov 20, 2012 when we installed the Engine.  Miles at that time was 137,338.

 

Miles on vehicle now is 152,618.  Vehicle went 15,280 without a oil change done here.  Oil should have been changed 02/20/2013 according to the sticker that is on the windshield.  ***** has left vehicle here on our property.  There is no Bill at this time. 

 

In Regards to Ms. ****  desired settlement 

Ms. **** is currently financing her vehicle threw Preferred Credit Corp. Which is a separate company of Amato Automotive Group.  So her desired Settlement out of our control.

 

If you have an y questions regarding this matter, Please contact me at the number below.    

 

 

 

**** *****

******* *******

**** ***** ******* * *****

###-###-####

Business Response: In response to our customer's complaint there are variables within a deal that our beyond our control.  Some of those variables are market values of trade-ins and customer payoffs.  We were able to reduce our customer's rate over 4% from the Malibu to the Mazda.  The payments were higher due to the additional amount she chose to finance by going from a 2010 Malibu with 75,000 miles on it to a brand new Mazda.  We present our customers with options and it is their decision on whether or not they'd like to proceed.  As much as we'd love to be able to get customers out of their loan obligations and into something different every two months, some variables just don't allow that to happen.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ********

 

My view on this matter is they 'pushed' me into this car (Mazda 6). The service department told me the Malibu's  fuse panel was melting the fuses. I did review 5-6 vehicles for about 2 weeks before accepting on the Mazda 6. I was told the finance companies would NOT accept any of the used model cars I looked at. I looked at a Mazda 6 2012 that had a lot of the features I wanted. Amato told me the finance company would only finance a 2013 new car. I asked Amato to keep the monthly payments below $400.00 and they said they would. instead,  I got a payment of $550.00.

I did return to Amato's Mazda center and asked to trade in this Mazda 6 and was told I would have to pay $10,500 before I could trade due to the Malibu I traded in. That brought the Mazda trade in down to around $15,000.00. This car is financed for $23,000.00. What is Amato trying to pull here??!!

Also, this incident did not occur 2 months after the Malibu was purchased. It occurred 1 1/2 years after I purchased the Malibu. I had been bringing in the Malibu for regular oil changes and electrical problems like the drivers' door not opening or closing, the rear defroster not working, complaining about the dash board lighting dimming and brightening while driving numerous. I have kept all the records about those incidences. 

I have also spoken with the financial institution that Mazda 6 is through and they said they would NOT have decline financing for a used vehicle.

I'll shout it form the roof tops "beware of Amato Dealerships". They will take your money and run! I will NOT recommend their business to anyone.

Thank you,

***** ** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car from Amato October 2011. This has been the worst experience of my life!!!!! I purchased this so called “reliable” car in hopes of having a good vehicle to get me to and from work and my children to and from school. The nightmare began only 6 months after having the car. This was a Saturn Vue 2005 purchased for 10,000 and with the added finance fee for in house financing came to just under 17,000!!! WOW WHAT A COMPLETE RIP OFF!!!! On April 4th I had to have the “shifter assembly piece” fixed and since they were moving the sifter piece they also had to take the clutch out and replace that as well, the total on this to be fixed was 1,219.37. WOW, so I paid for this as there was no warranty to cover these parts. Than only a couple months later that same shifter that they replaced had a damaged cord and once again I had to bring my car in for more repairs. Than only 3-4 months after this while driving down the road my car began to make horribly loud noises. I brought my car into Amato and come to find out only after having the car for one year I needed a new engine and another clutch. This costs me 1,412.37. Than about 5 months later my car started over heating and the same engine that THEY, AMATO, put in my car went out on my on a very busy road and small sparks were flying. Amato towed my car from the location to where the car stopped. They have now told me that they are not going to fix my car any longer and that I messed the engine up and that they would no longer assist me. Along with this, they have been very unprofessional. I at one time was trying to trade this lemon of a car in and just did not have enough money to put down so the finance department treated me as though I was an inconvenience to them because I did not have enough cash to put down on this car. She proceeded to call me “broke” and ditsy! I do not appreciate this type of service and feel that people should know exactly how they do business! Now I am out of a car and still have to make car payments! Within less than two years I have had to put more than 3,000 worth of work in the car and on top of it have lost time at work , kids have lost school time, and it has been very very stressful for me. The car stays in the shop more than it runs!

