BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm is an authorized BMW, Mini, Mercedes-Benz, and Audi dealership selling new/used vehicles, including auto repair, auto body, auto parts, detailing and vehicle storage.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that International Autos, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for International Autos, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on International Autos, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 15, 1998 Business started: 11/01/1997 in WI Business started locally: 11/01/1997 Business incorporated: 10/05/1995 in IL
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708
http://datcp.state.wi.us/
Phone Number: (800) 422-7128
hotline@datcp.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas H. Dexter, COO Mr. John Conway, Audi Sales Manager Mr. Dan Jansen, BMW Sales Manager Mr. Steve Leher, Mini Sales Manager Mr. Ralph Mauro, Owner Ms. Crystal Mirr, Internet Sales Manager Mr. Tony Przytula, Service Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas H. Dexter, COO
Customer Contact: Ms. Crystal Mirr, Internet Sales Manager
Related Businesses
Mercedes Benz of Elmbrook International Infiniti, LLC
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Services Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Hours of Operation
Mon-Thur 9am-8pm, Fri 9am-6pm, Sat 9am-5pm, Sun Closed.
Alternate Business Names
Audi Milwaukee International BMW International Mercedes-Benz International Mini
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment Used Car Purchase-Buyers Guide

Additional Locations

  • 2400 S 108th St

    West Allis, WI 53227 (414) 543-3000

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I traded in a vehicle at international autos. left some personal items in the trunk- *** *** **** *** ******* told me i could come get these items but stopped responding to my texts. i asked hwen i could come get the items from him and he stated "when you bring in the other set of rims". which was brought up initally but never agreed upon my me. i spoke to his boss *** ****** who was as helpful as he could be but informed me that the detail company had already discarded my items. *** had told me the day before they were still in his possesion and when i brought in the rims i could take them back - which came off to me like extortion. i had misc. clothes, shoes, and some personal items with sentimental value like a flask from my brothers wedding. which was promised to be returned but thrown away instead because i wouldnt do what *** asked. the car i traded in sold before this and he still wanted to get the rims for no reason.

Desired Settlement: i would like this matter to be resolved by some sort of reimbursement. i feel this was handled very unprofessionally by the manager who is supposed to handle himself with some sort of class.

Business Response:

I apologize for the inconvenience caused to Mr. ******* surrounding the rims.  It is unfortunate that the detail company we contract with to clean trade-in vehicles discarded his personal artifacts.  I recognize that we had a learn from this experience and can assure current customers, and prospective customers, that this is not how we aim to do business.  I welcome a personal conversation with Mr. ******* as to resolve this matter outside of the platform that the BBB offers.  I will make myself available and encourage a call to my office at:  ###-###-####.  Generally, I am in the office Monday-Thursday from 9 a.m. until 8 p.m. and Saturday from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m.  Thank you.

Regards,

*** ******, *** ***** *******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had work performed while my car was under warranty. The car was brought in because I was getting a "Check Engine" alert and also, while I was driving, I woul get an alert that my "Gas Cap was Open." Obviously, my gas cap was not open. When I brought it in, the dealership did some work on the car, but again, it was covered under warranty, so I paid nothing. About 3 weeks later, the identical issues surfaced. I called and spoke to ********, who set up an appointment for me a couple weeks later. I did inform her that the issues were IDENTICAL to what was fixed last time. I brought the car in and received notification that there was a problem with the filter that was causing the gas fumes to escape, therefore triggerig the "Check Engine" alert and the "Gas Cap Open" meessage. I assumed that it would be covered; however, Mercedes Benz informed me that none of the work would be covered and assured me this was something different and that they did not miss anything. I refused and they then told me I would have to at least pay for the part because Mercedes would not pay that invoice. I asked how he was sure that it was not the same issue since I assum that there are not many diagnoses that would trigger an open gas cap alert, especially in less than 3 weeks time. I have been transfered to three different people now and I feel that the dealership is acting unethically and trying to get me to pay for a part that should have been included in the previous servicing of my car when it was warrantied.

Desired Settlement: I believe the car should be repaired at no cost to me. The car was brought in with the identical alerts (one of which is quite unique) and I feel it should have been repaired when the car was brought in three weeks prior

Business Response: I have spoken with client and
the vehicle is currently in the shop being worked on.  No one is acting
un-ethically and good faith attempts have been made to address clients
issues/concerns.  Clients vehicle was within the warranty period at the
time of the initial repair, however another set of codes appeared shortly after
that repair.   Unfortunately the light did come back on for another
issue separate from the first.  Client did attempt to contact me, however
I was out to lunch and left no message.  I did receive an email message
from ****** ****** as well as ***** ********* when I returned.  I was
attempting to gather all the facts and speak to ****** about the this, the
client did call and I spoke with him.  We discussed his concerns, I
explained that I would have to get additional information and would be in
contact with him shorty.  I gathered the necessary information and, I along
with ****** ****** decided to address and take care of the clients
issue.   The vehicle is currently in the workshop and is being worked
on and the vehicle should be completed by this afternoon.  I do apologize
to the client for any misunderstandings that this may have caused. 

Regards,

**** ********
******* ******** ** *** ************* ***** *****

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  The company did stand behind their initial work and i was offered an apology, as well as the covered work which I had requested.

