Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jack Safro Toyota

Additional Locations

Phone: (262) 781-2626 Fax: (262) 783-8822 20445 W Capitol Dr, Brookfield, WI 53045 http://www.safro.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automobile & truck sales & service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jack Safro Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jack Safro Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Jack Safro Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1972 Business started: 01/01/1962 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1962 Business incorporated 10/15/1982 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jeanne Safro, Co-owner/Principal/Manager Ms. Christine Jones, Controller/Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Christine Jones, Controller/Office Manager
Principal: Ms. Jeanne Safro, Co-owner/Principal/Manager
Related Businesses
Lexus North Shore Lexus of Brookfield
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Jack Safro Toyota sells the following brand(s): Scion, Toyota

Alternate Business Names
Safro Imports of Brookfield, LLC Safro Scion Safro Toyota
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Jack Safro Toyota has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 20445 W Capitol Dr

    Brookfield, WI 53045 (262) 781-2626

  • PO Box 347

    Brookfield, WI 53008

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Negotiated a deal on a employee driven used 2013 FJ Cruiser, trading in a 2009 VW CC automobile. I put $500 down, using a Visa Credit Card, which they processed and arranged for a time to for the final contract to be completed a signed.Received a call today, the day the contract was available, and was told that they reneged on the agreement and had credited the down payment. It is apparent they either received a better offer or someone in the dealership wants the car.According to my lawyer this is breach of contract and totally illegal. I believe this company may have had other complaints in this same line and request that you investigate. I believe this is urgent since they may sell this car.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to honor the agreement. I have passed on another car that is no longer available, and since the car is now out of production, another will be difficult or impossible to find.

Business Response: Our ******* ******** ***** ******* has contacted the customer and was able to address all of the concerns posted in the complaint. It is our impression that our response has satisfied the customer and we now consider this matter closed. We look forward to serving the customer and demonstrating our continued commitment to customer satisfaction. Thank you

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like Jack Safro to pay my last payment in my VW lease agreement. When negotiating my conditions of sale, we asked for the VM lease agreement to be paid in full. As I understood this it would pay any obligations that I had with VW. I found out they only paid three months and then I received an invoice for one more month. This last payment is a turn-in fee for not staying with their brand. Safro knew this because they have the very same policy [their Section 5 on their contract] when you don’t stay with their brand as well. They are now saying they have satisfied their obligation to the contract. Which actually they haven’t done so. Their mission says to constantly exceed expectations of our customers, and excellence in every aspect of their business. Your satisfaction is paramount to our success. I’m sorry to say, but this isn’t the case for me. I’m a very dissatisfied customer. I’ve e-mailed them and now they won’t even have the courtesy to call me back. I think this was a totally misunderstanding on the salesperson’s part who would talk to the GM and come back to us. This is not what was conveyed back to us from the salesperson….he said all obligations of the lease agreement would be taken care of. I think this has been handled in a very unprofessional manner, and the GM who contacted [once by phone and then e-mail] me was in fact very rude. I hope this can be resolved. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: For Jack Safro to pay the last payment in my VM lease agreement.

Business Response: Please accept the following as our response to Ms. *********'s request for additional payment to VW
Credit on her behalf.
Ms. ********* presented her VW Credit statement of account showing an Outstanding Balance of
$839.24 with thirty-three (33) payments made and three (3) payments of $290.00 remaining. We
accepted the account Information on her leased VW vehicle In good faith and negotiated the (ease of a
new Toyota Camry based on the information she provided. Ms. ********* signed the Motor Vehicle
Lease Order with the following "Other Conditions of Lease" stated: "JST TO PAY $870.00 TO
VOLKSWAGEN CREDIT ACCOUNT ##*********." JACKSAFRO TOYOTA remitted those payments to vw
credit on May 20, 2014 as agreed.
Ms *********'s claim that "Safro knew this because they have the very same policy" in regards to lease
disposition fees makes the assumption that we at JACK SAFRO TOYOTA have firsthand knowledge of all
of our competitors lease agreements. Had Ms. ********* disclosed the existence of the disposition fee
for her VW lease vehicle and given us the opportunity to negotiate the amount upfront we would have
gladly done so.
We feel that JACK SAFRO TOYOTA has satisfied our obligation to the contract. We are disappointed
that Ms. ********* considers herself a "dissatisfied customer". Our ***** *******, **** ***********
has spoken to Ms. ********* and explained our position. Ms. ********* voiced her concerns by email to
**** ***** as well. In the email Ms. ********* writes: tI .. 1 feel that we were given the wrong
information about paying off the agreement and don't feel that we should have to incur this cost. If the
correct information would have been conveyed to us, this never would have happened.fI We
respectfully submit the same words as our response to Ms. *********'s claim.
Thank you,