Desired Settlement: I at this point would just like to be free of this car and the rest of the loan due

Business Response:

September 27,2013

******* **********

**** ***** ******** **********

BBB of Wisconsin

***** * **********

**********  ** *****

###-###-####

Fax  ###-###-####

 

ID *******

RE: ******* * ****

**** * ** **

********** ** *****

 

 

Dear  Mr.  **********,

 

In response to Ms. **** 's complaint

 

On Jan 19,2012 Ms.  **** brought her vehicle into Amato.  She stated that her Manual Transmission  is stuck in 2nd gear. And the Shifter handle is loose.  We found that Shifter assembly was broken.  We removed and replaced shifter and bracket.  The total was $ 616.00 Plus tax.  She also had a Oil Change done which brought the total to $ 661.06 with tax.

 

On April 04, 2012 Ms. **** stated that vehicle would not come out of park.  We inspected the vehicle and found that clutch assembly was worn.  Vehicle would not move at all. Clutch assembly worn.  Recommended replacing Clutch and Fly Wheel assembly, and Pressure plate.  Which came to $ 999.87 Before taxes.  We also competed a Oil change.  The total with tax  $ 1089.61

 

On April 18,2012 Ms. **** stated that shifter feels hard to move.  Inspected found shifter cables binding. 

Removed and replaced shifter cables.  Total came to $ 219.17.  We did not charge her for tax.     

 

On Aug 16,2012 Ms. **** brought her vehicle in for a oil change and stated that Car sounds like it is in the wrong gear. Inspected found that Left front wheel bearing was bad, worn and making noise. Total came to $ 282.23 Plus we completed a oil change and tax.

 

On Nov 08,2012 Ms. **** brought her vehicle in and stated that when she was driving she heard a clicking noise from the Engine.  Inspected found that Water was mixed with Engine oil.  We recommended replacing the engine.  ***** agreed to replace engine with a used Engine.  We removed and replaced Engine and completed a Oil Change.  after further inspection found that Clutch was worn  down again.  She had us replace Engine and clutch assembly. 

 

On July 30, 2013 Ms. **** brought vehicle in for a Check Engine light.  Inspected vehicle at no Charge found that Catalytic converter was bad.  Also found vehicle needing Brakes.  ***** declined all repairs at this time. 

 

 

On Sept 12,2013 ***** called and stated that vehicle stopped running on her while she was on her way to work.  Amato Agreed to Tow vehicle in and inspect.  After inspection found that ***** drove vehicle without oil in engine.  Vehicle still had our oil change sticker on glass. Called owner and informed owner stated that she just got oil change done somewhere else.  Informed owner that there is no oil inside engine. ***** stated that we removed oil from engine.  I told owner that the last time we completed a oil change to her vehicle was Nov 20, 2012 when we installed the Engine.  Miles at that time was 137,338.

 

Miles on vehicle now is 152,618.  Vehicle went 15,280 without a oil change done here.  Oil should have been changed 02/20/2013 according to the sticker that is on the windshield.  ***** has left vehicle here on our property.  There is no Bill at this time. 

 

In Regards to Ms. ****  desired settlement 

Ms. **** is currently financing her vehicle threw ********* ****** ****. Which is a separate company of Amato Automotive Group.  So her desired Settlement out of our control.

 

If you have an y questions regarding this matter, Please contact me at the number below.    