Regards,

 

**** *****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new 2013 BMW X1 in Sept. 2012 and took delivery in Nov. 2012. During my first few months with the car I identified some concerns that I had but waited until my first scheduled maintenance (Jun 10) to bring them up because I have to take time off of work to make it during their business hours and the dealer it about 30+ minutes away. The issues I brought up included sporadic improper shifting of the transmission (sometimes the transmission lets the engine bounce off the fuel cut off a few times before shifting to second when full throttle is applied from a stop, not good at all for the engine to go past red line and hit the fuel cut off), the brake pedal moved under the foot when the windshield wipers go back and forth (concerned something was loose that shouldn't be) and that the HVAC system has some quirks (fan speed fluctuates abruptly from normal to full blast and back for no reason while on auto, dual zone climate control does not actually provide dual temperatures and odd wind noises at highway speeds). The service specialist called me the next day to pickup the vehicle and label every single issue I had as normal operation. Seems odd that a brand new sports car can't have full throttle applied without mis-shifting and hitting redline or that when I have my temperature set at 67 and my wife has hers at 80 we both get very cold air but apparently this is normal? When I picked up my car the only one I could prove was the faulty HVAC since the shifting issue is intermittent and the pedal one they just say is normal. I sat down with a different service adviser and he agreed that the system did not function as he would expect (driver at 67 and passenger at 80 we would expect cool air for passenger and warmer for passenger, this is how my last 3 vehicles with dual zone climate functioned). The vehicle was looked over again and I was called the next day with an explanation that it worked fine. I requested that they show me before I left with the vehicle. When I arrived they showed me that if the driver side is set to the lowest at 65 and passenger to the highest at 80 it does indeed blow cold at the driver and hot at the passenger. The trouble is that the second the passenger or driver turn the dials to even one degree away from the max cold or hot the system stops blowing two different temperatures and goes back to blowing whatever the drivers side is set at. In reality we want cool 68 for the driver and a little warmer 73 for the passenger. I showed them this and they said they would take yet another look. The next day I was called back again and was told everything was working correctly and that I just needed to change the temperature more slowly to the desired temperature and highlighted a section in the user manual that said "avoid changing temperatures abruptly because the system will not have time to adjust to the desired temperature" . So I went for a ride with him and tried 1 degree change a minute until we had the desired 67/73 split. This resulted in nothing different with cool air coming from both sides. Finally after 4 ** excuses of fixes they agreed to have an engineer come in and look into the issue. After 2 months of the service adviser blowing me off or telling me the engineer was on a 3 week vacation and that was why the service adviser wouldn't call me back they finally arranged for the engineer and I to meet and address the problem. The engineer explained that the car was missing an additional valve and heat exchanger that it would need to function as a true dual zone. Since it only had one it could only mix one temperature or blow all hot out of one side and all cold out the other. Not mix two different temperatures; one for each side. This was designed with this flaw and the engineer said that they would need update documentation to state the limitations and that since I had been incorrectly told that it had dual zone I should get an accommodation of some sort. The service adviser said they would look into what they could offer me and get back to me in a few days. I waited two weeks and when I called he said he hadn't heard back and he would follow up and get back to me the next day. I waited another couple weeks and heard nothing. When I called he said that they would not offer me anything because the vehicle was operating as designed. I thought it was bogus but could see I wasn't getting anywhere with him. When I had to go back to the dealer in Nov. of 2013 for another issue I explained my situation to the service manager. He said he understood my frustrations and would look into what they could offer me and call me back in a couple days. I heard nothing for a week so I called him and he said he hadn't heard back but would follow up and get back to me the next day. That never happened so I called again, left a message but never heard back. I left another message and still no returned call. So now I am just completely blown off. This is ridiculous. I feel I have had to fight for what is right the whole time and they just keep feeding me lies and blowing me off. After 4 trips to the dealer (long drive and time off of work) dozens of phone calls and I am getting no where.

Desired Settlement: I would like something of value in return for getting a vehicle that does not do what it should and was advertised/told by salesman it should do. While I understand dual zone climate may not seem like a big issue but it was on my list of 5 items that were must haves because my wife and I are always struggling with her being cold and me sweating. On top of it all the time and effort I have had to put in because they feed me lies and blow me off. I am thinking maybe extended full service? or some of my purchase price back? I did not get what I paid for and it is a big deal for my wife and I with our first new vehicle purchase.

Business Response:

We do apologize for any inconvenience and for any misunderstandings.  We have addressed the clients concerns with the BMW, the manufacturer of the vehicle.  They have also inspected the vehicle and have found that the vehicle is operating as per design intent.  We do agree that the owner’s manual may have some inaccuracies about this particular system.  Again, we do apologize for that.  BMW and International Autos is receptive to the clients frustrations, and is willing to provide the client with $750.00 towards any BMW Lifestyle or BMW Accessory items of their choice.  We just need to know which items the client would like and we will get them.   We will be sending the client a letter outlining this offer as well.