Business Response:

We acknowledge receipt of the customer's most recent comments on her experience with our
dealership. We will not be responding to her opinions on the integrity of our staff and business
practices.
We stand behind our position that we were upfront and transparent in our dealings with the
customer. We fulfilled our obligation to the contract on the vehicle. We did exactly what was asked of
us to do and followed through on everything we promised to do at the time of delivery. We cannot
provide floor mats to the customer at no charge subsequent to delivery when they had been quoted the
purchase price at delivery and chose not to add it to the contract. We cannot pay amounts related to
the customer's lease trade that were incurred upon turn in of the vehicle to another dealership.
We at JACK SAFRO TOYOTA may not be "100% right" in the opinion of this customer, yet we are
confident that we have conducted our business for over forty years with a 100% commitment to
customer satisfaction and have provided award winning service to our customers.
We appreciate the opportunity to address the customer's public complaint and your assistance in this
matter. While we accept that this matter may not be resolved to the customer's satisfaction through
this process, we will not be seeking mediation or arbitration services with your organization.
Sincerely,
JACK SAFRO TOYOTA

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** *********

 

 January 16, 2015

 

******* ********** ****** ******** ****** ** ********* ***** ** ********** **** ********** **  *****

RE:  ID ********

Dear ******* **********:

Again, thanks for attaching the January 14, 2015 response from Safro’s ***** *******.  I see again he didn’t address my four latest bulletpoints [listed below] from his letter.

·         Safro said they brought out the invoice and pointed out $100 less and MSRP which in fact this invoice was never shown to us. 

·         And Safro said – I looked out the window and I saw a severe crease on the driver’s door.  We were the ones who showed them the dent on the passenger door of the driver’s side.  How could he see it out the window when we were the ones who brought it to their attention.  Really…. is he clairvoyant?  Then in the next few paragraphs Safro said “we repaired the dent” first they say crease and then they admit a dent like we stated.  I see a pattern of lying through this entire debacle.  

·         ****** met us at the Boucher dealership Safro states ****** spent an hour answering all of our questions.  Another lie, he was there for 20 mins., and made sure the closing of the lease was complete….which Boucher did in a very efficient quick manner.  Not an hour like stated and the two questions we had were answered even before the car was turned in.    

·         When *** ********* called and spoke with ******, he never said he didn’t want to talk to *** the GM and before he hung up he never said to ****** “I know how to climb the ladder”.  This is something my husband would never say….those words aren’t in his vocabulary.  And probably the best one…..word for word from their letter – *** should call me directly if he had any questions.  Mr. ********* did call several times and Safro said they brought out the invoice and pointed out $100 less and MSRP which in fact this invoice was never shown to us. 

Why weren’t these answered….because they were in wrong and didn’t want to address these issues that he stated in their letter.  As Safro claim they are 100% correct… then why not answer the above questions.  Again, they keep answering the same questions over and over again – lease and floor mats.  They opened the door with their four statements listed above, but with their January 14th letter, failed to answer them.  Is it possible that they’re in the wrong on the four items above and therefore, don’t have an honest answer for me.  I think that’s the case. 

There are several truths to every situation and everyone has their own version of the truth.  Safro claims they are 100% right [with 100% customer satisfaction – I find that very hard to believe no one has a 100% rating] but again, I reiterate they never addressed the above issues which they stated were true in their letter.  Sorry to say, but again they are not the truth.  I’ve moved on with the lease and floor mats I just want to know why they keep digging themselves into a deeper hole [with incorrect information] with more lies which never occurred, and then never actually answer the current questions at hand.  