 

 

 

**** *****

******* *******

John Amato Hyundai & Mazda

###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid off a vehicle I purchased from Amato at the end of November 2012. I went into the dealership around 1/15/13 to complete a cancelation form for GAP insurance I purchased. I was told by the finance manager that it would take about 4-6 weeks to process the request and i should receive a refund check. Since the beginning of March 2013 I have left messages for several reps in the finance department to check the status of my refund request and no one has returned my phone calls as of today. I would like to have this matter resolved immediately.

Desired Settlement: I would like this matter resolved immediately.

Business Response:

I will forward the information to our finance department and get this matter resolved. We apologize for any inconvience.

 

Thanks

** *****

***** *******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

**** ******

 

 

 

Business Response:

In response to Ms. ******'s cancellation of her GAP insurance, we have reviewed her file and there is no refund due to Ms. ******.  Her loan was initiated on Nov. 30 2006 and her GAP coverage expired 6 years later on Nov 30 2012.

 

Thanks,

 

** ***** ***** *******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I finalized my purchase on my 2008 Hyundai Sonata 5 speed on 03/11/2013 from John Amato Hyundai Mazda. On 05/25/2013 I took my vehicle in for its second oil change after purchasing. On 05/27/2013 my vehicle died on the freeway. It was towed to Amato. The service technicians did not look at my vehicle until 05/30/2013. At that time, they contacted me and stated that a rod went through my oil pan, and that I was going to need a new engine. That car was my only source of transportation to and from work and to get my children to and from daycare/school. I managed to find a ride for a few days, but when the service on my car stretched on for a week, I couldn’t find a ride anymore. I called Amato and asked if they could provide a car rental because my car was in the shop for repair. The service department stated they had no vehicles available and gave me a number to Hertz rental and said to mention that my car is in the shop at Amato for the discount. I called Hertz (as well as Enterprise) and they too did not have any vehicles available. On 06/04/2013 I called back and requested that Amato provide a rental car since I went without a vehicle for over one week. They directed me across the street to the Amato Sales building. They told me to talk to my sales representative. I spoke with him and he said they would give me a 2002 Buick Rendezvous for free until my car was finished. He worked with me for a few minutes and then passed me onto the ***** ******* who finalized my rental car. I signed a Test Drive Agreement stating that I agreed to terms and conditions, that I was the operator of the vehicle, and I was held liable if anything happened. While driving the 2002 Buick, I noticed the brakes started to make noise and the ABS light came on and said “ABS disabled.” The brakes continued to be unstable for a few days. On 06/06/2013, I received a phone call from the service technicians stating that my clutch and fly wheel were very worn down and they needed to be replaced for approximately $2,500. I told them that I could not afford that amount of money for a clutch and refused the repair at that time. On 06/10/2013, I decided to call the dealership and request a different rental car as it was becoming dangerous to drive under those conditions, but Amato called me first and stated that my vehicle was finished. I went to pick-up my vehicle and asked to speak with *** *********, the ***** *******, who helped finalize my rental car, about the brakes going bad and how it was unsafe to drive. I had to go to three different departments and two different buildings (one across a busy highway from the other) to find the ***** *******. After finally getting ahold of him, he came up to me and asked me what the problem was. With the signed paper agreement in hand, I stated, “Hi, you gave me this vehicle (2002…) a week or so ago and the brakes are making noise and the ABS light is on. The brakes sound like they’re grinding and the car hesitates to stop. The vehicle you gave me was unsafe and unfit to drive. I don’t appreciate you giving me a vehicle in which the brakes aren’t properly functioning.” He stood three inches from my face and just stared at me for ten seconds. He snatched the signed agreement paper out my hands and stormed off into an office room. When he came out, he headed toward the lobby. I then stated, “***, I wasn’t done speaking with you.” He stood one inch away from my face this time and stared at me intimidatingly. I said, “Are you going to acknowledge or respond to anything I just said?” He responded, “No, because you got slick at the mouth!” and stormed off again. I then left and called to speak with his *********** **** *****, the same day (06/10/2013). I wasn’t able to speak with him, but did leave a voicemail asking for a return call with my name and number and never received a call back. Overall, after 90 days of owning the vehicle, I experienced a failed engine and was told my clutch was severely worn down. Why would the dealership sell a vehicle with a worn clutch in the first place if it was not fit to drive? I am an experienced manual driver and have not had any problems with the clutch from purchasing the vehicle to today; however, I was told it would be going out soon. My experience was far from hassle-free and customer service seems to be a foreign concept for John Amato Hyundai Mazda. I also feel as though the dealership was attempting to use the clutch (not covered by the warranty) as a way of compensating money lost with the coverage of the engine with a warranty, and have lost faith in the integrity of the company. I am hesitant to deal with their service again in the future for my oil changes and other required maintenance as a part of my terms and agreements of my warranty, and feel as though I am trapped in a contract with a company that disregards the safety and needs of a customer with a warranty.