Regrads,

 

International Autos Management

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Due to coolant issue of my 2002 BMW 325i car, I have contact with International auto for coolant service repair. According schedule I have drop my car at their service center. The car was at their shop full two days (8/21-8/22) and their technician did details diagnostic and came up with parts cost, repair and service. Although they have changed their costing twice, I was agreed to pay. After fixing by their technician, their quality control driver checked and gave a green signal to pick up. So, as per contract I have paid $ 1631.02 and pickup car from their service center at evening and very next day morning when I have started drive to my office, I didn’t drive even 7/8 miles, suddenly it got radiator burst, smoked and heated engine which was almost life threating on highway. Somehow, I got out from highway and call their service department, they advised me to bring car to their facilities asap. So, I did that right way. well they took one more days again for checking and finally at the end of day they informed me engine got burned. we may need to get another new or used engine. when I replied that this not my fault you guys fix it which wasn't properly fixed. then temporary looks like they agreed and service consultant inform me that they have sent this file to their higher authority and may fixed / installed engine without any cost. he also advises me to wait few days. so, I have waited 4/5 days for their decision. then I call them and got replied that they still working on it. anyway, after 2 weeks, when I have contacted their service manager directly then he replied that they got a used engine to fix my car, which will cost around $8000 but I will pay $ 5200 and they will pay rest of the amount and wouldn't charge any service cost for fixing. I didn't agree with that and request to give me other options because that car was old 2002 model it wasn’t worth. they took almost 2 weeks without any good offer or suggestions. Then I request rather repair why don't we do trade in, so, I have requested him please forward your service cost and trade value to new car. again temporary looks like he agree but when sales person call me he said manger want to forward $ 500 towards down payment (which is not even my paid cost for that inappropriate service). Basically, after almost one month we didn’t reach anywhere. So, I was so disappointed and call the manager and request him to send my car to my home with that service cost ($ 1631.02). they send my car but not that money yet.

Desired Settlement: Since they didn't fixed my car properly, rather damaged my car and harass me. at least I want my payment ($1631.02) refund for that inappropriate service as soon as possible.

Business Response:

On or about 08-20-2013 Mr. **** presented his 2002 BMW 325i sedan to International Autos with a low coolant light being on and coolant leaking from vehicle.   The vehicle was inspected and it was determined that the water pump and the upper radiator hoses and reservoir were leaking coolant.  Mr. **** authorized the replacement of the water pump, reservoir and hoses.  He also authorized replacement of coolant soaked drive belts.  Repairs were completed and new coolant was added to the system.  The vehicle was checked in a running condition in the shop as well as on a test drive, vehicle was driven approximately 22 miles and exhibited no external leaks of coolant and no overheating condition was observed.  It was noted that the vehicle did have some motor oil leaking, however the client declined those repairs.  Client came to get vehicle and left with the vehicle in running order.  Client contacted the center the next day claiming that the vehicle was overheating and smoke was coming from the engine area, and had no power and had to be restarted.  Client stated that he  continued to drive the vehicle home and then to the center the next day.  When client arrived he was given alternative transportation while his vehicle was in for service.  Upon inspection of the vehicle, we found that the radiator had ruptured and all the coolant had leaked out.   What made matters worse is that client continued to drive vehicle with no coolant.  Mr. **** drove the car in, however by him doing so caused excessive overheating which caused engine failure.  Client was given 3 options, one was to remove and replace the engine with a BMW Factory remanufactured engine.  Two, remove and replace the engine with a salvage (used) engine or trade the vehicle in as is.  Client was presented with all 3 options, and discussions ensued.  Mr. **** feels that since we worked on the vehicle we are 100% responsible for the failure.  We attempted to explain to him that the work that was done was complete and intact.   Mr. **** also had an issue back in September 2012 when he was told that his heater core was plugged/restricted and he declined repairs at that time.  It is our belief  that the sediment from that, along with the sediment in the radiator itself, and by adding coolant to the system caused the sediment to loosen up and cause a restriction/blockage in the radiator causing enough pressure to build and to rupture the radiator.   Mr. **** was informed that we would work with him as best as possible with any of the 3 options presented to him, but we would not be 100% responsible for this.  Mr. **** declined all the offers and insisted that we take care of this as it is our issue.  The last conversation that I had with Mr. ****, he again insisted that we take care of this as he was not going to get much as a trade in for this car.  I again explained that he was give 3 options and we would work with him, however we are not going to assume 100% of this and he declined all 3 options.  The vehicle was towed to his residence per his request.  At no time was Mr. **** told that he would be getting a refund for previous work completed.   We attempted work something out with the client, however we were not able to come to a complete agreement. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Problems with International Audi in sequential order: 1. Called the Audi dealer and was put on hold and eventually hung up on. 2. Called the Audi dealer back, was put on hold twice, then transferred to service voicemail. Left a voicemail regarding my Audi A4 (Wednesday) 3. Monday rolled around and nobody called me back, so I called Audi and was AGAIN put on hold. They told me they were going to transfer me to voicemail, I refused, and waited 20 minutes to speak to somebody. 4. I asked the technician if they could delete a Stage II tune from the ECU because I was throwing several fuel pressure performance codes and wanted to sell the car. I had these codes read at auto zone and a diagnostic done at tires plus. He said they did it "all the time" with APR tunes and would gladly take a look at it for me and give me a price. 5. Brought the car in, was greeted by **** where he told me they were going to "Do some free warranty work" which would "Probably take care of the check engine light" because it was related to the code I was throwing. (Fuel pressure problems) Thought nothing of it, and allowed him to do the "warranty work" - Also instructed him to install a new oil level sensor - no issues with that - simple install. ($128.00) 6. Got a call from ****, said the car was fixed, the light was off, and everything was good. 7. Got the car back and roughly 1 hour later the check engine light went back on. It obviously only was only off because the battery was disconnected, and was never even tested again. 8. Drove approx 5 miles to a local gym and parked the car in neutral with the air conditioning on. After waiting about 5 minutes for a friend, the car idled rough and died, but restarted minutes later. (Never in the past did I ever have any issues with the car cutting fuel or rough idle / dying) 8. Drove approx 15 miles to the gym to workout. Worked out for roughly 2 hours. Left the gym and drove 10 minutes to supplement warehouse. Was inside supplement warehouse for roughly 20 minutes. Came outside, car would not start. 9. Called AAA and had the car towed to International. 10. **** told us that the fuel pump was completely shot and needed to be replaced. He told us that this was the reason the check engine light was on, we we had the fuel pump replaced. He blamed the tune for the overuse of the stock fuel pump. 11. Drove approx 15 miles to the gym. Was at the gym for roughly two hours. Left the gym and drove approx 10 miles into work. Was inside the office for about 10 minutes just grabbing some things from my desk. Came back outside, car wouldn't start. Had the car towed to International. 12. At this point, **** said it was a "bad fuel pump" out of the box, and that they would replace it again, and again. He was now blaming the OEM Audi Fuel pumps for being faulty. 13. I got the car back, drove it approx 20 miles to a different gym. Was waiting in the parking structure for a friend for about 5 minutes and the car rough idled and died. Would not restart. Went inside to workout for roughly 2 hours, came back outside, car started. 14. Took it back to the dealership, another "module" was replaced for $211.00 and was told that it was the best he could do but that the check engine light off. He blamed the fuel cut problems on the tune "over flooding" the engine with gas while it was in Neutral because of the "crazy tune" on the car. 15. Check engine light went back on about 24 hours later. Made the dealership aware of the situation, was told that there was nothing more they could do, and because of the down downpipe exhaust, the car would always have a check engine light on. We were told that there was never anything international could have done in regards to the check engine light. This in fact is not true. The original scan never showed any o2 sensor problems and the tune on the car disables CEL codes to come from the down pipe and exhaust system… If there is a CEL back on due to an exhaust problem, I would like to see your scanner when you pull the codes. 16. We still have not had my original problem addressed. Can you wipe the tune off of the car? It was a simple question in which International answered yes, but never did ONE thing in relation. 17. After the mess, I asked **** if the tune could be taken off the ECU and he said "he wasn't going to mess with that" To recap, first he stated the warranty work would potentially get the light off, then he stated the fuel pump was blown, then he stated that the engine was flooding with gas because of the tune, then he stated his OEM fuel pumps were bad, then he stated the exhaust was causing the CEL all along and stated that there was nothing that he could do, and would not address my original question: taking the tune off the car, which I was told could be done.

