Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Jack Safro Ford?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new car sales services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jack Safro Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jack Safro Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Jack Safro Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1989 Business started: 12/17/1987 in WI Business started locally: 12/17/1987 Business incorporated: 09/11/1987 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Chris Jones, HR Director Mrs. Jeanne M Safro, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Chris Jones, HR Director
Principal: Mrs. Jeanne M Safro, Owner
Related Businesses
Lexus North Shore Lexus of Brookfield Jack Safro Toyota
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Ford of Oconomowoc, LLC
Industry Tips
Flood-Damaged Cars

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Jack Safro Ford has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1000 Summit Ave

    Oconomowoc, WI 53066 (262) 567-5574 (800) 564-5574

  • PO Box 347

    Brookfield, WI 53008

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2007 Ford Explorer from Jack Safro Ford on Saturday, March 22nd. I bought the vehicle used and just wanted any kind of reassurance that if anything were to go wrong within a couple days of purchase, the dealer would assist me in fixing it. Throughout the paper work, the dealer told me that I would have 30 days if anything were to happen, they would fix it for me. But the salesman and the business manager kept telling me "We are a local, family owned business. We have been here for years and you can trust us. If anything goes wrong with the vehicle, of course we will take care of it." On Monday, March 24th, I noticed there was coolant leaking from the car. So I took it to a local Ford dealer to get it looked at since Jack Safro Ford is located about 1.5 hours from where I live. It turns out the thermostat housing was defective and needed to be replaced. I called the sales person that helped me out with buying the car at Jack Safro Ford and he told me he would talk to his Manager and get back to me. He never called me back so I called him again on Wednesday March 26th. He once again told me that he did nit hear back from his service department on the actual cost and labor of the thermostat housing. The sales person refused to call me back all of that week and when I finally got in contact with him. He told me that would not cover the cost of replacing the thermostat housing. They said they would cover have of the cost if I covered the other half. The drive for me would have been 1.5 hours each way and I would be required to take a day of from work to drive down there. I also feared to go back to Jack Safro Ford because I did not feel comfortable dealing with them after being given untruthful information. The coolant started leaking less than 48 hours after I purchased the vehicle. The local Ford dealer (**** ********** ****) informed me that the issue with the coolant leaking was already existing the the vehicle before I purchased it. I took it to ********** **** to replace the thermostat housing because I could not afford to take off a whole day from work and I was afraid to go back to Safro Ford. I am not certain if I was taken advantage of because I live so far away from the dealer and they knew I could not go through the trouble of driving all the way back. The total cost of the repair was $458.88.

Desired Settlement: I would just like them to refund me for the cost of $458.88 that it cost to replace the thermostat housing because it was already an existing issue which I was not informed of. They also stated they would take care of any repairs if there were to be any so close after buying the vehicle.

Business Response:

In response to ***** *****’s contact, we wish to express our apology for the situation.  The fact that the coolant leak was not found during the safety inspection could be that it was considered “normal seepage”  on a vehicle with 140,000 miles.

An “As is” acknowledgement was signed by Mr. ****** on March 22, 2014 (copy attached) stating that the vehicle was sold in a “as is” condition, but Jack Safro will provide assistance for issues occurring within 30 days of the purchase.  The acknowledgement states that we will not charge for diagnosis and allow a 20% discount for parts and labor, but all repairs must be performed at our dealership.

Since the vehicle was taken to a dealer closer to his home, Jack Safro did not have the opportunity to diagnose the problem.  We are aware of the distance from Mr. ******’s home to our dealership and are prepared to reimburse him 50% of the repairs made at **** ********** ****.  Upon his acceptance, we will forward a check in the amount of $229.44 to him.

We feel this is an equitable solution for both of us.  It was never our intention to sell a “bad” car to Mr. *****, or any other customer of ours.  We have been in business for over 25 years and value our reputation in our community and area.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** *****