Desired Settlement: I understand there is a 1-800 phone number to call in order to perform the scheduled maintenance required for my warranty at other institutions. However, I feel as though I would lose my warranty and something would be used against the contract in order to avoid having to pay the cost for future repairs if maintenance is performed by another company. My goal is to avoid any other issues with rods going through oil pans (requiring a new engine), fake determination of a "worn" clutch, poor customer service, and a nail/piece of metal going through my tire (not even detailed in the complaint). There have been too many incidents in a short amount of time for it to be coincidental. I do not feel as though the business has integrity and cannot see continuing business interactions given all of the information in the complaint. I wish to compromise in order to maintain my warranty without needing to perform scheduled maintenance at the dealership location in question.

Business Response:

Mr. ******** purchased a vehicle from Amato on  March 13th 2012. The vehicle came with a lifetime power train warranty. The warranty covers all powertrain components, but does not cover towing and rental vehicle while Mr. ******** vehicle is being repaired. Mr. ******** dropped his vehicle off for a covered repair and the service department proceeded with repairs. Service department had to get the vehicle diagnosed and then submitt the diagnosis to the warranty company for authorization. The claim was approved and the parts were ordered. Mr. ******** had asked for a rental and at the time we did not have any rental vehicles on site and was offered the option of going to ***** ** **********, who would in turn give him our company discount since his vehicle was in for repairs. Upon finding out that both rental companies had no vehicles Mr. ******** was offerd a spare vehicle we had on the premises. Most all other vehicles on the lot are bank owned and cannot be driven for service repair issues. The intention was for Mr. ******** to drive the spare vehicle until a rental vehicles were available from the rental companies. When the service department dissasembled  the vehicle, the technician recommended that we replace the clutch since the vehicle was apart and would not require additional labor. The recommendation was made due to the fact that the vehicle had **k miles on it. The clutch had normal wear and it was just to give Mr. ******** the option of replacing it without the labor cost. Mr. ******** declined the replacement and it was not performed.  Warrant Forever requires that Mr. ******** preauthorize any maintanance service that is to be done outside the selling dealer, all he has to do is call the 800- number and let them know the mileage and the service center he is taking vehicle to. Mr. ******** will also be required to save all his repair invoices for the warranty to stay in force.  However Mr. ******** can take the vehicle to any other Amato Store without going through the authorization process.

Sincerly

*** ******

******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought the vehicle to Amato because it was over heating and would not start. The vehicle is at the shop from 5/2/13 to 5/6/13. At this time for Thursday and Friday I rent a vehicle at my own expense. On Friday I talk to ***** the advisor and he states that it is the water hose making the van over heat. I said Ok, they replace the hose. On 4/6/13 I pick up the van. I go to the gas station, and get on the freeway. When I go a couple of blocks and turn the corner, the van is making a sound. I cut the van off and call *********** for tow service and Amato to inform them the vehicle is coming back. ***** the service advisor says Ok. They look at the van and say they it is a belt. They wanted to charge at first, but my boyfriend informs them they had to take the belt off to replace the water pump. So they did replace the belt with no charge or labor. I paid $224.00 for them to find out why the vehicle would not start. I talk to ***** and he says the vehicle is ready on 5/6/12. He sends Amato service vehicle to pick me up. When I get there he says that they vehicle has no gas. I told him that it does, it should have 1/2 of a tank. He goes and checks, now he comes back and says the vehicle will not start. Now this is why I brought the van to them in the first place. ***** says that I would not have to pay for anything else. Amato keeps the vehicle and vehicle is picked up on Friday 5/10/13. Basically Amato has no idea what is wrong and why did it cut off on them too. In the process me and my boyfriend is talking to ***** and **** *****, **** is very rude toward the situation.

