BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automobile & truck sales & service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jack Safro Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jack Safro Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Jack Safro Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1972 Business started: 01/01/1962 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1962 Business incorporated: 10/15/1982 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jeanne Safro, Co-owner/Principal/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jeanne Safro, Co-owner/Principal/Manager
Customer Contact: Ms. Kimberly Uitz, HR Manager
Related Businesses
Lexus North Shore Lexus of Brookfield
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Jack Safro Toyota sells the following brand(s): Scion, Toyota

Alternate Business Names
Safro Imports of Brookfield, LLC Safro Scion Safro Toyota
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • 20445 W Capitol Dr

    Brookfield, WI 53045 (262) 781-2626

  • PO Box 347

    Brookfield, WI 53008

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/24/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged as outrageous amount of $550 JUST for front and rear brake pads, other dealers only charge $200 for the same service. When I signed the authorization for work I saw the price of $275 and I was told that was the price. When the work was done in TWO hours even though I was charged for FOUR hours labor I was told the amount due was 550! Just for brake pads!!!!!! I contacted the service manager *** who said he would send s refund check, which I received for only $50. I then contacted him to speak with him and he was VERY rude and hung up! He is very arrogant, rude and a thief. And I will never do business there ever again.

Desired Settlement: I would like a $200 refund and an apology.

Business Response:

After leaving several messages, our ******* *******, ***** ******* spoke with Mr. ****** regarding his complaint.

The situation was discussed between them, Mr. ******* apologize on behalf of our dealership and agreed to refund Mr. ****** $200.00.  A check was mailed to Mr. ****** on March 3, 2014.

Additionally, *** ******* *** referred to in the complaint has been removed from the position.

Thank you for allowing us to have the opportunity to discuss this with our customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been using Jack Safro Toyota's service department to service our vehicles for years. The general approach is that prior to the event we discuss expected maintenance and get an idea of what things might cost, then we drop off the vehicle. The service team takes a look at the vehicle to see what really needs to be done, at which point they call and discuss each of the items on the list, with a price for each. We make a decision of which items we'll tackle and which will be deferred, at which point they do whatever portion of the work we agree upon. When we pick up the vehicle prices have always been essentially exactly as quoted, before tax. The estimate doesn't include tax, and we know it, but everything else is included. Not this time. In Dec 2013 we called in advance and scheduled a date to drop off our Rav4 for service. The service person we've used for years is gone, and the new person (**** ******) immediately started off on the wrong foot by forgetting to tell anyone we're coming. No worries, they let us drop off the car and they take a look at it. Later that day I get the expected call and we discussed the work needing to be done and the price for each. There were four recommended service items, for which I was given prices of $118 + 129.99 + 89.99 + 43.55 = $381.53. I figured that with tax it was probably just on the high side of $400. I asked if they could throw in an oil change at no charge and they agreed to do so. The problem was that they didn't honor their estimate. Apparently **** had made another mistake by forgetting to include labor in the estimate. My guess is that he realized his error and tried to cover his rear, because the itemized bill says "Approved revised estimate of $570.00 by **** *****". This is an outright lie, it didn't happen. I can't believe that a reputable dealership would stoop to lying to cover a mistake in an estimate. In fact, if they had realized their error and called prior to doing the work, I would have been OK with it, and would simply have deferred some of the work. Instead of doing the right thing, they simply did the work and charged more money for it without asking. We didn't hear a thing about it until I sent my wife to pick up the car, telling her to expect it to be about $400, and they showed her the bill and explained that the higher cost included labor. So, I ask you, what was she supposed to do? Say "No, I'm paying $400, and oh by the way you have to accept it and give me my car?" Was she supposed to walk away without our car? Was she supposed to complain on the spot and talk to a manager? What if she's a non-confrontational type, does that mean it's OK to take advantage of her since she won't put up a fight? She paid, and left. This all happened just before Christmas, so I sent a complaint via email but waited patiently for a response. A full month later, still no response. So, I sent a follow-up. This time I get a response The key parts of the response were: a) "Bring me the quote that you have in writing and I will gladly honor it." As stated above, all quotes I've ever received from Jack Safro were verbal via phone, and this one was no different. If this is the best Safro has to offer, they're basically saying their word is not binding unless it's in writing. I beg to differ. b) "All the services did add up to what was quoted... As stated before $381.55 + 189.99 ... was signed and agreed upon by [your wife]". No, this is not true. I'm not sure if **** lied to them also, but the price was NOT what was quoted. And if telling my wife that "the work is done, sign here and pay $550 if you want your car back" is what they call "agreed upon", then I cry foul. That's closer to extortion than an agreement. c) "...for the 'confusion' that you and your wife had here..." That's just plain demeaning. I'm not confused at all. I know exactly what happened. They may not, **** may have lied to them, but that's offensive.

Desired Settlement: I want an apology in writing, from ****, for lying on the paperwork where he said I had approved the revision. I want an apology in writing, from ***** ***** (the "******* *******", though based on his track record I'd call it "no-service"), for being rude, condescending, and for making me wait a month before bothering to respond. A check for $150 would be nice. But a check without the written apologies will not suffice. Written apologies without a check will be sufficient to close this (though this would affirm my extremely poor opinion of **** *****).

Business Response:

Upon receipt of this complaint, our ******* *******, ***** *******, reviewed the documentation we had regarding the service repair.  After reviewing the information available, Mr. ******* personally spoke with Mr. **** ***** and agreed to refund $170.00 to him.  The check was sent to Mr. ***** on January 17, 2014.  Mr. ******* extended his apologies on behalf of the company and himself and Mr. ***** expressed his satisfaction with the outcome.

We have further made a change in Mr. *****'s employment with our company.