Desired Settlement: I want all of the money refunded for the un-necessary fuel pump and additional module repair. The oil level sensor was the only thing that caused no issues: We don't want to be refunded for that part - $128.00 + $10.54 housing

Business Response:

I first want to apologize to Mr. ********** and his family for any difficulties they are experiencing at this time, it truly is not our intention.  Mr. *** ********** presented his 2005 Audi A4 to us on or about July 12, 2013 for two Audi sponsored product updates and for an oil pressure concern.   At that time the two updates were completed and the oil sensor was repaired per Mr. **********s approval. The vehicle returned shortly after that visit with a check engine light being on and client alleged that the vehicle also stalled out while idling.  Our technician performed the necessary diagnostics and found that the fuel pressure was extremely out of specs.  Mr. ********** was presented with the option to make the repairs to the vehicle, and he declined any further repairs at that time. Client returned a few days later with the same concern and this time the vehicle was towed for service.  Initial diagnosis found that we still had an issue with the fuel pump.   Mr. ********** was contacted and presented with the findings.  He later contacted **** ****** and authorized the replacement of the fuel pump along with the fuel filter.  The vehicle was repaired and checked out and fuel pressure readings returned to normal, vehicle was returned to the client.   Client then returned stating that he was unable to properly fuel the vehicle, it would not allow the pump to pump the fuel into the vehicle.  This was diagnosed as a faulty Evaporative Canister.  Mr. ********** was contacted and his father authorized the repairs.  He also mentioned that the check engine light was on and it stalled out and would restart.  Initial inspection of the vehicle found again that we have fuel pressure that is out of specs per Audi guidelines.  Audi Technical support was contacted with findings and for additional guidance with repairs.  Some wiring connectors were replaced and it was determined that we needed to remove and replace the fuel pump again.   Once the new fuel pump was installed, all the readings went back to normal and were well within specs per Audi guidelines.  It would appear that each time that Mr. ********** experienced the check engine light and running rough concern, it was at an idle situation, meaning that the vehicle was just sitting in place with the engine running.  With the “tune” that has been performed on this vehicle, it is allowing excessive fuel to be dumped into the system, which is then flooding the vehicle and causing it to run rough and setting the check engine light to go on.  The “tune” that was performed caused all the original manufacturer settings in the ECM to be compromised and overwritten to allow the vehicle to run at faster speeds that the vehicle was not intended to run at properly.  Mr. ********** was informed that the only way to correct this was to remove the current ECM and replace it with a factory fresh unit, meaning a unit from Audi with the correct software/data from the factory.  This model year vehicle does not allow us to just “wipe” the tune off the ECM.  This information was given to Mr. ********** and to his father as well.  It is our contention that the fuel pumps replaced in the vehicle were needed, it is very likely that the  aftermarket tuning of the vehicle that has caused these issues and that is beyond our control here at Audi Milwaukee.  As for the refund, in looking at the invoices, Mr.  ********** has only paid for the fuel pump replacement in the amount of $708.29.  The other invoice has not been paid as of this date.   In an attempt to promote goodwill and customer satisfaction, I will concede to a 50/50 split with Mr. ********** on the fuel pump repair and the EVAP Canister repair, giving him a refund of $460.15, minus the open invoice of $222.87, leaving him with a credit owed of $237.28.  I encourage Mr. ********** to contact me so we can settle this matter in a timely fashion. 