I guess they can’t convey the truth when you ask for answers. 

****** *********  

5/24/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged as outrageous amount of $550 JUST for front and rear brake pads, other dealers only charge $200 for the same service. When I signed the authorization for work I saw the price of $275 and I was told that was the price. When the work was done in TWO hours even though I was charged for FOUR hours labor I was told the amount due was 550! Just for brake pads!!!!!! I contacted the service manager *** who said he would send s refund check, which I received for only $50. I then contacted him to speak with him and he was VERY rude and hung up! He is very arrogant, rude and a thief. And I will never do business there ever again.

Desired Settlement: I would like a $200 refund and an apology.

Business Response:

After leaving several messages, our ******* *******, ***** ******* spoke with Mr. ****** regarding his complaint.

The situation was discussed between them, Mr. ******* apologize on behalf of our dealership and agreed to refund Mr. ****** $200.00.  A check was mailed to Mr. ****** on March 3, 2014.

Additionally, *** ******* *** referred to in the complaint has been removed from the position.

Thank you for allowing us to have the opportunity to discuss this with our customer.

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been using Jack Safro Toyota's service department to service our vehicles for years. The general approach is that prior to the event we discuss expected maintenance and get an idea of what things might cost, then we drop off the vehicle. The service team takes a look at the vehicle to see what really needs to be done, at which point they call and discuss each of the items on the list, with a price for each. We make a decision of which items we'll tackle and which will be deferred, at which point they do whatever portion of the work we agree upon. When we pick up the vehicle prices have always been essentially exactly as quoted, before tax. The estimate doesn't include tax, and we know it, but everything else is included. Not this time. In Dec 2013 we called in advance and scheduled a date to drop off our Rav4 for service. The service person we've used for years is gone, and the new person (**** ******) immediately started off on the wrong foot by forgetting to tell anyone we're coming. No worries, they let us drop off the car and they take a look at it. Later that day I get the expected call and we discussed the work needing to be done and the price for each. There were four recommended service items, for which I was given prices of $118 + 129.99 + 89.99 + 43.55 = $381.53. I figured that with tax it was probably just on the high side of $400. I asked if they could throw in an oil change at no charge and they agreed to do so. The problem was that they didn't honor their estimate. Apparently **** had made another mistake by forgetting to include labor in the estimate. My guess is that he realized his error and tried to cover his rear, because the itemized bill says "Approved revised estimate of $570.00 by **** *****". This is an outright lie, it didn't happen. I can't believe that a reputable dealership would stoop to lying to cover a mistake in an estimate. In fact, if they had realized their error and called prior to doing the work, I would have been OK with it, and would simply have deferred some of the work. Instead of doing the right thing, they simply did the work and charged more money for it without asking. We didn't hear a thing about it until I sent my wife to pick up the car, telling her to expect it to be about $400, and they showed her the bill and explained that the higher cost included labor. So, I ask you, what was she supposed to do? Say "No, I'm paying $400, and oh by the way you have to accept it and give me my car?" Was she supposed to walk away without our car? Was she supposed to complain on the spot and talk to a manager? What if she's a non-confrontational type, does that mean it's OK to take advantage of her since she won't put up a fight? She paid, and left. This all happened just before Christmas, so I sent a complaint via email but waited patiently for a response. A full month later, still no response. So, I sent a follow-up. This time I get a response The key parts of the response were: a) "Bring me the quote that you have in writing and I will gladly honor it." As stated above, all quotes I've ever received from Jack Safro were verbal via phone, and this one was no different. If this is the best Safro has to offer, they're basically saying their word is not binding unless it's in writing. I beg to differ. b) "All the services did add up to what was quoted... As stated before $381.55 + 189.99 ... was signed and agreed upon by [your wife]". No, this is not true. I'm not sure if **** lied to them also, but the price was NOT what was quoted. And if telling my wife that "the work is done, sign here and pay $550 if you want your car back" is what they call "agreed upon", then I cry foul. That's closer to extortion than an agreement. c) "...for the 'confusion' that you and your wife had here..." That's just plain demeaning. I'm not confused at all. I know exactly what happened. They may not, **** may have lied to them, but that's offensive.