Desired Settlement: I paid for another vehicle rental too from 5/6/13 to 5/10/13. I would like something to be done about this situation. I want my vehicle repaired. They made me pay for something that is probably not wrong with the vehicle. Vehicle runs hot when the temp outside is hot. I also told this to Amato and **** says nothing.

Business Response:

On May 2,2013 Mrs. ***** dropped her vehicle off to have inspected for a no start when hot concern.  Upon inspection technican found water pump leaking coolant causing vehicle to over heat.  Called ***** and informed that water pump is leaking coolant. Owner stated that she had water pump just replaced.  We checked history it was back in Feb 2010.  Owner authorized replacment of Water pump. We also informed owner that Coolant temp sensor is not working correctly.  Wrong temp is shopwing on dash of vehicle. Informed owner that this also could be causing concern.  Owner did not want it replaced at this time.  Owner picked up vehicle and Serpentine belt broke.  Got vehicle back to the dealership and replaced serpentine belt at no charge to owner.  Owner then stated that vehicle was still shutting off.  We road tested vehicle for 25 Miles with no issue.  Called owner and informed.  owner states that vehicle will act up when it is warmer out side.  Informed owner that we need to get the back when it's warmer outside. Owner stated that he was taking vehicle to another Amato store for service and is not bringing vehicle back.  I informed owner that was ok.  I also informed the owner I can not make it warmer outside.  Nothing can be done unless we can duplicate concern.    Owner did not want to hear that. Owner wanted to holler and scream on the phone.    We are willing to try and du[plicate concern with owner but the owner does not want to pay for any additional things the vehicle may need.  I did remind owner of the coolant temp sensor that they declined.  That part can also cause concern. 

 The leaky Waterpump has been replaced.  The owner is welcome to take there vehicle to any other Amato Stores for service.  The repairs we have done come with a 12 month or  12,000 mile warranty. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My **** **** ****** was brought to this dealership for repairs which were covered under Warranty Forever. I was informed by the Service Advisor that my battery was leaking and needed to be replaced. I was told that he did not feel that the vehicle could be driven the distance necessary to return it to my place of residence without replacing the battery. I was informed that it would cost me 142.95 to replace the battery. Although I was hesitant to pay that price for the battery, ( I researched the same battery and I could have bought it myself for around $100), due to the circumstances of the vehicle being repaired at a facility over 80 miles from my residence I agreed to allow them to replace it for that price. When the repairs were completed I drove to the dealership to pick up my vehicle and was unpleasantly surprised with a bill that exceeded the price I agreed upon over the phone. I was charged 167.72, which included a charge for shop supplies and tax. These additional charges were not explained to me when I agreed to have them replace the battery. I explained to members of the service team that I would not have agreed to have them replace the battery if I knew it was going to cost me that much total. I had no choice but to pay $ 167.72 to get my vehicle back. I feel I was mislead and taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the additional charges that I did not verbally agree to which totals $24.77.

Business Response:

We have contacted Ms. ******** and explanied there was a billing error on the invoice and we have refunded her the money and its all resolved.

thanks

*** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told by the sells person that if I was not happy with the car I had 30 days to return and that only 500.00 would be taken from the 3000.00 I had put down! I checked the blue book value on the car and found that it was only worth 2000.00 but they are charging me 8000.00! So I took the car back on 2-15-2012 and was told by the manger that it was my car and their was nothing they could do

Desired Settlement: I wont my money back less the 500.00

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service