Thank you,

**** ********

 

Business Response:

We have tried several times to come to a resolution regarding this client's complaints.  However, it seems that he would rather use this forum to voice his concerns than to do so face-to-face.  While we respect his wish to file a formal complaint with the BBB, it is not always the best platform to bring such concerns to resolution.  We have made an offer to help this gentlemen, to which he feels is unacceptable, yet the same offer still stands.  Given we have made good-faith attempts to resolve this, to no avail, we respectfully ask that the BBB close this file satisfactorily at this time.  Thank you.

Respectfully,

International Autos Management

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

That is almost laughable.  You destroyed my car, failed to answer ANY of my questions, then ignored the questions again in the BBB complaint.  For the third time, try answering ONE of my questions that you can't seem to find the words for.


Why did you wrench on my car when your service manager said, "We never would have been able to fix the problem anyway..."


This isn't about "voicing my opinion" this is about getting back the money that we paid for a problem you created.  That problem in turn caused hundreds of dollars in additional damage.  My original concern taking the car back to stock was never even addressed.  Give my mother her money back.

******** **********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, I bought 2008 acura mdx in this company on 10/22/20013,sale person is *** ****** ********** . I have drive car and test is ok, and need all wheel alignment . I bought it and drive home,I find from window have spy web crack I have call sale person, I have paid for replace front window . 3 day later come aback alignment and tires rotation. When I drive the car home have noise from wheel " klakla", later I have come back , for check service. They said no thing wrong with the car and sound just look like that. The car drive under 30 mile per hour have noise,and drive on height way more louder. I have call many time to sale person ,later he send a message to me will ask manager about that happen. Later I have drive car in to see manager, (I found on Internet mdx many problem with wheel bearing), He said tire problem, refuse to replace tire I said wheel bearing problem., he said go to acura dealer for repair and I pay for it, bring receipt he will pay back to me. Later I going to **** **** **** ****, have find out front one tire got worse , I drove in to see the manager, he said only replace one tire on car and no wheel bearing. What that mean, If one tire replace , other tire not balance will damage car's gear. He said go to replace tire other location ,he only pay one tire no wheel bearing ( If have wheel bearing problem), I want they replace both front tire, and repair wheel bearing if have problem. Or refund money back to me

Desired Settlement: Finish the Job

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern:

Mr. ***** * *** came to International Autos with interest in a 2008 Acura MDX.  He personally test drove the vehicle and inspected the vehicle on and off our property.  After his inspection ***** *** proceeded with making an offer to purchase the 2008 Acura MDX with 42k miles.  We came to an agreement on a final price and he took delivery the same day.  The next day I recieved a phone call the windshield has a crack in it.  I instructed ***** *** to bring the vehicle in and we would see if it can be fixed.  Unfortunately, it had spread to far to be fixed and needed replacement.  I explained when the vehicle was purchased there was no crack in it and I could not absorb the price of a new windshield as goodwill.  Two days later I recieved a complaint the vehicle needed alignment and the Bluetooth was broken.  I then set up an appoinment to have these 2 items addressed.  We did the alignment on the vehicle free of charge (this was not noted during his personal inspection and test drive) and I personally paired his phone to the vehicle as per the owners manual reads and is working properly.  I then recieved an additional complaint the vehicle had a problem with the wheel bearing.  I made an additonal appointment for our technicians to inspect the bearing in which they found no problem.  Mr. ***** *** was unhappy with our diagnosis so he recieved a second opinion from ***** ** ********** in which they inspected the bearing and came to a conclusion the factory OEM Michelin tires make a hum noise when driving the vehicle.  Mr. ***** *** returned to our store and requested we replace the tires at no charge.  We agreed to goodwill buying one of the 2 front tires that have become a concern for Mr. ***** *** because of the road noise.  The vehicle was sold with all 4 Michelin matching Tires that are Factory OEM tires Acura uses and passed all Wisconsin DOT safety standards. 

 

*** ****** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a used car on June 8th. During the test drive earlier that week, I heard a "clicking" sound - as did the sales rep on the drive. He assured me that they'd get it checked out and taken care of. He initially thought it was something in the vents - possibly with the motor. 2 days after taking delivery of the vehicle, the DVD drive which reads the navigation DVD went out. It's a sporadic problem, that comes and goes. The dealership has offered to split the cost with me to repair it, as well as provide the 2nd (West region) navigation DVD, and the wheel lock adapter. If I get a flat tire now - I am unable to put on the spare. I believe it is IA's responsibility to not only fix the DVD drive at their cost, but to also provide the wheel lock and the missing Navigation DVD. I was unaware that these items were missing when I test drove the car. I belive it it their responsbility to ensure these items were present - or at least to advise me that they were missing or broken, and I'd need to purchase them, or pay to have them repaired.

Desired Settlement: IA takes my vehicle in, fixes it at no charge, and gives me a loaner until repairs are completed.

Business Response:

I spoke with ***** ****** and informed him that we would cover the cost of the navigation update and wheel lock.  I told him that when the navigation update arrives we will have it installed and  get him his week lock key.  I told him that we are still willing to spit the cost of the navigation drive repair ($180.00), and he understood that the drive failed after purchase and the car did not have warranty. We did offer him a warranty at purchase which he declined.

*** ********

International BMW

Direct: ###-###-####

Cell: ###-###-####

Fax : ###-###-####

*************************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The dealership is saying that the DVD drive broke after I took delivery of the car.  This is incorrect.  The DVD was displaying the "clicking" problem when I test drove the car.  My ****** *******, **** ******, heard it as well.  He said, and I quote, "We'll get that looked at, and taken care of."  I'm not sure how IA can say that this problem happened after I bought the car - when it clearly happened before.


While I appreciate the dealership (eventually) doing the right thing with regards to the wheel lock adapter and the Navigation discs, it's unfortunate that I had to go the BBB, as well as BMW North America to get IA to move from their initial resolution of "We'll split the charge of fixing everything with you."  I do not feel that fixing a problem that clearly existed before I took delivery of the vehicle should be my responsibility.  If the dealership can see that providing a wheel lock adapter and both Navigation regions IS the "right thing" to do - I'm not sure how they can see that replacing the DVD is different.


In retrospect, I'm not sure the vehicle was ever inspected by anyone at IA.  I never saw a Window Sticker for the vehicle - as the purchase process moved pretty quickly.  The car was taken in on trade, and my Client Advisor called me right away.  I'm guessing that IF this vehicle was inspected, this problem would have been noticed, and fixed.  To date, I have not seen a "Wisconsin Buyers Guide" window sticker required on used cars for sale.  To my knowledge, no such form was ever applied to this vehicle.  I'm not sure, what, if anything, that means.

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had service previously with International ****, and we had problems where they did not return our parts on request, inferior service on the automobile. We recently bought a *** and needed a spare key for the vehicle and thought we would give them a second chance on something simple like a spare key before we bought a vehicle from them. We ordered the key and were told it would be approximately $320, it requires programming that the programming would take an hour because of all of the special features on the vehicle. We said go ahead and order it. We were given an appointment at 11:30 p.m. on a Saturday. We arrived on time. No one was in there service area, I had to hunt someone down, people kept walking by and would not help, finally I got someones attention and said I brought my car and need to pick up and pay for the key. I went to the service desk and was handed a receipt. They had already run my credit card for the key. The invoice was vague and just had the total. The person said someone in service has to program the key. I went to the waiting room a few minutes later someone came out and said here is your key. I said, I thought they said it would take an hour. He said, no it is all set and programmed to your car. I walked up to my car and the door didn't unlock, I was concerned the key wasn't programmed but was told, no the key fob is dead and needs to be recharged in the car. So I took it and left. I drove over an hour to get to the dealership and and hour to get home, when I got home, the key was charged so I tried it and it did not unlock the door. The dealership is now closed in the service area. On Monday I called and told them the key wasn't working. They said that it wasn't programmed for all of the settings, that I would have to bring it back. I said I just drove 2 hours costing me time and gas, it isn't fair to me that this wasn't done correctly. He said he would take 10% off the cost of the key programming, that will cost you an additional $90. At this point I was very confused and concerned because I had called another *** dealership in ******** and they were going to charge me $280 for the key and programming, but it was going to be a farther drive to ********, and it wasn't a lot more ($40 more) in *********, and we had planned on buying a vehicle from them in the very near future, we went with *********. Big mistake, they are planning on charging me $410 dollars for the same thing that another *** dealership is charging $280. I was under the impression when I picked the key up and was handed an unitemized bill, and they went and programmed the key, that my charges are complete. Then later they have me over a barrel and I have no choice but give them an additional $90 to program this worthless key. The key is not worth anything unless it is programmed. It is my understanding for the first quote I received, and the bill I paid that the total charge would be $320. There is no way I would pay $410 instead of $280. I feel they are gouging because they can simply say, oh yeah, by the way that was included in the first bill. I ordered a special key, they knew when I ordered it required the one hour programming. There is a cheaper key that works just in the ignition, that does not require the expensive programming it would have cost less than $100. Why would I order the more expensive key and not plan to have it programmed? It does not make sense. I think they are basically thieves. They ran my credit card before I received or picked up the key without my permission. That has to be illegal.

Desired Settlement: I want to return the key and receive a complete refund, on my credit card. I feel the charges were fraudulent because I paid for a key that was programmed. I am now expected to bring the car and key back at my expense and them pay again for the programming which I feel I paid for and I did not receive the first time I was there. They agree to take the key back but I have to pay a 30% restocking fee, that is $100. That is not right. I will order a spare key from the dealership in ********. I also want *** to pay my round trip fuel cost and wear and tear on my car 98 miles round trip at .52 per mile.

Consumer Response: Hello I received your email. Please remove the statement to pay for wear and tear on my car.  Just a refund would be acceptable

Thank you
****** ********* ******

I don't know how jr was selected, but that isn't part f my name
Thanks

Business Response: We made arrangements to pick up the client’s vehicle on the evening of April 23rd from her residence, drop off a loaner vehicle free of charge, and bring her *** back to our dealership for programming of her new key the following morning.  In addition, we gave her $10 in ********* gift cards.  As promised, we programmed the client’s vehicle for the Comfort Access feature and tested the system before returning the car to her residence on the evening of April 24th.  We also had her *** washed and gave her a full tank of fuel.  All of this, of course, was done with no extra charge to the customer.  An offer to refund her credit card the difference of $40 was extended, with the intention that she would call back with the credit card information in which to issue the refund, but we have yet to hear back from her regarding this.  The client had indicated that our gestures were more than favorable to her and was aware that we would be responding to her initial BBB complaint in hopes that the file would be closed favorably.  We acknowledge that we could have handled the situation better from the beginning, but have had conversations with those involved in order to prevent a similar situation from occurring again.  It is our sincere hope that that ****** *************** will allow us to earn her business in the future.
 
International Autos Management

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** ***************

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a used **** ****** from the dealer's **** ****** dealership. Dealt with *******, ***** *******, and saleman "****". I asked to take car to another dealer prior to purchase to receive independent inspection. I was told and assured in person and in an email, that International Autos had "fully inspected the car and found it in perfect operating condition....needing nothing." On this basis, I agreed to purchase car (paid $11,400 cash). After driving the car for just under 1500 miles in 4 months, I took car to 2 independent repair facilities (***** ****** and ******* ***** ******). BOTH inspections revealed LONG STANDING mechanical issues with the car. Each of these issues come with age and wear, and must have been present at the time of purchase. Issues are: worn out front suspension, rusted exhaust system, and an engine oil leak. Total repair cost estimated at $3000. Upon learning of these issues, I immediately called seller. They denied any knowledge of problems, and claim that other mechanics are lying about the issues. They first claimed that they inspected the car and it was fine, but later store *******, ***** *******, said instead "the car met Wisconsin inspection standards." I asked for a copy of the dealer's pre-purchase inspection report, but they have not/will not provide the information to me. I have sent dealer a copy of the repair estimate. ***** ******* offered $300 towards the $3000 bill (10%). This is not acceptable. The car was clearly not inspected and was purchased based solely on the misrepresentation of the dealer, International Autos.

Desired Settlement: Because car was purchased based on seller's misrepresentation, seller should: either repair the car, take the car back in trade at full purchase price valuation, or take the car back and refund purchase price.

Business Response:

The customer purchased the **** **** ****** with 92,318 miles on it on June 8, 2012.  The vehicle was sold "as is" after being inspected by our staff according  to the requirements of the State of Wisconsin, and the vehicle passed the inspection.

Within the last 30 days, the customer contacted management indicating that while they enjoyed the vehicle, they find their daughter has difficulty seeing out the back window.  They asked if we had another vehicle they could look at and trade-in on the *****  We researched our inventory, appraised their ****, and it was determined that at that time, we did not have a vehicle that would meet their needs.  They felt the value offered for the **** was not to their liking, and the customer decided to offer the vehicle for sale on their own.

The customer contacted management during the first part of November and indicated that they had a private party interested in the ****, and that party had requested an inspection of the vehicle before purchasing it.  The **** was taken to a repair facility and per that faciity, they determined that the vehicle had developed a suspension issue, an oil leak and rust on the exhaust.

After several conversations with management, International Autos offered to reimburse the customer $367 as a goodwill gesture to address the immediate suspension issue.  At the time of the offer, the customer accepted the offer.  Since that time, it appears that the customer has reconsidered.

We believe the company has dealt in good faith with the customer and has complied with all requirements of the State of Wisconsin in regards to selling a used vehicle.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

It is UNACCEPTABLE that this dealer had falsely represented the car as having been inspected and having passed inspection, and stated that the car "needed nothing" when, in fact, the car had long-term existing problems of rusted out exhaust system and broken front suspension.  It is further UNACCEPTABLE to consider a proposed settlement amount that is equal to only 10% of the cost of the required repairs.  I will continue to pursue action against the fraudulent seller, International Autos, until such time as this matter is equitably resolved.

 

Again, the acceptable solutions are:

1.  Return car at fair value (minimum $9500 offer)

2.  Exchange car for like item of equal value

3. Pay for/complete full repair so that car is in the condition that was verbally warranted at time of purchase

 

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** **********  

 

Business Response:

We stand by our position with respect to Ms. **********'s complaints.  We thought it best to attach copies of the purchase contract, and the window sticker, as it relates to the purchase of said vehicle.  While we have acknowledged Ms. **********'s concerns in the past, and via her contact through the BBB, we cannot seem to appease her despite our efforts.  It is unfortunate that she feels this way, and we are sad at the potential loss of a customer, but welcome her to come into our dealership for any future service or sales issues as we will do what we can to earn her business. 

Regards,

Managmenet, International Mini

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

PER INTERNATIONAL AUTO'S PREVIOUS CORRESPONDENCE WITH THE BBB, DEALER HAD OFFERED THE SUM OF APPROX. $400 TO HELP DEFRAY COST OF REPAIRS TO THE CAR THEY SOLD "FULLY INSPECTED, NOT NEEDED ANY REPAIRS".

 

THIS PROMISED PAYMENT HAS NOT BEEN RECEIVED.  I WILL CONTINUE TO PURSUE ALL ACTION UNTIL PAYMENT IS RECEIVED.

As previously stated, International Autos sold me a used car that was verbally warranted as having been fully inspected, meeting state standards, and not in need of any additional work or repairs. Document confirming above information was included with automobile, and was signed by manager ***** *****. Within 3 months and less that 1500 miles, car was found to have long standing pre-existing condition (rusted out exhaust and faulty front suspension) that 2 independent mechanics certified were in existence at time of purchase, and cost $3000 to repair. After 3 months of relaying this information to dealer, dealer provided me with hold harmless documents, and promised $450 payment in return for signing documents. Signed documents were delivered to dealer on January 17. To date, I have still not received any money or confirmation from dealer that funds due are in process.
Desired Settlement
Refund this week. Months have passed with no action from dealer, while I have been forced to spend thousands of dollars to repair a car that was fraudulently misrepresented by dealer.
Desired Settlement: Refund

Regards,

***** **********

 

Business Response:

****** ********** signed a Release of Liability (see attachment), and we issued her a check in the amount of $450.00 (see attachment) that was mailed on 2/11/2013.  Thank you.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have NOT RECEIVED the reimbursement check yet, and will not resolve the complaint until money is received.

Regards,

***** **********

 

 

Business Response: I urge Ms. ********** to update the BBB once she has received the check as it was mailed on 2/11/2013.  Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this dealer to have the front brakes repaired on my BMW in August of 2011. The brakes they put on the car failed in January of 2012, and the dealer honored what I understood to be a two year parts and labor warranty on the rotors, which were warped. I was told at the January replacement repair by the service advisor, ******* *********, that the replacement brakes also had a two year parts and labor warranty. I noted this on the service invoice. The rotors failed again 11 months later earlier this month and they are warped again. The dealer refused to honor the two year warranty. The service manager, **** ********, told me they would only honor the warranty if I spent money replacing two front inner tie rods on the vehicle. Their offer amounts to extortion. I have been told by two mechanics that inner tie rods have nothing to do with brake rotor life. Additonally, the inner tie rods have not failed and do not need to be replaced.

Desired Settlement: Payment of $440, representing the cost for me to have to pay a mechanic out of pocket to replace the front brakes on the car that were under warranty and should have been replaced at no cost under the warranty I was promised.

Business Response:

I had communication, via e-mail, with Mr. ******** on 12-18-2012 and again on 12-21-2012.  At that time, I had told Mr. ******** that I would be more than happy to address his concerns  He later informed me in a e-mail later that evening that the work had already been completed at another facility.  I received this e-mail on 12-26-2012 after returning from the holiday weekend and requested Mr. ******** send a copy of the paid invoice, which he agreed to send.  As of this response I have not received said invoice. 

 

**** ********, ******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/6/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a used **** *** ****, from International Autos, and was told, both verbally and in written email, that the vehicle was equipped with the "bluetooth" audio feature. After taking delivery of the car, I discovered that the "bluetooth" feature was, in fact, not functioning, and needed to be serviced/replaced. When I returned the vehicle for the service to be completed, the dealership then informed me that it would be "too expensive" for them to repair, and that they were not going to fix the feature after all.

Desired Settlement: Repair or replacement of the "bluetooth" feature, as the original equipment description provides, and as the vehicle was listed for sale as having.

Business Response: International Autos resolved the customer’s issue by professionally installing an aftermarket Bluetooth device into the vehicle. The customer received a loaner vehicle while the work was being done, and the unit was installed in a day’s time with 100% functionality. The customer expressed their gratitude, and stated that aside from the Bluetooth issue, they were extremely satisfied with the vehicle

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2008 ******** **** ****** from ******** **** ** ********, a division of Internation Autos, Inc. on August 21, 2012. The factory warranty had expired. I was encouraged by their ******* ******* to purchase an extended PowerTrain Warranty. I did so on September 24, 2012. I paid for it in full with my ******** **** (I have receipt) I asked and was told unequivocably that the warranty's effect was IMMEDIATE. I took a short trip sometime later, the car begin to run rough and the check engine light came on. I took the vehicle to the local ******** ****** here in ********, 70 miles from ********. The warranty was never even APPLIED FOR. As of October 8, 2012 the application had not even been sent in. Then I was told the problem I had was a Pre_Existing Condition and would not be covered regardless. I am furious. I am disabled, 63 years old and on SSDI. I know vehicle engines thoroughly. They offered to tow the car, its removed engine and parts and fix it there. NO. I cannot monitor it and I do not trust. It needs a new engine

Desired Settlement: I was at first considering litigation because of the failure to apply for the warranty and not being truthful about the condition of the car. They also did not provide the full inspection prior to the sale mandated by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation. Today, October 23, 2012 I contacted *****, the ******** ******r and offered a solution that benefits them more than me. I offered to pay the entire labor costs incurred (about $8,000 in total) if they would pay for a USED, not new or even rebuilt engine; cost between $8,000 up to $10,000. I believe this to be more than fair and a good method to handle this unforeseen problem. If this does not happen, I will have to resort to litigation; which, as I stated, I do NOT WANT. I'm being VERY FAIR and would expect the same.

Business Response:

Customer bought the *** in August.  A safety inspection had been completed with nothing being noted on the repaird order regarding bent wheels or ool leaks.  There is little to no service history in
VMI--a report that authorized dealers pull-up to review past service history.  ******* *******, ***** ******, spoke with ************* ** ******* (the last servicing dealer) who told him they diagnosed several things--ALL of which the customer declined. ***** had the car shortly thereafter.  ***** spoke to the ******* ******* at ***** twice regarding the car. The check engine light was on for low compression in all cylinders and cam shaft magnets.  They looked into  the compression issue and recommended an engine rebuild. The car had 31,000 miles on it at this time. ***** spoke with the customer and offered to have the vehicle towed up to ************* ** *******k, free of charge, so that our technicians could look at it and maybe, help with the repairs.  The customer declined. The customer authorized the repairs, totaling around $12,000, at ***** on Illinois.  After ***** starting taking the engine apart, they found aftermarket RTV sealant on the oil pan. The transmission also looks like it had been removed from the car before. The oil pan had a ton of metal shavings in it--leading them to think the main bearing blew apart.  The ******* ******* was going to
keep ***** posted on the repairs, and that was the last anyone from our orgnization heard regarding the status of this vehicle. 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/10/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1