Desired Settlement: I want an apology in writing, from ****, for lying on the paperwork where he said I had approved the revision. I want an apology in writing, from ***** ***** (the "******* *******", though based on his track record I'd call it "no-service"), for being rude, condescending, and for making me wait a month before bothering to respond. A check for $150 would be nice. But a check without the written apologies will not suffice. Written apologies without a check will be sufficient to close this (though this would affirm my extremely poor opinion of **** *****).

Business Response:

Upon receipt of this complaint, our ******* *******, ***** *******, reviewed the documentation we had regarding the service repair.  After reviewing the information available, Mr. ******* personally spoke with Mr. **** ***** and agreed to refund $170.00 to him.  The check was sent to Mr. ***** on January 17, 2014.  Mr. ******* extended his apologies on behalf of the company and himself and Mr. ***** expressed his satisfaction with the outcome.

We have further made a change in Mr. *****'s employment with our company.

 

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.  We value each and every one of our customers, and strive for complete customer satisfaction.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I have always received good service and good value from Jack Safro's service and repairs team, this issue was never about the money. I assume I have always received fair value for the money I was charged, even in this particular event. Rather, the complaint was about the way it was handled and the way I was treated. The general manager of Jack Safro called me and we spoke at length about what had happened, and through that conversation I came to understand that my experience was an unacceptable aberration from the norm. They refunded the discrepancy (between what I had been quoted and the actual invoice), but more importantly he assured me that this was not acceptable behavior on their part and he was going to make sure it never happened again. I now believe this was just one individual acting on his own, going against their normal pattern of good service and good relationship with their clients.

Interestingly, the conversation led to a potential system change at Safro. I had received a followup email after my service call, so I had replied to that email with my complaint over what had happened. That email went to the service manager (who caused the problem), but the general manager never even saw this information until the BBB complaint was filed. I believe his plan going forward is to have those emails sent to his personal account so he'll have a better "ear to the ground" and hopefully things won't have to go so far next time before they can be resolved.

Regards,

 

**** *****

4/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my car in for scheduled oil change. I have a brand new 2012 camry. I am a woman. At checkin i was told due to weather temperature i would not receive the complimentary car wash which was fine by me. My car had obvious WI salty winter road residue on it. They informed me my car was complete and everything looked great. Service yech still had my car in the lift stall, he pulled it out and my fiancee and i noticed some explicit language writen in the car on passenger door as well as what is called arocker panel. It read "**** ** **** and *** ** ***** next to it was a drawing of ****** **** **** as well as a second drawing in the middle of door that was finger smudged wiped out. We notified the manager and he immediately told a tech to take my car to wash station and to hand dry it. He was the only person who seemed concerned about my emotional embarrassment. He also wiped down car steering wheel as there was oil fingerprints all over my wheel and tire rim. I spoke to him that monday and informed him i wanted in writing in my account exact words and drawing as to i was so distraught i forgot to take a picture. He informed me they terminated the two individuals that serviced my car. The head service manager called me and at first seemed apologetic, but also gave me a sob story about the service tech being a troubled young man and his mother was dying of cancer,which im sorry for him but that is absolutely no excuse for his actions. We then had a meeting with service manager an the general manager who treated my fiancee and i like we were trash. He spoke to us like this was not that big of a deal because they fired the guys. I explained i was violated and felt taken advantage of and singled out. I said i would never feel comfortable coming-out ta back to this dealership. They called me an extortionist when i asked them for a monetaryammount to take my car elsewhere .my fiancee asked how much a car detailing was since that was what they offeredme. We were never given a straight amount. I decided i had heard enough and told my fiancee i felt bulled by these two managers and wanted to leave. Due to this it has tainted my feeling for toyota. I will never go back to jack safro and i am very fearful in general now of car service aeas.

Desired Settlement: Some sort of compensation for scratched paint and i would like customer satisfaction. some sort of compensation from jack safro to ensure this will never happen again.

Consumer Response: On Tue, Apr 2, 2013 at 8:46 AM, **** ******** ********************** wrote:

The company has contacted me and i am satisfied with result. Issue has been resolved.
Thank you

Connected by ********