 

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.  We value each and every one of our customers, and strive for complete customer satisfaction.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I have always received good service and good value from Jack Safro's service and repairs team, this issue was never about the money. I assume I have always received fair value for the money I was charged, even in this particular event. Rather, the complaint was about the way it was handled and the way I was treated. The general manager of Jack Safro called me and we spoke at length about what had happened, and through that conversation I came to understand that my experience was an unacceptable aberration from the norm. They refunded the discrepancy (between what I had been quoted and the actual invoice), but more importantly he assured me that this was not acceptable behavior on their part and he was going to make sure it never happened again. I now believe this was just one individual acting on his own, going against their normal pattern of good service and good relationship with their clients.

Interestingly, the conversation led to a potential system change at Safro. I had received a followup email after my service call, so I had replied to that email with my complaint over what had happened. That email went to the service manager (who caused the problem), but the general manager never even saw this information until the BBB complaint was filed. I believe his plan going forward is to have those emails sent to his personal account so he'll have a better "ear to the ground" and hopefully things won't have to go so far next time before they can be resolved.

Regards,

 

**** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my car in for scheduled oil change. I have a brand new 2012 camry. I am a woman. At checkin i was told due to weather temperature i would not receive the complimentary car wash which was fine by me. My car had obvious WI salty winter road residue on it. They informed me my car was complete and everything looked great. Service yech still had my car in the lift stall, he pulled it out and my fiancee and i noticed some explicit language writen in the car on passenger door as well as what is called arocker panel. It read "**** ** **** and *** ** ***** next to it was a drawing of ****** **** **** as well as a second drawing in the middle of door that was finger smudged wiped out. We notified the manager and he immediately told a tech to take my car to wash station and to hand dry it. He was the only person who seemed concerned about my emotional embarrassment. He also wiped down car steering wheel as there was oil fingerprints all over my wheel and tire rim. I spoke to him that monday and informed him i wanted in writing in my account exact words and drawing as to i was so distraught i forgot to take a picture. He informed me they terminated the two individuals that serviced my car. The head service manager called me and at first seemed apologetic, but also gave me a sob story about the service tech being a troubled young man and his mother was dying of cancer,which im sorry for him but that is absolutely no excuse for his actions. We then had a meeting with service manager an the general manager who treated my fiancee and i like we were trash. He spoke to us like this was not that big of a deal because they fired the guys. I explained i was violated and felt taken advantage of and singled out. I said i would never feel comfortable coming-out ta back to this dealership. They called me an extortionist when i asked them for a monetaryammount to take my car elsewhere .my fiancee asked how much a car detailing was since that was what they offeredme. We were never given a straight amount. I decided i had heard enough and told my fiancee i felt bulled by these two managers and wanted to leave. Due to this it has tainted my feeling for toyota. I will never go back to jack safro and i am very fearful in general now of car service aeas.

Desired Settlement: Some sort of compensation for scratched paint and i would like customer satisfaction. some sort of compensation from jack safro to ensure this will never happen again.

Consumer Response: On Tue, Apr 2, 2013 at 8:46 AM, **** ******** ********************** wrote:

The company has contacted me and i am satisfied with result. Issue has been resolved.
Thank you

Connected by ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November of 2009, I was in an accident that resulted in my car being totaled. Having already leased a vehicle from Jack Safro Toyota, my wife and I stopped in the dealership to shop for a replacement. Our Salesperson, *****, came highly recommended by our neighbors. Our experience was very pleasant. We leased a **** ***** with only 10 miles on it. We have enjoyed the car and our now looking to turn it in. As we were negotiating a deal at a dealership in *******, a Carfax report was issued that stated our vehicle was in an accident that deployed the airbag. I was confused and alarmed. This feeling soon turned to anger when the report indicated that the vehicle did have a crash, one week prior to our aggreement to lease the *****. To me this a case of dishonest sales practices. A truly honest salesperson, sales manager or finance manager should have informed us of the crash. This indicates a mentality of greed over consumer. I wish discourage anyone from dealing with Jack Safro Toyota of **********.

Desired Settlement: Jack Safro should make a policy of providing a Carfax for ever vehicle sold or leased during the negotiation process.

Business Response: ******** ********

Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin

10101 W, Greenfield Ave, Ste. 125

Milwaukee, WI 53214

Dear Ms. ********:

March 22, 2012

RE: **** * ******

BBB ID

 

# *******

 

***** ** ******* *****

**** *** ***

 

 

*********** ** *****·****

 

***** ********

*************

We are in receipt of the above mentioned complaint. I apologize for not responding to the March 4

letter, but we did not receive it via e-mail.

I have spoken with both Mr. and Mrs. ****** about this matter. In reviewing our file, we found that the

information regarding an accident with this vehicle, and the Carfax report was erroneous.

While Carfax is a great tool for both consumers and dealers, the information contained in reports

regarding accidents is obtained from police accident reports. It is certainly possible for an incorrect

vehicle serial number to be recorded.

In addition, the Dealer Section of the Wisconsin Motor Vehicle Division requires a damage disclosure

statement "when any new, demonstrator or executive-driven vehicle has corrected damage of more

than 6percent of the MSRP". Had the vehicle in fact been involved in the accident shown on the original

Carfax report, we would have been required to disclose that information on the Motor Vehicle Purchase

Agreement. Since there was no damage to this vehicle prior to delivery, there was no disclosure.

I contacted Carfax to revise the report (copy attached) on March 5, 2012, after Mr. ****** sent a letter

(copy attached) to our dealership. The Carfax report has been revised and both Mr. and Mrs. ****** are

satisfied with the results and will next contact the dealership in Florida who deducted $750 in trade-in

value.

Unless we have further communication from Mr. and Mrs. ****** or the Wisconsin Better Business

Bureau, we will consider this matter closed. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved